User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1019 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    4
    One of the biggest disappointments I've ever had to suffer. I'm a long time Halo fan, and while I don't exactly love Bungie, I trusted them to deliver a great experience. I'd already given up hope for a great campaign since Halo 2, and all I really cared about was playing survival Halo. I was initially taken aback that a game Bungie themselves had dubbed an "expansion to Halo 3", with anOne of the biggest disappointments I've ever had to suffer. I'm a long time Halo fan, and while I don't exactly love Bungie, I trusted them to deliver a great experience. I'd already given up hope for a great campaign since Halo 2, and all I really cared about was playing survival Halo. I was initially taken aback that a game Bungie themselves had dubbed an "expansion to Halo 3", with an estimated price for $40 was now being marketed as a full game (thankfully Amazon gave me $10 back soon afterwards). Loading up into the campaign, I was almost immediately struck at how.. well.. bad it was. The cutscene animations are laughably poor, and the characters are all bland stereotypes. The storytelling was rather annoying, as between levels you'd have to "explore" an extremely repetitive New Mombasa while fighting outposts of Brutes (more like driving past them with a ghost you steal) and then searching for 10 minutes to find the next "clue". Somehow this piece of garbage reveals an extremely complicated story to your "rookie". Honestly, this is probably the worst Halo campaign in existence. Besides that, two things stuck out to me:
    1. Where in the hell are the elites? I personally hate fighting brutes; they're dumb, slow, and boring. Obviously since this game takes place about 2 seconds after the Master Chief fights with about a MILLION elites, you'd think there would be.. I don't know.. some elites left over. Well you'd be wrong. I'm not sure what the canon explanation is, but basically the H3 engine didn't have enemy AI coded into the elite characters, so we're stuck fighting Halo 3 elites before they even existed.
    2. You're supposed to feel different. You're supposed to feel like a smaller soldier, without super shields, who can't take on 50 brutes by himself. You don't. You still feel like a spartan, but you can see your hands this time. You still run and gun as you kill dozens of grunts and elites with superior firepower to your own. Yeah, you have to find healthpacks from time to time. Big woop. You definitely do NOT feel like a small fragile soldier, and there is no more strategy than previous Halo games offer.

    On to firefight.. boy what a disappointment. There is no defense strategy, there is no teamwork involved. Playing with 4 friends, we just got into a game and found the best strategy was to run our separate ways and kill as many enemies as possible. What makes this incoherent mess even worse is that you're forced to deal with these stupid skulls that turn on after a couple waves. These skulls force you to melee enemies to regain shields, to constantly dodge enemy grenades while yours are rendered ineffective, to deal with a terribly low supply of ammo. Do any of these things sound fun to you? They sure aren't. I knew they would offer the skulls for those looking for additional challenge, but to force them on you? Ridiculous. It ends up playing like a 4-player co-op campaign, except there's only one tiny level, and there's no story... and it's not even remotely fun.

    Some people loved the "storytelling" and "style" of this game, but ultimately, as a Halo fan, it was a huge disappointment. I played ODST for about a week before stopping altogether. Do I regret buying it? Not entirely. For one, I now have all the H3 maps on a single disk and my HDD has much more space. Two, I was able to complete the achievements towards getting Recon armor in H3. And finally, I was able to participate in the Reach beta. All that aside, I found this game terrible. I'm a HUGE Halo CE to Halo Reach fan, and I found this game TERRIBLE. Take from this what you will.
    Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would haveHalo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would have made it much more interesting. Nonetheless, it is fun whether you go it alone or with some friends. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    I normally really enjoy playing halo games and I enjoyed this one as well... just not as much.
    I don't know what happened but this was not even close to how good I thought halo 3 was and this game is good just the worst fps halo in the series.
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Not the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A littleNot the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A little disappointed in the campaign , I mean it needed the battle rifle, and mostly in all the level you used the silenced m7s , the levels vastly appeared the assault rifle and come on the protagonist never talked it just felt like another master chief only human. But anyway is full entertaining and you get a good use for your money . Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2010
    0
    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO boring its exactly the same as every single other halo and its just a overrated piece of rubbish, i cant actually believe i pre ordrered it. Biggest waste of money in my life !
  6. Aug 13, 2010
    1
    wow if by deffinition you mean a game company crapping out a turd into a box marketing it for $60 then this is the true deffinition of that . so first this was suppose to be a expansion pack which probubly woulda went for 1600 points if marked reasonably ... yeah right like bunjie would do that they have to rape you for every thing you are worth because they are greedy and know halo fanswow if by deffinition you mean a game company crapping out a turd into a box marketing it for $60 then this is the true deffinition of that . so first this was suppose to be a expansion pack which probubly woulda went for 1600 points if marked reasonably ... yeah right like bunjie would do that they have to rape you for every thing you are worth because they are greedy and know halo fans will pay any thing to get it no matter how bad it is. if this was atleast a 1600 point expansion like it was intended to be i could atleast give it a 6/10 . as is its a $60 overpriced expansion that took me all if 4 hours to beat and i didnt enjoy any of it . outdated graphics ... oh and you dont get to play as the master chief you get to play as some bozoo who just runs around living out what other people have done. then theres the gears 2 horde mode rip off fire fight which wasvately fun for a hour . playing this game felt like i was banished to hell . The halo series is beyond repair in my book . only positive note is i only borowed this game and didnt pay for it . if i did pay for it man id have been really pissed. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2010
    7
    i played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 playersi played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 players online. it is still fun but should have been tweaked before release. Expand
  8. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 9
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 10
    Technical: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.8/10 = A
  9. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    A very good, enjoyable campaign. Though my only complaint is that the campaign is a bit short and is the difficulty equals that of Halo 2 if you decide to play it by yourself ;D . The campaign is very well done, but its not really a game that you would pop in your Xbox just to play. It does however come with the Halo 3 multiplayer disk with all the DLC included. Overall, not a bad deal ifA very good, enjoyable campaign. Though my only complaint is that the campaign is a bit short and is the difficulty equals that of Halo 2 if you decide to play it by yourself ;D . The campaign is very well done, but its not really a game that you would pop in your Xbox just to play. It does however come with the Halo 3 multiplayer disk with all the DLC included. Overall, not a bad deal if its your first time buying a halo game. Expand
  10. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    For me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. TheFor me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. The narrative certainly is, for the most part, what separates this game from the others - unfortunately though I didn't find it very engaging and otherwise the game doesn't add anything that wasn't already there in past titles. I also found the presentation to be too dark at times, and the hud takes up too much of the screen. In addition I found the gameplay to become too repetitive. Upon trying to play through the Halo games chronologically, I have hardly seen any new opponents or breakthrough gameplay elements since the original Halo. It was decent fun at certain moments, I'll give it that - though sadly my optimism for this game just isn't anything more than that. Expand
  11. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck playing it by myself and its not fun. The free roam wasnt even free roam. It was run from point a to point b. The gameplay was exactly the same as original halo. The dificulty was not that hard at all. The game itself is ok but for 60 dollars its not worth it at all. Mabye for 40 but thats a mabye
    Expand
  12. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    Halo 3:ODST was different from other halo games. Over the game you were forced to travel to your mission by walking throught the dark city of new mombasa. Sometimes i would get lost. It probably took me 45 minutes to get to the first mission cause it took that long to get used too. How ever the campaign was fun and still play it from time to time.How ever it was short. Firefight is fun butHalo 3:ODST was different from other halo games. Over the game you were forced to travel to your mission by walking throught the dark city of new mombasa. Sometimes i would get lost. It probably took me 45 minutes to get to the first mission cause it took that long to get used too. How ever the campaign was fun and still play it from time to time.How ever it was short. Firefight is fun but it is hard to get someone to play with online. This game should have been an add on instead of a full priced game. I give halo 3:ODST a 7.5 out of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  13. esp
    Sep 6, 2010
    4
    Perhaps Halo just isn't my thing, but this game is just dumb. The annoying childlike aliens, the (very) weak attempts at humor, the vague and contradictory mission objectives -- I played the first two missions and sold it back to the shop where I'd gotten it. There are many ways to get one's FPS fix, and this just didn't do it for me.
  14. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    As MikeW put it "The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless." Duh. It's supposed to. Anyway, The game brings back some features from Halo: Combat Evolved, such as the health system and the ability of dual wielding is absent. The music is great and sets the tone of the game. While Firefight is not matchmaking, it is great to play withAs MikeW put it "The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless." Duh. It's supposed to. Anyway, The game brings back some features from Halo: Combat Evolved, such as the health system and the ability of dual wielding is absent. The music is great and sets the tone of the game. While Firefight is not matchmaking, it is great to play with friends and is an excellent addition to the franchise.Also, be sure to visit Bungie.net and get your Halo 3: ODST nameplate for Halo: Reach! Expand
  15. Sep 25, 2010
    5
    This game isn't the worst ever, but it certainly is not a Ã
  16. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is little more than an expansion pack. But where there isn't a rethought mutliplayer component that pushes the series forward, there is a stellar story told through a scope that is brand new to Halo and will really please fans that are wanting to answer the question "why am I doing this?" as they progress through the campaign. The only real new face in ODST besides theHalo 3: ODST is little more than an expansion pack. But where there isn't a rethought mutliplayer component that pushes the series forward, there is a stellar story told through a scope that is brand new to Halo and will really please fans that are wanting to answer the question "why am I doing this?" as they progress through the campaign. The only real new face in ODST besides the obvious 6-8 hour campaign portion is the intriguing Firefight mode that brings up to 4 players together to fight off massive waves of Covenant soldiers & vehicles. This mode is reminiscent of Gear of War 2's "Horde" mode and will give friends something great to enjoy while playing with up to 3 other friends. But other than that, you're looking at minimal changes to what has been a solid formula up to this point. Though adding in great voice acting from the likes of Nathan Fillion certainly pushes the game into believable AND captivating territory. If you were hoping for something big, new, and a step up graphically... well you'll only get a little of each. Though running around, guns blazing, has never been so cool. Expand
  17. Oct 7, 2010
    8
    Halo 3 ODST has seen mixed reaction from Halo fans due to a short campaign and an "invite only" multiplayer gametype. The game, despite short, has a great atmosphere and music. This isn't an action first person shooter, this is more of a mystery / crime thriller game where you investigate what happened to your teammates through objects found on the city. Firefight is a great addition toHalo 3 ODST has seen mixed reaction from Halo fans due to a short campaign and an "invite only" multiplayer gametype. The game, despite short, has a great atmosphere and music. This isn't an action first person shooter, this is more of a mystery / crime thriller game where you investigate what happened to your teammates through objects found on the city. Firefight is a great addition to the Halo series and it's addictive, sadly there are only a few maps and there are like only 2 or 3 that are enjoyable and really fun. A must buy for REAL Halo fans, it's been a year anyways, it's now for $30 USD or less and contains Halo 3 multiplayer maps on a second disc. Expand
  18. Oct 16, 2010
    4
    Halo 3 ODST is by far the worst Halo game. The story is boring, there isnt really anything new about the game, exept the firefight mode,the game is short, the characters are stupid and the campaign totally sucks.This game should have been just a DLC for Halo 3, nothing more.
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    So heavily recycled from Halo 3 its like playing a modded version of it when you put in ODST. The only good things about ODST are the addition of firefight and the bonus disc that gives you all the halo 3 maps for free.
  20. Oct 27, 2010
    2
    The storyline was very short and ruined mombasa was a dissapointment. As well as that the storyline wasnt that good. If you want a better game at half the price just buy halo 3. dont buy this game
  21. Apr 30, 2013
    4
    This review in a word AWFUL
    Okay so Halo fans are likely to love this game but it really is nothing new. there is no new ground covered in this game and it simply feels like a cash in. The Game is a side story to the plot of Halo 3. This time instead of being the Master Chief you are a band of UNSC soldiers who crash and lose one another. The game is then about finding one another. Often
    This review in a word AWFUL
    Okay so Halo fans are likely to love this game but it really is nothing new. there is no new ground covered in this game and it simply feels like a cash in. The Game is a side story to the plot of Halo 3. This time instead of being the Master Chief you are a band of UNSC soldiers who crash and lose one another. The game is then about finding one another. Often you end a story arch by finding something of a team mates at the end of the level. Then you switch to that person and play their story. the thing is that I did not care. I never felt any form of bond with the characters or really care what they are going through. There was just nothing that made me feel this was worthy of a retail release. If this had been an expansion of Halo 3 it may just have been passable. Bungie just feel lazy. They have the same enemies in the same linear environments where you walk from A to B and then back to A. I breezed through the game on Legendary mainly due to indestructible team mates (AI) who are unbelievably good on turrets. I kept seeing my team mate run into a horde of Elites and be battered to hell and still be there 5 minutes later taking the beating. It was incredible and not in a good way. If you are a fan of the series then you will play this for that reason. If you are not that much of a fan and really still want to look at it then get it VERY VERY cheap else you will feel ripped off.
    Expand
  22. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waitingCopy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  23. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    Not as good as Halo 3 but it is and expansion after all. Campaign is still as great is ever but is now getting too short. Like the idea of new vulnerability, not being a spartan anymore, and the return of zooming magnum is nice. Firefight is kl but it is kind of laggy and there's no olnine, only friend co-op =(. The audio files r sweet tho and the campaign has a lot of hidden easter eggsNot as good as Halo 3 but it is and expansion after all. Campaign is still as great is ever but is now getting too short. Like the idea of new vulnerability, not being a spartan anymore, and the return of zooming magnum is nice. Firefight is kl but it is kind of laggy and there's no olnine, only friend co-op =(. The audio files r sweet tho and the campaign has a lot of hidden easter eggs so keep an eye out. Unfortunately gun-play doesn't feel as good as before, but too me thats actually just the smg and magnum and not any other gun really, for others its virtually unnoticeable. The new DLC and Reach beta inclusion was great but... Why am i paying for some DLC I've already bought. Negative points aside, a great game but notas good as others in the series, and I recommend you play the other Halo's first. Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, aHalo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, a few new gameplay changes only give it a slightly different feel, and there is no multiplayer, but it does come with all of Halo 3's maps plus the DLC maps and two new maps, this game is in my opinion amazing and one of the best in the series. Expand
  25. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    The graphic are Horrible ! The monster are **** ! The characters are (comment on dit un travelo ?), the story is whoring. The Game-play is moisi... ODST Is a **** game which is good and pourri.
  26. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great. I felt/feel that it's not worth $60 but at the same time I had such a good experience playing it that I have a hard time gauging what it's worth. Definitely $20, $30, maybe $40. It is great because of the moodiness, and because of the frailty of the playable characters. You are not a spartan, you are a soldier, and you don't have super shields and you are not unstoppable. Choices must be made with consideration to ammo, health and environment. Battles with hunters in tight corridors vs. out in the open are awesome and difficult choices to make. Finding the snipers in the buildings is essential to cross some sections, with soldiers coming on your position from multiple directions. Survival strategies become important.

    There are multiple mission types, each carried out by other members of the ODST team focusing more (albeit not by much more) on their characters special training, well voiced by half the cast of firefly (with multiple references to the show). I would liked to have seen a longer game just to get to flesh them out more. Or, better yet a new game continuing their story. With master chief gone I was really hoping they would be the future of the game franchise.


    You can get the game dirt cheap now, and if the cost or halo-burnout kept you at bay before it's worth the $10 or twenty bucks you would pay to get it.
    Expand
  27. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Halo 3: ODST was okay, not much to say about it, the Firefight mode though, was quite vague in setting selections, it wasn't as adventurous as Halo 3 or gave that much of a motivational feeling. I've only played it once, hence explaining my reason why I considered this boring. I was really happy with the Halo 3 multiplayer packaging, which is why I'm giving this an 8, it was getting quiteHalo 3: ODST was okay, not much to say about it, the Firefight mode though, was quite vague in setting selections, it wasn't as adventurous as Halo 3 or gave that much of a motivational feeling. I've only played it once, hence explaining my reason why I considered this boring. I was really happy with the Halo 3 multiplayer packaging, which is why I'm giving this an 8, it was getting quite boring with the repetition of grunts everywhere, but I still appreciated the satisfactory story line. Expand
  28. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    This is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It'sThis is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It's basically boring. Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    Halo 3 ODST is close to being the best Halo game yet, placing it second place to Halo; Reach. It has an intriguing Campaign and it brings more realism to the series. The campaign is shorter than the series's previous game. To put it in a different way I guess you can say that the campaign is quality over quantity. Halo 3 ODST also introduces a new game mode called "Firefight" which testsHalo 3 ODST is close to being the best Halo game yet, placing it second place to Halo; Reach. It has an intriguing Campaign and it brings more realism to the series. The campaign is shorter than the series's previous game. To put it in a different way I guess you can say that the campaign is quality over quantity. Halo 3 ODST also introduces a new game mode called "Firefight" which tests how long you can survive against an unlimited amount of Covenant. This new game mode is definitely very fun and is the perfect thing to play with your friends. Unfortunately, they do not introduce a new Online Multiplayer experience. Instead they give you a special Halo 3 Matchmaking disc which includes all the DLC maps. Once you complete the Campaign and play alot of "Firefight", you will find that this game might start to get boring. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.