User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2114 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshE.
    Dec 1, 2006
    8
    My favorite part of GoW so far has been the weight of the characters in gameplay. The combination of feedback, speed, and physics gives the game a very physical feel. Everything feels heavy and real, which is a nice feeling over the typical floaty feel of a lot of other games. The running camera angle really adds to the drama. Definitely fun stuff with great coop and online action.
  2. MichaelJ.
    Dec 30, 2006
    8
    Overall good game but the levels are a little hard to surpass! But a very excellent game with great graphics.
  3. AnonymousMC
    Dec 3, 2006
    8
    What an excellent game! The graphics are amazing. The controls, very user friendly. The gameplay is always full of action. There are no boring bits. After playing it for 1 and a half evenings I thought that this game would keep me entertained for months, but then it ended? Tsk, when will game developers learn to concentrate not just on graphics, but also on longer playtimes. MyWhat an excellent game! The graphics are amazing. The controls, very user friendly. The gameplay is always full of action. There are no boring bits. After playing it for 1 and a half evenings I thought that this game would keep me entertained for months, but then it ended? Tsk, when will game developers learn to concentrate not just on graphics, but also on longer playtimes. My advice - rent the thing for a couple of days, complete the game and save £40! Expand
  4. AndrewJ.
    Dec 5, 2006
    8
    Reading the reviews I have seen it seems as though people either love or hate it. The game's graphics are phenomenal. The game play is tricky at first with the ducking and diving. I was frustrated at first, but like all games you have to learn what the combinations are to correctly move the way you intend. For instance when ducking behind a wall you can either roll out, switch to Reading the reviews I have seen it seems as though people either love or hate it. The game's graphics are phenomenal. The game play is tricky at first with the ducking and diving. I was frustrated at first, but like all games you have to learn what the combinations are to correctly move the way you intend. For instance when ducking behind a wall you can either roll out, switch to another area of cover, back out of the cover, or go around the corner heading forward. Being able to do the proper manuver at the right time comes with practice. The melee fighting takes a more than a few tries to get the hang of because the action is so fast. But the point is if you could play perfectly from the first moment, what would be the fun? It is a short game, but as with Halo 2 the fun with be the multiplayer online modes. The best part of the entire game is the Co-Op mode though. At points in the game you are in a completely different section of the level battling different enemies that your teammate. Just wait until you have to keep a spotlight on your partner while he is fighting enemies so the Kryll don't turn him into bird food. I think the game is a blast, but if you are not going to play online just rent it. Expand
  5. Pidgeman
    Dec 9, 2006
    8
    Very good in all departments but a liitle short. I completed the single player game on casual in one day and I wouldn't consider myself an expert gamer by any means. That said the multiplayer options should add more longevity to the game. Its just a shame the creators didn't make the game a bit bigger because i was so immersed in it i didn't want it to end. If you have X Very good in all departments but a liitle short. I completed the single player game on casual in one day and I wouldn't consider myself an expert gamer by any means. That said the multiplayer options should add more longevity to the game. Its just a shame the creators didn't make the game a bit bigger because i was so immersed in it i didn't want it to end. If you have X Box live then you should probably buy this game, if you don't then just rent it for a couple of days because thats all it will take to complete it. Lets hope they make the sequel bigger! Expand
  6. MauriceH.
    Jan 11, 2007
    8
    Has an arcade feel as already said, too short and needed more depth to match the hype. That said its fun to play but those that reqire a bit of substance and the harcore gamer may be done with this in a week. Hype and next gen craving has seen this game score way too highly. Its going in the right direction but never gets to the finish line. If your a hardcore gamer rent this, beat it and Has an arcade feel as already said, too short and needed more depth to match the hype. That said its fun to play but those that reqire a bit of substance and the harcore gamer may be done with this in a week. Hype and next gen craving has seen this game score way too highly. Its going in the right direction but never gets to the finish line. If your a hardcore gamer rent this, beat it and move onwards. Want more from my recently purchased 360 but I am hopeful. Expand
  7. CrisM.
    Aug 20, 2007
    8
    Good graphics story, Hardcore/Insane controls make the game stupid. You can use the sniper rifle and hit a grub in the head but instead its you that dies. If you manage to duck before you're dead and hit the same grub in the hand or foot he dies. Sometimes you can hit a grub with the mortar grenade and he ends up killing you!
  8. Sam
    Nov 4, 2008
    8
    Solid. There are sequences where I regret giving the game anything lower than a 9.5, but they're overshadowed by a constant reliance on the cover system. The cover system is very good when used sparingly. Jumping from cover to cover to dodge enemy attacks and find new areas to get a better shot at the enemy is perfect, but waiting 10 minutes behind the same slab of concrete and blind Solid. There are sequences where I regret giving the game anything lower than a 9.5, but they're overshadowed by a constant reliance on the cover system. The cover system is very good when used sparingly. Jumping from cover to cover to dodge enemy attacks and find new areas to get a better shot at the enemy is perfect, but waiting 10 minutes behind the same slab of concrete and blind firing is tiresome and more often than the former use. As expected, the game often suffers from repetition. Since it constantly repeats the bad bits it makes the great bits more enjoyable...but the bad bits need some serious working. I'm heavily looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  9. David
    Jan 24, 2008
    8
    It's gorgeous, and the run-cover-shoot combat is intense, gratifying and deceptively tactical. So good is the combat, in fact, that it makes up for most of the rest of the game being utterly linear, conventional, and possessing a cliched story that descends immediately into self-parody. Take it tongue in cheek and you'll enjoy it.
  10. AuggieA.
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    Gears of War has to be one of the most important games to come out for the 360, Halo 3 and Gears of War were the 2 games that represented the 360. They both were superb but my only problem with Gears of War is the length of the game, and the boss battle. There were only 5 Acts meaning that the game really would have had like 10 levels. I beat the game in about 2 days and the boss was way Gears of War has to be one of the most important games to come out for the 360, Halo 3 and Gears of War were the 2 games that represented the 360. They both were superb but my only problem with Gears of War is the length of the game, and the boss battle. There were only 5 Acts meaning that the game really would have had like 10 levels. I beat the game in about 2 days and the boss was way to easy. The multiplayer is said to be one of the best and I only played it once, but the time I did play it I didn't think it was amazing. Other than this the game was perfect. It wasn't about being a badass, though it ended up that they all gave off that vibe. It was more about being the underdog, this alien species is superior and yet you get out of it alive. Almost perfect game but everything has it's flaws. Expand
  11. MaycoS.
    May 16, 2008
    8
    Great game!!! the only issues that i found was a little bit of camera trouble in confined spaces...all the rest is awesome!!!
  12. AaronM
    Jun 22, 2008
    8
    Rent it, it's fun one time through, then it sucks. The story, characters, and acting are all terrible. Hey, at least the chainsaw is pretty cool.
  13. RyanC
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    While a good game, it's definetely not a great one. The story is a major piece of garbage and the design is so unoriginal and bland, it feels like i've played it somewhere before. Despite that there are very impressive visuals and it can be really fun with a co-op partner. The multiplayer in this game just isn't my thing. I've seen a lot better.
  14. ChrisSR
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    Overall, if you stripped the game of the flashy next gen graphics, you'll find a game that lacks personality or originality, in many distinct ways. From the main character who's as original as any other Nukem retread, to the enemies, Gears is all hype and no real bite. Single player mode is only 6 hours long, while the multi-player modes are limited to only 8 players, which for Overall, if you stripped the game of the flashy next gen graphics, you'll find a game that lacks personality or originality, in many distinct ways. From the main character who's as original as any other Nukem retread, to the enemies, Gears is all hype and no real bite. Single player mode is only 6 hours long, while the multi-player modes are limited to only 8 players, which for $60 of your hard earned bucks, pretty much sucks in lasting appeal. Especially considering the fact that games like Prey and F.E.A.R. include unique gameplay designs wrapped into their conventional genres, Gears ends up like how GTA clones turn out, a tad too close to their idol ( in this case Halo) and too far from being a classic on it's own. In all, it's an overrated triple title, that lacks a soul, this game is designed for mass market and it shows, thanks alot Cliffy B. and Peter Moore...enjoy the money. Expand
  15. CharlesI.
    Dec 6, 2006
    8
    Loved the game, absolutely loved it. The only complaint I have for it is that it is difficult to want to play it again, even with multiplayer mode.
  16. JamesA.
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    Great, online co-op fun, online verses is repetive, few not fun weapons, online verses repetive, and rent before owning
  17. ZK.
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    This game is the best co-op campaign on the 360. That being said, single player is boring and the multiplayer is mediocre at best. The game is very glitchy, especially in multiplayer.
  18. LoganD.
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    Its a great game..but it is far to short..and the plot makes no sense..its jumps around and around.
  19. FelipeM.
    Dec 27, 2006
    8
    This game is the real deal. It has the most awesome graphics, and the gameplay is really neat. But, it only lasts 5 hours and it is really easy. Of course, not counting the hardcore version nor the team strory. Otherwise, the multiplayer is real fun, but it is only available for two players, not counting the online version of it.
  20. AlecB.
    Dec 28, 2006
    8
    I'm not really an Xbox 360 fan at all. I own a ps3 ,ps2,x-box,and psp but when I heard how good this game is I spent my Christmas money on 360 and Gears of War and I was amazed how great this game is. It is no Halo 2 but pretty damn close. The fact that you can use chainsaws to cut people in half is great. The only reason now I'm keeping 360 is Gears of War and Halo 3 when it I'm not really an Xbox 360 fan at all. I own a ps3 ,ps2,x-box,and psp but when I heard how good this game is I spent my Christmas money on 360 and Gears of War and I was amazed how great this game is. It is no Halo 2 but pretty damn close. The fact that you can use chainsaws to cut people in half is great. The only reason now I'm keeping 360 is Gears of War and Halo 3 when it comes out in nov 07, those are the only 2 games 360 is made for. Expand
  21. StephenR.
    Dec 31, 2006
    8
    Here at the things you aren't getting in the other reviews, for better or worse. This game is VERY short, but at the same time intense. There are a couple of levels of badly designed crap (the light "gun" shooting at bats, is maddening). The game is really really pretty, and for the most part well executed. The other things that are missing are a lack of being able to affect or Here at the things you aren't getting in the other reviews, for better or worse. This game is VERY short, but at the same time intense. There are a couple of levels of badly designed crap (the light "gun" shooting at bats, is maddening). The game is really really pretty, and for the most part well executed. The other things that are missing are a lack of being able to affect or interact with the scene, if they put a bottle on a table you should be able to blow it off. The fact that it tells you that you can control that guys, but you really can't, is also a negative. There is nothing worse than trying to flank a dude shooting at you and having the guy who was suppressing them stop shooting and follow you. The games 'brothers in arms" and "freedom fighters" have the best player control of NPC's that I've seen, I hope that game developers take note of that at some point. I would suggest playing the game, but renting before you buy. Replay value may or may not be high enough to warrant $60. This game is better than HALO. HALO was always overhyped. The graphics are better, the action is better, the villians are "smarter." This is as close to the joy of Half Life 2 that you can play on the 360. Expand
  22. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Fun game to play but it had a few frustrating bugs/crashes. Very nice visuals and the characters are second to none. I do not play on-line, so I cannot comment on that aspect of the game, but storyline mode if fun and there is something cathartic about using a chainsaw to cut through a mass of enemies. Anyone who slags this game should reevaluate their expectations because if you cannotFun game to play but it had a few frustrating bugs/crashes. Very nice visuals and the characters are second to none. I do not play on-line, so I cannot comment on that aspect of the game, but storyline mode if fun and there is something cathartic about using a chainsaw to cut through a mass of enemies. Anyone who slags this game should reevaluate their expectations because if you cannot have fun playing this, you should probably quit playing video games. Expand
  23. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    While for the most part its a good game, The visuals are not that impressive (environments mostly, they also lack variety) and the campaign could have done better with explaining the whole situation the characters are in.
  24. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    One of my favorite memories of the 360, Gears of War is a great game. It's fun to go through, the story is about a bunch of huge space marines, and things go boom. It looks great, even today, and it's mechanics are rock solid. I've beaten it a dozen times and I still have fond memories about it. The multiplayer is good, though the sequel has it beat there. But for the price you can getOne of my favorite memories of the 360, Gears of War is a great game. It's fun to go through, the story is about a bunch of huge space marines, and things go boom. It looks great, even today, and it's mechanics are rock solid. I've beaten it a dozen times and I still have fond memories about it. The multiplayer is good, though the sequel has it beat there. But for the price you can get this for these days, you might as well pick up and have a go. Expand
  25. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Gears of War might have been over hyped, while it's a great game with solid gameplay it's not a game changer, graphics show age, but the sound is great, and the multiplayer is good, the worst part about this game is the story, there is absolutely no character development, hey try to give you a feeling of mystery about Marcus Fenix's (the main character) past, but it just makes himGears of War might have been over hyped, while it's a great game with solid gameplay it's not a game changer, graphics show age, but the sound is great, and the multiplayer is good, the worst part about this game is the story, there is absolutely no character development, hey try to give you a feeling of mystery about Marcus Fenix's (the main character) past, but it just makes him unlikable, weak story aside if you like 3rd person cover shooters you like this, just don't expect a deep story backing it up. Expand
  26. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    I love this game! Achievements are fun to get, the game play is really fun, great graphic. If you find this game cheap, get it. It is a great game with only one problem. It take too many shots to kill an enemy. That is not really too bad of problem see as you get an unbelievable amount of ammo.
  27. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Single player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign with my ex or by myself. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the gameSingle player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign with my ex or by myself. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the game Multiplayer: I enjoyed multiplayer but I wasn't good at it. I was very impatient and that hurt me. You have to be good at aiming from your hip a lot. It's solid gameplay, but it just wasn't my thing. Expand
  28. Sep 2, 2011
    8
    With Gears of War 3 drawing ever closer I decided to go back to the start before it finally arrives! First of all, stating the obvious, its a great game. Sure, 5 years or so on from the original release but it's still one of the best gaming debuts. Back in the day I recall being blown away by what Gears had to offer. Visually it raised the bar, it looked very next gen. More importantly theWith Gears of War 3 drawing ever closer I decided to go back to the start before it finally arrives! First of all, stating the obvious, its a great game. Sure, 5 years or so on from the original release but it's still one of the best gaming debuts. Back in the day I recall being blown away by what Gears had to offer. Visually it raised the bar, it looked very next gen. More importantly the game plays extremely well. The shooting system is fairly straightforward and easy to come to grips with although it times you may get ever son slightly frustrated but thats were the revolutionary chainsaw and gun combination comes to the rescue. Yes, its absurd, ridiculous but also genius! The story is simple, humanity is on the brink. The Locust Horde have risen and are taking over, enter Marcus Fenix, humanity's last hope. Well not quite but you get the drift. Its an incredibly engaging experience and a very well written game full of twists and also full of all sorts of weird and nasty creatures. For me there wasn't much wrong with this game however I just feel it was lacking something, what though I can't quite put my finger on I wanted more but I was for from disappointed because as an all round game Gears of War is a fantastic game. Online is addictive as hell and there is bags of fun to be had here for hours on end, you really do have to experience this game mind you it is 2011 so I doubt any 360 owner hasn't. Not perfect but a stunning game nonetheless. Expand
  29. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    Its easy to forgot now but at the time the original Gears of War set a benchmark for next generation graphics and inspired a whole genre in the way it reinvented the cover based shooter. Truth be told there is little story behind proceedings and the controls could be a little fiddly until you got a handle on them but, the brutal gameplay was truly unlike anything else available at theIts easy to forgot now but at the time the original Gears of War set a benchmark for next generation graphics and inspired a whole genre in the way it reinvented the cover based shooter. Truth be told there is little story behind proceedings and the controls could be a little fiddly until you got a handle on them but, the brutal gameplay was truly unlike anything else available at the time and the opportunity to play the entire campaign with a friend (either split-screen or over Xbox Live) only made things even better. Collapse
  30. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Gears of War is epic. Just epic. If you haven't played this game...go play it. It's a little short but overall this is a very good game! The gameplay is WOW and the graphics is good. This is better than Gears of War 2 in my opinion.
  31. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    Its easy to forgot now but at the time the original Gears of War set a benchmark for next generation graphics and inspired a whole genre in the way it reinvented the cover based shooter. Truth be told there is little story behind proceedings and the controls could be a little fiddly until you got a handle on them but, the brutal gameplay was truly unlike anything else available at theIts easy to forgot now but at the time the original Gears of War set a benchmark for next generation graphics and inspired a whole genre in the way it reinvented the cover based shooter. Truth be told there is little story behind proceedings and the controls could be a little fiddly until you got a handle on them but, the brutal gameplay was truly unlike anything else available at the time and the opportunity to play the entire campaign with a friend (either split-screen or over Xbox Live) only made things even better. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.