Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kinectimals is a game for Microsoft's new motion-sensing accessory that lets players raise over 20 different types of virtual cats, including cheetahs, lions, and tigers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    85
    The perfect Kinect game for children, making them feel like little explorers in an unknown island. Our only complaint is the absence of a multiplayer mode for two people playing at the same time, allowing for parents and children to enjoy the game together.
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    80
    It's not as visually brilliant as the best 360 games, but the cats are modelled excellently and purr with personality. The island is bright and colourful and Bumble has the kind of voice the kids love but adults find grating after two minutes.
  3. Dec 29, 2010
    80
    Interaction occurs via fun, if quickly repetitive, minigames. [Jan 2011]
  4. Nov 8, 2010
    75
    It is the kind of title that can be enjoyed by a room full of people with just one person playing.
  5. Jan 4, 2011
    70
    What it lacks in exactness it more than makes up for in whimsy and, indeed, the decision to focus on Kinect more as an aid to deepen an immersive, tactile experience than to promote competition with friends is commendable. [Issue#104, p.116]
  6. Nov 12, 2010
    70
    The most open-minded adult will likely only find a few hours of amusement here. But for a child with an active imagination (and a soft spot for all things cute and fuzzy), Kinectimals goes a long way in making Kinect "a must have" this holiday.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    40
    There's more mileage in a Tamagotchi, and one of them would never ask you to shame yourself by acting out "play dead" on the living room floor.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This game is obviously meant for children, so this review will be based on that assumption. The game is easy to get into, has beautiful and colourfull graphics and steals your heart within seconds. There is enough variation to not get bored, but you can also just do the same thing over and over. The game never pressures you to follow a certain path and if the tasks are a bit too difficult then your animal will help you get through it. The game is great and perfect for kids, but I (35 years old) find it enjoyable too. Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    I'm 19 and I love this game. I get more exercise out of playing this than I have going to a gym. It also gives you a wide variety of mini-games to choose from so you don't get bored. The only complaint I would have is that during some of the contests it seemed the sensor couldn't figure out where my hand was. This might be an issue with the kinect itself though, or with my technique, rather than the actual game. As for kids, it's good because it uses a lot of energy and has a lot of different games to keep them entertained. We had a kid over last night and he was having a blast. You might want to keep an eye on them though, you don't need to use a lot of large, exaggerated movements for the kinect to pick them up, and you don't want the kids kicking in the TV or hurting themselves because they're throwing themselves around too much. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    A simply wonderful game for younger children. And surprisingly, even kids between 10-13 were entertained. Good graphics and presentation...and a great use of the Kinect technology. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    Great animal design with great sound and structure to the game play to keep you doing new things but wanting to comeback and discover more of what previous areas. Easy for kids to play and fun new game mechanics using Kinect making it a lot more personable. Has a story to it that keeps kids wanting more and so many different tasks you can have a fun time just playing around without progressing the story. I have heard there are 35 unlockable wild cats and even some nods to Halo. Kids have short attention spans but whether they are playing the game or watching you hog it they will have a great time. Collapse
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    This game is okay not bad not great it has its fun moments though, you can enjoy it at points and I would recommend it but not highly. this game is mainly aimed at children but I have enjoyed it and I am not a child but the children will more likely enjoy this than any one who is not this game is just mainly aimed at them Expand

See all 6 User Reviews