Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 707 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips awayThe events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips away the extraneous and returns to the basics, capturing the true essence of Gears combat, and introduces a new style of gameplay that is faster-paced and more action-packed than what came before. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    96
    Judgment is literally as much fun as Gears of War 2. It doesn’t have this scope or severity one and three had, but it operates on a grand scale. I, for one, couldn’t be happier.
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    88
    Although it’s in no way game changing, Gears of War: Judgment is a fast paced, satisfyingly violent, action shooter.
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    85
    Gears of War Judgment is exactly what you’d expect in a Gears of War game - a few tweaks here and there, but basically the same game it's been for six and half years.
  4. 80
    A great game with enough to please fans of the series and even welcome new players. A new control scheme might add a bit of frustration, but this is quickly forgotten when you dive into the great multiplayer. Team Kilo Squad and the addition of a new star system which awards special play throughs of levels in single player mode add to an already enjoyable title.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    79
    While Gears of War: Judgment is perhaps burdened by the pall of over-familiarity, the changes that developer People Can Fly have implemented are enough, for now, to keep it feeling fresh – and certainly worthy of your time.
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    Judgment is a worthy addition to the franchise, but it’s a shame the campaign falls short of the high standard of those that preceded it.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    60
    Gears of War: Judgment is not a bad game, but one that very much stands in the shadow of its more illustrious predecessors. It is a bit like going back to a favorite restaurant, only to find that the management has changed and it's just not quite the same anymore...Sure, you'll still have a pretty decent meal, but you'll also leave yearning for days gone by.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 247
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    As a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smartAs a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smart AI you wont be fighting the same enemies if you wipe in single player. I completed the campaign in coop, with the game's matching making filling in those empty spots is a breeze. Also God of War was not the right GOW to purchase. I like PSY Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    I though this Gears game was a lot more fluid than previous games. The mechanics to me seemed smoother and for once in multiplayer when II though this Gears game was a lot more fluid than previous games. The mechanics to me seemed smoother and for once in multiplayer when I actually shot people they died. Which didn't happen a lot in other Gears games if you used a Lancer. Overall I was a bit shocked to see such low scores. The single player campaign narrative wasn't my style, just get on with it. But the new weapons seemed to fit, I thought they might seem out of place with it being a prequel. The Declassified missions seemed more like a gimmick than anything, but does add a bit of replay value to a mission. I think they have done a good job overall in making the game flow a lot better. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    Gears of war judgment is a great addition to the gears franchise. The campaign is great except for the final boss which is way to easy. TheGears of war judgment is a great addition to the gears franchise. The campaign is great except for the final boss which is way to easy. The new mode overrun is a great thing it offers somethings that players have wanted and we have finally received. As a huge gears fan some things were bad like how horde mode something that changed the series was removed and replaced by survival which is a huge letdown compared to the amazing horde mode. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    5
    It reminds me of "when critics and gamers disagree" situation. This is the weakest Gears game, played them all. It should be dlc instead ofIt reminds me of "when critics and gamers disagree" situation. This is the weakest Gears game, played them all. It should be dlc instead of full price game. It looks like People Can Fly got clear instruction: create few missions, do not screw up original game mechanics. It sooo the same, campaign is boooring and story is completely flat. Then you have extra campaign mission. I thought: "yes, it could not be that bad, here is where Gears begins, its dark and feels like Gears" but then it finishes right away. Narration type is of the worst possible kind, retrospection. This means nothing bad will happen to the one who is speaking, and all squad is speaking. 3 minutes short levels do not help either. On the contrary it is very bad idea, becouse all atmosphere is immediately lost. Minor changes to multi and few new maps is much too less to grade this game as high as metacritic average. Weak and boring to me. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    4
    I am a hardcore Gears fan. I think we all knew that Cog of Duty: Gnasher Warfare Judgment wouldn't live up to it's hype of being the surpriseI am a hardcore Gears fan. I think we all knew that Cog of Duty: Gnasher Warfare Judgment wouldn't live up to it's hype of being the surprise next gears of war after the trilogy ended. But I think we all secretly hoped that it would have been better than the developers were telling us and that the game would actually be fun.

    Cog Of Duty: Gnasher Warefare Judgment is a gears let down, cookie cutter of call of duty with a gears of war paintjob. And I can't really say the description of this game fits anything but that. So much originality taken out and so little put in. The list goes on from things that People can Fly have taken out.
    The highlights of these are: secondary shotguns, grenade sticking, downs and executions, horde mode, beast mode, active reload, the list goes on. Multiplayer is so bland and so boring. I haven't played multiplayer this boring since... Since... Ok, this is THE most boring multiplayer I have every played. The multiplayer is extreeeeeemely unbalanced since you can only have 1 primary weapon iether shotguns or assault rifles. Did PCF even play the original gears? WTF? Though I have to say it makes for some pretty funny gameplay when you see every one with a lancer get dodged out by someone with a gnasher and will walk up to them hit b to stun and BLAUUUUUUULA!!!! If you use anything but the gnasher you're screwed. It's more overpowered then previous gears! Since there are no downs and b melee takes you down to half health and since downs are out you die in 1 hit but the gnasher from 20 feet away that is if the enemy can even get away from you. If you use the gnasher, you win. Did I also mention it's humans vs humans now? Locusts were removed in multiplayer... Since there are only 4 game modes now the game gets even more boring. And you don't want to go back to the menu because the menu music makes you want to blow your brains out.

    Overrun is extremely unbalanced too! Locust win every time, Baird's sentry turret is way OP. Locust regenerate health, if you have a mauler on your team you win, the list can go on. Gears of War promised 1 step forward but took at least 50 steps back.. Very dissopointed, not worth the trouble to get up off your couch from playing good games to go to the store to buy this pile of s***.
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2013
    3
    Gears of War: Judgement will be a waste of money to all but serious gears fans. First off, it is not even worth the money compared to what youGears of War: Judgement will be a waste of money to all but serious gears fans. First off, it is not even worth the money compared to what you would get in gears 3. There are less than 10 unlock-able characters, less than 10 unlock-able weapon skins, and you have to buy the other like 20 skins that are only un-lockable via Microsoft points. Also the multiplay is really watered down comapred to past Gears games and lacking in terms of maps and game modes. Two of the game modes are just carbon copies of eachother (survival is overrun but with bots). The campaign is short and consists of mostly a flashback telling the story. Each section is its own level and is scored like some sort of mini-horde wave with some objectives. The campaign doesn't feel like a big story like most every other shooter. There is little characterization on a team of soldiers that is just begging for tons of characterization. A former athlete gone soldier, an old UIR soldier (the UIR and COG were enemies), Baird, and an Onyx Guard cadet. All of there lives were thrown upside down by the locust invasion but this is barely touched on in the campaign. Another thing that was not given enough attention is the locust themselves. The locust are a fearsome race of sub-terainian monsters that launch a genocidal attack on humanity for seemingly no reason. The people of Serra would have been scared out of their mind and the armies of the COG don't know how to fight this new fight to every last man woman and child over surface control. And the game takes place 14 days after they first appear. The GOC thinks they are just mindless monsters but as the war progresses they realize that the locust are actually intelligent beings. All of these details about the locust are lucky if they even get one line of dialogue mentioning them in campaign. The locust are just some guys that are just in your way. Not only is the campaign short, choppy, and lacking sustenance; but it is repetitive. Each level starts with you exiting a door to the last. There is a bloody skull icon, "crimson omen," that lets you "declassify" or add challenges to the mission. You kill some locust because they are in your way then come to an open area and fortify that area for a couple locust attack waves, just like a mini-horde mode. Rinse and repeat--that is all there is to the campaign. Speaking of horde mode where is it? You get a taste of how freakin' awesome it could be with some of the new turret placement mechanics and class based play in over run, but there is no horde. Not even just a copy of horde 2.0 fro Gears 3. Horde has set gears aside as a unique shooter since Gears 2 but they failed to include it. Horde isn't the only long-time tradition to go though... Down-but-not-out has been really changed, the three weapon carry has been reduced to two, grenades are now tap to throw rather than the unique targeted throwing, and the control scheme has been made more like COD/BF3.

    Buy-n-large Gears of War Judgement is full of missed opportunities, and things watered down to match COD/BF3. EPIC games could have put so much into this game and made it probably one of the best Gears of War games yet. But instead they failed to draw on what makes Gears unique among a market saturated bad shooters, and instead added another bad, forgettable shooter into the mix. I hope the DLC redeems this game of EPIC makes another Gears game next console generation because this is a pathetic end to one of the Best shooters ever made. 3/10.
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    Terrible game. Terrible campaign. Probably the worst mulitplayer I have ever played. 0/10.............................................................

See all 247 User Reviews