Halo: Reach Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2039 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of WarThis game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    You know I find it hilarious, but at the same time saddening that there are people on this site that are so childish and pathetic. I come here, and see people giving 0/10. Why? No matter how bad a game is, how on Earth could it get 0/10?
    I see people here saying ridiculous things such as, â
  3. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Let me ask you this: what other first person shooter gives you a near infinite number of ways to enjoy the game? Not many that arent for PC. Halo has always been full of content and Reach does not differ. Better graphics and pysics than previous halos what more can you ask for? The people who dixlike the game are COD fanboys or have never REALLY played the game. Those of you who don't wantLet me ask you this: what other first person shooter gives you a near infinite number of ways to enjoy the game? Not many that arent for PC. Halo has always been full of content and Reach does not differ. Better graphics and pysics than previous halos what more can you ask for? The people who dixlike the game are COD fanboys or have never REALLY played the game. Those of you who don't want to be characterised as nerds and stay away from the game are just hypocrits because halo is actually much more realistic than COD because it is logical; shields and bioengineering explain why sometimes more than a few bullets will kill you, can COD explain this no its just instant nube tube kills and entire clips waisted into near invincible normal human beings. Reach is easily multiplayer game of the year so far. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Bottom line is that this game is well worth the investment. You will get far more than $60 worth of entertainment from this successor to Halo 3, far more than Halo ODST.
  5. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Reach is the best Halo game ever made. Every mode has been improved upon and is awesome. Firefight is a ton of fun, the campaign is great, forge world is amazing. Graphics, while better than Halo 3, still are not up to par with games like Mass Effect or Gears. But thats the only negative and its not a big one at that
  6. AA7
    Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made. I'm sorry COD, but I have found a game that has finally replaced you as the absolute best shooter out there. Halo 3 was good, but this game is, without exaggeration, the best game of the current generation. All hail the mighty Halo Reach.
  7. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    It is disappointing to see such reviews as 0 and 10. The purpose of this site is to get a feel for the value of the game and whether it is worth purchasing. As such I'm not going to bash or praise this game but rather describe it. First of all it is a halo game. I own all 3 systems and over 200 games. I am a little disappointed in some of the game but lets face it I bought it because ofIt is disappointing to see such reviews as 0 and 10. The purpose of this site is to get a feel for the value of the game and whether it is worth purchasing. As such I'm not going to bash or praise this game but rather describe it. First of all it is a halo game. I own all 3 systems and over 200 games. I am a little disappointed in some of the game but lets face it I bought it because of the name Halo and it does follow in its footsteps true to the franchise. The downside of this is that this title did not draw me in. Basically I have to admit to myself I just have played Halo too much and am bored with it. There is no new excitement left. I can't blame the new Reach for this. This is why the series is coming to conclusion. It's just time. That said, this disc is pretty good value. There is so much content on the disc that if you have never played a Halo game this is the version to buy. It is the most updated and best design of any of games released however the story isn't as impressive as some of the other Halo releases. Overall this game is good and if i have any complaint it is more so to do with the fact that the xbox 360 can not process the game as well as i would have liked. The xbox really seems to be pushed to its limits in this game and it shows. When i bought the game i was hoping for a halo version that had Demon's souls feel of battle (fatique with equipment customization), FEAR's AI and Monster Hunter Tri's gathering of usable materials. I guess that's what i was secretly hoping for and it wasn't there. But I can't bash the game because my fantasy wasn't made. This game was designed for its demographic and it certainly isn't broken. Very worthy of an 8 or 9 despite wishing the game was something a bit different. In sum, best Halo and a fitting conclusion to make this series obsolete as this title needs to end so a fresh new series can be made. Expand
  8. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    If your looking for depth you can find it in Reach. You won't find a game like this for the ps3 or the wii. The campaign couldn't be more perfect (unless it just came out and said at the end that there is going to be Halo 4) the multi-player is spotless and the worlds are beautiful. This game would have been your daddy but a dog beat it over the fence.
  9. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Fun,exiting gameplay, great story, do I need to say more?

    "Your review must be at least 150 characters long." That means i need..
    spectacular new multiplayer(!) I'ts just fun to bring death to covenant!!!!
    9,4
  10. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing just like every other Halo in the series (except Halo 3: ODST which was good but wasn't great). The muliplayer is so well done, Firefight is greatly improved, Forge is also vastly improved and the campaign is just awesome as well. Bungie provided us with many years (almost 10 years) of great Halo games and the last game (Halo Reach) does not disappoint.
  11. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Probably? it is the perfect Halo and that's a great thing unless your a fanboy making reviews of games you have never played. Halo Reach takes everything you loved about other Halo games and puts it all into one game and then adds some. This game is hands down the best Halo to date scratch that the best FPS to date, that alone makes these anti Xbox/Halo people burn inside like Hynda he'sProbably? it is the perfect Halo and that's a great thing unless your a fanboy making reviews of games you have never played. Halo Reach takes everything you loved about other Halo games and puts it all into one game and then adds some. This game is hands down the best Halo to date scratch that the best FPS to date, that alone makes these anti Xbox/Halo people burn inside like Hynda he's just mad because Metroid other M flopped look he rated that game a 10 lol. Anyway Halo Reach is a masterpiece of a game but you all knew that already hence why it's set to outsell every PS3 exclusive by the first week lol. Expand
  12. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game is bloody amazing, it's such a huge improvement from halo 3 in every way. Better game mechanics, less balance issues, improved forge and firefight, campaign and firefight matchmaking support. You need to buy this if you haven't already.
  13. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Best halo ever. awesome single player awesome multiplayer firefight forge and theater awesome. The score is epic and bungie's final halo game delivers
  14. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Do NOT listen to these call of duty( fan boys) there are just down grading the game... there just jealous because there game is not better... anyway Perfect story, sound, graphics, game-play, all in all 10
    But i still can not believe all this negatvitie from the last halo game in the series.
  15. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Okay, fail fail fail, I got it this time:

    This game is possibly the best in the Halo series, and as a huge fan of all the games (except Halo Wars, and of course that wasn't by Bungie) that is something I don't say lightly. People like duster15670 who don't recognize a good game when they see one are going to bash this game, mostly due to the mountain of crappy titles (modern warfare 2,
    Okay, fail fail fail, I got it this time:


    This game is possibly the best in the Halo series, and as a huge fan of all the games (except Halo Wars, and of course that wasn't by Bungie) that is something I don't say lightly. People like duster15670 who don't recognize a good game when they see one are going to bash this game, mostly due to the mountain of crappy titles (modern warfare 2, anybody?) out there now that are so popular.
    Expand
  16. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Halo is the best multiplayer game ever made and thats a fact .. Halo : Reach give Halo series new dimension . But im very sad because this is the last Halo game , one of best game franchise ever made ! See you on XBL !
  17. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    This is the second time I've reviewed this game the first time I gave it a 6 mainly because I didn't think it lived up to my admitedly very high expectations but after a while with it and lots of time spent online with my friends I can see that this like halo 3 before it has true potential to grow into a world class shooter it's not quiet there yet it needs more maps and a few match makingThis is the second time I've reviewed this game the first time I gave it a 6 mainly because I didn't think it lived up to my admitedly very high expectations but after a while with it and lots of time spent online with my friends I can see that this like halo 3 before it has true potential to grow into a world class shooter it's not quiet there yet it needs more maps and a few match making problems ironed out but it's fair to say that I've had more fun here than I have in an fps for a long time. It's not perfect yet but it could be given time so for now it's an 8 :) Expand
  18. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    The first Halo was simply revolutionary, it implemented a bunch of the features we see on most games nowadays, from the Shield (Recovering after cover) to the whole multiplayer experience. The second one added certain details we lacked on the first, and focused on the multiplayer. From the third on, it's a repeating cycle; the same game with different maps. Having played them all, it'sThe first Halo was simply revolutionary, it implemented a bunch of the features we see on most games nowadays, from the Shield (Recovering after cover) to the whole multiplayer experience. The second one added certain details we lacked on the first, and focused on the multiplayer. From the third on, it's a repeating cycle; the same game with different maps. Having played them all, it's getting old, we have already experienced all of it's features in the past, and we keep getting the same. I'd hate to agree with the 'trolls' bashing the game because of it's hype, but it seems they do have a point. Nevertheless, it's a fun and dedicated game, but come on Bungie, you have the potential to give us some more! Expand
  19. Sep 17, 2010
    3
    So very disappointed in this. Played all the Halo games in the series and I am afraid to say it just feels very dated gameplay to me. MP is fine but not really any different, single player is just pretty much the same stuff again, one of the early missions is almost identical to one from the first Halo. I really dont see how people are giving this 10/10 it really isnt that good. (and I ownSo very disappointed in this. Played all the Halo games in the series and I am afraid to say it just feels very dated gameplay to me. MP is fine but not really any different, single player is just pretty much the same stuff again, one of the early missions is almost identical to one from the first Halo. I really dont see how people are giving this 10/10 it really isnt that good. (and I own an xbox/PS3 and PC so not a fan boy of any) Not even close to being game of the year in a million years. It does have some nice touches, updated animation, fairly decent enemy AI and some new guns. The armour stuff? Just like the pick ups in Halo 3 except re usable. Biggest let down of the year for me. Expand
  20. Sep 15, 2010
    6
    OK....Well, I see some people are just haters! 0/10 come on I didnâ
  21. Sep 15, 2010
    3
    I just don't get it. I've tried to understand the hype, but I just cannot. I bought this for my son for his birthday and he was so looking forward to playing it with me. I gave Halo 3 not one, not two, but 3 different chances to impress me, and it just didn't. I bought the game used 3 separate times thinking that I must be missing something, only to trade it in a couple weeks laterI just don't get it. I've tried to understand the hype, but I just cannot. I bought this for my son for his birthday and he was so looking forward to playing it with me. I gave Halo 3 not one, not two, but 3 different chances to impress me, and it just didn't. I bought the game used 3 separate times thinking that I must be missing something, only to trade it in a couple weeks later each time. My own stupid mistake. I fell for the same thing again with Halo Reach. The story/background is not interesting to me at all and it just seems thrown together. The weaponry system and controls are terrible in my opinion. The multi-player is extremely frustrating to me. Granted, I am not the best, but it is just not consistent. I may get 3 apparent headshots on an enemy only to be killed by one random shot, or worse yet a melee attack. The next time, I shoot an enemy once and he is killed. I also don't understand the leveling up system...maybe I'm just used to COD and MW, but to me all of the Halo games look, play, and feel the same way. If that is what you like, then more power to you. I will leave it for my son to play, because I won't be playing it anymore. Expand
  22. Sep 15, 2010
    4
    I give this game a 4 because i don't think it feels like a whole game. It almost feels empty like something is missing. The game play mechanics are sloppy the graphics are so so but i don't really care to see how many blades of grass are moving while i run I'm just not that type of gamer, i do however expect very simple things to work like they should. To much is missing from the singleI give this game a 4 because i don't think it feels like a whole game. It almost feels empty like something is missing. The game play mechanics are sloppy the graphics are so so but i don't really care to see how many blades of grass are moving while i run I'm just not that type of gamer, i do however expect very simple things to work like they should. To much is missing from the single player campaign. Not having played a Halo installation since the very first one i was curious to see what they would do to the last instance made by Bungie. On a side note i hope MS now that they have this lets this game die in peace. I think the first Halo felt like a complete game this just felt like i was running a bunch of little mini missions. I like to play a campaign before i jump into multi-player to get a feel for the kind of game i want to play in multi-player. There were times in the campaign where i just stood there thinking OK what do i do next for someone who hasn't played since the 90s it wasn't very intuitive. The game controls felt sloppy and didn't feel like a complete thought. The AI wasn't very intelligent unless your idea of intelligent was just run the opposite direction of me and the direction i need to go. Why do FPS always limit ammo of rocket launchers to two or three, seriously im firing plasma guns and shooting aliens and you mean to tell me i cant carry more then three rockets. Really, really now you want to be realistic i can jump from building to building and flip cars over with one button push but i cant hold more than three rockets. Also when i die i drop everything but the thing the surviving member needs to complete the mission so now in order to complete the mission we both have to die to go back and get the one thing you need to complete the mission. In conclusion if you love Halo im sure you'll love this version if you aren't a Halo fan don't waste your time, and if you haven't played since the first one don't get to excited and maybe just stay away from the campaign and go straight to the multi-player. Something tells me the multi-player will feel like Unreal. This will be a perfect way to waste time until Black Ops with my bro-in law who happens to like Halo. While he isnt around ill just continue to rack up kill streaks on COD2-MWF Expand
  23. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Im rating this game a solid ten since it desErves it the game is very well polished halo at its best right from the scenery to mp and to all of the people who slam the game and say it is generic old nothing new come on. What is their really new these days all it is with north Americans now is ur freaking graphics and how easy it is to beat the game and shoot somebody on mp learn how to beIm rating this game a solid ten since it desErves it the game is very well polished halo at its best right from the scenery to mp and to all of the people who slam the game and say it is generic old nothing new come on. What is their really new these days all it is with north Americans now is ur freaking graphics and how easy it is to beat the game and shoot somebody on mp learn how to be what is a true gamer and enjoy not only that for such i highly anticipated game its not FREAKING OVER PRICED ..... COD Expand
  24. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    The controls are old standard. The click stick to zoom doesnt feel realistic. Graphics could be updated too. I wasnt impressed at first, but the game does get pretty fun after a few checkpoints. Also, having a squad of Marines will never make up for getting rid of the one-man army Master Chief. It's basically Halo 3 with some new toys. Yeah, it's fun
  25. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    DO NOT...Pay attention to any negative reviews and heed these words. Halo Reach is Marvelous. It doesnt TRY to be bad ass... it just is. Halo was born that way. It doesnt need 'action cutscenes'' like the call of duty games. Hell it doesnt even need multiplayer. Personally I think a game should NEVER EVER EVER EVER be rated based on multiplayer because that is what destroys gamesDO NOT...Pay attention to any negative reviews and heed these words. Halo Reach is Marvelous. It doesnt TRY to be bad ass... it just is. Halo was born that way. It doesnt need 'action cutscenes'' like the call of duty games. Hell it doesnt even need multiplayer. Personally I think a game should NEVER EVER EVER EVER be rated based on multiplayer because that is what destroys games nowadays... its about the details that go into the story, the environments and the overall feel of the game. Halo Reach fufills the legacy of Halo, and Halo will always hold the torch for FPS. Expand
  26. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. GotY right here folks.
  27. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Perfect game, with a heartfelt, thoughtful campaign, extremely (nay, ludicrously) varied multi player suite. If you are still on the fence about buying this game, and are at this very moment pouring over metacritic fan reviews whilst trying to make a decision... just do it. I played this game for a year straight, and have no regrets whatsoever.
  28. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    In terms of mood, story, and delivery, this is the best of the series. As far as multiplayer goes, it is incredibly refined and balanced. It certainly isn't as addicting as Halo 3, but it's unquestionably a better game, all-around. People are quick to put it down, but most of the discontent stems from the fact that it's a bit more difficult to be good at, and even with the addition ofIn terms of mood, story, and delivery, this is the best of the series. As far as multiplayer goes, it is incredibly refined and balanced. It certainly isn't as addicting as Halo 3, but it's unquestionably a better game, all-around. People are quick to put it down, but most of the discontent stems from the fact that it's a bit more difficult to be good at, and even with the addition of load-outs, there isn't as much to exploit. If you're looking for the best game in the series, look no further. Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    It is interesting that I have played so much of the online and until the other day was under the impression that I had beaten the campaign. Well I realized that I never had and someone had done it on my account, hence the confusion, so I decided with all the Halo hype it was time for me to play through it. I started from the beginning again and went for a full play through and I gotta say,It is interesting that I have played so much of the online and until the other day was under the impression that I had beaten the campaign. Well I realized that I never had and someone had done it on my account, hence the confusion, so I decided with all the Halo hype it was time for me to play through it. I started from the beginning again and went for a full play through and I gotta say, I didn't expect it to be that good (although after the surprise that ODST was I should have been prepared). Visually I was used to it after having played so much online, but it still was pretty and I always have loved the look of the Halo universe. It was interesting how this contrasted to the other off-main-series Halo game in that you weren't trying to find people but instead losing them throughout. The story was solid, not exactly memorable but a lot of fun along the way and you didn't really feel like you were doing stupid **** for the sake of playing a game. Recently I heard a distinction between Halo and most FPS's and I though it rang true in this game: Halo is not about who pulls the trigger faster but about individual engagements. I must have forgotten at some point what it was like to go into a battle feel like a vulnerable boss who can destroy everything if the strategy is right. So it was that style of combat, the great atmosphere, and the fantastic score that made this an awesome game and memorable as a whole. Oh, and the final scene was a nice touch too. Expand
  30. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Halo: Reach is a prequel to the Halo series and a farewell from Bungie. Bungie sends off the Halo series with improved graphics, more customability than eve and the firefight mode, witch was added from Halo 3: ODST. The multiplayer is improved once again with a huge stockpile of gamemodes and maps to play. Halo: Reach is by far, the best Halo game. You should buy it, even if you arent aHalo: Reach is a prequel to the Halo series and a farewell from Bungie. Bungie sends off the Halo series with improved graphics, more customability than eve and the firefight mode, witch was added from Halo 3: ODST. The multiplayer is improved once again with a huge stockpile of gamemodes and maps to play. Halo: Reach is by far, the best Halo game. You should buy it, even if you arent a fan of the series. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    If you loved all the other Halo games, there's little I can say to dissuade you from purchasing Bungie's last creation in the Halo series.
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    71
    Halo: Reach is not a breakthrough, yet it's a clear showcase of Bungie's creative growth. The game is hardly a "must buy" – its single-player campaign is way too short and uneven in quality, while multiplayer has very little room for expansion besides map packs and useless character decorations. But with that said, Reach is worthy of your attention for a couple of evenings.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    94
    Almost achieves the impossible and fulfills the hype. Among the best shooters ever created. [Issue#231, p.82]