User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3576 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Collapse
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    After killing about 13,000 Spartans in mulitplayer, I can confidently say that this is one the most addicting games ever. So much better than COD. Bungie did a really geat job on the campaign missions as well.
  3. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is an amazing game. Yes it did have a short campaign but I had a hell of a time playing it. The game is now 3 years old but people continue to play it. It has over 20 multiplayer maps and plenty of game modes including a different weekend special every week. It is a great FPS and that is why i give it a 9 out of 10
  4. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  5. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games in my opinion. The gameplay is awsome and the story is absolutely amazing! Bungie really set the bar high and I cannot wait to see future Halo games. Large maps, large vehicle combat, the innovative weapons. These are one of the many things what makes Halo 3 one of the greatest games of ALL time. Long live Halo!
  6. May 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had an overall blast with this game for the 3 years that i had been playing it. I could play it all day and all night and not get bored. That was the thing about this game,; once you thought it was done... BAM some thing like a map pack shows up with new forge block and another couple hours trying to make a good multilayer tactic :) I really do miss those days. Though now all it is now is a story, about ONE **** KICK ASS GAME! HELL YA! "Send me out with a bang!" Sargent Johnson Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    Halo 3 doesn't change the formula by much but the things it adds, like forge and improved matchmaking, are enough to make it worth a purchase. Just don't expect to have your mind blown if you already played Halo 2, as the campaign and main game mechanics are almost identical.
  8. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    Halo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer games i have ever played. So as you can see, this game is great and fun and is definitely worth a buy for anyone with a 360. Expand
  9. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This is a great game. It has enjoyable graphics, a decent storyline, and a great multiplayer offering supported in turn by Bungie.net's range of features and statistics. I notice that everyone reviewing this game calls its overrated, and then choose to underrate it. But, this game is a solid 8, maybe even an 8.5. I spent so many hours playing this game with friends and I have mostly found memories of it. The single player was neat to play through, but I don't think anyone serious about the game will stay for that: the multiplayer is what makes this game and on that front, it offers a type of balanced team-based gaming that no other game can match. Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    The game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, who brief him on the murder and lead him to the crime scene. York generates considerable friction with his dismissive attitude toward the locals, bizarre demeanor, and tendency to interrupt conversations to deliver asides to "Zach", an alternate personality congruent with the player. Over the course of his investigation, York has opportunities to touch the lives of many of the town's colorful personalities and intervene in their personal crises, often brought on by the sudden and brutal murder in their midst, to earn rewards and further his understanding of the case. As he unearths more and more mysteries and the killer continues to roam, the town's dark past slowly comes to light.
    Deadly Premonition's plot and setting are strongly influenced by the American television show Twin Peaks, and numerous allusions and thematic links can be found within the game, and Master Cheif dies in space.
    Expand
  11. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Please, ignore the Negative reviews. A must have for the Xbox 360. I don't know why there are so many but that's not true. Beautiful graphics, so-so Single Player, and amazing/endless online gameplay. Seriously, if your reading this and do not have the game, then get off your lazy ass and BUY IT!
  12. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    The Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op online is a great feature downside is though 3 of thoose people have to be elites and cant be other spartans >< . the game has fixed some of the wepons balance issues from halo2 ... some not all the pistol still sucks and a few others. lots of scarabs to fight and fighting 2 at once with 4 buddys ... Awsome . map editor is sweet along with instant replays that can be saved when playing online . controls are solid as they ever where . now thats pretty much where it ends for any thing good i can say about this game . the ending in this game stunk the ending on legendary stinks even more . the online is garbage mainly do to its searching system . you can wait up to 10 min some times to find a match . whats made worse is lets say you jsut wana play Big team death match on sand trap . because that map is awsome its huge lots of vehicles so lots o fun . well good luck with that the game may put you in sand trap but it will probubly give you terratorize , capture the flag(I HATE CAPTURE THE FLAG) , Team rockets , or some other lame game mode that you and i know I dont wana play!!! i came online to have fun and want to play the maps and modes im gona have fun in . unfortunitly bunjie doesnt want you to have fun it only wants to destroy it . now it may be different if you like all the maps and all the game modes . but i dont and shouldnt have to jump through a bunch of damn hoops to have fun . yes there is a custom match set up where you can select you map and game mode but no one ever plays that they only play ranked . so good luck trying to get a game in that. this game isnt as evil as halo 2 which i give a 3/10 too but its still crap and halo ODST is even worse then this . my final conclusion is this series must die . the master chief has been to tarnished to be cool any more . its so sad. Expand
  13. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business. So, why shouldn't they believe that these games are great? The answer is simple...they aren't great. They are hardly, if at all, good. Fanboys will defend (to their death) the multiplayer, but I have long considered multiplayer somewhat of a bonus when it is included in a game, not its flagship feature. For a developer like Bungie to cut the corners on a story mode just to pump out the next multiplayer sequel seems a bit like robbery to me. This game would be saved if they had taken some time to truly develop a story, and make it seem as if they cared about making a compelling video game. They've had three games to tell a good, epic, awe inspiring story, and they haven't even tried. They've just pushed out some weak crap and stamped the next number in sequence after the title. Expand
  14. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is a great game the campaign is not the best but it has it's upsides.
    I would recommend this game to any first person shooter fan just do not expect the campaign to be fantastic
  15. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Halo 3 was the best game ever, and still is the best game ever (until the 14th in 2 days). No other game has such an awesome combination of campaign, forge, theatre and matchmaking... amazing!

    And after 3 years, >200k people online, nuff said.
  16. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Game that can be compared with halo 3?There is none
  17. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Do I even have to write a review for this game? It kind of speaks for itself.
    Be sure to go to bungie.net to get your Halo 3 nameplate for Halo: Reach.
  18. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    Well, this is what most people call "fanboy-town." I actually liked the graphics and the main guy is extremely reconizable. Sadly, I disliked it's multiplayer and story. I understand why the first and second were good. It was an extreme success, but now, it lost it's replayablity value via the sometimes unresponsive controls, or the matter. Overall, this game doesn't deseve over a 85. It's a okay game but...it sucks. Expand
  19. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Was there even any doubt? A brief but fantastic campaign with plenty of replyability, thanks to the skulls and Co-op with lovely set-pieces, and solid multiplayer. Brilliant maps (Apart from Guardian IMO), forge is great and allows for some wicked creativity, Duck Hunt anyone? Combat feels great and there are no real flaws I can talk about. Maybe the return of the health bar would have been nice, but thats it and I'm just picking at tiny holes now, that make no difference ot the gameplay or graphics whatsoever, ty bungie! Expand
  20. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    I love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was very satisfying to get sprees and multi-kills, and watching your plasma grenades exploding while on somebody's face. All you need is maybe $30 and you'll be happy for a while. Expand
  21. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    I know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, I have yet to experience it through multiplayer, and in my day, I LOVED having friends around to play splitscreen muitplayer with as we shoved eachother around and cursed in anger (and generally laughed our asses off at the hilarious kills we got). That being said, from a single-player standpoint, I though this was a really cool game. Sure, the story was a little hard to follow at times, and I did get annoyed that it seemed that you were the only capable fighter on the battle field, and yet even on normal, I found myself time and time again being killed by the simple fact that there were sooooo many people trying to tear my face off at once. Most of the time, I could handle the covenant and the flood by shooting at them until their shields went down or they just weakened, and then I slammed them in the face with the butt of my rifle. While this might work against certain enemies, I found that really you only want to do that if the baddies happen to get separated, otherwise they will gangrape you. Overall, I was alright with the ending for the most part, up until they showed that somehow the portal closed just as the ship got halfway through it, allowing Arbiter through but leaving Master Chief and Cortana behind. Now THAT'S just silly. Still, despite my griping, this game glued me to the seat for a solid three days of gameplay, and I still intend on keeping it to check out the multiplayer. For some fairly solid gameplay, a decent and gripping story of survival, and the fact that it's half sci-fi drama and half action movie, I give this game a solid 8 out of 10 Expand
  22. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Decent campaign, but it was short. I enjoyed continuing the Halo story. Being able to run through the campaign on co-op was nice. Multiplayer was solid but it was unbalanced and too much had changed for the worst. I only played this game when I was bored of the other ones.
  23. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    This game made me a tryhard.
  24. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Whether you are hunting for skulls or trying to break a high score, Halo 3's campaign is extremely repayable. Halo 3's online play is also fantastic. Featuring a large sandbox, as well as great maps such as the pit, Halo 3's multiplayer never gets old. With it's arena style competitive matches, every game feels important and fun. Halo 3 also includes a 1-50 ranking system, which players can work at. This adds up to hours of play, and will trump any Call of Duty multiplayer. Custom games are a lot of fun with friends, especially infection mode. Halo 3 can be played all day, and you'll find yourself forgetting to go to bed way too often.

    Overall, this game defines the Halo experience. From it's fantastic soundtrack to it's impressive multiplayer, Halo 3 has something to please everyone.
    Expand
  25. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    This game was a little different than the other Halos, in good ways, and bad. First off, on the good side, there is a bigger selection of weapons than the first Halo, and thank Lord Jesus for that! Another good side, the game, just like the others, is filled with the longest damned levels in video game history. Why good? Takes up your time. Mostly bad, 'cause we just want to find out how it ends. The ending? I guess Bungie was just lazy, or something, 'cause, why else would it end the same way? Exploding ship, escape in warthog, die with Cortana, or whatever. Another Keyes dies, stupid. Spartan- 117, or whatever number he is, dies? Really? I'd rather have a cliffhanger, like Dead Space, or Portal, or Half-Life, or Splinter Cell: Conviction. Expand
  26. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Halo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of Duty MW, GTA IV, BioShock, Dead Space, the original Crysis, even Battlefield:BC were ALL better game than this one. I'll finish it (eventually), but Lord I hope Reach & Halo 4 are better than this one. Expand
  27. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Extremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely into Call of Duty there is a small chance of you liking this game i am a big fan of both. Expand
  28. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    The campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. Lets just say the community isn't the brightest. Map restrictions have been put on most of the playlists, meaning that newer members to the Halo community would have to spend a little bit more money to fully experience Halo 3's gameplay. All and all, it's a great game. Just make sure you're in party chat, or have friends to play with. Expand
  29. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = It's an online shooter that still holds a major fan base today! It's roughly four and a half years old!! Very great and innovative shooter, a game that truly deserved it's sales numbers.
  30. Aug 17, 2010
    4
    So far I've played this entire series and been nothing but disappointed. The idiocy of the AI is simply painful to watch. The story.. well the story doesn't exist and many others agree with me. The entire game is a grind. All you do is move from area to area killing the same enemies with the same guns out of the Toys'r'us. The only thing halo did well was the coop. The multilayer could be fun if it weren't so filled with hackers and the weapons were balanced. It also kills the game for me when a punch does more damage than a gunshot. The only reason I've heard people say this game is good is for reasons like "It's epic" or "It's just awesome". They can oddly never give me a real solid reason as to why the game is any good. Also if you look around the net and do some digging you'll find that Microsoft was giving out "Press packages" to reviewers. Expand
  31. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    The single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement of the series I wanted. Expand
  32. Nov 27, 2010
    7
    A pretty decent game. It lacks the replay value of the first two, and the story is pretty weak compared to the rest of the series. Ofcourse, that can be forgivable since it must have been difficult trying to bring an adequate conclusion to the storyline. If you like first person shooters, this game is worth a couple playthroughs.
  33. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Halo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and the controls are amazing they rank right beside COD 4, but I still can't shake the disappointment this game brought, I was a huge fan of Halo 1 and 2 but, which were both game changers, but this is a game where even the good things can't save from being a disappointment and just being another average shooter. Expand
  34. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the previous two Halo games, I was looking forward too playing through this, and finishing the fight.
    I was amazed at the Graphics, it looked stunning in HD 1080. The game-play was really good too, and it was enjoyable.
    However, what let it down was two things:
    Length: Compared to the previous two, this was really short. If I wanted too, I could have completed this in one sitting. It felt like it was over before it begun.
    Plot: There wasn't much of a plot, and nothing made sense until the final couple of Chapters. Cortana's random viewings didn't make any sense either.
    The ending couple have been so much better than what it was, but still remained with the Chief dying.
    This game was saved by the multi-player aspect of it, which is brilliant.
    Expand
  35. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    A decent good game, story was interesting, but seems to be around another "hero-who-saves-the-day".
    Despite that, graphics were legendary, multiplayer was pretty decent. I disliked the auto aim though. But I loved the splitscreen option, and that it even could be used online. Was always great having a friend over and play either co-op or online. Alot of hours spent on that.
  36. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7, and I think Bungie can live with that. Expand
  37. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    I kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own at matchmaking! I love using exclamation points! I give tribute to this game for broadening my horizons by 600%. Expand
  38. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Four years after its release and I enjoyed this game probably as much as when it was first released to the public. Great FPS that gave you a large array of weapons to choose from. So many different ways to lead an assault on the enemy, so many different ways to die. The action was non-stop, the cut scenes were few and didn't slow down the story (considering how cut scenes are being used so poorly in today's games). The story itself had a perfect pace for this type of game, not once did I zone out while people were elaborating on the plot. And unlike the MW2 games, it's has twice as long the game play! Expand
  39. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Halo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch over your previous games. When combined with multiplayer, this package has more content and quality than any game before it. This game is a must buy for all 360 gamers. Expand
  40. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Though it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, exciting and suiting as ever (surely there is no other composer in the gaming industry who can match O'Donnell's brilliance), the game is highly polished, visually, audibly and physically, and it left me feeling very satisfied. For those who say that Halo 3 was over-hyped, in my opinion that is why it is such an important game. 2007 was a fantastic year for games, with titles such as Bioshock, Mass Effect, Call of Duty 4 and Grand Theft Auto 4 being released, but above all of these, Halo 3 was the first game to become a really competitive art form. The fact that it made more money in 48 hours than any film or music album is a really impressive feat, and in my opinion it was the first game to really prove that gaming was more than just the preserve of overweight, nerdy teenagers in their bedrooms. This is not the best game ever made by any means, but it is certainly up there, and will be for many years to come. Expand
  41. May 21, 2011
    6
    This is a good game not very good 6.010.0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  42. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    Halo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the single player side of the game fails and is only popular due to clever marketing to uncritical immature drone players who easily fall for the sensation of violence, guns, and 'badassness'. The single player campaign asides from a few moments of fun gameplay is totally bogged down with a standard sci-fi cliche dribble story having little originality. Halo 3 is not a bad game, its only ok, and does not deserve the over hyped praised it has received over the years.â Expand
  43. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    Good game, unbalanced multiplayer ruins the online experience. I would buy a few games over this, such as Call of Duty 4, Call of Duty: World at War and Halo: Combat Evolved.
  44. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    THE BEST Halo game i have played so far. Campaign AWESOME. Multiplayer AMAZING. Forge INCREDIBLE. Theater BRILLIANT. Easy 10 in my mind and a lot of others. HALO FTW!
  45. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Halo 3 is the only game in the series that I have owned, and i'm glad I got it at the midnight release. The shooter gameplay is perfect, the feel alone in this game is the best.
  46. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    good game by bungie. deserves higher than the 7.7 average so i gave it a 10. the new halo games are absolutely terrible in comparison...if they get scores like 6 then this deserves a 100/10. i mean halo 4 literally killed halo...at least halo 3 was #1 on xbox live for two 1/2 years.
  47. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I loved this game and I miss the good old days back when everyone used to play it. I miss messing around in the campaign, spending hours in forge and custom games trying to come out with the next fun formula for messing around with friends. It was a good time that I have no regrets about and honestly wish I could go back to.
  48. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer
    is incredible, and the custom games (I have over 2000...) were the highlight of the whole thing. I can't imagine a game I've had more fun playing. Expand
  49. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    In my opinion one of the best franchises of all time, you don't see a lot of video games that start a generation like halo, this is what you get when you take time preparation, a masterpiece.
  50. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Best halo ever it has the most guns in the series the best levels and the easiest controls it's storyline could have been better but all around this is the best halo has to offer I'd play this over halo reach anyway it's a must buy
  51. May 26, 2012
    6
    It's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effort Bungie put into this game. The game design is bad because of this.The storyline seems to be a bit duller from the other games. It seems like it's always revolved around saving the world, which is okay but gets pretty bland after awhile. Other then that the online multiplayer experience is very well done. Which is why i give it a 6. It Lacks in campaign, storyline, and character development but it makes up for it in multiplayer. Expand
  52. Aug 28, 2012
    0
    I was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybody driving around in overpowered vehicles thinking they were something special. Anyway, to cut it short, This game doesn't live up to the standards set by games such as CoD4, CoD MW2, Ghost Recon, Just stick to them, you will regret buying this!!! Expand
  53. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    is the epic conclusion for a epic story definitely the best sci-fi game story so far (2007) a great campaign and simply the best multiplayer on xbox 360.
  54. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Joguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogo de geração passada graças a simplicidade que é uma troca de tiros, além de não possuir cover. Cairia bem como um jogo TPS, não FPS. E sobre a localidade, em muitos pontos da história eu fiquei sem saber pra onde ir. Na parte em que estamos dentro daquele "monstro" mesmo, eu rondava o mesmo lugar diversas vezes sem intenção até achar o ponto certo. Mas como uma crítica não pode ficar restrita aos lados ruins de um jogo, vamos aos lados bons. Primeiramente, o gráfico. Para sua época, o gráfico do Halo 3 realmente é bonito e não é tão sujo. Outro lado bom é o multiplayer online. Muito divertido. Não joguei muito esse modo, mas pelo que eu joguei já pude ter uma noção da qualidade, que é grande. Enfim, Halo 3 é um jogo que por completo não me agradou. Mas sei que muitas pessoas o considera um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, e eu respeito isso. Expand
  55. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Halo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, which does balance things out for the multiplayer, though causes the single player to be much more slower than it needs to be. This brings up the general problem that the game is way too short. It can be beaten in a few hours and offers no real replay value due to the linearity and simplicity of it all. What were Bungie thinking? The X-BOX 360 was a next generation system, yet they make a game worse than what was run on the previous X-BOX? Multiplayer online seems to be ruining the single player experience...developers aren't bothered making good single player anymore due to the high demand for multiplayer, and it's a real shame considering that the first-person-shooter genre started off focusing heavily on single player. Unless you want to see what happens story-wise, there is no reason to play Halo 3. Expand
  56. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    This was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possibly get. Levels are poorly made and you are often forced to re-thread your path up to three times, a very cheap way to extend campaign time. Halo 3 is often called a sandbox game wich marks who ever says that as an imbecile. Graphics range from bad to 'what the hell am I even looking at' and are seen through the extremely narrow headache inducing field of view visor of robot master guy sergeant, the protagonist who jorneys through the plothole ridden mess of a storyline spouting maybe 3 sentences on the way to the ending wich by the way can not have taken the hacks at bungie more than 30 minutes to produce. You see the commercials (where the money was put) showed well made cgi whereas the ingame cutscenes look like someones first attempt at using the quake1 engine. If you have four microscopes you can play the game 4 way splitscreen in eyestrain-o vision, a function wich since it isn't in many games nowadays is often lorded as something divine when in actuality it is not something any sane person would inflict on their corneas. The multiplayer is cut from the same cloth as the campaign where the gameplay has a kidde pool level of depth and a community that would make a room full of angry baboons seem like a place of enlightenment. It runs on the worst game service on earth xbl with laggy p2p networking. If Halo 3 is your most favourite game in the world you might also enjoy banging a hammer against your head. Expand
  57. Feb 29, 2012
    7
    Halo 3 starts of slow, but comes with constantly increasing suspense, hitting a terrific climax towards the end. The game has its share of vehicle problems, but the first person combat holds up very well, and the story and the characters are more relatable than ever. Perhaps the most impressive is how the narrative manages to avoid many cliches and comes packed with one surprise after the other. The game is also more cinematic and diverse than ever, and features enthralling music to back it up. Ending the trilogy in the most classy manner possible, with gameplay nods to its predecessors, Bungie has set an example for Sci-Fi games for years to come. That being said, the third installment in the Halo franchise didn't add much to anything with exception to the narrative, and some additional vehicles and weapon mechanics, leaving the remainders of the game more or less the same. It also lacked the graphical and enemy AI impressions of a next-gen release, and didn't truly enter into any territory where the franchise hasn't already been before. Expand
  58. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    No surprise here. Halo 3 is everything it was hyped to be. Epic story, campaign mode and an online community stronger than any game before it and probably for a long time after it. There certainly are a flaws just like any other game, but they are few and far between. If you don't have this yet, you're either being stubborn or just trying to be different, because there is really no reason not to love it. Expand
  59. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    What a game,a true masterpiece.I just hate the fact that they made an ending like this.They didn't close the door and make it dramatic like Mass Effect 3 did.Now a different company has it and there is going to be more Halo.That could be good,and it might also destroy the whole Halo name and all of the hard work put into this sense 2001.It's like how Michael Jordan was the best player ever in basketball by a mile but what happened when he came out of retirement and played for the Wizards?It was the worst mistake of his career as a player.So you see my connection,but we will hope that this change will be awesome,I sure am hoping for it.I personally don't like Halo anniversary,343 industries first go at it so I'm kinda weary up to this point. Expand
  60. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 is a fun game, loaded with content and full of replay value. The campaign is most fun to play co-op, and makes completing Legendary much easier given someone stays back and provides a constant respawn relief. The story rounds of the trilogy nicely and there's a couple of twists, but overall Halo 3 isn't about the story, it's about the action and this is where it remains one of the best ever released on Xbox 360. The multi-player element is fantastic, with balanced weapons and good maps and modes. There is little more amusing than both yourself and an enemy beating each other down after a lengthy battle. Forge mode is good, although I'm not a particularly creative person, there are some super maps to get from those who are. Expand
  61. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    As much as I loved Halo 2, I still love Halo 3. this may be the only first person shooter out there that I realy like. I can't stand Call of Duty, Battlefield's all right but Bungie keeps doing what they're doing and it's awesome. I love killing grunts, brutes and jackals.
  62. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  63. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tbh, the game doesn't even deserve that much critical bashing from envious PS3 players who know that you can only play Halo games on the Xbox 360. But the fact is the story line is not clearly understandable, especially the ending that left a lot of detailed questions regarding the remaining Covenant's plans. The game play however, is diverse and consistent in weaponry, the ambiance in later levels when you begin to face Flood enemies was impressive, some of the USNC soldiers especially were quite convincing when they reacted to witnessing the Flood threat. However, what the game lacks is the sense of support by the human soldiers you get at occasional times, every time I lead a squad they either end up getting killed by their own grenades or they seem to not have the common sense in avoiding an enemy by taking cover which results in me being the only one as John-117 handling all the overloaded amount of enemies in one place, hence the AI of the game acting like a mechanical clown. There are too many enemies in the in the second-last and final campaign level, for me, they were as useless as statues while adventurously driving my Warthog with another alien just enjoying the well-fitted soundtrack (that was a good idea!). On the overall, Halo 3 was a satisfactory conclusion to the long trilogy. Expand
  64. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    The music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in the books/etc is actually well conceived. However what you actually get - is a action game. The story segments are rare, and very secondary to the game. And unfortunately, even with solid co-op, the game is also short. And that's what leaves me cold - these incredible aesthetics, suggesting a deep world and story - and instead we get a solid 5 hour traditional fps. Expand
  65. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    This game is among the most over-rated games, I've EVER played. Its purely nothing. You WALK around shooting plain aliens, with noticabely terrible cross-hairs. Ya sure vehicles, are cool and the graphics are O.K. but it's just not fun.
  66. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Halo right now isn't the big monster that was eleven years ago, of course , generations pass fast and more games keeps changing the video game landscape. Halo 3 is a badass of a game and is a replay value game pumping up with the story that is great, the multiplayer is satisfying and the forge is cool. People ( some) will say this is bad and talk trash to it, but also, don't you think that the CoD series is aging a little bit every time?.I respect the opinion of every people that say CoD is the best , but in the future there will be some thing better than that. Halo is the face of the 360 as for GoW . Expand
  67. Jun 10, 2011
    1
    This game sucks really bad. First of all, graphics suck; it looks like a freaking PS2 game. The AI is terrible, but that may be because they are stupid aliens, still... Oh, and multiplayer is my biggest issue with this game. Not gonna get into it because many users have written exactly what I think.
  68. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    people giving this game a 0 are just being plain stupid. I play games regardless what console and so forth and have to say playing halo 3 again after 4 years is still a great gaming experience. if like me you love fps you'll find that this has tight controls, great enemies to fight, and that great halo universe. i do confess the 2nd to last flood level is a bit boring but what games dont have slumps in their durations? i enjoy both single player and multiplayer, and now especially you can grab one so cheap, its a brilliant buy Expand
  69. May 22, 2011
    3
    this is one of the most overrated games i have ever encountered. I bought the game after hearing many positive reviews. i was very disappointed to find a very short single player campaign, VERY repetitive gameplay, and a boring multiplayer mode. i get the feeling that the main reason everyone loves the halo franchise so much is because it is an xbox exclusive. if you want some good xbox exclusives try mass effect, gears of war or alan wake Expand
  70. Jun 12, 2011
    4
    I have to say that this game is the most overrated game of all time. I enjoyed Halo 2 but Halo 3 is just one big disappointment. This game was very hyped, maybe that's why I got disappointed. The story is unfortunately very dull and I was expecting something new but it's doesn't feel new at all. Halo 3 feels repetitive...boring....and I've seen everything before!
  71. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Even though it was a couple of years ago, I just had to comment on this amazing franchise/trilogy. It made me appreciate video games now (I used to think games were just a waste of time, some of them are still). Visually updated and full of epic-grand situations (hahaha can't find the right words), I mean this game just blew my mind completely. Yes, it WAS overrated but looking back at it now, pretty good memories (me and my brothers/friends playing the campaign/battling each other in different ruins-forget what that's called). The story is more easy to follow and it still was kind of depressing but nevertheless, "a very good ending to a well-beloved video game series." Halo 4? Okay now its pushing it, I mean Halo Reach was very good but seriously what is Halo 4 going to be about? hmmm.... Expand
  72. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was great and the campaign was a little rusty as u get farther into it but like always halo still came out with a great multiplayer like the new forge mode being able to create ur own battle field to just the way u will get an advantage just great but not the best just cause the game changed so much from halo 2 to 3 like how in 2 around the end u have grunts, elites, and hunters yet in 3 u have only elites Expand
  73. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The SP sucks sooo bad, i got bored during th FIRST mission. The multiplayer is well, and the local S/S is very fun. The graphics are crap and the voices of the enemies are annoying. I hope reach is better than this piece of hammered ****
  74. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Halo is truly amazing. **** u CoD players cuz Halo has a good storyline, multiplayer, soundtrack, and its sorta emotional. All CoD has is a good multiplayer and nazi zombies. CoD also barely has a storyline. All CoD players and Halo haters don't know what a good FPS is.
  75. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Probably, One of the Best Games out of all the other halo games!
    The campaign is great especially on the legendary mode and the maps are way better than HALO REACH
  76. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    1st off I have to say I invested maybe 1,000 hours into this game online and I had the time of my life (on xbox). The Campaign was epic And good storytelling with a somber and rewarding ending. Due to the community being so big there are countless custom game types to play which adds to the fun.
    Im giving this a 10 because Halo 3 has a special place in my heart for all the reasons ive
    said. Even though it has small faults it deserves it in my opinion. Expand
  77. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    In my opinion, this a game with a great campaign, and fun multiplayer. Halo 3 was one of the first xbox 360 games i have ever got, and it is definitely a great buy. This game is a classic, and if you don't have it, you should seriously consider getting it.
  78. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    It is one of the best game I ever played. Epic campaign,perfect multiplayer. Someone give a 0 to this game. I can't understand why. The only bad thing of it is the graphic.If you didn't play this game, you can't say you're a gamer. Maybe it isn't the best Halo ever,maybe it isn't the best game ever, but surely it is a great game. Thank you Bungie.
  79. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Where to begin. First off, I will say this is not a â
  80. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    fantastic game play and multiplayer definitely make this a very good game and a must play the story was not as good as the first two and while it finished the story well it was very confusing for people who hadnt played the first one and even for people who did and really followed the story.
  81. Jul 14, 2011
    5
    The Graphics look last gen. The gameplay feels like it's from 2001. The dialogue is cliche, and the voice acting it awful. I still don't understand the story. The level design is shallow. The difficulty is very unbalanced. This game is very bad.
  82. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    What IS the fascination with this lame, tacky, hollow, pointless shooter?

    Dull enemies, dull weapons, just dull and lacking in any flair or impact all-round.

    Saving graces for this game include varied missions, vehicles, flexibility of the game engine and fast-paced gameplay.

    Overall though you'd do far, far better with Killzone, FEAR, Perfect Dark Zero, Half-Life 2 or many other games.
  83. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    The campaign doesn't change much although many of the games small tweaks have a tremendous impact on gameplay and multiplayer. No duel wield, you can't switch weapons as fast which takes away the power to switch the sword at the last minute resulting in "cheap kills" The game feels more balanced on the multiplayer side compared to Halo 2 with less exploits all around. THANK GOD for no more super jumps. Expand
  84. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    I wouldn't say this game is horrible, if you are board just pop in Halo get a party and **** around. This game was good in the time but personally I wouldn't play it again. Solid all around though.
  85. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    Love it, hate it, don't give a **** about it, I don't care. It definitely is one of the best halo games second only to the second part of the halo series. Great story line, great game play, great graphics. The only thing that concerns me is the boss battle in the last mission is short and boring. A flying light bulb that shoots lasers at you, and every time you go near it, it pushes you back with a force? Come on, is that it? Is that all? Hopefully, the series will redeem itself when it makes Halo 4, and the boss is the Gravemind. Other than that, if the last boss was the Gravemind, I give this game a complete 10 out of 10. Expand
  86. Aug 13, 2011
    5
    Its just Halo and Halo 2 with better graphics. The online mode has dedicated servers and smooth play but the main game? The story is rubbish. The graphics are average and nothing new. The online could have had way more editing options but it was just a bland blast em up with crap maps. I think this game is too over hyped to be honest.
  87. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Very good FPS. The gameplay is great, much like previous Halo games. It is not perfect, but I still had a wonderful time playing it with my friends. Even if it has been a while since it has released, I still from time to time come back to play it
  88. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    Halo 3 is a good game with good multiplayer. The worst thing is the short campaign and don't think they wrapped the trilogy up as well as I thought they would. Anyway its a very good game and is a solid continuation of the series.
  89. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    Overhyped, and overated - I just couldn't get into this at all. The most off putting thing for me was the bouncy, flimsy feel to both the player and the weapons â
  90. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 9
    Graphics: 10
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 9.3/10 = A+
  91. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Magnificant game!! WOwZa! love it play it all day! now i have to get a bath... im the boss.....yep, life is good. im playing halo 3! awesome game...let me tell ya folks!
  92. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    This game to shooters is like what Forza 2 was to racing games. A huge step up for the next-gen console. I don't like the gameplay, but I do respect the huge amount of work that's gone into it- esprcially the multiplayer. It really is a complete package. Halo 3 was the first ever example of a complete package, 7th generation shooter. The sheer scale of this game was just incredible. As my first ever console experience of a shooter, I have to say that Halo 3 blew me away in all aspects. The graphics, environments, weapons, a map editor in Forge, the multiplayer matchmaking featuring TrueSkill, file share, the number of game modes. It's all just so revolutionary. So why can't I give it 10/10? Even though I've spent countless hours with friends playing split screen, changing the number of game setting which not even Black Ops can match, and also you get split screen online with guest account. But the one thing that makes this not worthy is simply my dislike of the combat system. There's no recoil and another contributing factor is that it's a console shooter so controls aren't as fluent as Call of Duty. Clearly this game set the benchmark for complete package games- more so than Call of Duty 4. However, the simple combat is what's stopping me from giving this incredible game 10/10. The campaign is fantastic and can be played in co-op, the split-screen and game modes and settings available for you to change... still no other shooter has come close to offering so much in a shooter other than Halo Reach. The creativity here and the impact it had in 2007 are just unbelievable though. Expand
  93. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Here we are, the end of the Halo Trilogy...or the first one anyway. (I don't think they should make a 4th, just keep making spin-offs) But all that aside, this is a completely excellent game. Of course like the whole Halo series, the story and dialog is fantastic. You'll want to play the campaign over and over and over again, especially if you play with friends, then you virtually can't go wrong, it's a good time, what can I say. And the multiplayer is fantastic, that is if you get what you want. In custom games I wish you could pick a game mode, pick a map, and find a server / create one. But you gotta put up with this playlist stuff, but still a monster of a game. Expand
  94. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    yes im giving this a ten, ( i hate giving tens and i wish there was a 9.5) i am only doing so because this is the first game i played online and was so great in that respect that i will never in my life forget this game, i have never(an probably wont again) replayed the campaign of a game this much, yes i was abit of a noob at that time but i still sometimes go for abit of halo 3 multi and single, why? well i just find it fun, i find every kill satisfying and fun, unlike some games where killing can almost seem like a chore. i love this game so much that this is very biased and not really a review but this game has let me meet poeple and has changed my life is some ways. so if you actually read this A: thanks B:if you enjoyed this tell me because it really is abit silly to have this under as a review. :) Expand
  95. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Halo 3 rocks in every way, the graphics are great, the playability, and the voicework are all stellar too. The plot is very interesting as you follow Master Chief in his attempt to stop the Covenant once and for all. The multiplayer rocks the house as it is very fun to play in and the forge morge allows you to edit your own maps, providing tons of fun. Overall Halo 3 is a great game that will make it's mark in video game history and in the minds of the people that play it. Expand
  96. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This game is the reason I purchased an XBOX 360. It is phenomenal. The multiplayer is almost perfect in its design and amazing to play. The ranked playlists accurately match you with teammates of your skill and provide hours of fun competition.
  97. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    To my readers, this game is nothing more than a mediocre game that was blasted into the limelight. What an overrated game. The mechanics are okay and the graphics are a plus. Multiplayer is overrated as well. May it be biased or objective, there are just too many trolls online. I can't say too much about this game. I didn't like it much myself, but that's just me. I do not recommend anyone to buy it, rather just borrow from a friend or rent it out and see the crappiness for yourself. Expand
  98. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    game of the decade in my opinion. of course the superior matchmaking is overly dramatized by fanboys (including me) but the in game story was amazing as well. i loved it from the moment you land on Seria. till the dramatic ending. and the skulls. a genius idea to incorporate player involvement, humor, and entertainment. i truly hope that 343 models there game engines off of this. instead of halo reach (good game as well. just not as good) Expand
  99. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    9.5,probably one of the best fps of all time.An epic campaign expect for mission 9 and the multiplayer i ever played.Some features such as the theater mode and forge were introduced by this game.
  100. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is hands down the best game I have played in my entire life, nothing can beat it. The campaign was absolutely bad ass and awesome, it gives me this awesome feeling. The multiplayer, I can't explain how awesome it is, BTB on Sandtrap, Infection on Custom Sandbox maps. I can never get over how good this game was, and still is. I will never forget this game (Maybe that is because I play it everyday.) Expand
  101. Jan 19, 2011
    0
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].