User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 7 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TaylorCarr
    Dec 12, 2008
    9
    Magnificent! A great karaoke game that beats out its competition Singstar in some ways and loses in some ways. The microphones are fantastic with the wireless and lighting on the mic. The song list is great and appeals the many different people. However, the feature most hyped about, being able to upload your own songs, is very dulled down. There is no way to get the album artwork, lyrics,Magnificent! A great karaoke game that beats out its competition Singstar in some ways and loses in some ways. The microphones are fantastic with the wireless and lighting on the mic. The song list is great and appeals the many different people. However, the feature most hyped about, being able to upload your own songs, is very dulled down. There is no way to get the album artwork, lyrics, or music video for your uploaded songs, which makes the feature kind of pointless. Overall, if you love singing, you should get this game. Expand
  2. HeidiMinyen
    Dec 5, 2008
    8
    If you are looking for a game to encourage an easy, fun karaoke experience then you have found your solution. The fact you sing along with the artists provides a comfort level for your party crowd and timid singers not found in other games. More songs need to be added to extend the value of purchase.
  3. MarkTaylor
    Nov 21, 2008
    4
    So Lips is rather disappointing:

    Negatives 1. The game slows down when playing. Ridiculous bug. 2. You don't seem to be able to login under multiple Live accounts, meaning that all the achievements, even with different singers, go under the one Live account. I can't believe it was designed like this. 3. Other than the Jukebox there doesn't appear to be a
    So Lips is rather disappointing:

    Negatives

    1. The game slows down when playing. Ridiculous bug.

    2. You don't seem to be able to login under multiple Live accounts, meaning that all the achievements, even with different singers, go under the one Live account. I can't believe it was designed like this.

    3. Other than the Jukebox there doesn't appear to be a multiplayer (more than 2) mode, or any other type of more complex game to play with the songs. Again, I can't believe it was designed like this, when this is a key feature and positive of SingStar.

    4. The game is far too easy, and says off key tones are correct, as if they were on key. Also for rapping you just need to sing a constant note and you get the top score!

    5. The ranking system seems daft, particularly when other singers cause your profile to move up the ranks. See 2. I guess.

    6. One of my microphones doesn't have any lights that come on during the videos, whereas the other does. It works for everything else, and the green lights come on when I connect to the Xbox. Presumably it's broken.

    7. The instrument shakers are pointless, distracting from the singing, and they just sound crap.

    8. The movements you have to perform are irritating, and again just get in the way of the song.

    Positives

    1. The lights on the microphones are cute.

    2. Wireless microphones are great.

    3. There's a reasonable song choice with the game, for me at least.

    4. Great if you just want to sing with yourself, and are tone deaf.

    Summary: Don't bother and buy SingStar, although you're screwed if you don't have a PS2/3.*

    Although I sincerely hope I'm wrong with some or all of this.
    Expand
  4. CalebHyles
    Nov 21, 2008
    8
    Singstar better watch out! Lips has come to the karaoke scene with guns blazing! It has a fantastic interface, a great set of songs that would rival Rock Band's depth if it had 30 more tracks, incredibly awesome microphones that are built beautifully, the ability to sing to your own songs (not a big deal though), and the option to increase your setlist with online music. WhileSingstar better watch out! Lips has come to the karaoke scene with guns blazing! It has a fantastic interface, a great set of songs that would rival Rock Band's depth if it had 30 more tracks, incredibly awesome microphones that are built beautifully, the ability to sing to your own songs (not a big deal though), and the option to increase your setlist with online music. While Singstar has the downloadable content warfare already under control, Lips will have to bring the DLC heat if it wants to keep up with Singstar's high amount of downloadable songs. Lips has a little ways to go before it surpasses Singstar, but as of right now, Lips provides andgood time and is one of a kind on the Xbox 360. Expand
  5. MattGonderinger
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    It's a great clone of Singstar. Sure, it's not original, but it does improve on Singstar, fixes what's broken with Singstar, and it allows users to import MP3s and use them instead of the music on the disk. Add to that the additional download support already available on XBL, and this is a hit.
    In short, if you like Singstar, you'll love Lips since it's an
    It's a great clone of Singstar. Sure, it's not original, but it does improve on Singstar, fixes what's broken with Singstar, and it allows users to import MP3s and use them instead of the music on the disk. Add to that the additional download support already available on XBL, and this is a hit.
    In short, if you like Singstar, you'll love Lips since it's an improvement. If you didn't care for Singstar, then Lips won't be your cup of tea.
    Expand
  6. Daz
    Dec 28, 2008
    9
    can't really compare with singstar as i've not really much experience of s.star, but i think lips isreally good. have used it with family over xmas with very pleasing results. the songs on teh disk are a very good selection and from xbox live the downloadable songs are only about £1 which i think is very good value. I'm sure this will get quite a bit of use over thecan't really compare with singstar as i've not really much experience of s.star, but i think lips isreally good. have used it with family over xmas with very pleasing results. the songs on teh disk are a very good selection and from xbox live the downloadable songs are only about £1 which i think is very good value. I'm sure this will get quite a bit of use over the coming months. My kids (9 and 5) really like it. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    A good game that is a perfectly fine substitute to Playstation's Singstar. In a crowded market Lips is a pick up and go, family friendly title that would be a sure hit at any house party. Microsoft could have a shinning brand new IP on it's hands as well as a really good game that could help them sell the Xbox 360. Lips keeps people around with fun mini games and a ever expanding libraryA good game that is a perfectly fine substitute to Playstation's Singstar. In a crowded market Lips is a pick up and go, family friendly title that would be a sure hit at any house party. Microsoft could have a shinning brand new IP on it's hands as well as a really good game that could help them sell the Xbox 360. Lips keeps people around with fun mini games and a ever expanding library of new and old music of all genres. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. As it stands, Lips is a solid purchase for anyone looking for a karaoke title, but you will be hoping for a sequel next holiday season.
  2. It’s hard to fault Lips for trying something different, even if it’s just a little. [Jan 2009, p.91]
  3. 65
    Lips sets out to take the karaoke genre by storm, but ultimately doesn't hit the high notes thanks to a lacklustre single-player affair, lack of online options and a meagre track list.