Lost Planet 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 101
  2. Negative: 25 out of 101
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2016
    4
    Lost Planet 2 is a pretty mediocre third-person shooter

    The game looks nice and has solid gunplay.Also has 2 player local co-op,which is always nice. However,the game has some of the cheapest AI I have ever seen,and if you fail a mission,you will be sent back MULTIPLE LEVELS.These two flaws led to a lot of frustration,significantly lessening my enjoyment of the game. Lost Planet 2
    Lost Planet 2 is a pretty mediocre third-person shooter

    The game looks nice and has solid gunplay.Also has 2 player local co-op,which is always nice.

    However,the game has some of the cheapest AI I have ever seen,and if you fail a mission,you will be sent back MULTIPLE LEVELS.These two flaws led to a lot of frustration,significantly lessening my enjoyment of the game.

    Lost Planet 2 is a game people who love backtracking [all 4 of them] will love.For the rest of us steer clear unless you want a lot of frustration.
    Expand
  2. May 22, 2015
    7
    This game deserves a little more recognition than it recieves. It isn't incredible by any means but it offers a fun two-player campaign that pits you against both human enemies and akrids, fierce aliens. Boss fights are crazy and some of the technology you get to use is awesome, like the mech suites or this giant cannon. The multiplayer is plagued by people rolling constantly to avoidThis game deserves a little more recognition than it recieves. It isn't incredible by any means but it offers a fun two-player campaign that pits you against both human enemies and akrids, fierce aliens. Boss fights are crazy and some of the technology you get to use is awesome, like the mech suites or this giant cannon. The multiplayer is plagued by people rolling constantly to avoid damage among other annoyances, though. Also, the story is never superb. It's a game that shooter fans (third-person shooter fans, in particular) should play but it isn't something that will blow you away. Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    4
    I rarely trade a game back in before I'm done with it, especially when I have friends who are playing it. But that's how frustratingly bad Lost Planet 2 is. Just like the first, it's repetitive and full of flawed gameplay and controls. The graphics and huge monsters seem fun at first, but the more you play, the more you see how it's completely boring yet frustrating. I'm not a fan ofI rarely trade a game back in before I'm done with it, especially when I have friends who are playing it. But that's how frustratingly bad Lost Planet 2 is. Just like the first, it's repetitive and full of flawed gameplay and controls. The graphics and huge monsters seem fun at first, but the more you play, the more you see how it's completely boring yet frustrating. I'm not a fan of Capcom and this game is an example why. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    I really loved lost planet 2. from the game-play, soundtrack, customization, weapons, storyline etc it was great. the downside about LP2 is the fact it had no matchmaking or party system to group up with ur online buddies. If they dont implement this in the next installment it will be a failure.
  5. May 17, 2012
    7
    Awesome boss design. Awesome co-op gameplay. Too bad the online lobby system fails. The split screen is awful. And the online lobby system fails. I really wanted to love this game :(
  6. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    This third-person shooter is clunky but not unweildy, the tank-like but oddly mobile controls being a token of Capcom games of the era. A robust, arcadey cooperative campaign experience is weighed down only by somewhat inconsistent difficulty trends. While competitive multiplayer and campaign single-player can feel unrewarding a lot of the time, the co-operative multiplayer and expansiveThis third-person shooter is clunky but not unweildy, the tank-like but oddly mobile controls being a token of Capcom games of the era. A robust, arcadey cooperative campaign experience is weighed down only by somewhat inconsistent difficulty trends. While competitive multiplayer and campaign single-player can feel unrewarding a lot of the time, the co-operative multiplayer and expansive character customization options add a lot of replay value to the game. Someone who enjoys the cooperative campaign can easily put in 80 mostly enjoyable hours trying to rack up all the customization options. The boss fights are particularly exhilarating, and the only thing that feels missing is the Akrid Battle game mode from Lost Planet: Colonies Edition. Beautiful graphics and charmingly stiff gameplay are only slightly offset by a campy and often impossible-to-follow plot. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    my favourite game of the generation. i think it isn't understand for the general public, its a personalÃ
  8. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Go BUY THIS GAME NOW!! because to be honest.. Lost Planet 2 is BY FAR the MOST UNDERRATED GAMES EVER!!!! Ø
  9. Feb 2, 2012
    5
    Not a good game at all for 2 reasons. First, the controls. They are just a little to sensitive for my preference. Other people might like the controls, but I don't. Secondly, the story. Boring!!! It's the same thing over and over again, and the fact that one little obstruction can send you flying is annoying as well. Buy a different game for $20, this one isn't worth it.
  10. Jul 25, 2011
    6
    This game was a disappointment I loved the first one, the first one was the first shooter I have ever played and the second one made me wonder what happened? I dont understand how you can screw up a perfectly good game like that. The story boring and is the same thing over and over again. the splitscreen is horrible i can barley see my character and the multiplayer is just not as fun asThis game was a disappointment I loved the first one, the first one was the first shooter I have ever played and the second one made me wonder what happened? I dont understand how you can screw up a perfectly good game like that. The story boring and is the same thing over and over again. the splitscreen is horrible i can barley see my character and the multiplayer is just not as fun as the first one. Expand
  11. May 31, 2011
    10
    I dont normally give extreme marks at either end of the scale,but this is a rare 10/10 for me!.. I'm really struggling to understand the lukewarm marks given to this game.. This has the be the MOST UNDERATED game,in the history og games EVER! in my opinion,, Good long Campaign-Check,4 player Campaign Co-Op-Check,Multiplayer modes-Check,Big guns-Check,BiiiGI dont normally give extreme marks at either end of the scale,but this is a rare 10/10 for me!.. I'm really struggling to understand the lukewarm marks given to this game.. This has the be the MOST UNDERATED game,in the history og games EVER! in my opinion,, Good long Campaign-Check,4 player Campaign Co-Op-Check,Multiplayer modes-Check,Big guns-Check,BiiiG enemies-Check,Mechs-Check,Grappling Hooks-Check,Character leveling & multiple things to unluck-Check. Damn,whats NOT to like about this game!? This game is perfect as far as i'm concerned,& is more fun than should legally be allowed.. & the reception this game has got,is the biggest injustice in gaming i've ever seen.. Expand
  12. Oct 20, 2010
    6
    I Sadly I only liked a few things about it, Frank West and Albert Wesker. Hey it would have received a 7 if it actually kept me interested. Not a terrible game, not a great game. However the demo, receives a 9. The demo was kick-ass. The game itself is okay.
  13. Sep 25, 2010
    8
    This game definately has its perks. Multiplayer and coop are so obviously implied and encouraged that I felt like it was required. Some people describe the faults of a game as control issues or graphical issues. This game does it better in both of these areas and we still have poeple complaining about how they presented movements and the animations which were actually better than before.This game definately has its perks. Multiplayer and coop are so obviously implied and encouraged that I felt like it was required. Some people describe the faults of a game as control issues or graphical issues. This game does it better in both of these areas and we still have poeple complaining about how they presented movements and the animations which were actually better than before. The one problem I had with the story is the actual storyline! The story made no sense and I think that they made it as a last minute option.
    They might as well call it Lost Story 2.
    The biggest assets to this game though are graphics and the coop.
    Just dont play it if you dont have any friends
    Expand
  14. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    very good game!!! i dont really mind the minor flaws they are not that much of a bother. game can get boring if you dont have friends to play with though and multiplayer sucks.
  15. RedXIII
    May 18, 2010
    8
    While this game has its faults, no story, some questionable control design, no drop in/out co-op, poor AI team mates, however teaming up with people whether friends or randoms and taking down a huge akrid is a whole lot of fun. By this game for co-op, the online is fun and solid however some frustration linked to all online shooters (cheap kills/deaths, invincible while rolling causing While this game has its faults, no story, some questionable control design, no drop in/out co-op, poor AI team mates, however teaming up with people whether friends or randoms and taking down a huge akrid is a whole lot of fun. By this game for co-op, the online is fun and solid however some frustration linked to all online shooters (cheap kills/deaths, invincible while rolling causing constant roll fights) the character progress, ranks, customization, and unlocks are all surprisingly addictive. It is a good game which had potential to be great, it makes some mistakes which is why it isn't for everyone. I am a casual player and teaming up with a group to take down the huge bosses is a lot of fun. Expand
  16. HarryS
    May 18, 2010
    7
    Great looking game just like everyone says and the musucal score is fantastic but there are more then a few faults with the game. everyone has mentioned the controls but one thing not mentioned is how totally awful Japan is at writing stories. I past the game and I have not clue as to what happened to why I was doing anything. I will give them credit, it didn't have an ass kicking Great looking game just like everyone says and the musucal score is fantastic but there are more then a few faults with the game. everyone has mentioned the controls but one thing not mentioned is how totally awful Japan is at writing stories. I past the game and I have not clue as to what happened to why I was doing anything. I will give them credit, it didn't have an ass kicking school girl, gigantic swords, gay dudes with white/purple feathered hair, father issues, quivering eyes or a girl the guy liked but didn't admit it. The multiplayer aspect was really cool where you had to work as a team to operate certain machines and weapons but I think this game is more of a sign of good things to come then a classic. Expand
  17. [Anonymous]
    May 17, 2010
    7
    It's hard to recommend this game if you have no friends. However, if you're able to jump online with a few shooter-competent friends, LP2 can be loads of fun. True, the story is impossible to follow and the game does suffer from all the design flaws the critics gripe about, but what it does right, it does VERY right. The environments are beautiful, the level design is as good or It's hard to recommend this game if you have no friends. However, if you're able to jump online with a few shooter-competent friends, LP2 can be loads of fun. True, the story is impossible to follow and the game does suffer from all the design flaws the critics gripe about, but what it does right, it does VERY right. The environments are beautiful, the level design is as good or better than anything else out there, and the difficulty curve is such that unless you and your buddies come up with a plan, work together, and take your time working through the levels, this game will be impossible. Personally, I like it when a game forces you to be smart about what your doing which LP2 does well. Expand
  18. Travis
    May 15, 2010
    6
    Lost Planet is a beautiful game, let's just get that out of the way. The character models and lighting look superb running on the silky smooth improved MT framework engine. Aside from that LP2 is all show. I, like everyone else wanted to like this game, but it seems the more hours I put into it, the more the lackluster design implementations stick out like a sore thumb. It seems that Lost Planet is a beautiful game, let's just get that out of the way. The character models and lighting look superb running on the silky smooth improved MT framework engine. Aside from that LP2 is all show. I, like everyone else wanted to like this game, but it seems the more hours I put into it, the more the lackluster design implementations stick out like a sore thumb. It seems that basic design decision were botched favor of visual prowess. The shooting mechanics are solid enough, and unlike some I don't mind the controls. I actually think the with bounding area enabled and sensitivity and aiming speed upped by one, the aiming is precise and enjoyable. The weapons and mechs can be a blast to play around with, but again the fun seems to be sucked out of it all because of some stupid decisions. The grappling hook is all but useless albeit reaching high places. It would have been nice to be able to grapple mid air, or not get knocked off your path by one tiny obstruction. After playing the recent and incredibly fun Just Cause 2, perhaps my expectations in a grappling hook are a bit high. But In LP2 it just feels sluggish and poorly implimented, as it did in the first LP. A reasonably thought out narrative is non existent in LP2, which instead feels like a series of concurrent multiplayer maps streamlined into a campaign. The gunplay is solid but lacks any real punch, instead becoming point at the orange spot on the alkrid and hold RT. To add the the list of faults is the overall feel of movement, which in my opinion is unforgivable in a next-gen game. Players move sluggishly, and instead of fast fluid dodges, jumps and reloads, your stuck with choppy repetitive animations. You cannot continue to run after jumping, upon landing you are stopped for a split second. Also baffling is the fact you cannot reload your weapon on the move, instead being forced to stop and reload creating an ever so juicy target for the akrid. It is also possible get knocked off your feet only to be knocked down again and again each time you try to stand. Be prepared to endure many frustrating deaths that seems to come out of nowhere. With everything considered you could do much worse for a fun weekend co-op rental. There is some enjoyment to be had here, but after all the hyping and the time between titles, is Lost Planet to the killer app it should of been? I think not. Expand
  19. Sep 2, 2010
    0
    very good game!!! i dont really mind the minor flaws they are not that much of a bother. game can get boring if you dont have friends to play with though and multiplayer sucks.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 63
  2. Negative: 4 out of 63
  1. We simply can't stress this enough; if you're planning to play this game on your lonesome, STAY AWAY; if you're all about the human co-op and the multiplayer modes go ahead and jump right in. This is undoubtedly some gamers' idea of blasting heaven; it just isn't quite ours.
  2. 68
    At its core it's a potentially great action game and it's very good-looking, but it explains itself so incredibly poorly and has such an awkward structure and poor checkpointing that a lot of the fun is ruined by interminable frustration – not to mention the fact that it's basically unplayable as a single-player game.
  3. 67
    Lost Planet's sophomore effort attempts to improve on past faults while shifting direction into an entirely new territory, but the overall feeling is muted. The game can be an enjoyable, fun adventure, but only if you're willing to share the experience with friends (or strangers).