Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2996 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonBT
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    Highly overrated game. Don't get me wrong, i extremely enjoyed this game, definitely one of the best on the 360, but the reviews are EXTREMELY overrated. First off, the gameplay is fun, but incredibly repetitive. Basically, every mission has you calling a guy, or getting summoned to your "employers" home/base to watch a short but always entertaining cutscene that explains your Highly overrated game. Don't get me wrong, i extremely enjoyed this game, definitely one of the best on the 360, but the reviews are EXTREMELY overrated. First off, the gameplay is fun, but incredibly repetitive. Basically, every mission has you calling a guy, or getting summoned to your "employers" home/base to watch a short but always entertaining cutscene that explains your mission. then you drive to your destination and complete your task. Steal a car, assassinate someone, deliver drugs, etc. After you are done, you get your pay. While it is fun, it gets old doing it literally dozens of times. Because that is all the game has you doing over and over. Now before GTA fanatics flame me, i know there are many other things you can do. Exploring the city by just driving is great on its own, plus doing many other side stories, dating, going out with friends, whatever. But the gameplay is what matters most, and for me, its too redundant. There are the occasional missions with little innovative twists to the game (hopping on the back of a truck, getting ambushed by gangs/cops, deciding on who to kill when both people hired you to kill each other) but they are not enough to make the game feel fresh. that's my only problem with the game preventing me, like most other usual critics, from giving GTAIV a perfect score. No doubt a great game, but when the game play is that repetitive with very little changes, i can't possibly consider it to be one of the best of all time. Definitely worth playing or even buying, but even more so, definitely overrated. Expand
  2. B.Q.
    Jun 3, 2008
    8
    A very good game, but not nearly as engaging or complete as San Andreas. My primary criticism is that I agree with the reviewers who noted that the game took a big step back in the area of character customization. And while I didnt really care that I couldnt get a different haircut or sculpt my body shape, I was dissapointed by not being able to complete missions to 'upgrade' my A very good game, but not nearly as engaging or complete as San Andreas. My primary criticism is that I agree with the reviewers who noted that the game took a big step back in the area of character customization. And while I didnt really care that I couldnt get a different haircut or sculpt my body shape, I was dissapointed by not being able to complete missions to 'upgrade' my character. In San Andreas, successfully completing side missions, taking gang turf, snapping photos, finding all of an item, mastering a vehicle/weapon to 100%, etc., all allowed your character to unlock certain bonus's, vehicles, weapons, extra heath, damage, vehicle control, etc. Now, all that happens when you complete side missions is that you are 1 step closer to 100% completion. Sure you get a few things here and there.... but there isnt as much incentive to keep playing the game. For someone who isnt as interested in that 100% number as he is in creating a powerful character and collecting a bunch of stuff... this is a big letdown. Especially since they already incorporated those elements into a previous game, I don't understand why they would take them away. Expand
  3. DantonQ.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    For those who think this game sucks, why don't you buy a genesis or a N 64 and play those Kirby games you like. Obviously GTA4 has defects but is the best videogame ever made (no doubt about it). Some of you think themselves as 'rebels' saying this game sucks, stupid sexual frustration.... The same with COD 4(obviously again the best FPs ever made), some seem to prefer For those who think this game sucks, why don't you buy a genesis or a N 64 and play those Kirby games you like. Obviously GTA4 has defects but is the best videogame ever made (no doubt about it). Some of you think themselves as 'rebels' saying this game sucks, stupid sexual frustration.... The same with COD 4(obviously again the best FPs ever made), some seem to prefer mercs on snses or commando, go ahead guys, so rebel, so badass!!!! Expand
  4. JoeK.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    GREAT GAME!
  5. ArthurP.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Not a revolution, but rather a delivered promise of a refined formula that reveals detail like no other game has. GTA 4 is not without its flaws, but none of them are able to take the spotlight away from the experience as a whole. Special attention goes to the context of the narrative and gameplay that have sobered up since the series' latest title.
  6. NikoBellic
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    hey ANTHONY M. i am one of the Rockstar developers you talked about and yes i do smoke cockroach repelent on the job. giving the cops god powers was my idea. not to cover up the ai (it is fantastic), but because smoking all that cockroach repelent makes me feel like i have god powers. there was going to be an exterminator mission in the game but my idea got rejected. so then i suggestedhey ANTHONY M. i am one of the Rockstar developers you talked about and yes i do smoke cockroach repelent on the job. giving the cops god powers was my idea. not to cover up the ai (it is fantastic), but because smoking all that cockroach repelent makes me feel like i have god powers. there was going to be an exterminator mission in the game but my idea got rejected. so then i suggested that there be 200 cockroaches randomly placed in liberty city that could be killed with cockroach repelent. in san andreas there was spray paint to leave your gang sign, so i thought that cockroach repelent spray paint could be a great way to kill the rodent and leave your mark. that was accepted but then later replaced with pigeons and there was no cockroach repelent spray paint. but yes since i will get fired if i say something bad about this, this piece of fun game is the best game in the entire star wars galaxy. Expand
  7. LarryH.
    Jul 2, 2008
    5
    If you are looking for something new, you certainly will not find it here. If you are looking for the newest version of the same game you've bought multiple times by now, albeit with improved graphics, your prayers have been answered. Stealing cars, killing cops, picking up hookers, and mediocre mini-games that you will quickly grow bored with serve as your main distractions from the If you are looking for something new, you certainly will not find it here. If you are looking for the newest version of the same game you've bought multiple times by now, albeit with improved graphics, your prayers have been answered. Stealing cars, killing cops, picking up hookers, and mediocre mini-games that you will quickly grow bored with serve as your main distractions from the tedious collection of Point A to Point B missions. This game does not deserve to be the highest rated game on the Xbox 360. Do not buy into the hype. Expand
  8. Vultan
    Jul 30, 2008
    6
    Totally overated. Cannot believe all the 9 and 10's this game's got. Repetitive and the graphics are nowhere near the best the 360 has to offer. The claims of interactivity and a fully realised city are just wrong, most of the buildings in the city cannot be entered and have horendous textures when up close. Missions repeat themselves and multiplayer no better than averageTotally overated. Cannot believe all the 9 and 10's this game's got. Repetitive and the graphics are nowhere near the best the 360 has to offer. The claims of interactivity and a fully realised city are just wrong, most of the buildings in the city cannot be entered and have horendous textures when up close. Missions repeat themselves and multiplayer no better than average FPS. Dissapointing. Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    before this game came out there was so much hype and high expectations and i think that gta4 has lived up to these. This game has amazing graphics and great gameplay. Even once you have completed it there is still plenty more to do and have fun with. I can't understand how people can give a rating less than nine its a fun game, it can be a laugh and hours of gameplay more than enough.before this game came out there was so much hype and high expectations and i think that gta4 has lived up to these. This game has amazing graphics and great gameplay. Even once you have completed it there is still plenty more to do and have fun with. I can't understand how people can give a rating less than nine its a fun game, it can be a laugh and hours of gameplay more than enough. Amazing game 10/10 Expand
  10. JackF.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Finally, a game that won't leave you reconsidering paying such a large amount for a game that won't leave anything left after finishing it. This game is huge and offers at LEAST 30 hours of play (there's an achievement if you somehow manage to complete it quicker) and is worth every cent. The main highlight is the ragdoll physics. You can spend hours driving incredibly fast Finally, a game that won't leave you reconsidering paying such a large amount for a game that won't leave anything left after finishing it. This game is huge and offers at LEAST 30 hours of play (there's an achievement if you somehow manage to complete it quicker) and is worth every cent. The main highlight is the ragdoll physics. You can spend hours driving incredibly fast in a car and bail out to watch Niko smash his head against another car. The main fault is what most people are praising: The cover system. It's awkward and is nowhere near as fluid as it needs to be. That being said, one flaw won't outweigh the thousands of positives the game has to offer. Seriously, get it. Expand
  11. MitchK.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Simply the Greatest Game of all time, it is a must play experience and must have
  12. JohnKunkel
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    Overall, excellent gameplay. GTA 4 has some really cool new features such as the whole combat/target deal. GTA 4 though leaves out a lot of things in my opinion which made games like San Andreas so great. The story for one isn't very intense... I read some interviews where the developers mentioned how they didn't want this one to be "cinematic." Whatever that may have meant, theyOverall, excellent gameplay. GTA 4 has some really cool new features such as the whole combat/target deal. GTA 4 though leaves out a lot of things in my opinion which made games like San Andreas so great. The story for one isn't very intense... I read some interviews where the developers mentioned how they didn't want this one to be "cinematic." Whatever that may have meant, they sure seemed to have pulled it off with a somewhat bland story line, and a very unsatisfying ending (for me personally). Yah, there's still a hell lot more to do with side missions, but I expected the 90 missions I had to go through in order to complete the game would have given me a lot more satisfaction.

    Don't get me wrong, GTA 4 was great, but they seemed to have left out some key elements which made the other games a lot of fun. In my opinion, if they had kept a lot of elements that were in San Andreas, and shifted them over to GTA 4, it would have made the game top notch.
    Understandly, they appear to have tried to do things differently, but to me that just made for mixed personal feelings on certain aspects of the game (which very easily could have been improved).
    GTA 4 stands out as one of the strongest games of its genre around, but it also could have been so much better with very simple, and small details.

    I am a fan nevertheless, and you should definitely try itout!
    Expand
  13. StevenHolman
    Sep 10, 2008
    3
    very poor game, didnt live up to any expectations at all. the new hand to hand combat system is useless, and is un needed. clinging to walls is tedious and glitchy. game has way too many glitches. driving just gets annoying, as well as travelling from and to repetative missions. nothing new since GTA3 apart from slightly better AI (only at times), nicer graphics, with a few more featuresvery poor game, didnt live up to any expectations at all. the new hand to hand combat system is useless, and is un needed. clinging to walls is tedious and glitchy. game has way too many glitches. driving just gets annoying, as well as travelling from and to repetative missions. nothing new since GTA3 apart from slightly better AI (only at times), nicer graphics, with a few more features that are either tedious or hardly used.

    the only good thing about the game is the amount of detail that has been put in the city, that makes it feel alive
    Expand
  14. McTom
    Sep 20, 2008
    8
    GTA IV suffers from tricky controls, repetitive design, arbitrary save feature and regular clipping. Also, the 'friend'-system isn't perfect and it is not 'a totally free world' as some of the reviewers say - I was in the understanding I could enter EVERY building in the game, but that's far from it . Only triggered locations can be entered. Nonetheless, I GTA IV suffers from tricky controls, repetitive design, arbitrary save feature and regular clipping. Also, the 'friend'-system isn't perfect and it is not 'a totally free world' as some of the reviewers say - I was in the understanding I could enter EVERY building in the game, but that's far from it . Only triggered locations can be entered. Nonetheless, I enjoy the game pretty much. The characters are pretty good, the missions are varied enough (apart from the driving to-bit) and the whole atmosphere works really well. At its core the gameplay is very old-fashioned and I guess that's what I really like about the game. Nice, but by no means perfect. Expand
  15. THarris
    Sep 4, 2008
    4
    This game is a prime subject of what hype can do. It is not neccessarily a bad game but it doesn't dare to do anything new. The gameplay is almost exactly the same as all of the other GTAs with shallow controls and repetittive missions. The graphics make it look quite believable but is very bland. Characters are the same cliched stereotypes. A very dull game that doesn't try This game is a prime subject of what hype can do. It is not neccessarily a bad game but it doesn't dare to do anything new. The gameplay is almost exactly the same as all of the other GTAs with shallow controls and repetittive missions. The graphics make it look quite believable but is very bland. Characters are the same cliched stereotypes. A very dull game that doesn't try anything new because rockstar knows that it will sell anyway. Expand
  16. TN
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Best game ever ffs. Hate theese kids that are addicted to the Sims and WoW and can't appreciate a good game. "I like to fly around in Jetpacks" well come on! What the fuck!
    Does anyone remember GTA1? That rocked and now you want a tamagoochi?

    Get real, n00bs
  17. MattF
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    A stunning technical achievement that includes a world full of detail, stunning graphics, incredible storyline/voice acting. Anyone who rates this 0 is a cynical loser who thinks going against the grain and down-rating a popular game makes them smart or better than everyone else, and nothing will ever appease them.
  18. Johnandrew
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    For those who liked san andreas better than this....well...they definitely need a brain upgrade or sumfin. it definitely is the best gta to date and graphics are great for the first time. thanks to the realism saints row 2 looked like a sucker in deciding to compete with gta.
  19. michaels
    Jul 11, 2009
    7
    I have read a few comments, from gamers who love this game and it sound like they are the ones who designed it, trying to justify it's brilliants! I have not got HD so maybe i have missed out on that side of it, but i loved the last couple on playstation2 and i loved it for the game play, the graphics have alweays been cool! I wanted to enjoy what vice city and san andreas gave me, I have read a few comments, from gamers who love this game and it sound like they are the ones who designed it, trying to justify it's brilliants! I have not got HD so maybe i have missed out on that side of it, but i loved the last couple on playstation2 and i loved it for the game play, the graphics have alweays been cool! I wanted to enjoy what vice city and san andreas gave me, FUN, but trying to open taxi doors getting a lift was painful, why have the same button too steal as to get to a destination, plenty of other buttons to choice from! Also no animals or kids, is it unethical to have them in the game, does killing only adults push the boundaries far enough, is it not fun escaping reality for a few hours here and there to kill what you can, please explain!!!! No casino's or betting places really ruined it for me, is was a good way to get easy money, but i guess why need money when you can't buy houses only limited clothing and food and hookers, need more! Why can't you rob a bank or steal armoured cars to get money, it would be fun! As much as i love blowing things up, i love building things, can't you have more buying of properties and buying things for the houses, and having more clothes to choose from! Not just safe houses, but places you can design mostly yourself and want to spend time there not just for changing clothes or saving, but to bring friends you meet or chicks who you score with back there to party or to swim, or to play pool, anything! I really do hope gta5 if there is going to be one, brings all the best things from all the gta games into it, not just pushing out a really unfinshed game with good graphics, because i would rather gameplay over graphics anyday! Gta 4 should have made san andreas look bad, but it was just unfinished, i think due to deadlines! I beg the designers to read what people want not just do there own creations because they didn't seem to work there magic this time as they did in Gta san andreas which was orgasmic gameplay! I really think gta 4 was rushed so the designer can get to gta 5, i hope so! If the designer read this and they need some fresh ideas, i have plenty, i will give my email and will work for free, i just want goood gameplay! Expand
  20. ChrisS
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its beautiful gameworld with likable, believable characters. Sure there's no busting into Area 69 or blowing up a government cargo plane and then skydiving out...but there is still plenty of freedom and fun to be had in Liberty City's sandbox world. GTA has grown up. This was inevitably going to disappoint some gamers, but in my opinion it is a welcome change. The depth of the characters and world finds me going on fewer killing sprees and often running from police rather than slaying them, and to be honest, there's something awesomely revolutionary and superior about a GTA world full of characters I want to keep around. (Its still fun to push them in the water though). Expand
  21. TimBremner
    Nov 11, 2008
    7
    This is by no means a bad game, its not a great one though either. Aside from what has already been pointed out about the uselessness of money, poor multiplayer and repetitive everything! This game was really killed (my vocabulary is very limited, I know) by the lack of enjoyment after finishing the campaign and also the developers choice to go down a more realistic path..... Bad move Rockstar.
  22. JamesM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    One of the best games ever, story is great and you get to make choices that can change the direction the story goes in. Multiplayer is good too, a great laugh with mates. The only reason to not give it a 10 is the pop ups, I knew the game would have random pop ups due to the speed you can tear around a gigantic city that is so very detailed. A must own for all gaming fans.
  23. MichaelHummer
    Oct 2, 2008
    8
    Well I'm playing through the game for the second time and I've just read about 100 reviews from users like me so I'm ready to share my opinion.
    It definitely grew on me over time.
    The graphics are undoubtedly sweet. I don't like auto lock, pull trigger half way deal. It would have been so easy to make RB the lock and dedicate LT for manual aim. The driving while
    Well I'm playing through the game for the second time and I've just read about 100 reviews from users like me so I'm ready to share my opinion.
    It definitely grew on me over time.
    The graphics are undoubtedly sweet.
    I don't like auto lock, pull trigger half way deal.
    It would have been so easy to make RB the lock and dedicate LT for manual aim.
    The driving while initially frustrating becomes fun.
    You just have to plan your skids A LOT earlier.
    Now I can get away from the cops pretty quickly because I know how to time it.
    With that in mind it's still not the carefree driving experience of San Andreas but there are good times to be had.
    In fact, a car I hated for it's lack on control in the beginning has become my favorite because it's got tons of power and I can now control it (Stallion).
    The soundtrack sucks!!!
    Other than like 5 songs it's a major disappointment.
    Every other station is just hip-hop, reggae, rap... With San Andreas you had a few stations for everyone.
    I've played this game enough to have found a station I like by now and I have found nothing.
    Yes, the game and missions have a been there done that feel.
    this is one of the first feelings I had when playing the game.
    I was hoping for something new but it was not to be.
    I felt bored pretty quickly because of this and more than that disappointed.
    Given that there were no better games to be found on the 360, or at least in my possession, I continued to play and have had tons of fun.
    Taxis can save a TON of time and keep the wait between action to a minimum.
    At this point I use taxis as a rule and drive only when necessary.
    Even with this philosophy there'splenty of driving and enjoyment.
    What I've found really enjoyable is the combat.
    After a long time I'm used to the targeting deal and can reliably keep from pulling the trigger all the way and ruining the experience.
    However, a lot of that is because I've been there before.
    Any new experience might jolt me and cause a knee jerk auto lock.
    Again, RB should be auto lock and leave LT dedicated to free aim!
    Nevertheless I am really enjoying going through the combat missions again and very rarely die.
    I dig the shotgun and like switching guns during combat.
    I'd like it if he walked a little faster during adrenalin moments and if the sneak elements were present that would be cool.
    I snuck onto a site with tons of enemies and it would have been cool to take them all out silently with a knife or silencer.
    The problem is that they don't sell knives at the gun shops and there are no silencers!!!
    If you ever lose your knife from the beginning mission you can't get it back.
    I'm sure I'm wrong about the knife deal but it's definitely not easy to find a knife and I'm through the game a second time; I'll try Jacob's deal to see if he has knives before I completely cry foul.
    The strip clubs are fun and even though the girls run through their routine with the same enthusiasm that a real stripper would they are legitimately exciting.
    Ammo is way too expensive, especially for the rocket launcher.
    They force you to pay attention to a woman near the end of the game and yet she's bugly!
    I liked her personality enough even though she was too extreme: see prude & righteous.
    But like I said she was friggin' hard to look at.
    The second time through she's been getting the cold shoulder.
    The friend thing is a friggin waste of time.
    It would be nice to hang with these people but they could have achieved that in several different ways: on the way to missions, during cut scenes, etc...
    The only reason to do it is to get the friend's bonus so there could have been a better way to achieve this.
    Interestingly, I find the game more playable because the main character is not upgradeable.
    If he had been ungradeable it would have been hard to start over with him at a weaker state.
    It's really just the weapons that distinguish the beginning from the end.
    I would like to see remote grenades for dealing with pesky swarms of cops who don't like it when you kill their coworkers.
    The boating stuff is a waste of time but shooting down helicopters with a rocket launcher NEVER gets old.
    I'd like to have seen more execution options like in Godfather; in that game you could really go on a rampage.
    The rocket launcher is a total blast but like I said it's $$$.
    The vigilante missions are different and limited in number and that last part sucks. It's nice for game completion but I'd prefer a San Andreas version with ever increasing difficulty. They do offer current crimes but neither type brings any money so that's a bummer. Money in this game becomes too important and significantly hinders fun. I stole a car once after a good amount of prep work and got $1,000.00 for it. Hi, that's the price of one grenade! Just make rocket launcher shells $2,000, instead of 5, and we'll all be happy. Overall I give it an 85 out of 100. I look forward to the next iteration.
    Expand
  24. JohnHartman
    Oct 9, 2008
    8
    While it's storyline is awesome and the combat is alright at best, I hate being penalised for not wanting to drive some person I don't care about halfway across town to go eat, I hate having to drive halfway across town to change my clothes for a mission, I hate driving halfway across town back to where I was before I died in a mission, I hate having to drive halfway across townWhile it's storyline is awesome and the combat is alright at best, I hate being penalised for not wanting to drive some person I don't care about halfway across town to go eat, I hate having to drive halfway across town to change my clothes for a mission, I hate driving halfway across town back to where I was before I died in a mission, I hate having to drive halfway across town just to SAVE A FREAKING GAME.

    I don't think Rockstar realises that gamers don't like grinding.
    Expand
  25. SapetV.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Beautiful light accompanied by satisfying gameplay and amazing narrative.
  26. OscarD.
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    The biggest and the best game of the 21th century.
  27. NarutoK.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Probably one of the best video games we'll see for a looong time.
  28. RicS.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    This is the game I've been looking forward to since the first trailer, now ONLY 3 MORE DAYS! I hope that Saint's Row 2 is going to take lots of the ideas from the GTA IV.
  29. TobyT.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best ever!
  30. MungAS.
    Apr 27, 2008
    0
    Overrated overhyped tripe - avoid like the plague - how can a game get 100% ?
  31. BeljimS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    8
    Not enough of a difference from the other GTA games other than for the graphics which in my opinion are not all that either. Was expecting much more from all the hype.
  32. SdfSdf
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing in every aspect.
  33. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  34. RahulD
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Being one of the lucky few to watch this game in action (at a blog's previewer version), I have to say that this game looks amazing. It seems like a clever gangster flick, but in the core is a sandbox game like the previous titles.
    I have a strong feeling that this is going to be the game of 2008 on the Xbox 360, the same way Halo 3, Bioshock, and Call of Duty 4 took 2007.
  35. RobB.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Sublime - Rockstar have pushed the boundaries once again for what makes a truly amazing game. Yeah there may be minor flaws but that's all they are - MINOR. They really do not hinder your enjoyment one bit. Game of the Year without a doubt, go buy it now!
  36. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  37. Millsy
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Wow. My best gaming moment has just happened. How it was better than I expected is beyond me.... I expected a lot ...but WOW!
  38. MIKEJ.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I played this game before anybody on this website considering that I do get games before they are released. GTA4 is a masterpiece and I don't think users should be able to vote before it comes out because that lets other users think that it might not be a good game considering that most of the users don't know what the hell they are talking about. This game shows a great amount I played this game before anybody on this website considering that I do get games before they are released. GTA4 is a masterpiece and I don't think users should be able to vote before it comes out because that lets other users think that it might not be a good game considering that most of the users don't know what the hell they are talking about. This game shows a great amount of scenery, nice detail in the characters, perfect engine for rag-doll effect. The massive amount of exploring also makes this game even better. I give this game 10 thumbs UP! Expand
  39. WilliamP.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. The aiming system is a real revolution in my eyes. I've never seen anything like it. The guns feel precise and powerful in a realistic way. The aiming system involves both a free-aim and a targeted aim where the crosshairs stay with the target, but you can move them relative to their center of mass. This allows targetting of limbs or heads for the quick kill. This game is incredible. The aiming system is a real revolution in my eyes. I've never seen anything like it. The guns feel precise and powerful in a realistic way. The aiming system involves both a free-aim and a targeted aim where the crosshairs stay with the target, but you can move them relative to their center of mass. This allows targetting of limbs or heads for the quick kill. As for driving, it's far more realistic this time around. It's a little awkward for a GTA3 veteran, but it grows on you. Here's a tip: hold the handbrake, don't tap it. Also, going slow has its merits. The physics are simply amazing. Very realistic. 10/10 is everything this game deserves. Expand
  40. ChristianN.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Finally I've got a new reason to live. This is massive, great, creative, astonishing and more. I love it.
  41. ScottO.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    WOW! details! details! details! Just an awesome experience. and for those of u that think its bad: you think this another bandwagon no something can be legitimately good!
  42. ChadT.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    The best game i've ever played, but I wish I could do drugs ect. like on saints row.
  43. RC
    Apr 29, 2008
    6
    It's overrated, just like the older ones.
  44. ChrisR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I've only played about 8 missions so far, but all the commentary had me cracking up. The story so far is amazing, voice acting is stunning. And the graphics are beautiful. This game is the closest thing to perfection.
  45. JM
    Apr 29, 2008
    5
    Pop up framerate issues and the graphics are below PS3 version.
  46. BrandonP.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Best game ever hands down.
  47. NickS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Surpasses that which has been tried in this generation. The multiplayer is a must play, single player is amazing, and the ability of Rockstar Games to pay attention to the tiniest details is beyond words.
  48. LenB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    its obvious that people are just being ignorant when they give this game a 0........give me a break this game is at least an 11! to all those zero people......face the facts..you never even played the game. prob mad that you cant afford the 60$.... As far as the game goes, fun in every aspect! wheather its just shoting civilians, or doing missions...a great way to spend a rainy day off! its obvious that people are just being ignorant when they give this game a 0........give me a break this game is at least an 11! to all those zero people......face the facts..you never even played the game. prob mad that you cant afford the 60$.... As far as the game goes, fun in every aspect! wheather its just shoting civilians, or doing missions...a great way to spend a rainy day off! And ive only got 1% of the game done! Expand
  49. MadisonK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Graphics aren't mindblowing given the current generation of games and the gameplay itself doesn't offer earth-shattering innovation. Same formula as all the other GTA series, with a few neat additions. Those criticisms don't matter simply because GTA4 has kept me entertained like no other game. This is the most fun I have ever had. EVER. If they charged $120, I'd still Graphics aren't mindblowing given the current generation of games and the gameplay itself doesn't offer earth-shattering innovation. Same formula as all the other GTA series, with a few neat additions. Those criticisms don't matter simply because GTA4 has kept me entertained like no other game. This is the most fun I have ever had. EVER. If they charged $120, I'd still buy it. I simply cannot think of a single thing in-game that isn't a blast. Good job, Rockstar! Expand
  50. Roger
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    Its got a great dynamic world with great weather effects. Its a maasive game with a great story. BUT i think the missions are a bit dull and the basic gameplay is old. Very dissapointed to be honest after all the hype. I see nothing to justify a 10/10. Im not saying its bad its just nothing special.
  51. IvanJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Good game, but no way it's a 10. A 10 means absolute perfection, and there's plenty of things that could have been better (driving interface anyone?)
  52. CamCam
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    game is good, but not great. Visuals outstanding, but reminded me too much of old games, only a few new things. MP is cool, great addition.
  53. Andrew
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I have to question whether the 6's and 7's have even played the game, not just based on their scores given but on their comments. Mediocre graphics? Standing around waiting? What the hell are you talking about? Either they have ridiculously high expectations or they haven't even played the game. GTA IV is a masterpiece, and this is coming from someone who was never a big I have to question whether the 6's and 7's have even played the game, not just based on their scores given but on their comments. Mediocre graphics? Standing around waiting? What the hell are you talking about? Either they have ridiculously high expectations or they haven't even played the game. GTA IV is a masterpiece, and this is coming from someone who was never a big fan of prior GTA games. I always got bored with the frustrating missions, one dimensional characters, and boring narrative, and would just go around blowing stuff up. I didn't even bother with San Andreas, as I knew I wouldn't be into it. Something told me this game would be both different and better, and it is. This is the first (and only) GTA game I've played where the storyline has trumped wandering and exploring. Even in Oblivion I played a good 40 or so hours before even touching the main story (that isn't exaggeration.) In GTA IV, I haven't even felt the urge to go off on a tangent like that. The story is that engrossing and the characters are that interesting. Not to mention the gameplay and missions are so much damn fun. This game truly has something for everyone. It's nice to see something other than another stupid FPS garnering rave reviews, as I loathe most FPS and twitchy games in general (BioShock being a notable exception.) Easily the best next-gen game yet, and it will take something truly extraordinary to top it. Miss out at your own risk. Expand
  54. SeAjala
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    This game is phenominal but a 10/10? Nah let's all take a deep breath. and relax. In the end GTA IV comes down to: more of the same in a solid game franchise with smoothed rough edges (targetting), and a loads of content. But groundbreaking? Not in a San Andreas kind of way.
  55. AnthonyF.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    If Carlsberg did games it would quite simply be GTA4. Single player game is very engaging and is nicely paced I've just completed after nearly 32hrs game time and I haven't even delved into any of the side missions or races but simply brilliant. Was going to give it a nine because of the sometimes unresponsive controls and slightly awkward auto-aim, but when you go online with If Carlsberg did games it would quite simply be GTA4. Single player game is very engaging and is nicely paced I've just completed after nearly 32hrs game time and I haven't even delved into any of the side missions or races but simply brilliant. Was going to give it a nine because of the sometimes unresponsive controls and slightly awkward auto-aim, but when you go online with some friends it for me so far has been one of the best and most fun online experiences you could have on xbox live. Expand
  56. JasonS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Simply surreal; easily the closest to a "real" game world out there today. The only reason this may not feel like a milestone to some is because Rockstar has wowed us thrice before, leaving us to expect the impossible. Well, this time they pulled it off.
  57. MarkG.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The best game ever made. The detail is amazing the story's brilliant and the gameplay is perfect and as ever the radio stations are great and the voice acting is as good as ever. Muti player is also great and combined with every thing else there is to do this breath taking game will keep you hooked for not just months but even years.
  58. BenL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    THis is my standpoint. They went from Grandtheft auto 3.. Straight to Grandtheft auto 4. They forgot things that they used in Vice City and San Andreas. 1. Character customization is hugely lacking in this game - San Andreas you could pick haircuts, hairstyles, colors, control the weight of your character. 2. No planes - wow San Andreas had it. 3. Multiplayer and you cant go to the strip THis is my standpoint. They went from Grandtheft auto 3.. Straight to Grandtheft auto 4. They forgot things that they used in Vice City and San Andreas. 1. Character customization is hugely lacking in this game - San Andreas you could pick haircuts, hairstyles, colors, control the weight of your character. 2. No planes - wow San Andreas had it. 3. Multiplayer and you cant go to the strip club 4. Did you learn anything from your competition Saints Row had the best character customization yet for this style of game.. Come on 5. Wow is everybody broke in New York because in San Andreas you kill someone you at least got 12 dollars - I guess you just have to stake out ATM's. 6. San Andreas you had homies that you could summon and ride along with you. Basically they had a lot of features that they just plain forgot about that made grand theft auto better then previous copies. Yes it does have mulitplayer but terrible co-op Expand
  59. TerryG.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Standard Grand Theft Auto. Graphically impressive with a robust, alive world. Really impressing. The multiplayer should've been cut down to free roam. To access MP is an insult to intuitive design and should be completely remade. I have never dealt with more frustrating Multiplayer in my life. If it wasn't for multiplayer I would give it an 8/10. It is not a 10/10 game... thats Standard Grand Theft Auto. Graphically impressive with a robust, alive world. Really impressing. The multiplayer should've been cut down to free roam. To access MP is an insult to intuitive design and should be completely remade. I have never dealt with more frustrating Multiplayer in my life. If it wasn't for multiplayer I would give it an 8/10. It is not a 10/10 game... thats just stupid game reviewer hype they just don't want to anger their customers. Expand
  60. JeromeD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Look, I understand the shock and awe of GTA4. However its just GTA3 with a few nice upgrades. I have a 65" DLP diamond. Full HDMI and the graphics are close to laughable. Oblivion came out at the beginning of this generation and looks better. But the mechanics? Sure there nice, but what of everything else. They downgraded all kinds of things from the other games and for what? So I can see Look, I understand the shock and awe of GTA4. However its just GTA3 with a few nice upgrades. I have a 65" DLP diamond. Full HDMI and the graphics are close to laughable. Oblivion came out at the beginning of this generation and looks better. But the mechanics? Sure there nice, but what of everything else. They downgraded all kinds of things from the other games and for what? So I can see what would really happen when you get hit by a car, or drive under a bridge and see all those nice lighting effects? This is an honest step back from the series and as soon as the hype machine slows down and the fog clears, you'll see what I'm talking about. Its a good game not a great game and certanly, not a 10. Like Halo 3, this is the critcs sucking up to the great publishers. Get real. Expand
  61. TomJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Same old game with new graphics. Not worthy of all the hype.
  62. TomW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    All that suckers who says that this game is not awesome you must be retardet there is nothing to say about the graphics or the gameplay a few popups can't ruin a game and the storyline is awesome as well so i don't understeand why you posting bad rewiews you morons
  63. FreddyD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    The cars handle like crap. Just another GTA, but the best one yet of course. Just super-glossed up.
  64. AndyH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Fantastic return to form for the series. A must buy for any mature gamer with either console.
  65. JoeM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Overall a fun game after 3 hrs - When comparing to Saints Row, Some things i don't like so far include: 1- cannot turn OFF the radio - give me the option to not listen to anything. 2- clothes buying - talk about painful- You have to walk your dude thru the store to find the clothes and put them on, take them off.. just give me a menu with some screen shots of the new look and let me Overall a fun game after 3 hrs - When comparing to Saints Row, Some things i don't like so far include: 1- cannot turn OFF the radio - give me the option to not listen to anything. 2- clothes buying - talk about painful- You have to walk your dude thru the store to find the clothes and put them on, take them off.. just give me a menu with some screen shots of the new look and let me be on my way.. 3- saving does a 6hr fast forward in gametime; its not a big deal, but if you wanted to go on that hot date and its now 3am.. you will get blown off. 4- multiplayer interface - I tried to host a game with some other friends that got the game and never figured out how to change the game type- number of players.. give me a non-game interface menu (NOT the cell phone menu) to set it up before launching. 5- Exploring: I could not leave the new player area - the bridge was blocked off probably due to the 'unlocking feature'. Let me go for a real drive and explore the city. Aside from that, the graphics are excellent, the physics engine is great and the new combat system (cover) helps alot. Expand
  66. YanA.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Stunning, an absolute crackajack, if you don't buy this, you've wasted your money in buying your console!
  67. KevinK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game changed so much and all of it was for the better.
  68. JBrown
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The amount of immature idiots posting is near unbelievable, just because you can't do one thing doesn't mean you give the game a 0 - the game so far for me (i'm about 25% through) is a 10, the reason why? Simple. Its better than the other GTA's, looks fresher, feels more responsive and man anyone who says the graphics are poor needs to get a head check. The attention The amount of immature idiots posting is near unbelievable, just because you can't do one thing doesn't mean you give the game a 0 - the game so far for me (i'm about 25% through) is a 10, the reason why? Simple. Its better than the other GTA's, looks fresher, feels more responsive and man anyone who says the graphics are poor needs to get a head check. The attention to detail is RIDICULOUS! If you ever play a game with this much in it, then its on another planet. What rockstar have done is made a world to believe in, a multiplayer you will enjoy and make the wait for the downloadable content even worse. Small planes/Tanks/More Helicopters please! :) And i've not played the PS3 version. But come ON guys, if the graphics are better, then thats to be expected, the power in the console compared to the 360 is UNREAL. I would expect the entire game to be better but just the graphics? no in game rewards? Sure it makes it better to prank around in, but i'll stick to a solid game with 10 extra hours of DLC every 5 months and achievements to show my game progress. HOORAH Expand
  69. CharlesT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    this game is great the first time i played the thing i was most amazed about were the graphics the only thing I really dont like is that the camera is sometimes bad but thats about it. If i had this choice I would give it a 9.9/10.
  70. CoreyH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I'm in love with this game.
  71. FPSMaster
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    I'm just not seeing where all these 10/10's are coming from. I don't even see how it could manage to get an 8/10. They took out a ton of things that every other GTA game let you do to deepen the gameplay. Is there any point to free-roaming now other than to watch yourself go through a windshiield? Where are the RPG elements and hidden things to find in the environments? The I'm just not seeing where all these 10/10's are coming from. I don't even see how it could manage to get an 8/10. They took out a ton of things that every other GTA game let you do to deepen the gameplay. Is there any point to free-roaming now other than to watch yourself go through a windshiield? Where are the RPG elements and hidden things to find in the environments? The graphics are very jaggy and blurry and constantly jitter even when you're not moving. They never look clean or crisp, something Saint's Row did better in 2006.The character movement is still blocky and PS2-ishy feeling so the animations are stilted and last gen as are the character models and when you go to do something your character may or may not do what you want him to since the controls are still very much broken and very, very sluggish. Fist fighting, gun fighting and aiming are no better than before and they almost always do the exact opposite of your button inputs because again, the controls for them are very sluggish. Vehicles handle like Test Drive 5's from PS1 meaning they do whatever they want, skipping and sliding all over the place making the entire point of GTA redundant now: just stay on foot. The hyped Euphoria engine is a joke and does nothing we haven't seen a hundred times already this gen from physics engines, and in some cases seems a generation behind still. Music sucks, using the cel phone sucks and the text and screen cut-off makes things unreadable. The A.I., explosions, voice acting and lighting are decent, but the same old/same old GTA fetch-quest story mission structure is getting boring after rehashing the same game and the same missions 6 times now. MP seems thrown in at the last minute and lags to Hell and back and just doesn't fit GTA at all. I've been doing these same missions and playing this exact same game since 2001, although last gen versions destroyed this one EASILY. Rockstar can sleep well now knowing they managed to do something no other developer has been able to do up until this point: make the exact same game as the other 5 from last gen, NOT push any envelopes but instead make the same standard jump every other developer has with new hardware this gen, and still have the most overhyyped, overrated game in the history of gaming still sell out and still get PERFECT scores. If the 360 was around in 2004, this is what San Andreas would have been. Meaning there's nothing here that couldn't have been done by any developer given new hardware. Rockstar BLOWS as do "PRO" reviewers.. Expand
  72. JonF.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played and should get game of the year.
  73. GeorgePalmer
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a worthy addition to the GTA series. It improves on a lot of the original GTA concepts that never came to fruition in earlier games, such as the poor shooting mechanics and lack of ability to control the plot line. Most GTA fans wont be disappointed, but it is not a game that's going to attract people who have never played GTA before.
  74. JohnC.
    May 1, 2008
    8
    Very good game, but honestly it doesn't seem that different to me than GTA III.
  75. StevenG.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, if only for the story. Best game story ever.
  76. JuhaS.
    May 1, 2008
    5
    This came is like Saints raw 1,5 only thing beter to saints is the driving and physics engine and that ain't much.
  77. JohnH.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    omg this is the best game in the WORLD and wen I say best game I mean best game come on anyone that hasn't and doesnt want to play it must be crazy.
  78. NickN.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played by far, I don't plan on playing anything else for a long long time.
  79. MiguelA.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    GTA is the greatest game in history to date.
  80. ArvinM.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Incredible storytelling, acting, music, ambiance, gameplay, just perfect.
  81. KaneG.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Yay one of the best Games I've ever seen Right up there with Ocorina of time and Resident Evil 4.
  82. JamesT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game sits a top all others ! The graphics are superb! The online is fantastic! Drinking and driving in a video game has been a life long dream that has come true in this work of art. Cannot put down the controller!
  83. JamesD.
    May 1, 2008
    3
    Great presentation and idea, however failing a mission and having to drive half way across a city to do it again (even with the taxi ride) is just plain frustrating and time wasting. Also the lock on to enemy is rubbish aswell, whats wrong with free aim? Drive, kill someone, cut scene, do it all again and again and again, boring. Sorry everyone, I just dont get the hype?
  84. TomE
    May 11, 2008
    2
    Way overhyped! Not down with cop killing and prostitution.
  85. Jcdx
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Got me hooked straight on. I was afraid that all the hype would be just marketing spam. Fortunately this is not the case and the bubble didn't burst. Just got more colourful.
  86. JenL.
    May 1, 2008
    8
    Rockstar did a fine job updating the look of their flagship franchise, as well as correcting some of the more glaring mechanical issues which have plagued the series for so long. But what bugs me is that the missions are still wildly uneven, both in terms of difficulty and quality. Since this is what most of the game is made up of, I can't recommend this to anyone but the most Rockstar did a fine job updating the look of their flagship franchise, as well as correcting some of the more glaring mechanical issues which have plagued the series for so long. But what bugs me is that the missions are still wildly uneven, both in terms of difficulty and quality. Since this is what most of the game is made up of, I can't recommend this to anyone but the most hardcore GTA fan. Expand
  87. JakeS.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game did not let me down. Lots of things to do in here! Multiplayer is great!
  88. JimM
    May 10, 2008
    10
    you cant get better than this. GTA 4 has very decent graffix and great AI. I love this game because you can play it over and over again and not get bored. 1 thing that i found out about it is that they move their fingers unlike in San Andreas. Anyways if you haven't got it, GET IT!!!!
  89. JonW.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Definitely not perfect, but I think this installment removes the fat from San Andreas and polishes the hell out of what makes GTA so much fun.
  90. MattH.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This is an incredible addition to the franchise. The graphics are great, the level of detail is absolutely stunning, and the cinematic cutscenes actually keep you wanting to know more. GTA is an incredible game, loaded with hours and hours of gameplay, and in my opinion, is worthy of every ounce of hype its received.
  91. BenjaminS.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    The lack of customization is made up for by one of the best stories in gaming history. the story in this is the first one in the GTA series that was capable of driving a emotional response. they stepped back from San Andres as refined what they had before, and it works.
  92. BlockssT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best GTA ever, theres so much things to do along with a superior multiplayer mode and soon get EXCLUSIVE download contents only for the XBOX360. This GTA4 will keep me busy for years to come. There is no way anybody could give this game less then a 10.
  93. TheDude
    May 1, 2008
    8
    I'm definitely disappointed after the reviews. Very similar to the previous three games. Lots of little additions, like internet, tv, pedestrians do more, drivings a little trickier, but still, 90 percent of the game is spent driving around from job to job(which gets old really quick since we've already done it to death in the last three games), and 95 percent of the game is the I'm definitely disappointed after the reviews. Very similar to the previous three games. Lots of little additions, like internet, tv, pedestrians do more, drivings a little trickier, but still, 90 percent of the game is spent driving around from job to job(which gets old really quick since we've already done it to death in the last three games), and 95 percent of the game is the exact same as before, you're either driving, watching a cutscene, or doing missions just like the ones in previous GTA's. The graphics and engine don't seem very different at all from GTA 3. If you love the GTA series, of course you'll love it, but it's not the revelation to gaming that the critics make it out to be. Rather, it makes me really appreciate what a revelation GTA 3 was, in that this one really isn't that much different, and yet it's still getting a perfect score and being called incredibly innovative all these years after GTA 3 came out. Expand
  94. MattD.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing... You can sit there and watch people go through there daily lives.
  95. AndyR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Its a perfect 10 just because of the story. Love it!
  96. VictorM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  97. PeterW.
    May 13, 2008
    10
    bob a your an idiot ! how can you rate a game based on the type of clothes the character can wear? Unless your a strange fruit you will be amazed with this ! Graphics arent staggering at first but the level of detail, thought and characters this game has to offer is simply the bomb.
  98. JackD.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best game I've ever played... little on the 'naughty' side, but you know - that's what the game is.
  99. ShannonL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    I dont know why anyone is disapointed withthis game. - By far the BEST and most technologically advanced game I have ever played By FAR!
  100. BobA.
    May 10, 2008
    5
    Offline game play gets boring - And just little things - there is only 3 different types of clothe shops?? and I don't like 1.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.