Homefront Xbox 360

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85
Buy On
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    93
    Combining so many elements into such a cohesive story, THQ has reminded me why I love gaming. The only fault I could find other than the character models was the relatively short single player campaign; on the hard level I finished the game in less than 7 hours.
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    91
    As I've said throughout this review, the game is filled to the brim with genuine heart wrenching moments that are compelling and real. The writing of Milius shines through in every facet of the game. Clearly the guys at Kaos are looking to build a franchise, and if Homefront is any indication of how that franchise begins I'm looking forward to seeing what's next.
  3. Mar 12, 2011
    90
    It is a breath of fresh air in a genre that tends to recycle the same old thing.
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    88
    Homefront is the shooter-surprise of the last couple of years. A new setting about real threats and the great story telling are catching my attention. And on top of it, you have a really good Multiplayer, a mix of Call of Duty and Battlefield with some extra fine gameplay notes.
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    87
    This is a gritty, brilliantly made shooter that will shake you up more than once, backed by a powerful story and the kind of action that you'd come to expect from a top-tier entry in the genre.
  6. 86
    At times, too creatively conservative - but an engrossing, cleverly realised shooter with CoD-beating multiplayer.
  7. Mar 14, 2011
    86
    Maybe the tasks are familiar, but the gritty concept of the game and its great multiplayer experience makes Kaos Studio's battlefield a great one. Fans of team-based online shooters will want to spend a lot of time on Homefront.
  8. Mar 23, 2011
    85
    I love this game, and despite a few forgivable flaws Homefront is easily one of the most immersive and emotional campaigns that come to mind in my 30 years of gaming. Sure, the campaign is short. Deal with it. With that ending there is either going to be a sequel or some killer DLC. Meanwhile, you can reap the rewards and satisfaction of some of the best multiplayer combat we've seen so far in 2011.
  9. Mar 22, 2011
    85
    The Multiplayer is fine how it is, the way I see it. As long as it maintains a healthy community of active players, it'll be around for a while.
  10. Mar 16, 2011
    85
    Homefront is shocking, realistic and atmospheric. Unfortunately, your fight for freedom ends quickly. Good thing there is a sweet multiplayer mode.
  11. Mar 11, 2011
    85
    Kaos Studios should be proud as they have done a highly commendable job of reinventing ideas we've seen in Frontlines , piecing them into a more cohesive palatable story and releasing a new game which feels accomplished and easy to play.
  12. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  13. Mar 15, 2011
    84
    If you've been looking forward to Homefront since last year's E3 like we have, you'll be glad to know that Kaos has delivered a truly fantastic shooter. And if you're the kind of gamer that values quality over quantity, then you'll definitely want to check it out.
  14. Mar 21, 2011
    83
    I have to admit that I had high hopes for Homefront. So the question remains, did it live up to the hype? Overall I would have to say yes, but there is a caveat here; don't expect it to be the best game ever. The story is solid, and there are some great turning points in the plot, but it just comes to an end too quickly.
  15. Mar 16, 2011
    83
    Taken by itself, Homefront's campaign is just plain disappointing. A promising concept ultimately falls flat in the fast-paced, "I don't have time for reading" first-person shooter genre. Once you've accomplished all of the objectives in single-player, the game just "ends". Someone obviously wanted to leave room for a sequel. That person is saved by Homefront's well-designed multiplayer.
  16. Mar 21, 2011
    82
    Homefront manages to deliver a decent FPS experience with a strong multiplayer experience and an interesting story arc.
  17. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Mar 21, 2011
    82
    Whether it's worth adding to your FPS library, however, depends largely on your own multiplayer desires. [May 2011, p.83]
  18. Mar 15, 2011
    81
    The singleplayer-campaign may have nice story ideas and its iconic moments, but with only three to four hours of playtime and its disappointing and confusing ending, Homefront is certainly not worth your money, if that's what you are mainly interested in. If you are into multiplayer, it's a completely different story though! Nice Maps and Modes, exciting battles and a motivating XP-system make Homefront a worthy diversion until the release of BF3.
  19. Games Master UK
    Apr 1, 2011
    80
    A gripping, disturbing tale that doesn't have the moves - or tech - to match its ambitions. [May 2011, p.78]
  20. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Homefront's campaign misfires all revolve around poor pacing and a lack of identity. It's not as polished or as fast-paced as Call of Duty: Black Ops or Bulletstorm, but it's also not as tactical or true-to-life as Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising. Its multiplayer, where those issues aren't a problem, is worth a look, even if you have to pony up for $10 when renting it without an online pass code.
  21. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    A decent title game a campaign that doesn't meet expectations, but with a great and unique multiplayer mode.
  22. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    I also find it intriguing that my journalistic brethren so easily throw a new IP like Homefront under the bus after lavishing perfect scores upon the laughably flawed Black Ops and Halo: Reach. With a few tweaks and a fresher paint of coat, Homefront would have been outstanding, far outshining either of those titles. As is, it's still worth a playthrough.
  23. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    I'll say it right now: if you're considering buying Homefront today, it needs to be for the multiplayer. The campaign should only serve as a small distraction that you might want to goof around in if you're bored and have already gotten your money's worth out of the multiplayer.
  24. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    With open battlefields, near-future toys, and fast pacing, Homefront's multiplayer is the real reason to purchase this game. It may not explode with content, but what it does, it does well.
  25. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    Homefront does a whole lot right, delivering powerful imagery and actions on the single-player side, as well as interesting multiplayer alterations, but neither end feels fully realized. But I won't hesitate to recommend Homefront on the overall strength of its stilted campaign, which consistently delivers strong set pieces and alluring atmospheric moments amidst the chaotic combat.
  26. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    The campaign's history is great, but it's far too short. Multiplayer makes up for that, offering interesting ideas that will keep us busy for a long time.
  27. 80
    All told, the online component has all the right ingredients, and it manages to mix them into a mighty tasty meal. Multiplayer rescues the abrupt campaign from a rent-it-and-forget-it fate, although we can't help but be left a bit disappointed.
  28. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    It is not without some minor freshman bumps, but the overall package is one of the more compelling so far in 2011.
  29. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    Homefront doesn't provide a long single player campaign, and the good narrative doesn't feel fully developed. On the other hand, multiplayer is interesting and funny.
  30. Mar 21, 2011
    78
    I had fun with the multiplayer game. The maps are well-designed, the action is good, the drones are great, and the game's dedicated servers make for a lag-free experience. It's a completely different scenario from the frustrating, buggy, and short single player campaign. So your buy decision will come down to how much you time you plan on putting into the multiplayer game. If multiplayer isn't your thing, you'll probably want to pass on the game.
  31. Mar 21, 2011
    78
    Homefront's story-driven element is a disappointment, but you'll still probably return for a repeat visit. The multiplayer on the other hand is a far more inviting prospect and will likely burn up a fair few hours, days, weeks and even months if you catch the bug.
  32. Mar 14, 2011
    77
    In the end, Homefront is a solid experience even if it doesn't quite deliver what it promised. As a FPS, it's competent. As a story device, it does tells a tale, just not quite the way it was billed out. The issues Homefront has are not terrible individually, though some may think twice once they are all lined up side by side.
  33. 75
    Homefront succeeds in many areas. It's an improvement in storytelling and multiplayer in every way over their first game, Frontline: Fuel of War, and Homefront shows that in many areas they've clearly listened to the fans of their (underappreciated) first game. It's not the killer single player experience that having someone such as John Milius onboard should have given us, but it's still an enjoyable, if slightly dated, and short, experience.
  34. Mar 15, 2011
    75
    While Homefront's overhyped single player campaign is a bit of a disappointment, it's under-hyped multiplayer portion is where the real fun is at.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 399 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 207
  2. Negative: 62 out of 207
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Homefront is a fine game if you give it a chance. The graphics and sound,( voice acting in particular) are poor compared to bombs likeHomefront is a fine game if you give it a chance. The graphics and sound,( voice acting in particular) are poor compared to bombs like BFBC2 or KZ3, and the capaign is shockingly short. I find the excellent multiplayer makes up for this though - once the controls sink in and you begin to adapt to the shoddy graphics there is a lot of fun to be had here. And no, its nothing like COD. Comparing games like BFBC2 and Homefront to COD is akin to comparing Gran Tourismo to Ridge Racer...HF is a squad based game, if you run around by yourself like a headless chicken hunting for kills you will be dead continuosly. Over HF does a great job in recreating large scale battles in a (somewhat) fresh environment, 32 players on a map is something we dont see too much of on console, vehicular combat, drones etc are easy to control and offer a satisfying experience regardless of skill level. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    Picked the game up this morning, and I finished it this morning. Completed the single player in 4 & half hours on normal. Make no mistakePicked the game up this morning, and I finished it this morning. Completed the single player in 4 & half hours on normal. Make no mistake about it, this game is a multiplayer only game. If your buying this, your buying it for the MP. The story is semi interesting I give it that. But it's done in a way thats been done 100 times before. The sound and graphics are definitely out dated and not up to par with other shooters that flood the market. The multiplayer is decent but I don't see it holding it's own against Battlefield or Call of Duty. Homefront will once and awhile be something else to play from time to time, but you and youyr friends will only want to return to Battlefield, Call of Duty or Halo at the end of the day. This game is a PASS... Full Review »
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    6
    A too short single-player campaign, too frustrating, in 2011 it's unacceptable see undestroyable enviroment and a sequence of script likeA too short single-player campaign, too frustrating, in 2011 it's unacceptable see undestroyable enviroment and a sequence of script like this. I was waiting for it for too long and it disappointed me so much. Too bad. Full Review »