Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. 80
    To anyone expecting a poor dance game: yes there is dancing, it resembles Dance Central and the reason for it being in the game is explained by C-3PO as a corrupted file in the Jedi Archives. If that makes you cringe and abandon the game, then you will miss out on a great Pod Racer, a fun dancing game, a well made jedi campaign and other mini games using the Star Wars license respectfully. Recommended for all ages.
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    Despite suffering from many of the same issues that typify Microsoft's motion controlled experience, Kinect Star Wars is actually a very good game. The presentation is superb, and while some game modes are more fleshed out than others, none feel like they've been tacked on or overlooked.
  3. May 11, 2012
    79
    A rather simple collection of five Kinect mini-games with a Star Wars theme. Two of the games are good, two are okay and the last one boring and it's hard to evaluate their long-term appeal, but overall it's a fun, silly game for those who do not take Star Wars too seriously. [May 2012]
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    79
    Kinect Star Wars may not be among the best Star Wars Adaptions but nonetheless there is a whole lot of fun to find in the rich diverse pool of possibilities. Above all else the coop-mode is quite entertaining.
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    79
    The lacking lightsaber movements take a while to get around, and the lack of some sort of space battle mode – along the lines of Star Wars: Starfighter – is mildly disappointing.
  6. May 14, 2012
    73
    The Pod races offer a great feeling but there are bad animations and awful controls. The german synchronization is also very bad. Nothing more but a minigame collection.
  7. Apr 27, 2012
    71
    Genuinely fun for all ages, but Kinect's stubbornness holds it back from greatness. [June 2012, p.76]
  8. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    The campaign grows tedious in spite of its mixed-up gameplay, and the remaining mini-game modes are enjoyable more for their novelty and humor than for their actual gameplay. I'd still recommend the game for serious Star Wars fans, but if you're more of a casual fan and/or just have a passing interest, it's better worth renting than a full-on purchase.
  9. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    If you like Star Wars and are looking for a reason to dust off Kinect, this is your opportunity. A game recommended for all ages.
  10. Apr 5, 2012
    70
    Visually, the game is lacking, with muddy textures and graphics that hail from a long time ago. The Kinect controls are also unreliable at times (but also work brilliantly well most of the time). Overall, though, Kinect Star Wars fulfills most of the promise of a one-to-one lightsaber game, with enough variety (including that goofy dance mode) to make for a solid Star Wars experience.
  11. Apr 3, 2012
    70
    True to the Star Wars universe, well-finished and almost always fun. Less control of the sword in this game everything works fine. The whole family can meet C-3PO and run or dance with the most famous and new characters. It isn't the best Kinect game but it works. It's very easy.
  12. Apr 3, 2012
    70
    It won't realize all the whises of those who have been longing to become a jedi for thirty years, but this is probably the best Star Wars game you can make for Kinect nowadays, and offers quite a lot of ways to use the motion detection device. It has some control problems and will not meet the highest expectations, but the overall result is good.
  13. Apr 3, 2012
    70
    You don't have to be a Star Wars fan to have fun with the lightsaber battles for Kinect – but it helps tremendously so one can ignore little faults like the bad storytelling in the campaign. Even with the mostly entertaining minigames the game rarely taps its full potential.
  14. Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The writing in the main story put me to sleep. And the Kinect controls are so inaccurate that they take you out of what should be a magical fantasy experience. Clearly, more time wouldn't have helped this game. Better writers might have salvaged it, but it amazes me that no one told the team to start over and get it right.
  15. Apr 5, 2012
    68
    Many of the individual games exhibit occasional flashes of brilliance, and the absurdity of the Galactic Dance Off bears witnessing at least once. We just can't recommend picking up the entire package in order to do so.
  16. Apr 9, 2012
    67
    There's enough blasphemy here to put you off the franchise for life. But there is some good news for Star Wars fans at least... It comes in the form of Microsoft's superb limited edition, pimped-out Xbox 360 Kinect Star Wars console.
  17. Apr 19, 2012
    65
    We have lots of modes to choose from, but Kinect Star Wars is just a collection of minigames that is different from, say, Kinect Adventures only thanks to its Star Wars setting. It's one of better Kinect-only games, but skeptics won't be persuaded.
  18. Apr 11, 2012
    65
    While the graphics are barely passable in many instances, the frame rate inexplicably drops to a total crawl with every other in-game cutscene.
  19. 60
    Kinect Star tries to be a complete experience of the franchise, but in the end, it's just further proof that motion controls are irrelevant to action-adventure games.
  20. May 1, 2012
    60
    Surprisingly enough, Kinect Star Wars is not screwed as much as I thought it'd be. If I had an offspring, who had a liking for Star Wars, I wouldn't hesitate and bought the game. The reason would be this game works perfectly for kids. However, an adult must say to themselves what they are expecting out of this game. This piece of work is not a flawless one. However, it does belong to the above-average Kinect titles, and unlike the other ones, with this one the Star Wars brand does not suffer shame.
  21. Apr 18, 2012
    60
    We thought that Star Wars Kinect would be the best Kinect game ever since we saw it at E3 2010, but it is just slightly more than a casual game using the Microsoft's camera. Big deception.
  22. Apr 17, 2012
    60
    It's difficult to review Kinect Star Wars. First of all, it finally gives you that awesome moment you've been waiting for: controlling and using the force. And believe us, it's really awesome. But then that awkward moment comes when you realize the gameplay is not actually quite that good.
  23. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    Kinect Star Wars is full of shortcomings. Its playability is approximative at best, its very permissive difficulty, and average production values, despite a nice artistic direction. But despite all that, some mini-games are really fun, like the podracing, the Rancor full-on destruction sequences, or the dancing with Vader. It's a family game, no doubt, and a nicely marketed one, that will probably please its core target. But if you're a demanding Star Wars fan and core gamer, there's nothing here for you.
  24. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    In the end, Kinect Star Wars wants to be a lot of things, but doesn´t achieve really much of anything.
  25. Apr 9, 2012
    60
    This is probably the biggest production Kinect has seen so far (although that fact doesn't make it a good game). There are many modes that Star Wars fans (and mostly kids) will definitely enjoy, but you just keep getting a feeling that everything that happens on your screen is almost automated.
  26. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Sure, the graphics are lacking and my arms were incredibly tired after Podracing, but these in no way detract from how fun the game is. If you like Star Wars and are looking for a reason to dust off your lonely Kinect, you should buy this game. But be warned, your inner-Comic Book Guy will never shut up.
  27. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Some sections of Kinect Star Wars seem so much more polished than others, making this a game that while a bit hobbled, can still be a fun jaunt.
  28. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Alas, Kinect Star Wars as a package is a mixed, if varied bag of motion tricks. For everything that works well, something else ruins the experience.
  29. Apr 4, 2012
    60
    Ultimately, high production values and variety raises Kinect Star Wars above mediocrity, but it only delivers tantalising glimpses of the kind of game both the controller and the franchise badly needed.
  30. 60
    The problem with Kinect Star Wars is down to the use of the Kinect Sensor itself – while the package is a well constructed and well thought out one, it's all too often that the sensor misreads something and it becomes frustrating.
  31. Apr 16, 2012
    58
    Kinect Star Wars is a rich Kinect title flawed by poor dialog, control issues and forgettable extra modes. Anyway kids will likely enjoy pods and dancing sessions while fans will be attracted by the chanche to wield a light saber.
  32. Apr 13, 2012
    55
    One of the mostly anticipated Kinect games ended up being one of the sensor's poorest displays. It simply isn't fun even for kids, except for the dance portion of the game. If you can't resist wielding a virtual lightsaber, you might want to wait for a bargain price.
  33. Apr 7, 2012
    55
    Kinect Star Wars is a decent title only if you ignore the myriad of flaws. Had the focus been on themed minigames and if the controls and objectives were tweaked a bit, this would have been a derivative but enjoyable title for casual Kinect fans. Unfortunately, the included minigames don't feel very fleshed out, and the main focus of the game delivers some underwhelming moments due to flaky controls and boring combat.
  34. Apr 4, 2012
    55
    Kinect Star Wars is a bad game. If you go into it knowing that you are getting full-on camp like The Star Wars Holiday Special rather than a legitimate Star Wars experience, it can be fun, but you do have to tolerate faulty Kinect recognition the whole time. Ever since Nintendo introduced the Wii, I've been hoping LucasArts would deliver a great motion-based lightsaber experience, but Kinect Star Wars left me wanting a controller again.
  35. Apr 3, 2012
    55
    Kinect Star Wars, with all its control and polish issues, has very limited appeal for an adult audience. Kids will likely find more enjoyment out of it, even the absurd dancing mode, but ultimately its more of a Star Wars-themed set of mediocre mini-games than the jedi epic fans are dying for.
  36. May 10, 2012
    52
    Despite all the problems, I actually had a few genuine moments of utter nerd glee as I sliced my way through a group of enemies. When it worked as it should, Kinect Star Wars was tolerable. Don't get me wrong, it's still laughably bad... and some of content is borderline insulting to Star Wars purists (especially the new song lyrics), but the fact is that I never felt like a Jedi, which was, of course, the point.
  37. 50
    A cynical package that doesn't do the Star Wars franchise any justice whatsoever. [Issue#85, p.92]
  38. May 14, 2012
    50
    Crappy in places, but frequently very fun. You might hate yourself for not hating it. [June 2012, p.74]
  39. 50
    The crucial problem of Kinect Star Wars is in the very attempt to combine the world of Star Wars with motion controls. [May 2012]
  40. Apr 24, 2012
    50
    Kinect's lack of accuracy is again the root of all problems. The dance minigame is cool, but the rest of the game fails because it's never clear which kind of audience it tries to appeal.
  41. Apr 7, 2012
    50
    Kinect Star Wars is the classic title that had great potential but is poorly developed.
  42. Apr 6, 2012
    50
    Kinect Star Wars is one of the poorest games for the Microsoft motion sensor. Its lack of precision ruins all good gameplay ideas and gets the player consistently frustrated.
  43. Apr 4, 2012
    50
    There are some enjoyable bits here and there -- notably the flying sections and Rancor Rampage -- but for the most part, the Force pull of Kinect Star Wars far exceeds its Force grasp.
  44. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    This is not the Kinect game you've been looking for. A cute array of mini-games and a decent length main campaign could make this a fun party game with a Star Wars theme, but if you were looking to finally feel like a Jedi, you might want to stick to the bathrobe and flashlight a little while longer.
  45. 50
    Kinect Star Wars isn't the worst Kinect game I have ever played, nor is it the worst Star Wars game I have ever played. It's just depressingly mediocre.
  46. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    Silly dance sequences lighten the mood, but sluggish combat and a forgettable narrative make Kinect Star Wars a weak choice.
  47. Speeder Bikes are unresponsive to the point of fury, and the one-on-one duels don't respond to your attacks in anywhere near as satisfying a way as the exploding droids. The assault courses are fine, but easily rehearsed, and there's nothing in this game that convinces me that anyone making it thought it was actually a good idea. There are flashes of inspiration that make it genuinely likeable - but it fails, and hard, as a forty pound game.
  48. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    Kinect Star Wars has come a long way since it first was shown at last years E3, but it's still far too simple to leave a lasting impression. The controls are solid though.
  49. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    Podracing is decent, but nowhere near enough to save the entire package.
  50. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    An incoherent and clumsy compilation, one driven more by brand synergy than any creative imperative.
  51. 45
    You never truly get the sense of being a pro podracer, a vicious monster, or a mighty Jedi, leaving you all-too-aware that you're just playing a videogame…and a mediocre one at that.
  52. 45
    Another in a long list of Kinect titles that just doesn't cut it. Its unresponsive controls, lack of depth and short-lived gaming experiences do little to cater [to] any audience. Quite why Microsoft backed it so much is still a mystery; it's a title that they probably should have sent out to die alone a long time ago.
  53. May 15, 2012
    40
    Kinect Star Wars is a double edged sword. On one side, using the force with the Kinect sensor is immensely satisfying. On the other side, Kinect is just what is holding this game back. All in all, it's just another shallow and lacking tech demo from Microsofts admittingly impressive motion sensor.
  54. Apr 26, 2012
    40
    The action in Jedi Destiny suffers from shoddy implementation. Movement is the most glaring problem, which has the camera automatically select targets for you.
  55. Apr 19, 2012
    40
    Avoid this game at all costs, young Padawan…and may the force be with you, always.
  56. Apr 13, 2012
    40
    I just find the whole thing to be a terrible gameplay experience with the exception of the dancing.
  57. Apr 7, 2012
    40
    Kinect Star Wars is a hodgepodge of ideas that, either through the Kinect's limited functionality or slipshod execution, simply aren't cohesive enough to deliver the Star Wars experience that fans demand. Our advice? Go outside and pick up a stick.
  58. Apr 6, 2012
    40
    It says a lot that a dancing game is the best thing on offer in this muddled, cynical package. For the most part, Kinect Star Wars feels ill-conceived: kids will be bored, and adults will be embarrassed.
  59. Apr 5, 2012
    40
    There are a few glimmers of what could have been in here, but this is not the game that legitimizes Kinect as a game-playing device, nor does it do a single thing to restore any vibrancy or value to the Star Wars license. Fans of Star Wars, Kinect hopefuls, and little kids all deserve better.
  60. 40
    It's been a long time since we've had a decent Star Wars game though and this miserable misfire is very much more Attack Of The Clones than it is Empire Strikes Back.
  61. May 3, 2012
    30
    While the feel of Star Wars is certainly present, helped largely by the Podracing, the developers dropped a huge ball when it comes to being a Jedi.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 19 out of 41
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    After all the hype and the push backs I was expecting to be blown away by Kinect star wars, Instead I get a repetitive, laggy, un-responsive and quite frankly a dull boring kinect game. It's incredibly simple, enemies die way too easy .Basically all you do is fight/ cut scene / fight / cut scene/ shoot/ cut scene/ fight/ next stage. There is a lag issue and the game can be unresponsive most times. Pod racing is kool but it's nuthin that has'nt been done, Duel mode is very slow paced veeeeeeeeeery boring and laggy .
    Then there is dance mode DANCE MODE??? I lost all interest for this tittle when i saw they included a dance off mode. It said to me that this was'nt going to be hardcore but more family based which is fine but this is'nt the kinect star wars game I was expecting to experience. To me dance mode is a joke and I did'nt play it nor do I intend to. They should have used that effort to make a more in- depth story mode and to make a more precise kinect experience! In the end this falls in the same category as most kinect games: Disappointing , un - inspired, Control issues...Kinect star wars falls short. This game had alot of potential but because developers wanted to play safe we got a family kinect game.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    Since camera tracking and motion control came on the scene, Star Wars fans have been clamoring for a lightsaber combat game. The yelling for such a game reached deafening proportions when Nintendo unveiled the Wii. Fast forward to E3 2010 and Microsoft capitalized on this desire by showing Kinect Star Wars as a premiere title for Kinect. Many of us watched and rewatched the E3 2010 presser and saw the flaws but realized the game was in very early alpha or beta, so we had hope the game would live up to the expectations. ||| A year later, at E3 2011, the game was still in terrible shape. Most previews of that particular build complained, heartily, of tracking problems and sluggish controls. Then, later in the year, it started to come out that the whole premise of the game was so short that Terminal Reality had to start tacking on other modes to give more depth to the game, turning it into a mini-game compilation. Yet I still held out hope. ||| Picked up the game early this morning while shopping as an impulse buy. Three hours later, I'm wishing I had saved the money. From E3 2011, it feels like little has changed. Controls are sluggish and the tracking leaves A LOT to be desired. Far too many times I have taken hits in the main campaign because Kinect just doesn't react properly. I've spent an hour fiddling with Kinect tuner, and testing with Kinect Sports (which is tracking well), only for the same problems to crop up again and again in Star Wars. The story is cringe worthy and the on-rails movement could have been handled much better. As it stands the movement is very immersion breaking. ||| Sadly, the other "modes" are equally as bad. Podracing is graphically better than the Dreamcast/N64 game, but suffers from "Kinect Joy Ride" type controls that range from decent to outright bad. It's pretty shallow and you really won't be coming back to for many plays. Rancor Rampage is fun, for a little bit, and it's also very exhausting because you'll constantly be moving. I have no problem with the latter, and it'll be a great way to burn energy out of kids, but, ultimately, it's also shallow and really isn't worth coming back to after a play or two. ||| Dance mode is such a travesty I can barely speak of it. The premise is ridiculous and it's literally a direct copy and paste of Dance Central. Play Dance Central or Just Dance if you want a dancing game, not this. This is just a poor attempt to tack on humor by copying the most popular Kinect title. Sadly, it's also the only mode where tracking ISN'T absolutely atrocious. ||| Jedi Duels are slow paced, sluggish, and suffer the same tracking problems as the rest of the game. In fact, Jedi Duels plays like a series of quicktime events with motion controls. Boring after a couple of plays, if you get to "bosses" (Vader, Dooku) before you give up on the mode, you're a better person than I. ||| At the end of the day, I'm hoping my kids like it so it's not a complete loss. I can't help but feel this really SHOULD be the final nail in the coffin in regards to motion controls; The one IP that could have propelled motion controls into the limelight turns out to be just another collection of mediocre "me-too" shovelware. Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    OMG !! c'est pas possible de faire des jeux aussi pourri, j'ai réussi a joué environ 45 minutes, mais au bout de 15 minutes j'en avait déjà plein le cul ! répétitif a souhait , on passe notre temps a secoué le bras et a sauté, pour un résultat médiocre. quel déception !! surtout n'acheter pas ce jeux ! Full Review »