Just Cause 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 272
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    This game is a sandbox-fans' must-have.
    The Panau's open-world is really open from the get-go without any limitation but the will of travelling while the grappling-hook and parachute are tools that allow for really letting the player express himself; physics-based combat is extremely compelling... achievements will give an added motivation to use the hook creatively.
    The B-movie narration
    This game is a sandbox-fans' must-have.
    The Panau's open-world is really open from the get-go without any limitation but the will of travelling while the grappling-hook and parachute are tools that allow for really letting the player express himself; physics-based combat is extremely compelling... achievements will give an added motivation to use the hook creatively.
    The B-movie narration isn't so much of a drawback as the fact that it devolve instead of ramping up, but it has a huge setup at the beginning.
    What is annoying is that after a while you will get the feeling that the game is what happens while getting to a location, instead of what you will do there, because faction missions are short, some could even take like one minute to complete!
    Game mechanic is repetetive but still enjoyable to the end of the game, problem is that in advanced stages the game will probably turn to an achievement-hunt since missions can be tackled with different styles but there's no difference in the outcome since you have simply to blow up stuff.
    Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    This is simply the game which Mercenaries 2 should have been. The large open world is filled to the brim with anarchy of many kinds, not to mention some fine graphic details up close on some objects - The large prettyful explosions playing a heavy part albeit. The main campaign (Agency missions) only have 7 missions, but rather than just playing them all and ending the game there, youThis is simply the game which Mercenaries 2 should have been. The large open world is filled to the brim with anarchy of many kinds, not to mention some fine graphic details up close on some objects - The large prettyful explosions playing a heavy part albeit. The main campaign (Agency missions) only have 7 missions, but rather than just playing them all and ending the game there, you actually have to unlock the agency missions by causing enough chaos - It's a win win situation!!!! If you are looking for a full 100% (game wise or achievements) then expect a nice share of grinding as you are bound to spend tens of hours just looking around settlements for a hidden generator you missed.. In conclusion, a game long enough to get its money worth out of - but not excessively long to the point of boring you. **Better than: Mercenaries 2: World in Flames.** ** Worse than: Red Dead Redemption.** Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    There's no denying Just Cause 2 is flawed. The generic storyline (HURR DURR AMURIKA SAVE DA WORLD AGAIN), laughable dialogue and cliche-ridden characters add up to form an extremely poor narrative, and it's my only real issue with the game. There's a lot of unusual bugs and technical floors, but they're often hilarious and add to the fun rather than causing frustration. Exploring theThere's no denying Just Cause 2 is flawed. The generic storyline (HURR DURR AMURIKA SAVE DA WORLD AGAIN), laughable dialogue and cliche-ridden characters add up to form an extremely poor narrative, and it's my only real issue with the game. There's a lot of unusual bugs and technical floors, but they're often hilarious and add to the fun rather than causing frustration. Exploring the massive game world is an absolute joy - there's so much variation between the different biomes, from the vast, desolate desert area, to the jagged coastlines and the sprawling mountain ranges. The graphics aren't anything amazing, but get the job done nicely. There's a huge draw distance, which I was really impressed by. It made flying around near cloud-level a whole lot more enjoyable. The combat is pretty strong, with some pretty creative methods at your disposal - thanks mainly to the intuative grappling hook system. Another niggling problem is that the difficulty ramps up pretty quickly, and you'll die many times. All in all, Just Cause 2 is an impressive achievement from Square Enix, showing a huge amount of originality that I hope will be further developed in the next Just Cause game. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    The best open world game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You will have a hard time getting off this game once you start this game. I mean, there can be bugs sometimes, but this is still good money spent.
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    I loved this game so much I bought it the 2nd time on the Xbox 360 - and it was just as phone as the first time on my PS3. This game is so open world it's not even funny. Total blast, I pray every night they will make Just Cause 3 in my lifetime.
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    5
    This game had some very good and bad points. I like this game because of it's never ending freeroam in: motorbikes, cars, buggies, planes and jets. However the game doesn't feel like there's real missions they feel like side missions meaning this game gets quite boring pretty quickly. Overall I think this game should have real missions in the later updates maybe in Just Cause 3.
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    First of all, I loved the open world concept and how you can do (or blow up) anything you want. The missions are spectacular, and being able to have so many choices is outstanding. With this game you can pretty much raise hell on the island of Panau. Better than Just Cause by a landslide. Sadly, the controls are pretty hard to get the hang of and put a little drizzle on JC 2's parade.First of all, I loved the open world concept and how you can do (or blow up) anything you want. The missions are spectacular, and being able to have so many choices is outstanding. With this game you can pretty much raise hell on the island of Panau. Better than Just Cause by a landslide. Sadly, the controls are pretty hard to get the hang of and put a little drizzle on JC 2's parade. Overall recommend it if you crave a good, open-world action game, or just want to blow stuff up and have fun! 9/10 for sure. Expand
  8. JackG
    Mar 29, 2010
    9
    The overall fact of this game is if you do exactly as your told without thought, you wont enjoy this game. If you get past this idea and start being creative with the tools the game gives you then you will love it. A prime example would be early on in the game you are faced with going into an enemy base and dealing with a powerful boss. instead of just going in and shooting i decided to The overall fact of this game is if you do exactly as your told without thought, you wont enjoy this game. If you get past this idea and start being creative with the tools the game gives you then you will love it. A prime example would be early on in the game you are faced with going into an enemy base and dealing with a powerful boss. instead of just going in and shooting i decided to crash a plane into the base and activate pre placed c-4's which is much more interesting, Expand
  9. MikeE
    Mar 30, 2010
    9
    I am actually surprised the critics have not rated this game higher merely on the technical brilliance of this game. Yes the game is a bit unfocused and yes the dialogue and voice acting is campy at best but the sheer size and beauty of the island they have created for us to play on is amazing. I have played about 17 hours and I still find something that blows my socks off in this game. I am actually surprised the critics have not rated this game higher merely on the technical brilliance of this game. Yes the game is a bit unfocused and yes the dialogue and voice acting is campy at best but the sheer size and beauty of the island they have created for us to play on is amazing. I have played about 17 hours and I still find something that blows my socks off in this game. Has anyone actually dived in the ocean? I mean that experience in itself was awesome. I really hope more developers use the engine that was created for this game because it does absolutely amazing things. A better story and more focused gameplay is the only that keeps me from giving this a 10. I would say its more like a 9.3. Expand
  10. DanielH.
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    Just Cause 2 is a complete improvement over the original in every way. The grappling hook is the most fun you can have in a videogame. Mapping the hook to the RB frees you up to grapple,shoot, and cause destruction in an almost unlimited number of ways.(Pulling an unaware gaurd out of his tower mid-flight never gets old.) The cars handle much more realisticly and the helicopters are Just Cause 2 is a complete improvement over the original in every way. The grappling hook is the most fun you can have in a videogame. Mapping the hook to the RB frees you up to grapple,shoot, and cause destruction in an almost unlimited number of ways.(Pulling an unaware gaurd out of his tower mid-flight never gets old.) The cars handle much more realisticly and the helicopters are actully fun to fly this time around. Upgradeable weapons and vehilcles are a phone call away at all times. The graphics wow you at every turn, whether a thousand feet in the air or on the ground in the beautiful jungles and snow capped moantain ranges. Every mechanic is polished to perfection. Not once have I thrown down the controller in frustration due to a problem with the game. I highly recommend you buy instead of rent. An awesome game in an industry full of crap sequels and lacklustre premieres. Expand
  11. Bogdan
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    This is one of the most entertaining games I have ever played! It's pure fun, the freedom you have is incredible, the graphics are stunning (most of the time) and you just can't let the gamepad down. The first time I played for 6 hours continuously, exploring the islands and wow-ing evey minute.The missions can sometimes be repetitive but fun nevertheless. I can't believe This is one of the most entertaining games I have ever played! It's pure fun, the freedom you have is incredible, the graphics are stunning (most of the time) and you just can't let the gamepad down. The first time I played for 6 hours continuously, exploring the islands and wow-ing evey minute.The missions can sometimes be repetitive but fun nevertheless. I can't believe that there are people giving it low(0 even) ratings. Try this game, it's worth it! Good job Square Enix! Expand
  12. May 14, 2011
    9
    One of the best sanboxers of recent years. The graphics of Just Cause 2 are a marvel - I've never seen an island so large (Although, maybe that's because at time of writing, it's the largest open-world sandbox environment of any retail game!) and detailed. Vehicles, snow-capped mountains, deserts, forests, ruins, casinos, city's, guns, more vehicles, suspension bridges, wind turbines,One of the best sanboxers of recent years. The graphics of Just Cause 2 are a marvel - I've never seen an island so large (Although, maybe that's because at time of writing, it's the largest open-world sandbox environment of any retail game!) and detailed. Vehicles, snow-capped mountains, deserts, forests, ruins, casinos, city's, guns, more vehicles, suspension bridges, wind turbines, dams, military bases, airports, and the sea... and so much more, all beautifully rendered at a distance, and up close. Just Cause 2 falls badly on it's writing and voice acting though, and the whole story is shallow. Most missions are composed of grinning and bearing (or skipping...) a cutscene, a repetitive bit of shooting, and a fun finale. Rinse repeat 100x times. But, including the ending (I won't spoil, but it's a legendary one!), and overall good gameplay, Just Cause 2 is a massive, ninja-slapping, grappling hook-parachuting, eye-kissing treat. And goes for about a tenner in the UK too (; Expand
  13. JalexD
    Mar 25, 2010
    0
    I was thoroughly disappointed with this title. Now, I was disappointed with the first game as well, because it was so unfocused. But this game really ticked me off because it seemed to glorify that aspect, as if each and every scenario was mocking me for giving the series another chance. I've seen a lot of comments praising the fact that this game is really nothing more than non-stop I was thoroughly disappointed with this title. Now, I was disappointed with the first game as well, because it was so unfocused. But this game really ticked me off because it seemed to glorify that aspect, as if each and every scenario was mocking me for giving the series another chance. I've seen a lot of comments praising the fact that this game is really nothing more than non-stop pretty explosions, ridiculous stunts, and gratuitous violence. The first two would be considered a plus if they weren't so common and some more thought was put into their use. As it is, this is a game for the shallow, for those who don't read anything that isn't assigned to them or part of the latest electronic messaging fad. All pretty colours with no substance underneath. A shame, really. It could have been great. Expand
  14. MarkB
    Mar 29, 2010
    7
    Pros: Open structure, Massive & diverse game world, Set pieces and visuals highly polished, Cons: Size of game world makes travelling at the start very dull, Super alert military police around every corner, Some missions (stronghold capture) repetitive, Poor voice acting particularly support cast, Recommended as an excellent time filler ahead of the summer line-up of games.
  15. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    It's great at what it tries to do and doesn't take itself very seriously. Normally this is bad for me because I prefer story driven games but this is an exception because it's so goddamn entertaining! i do have a few problems with it though like the driving which is terrible, and the cops are a bit too trigger happy with you been chased literally for nothing. It looks incredible but whenIt's great at what it tries to do and doesn't take itself very seriously. Normally this is bad for me because I prefer story driven games but this is an exception because it's so goddamn entertaining! i do have a few problems with it though like the driving which is terrible, and the cops are a bit too trigger happy with you been chased literally for nothing. It looks incredible but when you want to actually look at it you'll probably be chased by the cops. It's also quite repetitive and the world while vast feels kind of small because there's nothing to do except blow s**t up. Overall it's the kind of game I'd put on if i've been having a stressfull day and just want some fun. 2 other things which kind of bugged me are when you're in a fighter jet you're pretty much invincible (the enemy don't send them after you) and NO MULTIPLAYER! I know it would've been hard to do but if they had multiplayer this would pretty much be the second coming of jesus, for the gaming world. Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2011
    8
    I see everything this game is doing and honestly its awesome and bad at all different times.I would say better good then bad but I've put in nearly 100 hours and I couldn't give this game more then a 8.The reason I have put in so many hours is because there is just certain parts you want to play,play,play and certain points that I have running through my head saying" I could of" orI see everything this game is doing and honestly its awesome and bad at all different times.I would say better good then bad but I've put in nearly 100 hours and I couldn't give this game more then a 8.The reason I have put in so many hours is because there is just certain parts you want to play,play,play and certain points that I have running through my head saying" I could of" or more...Very solid 8 Expand
  17. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. I would definitley recommend it to anyone for it's pretty graphics, increased depth of the game (way more side missions, and they're all varied), massive vehicle selection and better game play (love the increased functionality of the grapple hook/parachute, feels very fluid). The engine is much more solid and there's hardly any glitches, whereas Just Cause wasA thoroughly enjoyable game. I would definitley recommend it to anyone for it's pretty graphics, increased depth of the game (way more side missions, and they're all varied), massive vehicle selection and better game play (love the increased functionality of the grapple hook/parachute, feels very fluid). The engine is much more solid and there's hardly any glitches, whereas Just Cause was full of glitches. It's still got the whole 'Let's blow **** up!' vibe about it, which makes for a not particualrly compelling storyline, but is nonetheless fun. Also Square Enix have done away with the immensely repetative music of Just Cause. There's not much music, and when it's there it's more subtle.

    A great improvement on Just Cause. Thoroughly reccomendable to anyone remotely interested in open world shooters.
    Expand
  18. Aug 23, 2010
    7
    Don't get me wrong this game is fun but like GTA it gets old. Some times to do a mission you must travel across the whole island to get there, this can take 20 mins if you dont have the money (which you don't early on in the game) This game is very fun, standing on top of planes, grappling to everything, parachutes, taking out enemys while on top of a moving car, lots of vehichles, butDon't get me wrong this game is fun but like GTA it gets old. Some times to do a mission you must travel across the whole island to get there, this can take 20 mins if you dont have the money (which you don't early on in the game) This game is very fun, standing on top of planes, grappling to everything, parachutes, taking out enemys while on top of a moving car, lots of vehichles, but this game does get old. I traded it in after 2 months. I give it a 7.5.

    Review 9
    Expand
  19. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Very fun game. Don't go in expecting a heartfelt story and you won't be dissapointed. The good weapon selection, huge variety of vehicles, and numerous different combat tactics (grappling hook is awesome in and out of firefights) make for an entertaining title that'll last you a week or two.
  20. Dec 14, 2010
    8
    "Just Cause 2" is a fun, fun, fun with an emphasis on fun. The game nails its gimmick, the grappling hook. Thinking of games with a gimmicky weapon, the grappling hook in "Just Cause 2" is up there with the Portal Gun. The grappling hook is just that good. It is so good in fact, that it turns a bad game good.

    Before I mention what is fun, let me tell you what is not fun. Enemy a.i. with
    "Just Cause 2" is a fun, fun, fun with an emphasis on fun. The game nails its gimmick, the grappling hook. Thinking of games with a gimmicky weapon, the grappling hook in "Just Cause 2" is up there with the Portal Gun. The grappling hook is just that good. It is so good in fact, that it turns a bad game good.

    Before I mention what is fun, let me tell you what is not fun. Enemy a.i. with x-ray binocular vision. You need a sniper rifle to accurately fire off a shot at the edge of the draw distance. The enemy a.i. can not only spot you instantaneously, they can also accurately hit you with machine gun fire. They can also spot you through foliage and through buildings. Fortunately, this game not geared toward stealth. The manual says to dodge and find cover to avoid gunfire. The developer forgot to actually make either of those two options work. In a pinch, your best bet is to either run away or lay waste to your enemies with a machine gun.

    The machine gun is the only good weapon in the game. Forget head shots. Forget stealthy sniper kills, the game doesn't have stealth anyway. Forget creative use of the grappling hook. While you are setting up grappling hook kills, your enemy is drilling you down with 100% accurate machine gun fire. Just put all your weapons part into the machine gun and go crazy.

    The other not fun piece of the game is searching for things to blow up and crates full of weapon and vehicle parts. Sometimes, too much is too much. Searching for this stuff is just too much. Fortunately, most of the locations are so similar, as in copy and paste similar, that finding stuff becomes second nature. On the down side, most of the locations are copy and paste similar.

    Now the fun stuff. Grappling enemies to just about anything is fun. Helicopters, jets that are taking off, cars, trees, and each other. You can pull them down to their deaths, and also also up to their deaths (head injury alert!). You can pull down statues, lift vehicles and objects, and create utter mayhem. The grappling alone is great, but the developers paired it with a backpack full of infinite parachutes, letting you take off any time you desire. Brilliant.

    Driving and flying is also fun. This game gives you access to attack helicopters with machine guns and rockets and then lets you lose in a world of objects you can destroy. My complaint here, not enough stuff to destroy. You can't for instance, destroy whole buildings. How about Frost Engine style destructables? Planes and jets are also fun, but too difficult to control and hit ground targets with. Perhaps if the developers had pointed the weapons down a bit, then my jets wouldn't collide with the earth so much. Tanks are simply wonderful toys.

    The grappling hook makes the game here, and that's why the score is 8 out of 10. Otherwise, the shoddy a.i., limited desctructables, and cookie cutter design would make for a terrible game. Lets hope for a better "Just Cause 3".
    Expand
  21. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    Just Cause 2 is hugely underrated. For me, it's everything Grand Theft Auto used to be and could have been, but better. You can roam and roam and roam and you're always only a minute away from some place to cause chaos. The freedom to buy or hijack planes, helicopters, tanks, bike, cars and boats is so much fun. There are a few glitches with gameplay from time to time (it's worth makingJust Cause 2 is hugely underrated. For me, it's everything Grand Theft Auto used to be and could have been, but better. You can roam and roam and roam and you're always only a minute away from some place to cause chaos. The freedom to buy or hijack planes, helicopters, tanks, bike, cars and boats is so much fun. There are a few glitches with gameplay from time to time (it's worth making extra saves as you go to backup) but all in, it's a cracker. So glad I picked this up. Expand
  22. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    First the bad, the story is short and very lame, the voice acting sounds like they are phoning it in.The black market is a pain to use. Some times the enemy can be very cheap, like the ones with the lmg's that can pierce your nipple from halfway across the map and the ones on bikes you cant outrun and so on. On the other hand the draw distance is just amazing and the graphic lookFirst the bad, the story is short and very lame, the voice acting sounds like they are phoning it in.The black market is a pain to use. Some times the enemy can be very cheap, like the ones with the lmg's that can pierce your nipple from halfway across the map and the ones on bikes you cant outrun and so on. On the other hand the draw distance is just amazing and the graphic look fantastic. The game reminds me of mercenaries played as spider man with an ak47. If you love free roaming games with no set story and like to blow things up, than this is the game for you. Othrwise you are going to hate it and should stick with gta4 Expand
  23. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. well. im not sure that it should be a 10, more like a 9.6, but oh well, i always learnt in math to round up. lets jst say that this game has 3 problems.
    1. AI. this is worse than spyro on PS1
    2. Faction missions start in EXACtLY the same annoying way
    3. the black market is annoying

    other than that there is NOTHING wrong in gameplay terms. absolutely nothing. there might be the odd floating lamp post, but there must be about 13,000 lamp posts in the game, so it hardly matters. as for story line, you are an agent working for America who is against china Russia and Japan. of course there is going to be a nice bit of hoo rah. but other than that NOTHING is wrong with this game
    Expand
  24. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    This is my favourite game of 2010. There's lots of fun to be had blowing things up, beating up soldiers, running missions for your friends, taking timed races and pulling off outrageous stunts. I've sunk hundreds of hours into this game and still haven't finished all the achievements.

    The graphics produced by the Avalanche engine are absolutely stunning, with highly textured objects and
    This is my favourite game of 2010. There's lots of fun to be had blowing things up, beating up soldiers, running missions for your friends, taking timed races and pulling off outrageous stunts. I've sunk hundreds of hours into this game and still haven't finished all the achievements.

    The graphics produced by the Avalanche engine are absolutely stunning, with highly textured objects and scenery and realistic weather effects, including sunrise and rain. What I really love about the game is that it lets you try almost anything and so much of it works. The developers have thought long and hard about what would be fun, and they've delivered an absolute masterpiece here. It's now available at super low prices, so there's really no excuse to pick it up.
    Expand
  25. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    It may be ten times better than the first Just Cause, but in terms of being a fully formed third person sandbox shooter, it still has a long way to go. No cover system? Get with the times.
  26. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    Wow. Where was this game when I needed a GTA style fix?
    Totally missed this one when it came out, but just took a chance on a second hand copy. It's incredibly good.
    It's not as polished as GTA, but this game has lots more to offer. I read that the story is a bit lame and short. Who cares? Ignore the story and just go exploring there is loads to see and do. The best way to see the
    Wow. Where was this game when I needed a GTA style fix?
    Totally missed this one when it came out, but just took a chance on a second hand copy. It's incredibly good.
    It's not as polished as GTA, but this game has lots more to offer.
    I read that the story is a bit lame and short. Who cares? Ignore the story and just go exploring there is loads to see and do.
    The best way to see the island is by air. Helicopters are readily available at many of the islands military installations. You can infiltrate one of these by using your grappling hook and/or parachute. Don't forget to disable SAM sites before you take off though.
    From the air you will see how vast your playground is. Terrain evolves from beach resorts and dense jungle through to snow peaked mountains. The depths of the ocean can also be explored.
    There are also numerous towns, villages and cities to discover.
    You could travel around peacefully if you like, but the island is best experienced by blowing sh*t up.
    The freedom you have is amazing, so too is the way your character can move around the map. The grappling hook tool essentially turns your character in to Spiderman. In case you take a plunge from a great height, you are also equiped with a reusable parachute. This equipment really opens the game up. Does it annoy you in GTA when helicopters hover above you raining down bullets? Wouldn't it be good if you could somehow take control of those helicopters? Yeah, well you can do just that in JC2. Aim your grappling hook at the chopper, zip up to it, chuck the pilot out and away you go. The game has it's glitches, but you'll forgive them.

    Think: GTA San Andreas meets Spiderman and James Bond.
    Expand
  27. AdamN.
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    This game absolutely rocks! Firstly the game is huge, i've been playing for over 10 hours now and i have only finnished 6% of the game. Almost every vehicle imaginible is available to use from your civilian vehicles (cars, motorbikes, trucks etc.), military vehicles (tanks etc.) airoplanes and helicopter (including attack helicopters and my all time favourites the fighter jets) and This game absolutely rocks! Firstly the game is huge, i've been playing for over 10 hours now and i have only finnished 6% of the game. Almost every vehicle imaginible is available to use from your civilian vehicles (cars, motorbikes, trucks etc.), military vehicles (tanks etc.) airoplanes and helicopter (including attack helicopters and my all time favourites the fighter jets) and heaps more. Your character is extremely versatile and can reach any height due to the addition of the grappling hook which you always have on you and can use at any time. The grappling hook can be used to get you to a location either higher up or somewhere off in the distance (such as a tree to pull you further and faster along). You can grapple vehicles as they are moving and either grab in to them and then steal the vehicle in motion or you can rip people off of bikes as they are moving. You can also attach the grapple to one location and then another so as to , for example, stop a moving car by attaching it to a building. You also have a parachute that you can also use at any time and an infinite amount of times to fly over objects, to fly off from a buring plane etc. This game gives you the tools and sets you free. It is absolutely this most fun i've had in a free roaming sandbox style game. The first Just Cause was a great and fun game but this easilly trumps it in every way. Even though the game is huge you have the option of getting a lift to any location on the map as soon as you locate it. So you can simply fly over the location in a plane or helicopter and that location can forever after be flown to instantly at any time by using the 'Black market' system which is where you can also purchase weapons and vehicles for a price. The beauty is that the transportation is free and you can basically use it anytime you want (exceot during certain situations such as missions). If you like sandbox style games such as Grand Theft Auto you will love this game. In fact i will be so bold as to say that for me i feel that this game is even more fun than GTA. I can't remember when i was so addicted to one game before. At this stage in the game it an easy 10/10 for me. Expand
  28. BH
    Mar 24, 2010
    9
    WOW. This game rocks bad ass. I never thought that this gonna be such a great game but Avalanche just blew me away. The fantastic visuals, superb physic, very entertaining gameplay, best view distance and sightseeing fun ever are over the top. Let GTA look like pimpled teenager... To be fair: Story (incl. cutscenes) are better in GTA. But the rest --> go for Just Cause 2!
  29. OwenS
    Mar 28, 2010
    9
    Jalex D, I would recommend you go play Mass Effect 2 if all you focus on is story and depth. Just Cause 2 is not focused on those at all but it gives you the chance to do absolutely anything you could want. The only other game that comes close to the freedom you get in this game is Mercenaries 2, and that isn't even close. The best part of this game is that you can literally do Jalex D, I would recommend you go play Mass Effect 2 if all you focus on is story and depth. Just Cause 2 is not focused on those at all but it gives you the chance to do absolutely anything you could want. The only other game that comes close to the freedom you get in this game is Mercenaries 2, and that isn't even close. The best part of this game is that you can literally do anything you can think of, from flying a passenger airliner and jumping out letting it crash into enemies below you to jacking a helicopter while standing on the roof of a jeep. The graphics are amazing I must say (I use HDMI to a 52" newish Samsung). The changes in weather and time of day are breathtaking. You can just sit there and watch the day and night cycle with excellent lighting changes. Sunsets change to a rich array of colors (similar to sunsets here in Florida). From anywhere in the game, you can see just about the entire expanse of islands, all in great detail. Gameplay is really fun thanks to the grappling hook and parachute system. There is an unlimited number of possibilities with this combination. Overall a very amazing game! Expand
  30. kpat
    Mar 28, 2010
    8
    Just cause 2 is one of the most enjoyable sandbox games to this date. What will probably hook you, is the immense scale of the world. The ability to fly up to 3-4 km's in the sky, and then bailing out of your plane is just pure bliss. What also makes it interesting, is that much of the graphical levels aren't scaled back either. It actually looks better than GTA4 and scale is Just cause 2 is one of the most enjoyable sandbox games to this date. What will probably hook you, is the immense scale of the world. The ability to fly up to 3-4 km's in the sky, and then bailing out of your plane is just pure bliss. What also makes it interesting, is that much of the graphical levels aren't scaled back either. It actually looks better than GTA4 and scale is much much larger. The game play itself is pretty standard, aside from the parachute traveling. There are extraction points or like a cab in GTA4, so u don't have to necessarily travel by plane or parachute if you don't want to. Grappling around is pretty amusing in itself, adding the parachute option, just makes us wish we could all get around like that. There is little to no realism in this game, aside from the physics on some the vehicles and explosive content. My only problem with the game was the sheer repetitive mission structures. For the longest time i didn't feel like i was progressing through the game. Not saying there isn't a sense of achievement. There are tons of challenges in the world, which alone could take u days to complete. All in all, Just Cause 2 is a really fun game, but with limitations, don't expect to be blow away. Just prepare to have fun like when u first played GTA3. Expand
  31. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    This is what I would consider a gamer's idea of a vacation. You can do whatever you want and are surrounded by gorgeous graphics and a variety of locations. For those who love games like GTA, Spiderman, or Far Cry, try to imagine what it would be like if all three franchises combined. You get a massive sandbox to explore, you are given many gadgets, vehicles, and weapons, and the world isThis is what I would consider a gamer's idea of a vacation. You can do whatever you want and are surrounded by gorgeous graphics and a variety of locations. For those who love games like GTA, Spiderman, or Far Cry, try to imagine what it would be like if all three franchises combined. You get a massive sandbox to explore, you are given many gadgets, vehicles, and weapons, and the world is a beautiful chain of Islands. Whether you want to go cruising on a speed boat or shoot up a local gang of evil-doers or anything in-between, I guarantee you wont be board when you play this game. This game has a great charm that will keep you coming back for more. The only gripe some people may have with the game is the terrible voice acting and b-movie style, but in my opinion that is what makes this game so great. It isn't afraid to be over the top. If you ever wanted to be the star of the most ridiculous action movie ever made, this game is for you. Expand
  32. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    A fun game. The first wasn't that good. it needed a lot of improvement and this solves nearly all of those problems and makes it better. Look at it. The vibrations and all that **** was incredible. Id on't full on love it but it's nearly there
  33. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    Such an amazing game. I play this all the time. The freedom you have within the game is amazing. Just the thought alone that you can go away you look is incredible. The grappling hook is so useful, as is the parachute. This is one game that I won't ever get bored of.
  34. Nov 15, 2010
    7
    Just Cause 2 offers a large, destructible environment to spend hours exploring. It has fun and free game mechanics that allow you to explore a vast world through a grappling hook and plenty of parachutes. The world is fun to explore and exploring the cities to find things to blow up may be fun at times, even though it doesn't have a co-op, taking turns with friends and watching them is funJust Cause 2 offers a large, destructible environment to spend hours exploring. It has fun and free game mechanics that allow you to explore a vast world through a grappling hook and plenty of parachutes. The world is fun to explore and exploring the cities to find things to blow up may be fun at times, even though it doesn't have a co-op, taking turns with friends and watching them is fun and exciting if the player knows how to play properly. The characters may look choppy at times, but the graphics of the environment look amazing. Sadly, this overhaul does not make up for the campaign aspect of the game. The story isn't greatly written and gives the "Who died and made you king?" feeling. You must ally with multiple cults in the world to try and take down the "corrupt" ruler, who was appointed king once his father died. The voice acting is mediocre at best and feels like the characters are reading off the scripts half-asleep. All in all, you'll be playing this game for it's free-roaming aspect; the campaign is a burden added on so you could engage in missions to earn new features in the game to better the free-roaming experience. Expand
  35. Jan 5, 2016
    6
    All the game wants to do is deliver non-stop, explosive action. It gives us a massive world and a handful of toys to do just that. However dated gameplay, poor design choices, and frustrating mission objectives often get in the way.

    The core gameplay is pretty simplistic. It's just point and shoot in it's barest form. The idea is just to spray and pray while watching the world around
    All the game wants to do is deliver non-stop, explosive action. It gives us a massive world and a handful of toys to do just that. However dated gameplay, poor design choices, and frustrating mission objectives often get in the way.

    The core gameplay is pretty simplistic. It's just point and shoot in it's barest form. The idea is just to spray and pray while watching the world around you go boom. It's mindlessly entertaining, but when you begin to notice how you are just doing the same things over and over again throughout the course of the game the tedium sets in quickly.

    Developer Avalanche Studios gives us a massive world to explore. Probably the biggest one I've ever seen in a video game. It's certainly filled with a lot to do, but they boil down to the same objectives repeated ad nauseam. Fraction missions just boil down to escorts and destruction jobs. It all works and can provide some modest thrills here an there, but they can also be quite frustrating thanks to the endlessly spawning enemies that crowd certain locations and the military bases.

    While left to your own devices you just go around blowing up stuff and collecting upgrade items. That's really all there is to the open-world exploration. The game is massive and filled with towns, cities, and bases. The problem is that outside of the simple combat and the thrill on explosions there isn't really much exciting going on in this world. Your journeys to your next locations are often boring and, due to the size of the world, quite lengthy.

    Like I said before the size of the game's world is massive. A quick travel system is available to alleviate some of the suffering from the long treks, but if your objective is far away from any location you have already been to then you're just out of luck. Even in a jet you'll find yourself prone to some lengthy travel time. It wouldn't be so bad if the world were more interesting. Without things like wildlife or random events the game is surprisingly lifeless.

    Where the game shows the most variety is in it's main "Agency" missions that push the plot forward. The writing and voice acting are terrible, but the missions objectives can be a nice way to break up the monotony of the rest of the game. The problem is that the only way to unlock them (along with new fraction missions) is to cause and build up chaos. How do you do this? You go through the mind-numbing process of repeating the same side-missions and open-world destruction over and over again. The repetition sets in fast.

    The worst part is that the only reason the developer(s) lock of the content like this is just to artificially extend the length of the game. There are seven, rather brief main missions that could be completed in no time at all. It's a really irritating way to try and pad the game. Perhaps I would have enjoyed the side-content more if it didn't feel like I was being forced to grind through for an unnecessarily long amount of time in order to progress.

    As a whole the game is just missing that spark of excitement in it's content that other open-world games have. Add in an extra dose of frustration and the simplistic shoot and make things explode gameplay gets old much faster than it should. It's a perfectly acceptable open-world game and one where almost everything works (I did have one side-quest outright break on me). It even can provide some mindless, destructive fun. But with so many better, livelier, and just all around more enjoyable open-world games out there I don't really see much of a reason to give this one your time.
    Expand
  36. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    Very entertaining. I feel that it lacks a certain realism, especially in relation to stunts, which makes it somewhat ridiculous. You can have massive auto accidents and still hop right out of the car and walk away. Personally, this is my biggest issue.

    Overall, its pretty good. It keeps me entertained for hours.
  37. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    This has to be the best pure action game I have ever played. I spent over 137 hours exploring, consuming, and destroying this fantastic world. And the ending was epic. Do NOT finish this game right away! See everything you can, blow up all you can find. The races are fantastic, and the Easter Eggs are hilarious. Brilliant. I rarely give a 10.0, but this is well deserved!
  38. Jul 17, 2011
    8
    The two major strengths of Just Cause 2 are the huge open environments and the innovative grappling hook weapon. The game boasts a sprawling, diverse world that has a scope surpassing other sandbox games of this generation. There are plenty of vehicles to travel in the sky, land and sea and it is hugely entertaining to travel from place to place. The grappling hook adds a new element ofThe two major strengths of Just Cause 2 are the huge open environments and the innovative grappling hook weapon. The game boasts a sprawling, diverse world that has a scope surpassing other sandbox games of this generation. There are plenty of vehicles to travel in the sky, land and sea and it is hugely entertaining to travel from place to place. The grappling hook adds a new element of interaction with vehicles, enemies and the world in general. However, in other gameplay aspects, Just Cause 2 lags behind its competitors. The story is weak, with a forgettable cast of characters. Even set pieces that set out to excite fail to spark. Even with its unique grappling hook, combat feels stiff and bogs down exploration. Expand
  39. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best and most entertaining sandboxes I've ever played. Fun, addictive, and the map is insanely big. It's biggest con is maybe the main story, which is too short and too poor for a game of this proportions, secondary missions and stories are great though. I loved it.
  40. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome! It's so uberfun! The graphics are awesome, the world is big. The story isn't the best, this game is more about causing chaos, which is fun. The voice acting is so bad, that it makes Justin Bieber sound like an angel. Did I say, the voice acting is bad? But the game is awesome and fun, buy it if you can find it cheap somewhere!
  41. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Now after all the games I have played on current gen, this is still probably my favorite. I had a blast with this game from day 1, it's a game I'll hold near and dear forever. No other games offer this kind of over the top fun, endless freedom on such an awesome world to play on.
  42. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    As a serious game, Just Cause 2 is poorly designed. You will both live and die entirely on the game's whims, and your ability to run away when injured, rather than by using any actual skill. You will be constantly frustrated on missions that should be fun, but aren't, anymore, the moment you fail them the first time. You will be annoyed by a few glitches, and assaulted with accents so poorAs a serious game, Just Cause 2 is poorly designed. You will both live and die entirely on the game's whims, and your ability to run away when injured, rather than by using any actual skill. You will be constantly frustrated on missions that should be fun, but aren't, anymore, the moment you fail them the first time. You will be annoyed by a few glitches, and assaulted with accents so poor they'd put the cheesiest action movie to shame. However, there's something to be said for the complete and utter chaos that Just Cause 2 encourages, as well as its massive world, sheer plethora of vehicles, and of course the grappling hook. Once you get into it, this game will be great fun. Just know that running around the countryside wreaking havoc is much more entertaining than many of the frustrating and poorly paced missions. Expand
  43. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    It's not like just any other action game. The hook and unlimited parachutes make this game very interesting. Gotta say, the story is very short compared to the magnitude of the game map. Nevertheless, the game doesn't get boring. There are plenty of activities to do in Panau
  44. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    When it's all said and done , Just Cause 2 isn't by any means perfect . But it's definitely one of the most exhilarating and enjoyable rides the world of gaming has had to offer in a long , long time .
  45. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    This game just gets me. From the incredible graphics to the massive playground that is the game's map I am in love with this game. Is the story good? No. Is the dialog good writing? No. Are both of these things absolutely hilarious and part of the fun? Definitely. I have been staying up every night till 3 AM playing this game; going into work exhausted. If you like hugely openThis game just gets me. From the incredible graphics to the massive playground that is the game's map I am in love with this game. Is the story good? No. Is the dialog good writing? No. Are both of these things absolutely hilarious and part of the fun? Definitely. I have been staying up every night till 3 AM playing this game; going into work exhausted. If you like hugely open world games with tons of content and absolute freedom to do what you want to do then you will love this game too. The gun upgrade system is fun. The vehicles are fun. Everything is fun. Other reviews claimed that this game unsophisticated and for unsophisticaed people but I can assure you as someone who reads a great deal and has a fulltime job in a very technical, sophisticaed field that if you are a fun person you will find this game a blast. Expand
  46. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    If you like sandbox games you will love this one, not as famous as GTA series but probably one of the best I have tried. You can do almost everything, flight planes & helicopters, drive cars, bikes, boats land on a flying zeppelin, swim over and below the water, etc, etc
    Amazing game!!
  47. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    Try the demo for this game. It is a good taste of the full game. I was hooked by the demo. This game is a sandbox of destruction and mayhem. The story is zany in a good way (don't take it seriously). The gunplay thankfully has a little bit of aim-assist to help out (not sure if you can turn this off?) There are some frustrating sequences near the end (on normal difficulty) but the game isTry the demo for this game. It is a good taste of the full game. I was hooked by the demo. This game is a sandbox of destruction and mayhem. The story is zany in a good way (don't take it seriously). The gunplay thankfully has a little bit of aim-assist to help out (not sure if you can turn this off?) There are some frustrating sequences near the end (on normal difficulty) but the game is fun enough to keep trying. This game won't please everyone (try the demo) but if you like it, you can spend 30+ hours playing around. Annoyance: the never ending enemy reinforcements. The engine is top-tier. This game has a certain indefinable "fun factor" that kept me playing to completion. Expand
  48. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    The demo encouraged me to buy Just Cause 2. I bought this game and it is 10 times better than the demo. The planes are fantastic and the urge to free roam just doesn't die down even after months. There is so much to do, it is virtually impossible to get 100% completion. I had a 23 hour playing time while only playing 2 story missions and not even one faction mission, that is how fun theThe demo encouraged me to buy Just Cause 2. I bought this game and it is 10 times better than the demo. The planes are fantastic and the urge to free roam just doesn't die down even after months. There is so much to do, it is virtually impossible to get 100% completion. I had a 23 hour playing time while only playing 2 story missions and not even one faction mission, that is how fun the game is to actually free roam, so much more than games such as Red Dead Redemption and Grand Theft Auto. The map is massive and although some bits feel like they are the same, some bits you can tell have been uniquely designed e.g. Panau International Airport. The story itself is not the best and the agency missions are slightly repetitive and easy but to judge the game on a whole I would say 8/10 because of the size of the map, the variety of the map, the variety of vehicles and the variety of things to do. A must buy! Expand
  49. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games this generation. It's so much fun with so many things to do and see. The grappling hook is quality. It's a 10/10 game. Hope they do a just cause 3!
  50. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I love this game. It is just great because of the amount of purely FUNNY things. It is theoretically a pretty bad game BUT the bad things are just purely FUNNY not truly bad (like game crashing etc.). Overall I rated it 9/10 because of the hilarious dialogue, all the funny bugs/glitches and also because of how awesome the gameplay is.
  51. May 30, 2012
    10
    Best open world, best action game. Lots to do even more to kill. An absolute must play.
    And one the the greatest game ever made. Thank you Avalanche and please make another one
  52. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    With this title i feel as though it did good on almost all of what it tried to bring to you, but what it didnt get across well just brought it down a lot. One major thing that i loved and had a very big problem with was the chaos/quest feature. The game glorifies its nonsensical explosions and allows players who just like to destroy stuff the free will to do so. However i feel this is alsoWith this title i feel as though it did good on almost all of what it tried to bring to you, but what it didnt get across well just brought it down a lot. One major thing that i loved and had a very big problem with was the chaos/quest feature. The game glorifies its nonsensical explosions and allows players who just like to destroy stuff the free will to do so. However i feel this is also its major downfall. I mainly play games for the story and what i didn't like about this was that it made destroying things mandatory to both get item's and gain quests. This feature honestly was good at first since it gave reason to blowing everything up, but eventually it makes just blowing things up seem very repetitive. For example to do basically anything related to its storyline you must first blow up many things. The game tried to make you feel like a badass trying to help the populace but if the blowing up military objects to gain quests and money wasn't mandatory then this game would be easily deserving of a ten. Expand
  53. Sep 22, 2012
    8
    A great game with only a few flaws that prevent it from getting a 9.
    The Good:
    - MASSIVE game world. Not only does it look huge, it feels huge: several large islands, smaller islands, sandbars, oil rigs... one island is even a "Lost"-inspired easter egg! - Open world chaos. The game is way more chaotic and allows you to destroy way more than GTA or Saint's Row. - Grappling hook! If you
    A great game with only a few flaws that prevent it from getting a 9.
    The Good:
    - MASSIVE game world. Not only does it look huge, it feels huge: several large islands, smaller islands, sandbars, oil rigs... one island is even a "Lost"-inspired easter egg!
    - Open world chaos. The game is way more chaotic and allows you to destroy way more than GTA or Saint's Row.
    - Grappling hook! If you can see it, you can grapple to it: grappling allows you to hijack vehicles, climb mountains, traverse large distances quickly using your parachute, and cause mayhem by attaching two objects together (e.g. connect a vehicle that's pursuing you to the ground, and watch it go flying).
    - The game world is incredibly detailed.
    - There are few glitches, which is great, especially considering the size of the game. The only ones I've noticed are silly: AI problems, like aircraft flying into the side of very tall buildings.

    The Bad:
    - Vehicle handling is terrible. Cars, for instance, drive like they're on ice: if you move the analog stick even slightly, cars practically spin out of control. However, motorbikes handle better in this game than any other game I've played. Helicopters are a nuisance to control, relying on the position of the camera to turn the vehicle instead of GTA's LB/RB to control rotation. Planes are also very difficult to control: more realistic, where you have to roll the plane to turn, and roll back to straighten out. So why the realism for everything except cars?
    - The graphics can be ugly. The actual game world itself looks great, as do some of the main characters. Even some of the weapons are detailed, like the Assault Rifle. Vehicles, though, look like plastic models. And, while there are some really detailed weapons, you can sometimes position the camera in such a way that you get close-ups of other weapons. Weapons, like the Submachine Gun, that are very, very basic and have very low-resolution textures.
    - The police AI is terrible. They spawn on top of you the second you fire a weapon or cause damage; they don't act like the police in GTA, instead the Panauan military just comes in and shoots you. Which might not be so bad except for the fact that, unlike Niko Bellic in GTA, the U.S.' highly-specialized soldier in Just Cause 2 can't actually drive a car and fire a weapon at the same time.

    Just Cause 2 is, really, such a good game. But there are just a few flaws - flaws that become more noticeable as you spend more time in the game - that prevent it from being great.
    Expand
  54. Jan 4, 2015
    7
    The game plays and feels like Far Cry 3, GTA, and Mercenaries 2, all of which I've played.
    I found it kind of boring and some of the challenges difficult to complete, and some I just gave up trying to finish.
  55. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    This game's pretty good. Roaming around and causing chaos is fun especially when you have nice stunts and weapons. The gameplay is nice though and has good graphics. After awhile though the game got a bit repetitive because I wanted to cause as much Chaos as I can before finishing the storyline. But still this is a great game that can entertain you for a long time.
  56. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    This game is big and has a lot of value for the money, but it's story is embarrassingly bad. The map is amazing. It has mountains, deserts, big cities, small villages, and clubs. There was enough to do to make me play 100+ hours overall. The story, however, is terrible. It basically consists of a gang leader driving up to you, giving you a weapon, and getting an objective. There's alsoThis game is big and has a lot of value for the money, but it's story is embarrassingly bad. The map is amazing. It has mountains, deserts, big cities, small villages, and clubs. There was enough to do to make me play 100+ hours overall. The story, however, is terrible. It basically consists of a gang leader driving up to you, giving you a weapon, and getting an objective. There's also some run-ins with a rogue agent. Overall, this is an amazing game and I recommend it to anybody. Expand
  57. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This game is far from perfect. Very far from perfect. But holy crap is it fun.

    Imagine taking a fighter jet, crashing it an enemy base, only then to zip-line into the base to attack the remaining forces. It's a balls-to-the-wall action game, and it's awesome.
  58. Apr 3, 2013
    7
    Had this game on the PC a few years back and truly loved it. When I got an Xbox 360 I thought I'd go grab it but never quite got around to until just recently. A perfect game to play from the comfy TV sofa on a huge flat screen TV Even though the game is brilliant with it's open world design and opportunity for total mayhem of senseless destruction it has one huge flaw; the controls. TheyHad this game on the PC a few years back and truly loved it. When I got an Xbox 360 I thought I'd go grab it but never quite got around to until just recently. A perfect game to play from the comfy TV sofa on a huge flat screen TV Even though the game is brilliant with it's open world design and opportunity for total mayhem of senseless destruction it has one huge flaw; the controls. They are slow, inaccurate and annoying. Even with the aim assist enabled I have a hard time killing stuff while the enemy has no problems at all blowing my sorry ass up I really love this game, but it just brings out the darkest gaming side of me while trying to fly an airplane under a bridge, skydive onto a passing airplane or blowing stuff up with a helicopter. In the PC version, I could throw myself out of a burning helicopter and hook onto the enemies chopper to highjack it with ease... Now I constantly hit the ground, land with the parachute and get shot up or need to take cover before getting killed, all because of the slow controls. Mabye it's not an issue for everyone, but it sure is for me.. It's a great game and it really deserves the high rating and I WANT to play it, but I might better not Expand
  59. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Anyone who loves the sweet old blowing stuff up will adore this game. I know I do. And it rewards you for doing exactly that. Sure, the story can sometimes be corny or cliche, but its suppose to be, as it is trying to represent a 1980s action movie. There is also a crazy amount of stuff to do, and a lot of it. I will take you FOREVER to 100% this game with all the places to blow up and theAnyone who loves the sweet old blowing stuff up will adore this game. I know I do. And it rewards you for doing exactly that. Sure, the story can sometimes be corny or cliche, but its suppose to be, as it is trying to represent a 1980s action movie. There is also a crazy amount of stuff to do, and a lot of it. I will take you FOREVER to 100% this game with all the places to blow up and the collectibles. There are also a ton of creative side missions (faction missions) to complete. Although the opening scene when you first start one gets rather boring. This is a perfect example of a game that encourages you to do your own thing instead of the game doing it for you. I do have a few gripes, however. Like for example, the checkpoint system is not very good. Also the camera can get in the way sometimes. But these are all minor gripes to a otherwise awesome game. Expand
  60. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    hours of repitive but fun gameplay. the story is your average b rated movie. the grappling hook is great improvement compared to the first game. just cause 2 isnt bad for 20-30 dollars
  61. May 10, 2013
    9
    Just Cause 2 is one of my favorite games of this generation. The open world is enormous and there is so much to discover. The graphics are beautiful especially when the sun is setting and rising. There is a wide variety of unique vehicles from helicopters, planes to boats and even a hot air balloon. The story line is some what lacking but that doesn't deter from the fun. Oh did I mentionJust Cause 2 is one of my favorite games of this generation. The open world is enormous and there is so much to discover. The graphics are beautiful especially when the sun is setting and rising. There is a wide variety of unique vehicles from helicopters, planes to boats and even a hot air balloon. The story line is some what lacking but that doesn't deter from the fun. Oh did I mention you can also blow up stuff? Yea, that is another cool aspect of Just Cause 2. You can earn chaos when you blow up pretty much anything in the game and wreak enough havoc across the island of Panau. I would highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good fun game with a lack of storyline that is set on mostly destroying things and killing enemies. 9/10 Expand
  62. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Quizás, y posiblemente el mejor juego hasta la fecha, aunque muy cerca de obras como Skirym o San Andreas, pero este juego conecta un mapa enorme, explosiones, vehículos de todo tipo un gancho que puede usarse de mil maneras, secretos, aldeas escondidas, una historia épica, climas cambiantes, desiertos, montañas, prados, mares, islas, zonas urbanas,...... Se va ha necesitar muchísimoQuizás, y posiblemente el mejor juego hasta la fecha, aunque muy cerca de obras como Skirym o San Andreas, pero este juego conecta un mapa enorme, explosiones, vehículos de todo tipo un gancho que puede usarse de mil maneras, secretos, aldeas escondidas, una historia épica, climas cambiantes, desiertos, montañas, prados, mares, islas, zonas urbanas,...... Se va ha necesitar muchísimo trabajo y esfuerzo poder superar este título. Expand
  63. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Just Cause 2 is a must own game! it's beautiful, it's unique, it's humorous, it's immersive, and it's the best game I have ever played! Just Cause 2 came out in mid year 2010 and the current year is 2014 and just Cause 2 in still on the top of my list (for 4 years)! If you're bored of all of your other video games, then you'd better hope you have Just Cause 2 sitting in your gamingJust Cause 2 is a must own game! it's beautiful, it's unique, it's humorous, it's immersive, and it's the best game I have ever played! Just Cause 2 came out in mid year 2010 and the current year is 2014 and just Cause 2 in still on the top of my list (for 4 years)! If you're bored of all of your other video games, then you'd better hope you have Just Cause 2 sitting in your gaming library. One time, I gathered all of my friends to watch me play just Cause 2 and we would take turns by death. Here is what disappoints me majorly; "critics" giving Just Cause 2 a(n) average game rating or a poor game rating. That disappoints me. This game is so mind blowing! I love this game; and it was the best video game ever made! Don't doubt me, just cause 2 has it boundaries and bugs, but it's nothing major nor is it game breaking. This game even beat Grand Theft Auto: V and Grand Theft Auto: V: online! Despite Just Cause 2 has no multiplayer, it's still the best game ever. The reason why Avalanche Studios never put multiplayer is because they were rushed into putting the game into submission. Just Cause 2 was suppose to be released in 2009, but Avalanche needed more time so the made it 2010 then they launched the flawless gem. Just Cause 2 (In my opinion) got the Game of a lifetime award and can not be missed! Buy Just Cause 2 TODAY! And if you want to enhance you Just cause 2 gaming experience, buy the DLC + the Prima Games manual. You won't regret it. Expand
  64. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    The serenity when flying around exploring the environments is what writes this game down as a winner!, with a massive playground, fun gameplay in "active" explosive militant missions are very enjoyable, The story, robotic characters/voices is the games weakness but luckily enough for this genre just cause can get away with it as its spectacular environment and action packed gameplayThe serenity when flying around exploring the environments is what writes this game down as a winner!, with a massive playground, fun gameplay in "active" explosive militant missions are very enjoyable, The story, robotic characters/voices is the games weakness but luckily enough for this genre just cause can get away with it as its spectacular environment and action packed gameplay overides this, Ai also are a bit derpish but it is kind of funny how they always act like this when u are holding them under attack dangling them from your grapple hook and watching them squirm is just great, i remember hearing 'scorpio,scorpo,scorpo,scorpio dub over many times, just great! Expand
  65. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    Just Cause 2 had done complete rennovation in terms of graphics gameplay and the size of the map as compared to its preceedors. JC2 is one of the largest open world game in console history. everything is eye candy in this game. missions felt a bit repetitive collecting suitcases took almost two months. completed this game 100% in 3 months. the only downfall i had to dump every jet iJust Cause 2 had done complete rennovation in terms of graphics gameplay and the size of the map as compared to its preceedors. JC2 is one of the largest open world game in console history. everything is eye candy in this game. missions felt a bit repetitive collecting suitcases took almost two months. completed this game 100% in 3 months. the only downfall i had to dump every jet i purchased as i could never land any jet on the ground waste of hard earned money starting again from checkpoint is frustrating. overall 8 is my rating Expand
  66. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    This game is just crazy on a disc, imagine if saints row was in a jungle island on a HUGE map, and you have a small idea of what the game is like. The biggest piece of advice i can give you is don't buy this game if your expecting serious story lines and serious game play.

    The game is basically a crazy sandbox game and you may or may not play the story missions, but to unlock those
    This game is just crazy on a disc, imagine if saints row was in a jungle island on a HUGE map, and you have a small idea of what the game is like. The biggest piece of advice i can give you is don't buy this game if your expecting serious story lines and serious game play.

    The game is basically a crazy sandbox game and you may or may not play the story missions, but to unlock those mission requires chaos points which you get by blowing up military bases, or a towns water supply, or propaganda of the islands sadistic dictator. this can be achieved with (but not limited to) a winch that can be attached to anything. (chaos fun tip: if you're getting chased by the military attached one end of the winch to the car and another to the road and watch as the car gets pulled back and do a bunch of back flips)

    In short, if you want a game that will kill about 12 hours, cause a whole lot of creative ways to blow things up (chaos fun tip: I like taking off an airport just behind an aeroplane and attaching both planes together and they will slowly spiral into the mountains or ocean) this is the game for you, you crazy maniac you.
    Expand
  67. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Just Cause 2 is a game that's gives you the ability to cause mass destruction single-handedly then throws you into a map the size of a country and says "enjoy". The main tool at your disposal is the grappling hook and what fun it is, having the ability to hook any movable object to another and a bit of imagination can go a long way. There are explosive canisters that shoot directly intoJust Cause 2 is a game that's gives you the ability to cause mass destruction single-handedly then throws you into a map the size of a country and says "enjoy". The main tool at your disposal is the grappling hook and what fun it is, having the ability to hook any movable object to another and a bit of imagination can go a long way. There are explosive canisters that shoot directly into the air which cause hilarity when hooked to an enemy, the ability to drag boulders and smaller cars along the streets crashing them into traffic, you can even hook a plane to the runway just as it's taking off to make it crash. Any vehicle can be stolen and used including tanks, attack choppers and planes, you can even ride on the nose of a plane into a building, using the parachute to get away at the last minute. The map is huge (maybe too big and really stretches the limits of what is an acceptable size of a sandbox) and is scattered with mountains that can also provide a lot of entertainment as you try to keep control of a fast car speeding down the side of a snowy mountain. I could go on forever about the fun that can be had with this game and that is why it earns game of the year, all three contenders for game of the year have been sandbox games and the other two defiantly have much better storylines and are much better paced, structured and characterized (Just Cause 2's story being piss poor) but overall they just can't provide the fun that this game can. Expand
  68. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    Just Cause 2 is a fun open world game, focused on an entertaining gimmick in the main character’s grappling hook. Unfortunately, the game has some clunky mechanics when traversing the terrain that get in the way of a tight, seamless feel. Right off the bat, would it have been so hard to include a few extra animations where Rico can pull himself up a ledge? I expect that to be includedJust Cause 2 is a fun open world game, focused on an entertaining gimmick in the main character’s grappling hook. Unfortunately, the game has some clunky mechanics when traversing the terrain that get in the way of a tight, seamless feel. Right off the bat, would it have been so hard to include a few extra animations where Rico can pull himself up a ledge? I expect that to be included in most third person games by 2010, just for the convenience of the player in a game that’s centered around the character’s acrobatics. I have trouble believing this guy, flying through the air like a **** Barnum and Bailey trapeze artist on meth, can’t jump onto a ledge that’s an extra foot or so higher than his vertical jump. Unless he’s just got bad knees. Then my bad for making him think about his bad knees.

    And while the hook and parachute diversion is fun, the game leaves you desiring the things it lacks that other similar games flaunt. All I could think of is how fun it would be if EVERYTHING was destructable, a la recent Red Faction games, or if the weapons had more “oomph” to them, like the genre-cousin Mercenaries. The only reason I give it a somewhat respectable score is the sheer number of awesome moments that can be created when not giving in to the game’s clear-cut mission progression. Jumping outside of and airwalking on the wings of a plane while a dozen enemy soldiers are firing at you is awesome. Dancing around the body of the plane while attaching two enemy helicopters together with both ends of the grappling hook is double awesome. Turning helicopter one into a deadweight with some c4, and watching momentarily unscathed helicopter two be dragged to a fiery mountain death is just the cherry on top this hollow testosterone cake.

    The game really tricks your mind into thinking it has a ton of replayability just by the size of the map, when one minute you can be down on the sandy tropical beaches, and another minute up in the snow capped mountains. Unfortunately, with all that territory to cover, the environments just feel empty; the towns, cities, and villages for the most part are just devoid of any real substance. Don’t get me wrong. There’s all sorts of goodies to find, from armor/weapon/vehicle power-ups, to new vehicles themselves, to entirely new locations. It’s just that aside from blowing up government-owned property, there’s not much else to do with this gem but progress through the seen-it-five-zillion-times story. It feels like so much work went into trying to create an original action-oriented, fluid control scheme for Rico, and his expansive playground, that not enough effort was put in to trying to figure out what tasks could be done with this awesome ability.

    I can’t argue that it isn’t fun though along the way, but I really wish I had more to do with this provided artillery. What won’t ever get old though is nudging my Filipino wife every time one of the character’s speaks and going, “sounds like you!”, even though the voices sound more like white guys doing racist impressions of Asians than actual inhabitants of southeast Asia.

    Is it worth it at the current amazon price of $18.31? I’d say no. Play something else, and wait for it to get a little cheaper. Don’t want to wait? It’s now 2014, and this came out in 2010, so it doesn’t seem you were in too big a rush to play it, anyway.
    Expand
  69. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    It's a prodigious effort; the graphics are immersive, the hero is campy, yet so goddamn epic, and the gameplay techniques are enticing, plus the mesmeric and awe-inspiring free-roaming unrestrictedly adds a often entertaining and fun-for-all gameplay-mode to the miss. Despite this great start, the only reason Just Cause 2, the sequel to a unheard of Just Cause, is not a ten, is for theIt's a prodigious effort; the graphics are immersive, the hero is campy, yet so goddamn epic, and the gameplay techniques are enticing, plus the mesmeric and awe-inspiring free-roaming unrestrictedly adds a often entertaining and fun-for-all gameplay-mode to the miss. Despite this great start, the only reason Just Cause 2, the sequel to a unheard of Just Cause, is not a ten, is for the simple fact that the ineluctably dull story mode is egregious, unappealing, and just plain boring. Expand
  70. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    This game isn't bad the but let's be realistic. JC2, lacks a lot in a lot of areas. Looking at these user scores I can tell Just Cause 2 is very overrated game.

    The map, is very big 400 square mile. However it lifeless. I'm not talking about how rural, I'm talking about how they have a huge desert, snowy moutains, a city, jugles, and woods, but there's no immersion. There aren't NPCs
    This game isn't bad the but let's be realistic. JC2, lacks a lot in a lot of areas. Looking at these user scores I can tell Just Cause 2 is very overrated game.

    The map, is very big 400 square mile. However it lifeless. I'm not talking about how rural, I'm talking about how they have a huge desert, snowy moutains, a city, jugles, and woods, but there's no immersion. There aren't NPCs in areas, and there's no wild life. I had problem with that.

    The gameplay is very repetitive, and so is the storyline. They look up to Rico like he some god. The grappling hook was cool. Climbing up moutains, jum cars and planes but it's repetitive and get very boring and it's the best way around the map.

    The physics mechanics are bad. The driving is totally stiff, and cartoonish, the flying is like Saint's Row's, and boats handle retardedly. And the guns have no recoil, or pump actiion whatsoever.

    The AI is horrible also, esppecailly the noriety system. Shoot someone out of nowhere, they come everytime.

    The game isn't bad but slighty above average.
    Expand
  71. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    In order to understand Just Cause 2, you need to understand chaos. This game is all about doing sweet stunts, using the grappling hook to attach enemies to gas canisters , and send them flying to orbit to save the Philae lander that is dead on that comet.
  72. May 15, 2015
    9
    i know an old game BUT i HAD to join and give it a 5 * BEST game ive played so far, usually play shooter games and enjoyed loads - this one is so much that and more, learning a lot of FUN skills..im NOT even 1/4 of the way through and i cant get away from it..spending hr ans hrs of action and thrills - a HUGE thumbs up to the production and the chuckles i get from the humor, too - i willi know an old game BUT i HAD to join and give it a 5 * BEST game ive played so far, usually play shooter games and enjoyed loads - this one is so much that and more, learning a lot of FUN skills..im NOT even 1/4 of the way through and i cant get away from it..spending hr ans hrs of action and thrills - a HUGE thumbs up to the production and the chuckles i get from the humor, too - i will say i miss leaning against walls and staying crouched without holding the button but (my only complaints) the graphics are superior to none - im a novice at gaming, and THIS game will have been worth my wait whilst only forking out a few bucks for the BANG!! lol

    enjoy kids, you won't regret...oh and, if your afraid of heights , do NOT play this game.. lol
    Expand
  73. Jul 6, 2015
    4
    Just Cause 2 is personally one of my most hated games ever! Thank God I only spent $20! Allow me to continue...

    Story - The storyline is absolutely non-existent in this game. There are roughly 10 story missions which would take 2-3 hours tops to complete if they weren't locked behind open world requirements in which you had to destroy X amount of **** to unlock them. Voice Acting -
    Just Cause 2 is personally one of my most hated games ever! Thank God I only spent $20! Allow me to continue...

    Story - The storyline is absolutely non-existent in this game. There are roughly 10 story missions which would take 2-3 hours tops to complete if they weren't locked behind open world requirements in which you had to destroy X amount of **** to unlock them.

    Voice Acting - It is horrendous and cringe worthy. Any line of dialog made me want to puke, not literally but you get what I mean. The dialog is that bad that I cannot find any other words to describe it.

    World - Is massive, maybe a little too big and areas such as the sandy desert, snowy mountains and forest are very bland particularly between key locations and areas of interest. Only the military bases where some effort has been put in to make them feel unique, emphasize some. However the open world's main downfall is that it is absolutely dead. There is barely traffic on the roads and civilians are nowhere to be seen even in the city region.

    Driving - Is crap and clunky.

    Shooting - Is crap and clunky.

    Destruction/Chaos - Nothing that couldn't be done in a GTA game which offers more than just mind numbing destruction.

    All this game offers is mind numbing destruction which loses it appeal very quickly especially when the mechanics to carry out such a feat are clunky as hell.

    If you are one of those guys who enjoys a story as an integral part of their experience then this game is not for you. If you have grown out of the nostalgic boyhood days when playing GTA where you used to run around causing absolute mayhem for no particular reason, then this game is definitely not for you!!! Game offers nothing other than destruction which gets tiring after 10 hours.
    Expand
  74. Sep 27, 2015
    9
    Just Cause 2 is one of the greatest gaming experiences I've had in a long time. It is a vast improvement to the original, and it offers hours of silliness and fun.

    You play as CIA agent Rico Rodriguez, and you have been sent to the island of Panau to destabilize a corrupt government, and deal with the evil dictator Baby Panay. Along the way you join up with some rebel factions and a
    Just Cause 2 is one of the greatest gaming experiences I've had in a long time. It is a vast improvement to the original, and it offers hours of silliness and fun.

    You play as CIA agent Rico Rodriguez, and you have been sent to the island of Panau to destabilize a corrupt government, and deal with the evil dictator Baby Panay. Along the way you join up with some rebel factions and a character who is the most stereotypical American ever. Three out of four missions are incredibly enjoyable, and the rest can still generate some amusement. In all the campaign will last you anywhere from 20-30 hours.

    To unlock these missions you must complete the incredibly repetitive 'stronghold takeovers', which you must complete two or three of them for each faction. The objectives in each one are identical, so they get boring very quickly. To unlock the stronghold takeovers you have to cause chaos, which means exploring the absurdly huge and surprisingly diverse map, and how you cause chaos is up to you. You could steal a plane and crash it into a statue of the dictator, you could go to an enemy base, use a mini-gun and go berserk. It's up to you. Infact causing chaos in free-roam is the best part of this game in my opinion.

    Technically this game isn't as polished as, say Grand Theft Auto or Call of Duty. There are an embarrassing amount of audio glitches and you can easily get stuck in buildings. However, the graphics are amazing and the aesthetics are absolutely astonishing. Everything from the water, to the weather, and the large amount of vehicles look visually stunning. This game also has some mechanics that make it stand above the rest of AAA releases. You have an awesome grappling hook, which lets you instantly attach to any surface within range. Another feature is the ability to open an infinite number of parachutes from thin air. This means you grapple to a surface, and whilst you're sailing through the air you can open your parachute, and pull yourself along the ground with the grappling hook, gaining momentum as you go. You could possibly even get across the map without ever touching the ground if you tried.

    Anyone who gave this game a low score probably has no sense of fun, and is likely to also complain about the game being unrealistic. And if you favour realism over fun then you probably think this game is awful. But if you prefer to have fun in your videogames, or if you're sick of realistic and gritty games in general, you'll love this game. I've put in 54 hours, I've completed the story and there's still 50% of the game to go. You could alternatively wait for Just Cause 3, however.
    Expand
  75. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    I felt as since Just Cause 3 will release in two days, why not write a review on one of the best open world sandbox games ever made? Just Cause 2 is absolutley **** crazy. It's so enjoyable to grapple your foes and send hurdling to their demise. With a grappling hook, a parachute and the ability to become Michael Bay, this game truly is fantastic. (Just don't play it for the story) TheI felt as since Just Cause 3 will release in two days, why not write a review on one of the best open world sandbox games ever made? Just Cause 2 is absolutley **** crazy. It's so enjoyable to grapple your foes and send hurdling to their demise. With a grappling hook, a parachute and the ability to become Michael Bay, this game truly is fantastic. (Just don't play it for the story) The gameplay is the reason you purchase this. However, I think by the time the sequal comes out, this game may not even be necessary. Expand
  76. Apr 15, 2017
    5
    Une aire de jeu immense et on doit saluer les qualités techniques et artistiques du moteur 3D d'Avalanche Studios, les bases, les villages, les **** aéroports ici et là, la configuration de l'archipel, le cycle jour-nuit évidemment, la météo, la distance de vue... du beau travail. Quelques temps de chargement pour les missions certes mais rien de rédhibitoire. La musique est de bon aloi etUne aire de jeu immense et on doit saluer les qualités techniques et artistiques du moteur 3D d'Avalanche Studios, les bases, les villages, les **** aéroports ici et là, la configuration de l'archipel, le cycle jour-nuit évidemment, la météo, la distance de vue... du beau travail. Quelques temps de chargement pour les missions certes mais rien de rédhibitoire. La musique est de bon aloi et la VF bien que caricaturale fait le boulot (elle reste dans l'esprit du jeu, totalement caricaturale).

    Le grappin est une riche idée tout comme le parachute intégré mais le personnage n'a malheureusement pas la mobilité d'un Assassin's Creed ou d'un Infamous, loin de là : incapable d'escalader quoi que ce soit ou d'enjamber la moindre balustrade, c'est souvent pénible, car le saut ne s'adapte pas à l'environnement. La maniabilité est par contre celle d'un bon TPS lors des combats.

    En vérité, dans le genre du monde ouvert, il n'arrive pas à la cheville d'un Far Cry 3. D'abord parce qu'il est définitivement trop répétitif, trop bourrin et con avec ses hordes d'ennemis qui ne cessent de réapparaître dans votre dos, ensuite parce ce qu'on manque souvent de munitions et que pour s'en procurer, il faut les acheter (en achetant carrément les flingues à chaque fois !) via le marché noir et se les faire héliporter par le truchement d'un menu et d'une cinématique aussi lents que mal foutus.

    Si on s'éclate bien à tout faire péter avec un hélicoptère, il faut ramer longtemps avant de pouvoir avoir le sien à disposition (et de le faire livrer par le truchement du même menu mal foutu). A cet égard, Just Cause 2 est loin d'être aussi souple et marrant qu'un Saints Row 3 ou 4. Il est en fait aussi chiant et lourd qu'un Far Cry 2... Enfin, on ne peut pas *tout* détruire, dommage !
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    80
    As a high-octane action game this is among the best in recent memory. Everything it does falls just the right side of ludicrously fun, so that it's hard to really criticize anything too harshly...Only the tiniest of niggles drag what is an excellent game back to earth. [Issue#56, p.77]
  2. One of the most enjoyable sandboxes for players to experiment in this side of Grand Theft Auto. [Issue#204, p.86]
  3. Just Cause 2 can hardly be called an average game. It's a good one undermined by a selection of mediocre elements, and it's all the more frustrating this time around because Avalanche shows us glimpses of just how much fun two weeks on holiday with Rico should be. [Apr 2010, p.96]