Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    91
    As I've said throughout this review, the game is filled to the brim with genuine heart wrenching moments that are compelling and real. The writing of Milius shines through in every facet of the game. Clearly the guys at Kaos are looking to build a franchise, and if Homefront is any indication of how that franchise begins I'm looking forward to seeing what's next.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    88
    Homefront is the shooter-surprise of the last couple of years. A new setting about real threats and the great story telling are catching my attention. And on top of it, you have a really good Multiplayer, a mix of Call of Duty and Battlefield with some extra fine gameplay notes.
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    87
    This is a gritty, brilliantly made shooter that will shake you up more than once, backed by a powerful story and the kind of action that you'd come to expect from a top-tier entry in the genre.
  4. Mar 11, 2011
    93
    Combining so many elements into such a cohesive story, THQ has reminded me why I love gaming. The only fault I could find other than the character models was the relatively short single player campaign; on the hard level I finished the game in less than 7 hours.
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    90
    It is a breath of fresh air in a genre that tends to recycle the same old thing.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 379 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 205
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Homefront is a fine game if you give it a chance. The graphics and sound,( voice acting in particular) are poor compared to bombs likeHomefront is a fine game if you give it a chance. The graphics and sound,( voice acting in particular) are poor compared to bombs like BFBC2 or KZ3, and the capaign is shockingly short. I find the excellent multiplayer makes up for this though - once the controls sink in and you begin to adapt to the shoddy graphics there is a lot of fun to be had here. And no, its nothing like COD. Comparing games like BFBC2 and Homefront to COD is akin to comparing Gran Tourismo to Ridge Racer...HF is a squad based game, if you run around by yourself like a headless chicken hunting for kills you will be dead continuosly. Over HF does a great job in recreating large scale battles in a (somewhat) fresh environment, 32 players on a map is something we dont see too much of on console, vehicular combat, drones etc are easy to control and offer a satisfying experience regardless of skill level. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    Picked the game up this morning, and I finished it this morning. Completed the single player in 4 & half hours on normal. Make no mistakePicked the game up this morning, and I finished it this morning. Completed the single player in 4 & half hours on normal. Make no mistake about it, this game is a multiplayer only game. If your buying this, your buying it for the MP. The story is semi interesting I give it that. But it's done in a way thats been done 100 times before. The sound and graphics are definitely out dated and not up to par with other shooters that flood the market. The multiplayer is decent but I don't see it holding it's own against Battlefield or Call of Duty. Homefront will once and awhile be something else to play from time to time, but you and youyr friends will only want to return to Battlefield, Call of Duty or Halo at the end of the day. This game is a PASS... Full Review »
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    6
    A too short single-player campaign, too frustrating, in 2011 it's unacceptable see undestroyable enviroment and a sequence of script likeA too short single-player campaign, too frustrating, in 2011 it's unacceptable see undestroyable enviroment and a sequence of script like this. I was waiting for it for too long and it disappointed me so much. Too bad. Full Review »