User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 96
  2. Negative: 4 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    This game brings back the core of what Laura Croft was always about. High Adventure and LOTS of fun. Crystal Dynamics have brought Laura back with a vengeance. Outstanding!
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Who would have thought that there's be a great, inexpensive Lara Croft game after the series of craptastic releases over the last 7 years or so? This is just a great time.
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    9
    Lara Croft is finally back where she deserves too be, in a great game. Guardian of Light might be a new direction for Miss Croft but she sure seems to enjoy, cunning puzzles, numerous enemies and some really nice detailed environments, oh and there is also a 40ft fire breathing dinosaur. It just goes to prove that you dont need high rendered graphics to make a great game these days. Check the Croft out. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Lara Croft GoL is the best game that crystal dynamics have ever made ... i'm glad i bought it , i wasn't sure because of the isometric view , if your a bit scared to get it then DONT BE because it is the best game EVER :D 10/10 !!
  5. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    Not very often do you find a game like this as a downloadable title. Between the exploring, length, and the lasting appeal, this is worth every penny of the $15 you spend. I personally spent almost 30 minutes on each every just exploring. For those who like to find absolutely everything, you'll see yourself playing the game more than just once. Hopefully, this will be supported strongly with the 5 planned updates without a long time in-between releases to keep people busy. The reason this fell short of a 10 was because of the cheesy dialogue, and some gameplay mechanics that I had some problems with. I highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a cheap, good time. Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    Lara is back and kicking some serious butt. Excellent puzzles, excellent action, exellent everything. This is pure tomb raider. If you are a fan of the series, this addition is essential.
  7. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Launch issues aside and despite having little to do with the Tomb Raider universe itself aside from borrowing the main character, Lara Croft, this game ranks in the top-5 best XBLA titles ever made alongside other greats such as Shadow Complex, Limbo and Bionic Commando Rearmed. Essentially, the game features a fixed isometric camera angle as you explore dungeons, caves and jungles in single player or two-player cooperative mode. The gameplay is a mix between twin-stick shooting action, platforming and physical puzzle solving, such as trying to get both your players across a pit, navigating a bolder through spike traps and others. The closest comparisons are the older Dark Alliance and Champions of Norrath games, but instead of RPG elements and swords you get guns and more refined platform/puzzle solving elements. Additionally, each level contains mini-challenges such as collecting a certain amount of red skulls, completing sections under a given time limit or destroying x number of items. By completing these challenges you're rewarded with new items, health, ammo and ability upgrades. In all, this is an incredibly great game that's enjoyable both as a single-player and co-op experience and features a long campaign, plenty of bells and whistles and a nice leaderboard that all combine to provide a lot of replay value. The only downside is the game can be kind of glitchy at times, but even those moments can be pretty hilarious if playing with a buddy. In all, stop reading this and go at least try out the demo! Expand
  8. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    This game is very good, the best game that has came out of 'Summer of Arcade', The game is very unique. The fixed camera, birds eye view type look on the game and the shooting system blend very well together. With small mini tasks using grapples and many other tools in your arsenal. The games co-op is very well built taking advantage of each characters strengths and weakness. For example Laura's jumping ability and Totec carries spears which Laura jumps on. Overall the game is very good and shows potential for a squeal. Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    I for one loved Legend and Underworld and before this game came out, I was really worried that it was going to be a second rate Tomb Raider game. Those feelings quickly passed when I started playing the game. I haven't played a game with a "top down" view in a while. This game was a ton of fun! Great action with all the puzzles that you would expect from a Lara Croft, Tomb Raider game. The variety of weapons and power ups that you can use was also impressive. Not only did I play this in single player but it was really fun to co-op and play it with my wife! Yes, my wife! LOL! She really liked it too. It was nice to play a game that had co-op that you could play together on the same console and not just on-line. For a DLC game, this was awesome. The graphics were good, the controls were tight, and the sound was great. The only thing lacking a bit was the story. Overall, this is a very fun game to pick up and play. Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    It's just outstanding in every way. I was bored and spent part of the summer playing this. I don't see any problems with this game. The storyline is immerse. There's plenty of levels. Nice job, Crystal Dynamics!
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 73
  2. Negative: 1 out of 73
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    80
    But collecting stuff is what Lara Croft does. And when it looks and plays as well as this, there is a lot of enjoyment to be had.
  2. It's the co-op multiplayer that really allows Guardian of Light to shine. [Issue#100, p.136]
  3. This has to be one of my favorite downloadable games to date. With great game play, great co-op, tons of collectibles and a great price, you can't go wrong with Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light.