Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 42
  2. Negative: 31 out of 42
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    45
    It was a good opportunity to reinvigorate and polish the series and adapt to the final adventures of this characters. But the changes have been executed poorly, and that results in gameplay defects.
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    45
    A disappointing tie in. Lame gameplay, artificial unintelligence and a lot of issues with the controls will spoil the fun event for the most hardcore fans.
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    41
    A magical menagerie of neat ideas, ruined by horrid execution. [Feb 2011, p.81]
  4. Dec 1, 2010
    41
    It feels rushed and poorly thought through and a distinct lack of identity is coursing through the game from start to finish.
  5. Jan 8, 2011
    40
    This is one of Harry's adventures that may be worth dodging altogether, at least in gaming form. If the Kinect support is of interest, then certainly a rental is best advised, ultimately though the story is worth a single play through and sets itself up accordingly for Part 2 of the game.
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    40
    Unfortunately there are too many mundane missions and not enough variety throughout the game to make this an exciting shooter and the distinct lack of collectibles (something that the previous games prided themselves on) is also disappointing and makes exploring the bland levels pointless.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    40
    Harry Potter and the Deadly Hallows - Part 1 does not succeed in enchanting us with great quality. The terrible gameplay completely ruins this game and will keep you from spending a lot of hours on the latest adventure of the young wizard. Harry Potter fans should stay away from this one.
  8. Nov 26, 2010
    40
    But when you play it, you get the feeling that everyone involved with the franchise will be secretly relieved when the whole juggernaut finally grinds to a permanent halt.
  9. Nov 26, 2010
    40
    If you want to stare at the back of Harry's head while he shouts "Stupefy!" forty times a minute, this is the game for you. If not, then you'd better look elsewhere.
  10. Nov 21, 2010
    40
    Avada Kedavra… EA casts the spell and takes the series in the third person shooter genre. The result is the worst Harry Potter game of all times, a game you'd better close in the tallest tower of Hogwarts.
  11. Nov 19, 2010
    40
    One of the worst Tie-Ins in videogame history. There's simply no reason in the world to buy this game. Poor graphics and frustrating gameplay mean only failure.
  12. Nov 22, 2010
    39
    There is even less excuse due to the fact that there have been worthy purchases within the Harry Potter game series, yet even if you are a fan of the once boy wizard and his fellow wand wavers, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 is definitely and unequivocally one to miss out on if you wish to be left with any sanity at all!
  13. Yet another step-down for the ailing series. EA's given up on this one, it seems. [Jan 2011, p.89]
  14. 30
    Trying something new with a series is usually to be applauded, but when a game like Deathly Hallows – Part 1 has been put together so badly that it's tough to find any kind of merit, you have to question what they were thinking. From the woeful story to the tacked on Kinect missions and challenges, this all feels like a money making exercise at work. Outsmart them and keep hold of your cash... and your sanity!
  15. Dec 23, 2010
    30
    It's hard to come away from this without a sense of persecution. It isn't just that it's a poor game, it's that it thinks it's good enough to survive on the coat-tails of its license - and that you won't have the wherewithal to discriminate. [Jan 2011, p.99]
  16. Nov 30, 2010
    30
    It's not shocking that a movie game is terrible, but it is somewhat surprising since Harry Potter's last two games have been fairly good. The uninspired levels, horrendous shooting mechanics, lackluster controls, and a tacked-on Kinect mode make this one Harry Potter piece of merchandise fans should stay far, far away from.
  17. Nov 22, 2010
    30
    This might sell because it's Harry Potter, but the game itself is horrible. The developers tried to make a game more focused on action than before, which probably is the only good thing about this game. It's ugly, full of annoying bugs, has simple and stupid gameplay and the Kinect-support is a joke. Avoid this one.
  18. Nov 19, 2010
    30
    Even Harry, Ron and Hermione's limp-wristed spell-casting animation looks half-hearted. It's an insult to the fiction, an insult to the increasingly good films, and an insult to bad videogames.
  19. Nov 19, 2010
    30
    Featuring lots of gameplay issues and boring missions, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows fails to bring the least bit of fun.
  20. Nov 16, 2010
    30
    Quotation forthcoming.
  21. Nov 16, 2010
    30
    It doesn't matter if you're a hardcore or casual fan: there's no magic to be seen here.
  22. Nov 30, 2010
    25
    I could go on about the terrible voice acting, the bad graphics, the abysmal enemy AI and the random bugs that forced restarts and locked up my Xbox but that seems like piling on so I'll just end this as I started it with an emphatic "don't play this game".
  23. Nov 16, 2010
    25
    If you play the game on 360, there's a Kinect mode that consists of a series of gameplay challenges (hold out against the Death Eaters chief among them), but the implementation is awful.
  24. Nov 16, 2010
    25
    There's potential for a good Harry Potter game underneath this pile of broken gameplay.
  25. Dec 25, 2010
    20
    There's so much wrong with this game that we don't have space to list it all. [Issue#66, p.86]
  26. Nov 26, 2010
    20
    The best book in the Harry Potter series has become the worst game. This is just a horrible buggy mess with no entertainment at all. Just move along to the next game.
  27. Nov 23, 2010
    20
    If you're an moldu who's super-fan, be sure that I understand you, but don't be fooled. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 is clearly underwhelming, and doesn't compare in any way to any other TPS in terms of quality. Imprecise, slow, poorly designed, we can't even recommend this Harry Potter game to the most tolerant fans.
  28. Nov 18, 2010
    20
    EA have saved the worst for (second to) last in this laughably poor third person shooter that fails as both a tie-in and a game.
  29. Nov 17, 2010
    20
    Even the most ardent of fans are likely to stab you in the throat if they find this in a stocking come Christmas, so do yourself a favour and avoid.
  30. Nov 16, 2010
    20
    This is the worst, laziest, most manipulative type of licensed game making. It's a top-to-bottom disaster that nobody, especially not anyone who gives a crap about Harry Potter, should play.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Action packed, and well paced! I am not a hard core gamer, so I did not mind that the fact that I could figure out the enemies. Some of my friends said that it was too easy and repetitive, but for me that is a good thing. We are pretty split on this one, but from my perspective I thought it was a blast. I am a HUGE Potter fan, and I enjoyed being immersed into this story. The stealth cloak parts of the game were my favorite. Very very sneaky! I tried using the cover function, but found that I wasn't very good at picking cover. Overall, If you are on the fence about this one, I would suggest giving it a try. Definitely entertaining, though it may not be the most polished game out there. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Fast paced and fun game to play. As a Harry Potter fan, it was cool to be a part of the final story. As Potter gets older, these games have definitely followed suit. Would have loved to explore the world more but overall this game has been a fun play. Sure hope they are making Part 2! Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    I have all of these games and, of course, I had to have this one. Graphics are awesome - I love that the game parallels the more serious and dark tones of the movie. There are plenty of spells to experiment with, although some are more consistently handy than others. Altogether a great game - it is a definite progression in this series of games! Full Review »