Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is a raw and brutal crime shooter designed to take players on an even more intense story experience, following two of gaming's most disturbed criminals, through the gritty Shanghai underworld.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 80
  2. Negative: 11 out of 80
  1. A lovingly crafted, full-bodied shooter. [Sept 2010]
  2. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is a superior sequel; a game that I enjoyed much more than the original, both in story and presentation style, and thankfully they worked in the online co-op.
  3. I can't say I disagree; while this game serves up some very unique and gritty visuals, the story and action just don't come together like they should.
  4. A by-the-numbers sequel elevated to almost-play status by its terrific multiplayer. [Nov 2010, p.97]
  5. If your preference is single-player or co-op, Dog Days' lack of personality (both in the characters and on the battlefield) results in one of the blandest shooters out there. Given how little the story matters, Mickey Mouse and Donald Duck could have been swapped in as the protagonists and I probably wouldn't have noticed.
  6. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is an interesting beast because it really shouldn't exist. Outside of a unique art style it brings nothing new to the genre and does little to improve over the original game, which I might add, was far from a good game.
  7. I actually cannot think of a single positive thing to say about the game, and the fact that I have been rooting for this IP from the moment the first game was announced just makes it all the more infuriating. I wished nothing but the best for Kane & Lynch as a series, but the appalling nature of Dog Days confirms to me that this franchise will never be what it deserves to be.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 36
  2. Negative: 22 out of 36
  1. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This game is not so bad. Forget the review scores. Let your mind go, relax, drink beer, chill out and blast your way through a catharticThis game is not so bad. Forget the review scores. Let your mind go, relax, drink beer, chill out and blast your way through a cathartic experience. Forget ya troubles, just shot and kill. Who knows, ya might get a promotion.... Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best online co-op campaign games I have played. If you enjoyed the co-op experiences of Gears of War and Left 4 Dead then IThis is one of the best online co-op campaign games I have played. If you enjoyed the co-op experiences of Gears of War and Left 4 Dead then I highly recommend this game.

    Forget the hideous experience of the first game, that was the first game that I remembered that got the characterisation, graphics and story perfectly but forgot about the game play. Kane & Lynch Dog Days completely rebuilt the original game and has made it much more of a shooter as opposed to a squad based shooter with bad AI.

    The graphics are brilliant, even though it would be nice to be able to turn off the you-tube-esque pixelisation. This does add to the overall atmosphere of the game though.

    There is no score which sometimes bothers me, but this time it works, just using lots of ambient noise from around the city you are in.

    The game is essentially a collection of battles but when played on the hardest setting with an appropriate friend this can be a truly visceral experience. Being held down by enemy fire whilst your buddy attempts to flank them is great fun. Bullets flying past your head can be heard in all corners of your surround sound.

    The A.I. of the enemy is very good. Many times we would play a section through thinking we knew exactly what was going to happen and the enemy would surprise us by flanking us or coming from a different point of attack.

    I truly enjoyed this title and look forward to the next adventures of this egregious pair.
    Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Contrary to popular belief (or posts) this game is not as horrid as everyone makes it out to be. While I do admit that Kane and Lynch 2 hasContrary to popular belief (or posts) this game is not as horrid as everyone makes it out to be. While I do admit that Kane and Lynch 2 has its fair share of bugs, it makes up for it in story and characters. These two characters are the closest gamers will get to something as gritty and "funny" as someone Tarantino fabricated. The game is very mature and it knows it. It doesn't hold any of it's punches (aside from obvious nudity i.e. lower human regions, that would otherwise give it an AO rating.) This game is a killer rent, while I admit it does not deserve the full list price it does at least deserve a 10 dollar rental at Blockbuster. It is enjoyable from start to finish. However, don't play on Extreme, you get killed in 2 shots, the AI is overly aggressive and it makes the game feel as worse as the slander that everyone has said. Play it. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    3
    Having seen the previews and some early footage i had a genuine feeling that this may be something of a new direction for games.Much was madeHaving seen the previews and some early footage i had a genuine feeling that this may be something of a new direction for games.Much was made of the grainy graphics,adult theme and hand held camera work,and admittedly on the demo this was a very exciting and interesting prospect,however after buying the game i realised that's where the fun stopped.Although the first couple of hours were quite exciting,nothing actually happened-ok there were some interesting cut scenes ,but im not happy to pay for those when the game happens to be so poor . i can understand how this may seem like a slightly odd statement to make but this game was a complete let down.Maybe i got sucked in by the hype,maybe i just fancied something different,i felt really let down, I paid forty quid for this game...40 QUID.Go into an area-shoot the bad guys -move on and repeat.Its not the worst game ever ,but it is a big disappointment. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2010
    2
    Whether you judge the sequel on the first absolute flop your going to end up at the same place and thats a waste of time and effort. Kane andWhether you judge the sequel on the first absolute flop your going to end up at the same place and thats a waste of time and effort. Kane and Lynch 2 again tried to ride the wave of hype and promise that it will deliver and learn from its mistakes.

    Well as many games before it and Im sure many more to come, it delivers nothing new, with little excitement and tries to push grit and gore on you in cut scene's as it knows the gameplay will just simply bore you to tears. Kane and Lynch 2 follows more in the footsteps of Reservoir Dogs ( the game ), Stranglehold, WET, Army of Two ( 1 and 2) and then every other FPS out there. However the story lines, game play, graphics, physics, and general game play were done so much better even from games made long before this coaster or dust collector. Whether it be from incredible poor AI, a graphics system destined on providing you an image of grainy gameplay in an attempt to create atmosphere yet even on a 50 Inch LED comes of as just old and outdated ( God I would hate to play this on an old 68 cm CRT ) or even have gore and risk in the cut scenes only to actually blur or cut out anything that would warrant the game get some sort of mention for pushing boundaries. I know I wasnt expecting much, and surely got even less than I expected but to see games on new consoles being delivered with hype time and time again and then seeing nothing more than out dated, heartless, boring, run of the mill rubbish its a wonder that people arent just packing up the console and moving on to something else. Yet as we come out a global financial crisis, people are still getting payed to release absolute rubbish, dont waste your time or money just hang in there and hope this crap is just a bad dream.
    Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    1
    This game made me sad. It is boring, the shooting is horrible, the game just wanted people to care and guess what no one cared at all! I onlyThis game made me sad. It is boring, the shooting is horrible, the game just wanted people to care and guess what no one cared at all! I only played less then half of this game because it was so bad it made me feel like i was wasting my time. I got it at gamestop for like a buck but still it wasn't worth it at all! I played it for the achievements and i regret having this game on my profile. Avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2015
    0
    GRR IM SO ANGRY!!! this game is so badd like the grafix are terrible and the game just plain sucks. 0/10 from ProfessionalPro ! do not buyGRR IM SO ANGRY!!! this game is so badd like the grafix are terrible and the game just plain sucks. 0/10 from ProfessionalPro ! do not buy this game it sucks so bad Expand

See all 36 User Reviews