Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    75
    A very good Kinect experience, mainly suited for kids. Grown-up Harry Potter fans won't find great satisfaction in it.
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    75
    After a series of disappointing Harry Potter games, Harry Potter for Kinect is certainly an illumination. Not only can you play seven years on Zweinstein in one game, which is exciting, but also works the Kinect gameplay nearly perfectly.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    75
    Patchy is the word you're looking for to describe Harry Potter for Kinect. While graphics and controls are rock-solid, story and mini game quality can't quite fulfill expectations.
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    70
    The quickly changing gameplay, short length, and active tiring controls seem to be built for someone with a lot of energy and a short attention span. It's probably great for a younger child who is really into the series, but any older fan who is looking for a deep and involved Harry Potter gameplay experience should probably look elsewhere.
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    65
    At the end of the day, Harry Potter Kinect provides a fun but short main campaign that is great in small bursts.
  6. 61
    Overall I found that the game has some Kinect related issues that can take away from the fun, but many fans will forgive the shortcomings these present, whereas casual fans will not. With this in mind, the game is really for those who love everything about Harry Potter and the final score reflects that.
  7. 50
    Looks like Potter has lost its magic. [Jan 2013, p.97]
  8. 50
    Kinect-powered arcade is intended to entertain you only in the case that you are six years old and/or you have a naked Hermione poster in your room. [Dec 2012]
  9. 50
    It's a shame Harry Potter for Kinect doesn't quite pay proper homage to the series: the game has plenty of moments that would've been enjoyable if they weren't fettered by uneven difficulty and broken combat. As a game not matched up with a movie release, it should've been held back until it felt more magical.
  10. Oct 23, 2012
    48
    There's so little variation in how any given activity is completed that even younger muggles will quickly bore of it. Not even Bellatrix Lestrange would be crazy enough to spend $50 on it.
  11. Dec 19, 2012
    43
    The Harry Potter series has had its fair share of the spot light with the films and the books but for the games then that is something else. If you want to get this game in the shops then it would be best to wait for it to go on sale in the bargain bin. Once at the end of this game, you feel like a muggle more than a wizard and going to Hogwarts was a waste of time.
  12. Nov 15, 2012
    40
    Harry Potter Kinect is not a good game. Mini-games do not shine for their originality and the accuracy of Kinect is not quite as good as in other similar games. There is no depth and there is no fun, just like an overpriced bad spell.
  13. Nov 6, 2012
    40
    Harry Potter for Kinect really failed to pull me into the Harry Potter world.
  14. Nov 2, 2012
    40
    It is short, it is unspectacular and it doesn't show the quality that other Kinect games established over time. There is nothing magical here.
  15. Oct 31, 2012
    40
    Harry Potter for Kinect offers a nice immersion for our younger ones, when it's only their hands they need to use. But when the rest of the body is required as well, not so much. Some challenges are plain tedious, dull or unimaginative, and it clearly overshadows the better crafted missions.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    Harry Potter for Kinect is really cool, but that's good.

    The game is not what I expected the gameplay is repetitive, but cool. The graphic
    Harry Potter for Kinect is really cool, but that's good.

    The game is not what I expected the gameplay is repetitive, but cool. The graphic is bad, control is good The game is fun, the world of Harry Potter is immense and creative and it seems that they can not see it when they were creating the game, it is very short.

    The game is cool for when boredom falls or when rain hits, it'll amuse for a few hours If you're a Potterhead is immensely cool, I achie fun because I'm a big fan of Harry Potter, but if not do not recommend buying
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    this is a good game but this game is very short and easy ,this is a very easy game but because i is fan of harry potter and the game is interesting
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    The game is good, very good best of Kinect this year, but I was sad for the game to be too small, so they expected more got the coolestThe game is good, very good best of Kinect this year, but I was sad for the game to be too small, so they expected more got the coolest moments of the film and looks that not all caught ... but I enjoyed the day spent playing is very nice the graphics were a little bad, but the sound is cool gameplay is very cool game and all is cool Full Review »