User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 84
  2. Negative: 10 out of 84

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Wow. Again, I see low ratings, but likely from people who don't own the game or a Kinect. I've played through all of the sports, and while some work better than others, overall this is a GREAT game. Boxing was a blast. Ping Pong, Volleyball, and Track were sensational. Bowling and Soccer were pretty good, but not my favorites of the bunch. Most movements were intuitive, after winning challenges, you're welcomed with select video clips of your performance which made for good fun. If you have decided Kinect is for you, this is a must own game. If you have no interest in Kinect, why are you reading this review? I'm hooked. I'll be playing this game quite a bit. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    If you don't like a bit of getting off your feet or having fun with your friends and family, then avoid this title. But, if you are planning for the upcoming holidays a get-together with family and wondered what you could do that will make all have a good time (aside from stuffing yourself) then you can't go wrong with Kinect Sports.
    I've played it alone, with my family and with friends
    over. Everyone - and even the skeptics - loved it, and wanted more. If you know Wii Sports (Resort) then this is at least ten times better and more enjoyable. The sports are presented in a very enjoyable way, and there are options to play with others or on Xbox Live. The mini-games are also great fun. This game is definitely a good buy for a fun night with friends and family in order to get sociable, but if you'd rather play Call of Duty: Black Ops online the whole weekend with your friends, then this title may not be your forte. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This game is sooo much better then most of the reviews state. the average of this games reviews should be no less then I'd say about 85.

    Reviews who reviewed this low just don't want to say the Kinect can offer awesome games. But, it can, and no you can't be a lazy person and play this game. You actually have to get up off you butt and get active. You will lose weight playing this
    game. I was sore for 3 days straight after getting this game, but kept comming back for another game. Don't let mediocre reviews sway your decision this game is is. Me and my friends have had a blast playing this game and so will you! If you like fun interactive games that is!!!! Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    I agree, low ratings are probably due to people who think its a gimmick and crappy game. Once you play you'll realize how accurate the Kinect is and how much fun the games are. Especially table tennis.
  5. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    OMG....I am totally amased and actually SHOCKED how good and fun this game is!!!! I've owned a Wii before and was TERRIBLY disappointed with Wii Sports, but now that I own a 360 and kinect, I decided to gets this. Even though the titles are similar, I assure you this game make right what wii sports did wrong. With sports including bowling, soccer, table tennis, hurdles, sprint,javelin, discuss, volleyball etc. this title is aimed to satisfy for a VERY LONG TIME!! BTW, table tennis is a complete addiction ;) Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    This is a VERY GOOD game! I am amazed at the critic reviews here, I agree with chuckyj1 this should be an 85 at least. I believe the majority of these reviews are tailored towards the so called hardcore readership of their publications who, for some strange reason, feel threatened by Kinect and the mass consumer audience it appeals to. I am a hardcore gamer, I was brought up on Doom, Half Life and COD but I'm also open minded enough to appreciate new and exciting forms of entertainment. Kinect is certainly that and Kinect Sports a wonderful early example of the fun that can be had. Boxing is brilliant and introduces blocking as a fantastic tactical element making it a vast improvement on the Wii version, there is something entirely satisfying about blocking your opponents attacks before unleashing a combination of your own controller free shots.
    Table tennis is equally fantastic, a compelling game that allows the player to hit the ball with varieties of spin dependent upon the arm movement used. Soccer is a surprising revelation, I expected a turn based football game to be awful, Rare though have managed to come up with a beautifully simple game that once again uses the wonders of Kinect motion control to track your body movement perfectly enabling you to kick the ball in the direction you chose, again there is something deeply satisfying about taking a free kick and bending it around the wall into the top right hand corner!
    Whilst I haven't explored volley ball too much yet, the 3 mini-games above have kept me occupied for the last few days, my short practice game yielded another positive experience - it certainly wasn't a shocker.
    Bowling is good not so dissimilar to the Wii version, it's a good implementation but nothing new.
    Track and field is absolutely hilarious played with friends.
    Additionally since purchase Microsoft have released a free party update a brilliant compendium of all little mini-games perfect for a large group of people.
    All in all this is really an excellent game and whilst hugely enjoyable played alone really comes into its own when you have your mates around.
    Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    My family thinks this game is awesome! We have a 9 year old daughter and 6 year old son. The funniest one to play (and watch!) is the track and field game! So funny to watch people run in place, jump and whatever else. :) Also a great workout if you can't go outside to play. The volleyball is also a good workout if you actually know how to play and do all the motions correctly - like you would in a real game. The soccer isn't as fun, but my son loves it. The table tennis is kind of funny. Again it's better if you play realistically, and don't just stand there waving your "paddle" back and forth. My mom and I played. I was all over the place, like I would if I were really playing. She was just standing still while barely swinging the paddle. :) She is in her sixties. :) The kids love the boxing. That can be tiring also!! These can be tiring games if you have a competitive bone in your body!!! :) Expand
  8. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    this is by far the best kinect release so far, all the games are great fun and very responsive. sports is probably the only title i have returned to play the most on kinect. if you are going to invest in a kinect then kinect sports is a must have purchase
  9. May 11, 2011
    10
    This game is a blast. A great party game with friends, but just like the Wii not much for a solo game. My biggest complaint is that there is no story mode or adventure mode. Its sorta set up like Wii Sports and you level up every once in a while, but I can't tell what determines a level up??? The Achievements are pretty hard to obtain, there's like 30% of them you will get right off the rip, the other 70% are way to hard. So basically this gets a "6" a "10" if it included some kind of objective and the leveling up made some sort of sense. Expand
  10. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Now, I had really high hopes for this game. When I finally play it, I wasn't disappointed. Kinect Sports is fun, entertaining, and sweaty. Yes, sweaty. I actually ran so much that I started to sweat. I definitely needed water after that. Which proves, that not all games can make you a couch potato. With many different sports you can play, it doesn't make you lose your attention after an hour. Especially, multiplayer. Multiplayer is so much fun! In the end, it receives a 9/10 from me. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jan 3, 2011
    75
    Wii Sports has got some competition breathing down its neck with Kinect Sports. While the game doesn't support much outside of two-player competition (and even that's questionable) and has its reading issues, it's a well-planned collection that you shouldn't hesitate to pick up with your Kinect device. Let's hit the lanes!
  2. Dec 29, 2010
    88
    A brilliant showpiece for Kinect. [Jan 2011]
  3. Something for everyone. [Jan 2011]