ilomilo Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ilomilo is a puzzle game where you control two friends, ilo and milo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Jan 5, 2011
    100
    It's an ingenious puzzle game that's sure to challenge and please every type of gamer and comes highly recommended from this author.
  2. Jan 6, 2011
    90
    Overall, these issues are minor annoyances. ilomilo is an endearing, thought-provoking, and addictive puzzler. And with a selection of bonus mini-games and a well-balanced co-op mode, gamers are sure to get their money's worth.
  3. Jan 31, 2011
    85
    Ilomilo is possibly the cutest puzzle game available on Xbox 360. It's even a well crafted and compelling game and one you shouldn't really miss if you don't get scared by games which may get tricky for your brains.
  4. Jan 5, 2011
    80
    While prone to feeling slow at times, Ilomilo is an undeniably well crafted title. Most of its puzzles feel perfectly tuned, and despite the occasionally flabbergasted controls, the amount of polish on display is something to be applauded.
  5. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    Serious puzzlers will plough through the levels in a matter of hours (although there's some family-pleasing, inter-generational mileage in the two player option) but, for the price, it's hard to grumble. It's also hard to grumble about any game that can leave such a big, goofy smile on your face.
  6. Jan 8, 2011
    80
    Ilomilo is enjoyable enough, but it's not the kind of puzzle game that you'll find yourself obsessing over.
  7. Dec 23, 2010
    60
    Southend's spatial puzzler is clever enough to survive such a heavy-handed dose of focus-grouped fancy: you won't need to love it in order to appreciate some of its better tricks. [Jan 2011, p.103]

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Ilomilo is a great 3d puzzle game. Its artsy look give it a feel all of its own and tiny beautiful touches abound in all the right places. From the piano notes that play in the selection menu to the indie game cameos that keep popping up, the game does a lot to pull you in with its personality alone.
    But personality can only get you so far. Thankfully, the game play is also wonderful. The idea is simple: reunite the two main characters Ilo and Milo to beat the puzzle. Along the way you can collect art, music from the sound track and little bean shaped characters called Safkas (named after Melanie Safka) that unlock super difficult levels. It works well and the difficulty curve is forgiving. Theres also a nice story (yes, a story in a puzzle game). Its cute and even somewhat sad. It all blends together well with the game play and is full of symbolism. All in all, its a great game thats well worth the price of $10 ($12 if you count the downloadable content). If you love inspired art and have a secret love of difficult puzzle games, get it!
    Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    The style and presentation of this game are wonderful. However, you don't expect the puzzles themselves to be so clever and enjoyable. This is one of the most wonderful XBLA titles I have played, right up there (but just below) Trials HD and Shadow Complex.
    Let us hope they release more levels via DLC.
    Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    I'd give it a 12 if it existed, but the camera is so bad that it's worth 3 points off anyway, so I'll settle for a 9. Really, it's a fantastic game, please download the demo and give it a try. It does have one big downside, though (I don't think the demo goes far enough into the game for you to tell how bad it is), and that is this: Be prepared to be constantly fighting with the camera throughout the game. Despite that, however, it has been a very long time since I've found a puzzle game that I enjoyed this much (the last one being Supaplex, which should tell you how long it has been LOL). I really hope they make an Ilomilo 2, full-blown (not just an Arcade game) complete with a better camera and a level design feature. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    I was surprised by ilomilo. It really is a fantatsic puzzle game. It also has an excellent soundtrack. If you are sitting on the fence about this one at least play through the trial. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    Ilomilo is a fun puzzle game with a rustic art style and a cute sound design. The characters are instantly memorable and the levels increase in difficultly with progress. There is also a leader board to compare your completion 'steps' with your friends, and the world - although it appears the leader board has been hacked with all levels being completed in 1 step (impossible). For £10 it is a worthwhile purchase for puzzle game fans. Collapse
  6. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    First impressions when you look at 'ilomilo' is the style, the colourful and somewhat bohemian style are a easy on the eyes. There is a different soundtrack for each different world and is constantly refreshing and relaxing. The game is pure 3 dimensional puzzles, this means there are no health bars, plat-forming or skill involved which may be a turn-off to some. From having completed indy games such as 'Braid' and 'Limbo' I thought I was average more or less at puzzle games, the later levels prove to be very challenging and only truly great minds will complete it first time without having to come back.

    My only gripe with the game was the camera, it always seems to be either too far away or too close when toggling between the views with the Y button, also it moves at ninety degree angles and is not as flexible as I would of hoped and therefore caused me some motion sickness after a couple hours.

    Visuals-9, Originality-9, Game-play-7, Sound-9.
    Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    5
    Have played this game in co-op on many occasions, and after one or two levels I am bored, the music is giving me a headache and I just don't like this game at all, it does have a nice humour to the proceedings but it's not enough to keep me playing or interested in finishing the game. Not my cup of tea. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews