Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3001 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TS
    May 1, 2008
    8
    This game came with high expectations, but I'm going to ignore those expectations. Lets go beyond the fact that this game was supposed to bring God back to the Earth and shake the very foundations of Hell, lets look at it as a game. Graphics are amazing. People have a very endearing cartoonish quality while still having all the appropriate age lines and cars are just... well it might This game came with high expectations, but I'm going to ignore those expectations. Lets go beyond the fact that this game was supposed to bring God back to the Earth and shake the very foundations of Hell, lets look at it as a game. Graphics are amazing. People have a very endearing cartoonish quality while still having all the appropriate age lines and cars are just... well it might be a racing game for the next gen as far as those graphics are concerned. Alas, the world is not made or unmade by graphics. GTA III was a breakthrough because it was the first sandbox game and had more options then any other game of its time. GTA 4... well, its a sandbox game with a large world that the creators should be proud of, but by no means does it introduce new features. Bowling, Dart throwing, and getting drunk add some flavor, but are almost like half-hearted attempts rather then something you can truly enjoy. When the game was first being reviewed there was talk of cops pulling you over for just running a red light and a more "real" feel where everything was very dynamic. Ha. The cops are easier in some ways then the previous series and the action stacks up poorly to games out there like Saint's Row and CrackDown. CrackDown at least brought the unique powers to the table, and while the story brought to us in GTA 4 does count as quite good, it doesn't make up for the complete lack of innovation. Combat is jerky, the aim continues to lock onto people who are down and DEAD while the living continue firing, self aim is amusing but it is a complete pain in the ass to hold the trigger down halfway just to aim. Then there is the save system. I would like to welcome GTA 4 in to the 21st century and remind RockStar that we have HARD DRIVES now that can hold saves from ANYWHERE IN THE GAME. It is tedious to occasionally have to drive all the way across town after reloading in order to redo a mission. IT IS THE HEIGHT OF ANNOYING TO HAVE TO DO THIS SEVERAL TIME FOR THE SAME MISSION. Overall I applaud GTA 4 for the graphics, story, and random fun, but I cannot give it above an eight because the territory it treads has been marked as much as WWII in gaming and all the promise of the previews has become all the empty hype. Expand
  2. ElTorago
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The greatest game ever. Period. I don't even have the game yet.
  3. bestgameever
    May 1, 2008
    10
    NO doubt great graphics when looked at the size of map and compared to previous GTA. THe controls are more realisitc and a ittle harder to control at first but then it is like second nature. THe story is one of the best ever THe sound also very good with a variety of stations and talkshows. The online is a little hard to get on but it was very fun when i was on. There might be a little NO doubt great graphics when looked at the size of map and compared to previous GTA. THe controls are more realisitc and a ittle harder to control at first but then it is like second nature. THe story is one of the best ever THe sound also very good with a variety of stations and talkshows. The online is a little hard to get on but it was very fun when i was on. There might be a little problems but not enough from letting this titlw not get a 10 PS3 version. Expand
  4. HojoM.
    May 1, 2008
    8
    Awesome game, but does not feel finished... very rocky in areas... far from perfect. I would say 9 but the 8 is to balance it out...a little anyways...realistically I'd say it's like a 9.2/10.
  5. BenR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It was about time GTA got rid of those crummy canned animations. TG for Euphoria and 16 player Free Roaming!
  6. KevinC.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best game to come out since Ocarina of Time.
  7. Can'tStandHumanStupidity
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Honestly, if you think the graphics aren't fantastic, not only do you know nothing about video games but you should give them up all together. People need to stop pretending they know anything. GTAIV is the epitome of sand box video games. The attention to detail, no loading time between areas, fantastic physics, great story line, etc is what makes this a 10. If you think it's Honestly, if you think the graphics aren't fantastic, not only do you know nothing about video games but you should give them up all together. People need to stop pretending they know anything. GTAIV is the epitome of sand box video games. The attention to detail, no loading time between areas, fantastic physics, great story line, etc is what makes this a 10. If you think it's graphically mediocre, you're incapable of proper thinking. Just stop. Expand
  8. DiegoR.
    May 17, 2008
    9
    The best fun to be had since the Macarena. Nobody knew what the hell that song was about but everybody wanted to dance and have fun with it. Sorry... I have to go ROMAN is calling me on the cellphone I have to go pick him up.
  9. DavidK.
    May 18, 2008
    10
    By far the best selection from the GTA series. I started the game off thinking it was the same old thing, but the further I played the more I noticed the attention to detail. A living breathing world where every conversation you hear, every radio station you listen to, and every TV show you watch is downright funny. Plus the best characters from and GTA game yet, this game got rid of By far the best selection from the GTA series. I started the game off thinking it was the same old thing, but the further I played the more I noticed the attention to detail. A living breathing world where every conversation you hear, every radio station you listen to, and every TV show you watch is downright funny. Plus the best characters from and GTA game yet, this game got rid of everything I found annoying with San Andreas and improved on everything that was working correctly. I highly recommend this, but it looks like everyone should already own it considering the amount they have sold for both the PS3 and Xbox. Expand
  10. MattC.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is the most realistic game on the market today...and thats what people are looking for, this game offers so much more then expected. You're not a ture American if you don't play Grand Theft Auto IV.
  11. JakeH.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is truly amazing.
  12. KwyjiboJ.
    May 2, 2008
    5
    Average game. This could have been so much better had they made the colours brighter, introduced more power ups, and put waggle in. My grandma can't join in, if only it was for the Wii, the world's most powerful console.
  13. MichaelR.
    May 2, 2008
    7
    The graphics are average.Lots of boring missions driving around from place to place.The detail in the game is excellent and its the most realistic game ever made although it could have been even more realistic.
  14. Impindahizzy
    May 22, 2008
    7
    Wildly overrated in my opinion. The one player game stuns at first, but the repetitive nature of most missions soon begin to annoy. To be honest I prefer my games more 'arcadey' (if that's a proper word?) and actually prefered Crackdown to this!! So it's really not to my taste. However, the reason I gave it 7 out of 10 is for the online multi-player modes which are Wildly overrated in my opinion. The one player game stuns at first, but the repetitive nature of most missions soon begin to annoy. To be honest I prefer my games more 'arcadey' (if that's a proper word?) and actually prefered Crackdown to this!! So it's really not to my taste. However, the reason I gave it 7 out of 10 is for the online multi-player modes which are excellent and great fun to play (doesn't come close to the likes of CoD4 and Halo 3 online though), otherwise I would have given it 5 out of 10. To sum up, it's not to my taste but I can understand why the game is well liked. Overrated. Expand
  15. MattF.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Great game, but a couple of flaws, and 10/10 means that it is perfect, which it is not. I'd recommend this game to anyone.
  16. BreeandieonW.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    GTA IV belongs in your game collection. It is clear how much thought has gone into this game, and it is superb. This isn't coming from a GTA buff either. I am new to the series and am quite impressed. There are a ton of activities to do and so much to see. It's up to you how the game plays out, so what you put in is what you get out of it. Even the humor within the game is an GTA IV belongs in your game collection. It is clear how much thought has gone into this game, and it is superb. This isn't coming from a GTA buff either. I am new to the series and am quite impressed. There are a ton of activities to do and so much to see. It's up to you how the game plays out, so what you put in is what you get out of it. Even the humor within the game is an awesome touch and makes it that much more enjoyable. The cell phone integration works well also and adds a more social side, which helps to make it an even more memorable experience. Even after you get bored of single player, there are plenty of multiplayer modes such as Cops and Crooks, Hangmans Noose (a personal favorite), deathmatch (of course) and free roam. These can be a hoot when you get all your friends together and just go at it. I can't tell you how much you need to experience this game. At bare minimum rent it, and see what everyone is talking about. Expand
  17. ILikeGamesSmooth
    May 3, 2008
    7
    A great game, a stunning work of art for Rockstar but frankly neither of the consoles are powerful enough for the game to be done justice to. I played PS3 version for quite some time then sold it because as much as I loved the content I could not contend with the blurred graphics (from scaling) the bad aliasing and especially the low low frame rate (may times sub 20fps esp at times when A great game, a stunning work of art for Rockstar but frankly neither of the consoles are powerful enough for the game to be done justice to. I played PS3 version for quite some time then sold it because as much as I loved the content I could not contend with the blurred graphics (from scaling) the bad aliasing and especially the low low frame rate (may times sub 20fps esp at times when you need it to be high/smooth ie during car chases/shoot outs). If only it ran as smooth as I'm sure Rockstar would have liked then it would be gaming nirvana (or at least sandbox gaming nirvana as it's not without it's gameplay faults either). I loved Vice City and I ran it on PC fast and with antialiasing and of course it looks very bad next to GTAIV but it FELT good to interact with as it was fast (at least on a fast PC). I hope for a PC version of IV by the end of the year and will rebuy it and run it as it deserves to be run without constant visual reminders that you are playing a game and a poor performing one at that. And it's understandable that the consoles are hampered by this work of art, it's just too much for them to handle right now and maybe R* should have scaled their design back a bit and got the frame rates and resolutions rock solid first as interaction will always be more important than 'cool features' in games. I'm hoping to give 10/10 on PC if it scales well and allows better clarity in the graphics. As it stands on PS3 i'd give it a 7 due to it's technical burden and tiresome interaction, but probably a 9 for the game itself if those restraints were absent. Expand
  18. BOBJ
    May 3, 2008
    7
    Just GTA They've done it before. 10/10? Overrated. Still it's GTA if you played one you played all. They just added a really good multiplayer.
  19. BenH.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    It seems quite obvious that to me that this game is one of the best ever created in the videogame world. From the lifelike city, the realistic physics, the infallible humor, and the well-written script to the intense cop chases, the carefully-honed characters, the sheer open-endedness, and the promising prospect of shooting anyone who pisses you off in the head with a shotgun, GTA IV is It seems quite obvious that to me that this game is one of the best ever created in the videogame world. From the lifelike city, the realistic physics, the infallible humor, and the well-written script to the intense cop chases, the carefully-honed characters, the sheer open-endedness, and the promising prospect of shooting anyone who pisses you off in the head with a shotgun, GTA IV is very much like the games that came before it; however, at the same time, it has made several improvements that easily boost it above any other game of this type, and, indeed, most other games in general. I won't ramble forever here, but I will say this: forget the naysayers, as this game has received so much hype that it seems impossible to this reviewer that there would be no negative scores and reviews. This game, unlike almost every that has come before it (Halo 3, Bioshock, Mass Effect included) lives up to the hype. it is not flawless, obviously, but the flaws themselves are almost minuscule, and critiquing it on these flaws alone would be like hating a perfect film because one of the actors/actresses had bad hair. GTA Iv is certainly greater than the sum of its parts, and, when these sums are added up, it flashes its wealth of gold in gameplay and humor, and almost reinvents--yet again--the sandbox game. This one's a must play. And I didn't even begin to touch on the multiplayer.... Expand
  20. TarvuT.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    Brilliant plot and graphics, disappointing handling (Nico seems to have minor retardation) and abysmal online interactivity, seems as if Rockstar never heard of Play testing. (Multiplayer game could not be joined, returning to single player. But I want to play Multiplayer!)
  21. DHarmshaw
    May 3, 2008
    10
    The first truly next gen game. The PS3 version has slightly better graphic- but then again the xbox 360 gets more downloadable content with new missions-i know which one I'd choose!
  22. Frederick
    May 4, 2008
    9
    I'm convinced that people who trash this game only played for a short time and decided they didn't like it, so they declare that it sucks. You can't judge this game without taking the time to get deep into the single player and multiplayer. Yes, at its core it's got much of the same stuff as other GTA games, and it does have a few problems, which is why I give it a 9 I'm convinced that people who trash this game only played for a short time and decided they didn't like it, so they declare that it sucks. You can't judge this game without taking the time to get deep into the single player and multiplayer. Yes, at its core it's got much of the same stuff as other GTA games, and it does have a few problems, which is why I give it a 9 and not a 10 (I'd give it 9.75 to be exact). But this game has so much stuff to do that it's insane, and most of it is really fun. It may be a little underwhelming at first if you've played GTA before because at first it feels like same-old same-old, but give it time and you will be floored by how much stuff there is to do in this game. People are going to be playing this game for a LONG time. Expand
  23. SteveK.
    May 4, 2008
    7
    this whole review debacle is a classic case of game magazines and reviewers getting doped up on the hype and extreme expectations that surrounds some games in the run-up to the release. gta4 certainly is a good game, but very far from perfection, even far from being excellent. it's very enjoyable sometimes and sometimes outright dull. why countless reviewers have overlooked the this whole review debacle is a classic case of game magazines and reviewers getting doped up on the hype and extreme expectations that surrounds some games in the run-up to the release. gta4 certainly is a good game, but very far from perfection, even far from being excellent. it's very enjoyable sometimes and sometimes outright dull. why countless reviewers have overlooked the glaring flaws is beyond me. a review score shouldn't rate effort and ambition. gameplay is king and in regard to that gta4 is certainly above average, but falls short of greatness. a healthy 7 points, I say. Expand
  24. TruNorth
    May 4, 2008
    7
    Not the best, but good. The radar map is too small, so is the cell phone.(on a 47" 1080p)The graphics are anything but stunning, I was expecting a sharpness that wasn't there. now of course you can go anywhere and do alot, but If I want to wine and dine a girl, it'll be a real one. As for the story, now this is the best part of the game. I have only rented this game and will Not the best, but good. The radar map is too small, so is the cell phone.(on a 47" 1080p)The graphics are anything but stunning, I was expecting a sharpness that wasn't there. now of course you can go anywhere and do alot, but If I want to wine and dine a girl, it'll be a real one. As for the story, now this is the best part of the game. I have only rented this game and will only buy it at a discounted price. The one thing I hope is that other developers don't see this a what they can get away with and make clones that look even worst then GTA IV. Expand
  25. FredC.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This game has poor graphics for a PS3 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  26. JaceN.
    May 5, 2008
    6
    In an odd "apples & oranges" kind of way id compare GTA4 to The Elder Scrolls 4 - Oblivion. Both are in their fourth official outing (minus side stories), both received major pre-release overhype, both sold through the roof, both retain all the problems previous episodes suffered from, both focussed more on technology than what made people love the series in the first place and both In an odd "apples & oranges" kind of way id compare GTA4 to The Elder Scrolls 4 - Oblivion. Both are in their fourth official outing (minus side stories), both received major pre-release overhype, both sold through the roof, both retain all the problems previous episodes suffered from, both focussed more on technology than what made people love the series in the first place and both sacrificed features previous episodes had for no apparent reason. Although GTA4 goes one better in that it...at times...can frustrate you to despair! Combat is slow and stilted, driving often ends in a lightpole/12-car smashdance and the new pay & spray rules make its completely worthless. Its a well made game no doubt and worth a high score but its for workmanships sake alone. Im hoping 5 if and when it appears will be more of a leap forward instead of sideways with more window dressing. Expand
  27. ChrisK
    May 5, 2008
    9
    XBox- Not quite a 10 due to graphical issues, worst pop-in in any game ive ever seen. although the amount of content is the reason, i understand. i believe many wouldnt have minded an additional month pushback if some of these errors would have been taken care of. PS3- although no DLC, theres plenty of game there to be ammused with. the pop-in, wait a min....there is no pop-ins! Including XBox- Not quite a 10 due to graphical issues, worst pop-in in any game ive ever seen. although the amount of content is the reason, i understand. i believe many wouldnt have minded an additional month pushback if some of these errors would have been taken care of. PS3- although no DLC, theres plenty of game there to be ammused with. the pop-in, wait a min....there is no pop-ins! Including smoother edges and less screen tearing. pushing the PS3 version to at least a 9.5 Both- Controls are clunky, which takes a bit of getting used to. Cover system is nothing like GOW. except for the name "cover system" in addition: i think the white aim cursor could have been a little bolder, when shooting far distances its quite hard to see. Conclusion: Best Game Ive Ever Played. Flat out. Expand
  28. KaleB.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Better than Bioshock (my previous favorite game), in my opinion. I'm half way through playing it for the second time and it's still fun as all hell.
  29. RobertC.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The story shines, the game play is solid and despite a few minor glitches like collision detection, popups, and lousy save rules, compared to everything else this game is at the top. As good (if not slightly better) than Bioshock, which was my game of the year last year.
  30. JinW.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    amazing game, visually stunning worth every quid. honestly i can't describe how awesome this game is, I honestly just spend most my time TRYING to be good, even though its sooo easy to raise notoriety...sitting in a cab, just that deserves an award...its just soo amazing. the only problem is that because its so awesome when it doesn't live up to it in minor moments you feel the amazing game, visually stunning worth every quid. honestly i can't describe how awesome this game is, I honestly just spend most my time TRYING to be good, even though its sooo easy to raise notoriety...sitting in a cab, just that deserves an award...its just soo amazing. the only problem is that because its so awesome when it doesn't live up to it in minor moments you feel the fail, even though how minute it is but you feel it. Game of the year nominee right here. Expand
  31. TommyF.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    #1 GTA game in their series on the 360.
  32. JackT.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Just voting 10 to balance out all the retards voting 0. Peace.
  33. DavidH.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Sublime. Sound is perfect with memorable songs, excellent sounds of weapons and explosions and pitch perfect dialogue. Story is best in series and very human in its presentation of the main and sub characters. gaemplay aint perfect but a FAR improvement and the realism i think adds to the game in spades. Overall its long enough (but not 100 hours) and worth a purchase in every regard.
  34. AndrewS.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Some people rate games on imperfections ,and some rate games on fun factor alone ,or both , i do both this game has minor flaws, but with that said, the AMAZING amount of things to do, and the FUN to be had in Liberty City, is what makes this the Best game ever (so far) ,and the most amount of Fun i have ever had to date in a virtual world, i have been gaming for almost 3 decades , and Some people rate games on imperfections ,and some rate games on fun factor alone ,or both , i do both this game has minor flaws, but with that said, the AMAZING amount of things to do, and the FUN to be had in Liberty City, is what makes this the Best game ever (so far) ,and the most amount of Fun i have ever had to date in a virtual world, i have been gaming for almost 3 decades , and this game just blows me away . in every way. Expand
  35. Harrym.
    May 7, 2008
    8
    The game is very good, but all these reviewers giving it a perfect 10 must be all the fanboys that we keep getting told about. The game is far from perfect. Without commenting on the the glitches and all the freezes irrespective of console that have widely been reported. The graphics are barely better than GTA-SA. The only genuine addition to the game is a very unstable "better" The game is very good, but all these reviewers giving it a perfect 10 must be all the fanboys that we keep getting told about. The game is far from perfect. Without commenting on the the glitches and all the freezes irrespective of console that have widely been reported. The graphics are barely better than GTA-SA. The only genuine addition to the game is a very unstable "better" multiplayer. Absolutely nothing new to the series, purely evolutionary. Expand
  36. Bernard
    May 7, 2008
    6
    am afraid to say that this is just GTA3 in a pretty dress, that isn't such a bad thing, but its a case of DON'T BELEAVE THE HYPE!...every single fault with GTA 3, the pop ups, the twichy controls, the in-door enviroments, the unfair mission structure, the cops that seem to able to lock a tractor beam on to the back of your car an follow you were ever you go, are still all there, am afraid to say that this is just GTA3 in a pretty dress, that isn't such a bad thing, but its a case of DON'T BELEAVE THE HYPE!...every single fault with GTA 3, the pop ups, the twichy controls, the in-door enviroments, the unfair mission structure, the cops that seem to able to lock a tractor beam on to the back of your car an follow you were ever you go, are still all there, a lot of reviewers are talking about the refinement of the controls but as far as i can tell there is none, the aimming system is still "lock on", the cover system feels like an afterthought, GTA 3 really was a gaming landmark an for this you forgave all the promblems an enjoyed the sheer amount of freedom the PS2 game gave you....if your a GTA fan and have played the games that came before this will be nothing new at all. that said its GTA so if your feeling a little bit retro...an fancy reliving the joys an the sorrows of the series then give it a go...but i would recommend that you put GTA 3 in your PS2 or your x box an just to remind yourself of what to expect from its replacement.... it really should be called GTA 3 HD. Expand
  37. PatD
    May 8, 2008
    8
    I agree with a lot of the other user reviews. This is a very good and entertaining game, but is by no means a 10, or even one of the best games of the past year. I find Call of Duty IV, Halo 3 and Bioshock just as good, if not better. However, it is very immersive and the scope of the world you're dropped into is amazing. Fun multiplayer action, too...when it works.
  38. PeteH
    May 8, 2008
    10
    You know a game is great when you get Nintendo fanboys posting ratings of "0" because they're jealous they can't play it on their chosen system. This game for once lives up to all the hype. It's the most fun I've had in a long time.
  39. VictorM.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  40. JasonBT
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    Highly overrated game. Don't get me wrong, i extremely enjoyed this game, definitely one of the best on the 360, but the reviews are EXTREMELY overrated. First off, the gameplay is fun, but incredibly repetitive. Basically, every mission has you calling a guy, or getting summoned to your "employers" home/base to watch a short but always entertaining cutscene that explains your Highly overrated game. Don't get me wrong, i extremely enjoyed this game, definitely one of the best on the 360, but the reviews are EXTREMELY overrated. First off, the gameplay is fun, but incredibly repetitive. Basically, every mission has you calling a guy, or getting summoned to your "employers" home/base to watch a short but always entertaining cutscene that explains your mission. then you drive to your destination and complete your task. Steal a car, assassinate someone, deliver drugs, etc. After you are done, you get your pay. While it is fun, it gets old doing it literally dozens of times. Because that is all the game has you doing over and over. Now before GTA fanatics flame me, i know there are many other things you can do. Exploring the city by just driving is great on its own, plus doing many other side stories, dating, going out with friends, whatever. But the gameplay is what matters most, and for me, its too redundant. There are the occasional missions with little innovative twists to the game (hopping on the back of a truck, getting ambushed by gangs/cops, deciding on who to kill when both people hired you to kill each other) but they are not enough to make the game feel fresh. that's my only problem with the game preventing me, like most other usual critics, from giving GTAIV a perfect score. No doubt a great game, but when the game play is that repetitive with very little changes, i can't possibly consider it to be one of the best of all time. Definitely worth playing or even buying, but even more so, definitely overrated. Expand
  41. B.Q.
    Jun 3, 2008
    8
    A very good game, but not nearly as engaging or complete as San Andreas. My primary criticism is that I agree with the reviewers who noted that the game took a big step back in the area of character customization. And while I didnt really care that I couldnt get a different haircut or sculpt my body shape, I was dissapointed by not being able to complete missions to 'upgrade' my A very good game, but not nearly as engaging or complete as San Andreas. My primary criticism is that I agree with the reviewers who noted that the game took a big step back in the area of character customization. And while I didnt really care that I couldnt get a different haircut or sculpt my body shape, I was dissapointed by not being able to complete missions to 'upgrade' my character. In San Andreas, successfully completing side missions, taking gang turf, snapping photos, finding all of an item, mastering a vehicle/weapon to 100%, etc., all allowed your character to unlock certain bonus's, vehicles, weapons, extra heath, damage, vehicle control, etc. Now, all that happens when you complete side missions is that you are 1 step closer to 100% completion. Sure you get a few things here and there.... but there isnt as much incentive to keep playing the game. For someone who isnt as interested in that 100% number as he is in creating a powerful character and collecting a bunch of stuff... this is a big letdown. Especially since they already incorporated those elements into a previous game, I don't understand why they would take them away. Expand
  42. DantonQ.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    For those who think this game sucks, why don't you buy a genesis or a N 64 and play those Kirby games you like. Obviously GTA4 has defects but is the best videogame ever made (no doubt about it). Some of you think themselves as 'rebels' saying this game sucks, stupid sexual frustration.... The same with COD 4(obviously again the best FPs ever made), some seem to prefer For those who think this game sucks, why don't you buy a genesis or a N 64 and play those Kirby games you like. Obviously GTA4 has defects but is the best videogame ever made (no doubt about it). Some of you think themselves as 'rebels' saying this game sucks, stupid sexual frustration.... The same with COD 4(obviously again the best FPs ever made), some seem to prefer mercs on snses or commando, go ahead guys, so rebel, so badass!!!! Expand
  43. JoeK.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    GREAT GAME!
  44. ArthurP.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Not a revolution, but rather a delivered promise of a refined formula that reveals detail like no other game has. GTA 4 is not without its flaws, but none of them are able to take the spotlight away from the experience as a whole. Special attention goes to the context of the narrative and gameplay that have sobered up since the series' latest title.
  45. LarryH.
    Jul 2, 2008
    5
    If you are looking for something new, you certainly will not find it here. If you are looking for the newest version of the same game you've bought multiple times by now, albeit with improved graphics, your prayers have been answered. Stealing cars, killing cops, picking up hookers, and mediocre mini-games that you will quickly grow bored with serve as your main distractions from the If you are looking for something new, you certainly will not find it here. If you are looking for the newest version of the same game you've bought multiple times by now, albeit with improved graphics, your prayers have been answered. Stealing cars, killing cops, picking up hookers, and mediocre mini-games that you will quickly grow bored with serve as your main distractions from the tedious collection of Point A to Point B missions. This game does not deserve to be the highest rated game on the Xbox 360. Do not buy into the hype. Expand
  46. Vultan
    Jul 30, 2008
    6
    Totally overated. Cannot believe all the 9 and 10's this game's got. Repetitive and the graphics are nowhere near the best the 360 has to offer. The claims of interactivity and a fully realised city are just wrong, most of the buildings in the city cannot be entered and have horendous textures when up close. Missions repeat themselves and multiplayer no better than averageTotally overated. Cannot believe all the 9 and 10's this game's got. Repetitive and the graphics are nowhere near the best the 360 has to offer. The claims of interactivity and a fully realised city are just wrong, most of the buildings in the city cannot be entered and have horendous textures when up close. Missions repeat themselves and multiplayer no better than average FPS. Dissapointing. Expand
  47. AnonymousMC
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    before this game came out there was so much hype and high expectations and i think that gta4 has lived up to these. This game has amazing graphics and great gameplay. Even once you have completed it there is still plenty more to do and have fun with. I can't understand how people can give a rating less than nine its a fun game, it can be a laugh and hours of gameplay more than enough.before this game came out there was so much hype and high expectations and i think that gta4 has lived up to these. This game has amazing graphics and great gameplay. Even once you have completed it there is still plenty more to do and have fun with. I can't understand how people can give a rating less than nine its a fun game, it can be a laugh and hours of gameplay more than enough. Amazing game 10/10 Expand
  48. JackF.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Finally, a game that won't leave you reconsidering paying such a large amount for a game that won't leave anything left after finishing it. This game is huge and offers at LEAST 30 hours of play (there's an achievement if you somehow manage to complete it quicker) and is worth every cent. The main highlight is the ragdoll physics. You can spend hours driving incredibly fast Finally, a game that won't leave you reconsidering paying such a large amount for a game that won't leave anything left after finishing it. This game is huge and offers at LEAST 30 hours of play (there's an achievement if you somehow manage to complete it quicker) and is worth every cent. The main highlight is the ragdoll physics. You can spend hours driving incredibly fast in a car and bail out to watch Niko smash his head against another car. The main fault is what most people are praising: The cover system. It's awkward and is nowhere near as fluid as it needs to be. That being said, one flaw won't outweigh the thousands of positives the game has to offer. Seriously, get it. Expand
  49. MitchK.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Simply the Greatest Game of all time, it is a must play experience and must have
  50. JohnKunkel
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    Overall, excellent gameplay. GTA 4 has some really cool new features such as the whole combat/target deal. GTA 4 though leaves out a lot of things in my opinion which made games like San Andreas so great. The story for one isn't very intense... I read some interviews where the developers mentioned how they didn't want this one to be "cinematic." Whatever that may have meant, theyOverall, excellent gameplay. GTA 4 has some really cool new features such as the whole combat/target deal. GTA 4 though leaves out a lot of things in my opinion which made games like San Andreas so great. The story for one isn't very intense... I read some interviews where the developers mentioned how they didn't want this one to be "cinematic." Whatever that may have meant, they sure seemed to have pulled it off with a somewhat bland story line, and a very unsatisfying ending (for me personally). Yah, there's still a hell lot more to do with side missions, but I expected the 90 missions I had to go through in order to complete the game would have given me a lot more satisfaction.

    Don't get me wrong, GTA 4 was great, but they seemed to have left out some key elements which made the other games a lot of fun. In my opinion, if they had kept a lot of elements that were in San Andreas, and shifted them over to GTA 4, it would have made the game top notch.
    Understandly, they appear to have tried to do things differently, but to me that just made for mixed personal feelings on certain aspects of the game (which very easily could have been improved).
    GTA 4 stands out as one of the strongest games of its genre around, but it also could have been so much better with very simple, and small details.

    I am a fan nevertheless, and you should definitely try itout!
    Expand
  51. McTom
    Sep 20, 2008
    8
    GTA IV suffers from tricky controls, repetitive design, arbitrary save feature and regular clipping. Also, the 'friend'-system isn't perfect and it is not 'a totally free world' as some of the reviewers say - I was in the understanding I could enter EVERY building in the game, but that's far from it . Only triggered locations can be entered. Nonetheless, I GTA IV suffers from tricky controls, repetitive design, arbitrary save feature and regular clipping. Also, the 'friend'-system isn't perfect and it is not 'a totally free world' as some of the reviewers say - I was in the understanding I could enter EVERY building in the game, but that's far from it . Only triggered locations can be entered. Nonetheless, I enjoy the game pretty much. The characters are pretty good, the missions are varied enough (apart from the driving to-bit) and the whole atmosphere works really well. At its core the gameplay is very old-fashioned and I guess that's what I really like about the game. Nice, but by no means perfect. Expand
  52. THarris
    Sep 4, 2008
    4
    This game is a prime subject of what hype can do. It is not neccessarily a bad game but it doesn't dare to do anything new. The gameplay is almost exactly the same as all of the other GTAs with shallow controls and repetittive missions. The graphics make it look quite believable but is very bland. Characters are the same cliched stereotypes. A very dull game that doesn't try This game is a prime subject of what hype can do. It is not neccessarily a bad game but it doesn't dare to do anything new. The gameplay is almost exactly the same as all of the other GTAs with shallow controls and repetittive missions. The graphics make it look quite believable but is very bland. Characters are the same cliched stereotypes. A very dull game that doesn't try anything new because rockstar knows that it will sell anyway. Expand
  53. TN
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Best game ever ffs. Hate theese kids that are addicted to the Sims and WoW and can't appreciate a good game. "I like to fly around in Jetpacks" well come on! What the fuck!
    Does anyone remember GTA1? That rocked and now you want a tamagoochi?

    Get real, n00bs
  54. MattF
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    A stunning technical achievement that includes a world full of detail, stunning graphics, incredible storyline/voice acting. Anyone who rates this 0 is a cynical loser who thinks going against the grain and down-rating a popular game makes them smart or better than everyone else, and nothing will ever appease them.
  55. ChrisS
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its beautiful gameworld with likable, believable characters. Sure there's no busting into Area 69 or blowing up a government cargo plane and then skydiving out...but there is still plenty of freedom and fun to be had in Liberty City's sandbox world. GTA has grown up. This was inevitably going to disappoint some gamers, but in my opinion it is a welcome change. The depth of the characters and world finds me going on fewer killing sprees and often running from police rather than slaying them, and to be honest, there's something awesomely revolutionary and superior about a GTA world full of characters I want to keep around. (Its still fun to push them in the water though). Expand
  56. TimBremner
    Nov 11, 2008
    7
    This is by no means a bad game, its not a great one though either. Aside from what has already been pointed out about the uselessness of money, poor multiplayer and repetitive everything! This game was really killed (my vocabulary is very limited, I know) by the lack of enjoyment after finishing the campaign and also the developers choice to go down a more realistic path..... Bad move Rockstar.
  57. MichaelHummer
    Oct 2, 2008
    8
    Well I'm playing through the game for the second time and I've just read about 100 reviews from users like me so I'm ready to share my opinion.
    It definitely grew on me over time.
    The graphics are undoubtedly sweet. I don't like auto lock, pull trigger half way deal. It would have been so easy to make RB the lock and dedicate LT for manual aim. The driving while
    Well I'm playing through the game for the second time and I've just read about 100 reviews from users like me so I'm ready to share my opinion.
    It definitely grew on me over time.
    The graphics are undoubtedly sweet.
    I don't like auto lock, pull trigger half way deal.
    It would have been so easy to make RB the lock and dedicate LT for manual aim.
    The driving while initially frustrating becomes fun.
    You just have to plan your skids A LOT earlier.
    Now I can get away from the cops pretty quickly because I know how to time it.
    With that in mind it's still not the carefree driving experience of San Andreas but there are good times to be had.
    In fact, a car I hated for it's lack on control in the beginning has become my favorite because it's got tons of power and I can now control it (Stallion).
    The soundtrack sucks!!!
    Other than like 5 songs it's a major disappointment.
    Every other station is just hip-hop, reggae, rap... With San Andreas you had a few stations for everyone.
    I've played this game enough to have found a station I like by now and I have found nothing.
    Yes, the game and missions have a been there done that feel.
    this is one of the first feelings I had when playing the game.
    I was hoping for something new but it was not to be.
    I felt bored pretty quickly because of this and more than that disappointed.
    Given that there were no better games to be found on the 360, or at least in my possession, I continued to play and have had tons of fun.
    Taxis can save a TON of time and keep the wait between action to a minimum.
    At this point I use taxis as a rule and drive only when necessary.
    Even with this philosophy there'splenty of driving and enjoyment.
    What I've found really enjoyable is the combat.
    After a long time I'm used to the targeting deal and can reliably keep from pulling the trigger all the way and ruining the experience.
    However, a lot of that is because I've been there before.
    Any new experience might jolt me and cause a knee jerk auto lock.
    Again, RB should be auto lock and leave LT dedicated to free aim!
    Nevertheless I am really enjoying going through the combat missions again and very rarely die.
    I dig the shotgun and like switching guns during combat.
    I'd like it if he walked a little faster during adrenalin moments and if the sneak elements were present that would be cool.
    I snuck onto a site with tons of enemies and it would have been cool to take them all out silently with a knife or silencer.
    The problem is that they don't sell knives at the gun shops and there are no silencers!!!
    If you ever lose your knife from the beginning mission you can't get it back.
    I'm sure I'm wrong about the knife deal but it's definitely not easy to find a knife and I'm through the game a second time; I'll try Jacob's deal to see if he has knives before I completely cry foul.
    The strip clubs are fun and even though the girls run through their routine with the same enthusiasm that a real stripper would they are legitimately exciting.
    Ammo is way too expensive, especially for the rocket launcher.
    They force you to pay attention to a woman near the end of the game and yet she's bugly!
    I liked her personality enough even though she was too extreme: see prude & righteous.
    But like I said she was friggin' hard to look at.
    The second time through she's been getting the cold shoulder.
    The friend thing is a friggin waste of time.
    It would be nice to hang with these people but they could have achieved that in several different ways: on the way to missions, during cut scenes, etc...
    The only reason to do it is to get the friend's bonus so there could have been a better way to achieve this.
    Interestingly, I find the game more playable because the main character is not upgradeable.
    If he had been ungradeable it would have been hard to start over with him at a weaker state.
    It's really just the weapons that distinguish the beginning from the end.
    I would like to see remote grenades for dealing with pesky swarms of cops who don't like it when you kill their coworkers.
    The boating stuff is a waste of time but shooting down helicopters with a rocket launcher NEVER gets old.
    I'd like to have seen more execution options like in Godfather; in that game you could really go on a rampage.
    The rocket launcher is a total blast but like I said it's $$$.
    The vigilante missions are different and limited in number and that last part sucks. It's nice for game completion but I'd prefer a San Andreas version with ever increasing difficulty. They do offer current crimes but neither type brings any money so that's a bummer. Money in this game becomes too important and significantly hinders fun. I stole a car once after a good amount of prep work and got $1,000.00 for it. Hi, that's the price of one grenade! Just make rocket launcher shells $2,000, instead of 5, and we'll all be happy. Overall I give it an 85 out of 100. I look forward to the next iteration.
    Expand
  58. JohnHartman
    Oct 9, 2008
    8
    While it's storyline is awesome and the combat is alright at best, I hate being penalised for not wanting to drive some person I don't care about halfway across town to go eat, I hate having to drive halfway across town to change my clothes for a mission, I hate driving halfway across town back to where I was before I died in a mission, I hate having to drive halfway across townWhile it's storyline is awesome and the combat is alright at best, I hate being penalised for not wanting to drive some person I don't care about halfway across town to go eat, I hate having to drive halfway across town to change my clothes for a mission, I hate driving halfway across town back to where I was before I died in a mission, I hate having to drive halfway across town just to SAVE A FREAKING GAME.

    I don't think Rockstar realises that gamers don't like grinding.
    Expand
  59. SapetV.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Beautiful light accompanied by satisfying gameplay and amazing narrative.
  60. OscarD.
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    The biggest and the best game of the 21th century.
  61. NarutoK.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Probably one of the best video games we'll see for a looong time.
  62. RicS.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    This is the game I've been looking forward to since the first trailer, now ONLY 3 MORE DAYS! I hope that Saint's Row 2 is going to take lots of the ideas from the GTA IV.
  63. TobyT.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best ever!
  64. BeljimS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    8
    Not enough of a difference from the other GTA games other than for the graphics which in my opinion are not all that either. Was expecting much more from all the hype.
  65. SdfSdf
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing in every aspect.
  66. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  67. RobB.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Sublime - Rockstar have pushed the boundaries once again for what makes a truly amazing game. Yeah there may be minor flaws but that's all they are - MINOR. They really do not hinder your enjoyment one bit. Game of the Year without a doubt, go buy it now!
  68. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  69. Millsy
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Wow. My best gaming moment has just happened. How it was better than I expected is beyond me.... I expected a lot ...but WOW!
  70. MIKEJ.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I played this game before anybody on this website considering that I do get games before they are released. GTA4 is a masterpiece and I don't think users should be able to vote before it comes out because that lets other users think that it might not be a good game considering that most of the users don't know what the hell they are talking about. This game shows a great amount I played this game before anybody on this website considering that I do get games before they are released. GTA4 is a masterpiece and I don't think users should be able to vote before it comes out because that lets other users think that it might not be a good game considering that most of the users don't know what the hell they are talking about. This game shows a great amount of scenery, nice detail in the characters, perfect engine for rag-doll effect. The massive amount of exploring also makes this game even better. I give this game 10 thumbs UP! Expand
  71. WilliamP.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. The aiming system is a real revolution in my eyes. I've never seen anything like it. The guns feel precise and powerful in a realistic way. The aiming system involves both a free-aim and a targeted aim where the crosshairs stay with the target, but you can move them relative to their center of mass. This allows targetting of limbs or heads for the quick kill. This game is incredible. The aiming system is a real revolution in my eyes. I've never seen anything like it. The guns feel precise and powerful in a realistic way. The aiming system involves both a free-aim and a targeted aim where the crosshairs stay with the target, but you can move them relative to their center of mass. This allows targetting of limbs or heads for the quick kill. As for driving, it's far more realistic this time around. It's a little awkward for a GTA3 veteran, but it grows on you. Here's a tip: hold the handbrake, don't tap it. Also, going slow has its merits. The physics are simply amazing. Very realistic. 10/10 is everything this game deserves. Expand
  72. ChristianN.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Finally I've got a new reason to live. This is massive, great, creative, astonishing and more. I love it.
  73. ScottO.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    WOW! details! details! details! Just an awesome experience. and for those of u that think its bad: you think this another bandwagon no something can be legitimately good!
  74. ChadT.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    The best game i've ever played, but I wish I could do drugs ect. like on saints row.
  75. RC
    Apr 29, 2008
    6
    It's overrated, just like the older ones.
  76. ChrisR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I've only played about 8 missions so far, but all the commentary had me cracking up. The story so far is amazing, voice acting is stunning. And the graphics are beautiful. This game is the closest thing to perfection.
  77. JM
    Apr 29, 2008
    5
    Pop up framerate issues and the graphics are below PS3 version.
  78. BrandonP.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Best game ever hands down.
  79. NickS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Surpasses that which has been tried in this generation. The multiplayer is a must play, single player is amazing, and the ability of Rockstar Games to pay attention to the tiniest details is beyond words.
  80. LenB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    its obvious that people are just being ignorant when they give this game a 0........give me a break this game is at least an 11! to all those zero people......face the facts..you never even played the game. prob mad that you cant afford the 60$.... As far as the game goes, fun in every aspect! wheather its just shoting civilians, or doing missions...a great way to spend a rainy day off! its obvious that people are just being ignorant when they give this game a 0........give me a break this game is at least an 11! to all those zero people......face the facts..you never even played the game. prob mad that you cant afford the 60$.... As far as the game goes, fun in every aspect! wheather its just shoting civilians, or doing missions...a great way to spend a rainy day off! And ive only got 1% of the game done! Expand
  81. MadisonK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Graphics aren't mindblowing given the current generation of games and the gameplay itself doesn't offer earth-shattering innovation. Same formula as all the other GTA series, with a few neat additions. Those criticisms don't matter simply because GTA4 has kept me entertained like no other game. This is the most fun I have ever had. EVER. If they charged $120, I'd still Graphics aren't mindblowing given the current generation of games and the gameplay itself doesn't offer earth-shattering innovation. Same formula as all the other GTA series, with a few neat additions. Those criticisms don't matter simply because GTA4 has kept me entertained like no other game. This is the most fun I have ever had. EVER. If they charged $120, I'd still buy it. I simply cannot think of a single thing in-game that isn't a blast. Good job, Rockstar! Expand
  82. Roger
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    Its got a great dynamic world with great weather effects. Its a maasive game with a great story. BUT i think the missions are a bit dull and the basic gameplay is old. Very dissapointed to be honest after all the hype. I see nothing to justify a 10/10. Im not saying its bad its just nothing special.
  83. IvanJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Good game, but no way it's a 10. A 10 means absolute perfection, and there's plenty of things that could have been better (driving interface anyone?)
  84. CamCam
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    game is good, but not great. Visuals outstanding, but reminded me too much of old games, only a few new things. MP is cool, great addition.
  85. Andrew
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I have to question whether the 6's and 7's have even played the game, not just based on their scores given but on their comments. Mediocre graphics? Standing around waiting? What the hell are you talking about? Either they have ridiculously high expectations or they haven't even played the game. GTA IV is a masterpiece, and this is coming from someone who was never a big I have to question whether the 6's and 7's have even played the game, not just based on their scores given but on their comments. Mediocre graphics? Standing around waiting? What the hell are you talking about? Either they have ridiculously high expectations or they haven't even played the game. GTA IV is a masterpiece, and this is coming from someone who was never a big fan of prior GTA games. I always got bored with the frustrating missions, one dimensional characters, and boring narrative, and would just go around blowing stuff up. I didn't even bother with San Andreas, as I knew I wouldn't be into it. Something told me this game would be both different and better, and it is. This is the first (and only) GTA game I've played where the storyline has trumped wandering and exploring. Even in Oblivion I played a good 40 or so hours before even touching the main story (that isn't exaggeration.) In GTA IV, I haven't even felt the urge to go off on a tangent like that. The story is that engrossing and the characters are that interesting. Not to mention the gameplay and missions are so much damn fun. This game truly has something for everyone. It's nice to see something other than another stupid FPS garnering rave reviews, as I loathe most FPS and twitchy games in general (BioShock being a notable exception.) Easily the best next-gen game yet, and it will take something truly extraordinary to top it. Miss out at your own risk. Expand
  86. SeAjala
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    This game is phenominal but a 10/10? Nah let's all take a deep breath. and relax. In the end GTA IV comes down to: more of the same in a solid game franchise with smoothed rough edges (targetting), and a loads of content. But groundbreaking? Not in a San Andreas kind of way.
  87. AnthonyF.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    If Carlsberg did games it would quite simply be GTA4. Single player game is very engaging and is nicely paced I've just completed after nearly 32hrs game time and I haven't even delved into any of the side missions or races but simply brilliant. Was going to give it a nine because of the sometimes unresponsive controls and slightly awkward auto-aim, but when you go online with If Carlsberg did games it would quite simply be GTA4. Single player game is very engaging and is nicely paced I've just completed after nearly 32hrs game time and I haven't even delved into any of the side missions or races but simply brilliant. Was going to give it a nine because of the sometimes unresponsive controls and slightly awkward auto-aim, but when you go online with some friends it for me so far has been one of the best and most fun online experiences you could have on xbox live. Expand
  88. JasonS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Simply surreal; easily the closest to a "real" game world out there today. The only reason this may not feel like a milestone to some is because Rockstar has wowed us thrice before, leaving us to expect the impossible. Well, this time they pulled it off.
  89. MarkG.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The best game ever made. The detail is amazing the story's brilliant and the gameplay is perfect and as ever the radio stations are great and the voice acting is as good as ever. Muti player is also great and combined with every thing else there is to do this breath taking game will keep you hooked for not just months but even years.
  90. BenL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    THis is my standpoint. They went from Grandtheft auto 3.. Straight to Grandtheft auto 4. They forgot things that they used in Vice City and San Andreas. 1. Character customization is hugely lacking in this game - San Andreas you could pick haircuts, hairstyles, colors, control the weight of your character. 2. No planes - wow San Andreas had it. 3. Multiplayer and you cant go to the strip THis is my standpoint. They went from Grandtheft auto 3.. Straight to Grandtheft auto 4. They forgot things that they used in Vice City and San Andreas. 1. Character customization is hugely lacking in this game - San Andreas you could pick haircuts, hairstyles, colors, control the weight of your character. 2. No planes - wow San Andreas had it. 3. Multiplayer and you cant go to the strip club 4. Did you learn anything from your competition Saints Row had the best character customization yet for this style of game.. Come on 5. Wow is everybody broke in New York because in San Andreas you kill someone you at least got 12 dollars - I guess you just have to stake out ATM's. 6. San Andreas you had homies that you could summon and ride along with you. Basically they had a lot of features that they just plain forgot about that made grand theft auto better then previous copies. Yes it does have mulitplayer but terrible co-op Expand
  91. TerryG.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Standard Grand Theft Auto. Graphically impressive with a robust, alive world. Really impressing. The multiplayer should've been cut down to free roam. To access MP is an insult to intuitive design and should be completely remade. I have never dealt with more frustrating Multiplayer in my life. If it wasn't for multiplayer I would give it an 8/10. It is not a 10/10 game... thats Standard Grand Theft Auto. Graphically impressive with a robust, alive world. Really impressing. The multiplayer should've been cut down to free roam. To access MP is an insult to intuitive design and should be completely remade. I have never dealt with more frustrating Multiplayer in my life. If it wasn't for multiplayer I would give it an 8/10. It is not a 10/10 game... thats just stupid game reviewer hype they just don't want to anger their customers. Expand
  92. JeromeD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Look, I understand the shock and awe of GTA4. However its just GTA3 with a few nice upgrades. I have a 65" DLP diamond. Full HDMI and the graphics are close to laughable. Oblivion came out at the beginning of this generation and looks better. But the mechanics? Sure there nice, but what of everything else. They downgraded all kinds of things from the other games and for what? So I can see Look, I understand the shock and awe of GTA4. However its just GTA3 with a few nice upgrades. I have a 65" DLP diamond. Full HDMI and the graphics are close to laughable. Oblivion came out at the beginning of this generation and looks better. But the mechanics? Sure there nice, but what of everything else. They downgraded all kinds of things from the other games and for what? So I can see what would really happen when you get hit by a car, or drive under a bridge and see all those nice lighting effects? This is an honest step back from the series and as soon as the hype machine slows down and the fog clears, you'll see what I'm talking about. Its a good game not a great game and certanly, not a 10. Like Halo 3, this is the critcs sucking up to the great publishers. Get real. Expand
  93. TomJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Same old game with new graphics. Not worthy of all the hype.
  94. TomW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    All that suckers who says that this game is not awesome you must be retardet there is nothing to say about the graphics or the gameplay a few popups can't ruin a game and the storyline is awesome as well so i don't understeand why you posting bad rewiews you morons
  95. FreddyD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    The cars handle like crap. Just another GTA, but the best one yet of course. Just super-glossed up.
  96. AndyH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Fantastic return to form for the series. A must buy for any mature gamer with either console.
  97. JoeM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Overall a fun game after 3 hrs - When comparing to Saints Row, Some things i don't like so far include: 1- cannot turn OFF the radio - give me the option to not listen to anything. 2- clothes buying - talk about painful- You have to walk your dude thru the store to find the clothes and put them on, take them off.. just give me a menu with some screen shots of the new look and let me Overall a fun game after 3 hrs - When comparing to Saints Row, Some things i don't like so far include: 1- cannot turn OFF the radio - give me the option to not listen to anything. 2- clothes buying - talk about painful- You have to walk your dude thru the store to find the clothes and put them on, take them off.. just give me a menu with some screen shots of the new look and let me be on my way.. 3- saving does a 6hr fast forward in gametime; its not a big deal, but if you wanted to go on that hot date and its now 3am.. you will get blown off. 4- multiplayer interface - I tried to host a game with some other friends that got the game and never figured out how to change the game type- number of players.. give me a non-game interface menu (NOT the cell phone menu) to set it up before launching. 5- Exploring: I could not leave the new player area - the bridge was blocked off probably due to the 'unlocking feature'. Let me go for a real drive and explore the city. Aside from that, the graphics are excellent, the physics engine is great and the new combat system (cover) helps alot. Expand
  98. YanA.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Stunning, an absolute crackajack, if you don't buy this, you've wasted your money in buying your console!
  99. KevinK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game changed so much and all of it was for the better.
  100. JBrown
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The amount of immature idiots posting is near unbelievable, just because you can't do one thing doesn't mean you give the game a 0 - the game so far for me (i'm about 25% through) is a 10, the reason why? Simple. Its better than the other GTA's, looks fresher, feels more responsive and man anyone who says the graphics are poor needs to get a head check. The attention The amount of immature idiots posting is near unbelievable, just because you can't do one thing doesn't mean you give the game a 0 - the game so far for me (i'm about 25% through) is a 10, the reason why? Simple. Its better than the other GTA's, looks fresher, feels more responsive and man anyone who says the graphics are poor needs to get a head check. The attention to detail is RIDICULOUS! If you ever play a game with this much in it, then its on another planet. What rockstar have done is made a world to believe in, a multiplayer you will enjoy and make the wait for the downloadable content even worse. Small planes/Tanks/More Helicopters please! :) And i've not played the PS3 version. But come ON guys, if the graphics are better, then thats to be expected, the power in the console compared to the 360 is UNREAL. I would expect the entire game to be better but just the graphics? no in game rewards? Sure it makes it better to prank around in, but i'll stick to a solid game with 10 extra hours of DLC every 5 months and achievements to show my game progress. HOORAH Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.