Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    91
    Delivers the most fully realized vision of Rowling's world that our medium has seen. TT Games has once again raised their own bar when it comes to splitscreen co-op. Fans of the books and movies will find immeasurable joy in exploring the iconic locales with their favorite characters that have become so ingrained in the pop-culture lexicon over the past 15 years.
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    82
    If you're a Harry Potter fan, a Lego fan, or you are looking for a fun pick up and play game, this is an excellent one.
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    80
    Another year, another LEGO game and another success… but after that, please Traveller's Tales, give us something a little different.
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    83
    LEGO Harry Potter Years 5 – 7 is a terrific culmination of the Harry Potter storyline, and a perfect addition to the LEGO franchise. Entertaining for the young and old alike, it is a game the whole family will enjoy. Fans of the books and films will love the fan service Travellers Tales doles out, and veteran gamers will enjoy the finely tuned gameplay.
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    75
    LEGO Harry Potter 5-7 is a charming farewell to the series. As with a lot of Traveller's Tales' games, you won't see a whole lot of crazy gameplay innovations or surprises, but it's reliably entertaining and appropriate for a wide range of gamers, Potterphiles or not.
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    90
    Probably the best LEGO game that was ever released by the guys over at TT Games. Potter fans, here's the epic conclusion you've been looking forward to.
  7. Nov 28, 2011
    80
    Harry Potter's latest adventure in colourful block land is a fun and varied way to end the series.
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    We never got tired of watching blocks whirl around in the air to form new objects, stupefying everything in sight, or sitting through the often hilarious cutscenes.
  9. Nov 23, 2011
    90
    LEGO Harry Potter: Year 5-7 is one of the best co-op experiences that you will have all year, matched only by the co-op levels in Portal 2. It is more of the same, but sometimes more of the same is just what is needed.
  10. Nov 23, 2011
    82
    Those who love the Lego license or just need a fresh Potter fix are in for a bewitching good time.
  11. Dec 7, 2011
    75
    A Lego game is a Lego game is a Lego game. Lego Harry Potter: Years 5-7 has everything that makes a Lego game a Lego game, and exactly nothing else.
  12. Dec 6, 2011
    87
    It's all that we hoped for: many hours of fun, great coop and countless riddles. A high replay value, too, as some side quests aren't even completable without the right character. Rarely has the gaming universe seen a better final part to a series.
  13. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    All told, there's weeks of fun in this package. As you'd expect. It's fun and funny. As you'd expect. I'm utterly hooked. As you'd expect. Can we have Lego Matrix next? Please?
  14. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    Lego Harry Potter is a light and breezy way for fans of all ages to experience the world of Harry Potter in a new way.
  15. Nov 24, 2011
    80
    Traveller's Tales wanted to make Harry Potter's latest adventure his best, and they succesfully made it. This chapter delivers exactly what fans are looking for, that is - tons of spells, unlockable content, +200 characters and plenty of fun for any follower of this franchise.
  16. Dec 19, 2011
    75
    A solid game that will plese all LEGO and Harry Potter lovers, but it doesn't add anything new to TT Games' formula.
  17. 75
    Be prepared for a bit of disappointment, though. While Years 1–4 had something new hiding behind every doorway, much of this sequel feels too familiar.
  18. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2012
    80
    The magic hasn't worn off yet. [Jan 2012, p.102]
  19. Nov 16, 2011
    85
    It's not a particularly complex or challenging game, but it is charming, addictive, funny, and a joy to play.
  20. Dec 16, 2011
    81
    Lego Harry Potter Years 5-7 follows the formula of the LEGO Series, and is probably the best game ever made about Harry Potter. Although the formula has aged and has been used many times, and this entry brings few new features, it is as enjoyable and fun as ever, and accesible for all players.
  21. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    Thanks to the strength of its stories, its fat pack of content and its irresistible charm, even those initially resistant to the prospect of another three terms at Hogwarts are likely to be won over.
  22. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2011
    78
    Hogwarts is the most alive environment TT ever created. [Feb 2012, p.106]
  23. Dec 5, 2011
    87
    This game brings the right amount of humor, and the right amount of interactivity to make it a winner, and probably the best game of the entire Lego franchise so far.
  24. Dec 2, 2011
    80
    There's so much to do in this game, it's easy to forget the world around you. Unfortunately, LEGO: Harry Potter: Years 5-7 lacks in originality compared to earlier LEGO titles, but the real LEGO fan shouldn't be bothered by this. Without a doubt, this is one of the best games in the LEGO series to date. Yes that's right, we were under its spell.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    I have been a fan of the TT Games LEGO game franchise since the first LEGO Star Wars dropped. Ever since then, I have been rabid about theI have been a fan of the TT Games LEGO game franchise since the first LEGO Star Wars dropped. Ever since then, I have been rabid about the games, ready to play the next one as soon as I hear about it. The same is true about LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7. While there are a few things that annoy me about it (I never knew when the new level ACTUALLY began or if it was still just a part of the gameplay to get TO the next mission), it took what LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4, LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean, and LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars got right and expanded on them. I'm very happy to be able to see some of the greatest movies of modern times, and quite possibly the best books of modern times, getting the LEGO treatment in such a fantastic way! Keep it up Warner Bros. Interactive and TT Games!! Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game is an absolute triumph! It builds on Harry Potter Years 1 - 4 with more exciting adventures, this time taking you out of Hogwarts soThis game is an absolute triumph! It builds on Harry Potter Years 1 - 4 with more exciting adventures, this time taking you out of Hogwarts so that you can explore Hogsmeade, or get on the Hogwarts Express and go back to London. Its so much fun to play and the game has so many secrets that you can only get to once you have done the story. It definately has a huge lasting appeal on me. My favourite bits are visiting the Weasley's joke shop, fighting giants and playing as Bellatrix because she's so cool! Even Grawp is in the game and he's pretty funny :) Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This new LEGO Harry Potter game is fantastic. After heavy disappointment from the official film tie-in's, Traveller's Tales has really nailedThis new LEGO Harry Potter game is fantastic. After heavy disappointment from the official film tie-in's, Traveller's Tales has really nailed it!

    I'm a big fan of the original Years 1-4 and 5-7 builds upon the charm and freedom of the first one to give a really comprehensive Potter experience. I especially love being able to roam around London and get on a train to Hogsmeade and walk around the castle, meet new characters and experience all the extra bonus content that the dev's have managed to get in there. I have been following this game eagerly since it was announced and I read that it was one "by Potter fans, for Potter fans" and there is some lovely subtle references of the books (but left of out the films).
    This game did not disappoint and it's exactly as I imaged it would be.

    Anyone who claims to be a Potter fan needs this game in their lives.
    Full Review »