Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4124 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself aAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  2. TylerI.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Halo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch overHalo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch over your previous games. When combined with multiplayer, this package has more content and quality than any game before it. This game is a must buy for all 360 gamers. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer is incredible, and the custom games (I have over 2000...) were the highlight of the whole thing. I can't imagine a game I've had more fun playing.
    Expand
  5. RodL.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and rest of the production values are all first class. This is the definition of an epic videogame! Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Though it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, excitingThough it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, exciting and suiting as ever (surely there is no other composer in the gaming industry who can match O'Donnell's brilliance), the game is highly polished, visually, audibly and physically, and it left me feeling very satisfied. For those who say that Halo 3 was over-hyped, in my opinion that is why it is such an important game. 2007 was a fantastic year for games, with titles such as Bioshock, Mass Effect, Call of Duty 4 and Grand Theft Auto 4 being released, but above all of these, Halo 3 was the first game to become a really competitive art form. The fact that it made more money in 48 hours than any film or music album is a really impressive feat, and in my opinion it was the first game to really prove that gaming was more than just the preserve of overweight, nerdy teenagers in their bedrooms. This is not the best game ever made by any means, but it is certainly up there, and will be for many years to come. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    THE BEST Halo game i have played so far. Campaign AWESOME. Multiplayer AMAZING. Forge INCREDIBLE. Theater BRILLIANT. Easy 10 in my mind and a lot of others. HALO FTW!
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Halo 3 is the only game in the series that I have owned, and i'm glad I got it at the midnight release. The shooter gameplay is perfect, the feel alone in this game is the best.
  9. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I loved this game and I miss the good old days back when everyone used to play it. I miss messing around in the campaign, spending hours in forge and custom games trying to come out with the next fun formula for messing around with friends. It was a good time that I have no regrets about and honestly wish I could go back to.
  10. Wally
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the same amount of time to finish halo 3 co-op on heroic as finishing GOW on casual. The forge is unbelievably cool, i spent an entire hour just fiddling round with the grav-lifts alone on narrows. Although I do wish Bungie kept some more of the maps from Halo2 on the game. Perhaps they'll be able to be downloaded from XboxLive. Brilliant game, excellent. Awesome how now basically everything is destructable including phantoms and scarabs. Expand
  11. dangcucu
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Best Balanced MP out there. Tons of extras like video playback, forge. If you lose in the game is because you lost. Skilled player are not & not lest to chance. Only sore points is the campaign graphics. Seems like Sarge's face looked better in Halo 2. Top 5 fav game; still in my playing rotation as of 08/2008. you can't say that of much games on xbox live or any other systems Best Balanced MP out there. Tons of extras like video playback, forge. If you lose in the game is because you lost. Skilled player are not & not lest to chance. Only sore points is the campaign graphics. Seems like Sarge's face looked better in Halo 2. Top 5 fav game; still in my playing rotation as of 08/2008. you can't say that of much games on xbox live or any other systems for that matter. Cometh frag-play Teh Haloz. Expand
  12. DavidO.
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    Fun, but way over rated and unoriginal. Too much hype, not enough new things. Lame single player.
  13. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    In my opinion one of the best franchises of all time, you don't see a lot of video games that start a generation like halo, this is what you get when you take time preparation, a masterpiece.
  14. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Best halo ever it has the most guns in the series the best levels and the easiest controls it's storyline could have been better but all around this is the best halo has to offer I'd play this over halo reach anyway it's a must buy
  15. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Multiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the leastMultiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the least favorite game for the "everybody wins" generation of gamers, but that is what makes games great, not everyone wins. Expand
  16. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    is the epic conclusion for a epic story definitely the best sci-fi game story so far (2007) a great campaign and simply the best multiplayer on xbox 360.
  17. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This is the first game that I really strived to get all of the achievements for and this review is more on the fun of gathering the specific achievements that this game has than the actual game itself. (It is a great game). Most specifically this game changed the way I look at and play games, by having just the right level of difficulty on all of the achievements including the dlc IThis is the first game that I really strived to get all of the achievements for and this review is more on the fun of gathering the specific achievements that this game has than the actual game itself. (It is a great game). Most specifically this game changed the way I look at and play games, by having just the right level of difficulty on all of the achievements including the dlc I started playing games on harder difficulties and started playing multiplayer. This game has the best multiplayer in the halo franchise, the maps are fun and never really get dull or repetitive. Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Call me a Fanboy but I love Halo (Sure it kinda rips of Aliens in a few too many places) but I love the supporting cast, the multiplayer (No not Halo 4's!) and the whole idea of a race of Aliens united by their religious ideals which they accepted or were forced to.
    This is by far a truly epic conclusion (Yes conclusion) to Master Chief's story and the whole Human Covenant war. It's story
    Call me a Fanboy but I love Halo (Sure it kinda rips of Aliens in a few too many places) but I love the supporting cast, the multiplayer (No not Halo 4's!) and the whole idea of a race of Aliens united by their religious ideals which they accepted or were forced to.
    This is by far a truly epic conclusion (Yes conclusion) to Master Chief's story and the whole Human Covenant war. It's story and set-pieces are epic without being too in your face. The multiplayer is well-balanced in my opinion with my favourite set of maps in the whole Halo series. Forge makes an interesting addition which you can sink hours or seconds into. What am I missing... oh yeah theatre mode also makes an interesting addition (Although I didn't spend a lot of time using it) and it really does FINISH THE FIGHT!
    If you've just bought a 360 this is a must own!
    Expand
  19. May 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good FPS game.Beshides having so many confrences and seeing advertisments on G4 all the time,the campagin is good and the multiplayer is a lot of fun.
  20. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games in my opinion. The gameplay is awsome and the story is absolutely amazing! Bungie really set the bar high and I cannot wait to see future Halo games. Large maps, large vehicle combat, the innovative weapons. These are one of the many things what makes Halo 3 one of the greatest games of ALL time. Long live Halo!
  21. May 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had an overall blast with this game for the 3 years that i had been playing it. I could play it all day and all night and not get bored. That was the thing about this game,; once you thought it was done... BAM some thing like a map pack shows up with new forge block and another couple hours trying to make a good multilayer tactic :) I really do miss those days. Though now all it is now is a story, about ONE **** KICK ASS GAME! HELL YA! "Send me out with a bang!" Sargent Johnson Expand
  22. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    Halo 3 doesn't change the formula by much but the things it adds, like forge and improved matchmaking, are enough to make it worth a purchase. Just don't expect to have your mind blown if you already played Halo 2, as the campaign and main game mechanics are almost identical.
  23. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  24. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Please, ignore the Negative reviews. A must have for the Xbox 360. I don't know why there are so many but that's not true. Beautiful graphics, so-so Single Player, and amazing/endless online gameplay. Seriously, if your reading this and do not have the game, then get off your lazy ass and BUY IT!
  25. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is a great game the campaign is not the best but it has it's upsides.
    I would recommend this game to any first person shooter fan just do not expect the campaign to be fantastic
  26. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Do I even have to write a review for this game? It kind of speaks for itself.
    Be sure to go to bungie.net to get your Halo 3 nameplate for Halo: Reach.
  27. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    I love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was veryI love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was very satisfying to get sprees and multi-kills, and watching your plasma grenades exploding while on somebody's face. All you need is maybe $30 and you'll be happy for a while. Expand
  28. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    I know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, II know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, I have yet to experience it through multiplayer, and in my day, I LOVED having friends around to play splitscreen muitplayer with as we shoved eachother around and cursed in anger (and generally laughed our asses off at the hilarious kills we got). That being said, from a single-player standpoint, I though this was a really cool game. Sure, the story was a little hard to follow at times, and I did get annoyed that it seemed that you were the only capable fighter on the battle field, and yet even on normal, I found myself time and time again being killed by the simple fact that there were sooooo many people trying to tear my face off at once. Most of the time, I could handle the covenant and the flood by shooting at them until their shields went down or they just weakened, and then I slammed them in the face with the butt of my rifle. While this might work against certain enemies, I found that really you only want to do that if the baddies happen to get separated, otherwise they will gangrape you. Overall, I was alright with the ending for the most part, up until they showed that somehow the portal closed just as the ship got halfway through it, allowing Arbiter through but leaving Master Chief and Cortana behind. Now THAT'S just silly. Still, despite my griping, this game glued me to the seat for a solid three days of gameplay, and I still intend on keeping it to check out the multiplayer. For some fairly solid gameplay, a decent and gripping story of survival, and the fact that it's half sci-fi drama and half action movie, I give this game a solid 8 out of 10 Expand
  29. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Whether you are hunting for skulls or trying to break a high score, Halo 3's campaign is extremely repayable. Halo 3's online play is also fantastic. Featuring a large sandbox, as well as great maps such as the pit, Halo 3's multiplayer never gets old. With it's arena style competitive matches, every game feels important and fun. Halo 3 also includes a 1-50 ranking system, which players can work at. This adds up to hours of play, and will trump any Call of Duty multiplayer. Custom games are a lot of fun with friends, especially infection mode. Halo 3 can be played all day, and you'll find yourself forgetting to go to bed way too often.

    Overall, this game defines the Halo experience. From it's fantastic soundtrack to it's impressive multiplayer, Halo 3 has something to please everyone.
    Expand
  30. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    Halo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer gamesHalo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer games i have ever played. So as you can see, this game is great and fun and is definitely worth a buy for anyone with a 360. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].