Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    90
    How To Survive is more than just a solid zombie role-playing game, it's also one of the best games of the year. With its mix of Diablo-esque hack and slash and dual-stick shooter action, 505 Games' newest Xbox Live Arcade game is a real surprise. It has a deep crafting system and a world you can't help but want to explore. How To Survive rewrites the book on zombie RPGs!
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    80
    These rough edges don't take much away from the overall experience, though. How to Survive is a great adventure from start to finish, the ending was great, and I can't remember the last time that I enjoyed collecting wooden sticks, seagull feathers and protein-rich roots as much as I did here.
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    78
    A zombie survival game with a good crafting system and an action-rpg like gameplay. Too bad for the technical and graphical issues and its monotone action.
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    75
    Despite some technical issues, and thanks to a well crafted structure and a solid gameplay, How To Survive gives the player a nice gaming experience.
  5. Apr 13, 2014
    70
    Despite using the overused topic of zombies, everything in the game is targeted toward survival through the skillful use of a good system of loot and crafting. Nevertheless, these two elements are not sufficient to make the title an excellent game, as the title has some technical issues.
  6. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    When Dead Rising meets Diablo the outcome is a game like How to Survive. A game that has tons of great ideas, but in the end fails to take fully advantage of most of them.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    70
    A new zombie infestation is the main theme of this action-adventure game in which the survival instinct is the key element.
  8. Oct 23, 2013
    70
    There are some very good ideas that don't work as well as they should, but still the whole experience is very enjoyable. If you get a second player and go for the Iron Man mode, then you've got a tough but fun challenge ahead.
  9. 60
    It lasts just long enough to justify its humble asking price, but better online island vacations await you elsewhere.
  10. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    I wanted there to be more to How to Survive. It plays well, has some cool ideas and the combat is satisfying, but none of it ever evolves beyond that.
  11. Oct 24, 2013
    60
    How To Survive isn’t the best arcade released this year, but overall it’s a decent survival/adventure for those who love top-down shooter and zombies.
  12. Oct 23, 2013
    60
    Still, it’s worth checking out if the concept intrigues you as and it’s a fine gateway game for those who are intimidated by the survival genre.
  13. Oct 23, 2013
    60
    How to Survive is more fun than it has a right to be. Schlocky voice-acting and ropey, ugly aesthetics can’t get in the way of what is a very addictive little Action-RPG with elements of Dead Island’s crafting system and State of Decay’s resource management.
  14. Dec 4, 2013
    55
    How To Survive is a great game, on paper. With too little challenge and some stupid characters, it doesn’t get to its full potential. A shame, because EKO Software could have made a great zombie game with this.
  15. Oct 23, 2013
    54
    How To Survive's big problem isn't what's there, it's what isn't - that it’s less half a game as half of several different ones, duct-taped together in its own crafting system to create something functional, but hardly desirable.
  16. Jan 31, 2014
    50
    A few years ago How To Survive may have been enough to make the grade, but in a world overrun by superior zombie titles it barely makes the cut.
  17. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    In trying to encompass so many game mechanics in such a short title How To Survive ends up feeling rushed and unfinished, a perfunctory title that never manages to rise above adequacy.
  18. Oct 25, 2013
    30
    Surviving zombies is fairly easy but the real enemy here is tedium and a shopping list of design mistakes that makes this one of the worst zombie games of the year.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    1
    The only point this game gets is for what they tried to achieve. The game is terribly linear, has horrible animations, and bad sounds and voice overs. The graphics are sub par. Now I know people are going to use the "but it's only $10" argument, but it's not really an excuse for a bad game. I have many games that are cheaper in price, but are far superior in quality.

    Plus the developers and their forum cheerleaders are not very nice when you cordially express in your own opinion that the game is lackluster. They banned me from the Steam forums for "Flaming" when in fact I was the one being flamed and harassed and just defending my point of view. I never even resorted to name calling, like the assailants did to me.

    I would not suggest this game to anyone but my worst enemy. It's comparable the whole WarZ debacle. A complete NO GO.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    I Played this game for 4 hours now. There are some nice things, like crafting, skills, and i love this need to drink, sleep, eat, and ofc. have live. There could be added one more need, which is having heat, by staying at fires.

    I know a competitive game, it was a mod on a strategy game the map was called "island troll tribes", whats what i miss on how to survive:

    - crafting system need to be 5 times bigger
    - something like a storage box would be nice, my inventory is full since island 2 ...
    - crafting fires and tents would be nice, and this items should not already exist in the environment
    - more different items (I would say 500 different items would be perfect)
    - experimental crafting for example mixing different mushrooms with different effects... (but then, many more mushrooms needed)
    - it would be nice to have a much bigger skill tree
    - it would be nice to have a 4v4 "mini game", where you need to find stuff, get levels and skills, build a base, defend the base and attack the enemy base, ofc. zombies should not be missed.

    What do i like:
    - the idea of the game is good, i was waiting for a game like this since i played island troll tribes the first time.
    - i really liked the movie-clips
    - i hope for someone who make all my ideas and maybe some more... happen!

    and why i am scoring so high:
    - i had to laugh many times, i like the humor of the game
    - its worth to play

    (sorry for my English or mistakes, its not my main language)
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Good game...but it can be more. I like survival games a lot! And this game let you to go however you want (open world can I say). It's a great game...hmmm...not really. If they make a sequel or a remake or another company to do something like this game with a lot of posibilities and more creative would be great. Nice things but the game was made in haste. Full Review »