Lost Odyssey Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 415
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2016
    10
    Lost Odyssey is, without a doubt, one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. It goes back to the traditional roots of the genre, a very good thing in my eyes. It uses a wonderful turn-based battle system which utilizes strategy and the traditional "Attack, Defend, Skill, Spell, Item, Flee" commands. The system is challenging, it does not respect nor reward mindlessly mashing theLost Odyssey is, without a doubt, one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. It goes back to the traditional roots of the genre, a very good thing in my eyes. It uses a wonderful turn-based battle system which utilizes strategy and the traditional "Attack, Defend, Skill, Spell, Item, Flee" commands. The system is challenging, it does not respect nor reward mindlessly mashing the "attack" command as many others games in the genre do. It forces the player to think about their decisions and to use all of their character's skills and abilities wisely, even in simple random encounters. The story is wonderful, chock full of emotion and mystery. The main protagonist, Kaim, has "dreams" which greatly expand to the game's story and are very welcome additions to an already very strong game. The characters are all very likeable save for a few such as Tolten or Cooke/Mack (a person's opinion on these two is heavily influenced by their stance on child characters in JRPGs - I had no problem with them and found them to be endearing and nice additions to the story, while also working to expand on Kaim's character and development). The skill and ring systems offer unique twists to the gameplay and are fun to mess around with. The OST in the game is astounding, especially the main battle theme - you almost want to keep on encountering random enemies just to hear it. The game's ending is also very satisfying. If the main game is not enough, there is lots of side content and bosses that can offer even more fun than the main storyline. I left the game wanting to play it again (and I soon will), and I would recommend this terrific game to any fan of the genre. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2016
    10
    Excellent JRPG. Those who never owned an Xbox 360 really missed out on this treasure of a game. Great combat, story, and adventure. Xbox 360 was always the platform for great RPG's too bad the current generation of Xbox didn't continue that practice. Lost Odyssey is one of the reasons I have held onto my old 360 along with Too Human, Red Dead Redemption (only 1080p version you canExcellent JRPG. Those who never owned an Xbox 360 really missed out on this treasure of a game. Great combat, story, and adventure. Xbox 360 was always the platform for great RPG's too bad the current generation of Xbox didn't continue that practice. Lost Odyssey is one of the reasons I have held onto my old 360 along with Too Human, Red Dead Redemption (only 1080p version you can get), Fable 2 and Need For Speed Most Wanted. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2015
    8
    the good:
    great story
    fun characters amazing music classic turn based battle, with some minor additions optional bosses are fun too the bad: graphics are nice but couldve been better no summons ------ play if you love the old final fantasy games, and not the new casual **** final fantasies also give the dreams a chance if you play it, i liked the mini stories, they were
    the good:
    great story
    fun characters
    amazing music
    classic turn based battle, with some minor additions
    optional bosses are fun too

    the bad:
    graphics are nice but couldve been better
    no summons

    ------
    play if you love the old final fantasy games, and not the new casual **** final fantasies
    also give the dreams a chance if you play it, i liked the mini stories, they were engaging. Music and text animation was really cool
    Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2015
    8
    Sakaguchi se distancia de la máquina de generar dinero en la que se ha convertido Square-Enix para hacernos entender que lo que el quiere es seguir narrando historias a través de una jugabilidad clásica establecida por él mismo. Añejo, a veces amargo; nostalgia en el presente y jugabilidad sencilla y endiabladamente adictiva. Nunca fue lo que aparentó en un inicio, pero eso no es ni maloSakaguchi se distancia de la máquina de generar dinero en la que se ha convertido Square-Enix para hacernos entender que lo que el quiere es seguir narrando historias a través de una jugabilidad clásica establecida por él mismo. Añejo, a veces amargo; nostalgia en el presente y jugabilidad sencilla y endiabladamente adictiva. Nunca fue lo que aparentó en un inicio, pero eso no es ni malo ni bueno. Un gran juego, aunque pudo llegar a ser mejor de haberse pulido como debería. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    6
    Es una de las pocas razones por la que compré una xbox360 y la verdad es que quedé un poco chafado (con éste y sobre todo con su primo Blue dragon). No niego que tiene cosas buenas, y es un RPG puro que se agradece en estos tiempos, pero la historia se desinfla y se desinfla, hasta haberme abandonarlo en dos coasiones, los personajes tienen poco carisma y sus diseños funcionan mejor sobreEs una de las pocas razones por la que compré una xbox360 y la verdad es que quedé un poco chafado (con éste y sobre todo con su primo Blue dragon). No niego que tiene cosas buenas, y es un RPG puro que se agradece en estos tiempos, pero la historia se desinfla y se desinfla, hasta haberme abandonarlo en dos coasiones, los personajes tienen poco carisma y sus diseños funcionan mejor sobre papel que en recreacciones tridimensionales (cuando salen todos juntos eso parece un carnaval). Y en definitiva le falta mucha gracia para destacar. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    I picked this up for like 2 bucks on a whim one day. 70 hours later I'll tell you it was the best Final Fantasy game I've played in years. Old school turn based battles with a touch of real time for extra damage effects. No spiky-haired whining dickheads in this and the story didn't make me want to hang myself with a six pack of tube socks tied end to end.
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Totally and utterly underated game.... i have no idea why this game didnt get more exposure, its fantastic, better than any final fantasy game that came out after the 9th one by a long shot.......... this is what final fantasy 10 should have been.... go buy now
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    This game traumatized me. I hate it with all my heart. It all started when i first gazed upon a well polished beautiful intro and said to myself: "Holy wack! This might be a huge unforgettable game that im gonna love, like FF or something How foolish i was to let them trick me into downloading this dispickable piece of filth. EVERYTHING, i mean EVERY single aspect of this game disgustsThis game traumatized me. I hate it with all my heart. It all started when i first gazed upon a well polished beautiful intro and said to myself: "Holy wack! This might be a huge unforgettable game that im gonna love, like FF or something How foolish i was to let them trick me into downloading this dispickable piece of filth. EVERYTHING, i mean EVERY single aspect of this game disgusts me. The story is some kind of twisted disrespectful imitation of FFVII if you think of it. The characters are such freaks i kept facepalming at every cutscene, the villian is hard to comment on, he is a bad joke, worst antagonist ever, and those freaking children (WTF!) Jansen and Sed dont suck as much but nothing special either. Bad graphics. Locations are boooring, uninspired, uncreative. Lame architecture. World map almost looks like a ps1 game. Broken-down mess of a battle sistem. You cant plan your moves strategically, because you never know the order of execution, what the is that good for? Extremely cheap, unfair boss battles. (Boss uses "Reflect", you throw "Dispell" to nullify it, but Dispell reflects towards your team, whf is that possibly a bug) (and what about that all-stonus spell at the final battle, you probably know what i mean) Damn, when the first boss killed me 5 times i should have already guessed what kind of cheap ****fest i had engaged in.I could go on forever about this, really, but let me just mention bad music (wtf Nobuo, did you give up on this ****ty game???), awfull cutscenes (nothing like that damn intro, i say NOTHING LIKE IT ANYWHERE IN THE GAME!!) and oh my god does this game has a lot of other issues, im just too tired to talk about this crap. I forced myself throuth the entire game and if you thing it made me happy,,, well,,, it didnt. Curse you, Mistwalker game studios for releasing this damn game. Expand
  9. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I hate this game, i don´t like the consoles but i buy the 360 just for play this one!!
    Why it isn´t for PC? the xbox controller is so comfortable, we will miss it in the next gen... someone will buy one?

    The game is amazing, a -must have- for any rpg gamer, get ready your human side and your bunch of tears because you will cry playing this!!
  10. May 30, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games I have ever played in my life. Lost Odyssey is a JRPG that creates a really unique world. It combined fantasy with modern innovation that I have not seen before in a fantasy setting. What made this game so good to me was 1.) the Story. 2.) The Characters and 3.) the literature. The story was so compelling and wonderful that I couldn't stop playing. I could not getOne of the greatest games I have ever played in my life. Lost Odyssey is a JRPG that creates a really unique world. It combined fantasy with modern innovation that I have not seen before in a fantasy setting. What made this game so good to me was 1.) the Story. 2.) The Characters and 3.) the literature. The story was so compelling and wonderful that I couldn't stop playing. I could not get enough of this game. The characters really hit home for me and they all are really well developed and you get attached to all of them even if you didn't like a particular character. The literature in this game is so wonderful that the first time I read some of it, it brought me to tears and that was only an hour into this 50+ hour epic. You need to put down your Call of Duty or Skyrim, go to Gamestop or whoever the is selling this and buy it. You will not regret it! Expand
  11. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Lost Odyssey is one of the few, heavily story-based RPGs of the 360/PS3/Wii era.
    You shouldn't wonder why this game really feels like an old Final Fantasy game with pretty graphics, because it was basically made by the founder and former master mind of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi.
    Let's start with the positive aspects of this game Lost Odyssey really manages to create a
    Lost Odyssey is one of the few, heavily story-based RPGs of the 360/PS3/Wii era.
    You shouldn't wonder why this game really feels like an old Final Fantasy game with pretty graphics, because it was basically made by the founder and former master mind of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi.
    Let's start with the positive aspects of this game
    Lost Odyssey really manages to create a good atmosphere that sucks you right in. Both the visuals and the music are captivating.
    As far as characters go, they're believable and have unique personalities.
    The short stories about the main character's past are touching and well-written.
    Combat system offers tactical depth and requires some thought, it's a nice challenge.

    However, this game is far, far from perfect.

    The combat system is very slow and requires extensive amount of micromanaging stuff in the ancient menus.
    Loading times are very long, especially before battles.
    Battles are completely random and take very long, it's often pretty tedious.
    The main story line is actually very simple and especially lacks a good villain. Lost Odyssey's only and main villain is probably the worst I've encountered in a Japanese RPG ever.

    To conclude, Lost Odyssey is worth a playthrough for everyone longing for the old days of Final Fantasy etc., but you should bring patience.
    Expand
  12. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best RPG games for the Xbox 360. With a strong story, lovable characters, and stunning graphics, "The Lost Odyssey" goes above and beyond the typical RPG. This game clearly surpasses the Final Fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Although, the story is linear and there is a limited amount of "free roaming" commonly found in adventure/RPG games, "The Lost Odyssey"Definitely one of the best RPG games for the Xbox 360. With a strong story, lovable characters, and stunning graphics, "The Lost Odyssey" goes above and beyond the typical RPG. This game clearly surpasses the Final Fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Although, the story is linear and there is a limited amount of "free roaming" commonly found in adventure/RPG games, "The Lost Odyssey" is still well worth your money. You can get it for a mere $9.99. Undeniably, you will get your money's worth. Collapse
  13. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Lost Odyssey was an attempt to make a standard RPG exclusive to the Xbox 360, and this game is as standard as it gets. It's like Microsoft, realizing their system's lack of RPGs, got in Hironobu Sakaguchi and said, "hey, make us the most basic and unadventurous RPG you possibly can, one that will be sure not to upset any fans with anything unconventional". And that's what he did. When aLost Odyssey was an attempt to make a standard RPG exclusive to the Xbox 360, and this game is as standard as it gets. It's like Microsoft, realizing their system's lack of RPGs, got in Hironobu Sakaguchi and said, "hey, make us the most basic and unadventurous RPG you possibly can, one that will be sure not to upset any fans with anything unconventional". And that's what he did. When a lack of creativity in a game is not just an accident or natural flaw but the actual goal of a project, this is what results: generic battle system, story, characters and everything. But generic can be a good thing if done right, but Lost Odyssey does it all badly. The battle system is dull, easy but drawn-out; the story, despite being based on an excellent concept, somehow fails to be engaging in the slightest; and similarly, the characters are lifeless and unfamiliar despite seeming to have great potential. The game is a struggle to finish because it's so difficult to care about what's happening in the story and because there is no challenge to be found in battle. Fortunately, there are some positive things to say about Lost Odyssey. The setting has a dark, industrial atmosphere, which is a great break from the usual over-the-top fantasy or cutesy anime styles found in many RPGs. But far more importantly, the game has an excellent series of short stories about the main character's life and experiences. They are extraordinarily well-written, very moving and engaging; the contrast in quality with the game's main storyline couldn't be more striking. These stories are perhaps the only thing that makes the game worth playing. Overall, if you've played many RPGs and just want the same kind of thing every time, you may enjoy Lost Odyssey; but if you expect a new game to offer at least a few significant changes to the tried and tested formula, or to present that old formula in a new and exciting way, then you're going to be disappointed. However, for those who haven't played many RPGs, this may be a good place to start as it'll ease you into the genre very comfortably. The game is very easy (some of your characters even come back to life automatically in battle) and it will familiarize you with many commonplace mechanics and the basic structure of Japanese RPGs. Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    More mature than the Final Fantasy saga but still with the same kind of magic. Lost odyssey is a traditional JRPG, very polished and deep. During your adventure, you can discover several secret tales that tell some of the most moving stories you will ever read. This is the best XBOX rpg and simply a big piece of art.
  15. Jul 31, 2012
    3
    This game is very traditional, almost to a fault. It practically reeks of Final Fantasy 9 copying. While the immortal system is okay, the battles are so obnoxiously slow that it becomes unbearable after a while. At first, it is barely noticable, but the monotony suddenly weighs down and the slow attack and magic animations make the battles far too lengthy. Since the game has randomThis game is very traditional, almost to a fault. It practically reeks of Final Fantasy 9 copying. While the immortal system is okay, the battles are so obnoxiously slow that it becomes unbearable after a while. At first, it is barely noticable, but the monotony suddenly weighs down and the slow attack and magic animations make the battles far too lengthy. Since the game has random battles, this is a serious issue and annoyance, especially when you are forced to travel around an area to solve puzzles. The level cap adds to this frustration since you have no motivation to battle enemies without the promise of a buffed party. Sure, the soundtrack, aesthetics, pacing, and most all other elements of this game are great, but this whole game is tainted by one wound that is repeatedly dug into with alcohol and dirt. Expand
  16. May 27, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played. It's like a next gen final fantasy! A great game that really evokes emotion out of you! This game is very underated! The game would of got a 10, but the game drags on towards the end, I could never finish this game, cuz it was so long and the main story just kinda dragged.
  17. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Great Game,

    I wish there were more JRPG'S like this on the market today but when you have tittles like mass effect,ff,and fallout allot of people forget where these games came from.Thanks Mistwalker for a great game I won't ever forget.
  18. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Sure it may seem dated in the eyes of modern gamers, but its throwback to when JRPGs ruled the gaming market sets it apart from most RPGs on the 360, which enough depth and variety in its gameplay to keep it a fresh experience. I absolutely loved this game, from the stunning cut-scenes, to the interesting characters (characters you will care about and others you just wish would dieSure it may seem dated in the eyes of modern gamers, but its throwback to when JRPGs ruled the gaming market sets it apart from most RPGs on the 360, which enough depth and variety in its gameplay to keep it a fresh experience. I absolutely loved this game, from the stunning cut-scenes, to the interesting characters (characters you will care about and others you just wish would die already), its great and efficient means of exploration, I spent a good 70 hours playing through this game for the 1st time. Also unlike many JRPGs, the way this game levels you up removes the need to grind most of the time, which is something I'm sure many gamers had a gripes about. One very unique and one of my favorite things about Lost Odyssey were the dreams portion. I wasn't able to collect them all but every single one I managed to read were interestingly written, giving us background information on the specific immortal while still giving us a great short story at the same time. These were so well written, I didn't care that it was only in text. The graphics were beautiful, as expected. Walking into Numara for the 1st time reminded me of how beautifully crafted JRPGs typically are, especially since I had just played the kind of dark and gloomy settings of Fable 3 and Mass Effect 2 (both are also amazing games). Probably my only negative of the game would be the character designs, with Kaim being kind of bland looking, Seth looking a bit odd, and mainly Mack being dressed like a girl. In the end, Lost Odyssey a game I highly recommend to any RPG fan looking for a well crafted story, lots of content, great battle systems, and beautiful graphics. Expand
  19. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Considerably better than I thought it would be. The dream sequences are the best out of the entire game. The only downside is the turn based gameplay. Too slow in my opinion. But all in all a good, if not mind blowing experience.
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Feels and plays like a Final Fantasy from the next generation of consoles. Old school turn based combat system with CGI rendered scenes, really big production values, great music and all a Final Fantasy can offer
  21. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Artistically PERFECT. Inoue Arts. 33 beatiful novels to discover as "dreams" while playing the game. One of the best work of Nobuo Uematsu so far. Storyline and characters will live in your hearts for the rest of your lives. A masterpiece of incommensurable human value. A CLASSIC JRPG blessed by God :-)
  22. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Best jrpg in this generation. One of the best games in this generation. Too far the satisfaction from Final Fantasy XIII. This is a game well done. Recommended 100%
  23. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    When i first played lost odyssey a few years ago in my clunky old 360 it was a bag of mixed feelings because although i definetely loved the gameplay mechanics, story and characters development, i got to admit that i was in pain because of the long load times, sometimes it felt as if i was playing an old psone rpg game. Nevertheless, having said that, and currently having the option toWhen i first played lost odyssey a few years ago in my clunky old 360 it was a bag of mixed feelings because although i definetely loved the gameplay mechanics, story and characters development, i got to admit that i was in pain because of the long load times, sometimes it felt as if i was playing an old psone rpg game. Nevertheless, having said that, and currently having the option to install the game and definetely see an improvement in the loading times department i must say its a really really good game and every fan of ol school rpgs should give it a try, Expand
  24. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    An incredibly well polished JRPG, which sadly is an Xbox 360 exclusive. This game has many elements that stand out such as the dreams and the art direction. The story will quickly immerse you keep you playing for hours on end. Quite possibly the best aspect, in my opinion, is the original soundtrack. Nobuo Uematsu is a God when it comes to composing music. Definitely worth your time if youAn incredibly well polished JRPG, which sadly is an Xbox 360 exclusive. This game has many elements that stand out such as the dreams and the art direction. The story will quickly immerse you keep you playing for hours on end. Quite possibly the best aspect, in my opinion, is the original soundtrack. Nobuo Uematsu is a God when it comes to composing music. Definitely worth your time if you own a 360. Expand
  25. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    This is the real Final Fantasy XI - the true next game in the series after X. Hironobu Sakaguchi knows what the real fans want and boy did he deliver - a fairly linear world-traveling journey, a focus on your limited cast of interesting party members, an epic story with a catastrophe that changes the world for worse, a ship and field map, a gruff mechanic/pilot named "Sed" (Cid/Sid),This is the real Final Fantasy XI - the true next game in the series after X. Hironobu Sakaguchi knows what the real fans want and boy did he deliver - a fairly linear world-traveling journey, a focus on your limited cast of interesting party members, an epic story with a catastrophe that changes the world for worse, a ship and field map, a gruff mechanic/pilot named "Sed" (Cid/Sid), random encounters, a solid, evenly paced turn-based battle system, mature, fully-fledged compositions by none other than Nobuo Uematsu...the list goes on. Every minute I played this game was pure Final Fantasy nostalgic bliss coupled with the excitement of playing it on a next gen console. I just wish I could have bought it at the full 60 bucks when it came out to show my support. At least there's downloadable content. So as I hoped that X wouldn't be the last of it's kind, let's hope that Lost Odyssey won't be either. Expand
  26. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    a solid RPG with a pretty good story if i remember right . i guess it wasnt very memorable though since i cant remember to much about it outside of its some thing about immortals . its a classic RPG and JRPG's so if you like the old turn based RPG's you will like this one . the battles are abit more intense then in most RPG's the random battles against normal enimys can actaully be challanging .
  27. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    at least as far as i know, the best really turn-based jrpg currently out there. if you take away all semi-turn-based stuff like newer final fantasies, eternal sonata, etc. and all the handheld stuff (although a lot of the games there are either strategy rpgs or just semi-turn-based anyway)... you pretty much only end up with lost odyssey. but besides the fact that it would be nice to haveat least as far as i know, the best really turn-based jrpg currently out there. if you take away all semi-turn-based stuff like newer final fantasies, eternal sonata, etc. and all the handheld stuff (although a lot of the games there are either strategy rpgs or just semi-turn-based anyway)... you pretty much only end up with lost odyssey. but besides the fact that it would be nice to have more games like that, that's not a bad thing. lost odyssey has gorgeous graphics, a great story and battle system and an amazing soundtrack (one of the few games i bothered to get it separately for). and if you try to do everything possible, it goes on for a long, long time - like one expects from jrpgs. i'm at 70 hours and still haven't beaten the "ultra-monster" in the game that gives you an achievement. and i don't think i even did a lot of grinding during those 70 hours. but no worries for those who feel that that is "too" long - if you just focus on the main story, i'm sure you can get through it in 25 hours or so. oh and also the story of this game is REALLY well done - i think it made me cry at one or two points. very dramatic stuff. so if you like TRULY turn-based jrpgs like e.g. the good old final fantasies, you absolutely HAVE to get this! Expand
  28. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    I created a metacritic account just to praise this game. It was actually the first jrpg I really became emerged into and i have played several since. Still this one is the best, all from story, to design and character development is excellent. The battle system can get tedious and I HATE the way the sometimes (or at lest once...) throw in 5 difficult boss battles in a row without theI created a metacritic account just to praise this game. It was actually the first jrpg I really became emerged into and i have played several since. Still this one is the best, all from story, to design and character development is excellent. The battle system can get tedious and I HATE the way the sometimes (or at lest once...) throw in 5 difficult boss battles in a row without the option to save. These minor problems aside, this is a game everyone should experience, it's really that good and on my top 5 list of games ever created. Read the dream sequences!! 10/10 without doubt, even if it's nt perfect, if any game deserves it, it is this one. Expand
  29. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the best, most proper "old school" JRPG of this generation. An epic story, excellent emotional drama, memorable characters, good cinematics, and enough side quests to last for 100+ hours. Hopefully not just a homage to the golden age of JRPGs as this is exactly what there needs to be more!
  30. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    This is a great JRPG and the best on the 360. The original creator of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi, left Square Enix to create Mistwalker Corporation, which produced this game. Also, Nobuo Uematsu, who does the music for the original Final Fantasy games, worked on this game. Together, they have created a masterpiece! If you do not like old school, turn-based combat,This is a great JRPG and the best on the 360. The original creator of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi, left Square Enix to create Mistwalker Corporation, which produced this game. Also, Nobuo Uematsu, who does the music for the original Final Fantasy games, worked on this game. Together, they have created a masterpiece! If you do not like old school, turn-based combat, then this game is not for you. But if you are a fan of the old Final Fantasies, then this game is for you. Good graphics, AMAZING music, good story, good characters, and GREAT gameplay!!! I loved this game and it took me 99 hours to beat it and get 1100/1100 gamerpoints (including the Seeker of the Deep DLC, which is almost freaking impossible). If you like JRPGs, this game is a must. Expand
  31. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    Surely the most underrated RPG out there? Old-school turn-based action, a wonderful soundtrack, a sense of humor, interesting characters and badass bosses... what more could you ask from a game?
  32. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the best RPG on the 360 with great characters, story, pacing, music, graphics, gameplay and cinema. This is what Final Fantasy XIII should have been.
  33. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    The best RPG on the 360, bar none. And I mean that Oblivion, Fallout, FF, Mass Effect, ect. It is the best RPG on the 360, bar none. I only wish I hadn't ruined it for myself by buying the guide.
  34. YitánTribal
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    The game is great, the story is incredibly well told, the characters and their relationships are superb. The gameplay is traditional but delicious, with an interaction in the spectacular setting. The OST is the best that has calved Nobuo his past works, and the design is brilliant!!
  35. YitánTribal
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    The game is great, the story is incredibly well told, the characters and their relationships are superb. The gameplay is traditional but delicious, with an interaction in the spectacular setting. The OST is the best that has calved Nobuo his past works, and the design is brilliant!!
  36. AnonymousAnonymous
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    I just saw some people rating this game 0 to 2 simply because it was not what THEY wanted from it. If you don't like a certain type of movie, then don't watch it! Same goes for games. This game is an extremely polished, high value and positively traditional JRPG that deserves a way higher rating than this. It reminds me of Legend of Legaia on the PSX... So far, this is an I just saw some people rating this game 0 to 2 simply because it was not what THEY wanted from it. If you don't like a certain type of movie, then don't watch it! Same goes for games. This game is an extremely polished, high value and positively traditional JRPG that deserves a way higher rating than this. It reminds me of Legend of Legaia on the PSX... So far, this is an awesome game being overshadowed by higher-marketted final fantasy games and the like. Expand
  37. ScottM
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    While not perfect, Lost Odyssey is easily the best RPG I've played on the Xbox 360. The story may seem cliche at first glance but the way Kain's memories are revealed was both interesting and unique. If you are looking for a game to really draw you in then give this one a shot.
  38. [ANONYMOUS]
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    A real JRPG, no awful gimmicks, decent gameplay, decent story and all-round high production value. Loading times could be improved but they don't ruin the experience. Highly under-rated game, if it was called Final Fantasy 13, it would've sold millions and've had rave reviews.
  39. Joe
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Very well done traditional JRPG gameplay combined with some of the best writing I have ever witnessed in a videogame.
  40. jaredf
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    It's like watching an anime movie. It's so frickin emotional too. Love the gameplay and graphics are beautiful. I hope they keep coming out with strictly turn based fighting RPG's I can deal with the whole aim ring thing. First RPG in a long time where I can say the boss fights are tough. I like this.
  41. RazzioP
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game is a great traditional RPG experience. If you don't like the traditional RPG experience, it is not the games fault and does not deserve a bad score because the game was not made to suit you. The characters are all excellent (Especially Jansen), and I found the story to be engaging. The graphics might not be the best but they are perfectly acceptable and don't detract This game is a great traditional RPG experience. If you don't like the traditional RPG experience, it is not the games fault and does not deserve a bad score because the game was not made to suit you. The characters are all excellent (Especially Jansen), and I found the story to be engaging. The graphics might not be the best but they are perfectly acceptable and don't detract from the game experience. The sound track has nothing wrong with it and the battle system is fine. If you don't like the turn based battle system, that is your problem, not the games. The dream sequences are superbly written. And yes, the written language is still a perfectly acceptable way to convey a message. I feel a voice actor or cut scene would have had too much oppurtunity to ruin the impact of the dreams. You can skip most of them too so it is not like the game forces you to watch them. (Some are mandatory though). Awesome tradional RPG, avoid it if you think an RPG is an MMORPG. Expand
  42. PhilipF.
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Lost Odyssey is a certainly a classic within it's genre, i can honestly say that this is the best turn-based RPG made within the last 10 years. yeah, it's sort of the same JRPG molding as Fantasy VII, VIII, or IX; but it makes up for it with it's fantastic characters, scenery, and storyline. As for those who insist that this game is too hard, i really feel sorry for them Lost Odyssey is a certainly a classic within it's genre, i can honestly say that this is the best turn-based RPG made within the last 10 years. yeah, it's sort of the same JRPG molding as Fantasy VII, VIII, or IX; but it makes up for it with it's fantastic characters, scenery, and storyline. As for those who insist that this game is too hard, i really feel sorry for them that they didn't give it a better chance. yeah, the first couple of bosses in this game are insanely hard, but this is just a relapse from RPG gamers being hand fed battle wins over the last 10 years; usually just spamming their A or X buttons on every single fight. if you enjoy going through some very small thought processes for your kills, this game is for you. Expand
  43. KieronB
    Jul 30, 2009
    9
    Bought this game for £15 and its very much worth it. The game is a traditional JRPG, so if you like games like FF7/FF8/FF9.. it plays out very much like these, especially in its simplistic yet engaging combat/magic systems. The music score is pretty good and the graphics arent too bad.. not great though. The plot is good and draws you in quite nicely, the game will take around 30-40 Bought this game for £15 and its very much worth it. The game is a traditional JRPG, so if you like games like FF7/FF8/FF9.. it plays out very much like these, especially in its simplistic yet engaging combat/magic systems. The music score is pretty good and the graphics arent too bad.. not great though. The plot is good and draws you in quite nicely, the game will take around 30-40 hours to complete at least and theres about another 20 hours worth of side quests/levelling/collecting all spells/items to go afterwards too. I had no problems with any technical hitches with the game so not sure what the other reviewers were talking about.. however the loading times are slightly annoying.. they are not really long but longer than what they should be. I havent played Blue Dragon yet but ive played Infinite Undiscovery, Eternal Sonata, The Last Remnant and Star Ocean 4 but this is by far the best RPG on the 360. Expand
  44. maxryder
    Apr 22, 2009
    9
    iv only played about 3 hours or so, but so far its been epic, if you like good story and probley over 50 hours of gameplay, then it is possibly to over look the other draw backs such as load times and such. Anyone who enjoys rpg's should love this.
  45. KieranD
    Mar 2, 2009
    2
    This game is a total con, in movie terms, this would be a like a sequal with none of the original cast. A quick buck. Girlfriend and I are 10 hours in to this game (and very much enjoy RPG's normall) and we still completely hate every char, the bad guy, the plot, the limitations of roaming around, we are still on our 2nd weapon and using same spells as start of the game. Bosses are This game is a total con, in movie terms, this would be a like a sequal with none of the original cast. A quick buck. Girlfriend and I are 10 hours in to this game (and very much enjoy RPG's normall) and we still completely hate every char, the bad guy, the plot, the limitations of roaming around, we are still on our 2nd weapon and using same spells as start of the game. Bosses are all either hard or impossible, as random attacks that nearly kill everyone might happen twice in a row or not at all. Only fun we are having with this game is constant mocking, such as "oh look, a badly drawn Poster that looks nothing like the ones around it, wonder if you can peel it backwards and find 100g or a new pair of earings. Cos thats where i stash my money and jewlery, begind a poster!". The game has no organic way of rewarding you with new spells or abilities, so instead you find them. For example, cast poison, guess where we found that? in a badly drawn urn in a forest, or maybe my memory fails me, maybe it was by ramming a tree with our shoulder which made it fall out of the tree. Not that a wise magician taught us it, no no, valuable items like Paralize immune headbands trypically are found in ramable trees. Our fave part of the game is the fact that Kaim is not just immortal, but a serial thief. He will happily go in to his Grandchildrens house and rip posters off walls or steal money from badly drawn gold chests (cos kids have those ofc). Maybe the people who designed the levels hired the guys from Acme (see road runner) to add the lootable items to the game, but certainly isn't hard to spot when a item has something you can steal or kick to find a lootable item. anyway, my life is too short to tell you all the reasons this game sucks, but take it from a RPG guy and his open minded GF, this game is all sorts of terrible. You will hate the plot, which you figure out about 2 hours before you are told about it, you will be given a powerpoint presentation complete with crazy animated text when you remember something (which btw, you remember in such great detail it will take 10 mins to account), fights are a pain in the ass. oh sod it, i can't go on, please for the love of god borrow it off some sap of a friend who has it and give it no more than 5 hours, as the following 5 hours will suck just as much and not improve at all. Expand
  46. AndrewB
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    Lost Odyssey is an incredible experience with a gripping story, epic adventures, and memorable characters. Sakaguchi has created a masterpiece that should be the template of what a JRPG should be (as he had done with his Final Fantasy series).
  47. TroelsJ
    Jan 20, 2009
    7
    As a fan of the turn-based RPG's it thrills me to find a game on xbox360 that is not Real-time RPG - pretty fun genre, but fans of the old generation-rpg-styles need a turn-based RPG fix at some point, and I've reached that point now. Lost Odyssey delivers this better than I'd expected if you choose to focus on the gameplay and ring-system only. However, there are quite a As a fan of the turn-based RPG's it thrills me to find a game on xbox360 that is not Real-time RPG - pretty fun genre, but fans of the old generation-rpg-styles need a turn-based RPG fix at some point, and I've reached that point now. Lost Odyssey delivers this better than I'd expected if you choose to focus on the gameplay and ring-system only. However, there are quite a few flaws. For instance the story is very familiar, just with heavy weight on the feel-bad-and-sad-cry-cry story, it's simply too much. Not to mention the incredibly long movie sequences. You lose a lot of your patience watching these dull, overtly long sequences, where the graphics doesn't impress in any way either (only the opening sequence really impressed me). The dialogues are so "this-is-so-touching-and-sad-it-makes-me-cry-even-though-it's-only-a-game"-like that it's only laughable. But as a fan of the genre I'm willing to let this go most of the time. This is the only reason why it get's such a high rating from me, but anyone who focuses on stories and graphics will not find what they need in Lost Odyssey. Expand
  48. AaronA
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I played this game on my girlfriends X-Box 360 for along time got up to level 65, disc 4 before the final battle, I got my OWN Xbox 360 and had to restart, Thats how great of a game this is, for all you cryers about Turn-Based, you just don't like it because it's too "simple" and it doesn't blow people up, it's called strategy not just let's finish the game toI played this game on my girlfriends X-Box 360 for along time got up to level 65, disc 4 before the final battle, I got my OWN Xbox 360 and had to restart, Thats how great of a game this is, for all you cryers about Turn-Based, you just don't like it because it's too "simple" and it doesn't blow people up, it's called strategy not just let's finish the game to finish the game and say ok time to go spend more of Daddies money... play the game for what it is. Expand
  49. JennaS.
    Sep 1, 2008
    2
    I love RPGs and have played (and liked) the majority of Final Fantasy games. However, Lost Odyssey is one of the worst RPGs I have ever played. I would hesitate to even call it an RPG; my idea of an RPG is being able to roam freely and do things in your own time. This is not a feature of Lost Odyssey. Firstly, you very rarely actually have control of any of the characters! I spent most of I love RPGs and have played (and liked) the majority of Final Fantasy games. However, Lost Odyssey is one of the worst RPGs I have ever played. I would hesitate to even call it an RPG; my idea of an RPG is being able to roam freely and do things in your own time. This is not a feature of Lost Odyssey. Firstly, you very rarely actually have control of any of the characters! I spent most of my time watching pointless, over-long cutscenes. If I'd wanted to watch a film, I would have watched a DVD, not played a game. When I did finally get control of a character I found the combat and general gameplay to be ok but the ridiculous cutscenes just frustrated me beyond belief. Secondly, the save points are VERY few and far-between. For example, you'll be given a save point before fighting a boss but not afterwards. So you kill a boss and then complete another half an hour of gameplay before coming across an opportunity to save which means if you die in that time (which is highly likely in this game due to the lack of refresh points/shops) you have to go through the whole boss-killing, boring cutscenes and half hour of gameplay again. Thirdly, the leveling of enemies is plain ridiculous. One minute you'll be fighting hoards of enemies who deal you tiny amounts of damage and then suddenly you'll come across a boss who wipes out your entire party in about two attacks. You then either have to spend a stupid amount of time leveling up because the other enemies are not powerful enough to allow you to level up reasonably quickly or attempt repeatedly to fight a ridiculously strong boss who wipes your party out time and time again. Its just frustrating; not fun. In my opinion Lost Odyssey wipes the fun out of RPGs. If you want a proper RPG rather than one long cutscene masquerading as one, play Oblivion, it's a true RPG which allows you to roam freely, truly interact with your environment and provides hours and hours of solid gameplay without corny, mind-numbing cutscenes inbetween. Expand
  50. MikeA.
    Aug 26, 2008
    9
    Great writing and gameplay. High production values. I've been playing Final Fantasy since III and while this game won't win any awards for innovation, the gameplay, story and characters are a lot closer to the spirit of those early FFs than the sterile and corporate FFXII.
  51. TroyP.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    This game is truly amazing. A moving and exciting plot with a challenging and deep combat system. It is turn-based with random encounters which turns away some, but I love these types of games. My only gripe is that the main villian is pretty lame. He doesn't look cool nor is he interesting in the least. He does not compare to the likes of say Golbez, Kefka, or Sephiroth of FF4, FF6, or FF7.
  52. MikeV
    Jul 25, 2008
    9
    Real good game, of course it's not for everyone as you can see by the reviews, it was being criticized for being a turn-based RPG like older JRPG's. But there's nothing wrong with this style and it's great. Most people would agree, this is a very underrated game.
  53. Guy
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    Lost Odyssey is a fantastic JRPG. The graphics are killer, the characters and monsters are rendered with great detail, the locations are greatly varied and beautifully constructed, the music is beautifully orchestrated and it does well to match the mood, the whole Immortal and Mortal concept gives leveling up a different spin then other JRPGs and the game is also deeply engaging thanks to Lost Odyssey is a fantastic JRPG. The graphics are killer, the characters and monsters are rendered with great detail, the locations are greatly varied and beautifully constructed, the music is beautifully orchestrated and it does well to match the mood, the whole Immortal and Mortal concept gives leveling up a different spin then other JRPGs and the game is also deeply engaging thanks to the plot and the way it is told. Now, onto the worst things about Lost Odyssey. Random Battles get very irritating if they are placed in the wrong place at the wrong time. Sadly, this is true with Lost Odyssey. It is horrible frustrating to end a random battle while trying to solve a puzzle and then to take literally 2 steps forward to complete the puzzle and fall into another random battle. Another big problem with Lost Odyssey is that the Save Points are sometimes unforgiving. One example of this would be on Disc 3 in the Experimental Staff. The save points are an hour and a half of gameplay away in that area. Very irksome indeed... One thing that I find silly to complain about is how Lost Odyssey is very similar to the JRPGs that came before it such as FF-X. Sure the plots are similar, some of the characters are cookie-cut outs and the battle system doesn't really innovate so much. But, you dont need innovation for a great game. Mistwalker took the best elements from previous JRPG's and incorporated it into their own game. They also added in some of their own things to make the game as good as possible. It is very hard to innovate an almost perfect genre so I dont blame Mistwalker. You really have to play Lost Odyssey for yourself and formulate your own opinion. I'm sure that if you loved Final Fantasy X, you'll love Lost Odyssey. Even if you didn't like FF-X and you adore JRPGs, I still highly recommend that you try it out. Now I hear many people complaining about the disc packaging problem and I agree with them. In the US, the discs are horrible packaged and stacked on top of each other. For those of you buying the game in the US, remember to shake the box before you purchase the game to make sure that no discs are loose! Expand
  54. ChrisD.
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    It's a Final Fantasy game, if it had Final Fantasy in the title it'd be averaging 90 instead of 80 and no-one would bat and eyelid. Story is slow but immensely gratifying. Characters are the games strongest attribute, near flawless. Combat is well polished but doesn't quite achieve turn-based perfection like FF10. Presentation/direction is great. Graphics never reach any It's a Final Fantasy game, if it had Final Fantasy in the title it'd be averaging 90 instead of 80 and no-one would bat and eyelid. Story is slow but immensely gratifying. Characters are the games strongest attribute, near flawless. Combat is well polished but doesn't quite achieve turn-based perfection like FF10. Presentation/direction is great. Graphics never reach any great heights, they are hit and miss, with the misses being painfully obvious (stuttering, some animation simply not attempted, lego block fingers). Disappointing really considering what other devs were pushing out of the 360 at a similar point in time. Sound and music par for the course. Has a RUN button, and when you hold it you damn well RUN like the wind. All in all it deserves to be placed on the same pedestal as the FF games, it is of that quality, it gets the things important to a JRPG right, and the really important things really right. Expand
  55. JasonJ
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Great game and story. It may have turn based JRPG game mechanics that some criticize, but this is a perfect example of how you don't need super-duper-new tricked out controls and gamestyles to make a good storyline and game.
  56. StevenB.
    May 15, 2008
    9
    One of the most interesting and beautiful games to come to the xbox 360, dramatic storyline and great gameplay make it an most for all 360 owners.
  57. BartK.
    May 6, 2008
    9
    Hironobu Sakaguchi and Nobuo Uematsu. That already determines : nice gameplay, strong story and music that gives me goosebumps. That's what i already knew before i bought the game. And like many people say, the only reason why this game doesn't deserve a 10 is because of the technical letdowns ( unstable framerate and load lag ). but if you are a open minded gamer.. and you Hironobu Sakaguchi and Nobuo Uematsu. That already determines : nice gameplay, strong story and music that gives me goosebumps. That's what i already knew before i bought the game. And like many people say, the only reason why this game doesn't deserve a 10 is because of the technical letdowns ( unstable framerate and load lag ). but if you are a open minded gamer.. and you don't throw the controller away because you're stuck at the beginning in Uhra.. you'll have a great time with Lost Odyssey and everybody who gives this game under 5.. go fuck yourself .. this game is in my top 10 (J)RPG's ( along with FF, Mass Effect, Jade Empire, Oblivion, Fable, Diablo etc.) Expand
  58. Jan
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Underrated is the major headline for this title. LO may not fit everybody likes, but in what it tries to be it is a major success. Charachter design, enemy design, graphics, sound and music are all good. Combat and ring system are complex, motivating and fun, the difficulty level is adequate and creates interesting battles. In the end LO delivers 60 to 75 hours of real good gameplay what Underrated is the major headline for this title. LO may not fit everybody likes, but in what it tries to be it is a major success. Charachter design, enemy design, graphics, sound and music are all good. Combat and ring system are complex, motivating and fun, the difficulty level is adequate and creates interesting battles. In the end LO delivers 60 to 75 hours of real good gameplay what makes the metascore of 78% look like a bad joke. Same game under FF label would have been 85 to 95% as usual. Expand
  59. DarrenR.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    This is one of the most underrated games I've played. Quite how Gamespy could give it 50% is beyond me. I'm no JRPG fanboi either. First time I've played one. This is videogame storytelling at its best. Fun combat system too!
  60. AlanG.
    Apr 23, 2008
    4
    I always thought that the idea of gaming was that you were meant to be involved? Here it feels as though I spend the vast majority of my time doing nothing but watching spectacularly dull CG clips of equally badly acted stereotyped characters. I may not have given this enough time but after several hours of doing very little I gave up.
  61. DaynS
    Apr 3, 2008
    5
    Picked it up looking for a little retro gaming with polish. After losing 2 hours of playing to a power outage and no auto-save outside of dungeons reminded me that to be true to the JRPG Genre you really, really have to hate the player and the player really, really has to love you for it.
  62. TomS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    7
    i thought the game would have more of a dynasty warriors feel i was very disappointed about that . but i have come to like the game and lots of achievements for xbox360 good job
  63. StevenH.
    Mar 29, 2008
    4
    Too many videos, lots of glitchy videos and frustrating combat.
  64. MikeD.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Incredible game. It has what the industry needs most to keep growing: content. Amazing visuals and a fun storyline. My only beef were the puzzle like dungeons which really just slowed the process of this hybrid movie-game. It was a blast.
  65. ChockLo
    Mar 18, 2008
    9
    Absolutely stunning - the game that FF12 should have been. Story, battle, link system are perfectly tuned using tried and tested formulas. The only reason why this game doesn't deserve a ten is because of the technical letdowns (framerate issues and load lag leading to 'pop ups').
  66. NANA
    Mar 17, 2008
    4
    The only innovative thing about this game is the retardedly boring dream system, but when you break it down, they are just text cut-scenes (I bet you can't get through the first dream without scoffing, it might as well be a mexican soap opera.) The something extremely similar to the ring system has been implemented in other jrpgs, sorry to burst everyones bubble. The game would The only innovative thing about this game is the retardedly boring dream system, but when you break it down, they are just text cut-scenes (I bet you can't get through the first dream without scoffing, it might as well be a mexican soap opera.) The something extremely similar to the ring system has been implemented in other jrpgs, sorry to burst everyones bubble. The game would freeze during the first load screen if I stopped playing it for a few hours, but that was most likely the shitty hardwares problem. Expand
  67. Ryan
    Mar 17, 2008
    1
    Not as good as FF, or Mass Effect.
  68. OsmanZ.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    The first 60 hours were memorable. After that point with the sub quests and other optional stuff, it built up to 100+ hours of gameplay. Although I do think that the sub quests were sub par, and they distanced themselves from the storyline WAY too much, they were there for the completists and grind maniacs, although everything that was painful was totally optional.
  69. KevinA.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    While the game may start off slowly, it really gets going after disc 2 and I couldn't stop playing it. Any fan of Final Fantasy and JRPGs will love this game. I would have given it a ten if they kids had been left out and the framerate was a bit more steady with less load times.
  70. AaronR.
    Mar 11, 2008
    8
    The game is unapologetically a JRPG. If you think it's anything else, you'll be disappointed. Even though there is little in the way of innovation, the ring system being just about the only thing that wasn't in a final fantasy game or Blue Dragon, the game is quite a fun, classical, JRPG. Occasionally, there were framerate issues, but there was nothing ever so bad as to The game is unapologetically a JRPG. If you think it's anything else, you'll be disappointed. Even though there is little in the way of innovation, the ring system being just about the only thing that wasn't in a final fantasy game or Blue Dragon, the game is quite a fun, classical, JRPG. Occasionally, there were framerate issues, but there was nothing ever so bad as to detract away from the experience. The story is fantastically interwoven with the plot of the game, though it could be a little less emo. The sounds are amazing as well as the voice acting, though, the foreign language voice acting is markably better than the English. It's worth it to play for 30 min. or so with the Italian voices, even if you don't understand Italian, to understand what I'm talking about. Expand
  71. Snake
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    This is a very solid JRPG. The characters are less whiny than recent FF installments, which really helps. Loading and Framerate are a bit poor, but better than the very well received Mass Effect. The technical issues don't ruin the experience and the game is actually quite beautiful. Forget all of the review sites, because this game really is a JRPG. If you like games like Final This is a very solid JRPG. The characters are less whiny than recent FF installments, which really helps. Loading and Framerate are a bit poor, but better than the very well received Mass Effect. The technical issues don't ruin the experience and the game is actually quite beautiful. Forget all of the review sites, because this game really is a JRPG. If you like games like Final Fantasy, you will like this game. You don't need a number score. It is the best JRPG on 360 and the best console JRPG since, well, Final Fantasy. I rather enjoy it because the characters, writing, and themes are more "mature" from the American perspective yet the game is still distinctly Japanese in style. It does fall short of a typical Final Fantasy game, but not by tremendously much. It just doesn't quite have the wonder and imagination of a Final Fantasy game. I quite enjoyed it. Expand
  72. AndreasS.
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    I feel this is a deeply underrated JRPG. The story is moving, and the characters are nicely fleshed out. The graphics are If gamertags are anything to go by, it seems many reviewers only finished the first disc. This doesn't really do the game justice, since the JRPG as a genre relies heavily on story. As far as gameplay mechanics go, the battle system is traditional, but very well I feel this is a deeply underrated JRPG. The story is moving, and the characters are nicely fleshed out. The graphics are If gamertags are anything to go by, it seems many reviewers only finished the first disc. This doesn't really do the game justice, since the JRPG as a genre relies heavily on story. As far as gameplay mechanics go, the battle system is traditional, but very well balanced, actually making you use most of what you have at your disposal (a rarity in JRPGS). With just enough twists and tweaks, it's nearly perfect for me. And not to mention the beautiful spellcasting and attack animations of your characters. I would basically say; if you're a casual JRPG fan who always enjoy Square Enix's final fantasy outings, this is a great game for you. If you're a hardcore Final Fantasy fan who disapprove of their latest outing, then Lost Odyssey is a must-buy for you. If you're a hardcore JRPG dungeon grinder/obscure SJRPG fan, this might not tickle your fancy, unless you posess the ability to enjoy a great story as well. If you're a semihardcore-gamer who really enjoyed Mass Effect, then approach with caution. These are two different genres, and you better do your research on Lost Odyssey before deciding to buy it. Expand
  73. SimonH.
    Mar 11, 2008
    6
    What I would have liked to know before considering buying this game: It has very similar game mechanics to Blue Dragon. Similar turn-based combat, similar skills system, similar annoying kicking of inanimate objects to earn items, similar extensive use of cut-scenes, and even the same monsters. That said, the improvements over Blue Dragon for me are that it is less cartoony, characters What I would have liked to know before considering buying this game: It has very similar game mechanics to Blue Dragon. Similar turn-based combat, similar skills system, similar annoying kicking of inanimate objects to earn items, similar extensive use of cut-scenes, and even the same monsters. That said, the improvements over Blue Dragon for me are that it is less cartoony, characters are not annoying, story seems better. Expand
  74. HamaadS.
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    By far the best role playing game on xbox 360. The battle sequence is good but could've been better. That would have to be the only downfall.
  75. AndrewM.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    As a fan of the FF series, I obviously picked this up having seen its striking resemblance to the 8th in the aformentioned series. I can say that, so far, it's enjoyable and enveloping without being spectacular - the graphics are superb, the musical score of the always-high Uaemetsu (sp?) standard doesn't disappoint and the presentation is top-notch. However I'd mark it As a fan of the FF series, I obviously picked this up having seen its striking resemblance to the 8th in the aformentioned series. I can say that, so far, it's enjoyable and enveloping without being spectacular - the graphics are superb, the musical score of the always-high Uaemetsu (sp?) standard doesn't disappoint and the presentation is top-notch. However I'd mark it down simply due to the fact that the game mechanics are solid, reliable, predictable yet no more than that. The gameplay system hasn't moved on from a decade ago, and whilst this will appeal to JRPG fans (like myself) I can see how criticisms of 'playing safe' with the game mechanics can be levelled at the game. I suppose coming out of playing Mass Effect it's a different type of safer, more old school RPG. I'd still recommend it as an essential purchase for anyone who enjoyed the FF series or similar, but if you don't like traditional J-RPGs then this won't change your mind. Expand
  76. MikeP.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Don't let anyone tell you otherwise, this is one of the best games this generation and that wont be changing anytime soon. Any person that gives this game a negative review I very much doubt has actually played it. The game may have a traditional appearance, but it brings a number of subtle, yet drastic innovations to the table that combine to give Lost Odyssey one of the strongest Don't let anyone tell you otherwise, this is one of the best games this generation and that wont be changing anytime soon. Any person that gives this game a negative review I very much doubt has actually played it. The game may have a traditional appearance, but it brings a number of subtle, yet drastic innovations to the table that combine to give Lost Odyssey one of the strongest turn based battle systems ever. The game is a posterboy for quality in pretty much every respect. From impressive art direction, to incredible English voice acting ,animation quality and a strong writing this game is a winner on all counts. The story is to put it simply impressive and really does a great job of touching on real human relationships. You really connect with the game's various strong characters. I look at the game from the viewpoint that this has always been what Final Fantasy has been hoping to achieve from a story standpoint, but never did. There are moments in this game that will bring tears to your eyes and make you feel what it is like to experience loss. This is not a game to be missed. The options for which you are given to customize your various characters is one of the most addicting experiences experiences in my many years of playing jrpgs. It really does feel like World of Warcraft level customization in a Japanese Role Playing Game. Everyone needs to buy this game. Support the game because a sequel is on the way. Expand
  77. TedE.
    Mar 8, 2008
    7
    A decent game that falls short of it's big brother, Final Fantasy. Complaints about frame rate issues, constant loading, and monotonous combat are all valid. I find the character designs/outfits a bit goofy, though I certainly appreciate the abundance of cleavage. The deal-breaker for me is the constant CRASHING. Save at every opportunity, because you never know when the next Disk A decent game that falls short of it's big brother, Final Fantasy. Complaints about frame rate issues, constant loading, and monotonous combat are all valid. I find the character designs/outfits a bit goofy, though I certainly appreciate the abundance of cleavage. The deal-breaker for me is the constant CRASHING. Save at every opportunity, because you never know when the next Disk Read Error will pop up. Ignoring that major flaw, it's a solid RPG that doesn't break any new ground. BTW, the GameDaily review should probably be ignored - It doesn't look like he even played the game beyond maybe the first couple hours. His puzzling complaints about the "point system" and "not having the right points in the right spots" suggests that he might not have even played the game at all. Expand
  78. NicholasT.
    Mar 6, 2008
    6
    It may not be the killer app the 360 is looking for but it is the next best thing to a traditional Final Fantasy-like rpg... ON XBOX!
  79. WestRunner
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This will be the standard by which FFXIII is judged. Truly flawless from start to finish. I don't know if some 360s are just about to red ring, but this game's loading times are negligible at best. Mass Effect Elevators were like nineteen times as long. Great story, great characters, great art, great gameplay, random battles were actually really fun. Loved it. Only negative is This will be the standard by which FFXIII is judged. Truly flawless from start to finish. I don't know if some 360s are just about to red ring, but this game's loading times are negligible at best. Mass Effect Elevators were like nineteen times as long. Great story, great characters, great art, great gameplay, random battles were actually really fun. Loved it. Only negative is that treasure collecting achievement may be the most difficult 20 points ever. Expand
  80. PaulI.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    FANTASTIC! I bought this game on the day of release and I am hooked !! I have to remind myself that I am not playing Final Fantasy 7. Apart from the new ring system, this is exactly like playing one of the FF games (7 onwards). The graphics are awesome. I have noticed a slight bit of slowdown BUT hardly noticeable really. I don't see why people have given it so much stick for that. FANTASTIC! I bought this game on the day of release and I am hooked !! I have to remind myself that I am not playing Final Fantasy 7. Apart from the new ring system, this is exactly like playing one of the FF games (7 onwards). The graphics are awesome. I have noticed a slight bit of slowdown BUT hardly noticeable really. I don't see why people have given it so much stick for that. There are lots of load screens but this is when the fights begin and between areas. Only a couple of seconds each. Imagine Final Fantasy 7with next gen graphics. The characters are great and funny. There is more of an adult theme than Blue Dragon (i.e. near the beginning, you come across one of your characters coming out of a building totally drunk with a girl on each arm asking you if he can have another 15 minutes alone with each of them!!). I cannot think of a bad word to say about this game. For any JRPG or FF fan, they will love it. Gotta go - gotta get back to the action! Expand
  81. TomG.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    After the somewhat disappointing Blue Dragon, Mistwalker Studios have released a solid title in the form of Lost Odyssey. While the traditional turnbased combat system may put off a few people, the system is tweaked enough to make it interesting and enjoyable to play all the way to the games conclusion. The 'Thousand Years of Dreams' are a joy to read and provide a new and After the somewhat disappointing Blue Dragon, Mistwalker Studios have released a solid title in the form of Lost Odyssey. While the traditional turnbased combat system may put off a few people, the system is tweaked enough to make it interesting and enjoyable to play all the way to the games conclusion. The 'Thousand Years of Dreams' are a joy to read and provide a new and interesting way of presenting the backstory to the main protagonists. In my opinion the game only suffers in that a few of the playable characters are often frustrating to use and ultimately unnecessary in the long run. Still, this game is damned good fun and one of the best RPG's i've played in a long time. Expand
  82. SamM.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing RPG, I believe the reviewers rated it unfairly certainly deserves more.
  83. NoelM.
    Feb 29, 2008
    4
    Mediocre game that does not live up to the hype at all. The characters are over-characterized and very cliche. The story is slow moving pretty bad, but not horrible. The dream sequences actually range from average to great, however, the developers were so lazy as to not provide any graphics for them. Thats right, the dream sequences are pure text with just a simple background image. NPCs Mediocre game that does not live up to the hype at all. The characters are over-characterized and very cliche. The story is slow moving pretty bad, but not horrible. The dream sequences actually range from average to great, however, the developers were so lazy as to not provide any graphics for them. Thats right, the dream sequences are pure text with just a simple background image. NPCs have no voice-overs, except in cut scenes. This is a step backwards from Mass Effect. On the gameplay/mechanics side everything is slow. The turn-based system is a relic and if it could work in any current-gen game, it didn't work here. The ring system makes it a little bit more fun, but not by much. Do you enjoy watching four enemies go through five second attack animations each while you sit there and do nothing? Everything takes forever to load. These are some of the worst loading times I have seen since PSX. On top of that, while you are trying to solve puzzles you will run into random battles. Yup, this game brings back the horror of random battles. And you don't even get rewarded for them because there is a level cap in each area of the game. Meaning after you hit the level cap, you will need to sit through twenty seconds of load screens to run away from a pointless battle. The graphics range from good to PS2. Graphics aren't the most important aspect, but this game looks nowhere near as good as Gears of War or Call of Duty 4. The art direction isn't all that great either. Too many screens with beige and brown and just generally dull colors. This game fails in almost every area. Don't buy into the hype. If you are looking for a current-gen traditional RPG go with Eternal Sonata. Expand
  84. Nagz
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    If anything is wrong with this game is that it's not long enough despite being longer than your avg 360 game. For any genre, the story and subplots are far superior to anything out there on the 360, such as Halo, Gears of War, Devil May Cry or Hello Kiddy Island or whatever. This game is divides people based if they appreciate the old school feel and the Ritalin pill popping youth If anything is wrong with this game is that it's not long enough despite being longer than your avg 360 game. For any genre, the story and subplots are far superior to anything out there on the 360, such as Halo, Gears of War, Devil May Cry or Hello Kiddy Island or whatever. This game is divides people based if they appreciate the old school feel and the Ritalin pill popping youth that don't take the time to read the text to get a greater understanding of a story. And I for one, have the [rare] ability to read and enjoy the story line in Lost Odyssey. Call me crazy. Expand
  85. DavidG.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    I cannot understand the low scores on the reviews for this game..I think the reviewers totally missed the boat on these reviews. I really don't think some of these reviewers have there fingers on the pulse of the gaming world. This game is amazing..Just look around the internet in the forums .People are loving this game. You will find very few negative comments about this game. I I cannot understand the low scores on the reviews for this game..I think the reviewers totally missed the boat on these reviews. I really don't think some of these reviewers have there fingers on the pulse of the gaming world. This game is amazing..Just look around the internet in the forums .People are loving this game. You will find very few negative comments about this game. I think its one of the best JRPG style of games to ever be made. I would recommend this game wholeheartily to anyone that enjoys that type of game. Expand
  86. OsemG.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    An excellent game no one should miss it.
  87. MarcD.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    First JRPG I've been able to get into in a long time. Loving it so far, with a great story. The Dreams are the best part.
  88. KarlK.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Just finished disk 2/4 and i am 22 hours into the game. The story so far is epic with tons of background story in the form of (very well written text) dreams. I don't want to ruin the story...so i wont, those dreams are so well written ill admit I shed a tear of at least 2 of them. The Fights are set at just the right difficulty level so that random encounters are a challenge and Just finished disk 2/4 and i am 22 hours into the game. The story so far is epic with tons of background story in the form of (very well written text) dreams. I don't want to ruin the story...so i wont, those dreams are so well written ill admit I shed a tear of at least 2 of them. The Fights are set at just the right difficulty level so that random encounters are a challenge and Boss fights will probably take a few tries, especially the first few boss's (took me 7 tries to kill the first boss). The loading time for fights from the moment it starts to the time you can press any button takes me 16secs to load, witch sounds like a longtime but it doesn't feel that long, random encounters don't appear to often to bother me but there are those annoying times when I get 2 or 3 encounters seconds apart from each other. I recommend this game if you have patience and your looking for a good long story with loads of movie clips (read some ware the game has 20+ hours of movie in it) and if you like good old FF7ish JRPG turn based fights that are actually a challenge. Expand
  89. AdamH.
    Feb 24, 2008
    0
    This is the WORST game I have ever played. I don't know what all these people are thinking saying that it was sold short by reviews. Its amazing they sold any copies of this game.
  90. MikaL.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    This game is already a legend. Great, deep story and all.
  91. CarlosA.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    The game is awesome, great gameplay and more than 50 hours of game :D
  92. TomW.
    Feb 23, 2008
    9
    Great game with some very emotional moments. Gameplay is fun and the story is engaging. And the cherry on top is one of your teammates, Jansen, one of the funniest game characters in gaming history.
  93. JakeH.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Honestly my favorite JRPG to date, and that's coming from someone who started with FF1 at the tender age of 3! The story is by far amazing, well written, and full of twists and OH MY GOD surprises. At times confusing but it does clean itself up to make sense of itself. The 1000 Years of Dreams is an amazing way to put back story together. Combat is fun, and fast paced as long as you Honestly my favorite JRPG to date, and that's coming from someone who started with FF1 at the tender age of 3! The story is by far amazing, well written, and full of twists and OH MY GOD surprises. At times confusing but it does clean itself up to make sense of itself. The 1000 Years of Dreams is an amazing way to put back story together. Combat is fun, and fast paced as long as you have rings equipped, otherwise it turns in to a normal JRPG of select and wait. Spells play a more important role, as do skills, than any other JRPG I've played. Music = Amazing, simple Uematsu and his magic! The world map theme is probably my favorite piece :), even the sappy love song between (SPOILER) Jansen and Ming worked a lot better than in FF8 (eww!!). Graphics, are well done, but come with my only quip. There's slowdown, but not noticeable if you clean out your HDD before playing every time. I wish they would have used the real time engine instead of CGI for some of the cutscenes... Really well done JRPG, and I think everyone is pushing it too much towards Final Fantasy and comparing it to that. It's not FF, it's more mature, written better, executed seamlessly. Load times are NOT a problem as stated in numerous reviews (between 1-5 seconds, 10 for long CGI sequences). Recommended for anyone who loves an amazing story, and quite complex JRPGs! Def. my game of the year and #1 JRPG! Expand
  94. JeffG
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Amazing JRPG... starts off slow, but the other 40-50 hours are great.
  95. JasonN.
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    An absolutely marvelous example of Jrpgs as a whole. The true spiritual successor to ffx. One of the best stories in a long time made even better by competent voice acting. The "dreams" are in actuality mini short stories written by an real novelist and it shows. The gameplay isn't revolutionary but its simple enough so that there inst one of these 10 hour learning curves like many An absolutely marvelous example of Jrpgs as a whole. The true spiritual successor to ffx. One of the best stories in a long time made even better by competent voice acting. The "dreams" are in actuality mini short stories written by an real novelist and it shows. The gameplay isn't revolutionary but its simple enough so that there inst one of these 10 hour learning curves like many modern rpgs which try to hide their lack of real depth with an overly convoluted gameplay system. I will take off one point though for the lack of any user inputted dialogue, I really felt it could have added something to the game. In the end this game is exactly what it said it would be, a shining example of the jrpg genre. If you don't like jrpgs then you will not like this game, period. Expand
  96. ElmerF.
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    I have been waiting for a revival of the classic JRPG genre and Lost Odyssey is exactly that. This is a prime, well-crafted example of an old, and apparently forgotten, style of gaming. The reason people give it bad reviews is because they compare it to more recent rpg genres, like open-world games (eg, Oblivion) or the flashy FPS that have been the core of the Xbox catalog. Judging on I have been waiting for a revival of the classic JRPG genre and Lost Odyssey is exactly that. This is a prime, well-crafted example of an old, and apparently forgotten, style of gaming. The reason people give it bad reviews is because they compare it to more recent rpg genres, like open-world games (eg, Oblivion) or the flashy FPS that have been the core of the Xbox catalog. Judging on it's own merits I am impressed with the truely next-gen graphics and immensely mature story line. The combat is about skill management rather than the traditional item upgrades, which I found to be a refreshing change. This genre has all but been forgotten in the rush to big budget, flashy eye candy and I'm very glad that Mistwalker has reminded us that there are alternatives to the standard console fare. Xbox needs more titles like this - not only for my own enjoyment, but also in order to better compete in Asia, where this genre of RPG is still favored. Expand
  97. KallenP.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    I have to say that I'm not even through the first disk and i have cried 3 times, laughed out loud and had a blast with the fun and balanced combat. I could nitpick some graphical things like framerate drop during in game cutscenes or the fact that their is no lip syncing on the intro to battle. Honestly if the game ended now I would look back at Lost Odyssey with fond memories. I I have to say that I'm not even through the first disk and i have cried 3 times, laughed out loud and had a blast with the fun and balanced combat. I could nitpick some graphical things like framerate drop during in game cutscenes or the fact that their is no lip syncing on the intro to battle. Honestly if the game ended now I would look back at Lost Odyssey with fond memories. I can't believe there is more in store for me. Expand
  98. MontyK.
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing. I have gone through the first two discs and nearly done with the third. It doesn't change things up too much but this game is proof nothing needs change. There are original ideas in the battle system. This game has a engrossing story that keeps you hooked. If you like the Final Fantasy series then YOU WILL love this game. I recommend it highly to JRPG fans! You This game is amazing. I have gone through the first two discs and nearly done with the third. It doesn't change things up too much but this game is proof nothing needs change. There are original ideas in the battle system. This game has a engrossing story that keeps you hooked. If you like the Final Fantasy series then YOU WILL love this game. I recommend it highly to JRPG fans! You wont be disappointed! Expand
  99. JesseS.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Research the gamer tags of the reviewers rating this game 75%. Many of them don't have the "Disc 2 unlocked" achievement, and the game spans four discs. The majority of the game takes place on the 3rd and 4th discs. So be warned, they are offering you an extremely uninformed opinion. My own opinion is that Lost Odyssey is the Final Fantasy killer. I love the series to death, but Research the gamer tags of the reviewers rating this game 75%. Many of them don't have the "Disc 2 unlocked" achievement, and the game spans four discs. The majority of the game takes place on the 3rd and 4th discs. So be warned, they are offering you an extremely uninformed opinion. My own opinion is that Lost Odyssey is the Final Fantasy killer. I love the series to death, but it's been downhill since FFX. It's obvious that Sakaguchi agrees -- Lost Odyssey is the direction Final Fantasy should have taken. Beautiful game, beautiful music, beautiful story. Technical issues are highly exaggerated - framerate never drops outside of the 3 seconds random battles take to load, and even then, it's negligible. This is also the first JRPG since FFIX to offer a true world map with a pilotable airship late in the game -- an element sorely lacking in FFX and FFXII. Combat is engaging and well-balanced, and the ability system doesn't punish the player or necessitate grinding. This is the first JRPG where I've looked forward to random battles, even 40 hours into the game. If you like Japanese RPGs, you owe it to yourself to play this game. Expand
  100. NeilJ.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    It makes me sad that this game has been rated so low overall, mainly due to "long load times." Gamespot has confirmed that the review copies varied from the final version of the game, and load times were cut drastically. I think this game is amazing and the load times aren't anything to be picky about. You hardly even notice them. This is the Xbox's answer to Final Fantasy, and It makes me sad that this game has been rated so low overall, mainly due to "long load times." Gamespot has confirmed that the review copies varied from the final version of the game, and load times were cut drastically. I think this game is amazing and the load times aren't anything to be picky about. You hardly even notice them. This is the Xbox's answer to Final Fantasy, and it answers well. It lives up to everything you would expect in a JRPG and goes beyond that. The story alone in this game should be worth buying it. It has one of the best and most moving stories of any game I have ever played. Expand
  101. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    Definitely one of the best RPG games for the Xbox 360. With a strong story, lovable characters, and stunning graphics, "The Lost Odyssey" goes above and beyond the typical RPG. This game clearly surpasses the Final Fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Although, the story is linear and there is a limited amount of "free roaming" commonly found in adventure/RPG games, "The Lost Odyssey"Definitely one of the best RPG games for the Xbox 360. With a strong story, lovable characters, and stunning graphics, "The Lost Odyssey" goes above and beyond the typical RPG. This game clearly surpasses the Final Fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Although, the story is linear and there is a limited amount of "free roaming" commonly found in adventure/RPG games, "The Lost Odyssey" is still well worth your money. You can get it for a mere $9.99. Undeniably, you will get your money's worth. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 80
    It's staggeringly gorgeous, and looks and plays like a Final Fantasy title. It rarely steps away from the origins of the genre – instead playing with the 'me too!' mentality of a company that desperately wants to show the world that Square Enix can be bested.
  2. 82
    It may not be in the same class as "Mass Effect," but for a system in desperate need for more quality RPGs, Lost Odyssey fits nicely into the 360 library.
  3. 50
    We have immense respect for what Lost Odyssey tries to do: be a back-to-basics JRPG with modern technological trimmings on the 360. Unfortunately, it's less a celebration of what made older RPGs great and more a crude relic of their past.