Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 412 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary" is a spectacularly remastered version of the original "Halo" campaign, created in celebration of the 10th anniversary of one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history. With a bounty of new features including cooperative play over Xbox LIVE, a bundle of some of the most beloved multiplayer maps in "Halo" history reimagined for Xbox LIVE, new challenges and a new story to uncover. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    100
    They could have easily just threw on a fresh coat of paint on it and called it an HD remake like a lot of other titles, but 343 has more respect for Bungie, Halo and the fans than that. They have added a ton of new features well worth the $40 price tag.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    An ambitious remake. One of the most memorable campaigns in the history of first person shooters can now be relived with wonderful HD graphics. And six of the best multiplayer maps from the original rounds off what is a fantastic package with great value.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    88
    Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary is more than just a simple high defintion remake. The game is running on two engines, the original CE one and a new one. It's a great way to show the progress that has been made in ten years. In spite of some technical errors and the absence of many original multiplayer maps, 343 shows that it has the power to create next year's Halo 4.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    A great way to celebrate the original Halo. The remastered HD graphic is good enough and the simple but effective gameplay of the first Halo game can still offer a lot of fun. The addition of the Skulls system is really appreciated just as the Reach multiplayer. If you've never played Halo, you should try this Anniversary edition.
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    80
    A faithful recreation in every sense of the term. [Christmas 2011, p.96]
  6. 80
    As long as you're prepared for the fact that Halo neither was nor is a perfect game, this piece of restored gaming history is well worth the cost.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    50
    It's still an important and hugely influential game and it should probably be played by anyone interested in first-person shooters. But unless you're part of the generation of gamers that are now in their 20s and you're looking to recapture your Halo heydays, this is definitely most gamers can skip even at its budget $40 retail price.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 150
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm starting to doubt the value of the score in video game reviews (83 is fine, not my point). There is such an inflation issue with the perspective of readers that devalues anything less than 90 to pure trash.

    Anyways, for Halo CE fans this game is a 100. It's the game we love, with the faults we love, now with online co-op. Nothing gets better than that.

    I get lost on Pillar of Autumn and the Maw every time.
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Awesome. Great story the best out of all the Halo's. Just wish it came out on PC. Great visuals 3d ready! With a simple click of button you can switch back to original graphics which I think is good because you can compare for yourself. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is a great game for anyone who enjoys shooters.It's a perfect remake.It has a very good gameplay,like any Halo,and the graphics are much superior than the original.The soundtrack it's awesome too,everything is.The story is fantastic,just like the original.

    I recommend it if you like shooters,and if you like Halo you must buy this game.
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    343 have imo shown here that Halo is safe in their hands, The remake has been done well with some nifty little features using the kinect voice features. The switch between classic graphics and remastered graphics adds a nice touch to the game and throws you pack 10yrs everytime you hit that back button. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary, despite being essentially 10 years old. really doesn't feel like it, so credit to 343i where it's due. The new graphics look great, and despite the odd mismatched lip sync and relatively tired animations, the campaign still looks really good. I'm not too sure of the art style, but It looks good all the same. Other than that, it's essentially the same Halo CE as it was 10 years ago, even with the amazingly powerful Magnum and somewhat confusing level design, though it is much better than previously, thanks to new lighting cues - especially in 'The Library'.
    The multiplayer maps are again old, but don't feel it and have been faithfully recreated in Halo Reach. I am slightly disappointed in the fact that it's not the original CE multiplayer, but I suppose it's for the best, given the fact that you get the map pack code for Reach and as a result, you don't get the whole Halo community split into two games. The updated game modes are great and fix the common complaints with the Halo Reach setup (I.E. high reticule bloom, armour lock etc.) and Multiplayer, whilst not matching the other Halo titles, is still a blast to play. Overall, the game isn't the perfect 'Halo 1 if it was made in 2011' package like it was somewhat described to be, but it is a fantastic single player experience with a tried-and-tested multiplayer.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    I have to say this remake of arguably the best FPS ever made has it's good and bad points. The campaign is still dynamite because frankly it wasn't touched aside from the new cut scenes which were changed to fit the continuity with Halo: Reach, which is kinda cool. The new graphics, sound, and musical score by themselves would garner a 10. Also the addition of skulls and terminals, which are ALOT better than the terminals from Halo 3, really jack up the replayability of the campaign. I mean there's nothing funner than turning on the BOOM, Pinata, Grunt Funeral, Grunt Birthday Party, and Bandana skulls and going on a rampage. Simple put, everything we dreamed for when we spent hours on end playing CE 10 years ago has come true. And at $40, spot on guys.

    That being said, with the good comes the bad. First off the framerate issues if you don't install the game to the hard drive. Seriously WTF? Oh yeah Skyrim runs fine, but a remade 10 year old game has issues? Also why no love for the original multiplayer? I know it was unbalanced, but damn was it ever fun. Lastly the online campaign LAAAAAAGGGGGG!!!!! Man does it ever suck. Just like the framerate issue, why does this game have to run so poorly with online coop. Seriously, walk over to Bungie studios and if you ask nicely they might give you their netcode. Maybe.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    2
    It has begun we thought it was just hollywood but now there doing to games remakes yes it launched the xbox I know I was there I bought my first xbox so happy to know that Bungie would do a half ass reboot later..ooo we can see the sunglare, water splashes, little more details wow really bungie you want us to pay 60 bucks for that how about you actually redid the whole thing with the graphics like reach or maybe put some extra stuff say be able to use odst troopers or even design your own marines like in reach..considering this is after reach campaign...Maybe this title has run its course to know that there is a Halo 4 next year really come on, how many more till you realise your flogging a dead horse..Are you gonna go the way of guitar hero or ,et it finish like GOW, M.E, COD MW. Let it go and start something new.. Expand

See all 150 User Reviews