Kane & Lynch: Dead Men Xbox 360

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 334
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. B.G.
    Dec 8, 2007
    7
    Great characters and story, they're well fleshed out and more three dimensional than the rest. The gameplay is pretty good, the nightclub scene is probably the highlight. Still, there are gameplay flaws, the guns are underwhelming and the cover system isn't as crisp as others.
  2. JohnP
    Feb 22, 2009
    5
    This game is so fun. But oh my god, the glitches and difficulty is can be atrocious. The story line makes up for the glitches. Would love to see a sequel with everything worked through.
  3. JohnMorgan
    Dec 15, 2007
    7
    i havent finished it yet, but ive only had it one day, and i a in love, this beats halo in multiplayer, this beats call of duty in plot and tops everything in shear awesomeness, admitidly, the orange box is a little better, and the graphics are a little flawed, id say this ould of had a 9 if it included online co-op and more multiplayer scenarious, the multiplayer mode is pure genous, justi havent finished it yet, but ive only had it one day, and i a in love, this beats halo in multiplayer, this beats call of duty in plot and tops everything in shear awesomeness, admitidly, the orange box is a little better, and the graphics are a little flawed, id say this ould of had a 9 if it included online co-op and more multiplayer scenarious, the multiplayer mode is pure genous, just lacking in community,
    really, this is deffinatly worth a look in!
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2012
    7
    Yes this game does have it's share of issues. The aiming can be off at times. There were a few occasions where I had to restart a section because of a glitch. And lastly the cover system really does not work very well. Actually I found myself hoping I could turn off the cover system all together. However, this game is so gritty and stylish, I would play this over the commercializedYes this game does have it's share of issues. The aiming can be off at times. There were a few occasions where I had to restart a section because of a glitch. And lastly the cover system really does not work very well. Actually I found myself hoping I could turn off the cover system all together. However, this game is so gritty and stylish, I would play this over the commercialized games like Modern Warfare 3 any day. Yes, I said it. Collapse
  5. M.B.
    Jan 13, 2008
    7
    X0 version - Game has few exellent maps, some mediocre maps and rest are just plain horrible. Storyline is something you really don't even think of, so it really doesn't play that big of a part, more just an excuse for next set of enviroment. If IO interactive would just had kept the quality from those exellent urban city maps and continued from there we'd have a X0 version - Game has few exellent maps, some mediocre maps and rest are just plain horrible. Storyline is something you really don't even think of, so it really doesn't play that big of a part, more just an excuse for next set of enviroment. If IO interactive would just had kept the quality from those exellent urban city maps and continued from there we'd have a masterpiece in our hands. Controls aren't all that bad, apart the "cornering" seems to be working only in some walls and obstacles. What they should have done is to have it under a button and that it work to everything. Also the group controls and the aiming weren't as bad as some reviews out there are indicating, few minor tweaks here and there, they could a lot better thou. That said, this game is between 7-8. Is few exellent maps enough to justify the price tag of a full game? Expand
  6. LigarW.
    Nov 19, 2007
    5
    I'm amazed that people are actually enjoying this game. I've been looking forward to this title for months, the previews made it seem so, so good, if not great. Every aspect of this game falls very short of being even passable, except for the story, and even that should have been put together in a better manner. Overall the gameplay is so sub par that I can't even stomach I'm amazed that people are actually enjoying this game. I've been looking forward to this title for months, the previews made it seem so, so good, if not great. Every aspect of this game falls very short of being even passable, except for the story, and even that should have been put together in a better manner. Overall the gameplay is so sub par that I can't even stomach finishing it. The core of the game - moving and shooting is at about a Pre GTA3 level of execution... Aiming is horrible, moving through the environment is horrible, finding/using cover is horrible. I must state that I'm getting really tired of review sites hyping up games for months, until they come out, and then releasing reviews that clearly point out how average (at best) a game is). These sites know from the early builds how good a game is going to be, yet they hype up every piece of junk...just to get more web site visits....shame on you...then they release a scalding review, wondering how anyone could ever release a game this crappy. So, if you've been playing games like Halo 3, COD 4 etc, you'll more than likely be very disappointed with this title. If you haven't, or you just like to shoot stuff and hear 'adult' dialog, then you may like it. Expand
  7. RR
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    Jeff Gerstmann of Gamespot was fired for giving this game a 6. That tells you how upset Eidos was for sponsoring Gamespot only to have them give it a bad score. It also tells you that Gerstmann was being totally honest and this game is only worth a 6/10. Poor graphics, poor AI and another AAA title that hasn't deliverd on it's promises.
  8. MadsC.
    Dec 31, 2007
    7
    I found this an enjoyable coop experience. Appearantly I'm one of the few who enjoy that IO made game about killing hundreds of people and then decided that the main characters then had to be psychopaths actually capable of doing such deeds. The shooting controls are hard to master, but I like that it forces the player to spend time aiming before shooting, opposed to the auto-aim I found this an enjoyable coop experience. Appearantly I'm one of the few who enjoy that IO made game about killing hundreds of people and then decided that the main characters then had to be psychopaths actually capable of doing such deeds. The shooting controls are hard to master, but I like that it forces the player to spend time aiming before shooting, opposed to the auto-aim fiestas otherwise available to the Xbox 360. The cover system on the other hand is a nigthmare, half the time you'll find yourself firing in to the windowframe in front of you eventhough your crosshair is on an opponent. All in all Kane & Lynch is a decent title that lacks the final polish to make it great, but it does have it moments. Expand
  9. Shatananshnasha
    Jan 14, 2008
    7
    You can run, crouch, throw some rubberballgrenades, aim and shoot. That's pretty much all. I'm not sure why I liked the demo. Maybe because Kane&Lynch is so damn simple! It's nice to have a game like this, when you just want to relax and shoot some people :P
  10. LeeB.
    Jan 9, 2008
    7
    A solid, fun shooter. The aiming mechanics are fine, and although occasionally frustrating, the cover system is ok too. The only thing that is bad is the AI, and that accounts for enemy and friendly AI. The online play is quite fun, especially if you find a good group of people to play with. I really don't understand the bad user scores that this game receives, because it isn't A solid, fun shooter. The aiming mechanics are fine, and although occasionally frustrating, the cover system is ok too. The only thing that is bad is the AI, and that accounts for enemy and friendly AI. The online play is quite fun, especially if you find a good group of people to play with. I really don't understand the bad user scores that this game receives, because it isn't THAT bad. Expand
  11. NunyaB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    Not a bad game in my honest opinion. Certain things could have used some work like the aiming and the AI.
  12. AnthonyFalco
    Dec 13, 2007
    6
    Wasn't perfect but wasn't horrible as people say. I hate it when people can't beat a part and give it a bad review, just because they are frustrated. Just SUCK IT UP AND PLAY THROUGH THE ENTIRE GOD DAMN GAME. I personally love the characters and love the story, but that doesn't save it from a semi-broken control scheme. This is especially enjoyable to every Michael MannWasn't perfect but wasn't horrible as people say. I hate it when people can't beat a part and give it a bad review, just because they are frustrated. Just SUCK IT UP AND PLAY THROUGH THE ENTIRE GOD DAMN GAME. I personally love the characters and love the story, but that doesn't save it from a semi-broken control scheme. This is especially enjoyable to every Michael Mann fan. So don't listen to these dim-witted reviews, just play this game if you want a deep story and ok gameplay. Basically play this when you have nothing else to do. Expand
  13. CameronMcAndrew
    Dec 19, 2007
    7
    Well I know one of the designers and I recieved this game as a early christmas gift along with my xbox 360. And when i played this game it was pretty good in gameplay but when i got to the level with the dump truck i freaked out. And the language horrid but it is ok so im giving it a 7 out of 10.
  14. CodenameONE:SIX
    Jan 18, 2008
    7
    Well, I'm going to start off by saying this was a game I played almost entirely in split screen Co-Op mode on 50" HDmi. So with that in account, I can say I thoroughly enjoyed this game, regardless of completing it in a few hours, my friend and I found ourselves in love with the film-like dialogue. Being a bit weird ourselves it was nice to see some (bad)good-guys for once, not Well, I'm going to start off by saying this was a game I played almost entirely in split screen Co-Op mode on 50" HDmi. So with that in account, I can say I thoroughly enjoyed this game, regardless of completing it in a few hours, my friend and I found ourselves in love with the film-like dialogue. Being a bit weird ourselves it was nice to see some (bad)good-guys for once, not entirely fighting for the right cause, and it is exactly that reason why GTA was so popular - because of its moral bending ways. Aside from the story and dialogue, everything else was pretty standard, graphically it was hit and miss, with some levels looking amazing in HD (a mention to the Ratamoto bulding) and others seem out of place and very outdated. The aiming had been slated a lot by people before we'd played this but our immediate reaction was "they arnt good at shooting thats why" with this mental note, we found the aiming a breeze, dont take the crosshair for granted and use the tracers to guide you to headshot heaven (47 headshots is an achievement by the way). The other thing was the cover system, but with a few twiddles of the stick and guess work, we had understood its principle, and that is it is camera relative. So many people think the cover system doesnt work, but they dont realise, there is no need lock to a wall unless they are going to submit blind fire. In this you just need to make sure the camera stick is facing the enemy and the character (kane or lynch) will go onto the wall infront, and from there you can do as you please, fire or not. Simple. Finally, online is a bit of fun but it's fragile alliance mode is only good on paper, unfortunatly to idiots who just become traitors from the beginning, so with recommendation to a game on that with people you know from your friends list. To conclude this game has its ups and downs but its ups are good enough to forgive the downs, especially in Co-Op mode. Oh, and dont forget the secret ending! Expand
  15. AlexG.
    Dec 13, 2007
    7
    The central characters are all unlikeable. But you know what? It doesn't matter. Because there's depth to the characters, they're intriguing and draw you in to their world. It's a fun but flawed shooter. The cover system is worse than the system in Mass Effect, and that's not even an action game.
  16. JoeM.
    Dec 28, 2007
    7
    I can see why people think the game is bad, but I can also see why people think it is a good game. Shooting could have been better, but I thought overall it was a pretty good game.
  17. Feb 28, 2017
    6
    Kane & Lynch Dead Men is a decent story-driven 3rd person shooter.

    The gameplay is particularly unique,but functions relatively decently.There are a multitude of interesting levels like the bank heist and the skyscraper shootout.The game uses squad commands for you to command your allies around the levels,though the AI is beyond stupid for both your allies and enemies. The graphics
    Kane & Lynch Dead Men is a decent story-driven 3rd person shooter.

    The gameplay is particularly unique,but functions relatively decently.There are a multitude of interesting levels like the bank heist and the skyscraper shootout.The game uses squad commands for you to command your allies around the levels,though the AI is beyond stupid for both your allies and enemies.

    The graphics are average,but the game does run well and has no notable performance issues on the 360

    The story and characters are the game's strong point.The idea of pairing a flawed mercenary up with a medicated psychopath leads to pure comedy gold as you can imagine.The actual plot starts strong,but fizzles a bit towards the end,though the game has 2 endings.

    The sound design and soundtrack are decent.

    Overall,Kane & Lynch Dead Men gets a lot of unfair hate and is a decent game in my opinion,it is very cheap as of when I write this review so I recommend giving it a try.
    Expand
  18. Jan 18, 2012
    7
    Yes this game does have it's share of issues. The aiming can be off at times. There were a few occasions where I had to restart a section because of a glitch. And lastly the cover system really does not work very well. Actually I found myself hoping I could turn off the cover system all together. However, this game is so gritty and stylish, I would play this over the commercializedYes this game does have it's share of issues. The aiming can be off at times. There were a few occasions where I had to restart a section because of a glitch. And lastly the cover system really does not work very well. Actually I found myself hoping I could turn off the cover system all together. However, this game is so gritty and stylish, I would play this over the commercialized games like Modern Warfare 3 any day. Yes, I said it. Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Part thug brutality, part capers and hijinks, the latest wild ride from the developer of "Hitman" has its fair share of rough edges--maybe even more than its fair share--but its epic missions are so thrilling that they'll sear away the nuggets of disappointment you'll ocasionally feel. [Dec 2007, p.68]
  2. 60
    Sure, the gritty atmosphere and balls out gunplay offers up some thrills, and yes the multiplayer options hold some potential but the hard-boiled noir tone and interesting amalgam of varied ideas never truly comes together to form the cohesive action thriller that the game aspires to be. [Dec 2007, p.121]
  3. 75
    We rarely see scenarios and story structure this good in a game, and that makes it easier to forgive some of the more hardcore technical game-design issues. It's definitely more of a popcorn game for the action-movie crowd than a hardcore shooter, but there's nothing wrong with that.