Jurassic: The Hunted Xbox 360

Jurassic: The Hunted Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jurassic: the Hunted is a set on a dark, mysterious island lost in time. Players assume the role of weapons and survival expert Craig Dylan, who has been hired to protect a research team studying the strange temporal energy of the island. Protection quickly becomes a fight for survival asJurassic: the Hunted is a set on a dark, mysterious island lost in time. Players assume the role of weapons and survival expert Craig Dylan, who has been hired to protect a research team studying the strange temporal energy of the island. Protection quickly becomes a fight for survival as Dylan is pulled back in time through the Bermuda Triangle and finds himself facing the most terrifying creatures in the history of the planet. Combat encounters include "arena" style fights, fortification sieges, survival modes and unforgettable boss battles. Adrenaline bursts give you an edge - this cinematic gameplay feature allows the player to visualize and then target an opponent's weak points in slow motion. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Clocking in at under five hours, Jurassic: The Hunted comes and goes in the blink of an eye. It packs enough thrills to be worth a rental, but the replay value of this cheesy Dino-slaying extravaganza is limited.
  2. 65
    A guilty pleasure of a shooter. It certainly has its issues, particularly with repetitive segments of play and easy encounters which clearly hold it back. However, it's more of a diversionary game that you can play for a few hours and be amused by blasting dinosaurs from one side of the island to the other.
  3. Good FPS but not worth full price. Limited replay value.
  4. Official Xbox Magazine
    50
    Instead, the game is a simple shooter with a small variety of extinct species--raptors, pterodactyls that animate like paper kites, and boring T-Rex bosses. [Jan 2010, p.75]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. TheHunter
    Mar 11, 2010
    10
    This game is about my life and I helped make it. We made it to be the best game possible and I think we succeeded.
  2. BuckM
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    There's a reason critics are already calling this title "the best video game ever made." Graphics 10/10 Story 10/10 Sound 10/10 Fun Factor 10/10
  3. AnonymousMC
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. Not enough dino games these days.
  4. Jun 23, 2014
    6
    Instantly forgettable, mediocre game. The basic mechanics control ok, and it's fun for a little while, but it completely lacks anythingInstantly forgettable, mediocre game. The basic mechanics control ok, and it's fun for a little while, but it completely lacks anything resembling inspiration. The unimpressive graphics, stupid story, terrible presentation, and mostly unmemorable set-pieces make this one barely worth a bargain bin price. Expand
  5. May 22, 2015
    6
    It isn't bad but it's not all that great either. The campaign mostly has you travelling through a forest, shooting various dinasours withIt isn't bad but it's not all that great either. The campaign mostly has you travelling through a forest, shooting various dinasours with various guns. It's fun, I suppose, but the story is dumb and, well, it's not that fun. The survival mode is single player, which is downright stupid. You patch windows to keep the dinosaurs out as you fight to make it to the highest wave you can, buying new guns as you do. What does that sound like? Yeah, it's kind of a copy of Nazi Zombies but it's far inferior. I sound like I'm bashing the game but, again, it's fun. I wouldn't give it a 6/10, a decent score, if it were garbage, but nor would I give it a 6/10 if it were a must-play. Expand
  6. RobertO
    Apr 11, 2010
    5
    Totally mediocre in all aspects. Semi-fun for a night away from BC2 or MW2 but not worth more than 20 bucks, tops. Almost no replayability Totally mediocre in all aspects. Semi-fun for a night away from BC2 or MW2 but not worth more than 20 bucks, tops. Almost no replayability although it does have a survival mode after completion and a new rifle unlocked in hard mode. Not fun enough to warrant a second trip through the game. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2017
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Walking into Gamestop, I picked up this game for $14. I was less than impressed with the box art. However, I have been wrong on games before with a first look, i.e. The Last Remnant, Fallout New Vegas, etc. After only my first 15 minutes playing, I realized that this game has a bevy of problems.
    Foremost, the controls are atrocious. I cannot speak for everyone else, but whilst playing this on the Xbox 360 I keep encountering a half-second input delay. Now normally, this wouldn't be TOO terrible for a First Person Shooter, but when you're trying to aim at fast and sometimes smaller enemies, this delay can mean life or death. The aiming is terrible unless you’re using the crossbow, grenades or RPG. And even worse, this game comes standard with framerate issues and frame tears whilst you’re in combat!
    The enemies come in one of three ways: crazily blitz the character, spit projectiles, or be a turret section encounter (The T-Rex). The one proven strategy to beating this game is "Mow 'em down with my machine gun!!!!", there's no way to take advantage of the environment, no stealth element to avoid possible encounters with enemies (which could've added quite a bit of depth), and annoyingly there's no stats for the guns you do pick up, even though there are about 8 or so to choose from.
    There's clearly not much effort put into the textures of the enemies, the environment (which is so bland I found myself getting lost quite a bit), and even our protagonist appears to be a robot dressed in military attire as there's nothing distinguishing about him or his personality, even in the few cutscenes you do get to see him.
    I haven’t mentioned much of the story, cause there IS NO STORY!! It’s literally explained in one whole cutscene and the game is over before you even know it. Not that we’d care about our protagonist as he’s just the typical mercenary out for his check, and the rest of our cast isn’t any more interesting. The end-boss battle is laughable and the ending is just offensively disappointing, as if you’d REALLY want to play this game a second time.
    All of that I can understand, as no game is perfect, with the exception of Fallout 3. HOWEVER, what ultimately put the nail in the coffin for me was the underwhelming sound real estate. When your character jumps, there is no landing sound effect. Most of the sound bytes are easily recognizable from much earlier games and some are even generic stock. In some areas, the audio doesn't even try to sync with the video, which completely sucked me out of the game.
    All in all, this game was “okay” for such a low price. However, looking at this game as a whole, it was a shameless cash-in to capitalize on the mostly entertaining dinosaur genre. The effort put into this game is more or less “Eh, everyone else has done it, so why not us?” instead of creating something that actually could have been halfway decent.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews