User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2775 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IbrahimD
    Sep 14, 2008
    5
    Repetitive and quite shallow.
  2. SeanK
    Sep 15, 2008
    4
    I want to play games for fun not to feel like I have a second life. Bar Halo 3 this may be the most over-hyped game ever. The game gets boring, is demanding (not the same as hard), repetitive and unrewarding. The pluses to the game are that it has a very large environment and the most rounded and interesting characters of all the GTA games. Unfortunately I play games for fun and read I want to play games for fun not to feel like I have a second life. Bar Halo 3 this may be the most over-hyped game ever. The game gets boring, is demanding (not the same as hard), repetitive and unrewarding. The pluses to the game are that it has a very large environment and the most rounded and interesting characters of all the GTA games. Unfortunately I play games for fun and read books/ watch films for story-lines and characters. I'm not against development of characters and their lives in games but not when it is at the expense of enjoyment. Expand
  3. TomL
    Sep 16, 2008
    5
    I was looking forward to getting this game for like 3 months and when I did I realised it was so inferior to the previous editions. I mean so much stuff has been lost, you can't buy properties the area is so much smaller, you can't jumo of the back of a low loader which lets face it was one of the highlights of the previous games. Wy take it out. I don't understand the hype I was looking forward to getting this game for like 3 months and when I did I realised it was so inferior to the previous editions. I mean so much stuff has been lost, you can't buy properties the area is so much smaller, you can't jumo of the back of a low loader which lets face it was one of the highlights of the previous games. Wy take it out. I don't understand the hype at all. How can these sites give it 100% , have they actually played it for more than 10 minutes because after this it really becomes repetitive and frankly boring. Not a patch on gta 3 san andreas or vice city. To sum it up, HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! Expand
  4. KapiusT.
    Sep 25, 2008
    7
    Undoubtedly an excellent game, GTA 4 fall short in several places that make the game less playable than other games. The fights are often intense and action packed, but when the character dies, he is forced to go all the way back to the scene of the fight, often killing the vibe that could be created by more frequent checkpoint use. I often found myself throwing the controller away from Undoubtedly an excellent game, GTA 4 fall short in several places that make the game less playable than other games. The fights are often intense and action packed, but when the character dies, he is forced to go all the way back to the scene of the fight, often killing the vibe that could be created by more frequent checkpoint use. I often found myself throwing the controller away from myself in disgust after failing for the third straight time and facing the prospect of driving for another 3 minutes to survive only 20 seconds of combat. Additionally, the lack of freedom initially makes the game less appetizing to people who desired the open world aspect. I'm all for unlockable content throughout the game, but for the majority of what I played, it seemed as though I was confined by walls which could not be passed through. I didn't even know about the ability to get in boats until well after I had reached my frustration point in the game. Undoubtably it is a good game, but several flaws keep it from being really "fun." Expand
  5. Andrew
    Sep 3, 2008
    6
    The most over-rated, repetitive , over-hyped, boring game i've bought. I tried, dearly tried to force myself to finish the game but the controls suck, gameplay sucks, and it's nothing new. Game reviewers need to stop rating for hype and what people want to hear. I'd give it nothing more than a 6-7. Average mediocre game. Nothing special.
  6. JonW
    Sep 7, 2008
    6
    It is a pretty average game does nothing much new and when driving the camera takes ages to catch up with you on corners.
  7. MarkValadez
    Sep 9, 2008
    5
    I give this game a 5 because the storyline sucked me personally 2 russian guys i aint felling it they should atleast put tommy back or created an american and also the game is to realistic for me dont get me wrong the graphics and details are excellent i give that a 10 but other than that its trash i wasted 60$ for nonthing worst thing is that i cant get a refund.
  8. GeorgeF
    Jan 21, 2009
    0
    Rockstar must've been thinking, "Let's take every GTA we've created and release it on 360 as GTA IV." Subpar graphics, storyline, and gameply are all a thorn in the side of this overrated monstrosity. This game does nothing to grab a player's attention, unless you're a passive-aggressive thug that gets off on shooting up the same 10 fake people every three hours. Rockstar must've been thinking, "Let's take every GTA we've created and release it on 360 as GTA IV." Subpar graphics, storyline, and gameply are all a thorn in the side of this overrated monstrosity. This game does nothing to grab a player's attention, unless you're a passive-aggressive thug that gets off on shooting up the same 10 fake people every three hours. Repetative missions and an utterly terrible driving system just shove this waste of disc space down the tubes. I gave the game to my brother after playing, don't waste your money. I was going to give this a 2 to pay homage to the programmers, but considering the huge amount of perfect scores and the tendency to feel like this game was created with a simple "copy-paste-rename" system, it earns my zero. Expand
  9. BenJ
    Jan 21, 2009
    3
    I don't think I can explain how much I dislike this game. It is possibly the most annoying game I've ever played. The visuals are incredible, but will the NPC's ever just shut up and let me have fun playing without insisting I do something? Controls are bad, NPC's just make me want to turn the game off, gameplay is decent, but not very fun, multiplayer is a complete I don't think I can explain how much I dislike this game. It is possibly the most annoying game I've ever played. The visuals are incredible, but will the NPC's ever just shut up and let me have fun playing without insisting I do something? Controls are bad, NPC's just make me want to turn the game off, gameplay is decent, but not very fun, multiplayer is a complete joke...luckily it's a tad better than Fable 2's multiplayer, but I don't want to play random challenges with people, I want to terrorize the citry freely with people. Expand
  10. JeremyB
    Feb 19, 2009
    0
    This game sucks, fair enough rockstar tried but to take out all the fun factors of gta like jet packs and hovercrafts and even push bikes shows how really little thought they put into this game. people enjoy using golf buggies and random planes to fly around not a more realistic world game designers tried and failed in their attempt of making their game more like real life. overall theThis game sucks, fair enough rockstar tried but to take out all the fun factors of gta like jet packs and hovercrafts and even push bikes shows how really little thought they put into this game. people enjoy using golf buggies and random planes to fly around not a more realistic world game designers tried and failed in their attempt of making their game more like real life. overall the game is simply a crappy runner up to san andreas that had it all. Expand
  11. JohnH
    Mar 19, 2009
    4
    A tremendous disappointment, and a huge shame on all of the critics who bloviated so about this weak departure from what has been the wittiest and funnest video game series. Where's the wit and humor that vice city delivered on every radio station? WHere's the fun in the missions? All of the missions are chase somebody down and kill them. Period. All of the praise for this game A tremendous disappointment, and a huge shame on all of the critics who bloviated so about this weak departure from what has been the wittiest and funnest video game series. Where's the wit and humor that vice city delivered on every radio station? WHere's the fun in the missions? All of the missions are chase somebody down and kill them. Period. All of the praise for this game must be for it's improved realism, but that's where I'm sure rockstar has gone wrong. You've sacrificed all of the fun for a realistic NYC from the time of it's most blandest. Congratulations at boring me to tears for my $35. I would go back to San Andreas in a heart beat. Expand
  12. montedoucette
    Mar 26, 2009
    7
    Truthfully its a big upset to any one expecting to build a character like they had showed in Gta 4 good real voices it was interesting you should really have alot more custom things in games now a days this was way over rated and if you need help on the next one call me id be glad i know what truw gamers want
  13. MatthewEdwards
    Mar 3, 2009
    5
    Sure it's smooth, violent, edgy, and huge. However, it is still the same game it was when GTA 3 came out. So little has changed except for the graphics that I got bored in under 2 hours. I'm pretty sure the only reason it scores so high is that Junior High kids love any game that says F&%K. Screw Rockstar games and the dusty old horse they rode in on ( and charged $60 for).
  14. AaronS
    May 12, 2009
    7
    This is one of those games you can have fun just running around randomly. I love games that are still fun even if you aren't in the mood for getting into a "mission". This is thanks to the physics and animations that make the world really interactive. The missions aren't terribly frustrating, and the ability to easily restart the mission if it's failed is nice as well. I This is one of those games you can have fun just running around randomly. I love games that are still fun even if you aren't in the mood for getting into a "mission". This is thanks to the physics and animations that make the world really interactive. The missions aren't terribly frustrating, and the ability to easily restart the mission if it's failed is nice as well. I would have given it a higher score if it weren't for the frustrating Microsoft Live integration, that can cause your save games to be orphaned on a different account whenever you decide to switch from an offline account to an online account. It is also frustratingly difficult to get into an online game due to having to start a single player game before you can access the ingame "phone" to start multiplayer. Multiplayer can be quite fun, but I rarely am in the mood to deal with trying to get into it. Expand
  15. AdamW
    May 21, 2009
    7
    The storyline was extremely fun to play (apart from the bike chase because of the rubbish control when driving a bike) but after I had completed the game I had no reason to play it again. The side missions are boring and repetitive and the multiplayer is very dull with no skill involved at all.
  16. StuY
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    After hearing so much about the game, i decided to borrow it from a friend. I played through 10 or 20 mission before i was sick of listening to my cousin talk about nothing. "Hey want to go bowling". "Hey, drive me hear. Take me there." i like GTA 3 where you get the mission and nobody says anything.
  17. JacobM
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    It's an entertaining game that can keep me occupied for a few hours. However, most of the missions are similar to one another, and to the missions in previous games. The camera is sometime hard to control and will give you a weird viewpoint, especially when driving. The graphics are not top notch either. Even though this game has some problems and is repetitive, it will keep youIt's an entertaining game that can keep me occupied for a few hours. However, most of the missions are similar to one another, and to the missions in previous games. The camera is sometime hard to control and will give you a weird viewpoint, especially when driving. The graphics are not top notch either. Even though this game has some problems and is repetitive, it will keep you playing for a while, because the story is pretty long. Expand
  18. ChrisLudwick
    Aug 25, 2009
    2
    I had some fun playing it but its just not the same as the other ones,it doesnt feel like a GTA game.trust me im no GTA hater i loved san andreas and vice city but this one never really made me like have to beat it...hopefully the next one will be better
  19. DickS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    5
    The single player is not grand theft auto. It should be renamed Normal Boring Life. The multilayer however is so outrageously funny that it would get a ten if it were a stand alone application.
  20. VictorM.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Best game ever
  21. TomasS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game!
  22. jamieholland
    Nov 28, 2008
    7
    great storytelling and visuals marred only by below average gameplay unforunately.
    the numerous poor technical descisions are astounding. weapon scrolling, lock on to manual targeting is LT pressure sensitive, cannot run whilst locking on, camera movement is sloppy, rubbish tilting 1st person on motorbikes, no more fuel caps, pool minigame insulting(can clip through ball to make shot) and
    great storytelling and visuals marred only by below average gameplay unforunately.
    the numerous poor technical descisions are astounding. weapon scrolling, lock on to manual targeting is LT pressure sensitive, cannot run whilst locking on, camera movement is sloppy, rubbish tilting 1st person on motorbikes, no more fuel caps, pool minigame insulting(can clip through ball to make shot) and many more. it just isnt user friendly like saints row but is still quite playable surprisingly
    Expand
  23. CR
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    This game suffers from shoddy graphics, shoddy sound, shoddy play control, a lack of direction at certain points in the game... But despite all of that remains a heck of a lot of fun to play. I still can't believe so many critics labeled this defective game 100. There's no reason for that kind of over-hyped score. This game is nowhere near a 100, but it is a lot of fun to play.
  24. ImaanM.
    Dec 11, 2008
    7
    I enjoyed this game massively until the final mission. This mission literally ruined the game for me so badly I traded it in the next day. The whole 'you killed my cousins wife so I kill you' storyline to it was horrible, there were loads of loose ends (eg. more missions with playboy/his friend depending on who you kill) For this reason it only gets a 7.
  25. BartM
    Dec 12, 2008
    7
    I don't understand the 98% rating, as I didn't find this game to be that great, or even very good. yes - the model of the city is nice, and cool soundtrack as usual, but I find the gameplay repetitive, with a series of "drive there" missions. Controls are sub-par. Animations are sub-par. Voice acting is OK, not at the level of, say, the one in Bioshock. As for the "Oscar-worthy I don't understand the 98% rating, as I didn't find this game to be that great, or even very good. yes - the model of the city is nice, and cool soundtrack as usual, but I find the gameplay repetitive, with a series of "drive there" missions. Controls are sub-par. Animations are sub-par. Voice acting is OK, not at the level of, say, the one in Bioshock. As for the "Oscar-worthy story", well, hum, when was the last time you guys so an "Oscar worthy" movie? I mean, are you kidding me? Expand
  26. ChrisLambert
    Dec 24, 2008
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is definitely the best game I've ever played in my life! Anyone who gives this game below a perfect score of 10 has impossible expectations out of games. Rockstar North put an indescribable amount of detail into GTA IV, and I still play the game frequently, despite my having had the game since early May.
    You absolutely need to play this game (if you haven't
    Grand Theft Auto IV is definitely the best game I've ever played in my life! Anyone who gives this game below a perfect score of 10 has impossible expectations out of games. Rockstar North put an indescribable amount of detail into GTA IV, and I still play the game frequently, despite my having had the game since early May.
    You absolutely need to play this game (if you haven't already)!!!!! 15/10 (if I could rate that high)!!!!
    Expand
  27. Petter
    Oct 28, 2008
    6
    The good: Good storyline, nice graphics The bad: not much to do other than going on a rampage but it gets boring over time, should be more guns, multiplayer is horrible; i get disconnected all the time and it takes hours to gather enough players for a real match, its impossible to drive a car because of the handling, it seems that EVERYONE in LC are able to kick your ass...bottomline, a The good: Good storyline, nice graphics The bad: not much to do other than going on a rampage but it gets boring over time, should be more guns, multiplayer is horrible; i get disconnected all the time and it takes hours to gather enough players for a real match, its impossible to drive a car because of the handling, it seems that EVERYONE in LC are able to kick your ass...bottomline, a decent game but has several flaws, an over-hyped game. Expand
  28. JakeH.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    This game is truly amazing.
  29. AlexC.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    I played this at E3 and it rocked.
  30. CallumL.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Most anticipated game. Ever. Best for 360 as it features downloadable content.
  31. VictorM.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  32. [anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Greatest game this generation. Period!
  33. JasonA.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    What a true work of art. 10/10
  34. KevinH.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Game of the year. It's absolutely amazing.
  35. James
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    The very best game ever so far!
  36. HondaA.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    GTA IV is the best! graphics pwn, game play pwn, multi player pwn, everything pwns!
  37. AdnanA.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    A Revolution in Entertainment.
  38. MikeH.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. The best game I've ever played.
  39. ClayB.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    What the hell is wrong with the people who are giving this game less than 10? I have not seen a game released, or even announced that rivals the technical prowess of GTA IV. Aside from the stellar graphics is the amazing, and seamless, gameplay using the Euphoria engine. Which incorporates good control as well as true-to-life physics that rival if not beat games like Crysis. And to all What the hell is wrong with the people who are giving this game less than 10? I have not seen a game released, or even announced that rivals the technical prowess of GTA IV. Aside from the stellar graphics is the amazing, and seamless, gameplay using the Euphoria engine. Which incorporates good control as well as true-to-life physics that rival if not beat games like Crysis. And to all those people out there who gave this game lower than a 10 you are a bunch of low-life's who do not know how to play, or rate video games in any manner. Your the kind of people who look at games like Halo 3, Call of Duty 4, and Gears of War and hate it just because YOU don't like something within the game. You sicken me and don't deserve to call yourselves gamers. Expand
  40. PeterD.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Remarkable gameplay, pretty and varied. Truly amazing game.
  41. JoshG.
    Apr 27, 2008
    6
    Not too different from the past entries and while the multiplayer is quite impressive, the game itself isn't revolutionary enough to deserve a 10.
  42. VictorM.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  43. JohnP.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Game is amazing, I don't know how it has an 8.0 user rating as of now.
  44. ScottP.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Got it today from a friend who works at Best Buy. Nothing else like it.
  45. RegB.
    Apr 27, 2008
    3
    Seen it all before and 50m could not stop Sony from getting the superior product!
  46. FlexBoy
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I've played in years. Hoping it will break my filthy WoW habit.
  47. AshL.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Far and beyond the greatest game of this generation. This is the first game in a long while that pushes the bounds of what gamers believed were possible. Weither your doing SP, MP, or just sandboxing around in Liberty City... this game doesn't get old.
  48. JoeB.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Got this a few days before it came out, it is great so far...a few slow and boring missions at first but then things get really cool and the action is good.
  49. JaredS.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    A truly great game, the best one I've played in the past 10 years.
  50. Master125
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Rockstar have done it again! Absolutely breathtaking in every way possible and leaps and bounds above the others in the series. MUST BUY
  51. JamesE.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    I can't wait to play it.
  52. FlorianW.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    One of the most amazing games of this generation so far, a living breathing world, a must have on both platforms.
  53. CarbunkleD.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    As perfect as perfect can get without creating a rift in the time space continuum and crushing all of mankind.
  54. ChristianC.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Better than any game in a very long time. Amazing multiplayer, almost unlimited replayability, beautiful graphics, great story and characters.
  55. TomS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. Much better than brawl.
  56. AndyM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    7
    Good looking game but far too much hanging around waiting for something to happen for my liking. If you love GTA, you'll probably LOVE this, if you love games, you'll just LIKE this.
  57. JohnB.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Classic; only been playing it for 3 hours so far but already it has astonished me with its level of detail.
  58. MeharG.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome, the graphics are stunning, the story is mind blowing, and the gameplay is a step up from before. Multiplayer is also a welcome addition to the series, the game types will ensure hours of play after completing the final game.
  59. LiamL.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Not perfect, but damn this is a brilliant piece of artwork and constructive media. It deserves every cent/penny that it earns. (this is a 9.999999999 but the option wasn't there).
  60. VictorM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  61. KenA.
    Apr 29, 2008
    6
    It's just GTA with a more powerful graphics engine. It's no where near as good as the acclaim it's getting. If you like the other GTA's, this is the game for you.
  62. JayD.
    Apr 29, 2008
    7
    Good gameplay, better than average audio, mediocre graphics. 10/10? No way in hell.
  63. HOLAMIKO
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  64. DaveCROC
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Outstanding game, I can't put the controller down. I think my girlfriend will be jealous of the time spent very quickly.
  65. BryanM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Its no reason why this game should be less than a 10. i have only play for about 1 hr and I didnt want to put it down.
  66. MatthewB.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Excellent. I'd probably give it a 9.9 if I could...the framerate issues and lack of checkpoints on missions take it down a notch. Otherwise, the game has everything....EVERYTHING. It will be the best $60 you will spend on your Xbox 360 or PS3. The detail is unbelievable. Physics are awesome. The story is on par with the best in cinema. Hang around waiting? There's almost always Excellent. I'd probably give it a 9.9 if I could...the framerate issues and lack of checkpoints on missions take it down a notch. Otherwise, the game has everything....EVERYTHING. It will be the best $60 you will spend on your Xbox 360 or PS3. The detail is unbelievable. Physics are awesome. The story is on par with the best in cinema. Hang around waiting? There's almost always something to do! The phone as a game portal is brilliant. I can't write everything in this box that is done so well in this game. Expand
  67. CashOut
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Great Multi, Always dreamed this day would come. Nothing like having 4 friends in a helicopter and taking on 3 guys in a 4rner. Gunz Balzing
  68. AdrianJ.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Awsome game but controls are really horrible and this game is no were worth a ten for some reason it seems magazines gives ten out for anything like Halo 3 got alot of tens and that game is horrible.
  69. Halleluja
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    Same as every gta. Just better graphics. Characters look like dolls. Bad aura. Only americans and children will like this game.
  70. Alex
    May 11, 2008
    10
    I love this game It is about my home land :) perfect story and amazing multplay
  71. BobG.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Amazing and immersive story, eg how you can choose different outcomes!
  72. AnonymousMC
    May 11, 2008
    10
    ppl who give this game nething lower than a 9 are just trying be sweet cuz like every review site gave this a ten. there isnt the cool customization options in san andreas but this is a dress up game. this game is about violence and open world sandbox gameplay and no game does this better. gta4 may go down as the greatest video game ever. or unitl too human and mgs comes out.
  73. JoeD.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Well, that's it. As many good games as there are on the market, none suck in the gamer quite like GTA does. Be warned, even if you're not a so-called 'hardcore' gamer, this will still take over your life and alienate you from your nearest and dearest. Two Hundred thumbs up.
  74. AdamS.
    May 11, 2008
    4
    Nothing special. It's just like the old ones with nicer graphcis. It feels like the didn't put a lot of time into some of the smaller details. For example one time I was running from the cops and I ran into an alley in which a ladder was hanging down half way from a fire escape, so I pushed over a dumpster, jumped on top of it, and when I tried to get my guy to climb the ladder Nothing special. It's just like the old ones with nicer graphcis. It feels like the didn't put a lot of time into some of the smaller details. For example one time I was running from the cops and I ran into an alley in which a ladder was hanging down half way from a fire escape, so I pushed over a dumpster, jumped on top of it, and when I tried to get my guy to climb the ladder he wouldn't do it. It doesn't really let you get creative with all that stuff. Also the camera view sucks for driving unless you do the in car view. 4 Expand
  75. DaP.
    May 12, 2008
    8
    GTA IV is nowhere near as much fun as San Andreas was and is basically GTA 3 with a minor next-gen respray. The dating and friend systems really get in the way of the main storyline, and feel forced on you. The Radio stations, whilst there are plenty of great tunes, fail to convey a real sense of time and place as in VC and SA, and once again the sound mastering is poor, as in all GTA GTA IV is nowhere near as much fun as San Andreas was and is basically GTA 3 with a minor next-gen respray. The dating and friend systems really get in the way of the main storyline, and feel forced on you. The Radio stations, whilst there are plenty of great tunes, fail to convey a real sense of time and place as in VC and SA, and once again the sound mastering is poor, as in all GTA games, the overall volume level is way too low. Graphically (I've only played the 360 version) the game is a mild letdown, loads of pop up, blurring and jagged edges. The usual GTA bugs, getting cars irretrievably stuck in the scenery (as happened to me in my very first mission), inconsistent Police, disappearing clothing (where have my hat and glasses gone?) poor path finding for allies/npc's and a rubbish targeting system (use free aim only). There's still hours of quality entertainment but best game ever?, it's not even the best game on the 360. A good rather than great game. Expand
  76. ChrisM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Quite simply the best game ever created.... Thank you Rockstar. Thank you.
  77. JeffreyB.
    May 12, 2008
    5
    Amazingly overrated. I can see how people like this game, but 10's/100's all over the place? To me it started off as a 10, and the more I played the less I liked it. Just the same old thing OVER and OVER(and this is the first GTA I have played). Plus the camera angle swinging just the wrong way at critical times, having to drive FOREVER every time you have to redo a mission(and Amazingly overrated. I can see how people like this game, but 10's/100's all over the place? To me it started off as a 10, and the more I played the less I liked it. Just the same old thing OVER and OVER(and this is the first GTA I have played). Plus the camera angle swinging just the wrong way at critical times, having to drive FOREVER every time you have to redo a mission(and when it is a hard mission, you wind up driving for 10 minutes fifty times to do a 50 second mission). Just maddening. By the time I couldn't take it any more(about 35-40% of the way through), I wanted to throw my Xbox out a window. Isn't this supposed to be FUN? After you have stolen your 500th car and shot your 25th drug dealer, and you still have 2/3 of the game to go? And on top of that, the longer the game went. the less I liked Niko. At the start he seemed like an OK guy trying to make his way in a tough world. After a while he just seems like an amoral scumbag, which is not an especially rewarding role playing experience. But make no mistake, it is the repetitive gameplay and the mediocre controls(especially driving) that drove me away. And take note - the users rating for this game(8.3) reflect the fact that this game is overrated by the critics. Expand
  78. VictorM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  79. AaronV.
    May 13, 2008
    4
    Rockstar!? What the crap have you done to my GTA!? What were you thinking!? I don't want N64-paced character movement, and I certainly don't want realistic driving; I want to take corners at 210 mph leaving flames in my wake (ya' know, like GTA3 on PS2, remember fun games!?), not eat a telephone pole at every intersection, or come to a complete stop every time I use the Rockstar!? What the crap have you done to my GTA!? What were you thinking!? I don't want N64-paced character movement, and I certainly don't want realistic driving; I want to take corners at 210 mph leaving flames in my wake (ya' know, like GTA3 on PS2, remember fun games!?), not eat a telephone pole at every intersection, or come to a complete stop every time I use the e-brake around a corner! The driving cam sucks, I constantly have to lift the cam up to see the road/intersection coming up in front of the car. The combat is at a snails pace, and stop trying to win an oscar with the game's story. *sigh* You guys are supposed to the one developer we can count on to give a great big middle finger to boring games and deviate from mainstream corporate game dev practices...what happened? Try to get back on track with GTA5, would ya'? And lose the stupid artsy "Dry Brush/Paint Daub" graphics, that's just plain annoying. See exhibit A: "Saints Row" for graphical clarity, fun factor, fast-paced combat, and customization options of character and vehicles. And for the love, test the game with people who aren't trying to get a job with you. Above all else, make it fun, I appreciate the level of detail and believable environment, but not at the expense of the fun-filled mayhem that kept me glued to GTA3, Vice and SA. Shame on you. Now go sit in the corner and think about what you've done. Expand
  80. TonyR.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    Great sotry and lots of content.Great game overall.Not the best ever but one of the best.
  81. Jammer
    May 15, 2008
    6
    Yeah yeah yeah, its a big detailed open world but what can you do with it?! NADA. You cant even walk into any buildings, except for the chosen few, which is about 5% of them. Niko walks very slow and weird (stiff). The ephoria engine is weak.. How does somebody get hit wit a RPG.......... but their whole body is still intact?!!?!!?! Every car drives the same, the handling sucks, the Yeah yeah yeah, its a big detailed open world but what can you do with it?! NADA. You cant even walk into any buildings, except for the chosen few, which is about 5% of them. Niko walks very slow and weird (stiff). The ephoria engine is weak.. How does somebody get hit wit a RPG.......... but their whole body is still intact?!!?!!?! Every car drives the same, the handling sucks, the clothing stores are wack, you cant even hold up, stick up, rob stores like Saint Row... swimming is wack. I don't see how this game gets all these 10's... this is a 60$, but plays just as good, if not worse as San Andreas, I don't get how this 399$ system and all this technology produces a game this mediocre and over hyped.. I fell for it. Expand
  82. NateW.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    This game revolutionary. The graphics were the biggest knock and now they are incredible. The gameplay does not get boring. The cover system is good, because it realistic. If you know how to work it, it is good. I also think another great thing is you can't predict what is going to happen on a mission. For example, you can't fail a misssion and go where you were before the This game revolutionary. The graphics were the biggest knock and now they are incredible. The gameplay does not get boring. The cover system is good, because it realistic. If you know how to work it, it is good. I also think another great thing is you can't predict what is going to happen on a mission. For example, you can't fail a misssion and go where you were before the mission takes you there, showing how smart the AI is. Most people who give it a lower reting most likely can't buy it or own a Wii. I love that you can replay a mission using the cell phone. Also, when people give a low rating, look at the other games that have that rating, and can you honestly say that those games are better/on the same level as GTA 4? I don't think so. Expand
  83. PatH.
    May 16, 2008
    9
    As a single game without the rest of the series behind it, this is a fantastic game. The problem I had was that so many expectations gained from the previous games were left unfulfilled in this chapter. I found myself on multiple occasions saying to myself, "why can I not do this anymore?" You can no longer buy property (including houses and businesses), no bikes, no random minigames, a As a single game without the rest of the series behind it, this is a fantastic game. The problem I had was that so many expectations gained from the previous games were left unfulfilled in this chapter. I found myself on multiple occasions saying to myself, "why can I not do this anymore?" You can no longer buy property (including houses and businesses), no bikes, no random minigames, a lot less area to explore, and less weapons. While there is a lot more music, none of it is as memorable as previous games, which may be due to the fact that there is really no reason to drive around (taxis are plentiful and take you where you want to go instantly). Everyone I have talked to who has played this game feels the same way as I do, in that the game leaves a lot to be desired and that the reviews are a bit outrageous. This game is by no means a bad game, in fact, to a player new to the series, it would be outstanding, but after the amount of variety in San Andreas, a veteran player is left a tad disappointed. I think a 90 is very fair for this game, but in no way is it a 100. Good: Story is fantastic. Lead character is by far the best yet. Graphics and Effects are very nice A fun interactive world. Filled with very believable npcs walking the streets. Liberty City feels very real in that sense Bad: So much left out from other games of the series Missions get very very repetitive. Restarting missions from the absolute beginning is a real pain (turned off the game a few times after losing missions a few times in a row) Smaller environment. Expand
  84. CoYoTeX
    May 16, 2008
    6
    It doesnt live up to his name, doesnt add anything new to the videogames, its a sandbox and nothing else. Whats so cool about it ? Honestly, i played for 5 hours on the fist round, and i got bored, the same custom made missions over and over again. Can you honestly say that its better than gears of war, oblivion, ninja gaiden, bioshock, its pure hype. RockStar can thank the senators or It doesnt live up to his name, doesnt add anything new to the videogames, its a sandbox and nothing else. Whats so cool about it ? Honestly, i played for 5 hours on the fist round, and i got bored, the same custom made missions over and over again. Can you honestly say that its better than gears of war, oblivion, ninja gaiden, bioshock, its pure hype. RockStar can thank the senators or the christian church for providing this franchise with premium TOP GRADE PUBLICITY. Nothing new, dont get me wrong, is a fun game to play, would i buy it again ? NO. DONT BELIEVE THE HYPE. Expand
  85. StephenB.
    May 19, 2008
    8
    Missing features that were present in GTA: San Andreas. . . . Improvable player stats (muscle, weapon skills, etc) Planes and jets Base jumping Henchmen Owning property Vehicle customization Underwater swimming Military on six star wanted level Tanks Firefighting and ambulance missions Most of the character visual customization Helicoptor missiles Jetpack Most collectibles Most arcade Missing features that were present in GTA: San Andreas. . . . Improvable player stats (muscle, weapon skills, etc) Planes and jets Base jumping Henchmen Owning property Vehicle customization Underwater swimming Military on six star wanted level Tanks Firefighting and ambulance missions Most of the character visual customization Helicoptor missiles Jetpack Most collectibles Most arcade games Burglary missions Two-player same screen co-op Katana, dildo, chainsaw, other weapons Car garages C4 Many other things. Expand
  86. Edward
    May 21, 2008
    8
    A good game, but an overrated one. Weaker storyline, characters, and missions than both Vice City and San Andreas drags it down. Also, the writing on the peripherals (radio stations, television, Internet) is MUCH better than the actual script for the storyline.
  87. JosephR.
    May 21, 2008
    6
    Seriously, I'm pretty sure I just wasted 31 hours of my life. I would have been better to replay gta 3 than try as hard as possible to seriously enjoy this game. While the map is huge, it is nearly empty of things to interact with. Each mission is mostly driving to and from the destination, which once you start taking cabs, becomes even more meaningless. I lost the plot half way Seriously, I'm pretty sure I just wasted 31 hours of my life. I would have been better to replay gta 3 than try as hard as possible to seriously enjoy this game. While the map is huge, it is nearly empty of things to interact with. Each mission is mostly driving to and from the destination, which once you start taking cabs, becomes even more meaningless. I lost the plot half way through, and challenge anyone to explain the interconnecting familys and charectors. Finally, the game is buggy, with it constantly stopping due to "dirty disc syndrome" which I take to mean, catastrophic failure in the program. I won't even begin to mention the cops. Expand
  88. BenjaminC.
    May 22, 2008
    2
    WAY overrated. I... I just don't understand the praise this got from the critics. And im ashamed at the industry for placing this with legends like OOT. Hours were wasted going from place to place, killing drug dealers and stealing cars got repetitive and rather menial. The critics said that the morally aware gamer would love this... no. The more I played, the more I saw my character WAY overrated. I... I just don't understand the praise this got from the critics. And im ashamed at the industry for placing this with legends like OOT. Hours were wasted going from place to place, killing drug dealers and stealing cars got repetitive and rather menial. The critics said that the morally aware gamer would love this... no. The more I played, the more I saw my character for the scumbag he was. and as someone who sees myself as the charcter I am playing, I felt Ill. I am giving it two points more then I want, but you have to give it credit for improvement over the other GTA games, which I was never able to spend more then half an hour on. Expand
  89. BigPapaSteve
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing. I've noticed a lot of people complaining about having to drive a bunch after failing a mission. you do realize that if you fail a mission you can take out your phone and retry the mission?
  90. NickW.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Despite the flaws, this game has to be played.
  91. JoeB
    May 26, 2008
    5
    It's amazing that "VIce City" in my opinion is the best GTA, then GTA 3, then San Andreas. GTA 4 is a MASSIVE Disappointment, Rockstar needs to get back the the drawing board and re-invent their franchise, before people start realizing the GTA games are rehashed, linear, un-fun, crap. Rent it, then buy it. Save your money for FALLOUT 3.
  92. JohnN.
    May 26, 2008
    9
    To all of those people who say "Where are my hat and glasses?" If you die, or are in an accident, they will fall off. Simple as that. Pay attention for once! Anyways I liked it a lot. Niko was the best GTA protagonist, because there is a better sense of remorse. I like this game a lot, but it is not the best ever.
  93. LukeV
    May 27, 2008
    7
    Here's the thing, GTA 4 is a very good game, don't get me wrong. It's just that the original trilogy was 100 times better. All of the missions seemed very dull and without purpose. In San Andreas and Vice City I loved driving around the city, but in the new Liberty I found myself using the cab nearly every time I wanted to go somewhere. The characters are well voiced, and Here's the thing, GTA 4 is a very good game, don't get me wrong. It's just that the original trilogy was 100 times better. All of the missions seemed very dull and without purpose. In San Andreas and Vice City I loved driving around the city, but in the new Liberty I found myself using the cab nearly every time I wanted to go somewhere. The characters are well voiced, and well animated, but I soon discovered that I didn't really care what happened to the characters. Unlike the other classic GTA characters, who were driven to continue by forces like a brother in prison (CJ) an angry mob boss who wants to kill you (Tommy) or an escape from prison(Claude), Nikko is constantly pushing ahead through his anger and lust for revenge. Not to mention that both of the endings were by far, some of the most disappointing conclusions I have ever experienced. This made me feel detached and unsympathetic for him. Not to mention that both of the endings were by far, some of the most disappointing conclusions I have ever experienced. The graphics are amazing, there is no mistake there, and the ambience is good as well, but the fact is that most of the music is unfamiliar to me and therefore takes away from the setting whereas the previous games had the late 20th century to help set the mood. The gameplay is also good, but I felt I was too sluggish and weighed down. The models relied too heavily on rag-doll physics and just weren't as believable as even the old school animations. The accuracy of the weapons started to become frustrating as well. Overall, the experience was not even CLOSE to the fun I had playing the first three GTA games and I hope that Rockstar realizes that they need to go back to the core story and setting elements that made the originals so epic. VERDICT: 7/10 Expand
  94. meme
    May 27, 2008
    7
    This game does not deserve the 100% scores it's getting. It has a lot of control problems and the camera is really annoying sometimes. The game is a lot of fun, don't get me wrong, but it's not the 10/10 masterpiece that these fanboy reviewers are making it out to be.
  95. Wallpaperman
    May 28, 2008
    10
    GTA4 = Best Game Ever. To get 100% on this beast takes well over 200 hours. Well worth your money.
  96. ColO.
    May 31, 2008
    7
    The game doesn't have any new features. the graphics are ok but the missions are repetitive and the game in general is easy. (in the final missions i wasn´t even killed). and also where is the plane? Why almost all the mission are on cars, what abouts boats and hellicopters?
  97. Tony
    Jun 16, 2008
    9
    I really gave this game 8.5. I really love gta franchise especially gta:vice city.the problem with this game is that i bought my Xbox lately and thought great ill be able to play games with brilliant graphics and with these graphics it will unlock things never imagined.things that are on the next level.So my expectations were like i am rating this game not on par with the last generation I really gave this game 8.5. I really love gta franchise especially gta:vice city.the problem with this game is that i bought my Xbox lately and thought great ill be able to play games with brilliant graphics and with these graphics it will unlock things never imagined.things that are on the next level.So my expectations were like i am rating this game not on par with the last generation console games but on a next level.I thought that what the next generation console allowed these games the game delivered but they forgot about what makes games great and that is playing the story. I didn't really love niko I didn't find him loveable maybe its cause hes eastern European.. i would have much preferred a spanish/south American or even Indian! but Niko just seemed cold. but I understand why they did it :provide variety and mabye open new markets. the missions lacked real imagination and like in the missions someone like phil would say he hopes nothings gonna happen but ITS A MISSION AND THERE IS GONNA BE KILLING!!!!!!! gods sake! do they think that we are fools or something .alot of the missions lacked creativity and variety.And then youd pass these magnificent buildings and you cant even go into them like what the hell you cant even go into some of the monuments.Thats most of the bad points...the good points have already been pointed out before in other comments. Expand
  98. TonL.
    Jun 18, 2008
    0
    Worst game ever. I cant believe Eurogamer, Edge and Gamedaily gave this piece of crap a 10 while they gave a much superior game in MGS4 a "8" . Goes to show how much microsoft paid these reviewers. the Ps3 version is slightly better with a 1
  99. MasJ.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  100. MasJ.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.