Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Vandal Online
    Nov 22, 2011
    A good and entertaining shooter, although somewhat far from the best games in the genre. But the classy style of James Bond makes it special.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    Goldeneye 007 Reloaded is an interesting hybrid between FPS and stealth that doesn't rely only on nostalgia to be enjoyed. On HD console, it struggles to shows off against the big names in the action genre but its particular blend of genres manages to be considered an interesting alternative.
  3. Jan 2, 2012
    Having loved the game back in the 90s, I was disappointed with the remake. The graphics could have been a lot better, the multiplayer was great back then but with small, monotonous maps an a dearth of game modes is pretty weak by today's standards Surprisingly, the solo campaign is pretty solid, though the story is shallow. Luckily Daniel Craig lent his original voice and visual appearance to the game, so you can play a cool Bond character.
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    Technically, Goldeneye 007: Reloaded does nothing wrong, and in fact my hat's off to Activision for bringing a classic game to the modern era. The gameplay, though, in spite of its tweaks here and there, just doesn't have the impact as when Goldeneye was the one N64 game everyone owned.
  5. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 8, 2011
    Just above average at best and has nothing you won't have seen before. [Issue#79, p.85]
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    If you've not played the Wii game then this is worth a rental at least, or maybe wait until its price drops to about £20, then it would be worth it. If you have played the Wii game though, just don't bother, there is nothing new here, and the slightly shinier visuals don't disguise the fact you are playing a slightly worse version of the same game.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    With its moments of intense and fast paced action Goldeneye 007: Reloaded proves to be a well crafted FPS, incapable however of competing with many of the most recent shooters, both in single and multiplayer. In another age or time this could have been a blast, but with BF3 and MW3 out there, it's hard to believe anyone would want to spend their money here.
  8. 70
    There are only a few minor improvements over the Wii version, but this is still a classy remake with some of the best split screen action on consoles.
  9. Nov 3, 2011
    Overall, I was actually pleasantly surprised by GoldenEye: Reloaded. There are enough nods to the source material to keep the game from being a complete derailment of the franchise, and while the multiplayer will never measure up to the original, it still has its English charms.
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    The remade, re-imagining of GoldenEye is a spot-on update for Bond fans who missed the Wii edition initially.
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    GoldenEye 007: Reloaded isn't as iconic as the original, but still offers some enjoyable moments. The first and last levels are the best in the game and really capture that James Bond-feeling. Splitscreen multiplayer for four people is still as much fun as ever.
  12. Nov 7, 2011
    If you're jonesing for classic, Rare-made GoldenEye and your N64 is nowhere to be found, then the updated Reloaded is definitely a must-buy. But if you don't already have an attachment to the old game, there isn't much here for you.
  13. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    Average shooter by no means belongs to the top of this genre that you can choose for this year. Even the most nostalgic gamers can not hide poor visuals and troublesome game design. [Christmas 2011]
  14. Eurocom's recycled but robust offering might have been worth it if Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 weren't stealing the limelight this Christmas. Golden Eye Reloaded is fun, but fails to square up to the FPS big boys.
  15. Nov 30, 2011
    Remake of a stealthy shooter that feels both dated and well preserved at the same time.
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Nov 7, 2011
    So, in conclusion, GoldenEye 007: Reloaded packs one of the worst single player modes of any FPS to appear on 360, PS3 or PC in recent years, but it goes some way to making up for it with its split screen multiplayer. Its biggest accomplishment is that it demonstrates there's still a life for such games and that multiplayer in an FPS doesn't have to exist exclusively in the online arena.
  18. Nov 7, 2011
    A decent, if fairly by the numbers, port of the Wii game.
  19. Nov 3, 2011
    GoldenEye lost some charm moving from being one of the few first-person shooters on the Wii to the shooter heavy PS3 and Xbox 360, but there is something here for Bond fans with a variety of gameplay modes each with something to offer – if you can get over a few bumps.
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    The online is kind of a mess.
  21. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2011
    Bond's Ops are crude, overlong slogs - padding, pure and simple. [Feb 2012, p.104]
  22. Games Master UK
    Dec 17, 2011
    Soils classic design with modern bombast leaving us more shaken than stirred. [Jan 2012, p.88]
  23. 57
    Putting aside N64 loyalty, GoldenEye is not a great game. Not, at least, in the context of the current 360/PS3 shooting scene.
  24. Nov 23, 2011
    A remake of a remake, GoldenEye 007: Reloaded proves that it is almost impossible to do. The visuals and the artificial intelligence are extremely disappointing. The nostalgic multiplayer is one of the highlights, but you have to expect more from a game that carries the name 'GoldenEye'.
  25. Dec 5, 2011
    Instead of putting in the muscle to make a Bond game worthy of the canon, we have been given a port of a remake of a Nintendo 64 game. GoldenEye 007: Reloaded isn't worth your time.
  26. Dec 1, 2011
    While this game has its faults it will definitely appeal to the gamers who loved the Wii version or any hardcore James Bond fans.
  27. Nov 21, 2011
    The old school game design along with the empty servers that cripple the online experience, make the latest addition to the Bond franchise one of the weakest we've ever seen.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 40
  2. Negative: 15 out of 40
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    This game is addictive! Controls are smooth, storyline is compelling, and the replay value is high (I find myself replaying missions rightThis game is addictive! Controls are smooth, storyline is compelling, and the replay value is high (I find myself replaying missions right after completion just to see if I can complete all objectives). I found the difficulties to be just right, with a player experienced in shooters able to play on the 007 difficulty pretty easily. Overall, the game is just fun, and easy to jump into right away. Full Review »
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    The multiplayer is great. I does have its problems with the glitchy player movement, which almost ruins it sometimes. I thought I had a badThe multiplayer is great. I does have its problems with the glitchy player movement, which almost ruins it sometimes. I thought I had a bad internet connection at first. It is the COD engine so I don't understand why they could not fix this. The enemy players don't run they kind of glitch/skip along at times. Somehow it does not ruin the multiplayer experience. Not only does it take me back to N64 days but it also feels at time like the first Modern Warfare Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    How can you rate the game 0? I suspect you are a spoiler. This game plays really well and gives a great FPS campaign as Bond. MultiplayerHow can you rate the game 0? I suspect you are a spoiler. This game plays really well and gives a great FPS campaign as Bond. Multiplayer is really fun and the 4 player split screen is awesome.

    Fact - Campaign is more fun than BF3
    Fact - Multiplayer is more fun than BF3 unless you like hard sim FSP multiplayer of course

    This is a really fun game that will make people want to keep coming back. The multiplayer modes are really fun. Glitchy.... not really... and certainly no more so than the above mentioned game
    Full Review »