User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 357

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the best RPG on the 360 with great characters, story, pacing, music, graphics, gameplay and cinema. This is what Final Fantasy XIII should have been.
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    The best RPG on the 360, bar none. And I mean that Oblivion, Fallout, FF, Mass Effect, ect. It is the best RPG on the 360, bar none. I only wish I hadn't ruined it for myself by buying the guide.
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    a solid RPG with a pretty good story if i remember right . i guess it wasnt very memorable though since i cant remember to much about it outside of its some thing about immortals . its a classic RPG and JRPG's so if you like the old turn based RPG's you will like this one . the battles are abit more intense then in most RPG's the random battles against normal enimys can actaully be challanging .
  4. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    Surely the most underrated RPG out there? Old-school turn-based action, a wonderful soundtrack, a sense of humor, interesting characters and badass bosses... what more could you ask from a game?
  5. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    This is a great JRPG and the best on the 360. The original creator of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi, left Square Enix to create Mistwalker Corporation, which produced this game. Also, Nobuo Uematsu, who does the music for the original Final Fantasy games, worked on this game. Together, they have created a masterpiece! If you do not like old school, turn-based combat, then this game is not for you. But if you are a fan of the old Final Fantasies, then this game is for you. Good graphics, AMAZING music, good story, good characters, and GREAT gameplay!!! I loved this game and it took me 99 hours to beat it and get 1100/1100 gamerpoints (including the Seeker of the Deep DLC, which is almost freaking impossible). If you like JRPGs, this game is a must. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    When i first played lost odyssey a few years ago in my clunky old 360 it was a bag of mixed feelings because although i definetely loved the gameplay mechanics, story and characters development, i got to admit that i was in pain because of the long load times, sometimes it felt as if i was playing an old psone rpg game. Nevertheless, having said that, and currently having the option to install the game and definetely see an improvement in the loading times department i must say its a really really good game and every fan of ol school rpgs should give it a try, Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Feels and plays like a Final Fantasy from the next generation of consoles. Old school turn based combat system with CGI rendered scenes, really big production values, great music and all a Final Fantasy can offer
  8. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the best, most proper "old school" JRPG of this generation. An epic story, excellent emotional drama, memorable characters, good cinematics, and enough side quests to last for 100+ hours. Hopefully not just a homage to the golden age of JRPGs as this is exactly what there needs to be more!
  9. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    I created a metacritic account just to praise this game. It was actually the first jrpg I really became emerged into and i have played several since. Still this one is the best, all from story, to design and character development is excellent. The battle system can get tedious and I HATE the way the sometimes (or at lest once...) throw in 5 difficult boss battles in a row without the option to save. These minor problems aside, this is a game everyone should experience, it's really that good and on my top 5 list of games ever created. Read the dream sequences!! 10/10 without doubt, even if it's nt perfect, if any game deserves it, it is this one. Expand
  10. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Great Game,

    I wish there were more JRPG'S like this on the market today but when you have tittles like mass effect,ff,and fallout allot of people forget where these games came from.Thanks Mistwalker for a great game I won't ever forget.
  11. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    at least as far as i know, the best really turn-based jrpg currently out there. if you take away all semi-turn-based stuff like newer final fantasies, eternal sonata, etc. and all the handheld stuff (although a lot of the games there are either strategy rpgs or just semi-turn-based anyway)... you pretty much only end up with lost odyssey. but besides the fact that it would be nice to have more games like that, that's not a bad thing. lost odyssey has gorgeous graphics, a great story and battle system and an amazing soundtrack (one of the few games i bothered to get it separately for). and if you try to do everything possible, it goes on for a long, long time - like one expects from jrpgs. i'm at 70 hours and still haven't beaten the "ultra-monster" in the game that gives you an achievement. and i don't think i even did a lot of grinding during those 70 hours. but no worries for those who feel that that is "too" long - if you just focus on the main story, i'm sure you can get through it in 25 hours or so. oh and also the story of this game is REALLY well done - i think it made me cry at one or two points. very dramatic stuff. so if you like TRULY turn-based jrpgs like e.g. the good old final fantasies, you absolutely HAVE to get this! Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    This is the real Final Fantasy XI - the true next game in the series after X. Hironobu Sakaguchi knows what the real fans want and boy did he deliver - a fairly linear world-traveling journey, a focus on your limited cast of interesting party members, an epic story with a catastrophe that changes the world for worse, a ship and field map, a gruff mechanic/pilot named "Sed" (Cid/Sid), random encounters, a solid, evenly paced turn-based battle system, mature, fully-fledged compositions by none other than Nobuo Uematsu...the list goes on. Every minute I played this game was pure Final Fantasy nostalgic bliss coupled with the excitement of playing it on a next gen console. I just wish I could have bought it at the full 60 bucks when it came out to show my support. At least there's downloadable content. So as I hoped that X wouldn't be the last of it's kind, let's hope that Lost Odyssey won't be either. Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Considerably better than I thought it would be. The dream sequences are the best out of the entire game. The only downside is the turn based gameplay. Too slow in my opinion. But all in all a good, if not mind blowing experience.
  14. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    An incredibly well polished JRPG, which sadly is an Xbox 360 exclusive. This game has many elements that stand out such as the dreams and the art direction. The story will quickly immerse you keep you playing for hours on end. Quite possibly the best aspect, in my opinion, is the original soundtrack. Nobuo Uematsu is a God when it comes to composing music. Definitely worth your time if you own a 360. Expand
  15. Jul 31, 2012
    3
    This game is very traditional, almost to a fault. It practically reeks of Final Fantasy 9 copying. While the immortal system is okay, the battles are so obnoxiously slow that it becomes unbearable after a while. At first, it is barely noticable, but the monotony suddenly weighs down and the slow attack and magic animations make the battles far too lengthy. Since the game has random battles, this is a serious issue and annoyance, especially when you are forced to travel around an area to solve puzzles. The level cap adds to this frustration since you have no motivation to battle enemies without the promise of a buffed party. Sure, the soundtrack, aesthetics, pacing, and most all other elements of this game are great, but this whole game is tainted by one wound that is repeatedly dug into with alcohol and dirt. Expand
  16. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Best jrpg in this generation. One of the best games in this generation. Too far the satisfaction from Final Fantasy XIII. This is a game well done. Recommended 100%
  17. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Artistically PERFECT. Inoue Arts. 33 beatiful novels to discover as "dreams" while playing the game. One of the best work of Nobuo Uematsu so far. Storyline and characters will live in your hearts for the rest of your lives. A masterpiece of incommensurable human value. A CLASSIC JRPG blessed by God :-)
  18. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Sure it may seem dated in the eyes of modern gamers, but its throwback to when JRPGs ruled the gaming market sets it apart from most RPGs on the 360, which enough depth and variety in its gameplay to keep it a fresh experience. I absolutely loved this game, from the stunning cut-scenes, to the interesting characters (characters you will care about and others you just wish would die already), its great and efficient means of exploration, I spent a good 70 hours playing through this game for the 1st time. Also unlike many JRPGs, the way this game levels you up removes the need to grind most of the time, which is something I'm sure many gamers had a gripes about. One very unique and one of my favorite things about Lost Odyssey were the dreams portion. I wasn't able to collect them all but every single one I managed to read were interestingly written, giving us background information on the specific immortal while still giving us a great short story at the same time. These were so well written, I didn't care that it was only in text. The graphics were beautiful, as expected. Walking into Numara for the 1st time reminded me of how beautifully crafted JRPGs typically are, especially since I had just played the kind of dark and gloomy settings of Fable 3 and Mass Effect 2 (both are also amazing games). Probably my only negative of the game would be the character designs, with Kaim being kind of bland looking, Seth looking a bit odd, and mainly Mack being dressed like a girl. In the end, Lost Odyssey a game I highly recommend to any RPG fan looking for a well crafted story, lots of content, great battle systems, and beautiful graphics. Expand
  19. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    More mature than the Final Fantasy saga but still with the same kind of magic. Lost odyssey is a traditional JRPG, very polished and deep. During your adventure, you can discover several secret tales that tell some of the most moving stories you will ever read. This is the best XBOX rpg and simply a big piece of art.
  20. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. It's like a next gen final fantasy! A great game that really evokes emotion out of you! This game is very underated! The game would of got a 10, but the game drags on towards the end, I could never finish this game, cuz it was so long and the main story just kinda dragged.
  21. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Totally and utterly underated game.... i have no idea why this game didnt get more exposure, its fantastic, better than any final fantasy game that came out after the 9th one by a long shot.......... this is what final fantasy 10 should have been.... go buy now
  22. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Lost Odyssey was an attempt to make a standard RPG exclusive to the Xbox 360, and this game is as standard as it gets. It's like Microsoft, realizing their system's lack of RPGs, got in Hironobu Sakaguchi and said, "hey, make us the most basic and unadventurous RPG you possibly can, one that will be sure not to upset any fans with anything unconventional". And that's what he did. When a lack of creativity in a game is not just an accident or natural flaw but the actual goal of a project, this is what results: generic battle system, story, characters and everything. But generic can be a good thing if done right, but Lost Odyssey does it all badly. The battle system is dull, easy but drawn-out; the story, despite being based on an excellent concept, somehow fails to be engaging in the slightest; and similarly, the characters are lifeless and unfamiliar despite seeming to have great potential. The game is a struggle to finish because it's so difficult to care about what's happening in the story and because there is no challenge to be found in battle. Fortunately, there are some positive things to say about Lost Odyssey. The setting has a dark, industrial atmosphere, which is a great break from the usual over-the-top fantasy or cutesy anime styles found in many RPGs. But far more importantly, the game has an excellent series of short stories about the main character's life and experiences. They are extraordinarily well-written, very moving and engaging; the contrast in quality with the game's main storyline couldn't be more striking. These stories are perhaps the only thing that makes the game worth playing. Overall, if you've played many RPGs and just want the same kind of thing every time, you may enjoy Lost Odyssey; but if you expect a new game to offer at least a few significant changes to the tried and tested formula, or to present that old formula in a new and exciting way, then you're going to be disappointed. However, for those who haven't played many RPGs, this may be a good place to start as it'll ease you into the genre very comfortably. The game is very easy (some of your characters even come back to life automatically in battle) and it will familiarize you with many commonplace mechanics and the basic structure of Japanese RPGs. Expand
  23. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    This game traumatized me. I hate it with all my heart. It all started when i first gazed upon a well polished beautiful intro and said to myself: "Holy wack! This might be a huge unforgettable game that im gonna love, like FF or something How foolish i was to let them trick me into downloading this dispickable piece of filth. EVERYTHING, i mean EVERY single aspect of this game disgusts me. The story is some kind of twisted disrespectful imitation of FFVII if you think of it. The characters are such freaks i kept facepalming at every cutscene, the villian is hard to comment on, he is a bad joke, worst antagonist ever, and those freaking children (WTF!) Jansen and Sed dont suck as much but nothing special either. Bad graphics. Locations are boooring, uninspired, uncreative. Lame architecture. World map almost looks like a ps1 game. Broken-down mess of a battle sistem. You cant plan your moves strategically, because you never know the order of execution, what the is that good for? Extremely cheap, unfair boss battles. (Boss uses "Reflect", you throw "Dispell" to nullify it, but Dispell reflects towards your team, whf is that possibly a bug) (and what about that all-stonus spell at the final battle, you probably know what i mean) Damn, when the first boss killed me 5 times i should have already guessed what kind of cheap ****fest i had engaged in.I could go on forever about this, really, but let me just mention bad music (wtf Nobuo, did you give up on this ****ty game???), awfull cutscenes (nothing like that damn intro, i say NOTHING LIKE IT ANYWHERE IN THE GAME!!) and oh my god does this game has a lot of other issues, im just too tired to talk about this crap. I forced myself throuth the entire game and if you thing it made me happy,,, well,,, it didnt. Curse you, Mistwalker game studios for releasing this damn game. Expand
  24. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best RPG games for the Xbox 360. With a strong story, lovable characters, and stunning graphics, "The Lost Odyssey" goes above and beyond the typical RPG. This game clearly surpasses the Final Fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Although, the story is linear and there is a limited amount of "free roaming" commonly found in adventure/RPG games, "The Lost Odyssey" is still well worth your money. You can get it for a mere $9.99. Undeniably, you will get your money's worth. Expand
  25. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Lost Odyssey is one of the few, heavily story-based RPGs of the 360/PS3/Wii era.
    You shouldn't wonder why this game really feels like an old Final Fantasy game with pretty graphics, because it was basically made by the founder and former master mind of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi.
    Let's start with the positive aspects of this game
    Lost Odyssey really manages to create a
    good atmosphere that sucks you right in. Both the visuals and the music are captivating.
    As far as characters go, they're believable and have unique personalities.
    The short stories about the main character's past are touching and well-written.
    Combat system offers tactical depth and requires some thought, it's a nice challenge.

    However, this game is far, far from perfect.

    The combat system is very slow and requires extensive amount of micromanaging stuff in the ancient menus.
    Loading times are very long, especially before battles.
    Battles are completely random and take very long, it's often pretty tedious.
    The main story line is actually very simple and especially lacks a good villain. Lost Odyssey's only and main villain is probably the worst I've encountered in a Japanese RPG ever.

    To conclude, Lost Odyssey is worth a playthrough for everyone longing for the old days of Final Fantasy etc., but you should bring patience.
    Expand
  26. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    Its a good jRPG but this gets overhyped way too much.... Probably because its one of the few Jrpgs on xbox that dont totally suck. Its a decent RPG but here is why its not as perfect as people claim. - I love turn based combat but this game just ruins it with long intro's and animations. - Story outside of dreams is kind of weak - A couple of annoying characters - Balance is all over the place
    - Very bad placement for savepoints, you can be playing for 90 minutes (because of dreams most of the time as well) and still not encounter a save.

    I guess I'll just go back to playing Chrono Trigger for the gazillionth time
    Expand
  27. May 30, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games I have ever played in my life. Lost Odyssey is a JRPG that creates a really unique world. It combined fantasy with modern innovation that I have not seen before in a fantasy setting. What made this game so good to me was 1.) the Story. 2.) The Characters and 3.) the literature. The story was so compelling and wonderful that I couldn't stop playing. I could not get enough of this game. The characters really hit home for me and they all are really well developed and you get attached to all of them even if you didn't like a particular character. The literature in this game is so wonderful that the first time I read some of it, it brought me to tears and that was only an hour into this 50+ hour epic. You need to put down your Call of Duty or Skyrim, go to Gamestop or whoever the is selling this and buy it. You will not regret it! Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I hate this game, i don´t like the consoles but i buy the 360 just for play this one!!
    Why it isn´t for PC? the xbox controller is so comfortable, we will miss it in the next gen... someone will buy one?

    The game is amazing, a -must have- for any rpg gamer, get ready your human side and your bunch of tears because you will cry playing this!!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 80
    It's staggeringly gorgeous, and looks and plays like a Final Fantasy title. It rarely steps away from the origins of the genre – instead playing with the 'me too!' mentality of a company that desperately wants to show the world that Square Enix can be bested.
  2. 82
    It may not be in the same class as "Mass Effect," but for a system in desperate need for more quality RPGs, Lost Odyssey fits nicely into the 360 library.
  3. 50
    We have immense respect for what Lost Odyssey tries to do: be a back-to-basics JRPG with modern technological trimmings on the 360. Unfortunately, it's less a celebration of what made older RPGs great and more a crude relic of their past.