Halo 3: ODST Xbox 360

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1066 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexK.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Campaign 10/10 FireFight 10/10 its all awesome
  2. JoradT
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    When are people going to realise that this is just the SAME game from two years ago just with a couple of new maps in multiplayer and a different (shorter campaign). It's ridiculous that Bungie are charging $60 for this. There are a few very good aspects (such as firefight which is AWESOME) but apart from that it's really not worth it at all. Worst value package ever.
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 9
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 10
    Technical: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.8/10 = A
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would haveHalo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would have made it much more interesting. Nonetheless, it is fun whether you go it alone or with some friends. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Not the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A littleNot the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A little disappointed in the campaign , I mean it needed the battle rifle, and mostly in all the level you used the silenced m7s , the levels vastly appeared the assault rifle and come on the protagonist never talked it just felt like another master chief only human. But anyway is full entertaining and you get a good use for your money . Expand
  6. michaelk
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    this is another fantastic game that just seems to be getting loads of negative feedback but it really is a fantastic shooter the story is great with a real sense of depth plus the secret story that you descover by downloading all the audio files really adds a sense of depth. firefight is awesome fun with the only real setback being that its friends only i'd really of liked it to be this is another fantastic game that just seems to be getting loads of negative feedback but it really is a fantastic shooter the story is great with a real sense of depth plus the secret story that you descover by downloading all the audio files really adds a sense of depth. firefight is awesome fun with the only real setback being that its friends only i'd really of liked it to be open to everyone but i'm lucky to have friends to play with and if none of them are about i have the classic halo 3 multi player plus every dlc map to play on against one of the largest communities of players thats still going strong even after 3 years as one of the most played games online i really honestly dont understand all the negativity ?????? this game is awesome on every level Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    I normally really enjoy playing halo games and I enjoyed this one as well... just not as much.
    I don't know what happened but this was not even close to how good I thought halo 3 was and this game is good just the worst fps halo in the series.
  8. Mar 1, 2011
    4
    One of the biggest disappointments I've ever had to suffer. I'm a long time Halo fan, and while I don't exactly love Bungie, I trusted them to deliver a great experience. I'd already given up hope for a great campaign since Halo 2, and all I really cared about was playing survival Halo. I was initially taken aback that a game Bungie themselves had dubbed an "expansion to Halo 3", with anOne of the biggest disappointments I've ever had to suffer. I'm a long time Halo fan, and while I don't exactly love Bungie, I trusted them to deliver a great experience. I'd already given up hope for a great campaign since Halo 2, and all I really cared about was playing survival Halo. I was initially taken aback that a game Bungie themselves had dubbed an "expansion to Halo 3", with an estimated price for $40 was now being marketed as a full game (thankfully Amazon gave me $10 back soon afterwards). Loading up into the campaign, I was almost immediately struck at how.. well.. bad it was. The cutscene animations are laughably poor, and the characters are all bland stereotypes. The storytelling was rather annoying, as between levels you'd have to "explore" an extremely repetitive New Mombasa while fighting outposts of Brutes (more like driving past them with a ghost you steal) and then searching for 10 minutes to find the next "clue". Somehow this piece of garbage reveals an extremely complicated story to your "rookie". Honestly, this is probably the worst Halo campaign in existence. Besides that, two things stuck out to me:
    1. Where in the hell are the elites? I personally hate fighting brutes; they're dumb, slow, and boring. Obviously since this game takes place about 2 seconds after the Master Chief fights with about a MILLION elites, you'd think there would be.. I don't know.. some elites left over. Well you'd be wrong. I'm not sure what the canon explanation is, but basically the H3 engine didn't have enemy AI coded into the elite characters, so we're stuck fighting Halo 3 elites before they even existed.
    2. You're supposed to feel different. You're supposed to feel like a smaller soldier, without super shields, who can't take on 50 brutes by himself. You don't. You still feel like a spartan, but you can see your hands this time. You still run and gun as you kill dozens of grunts and elites with superior firepower to your own. Yeah, you have to find healthpacks from time to time. Big woop. You definitely do NOT feel like a small fragile soldier, and there is no more strategy than previous Halo games offer.

    On to firefight.. boy what a disappointment. There is no defense strategy, there is no teamwork involved. Playing with 4 friends, we just got into a game and found the best strategy was to run our separate ways and kill as many enemies as possible. What makes this incoherent mess even worse is that you're forced to deal with these stupid skulls that turn on after a couple waves. These skulls force you to melee enemies to regain shields, to constantly dodge enemy grenades while yours are rendered ineffective, to deal with a terribly low supply of ammo. Do any of these things sound fun to you? They sure aren't. I knew they would offer the skulls for those looking for additional challenge, but to force them on you? Ridiculous. It ends up playing like a 4-player co-op campaign, except there's only one tiny level, and there's no story... and it's not even remotely fun.

    Some people loved the "storytelling" and "style" of this game, but ultimately, as a Halo fan, it was a huge disappointment. I played ODST for about a week before stopping altogether. Do I regret buying it? Not entirely. For one, I now have all the H3 maps on a single disk and my HDD has much more space. Two, I was able to complete the achievements towards getting Recon armor in H3. And finally, I was able to participate in the Reach beta. All that aside, I found this game terrible. I'm a HUGE Halo CE to Halo Reach fan, and I found this game TERRIBLE. Take from this what you will.
    Expand
  9. Oct 9, 2010
    0
    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO boring its exactly the same as every single other halo and its just a overrated piece of rubbish, i cant actually believe i pre ordrered it. Biggest waste of money in my life !
  10. MikeW
    Jan 2, 2010
    4
    The story is very non flowing, even if it is good I couldn't tell because it's so choppy. The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless. It has it's moments and I was entertained but it really doesn't hold a candle to what the halo name has set itself to be.
  11. Aug 13, 2010
    1
    wow if by deffinition you mean a game company crapping out a turd into a box marketing it for $60 then this is the true deffinition of that . so first this was suppose to be a expansion pack which probubly woulda went for 1600 points if marked reasonably ... yeah right like bunjie would do that they have to rape you for every thing you are worth because they are greedy and know halo fanswow if by deffinition you mean a game company crapping out a turd into a box marketing it for $60 then this is the true deffinition of that . so first this was suppose to be a expansion pack which probubly woulda went for 1600 points if marked reasonably ... yeah right like bunjie would do that they have to rape you for every thing you are worth because they are greedy and know halo fans will pay any thing to get it no matter how bad it is. if this was atleast a 1600 point expansion like it was intended to be i could atleast give it a 6/10 . as is its a $60 overpriced expansion that took me all if 4 hours to beat and i didnt enjoy any of it . outdated graphics ... oh and you dont get to play as the master chief you get to play as some bozoo who just runs around living out what other people have done. then theres the gears 2 horde mode rip off fire fight which wasvately fun for a hour . playing this game felt like i was banished to hell . The halo series is beyond repair in my book . only positive note is i only borowed this game and didnt pay for it . if i did pay for it man id have been really pissed. Expand
  12. Aug 29, 2010
    7
    i played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 playersi played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 players online. it is still fun but should have been tweaked before release. Expand
  13. KP
    Oct 3, 2009
    5
    I'm pretty disappointed in this one. I disagree with some of the other comments. To me it feels obvious that Bungie cut corners on this game....from the game play to the graphics to the voice acting. I think the voice acting is terrible on this one. My biggest complaint is the lighting. When it's dark out and you are forced to used your VD vision or whatever it's I'm pretty disappointed in this one. I disagree with some of the other comments. To me it feels obvious that Bungie cut corners on this game....from the game play to the graphics to the voice acting. I think the voice acting is terrible on this one. My biggest complaint is the lighting. When it's dark out and you are forced to used your VD vision or whatever it's called...it just makes it an unpleasant gaming experience. I found myself constantly messing with the brightness adjustments to no avail. No matter what I did to adjust I found the game either too dark or too bright. Granted I haven't gotten into Firefight mode, but as far as the campaign, I'd rather replay any Halo game than play this. A Halo game this is not. Expand
  14. GavinM
    Jan 2, 2010
    6
    Halo 3 :ODST is a serviceable game, it doesn't do anything new or isn't exactly memorable, but is an enjoyable game when you don't take in the Halo name or the hype buildup. If it wasn't a Halo game though, it would wash away in the sea of better games that came in the fourth quarter of this year.
  15. thedude
    Mar 23, 2010
    5
    Hugely disappointing. Most of the content is content that most Halo fans have already paid for, since the main multiplayer is Halo 3's multiplayer. Tacked on you get Firefight mode which will get old fairly fast. The only other new content is the super-short campaign(around 6 hours long). There were a lot of great games last year(mw2, l4d2, gh5, borderlands, arkham asylum). Compared Hugely disappointing. Most of the content is content that most Halo fans have already paid for, since the main multiplayer is Halo 3's multiplayer. Tacked on you get Firefight mode which will get old fairly fast. The only other new content is the super-short campaign(around 6 hours long). There were a lot of great games last year(mw2, l4d2, gh5, borderlands, arkham asylum). Compared to those, this game was a terrible waste of money. Expand
  16. jesseR
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    this is my favorite halo game ever! when i played as chief i felt no strategy but odst is strategic and has those big climax battles like at the end of the game. also the audiofiles make the game more interesting and i enjoy that is open world, offers alternitives an opens a big window in the halo universe
  17. MarkM
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    ODST was a great game in my opinion. the campaign was very fun and it had a good story. The new health system makes the game a bit more challenging and the controls are easy for nearly any one to learn almost right away. the new firefight mode has been hours of fun for me and the H3 multiplayer is most like the most fun I've ever had in a game. Even if you own the normal halo 3 disc, ODST was a great game in my opinion. the campaign was very fun and it had a good story. The new health system makes the game a bit more challenging and the controls are easy for nearly any one to learn almost right away. the new firefight mode has been hours of fun for me and the H3 multiplayer is most like the most fun I've ever had in a game. Even if you own the normal halo 3 disc, ODST brings 3 new fun and exiting maps and it would be good if one of your friends doesnt't have halo 3 or ODST you can let them barrow your halo 3 and be able to play online with them. Overall I believe ODST is a great buy and that if you are new to halo it is even a greater deal. Expand
  18. JayC.
    Sep 22, 2009
    0
    I pretty much paid $60 for a worthless expansion for the multiplayer maps... waste of my time Just another Halo from desperate Micro$oft.
  19. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    For me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. TheFor me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. The narrative certainly is, for the most part, what separates this game from the others - unfortunately though I didn't find it very engaging and otherwise the game doesn't add anything that wasn't already there in past titles. I also found the presentation to be too dark at times, and the hud takes up too much of the screen. In addition I found the gameplay to become too repetitive. Upon trying to play through the Halo games chronologically, I have hardly seen any new opponents or breakthrough gameplay elements since the original Halo. It was decent fun at certain moments, I'll give it that - though sadly my optimism for this game just isn't anything more than that. Expand
  20. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck playing it by myself and its not fun. The free roam wasnt even free roam. It was run from point a to point b. The gameplay was exactly the same as original halo. The dificulty was not that hard at all. The game itself is ok but for 60 dollars its not worth it at all. Mabye for 40 but thats a mabye
    Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    So heavily recycled from Halo 3 its like playing a modded version of it when you put in ODST. The only good things about ODST are the addition of firefight and the bonus disc that gives you all the halo 3 maps for free.
  22. Oct 27, 2010
    2
    The storyline was very short and ruined mombasa was a dissapointment. As well as that the storyline wasnt that good. If you want a better game at half the price just buy halo 3. dont buy this game
  23. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waitingCopy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, aHalo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, a few new gameplay changes only give it a slightly different feel, and there is no multiplayer, but it does come with all of Halo 3's maps plus the DLC maps and two new maps, this game is in my opinion amazing and one of the best in the series. Expand
  25. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    This is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It'sThis is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It's basically boring. Expand
  26. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    This is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in thisThis is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in this game, i would say, is the firefight mode. Besides that, not really a game worth getting. Expand
  27. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    You know I was going to give it a bad rating because its a bad "halo game" but then I played some other much worse fps's and other bad games and thought wow this really is so much better than those other games. so sure out of all the halo games its definitely the worst (yes that includes wars) it's still a superb game by gaming standards and deserves to be regarded as such.
  28. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    Halo ODST was a massive missed opportunity for Bungie. They could've actually crafted a game that broke from their previous efforts. They could've actually shown us what combat was like from a vulnerable human's point of view, instead of from a power armored supersoldier's point of view. Instead of walking around like some sort of shielded tank, maybe we'd be able to go prone and takeHalo ODST was a massive missed opportunity for Bungie. They could've actually crafted a game that broke from their previous efforts. They could've actually shown us what combat was like from a vulnerable human's point of view, instead of from a power armored supersoldier's point of view. Instead of walking around like some sort of shielded tank, maybe we'd be able to go prone and take cover and do interesting stuff. But they squandered it all, they just didn't give a damn.

    So you're an ODST. Well, I guess that means you're really vulnerable, right? You can't rely on shields to save your bacon, this gameplay's probably going to be a lot more like Rainbow Six, and even grunts will pose a considerable challenge... oh wait. No, no they didn't do that. There's still a shield, it's just now called stamina and it's hidden from the HUD.

    Well, you're just a human. I guess that means you can't break off machine gun turrets and lug them around and... oh wait. Yeah, I guess you can still break off turrets and walk around with them. You've still got superhuman strength. You can still carry Spartan lasers as if they weighed nothing, even though they're huge weapons that would probably strain a normal human.

    But hey, you're way way weaker than a Spartan II, you've probably got a much much weaker melee attack now, right? You probably can't deliver a couple of punches to kill grunts and Brutes and stuff, right? After all, regular humans don't have the superhuman strength to do that. Oh wait... yeah, I guess your melee attacks still kill them quickly. Your punches are still superhuman for some reason.

    But without the finely tuned motor reflexes and stabilizers of the Mjolnir armor, your aim is probably going to be really bad when you move a lot, right? I mean, your reticle is probably going to expand if you're running or strafing a lot, right? That's what happens when a human being moves rapidly while carrying a gun, their aim suffers. So that's surely... oh wait. Oh wait, that's not... that not what we get. The crosshair just remains static and perfectly accurate. Boy, that's not right is it?

    If you just expected more of the same, I guess ODST might've been just peachy-keen for you.
    Expand
  29. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    AWFUL campaing, Just **** garbage. Why people would like to see a story in mixed order is beyond me, Yeah it's not gonna make no sense if you do the second last mission then the second, but it just feels like a way to pad the game play, "Oh we have a 4-5 hour campaing, but instead of just telling a story, were gonna force you to walk around for 10 mins before you get to the next part ofAWFUL campaing, Just **** garbage. Why people would like to see a story in mixed order is beyond me, Yeah it's not gonna make no sense if you do the second last mission then the second, but it just feels like a way to pad the game play, "Oh we have a 4-5 hour campaing, but instead of just telling a story, were gonna force you to walk around for 10 mins before you get to the next part of the story" Firefight isn't online and the multiplayer is halo 3. Do not buy unless you don't have halo 3 anymore. even then halo 3 is dead sooooooo Expand
  30. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get a few new guns, and a vision mode that highlights enemies. Does that sound like it deserves to be a full purchase? No. But wait there is also a new multiplayer mode called Firefight, where you, and up to three friends fight in a survival type of mode where endless hordes of enemies will attack, and you have to fight them off. Aside from that, and a tacked on single player, the multiplayer is the exact same, without the new guns. Simply put, its one game mode, a short and tacked on single player, and the old Halo 3 multiplayer without any chances. I haven't left anything out at this point. I've said everything that Halo 3:ODST has to offer. So if that's all that was added why did the game set sold as a full price game rather then DLC? I'll tell you why. It's because some executive at Microsoft who figured they weren't making enough money said so that's why. This game is nothing new at all, it's just a recycled Halo 3. This game should not in anyway be praised.
    If this would have been released at DLC it would warrant a better score such as a 6, maybe 7. However, because of the price tag, I have to deduct points from it. The game doesn't deserve anything else other then a 5, because it simply isn't enough to get a better score when you have to pay full price for it.
    Shame on you Microsoft, shame on you Bungie, shame on you Halo fan boys who would be willing to cough up $60 for this trash at launch.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.