User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 72
  2. Negative: 14 out of 72

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    An excellent game. top graphics, lush detailed environments, tons of weapons and abilities and quite a few hours gameplay seeing as you can play through with the navi and the humans and get a completely different experience for each. The vehicles/mounts are fun to ride. diving down from a great height on the navi mounts is pretty exhilarating. there's a conquest mode that plays out like a game of risk on pandora. Build units and buildings, take over territories etc. Don't let the luke warm critic reviews put you off. the voice acting is a little shoddy but that's my only criticism. Expand
  2. May 14, 2012
    6
    It's common knowlege that movie games are mediocre and are usually only worth a rent. However Avatar shakes this assumption somewhat. It's story is somewhat bland and theres definite gameplay flaws but it succeeds more then it fails. It offers plenty of interesting missions, weapons and vehicle to keep you entertained. Pandora is the true main character of the game and is well represented. The Multiplayer is also fun although getting a match is difficult. All in all this is a great game for Avatar fans and a slighty above average game for everyone else. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2011
    0
    I first played though choosing the human side first, and truth be told, beside flying the helicopters, it was very fun. I would have given the game a 7 at that point. My only real complaint was the moronic control system for the helicopters. At the moment I'm two hours into the Navi side of the game, and I'm ready to rip the disc from my xbox and toss it in the garbage disposal. The Navi side is almost unplayable. Too much climbing, overpowered enemies (clubs and arrow vs. machine gun, you spend allot of time dead as a Navi), confusing missions, and if I fall off a ledge and die one more time due to the screwed up third person view. You can't zoom in or out on the map or mini map, so at one point I missed a turn and spent 45 minutes climbing around on those stupid cliffs unable to find the path to my target. The Navi development team spent all their time and budget on flying the lizards (which again suffers from a weird control system, but is cool once you get the hang of it) and ignore the rest of the game play. Like I said, I had scored this game a 7, but now it gets a ZERO! Do. Not. Buy. This. Game Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    7
    When I first saw this game I thought "Oh, it's another terrible license-game". Later I found the game at a low price and decided to give it a go. This game is actually surprisingly good. Yes, it's got it's flaws like mediocre gameplay and a mediocre story, but something here made me have fun. One example is the Pandorapedia. An excellent feature. I spent at least 4 hours there reading through information about things i had scanned with my scanner. The graphics are also good, and the multiplayer is good for a move-licensed game too. Even though I'm pretty late to the party here, I would recommend you to buy this game if you find it at a cheap price. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    6
    Overall, decent, but not the best.
  6. Apr 5, 2013
    6
    For me this game is just average but does capture Cameron's vision quite well and the multiplayer is decent for a few days but after a while it just loses its touch...but at least the multiplayer is unique in a way and doesn't straight out copy the standard multiplayer formula
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    I have to admit I really enjoyed the movie, I think one of the best science fiction films of recent years. But not influence anything when testing the video game, unfortunately. Boring, repetitive, full of errors, it certainly was a big disappointment.
  8. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    its a little kids game. its not worse game but it aint gonna win a game of year award. graphics are ok. story is bland as tasteless grilled cheese. movie wasnt that good ether
  9. Sep 29, 2013
    7
    a decent game, and for a movie licensed game it is top class. a prequel to the movie you can play as the navi or humans battle your way through a semi open world while leveling up your characters abilities using light RPG elements. Incredible graphics, but all of the endings in the game fall awfully flat.
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 62
  2. Negative: 6 out of 62
  1. 60
    It does little to endorse Ubisoft's claim that it's been in development for years, as underneath the admittedly high-detail visuals it's a pretty rudimentary thing. It's a long way better than bilge like the Quantum of Solace, but it's certainly got no sense of a landmark pop-cultural moment, in the way we're repeatedly told the film will.
  2. Pandora could well lend itself to a great film, and would lend itself fabulously well to a good third-person action game. Unfortunately, despite providing two third-person action games here for the price of one, both of them are dull and forgettable.
  3. While the presentation is great and the combat generally enjoyable, the missions leave a lot to be desired - and there's little of the sense of wonder that the movie promises. Had the two campaigns been packed with superbly entertaining moments, the missions been more diverse in their structure, and the "vehicles" been more fun to man, then yes, Avatar the Game might have reached the heights its source material looks set to achieve.