Madden NFL 09 Xbox 360

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 123
  2. Negative: 35 out of 123

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. wesdean
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    Madden 09 is honestly the best yet. the great graphics compliment the superior gameplay with better camera angles that make seeing the field much easier. however, the game is more appealing to online players than those without Live. Little has been done to Franchise or superstar modes but the new madden moments can keep players occupied. Regardless, Madden 09 is a great buy
  2. JohnK
    Aug 13, 2008
    9
    This is by far the best Madden game in years, and is the first full-featured version for the next-gen systems. They have finally gotten rid of that horrible tin-can sounding radio announcer that would say the same thing over and over again, and replaced him with a very realistic broadcast presentation with great commentating from Cris Collinsworth (why not Madden is anyone's guess). This is by far the best Madden game in years, and is the first full-featured version for the next-gen systems. They have finally gotten rid of that horrible tin-can sounding radio announcer that would say the same thing over and over again, and replaced him with a very realistic broadcast presentation with great commentating from Cris Collinsworth (why not Madden is anyone's guess). The new Madden IQ difficulty setting is also a good addition, and the training room is a good way to hone your skills. Gameplay seems to be tuned to the the most realistic in years, where it is possible to both run and pass, but neither is too easy nor too hard, and the game tries to make you mix it up. Just seems more real. Probably has to do with the game' new custom difficulty adjustment (Madden IQ). And graphically, the game has made a huge improvement over the last several years (no more blurry stadiums and even more realistic looking players and turf). Overall, if you are a football fan, you will love this game. (Well, you have no other choice if you want to use real NFL teams). But not only is this a very good football game, but it is the best football video game (regardless of NFL license) to come out in years. That's right 2K fans-- Madden has finally outdone 2K5. This is quite a compliment coming from a huge fan of NFL2K5 who thought he would never get over EA buying the exclusive license and knocking 2K out of the game. Why is it that good? Graphics, gameplay and features now all beat out 2K5. If EA threw in cheerleaders, it would win in all categories. I am obviously very happy about Madden finally living up to the hype, but of course, I do believe the game would be even better if EA had to compete with 2K. We probably would have had a game of this caliber a few years ago with competition from 2K. But it's not EA's fault-- it's the greedy NFL's fault for selling an exclusive license. Anyway, this is going to be great fun for fans of football games-- we have finally gotten what we deserved-- a great, full-featured, NFL licensed game of Madden that can be highly recommended for the gameplay and not just the roster updates and exclusive NFL license. Expand
  3. NathanH.
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    I'm tired of all the complaining bout this game. The graphics are great, the online itself is good but sometimes you run into a pussy that'l quit the game cause hes gettin the cheez its beaten out of him. And to you Chris P., if you can only complete a 10 yard pass in 8 hours, then that aint the games fault, you just suck.
  4. RonH.
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    Makes up for what NCAA lacked, it finally is at the pinnacle where it should have been already. Game is a must own and won't be throwing it away or trading it in this year.
  5. BoomShot
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Quit hating on Madden this year's version is what we have been looking for. Don't mention 2K5 either!!! I liked that game but I am very happy of this year's Madden
  6. AaronP.
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    I brought this game today and i think its awesome, lived up to the hype and the best nfl game ever !!!
  7. DaveR
    Aug 12, 2008
    8
    Things Madden 09 needs to drop: 1. Madden Test: It does not represent true football skill and simply produces a rating based on reaction time, which creates unrealistic difficulty levels. 2. Backtrack feature: Represents an arcade-based feature. 3. The players should not be walking through end zone walls during end zone celebrations. 4. Poorly timed commentary. 5. Eliminate Hammond from Things Madden 09 needs to drop: 1. Madden Test: It does not represent true football skill and simply produces a rating based on reaction time, which creates unrealistic difficulty levels. 2. Backtrack feature: Represents an arcade-based feature. 3. The players should not be walking through end zone walls during end zone celebrations. 4. Poorly timed commentary. 5. Eliminate Hammond from commentary: No emotion and a marketing tool for EA. Things to incorporate: 1. Bring back Chris Berman to perform the halftime show. This is a no brainer. Include a single season mode. 2. NCAA's offensive and defensive options to increase or decrease a quarterback's performance levels based on choosing the correct formation and the ability to focus on defensive and offensive traits. 3. More varied penalties and more realistic AI performance. The running backs should not run to the sidelines too frequently. Things to keep: Keep game play and graphics and other most other features. In the end, Madden 09 is highly polished in some areas but completely lacking polish in others. Expand
  8. MarkV.
    Sep 9, 2008
    9
    best madden by so far good graphics good gameplay and about time franchise mode u can switch position best improvement ever.
  9. MohS.
    Mar 2, 2009
    8
    Alright, I'll be honest, this madden is an improvement, but nothing will top the 2k sports games. NBA 2k9 is way better than NBA live 09. ESPN 2k5, way better than madden 05,06,07,08,09. That is real serious. I mean it's the best nfl game out there, thats because its the only one. NCAA 09 is better than this game. I just love it because i love football, and i love smashing on Alright, I'll be honest, this madden is an improvement, but nothing will top the 2k sports games. NBA 2k9 is way better than NBA live 09. ESPN 2k5, way better than madden 05,06,07,08,09. That is real serious. I mean it's the best nfl game out there, thats because its the only one. NCAA 09 is better than this game. I just love it because i love football, and i love smashing on cats in this game. Expand
  10. JoseR
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    85 amazing new features helps make this the best madden yet! You can rewind, backtrack, and do classic games! Would have been a 10 but i don't like the new receiving!
  11. UndraiF.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Man, I simply love this Game. I believe it's the best Madden ever. From the graphics, the feel, the gameplay, the works. I have no complaints whatsoever. The speed of the game is phenomenal, and playing it on HD is like...WOW!! This is truly a great buy for the Collectors of Madden... Peace.
  12. CharleL.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    Best madden game ever, great graphics, excellent gameplay, very realistic, the in-game camera takes some getting use to, but when you do this game is plan out great.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. We're happy to report that Madden NFL 09 represents the pinnacle of the modern Madden era. [Sept 2008, p.68]
  2. Parity's finally come to Madden multiplayer, though - the new difficulty-balancing feature works great, and it allows me to finally play competitive games against better players. [Sept 2008, p.80]
  3. Madden NFL 2009 stumbles, but manages to regain its composure long enough to stiff arm critics and dive into the endzone.