User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 176

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    I keep thinking that *this year* will be the year that EA finally takes all they should be learning from their monopoly of the NFL video game market (a serious question: Do they actually evaluate feedback from their customers?) and put out an experience that is an actual improvement from the previous year - not just a trade-off. Well, it didn't happen yet again. This year you get theI keep thinking that *this year* will be the year that EA finally takes all they should be learning from their monopoly of the NFL video game market (a serious question: Do they actually evaluate feedback from their customers?) and put out an experience that is an actual improvement from the previous year - not just a trade-off. Well, it didn't happen yet again. This year you get the infinity engine that is actually a step in the right direction. The play on the field doesn't feel canned, and while some of the player flopping is comical it doesn't affect the actual gameplay. The trade-off is no franchise mode, and a bare bones off-line experience that is much thinner than any Madden version I can remember, and simply not that much fun. Once again, it leaves me wishing for what could be. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    0
    It seems there are a large number of people, such as myself, who can't play the game because of some glitch that causes it to freeze 100% of the time in offline CCM (maybe online CCM, haven't tried because I want updated rosters). And I just bought the game - which means EA has released 3 patches without fixing the problem.

    I googled it, found out a lot of other people have the
    It seems there are a large number of people, such as myself, who can't play the game because of some glitch that causes it to freeze 100% of the time in offline CCM (maybe online CCM, haven't tried because I want updated rosters). And I just bought the game - which means EA has released 3 patches without fixing the problem.

    I googled it, found out a lot of other people have the problem, and tried all the suggested fixes (short of wiping my HD which is WAYYYY more trouble than its worth). I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO DO THIS FOR A CONSOLE GAME!!!

    EA, and Madden, is the WORST.
    Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    3
    nice try game is ok need to go back to 12 no way to make your own players and play in the season to way to make a play book the new modes are nice well one is you can play as a players if you play as player you cant play the whole game whats the point in playing then and no way to skip the season and get to the playoffs you cant make your own teams are players and use them in the season
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    The Madden series is so unrealistic and lame. If you hit the triangle button to intercept a pass you cannot have defender go threw receiver to make int. The receiver had a better position to make play. EA is a lazy company and the programmers do not know how to do their job.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    1
    I really wanted to like this game...I really did, but it's impossible. They took out franchise mode...yeah really...they took out the most popular feature with consumers who buy the product year after year, well done EA! Still same problems with game play with psychic DBs, but now the RBs slam into their o-linemen and fall down like they've been shot. Also on tackles everyone around theI really wanted to like this game...I really did, but it's impossible. They took out franchise mode...yeah really...they took out the most popular feature with consumers who buy the product year after year, well done EA! Still same problems with game play with psychic DBs, but now the RBs slam into their o-linemen and fall down like they've been shot. Also on tackles everyone around the ball falls down in a bazaar fashion almost always with their legs tucked under them like kids do in Pop Warner. Since EA continues to have exclusive rights (through 2014 now) to names and likenesses of NFL players and Coaches no other gaming company will ever push them into making a better product. Please save your money and rent this turd before buying it. Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2013
    0
    I only played Madden for Dynasty mode. It's gone. Cannot play created player unless you only want to play one position. No fantasy draft for a playable fantasy football. Me and my roommate would draft a team each and play out a few seasons. Gone. There is nothing in this product for me anymore.
  7. Sep 1, 2012
    3
    I understand that the coach mode is the new franchise mode, as I'm sure most people who have spoken poorly of the game do, that isn't an argument why it is good. Be a coach mode has taken away fantasy drafts, your ability to edit your players, the ability to trade for anyone reasonably talented (offered a 1st and 2nd round pick for Taylor Mays a 74 rated SS....Rejected) and is just aI understand that the coach mode is the new franchise mode, as I'm sure most people who have spoken poorly of the game do, that isn't an argument why it is good. Be a coach mode has taken away fantasy drafts, your ability to edit your players, the ability to trade for anyone reasonably talented (offered a 1st and 2nd round pick for Taylor Mays a 74 rated SS....Rejected) and is just a downgrade from previous years. The gameplay has ups and downs. Runners fall down by getting bumped, and after the place is over people fall down nonstop in ways that no person ever can survive. The computer AI is incredibly stupid. on a 4th and 1 in the fourth down 3 w a minute to go the AI punts every time. Its fine for people who want to play head to head with the computer from time to time (and be assured victory) , but awful if you want the challenge of playing an entire season. Expand
  8. Sep 30, 2012
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!!!.. I'm thankfull I rented instead of buying... you can only do seasons in career mode and then YOU CAN'T PLAY THE SUPERBOWL!!!!!
  9. Sep 14, 2012
    1
    This Madden is the most disappointing in the series since the console switch that produced one of the worst video games of all time, Madden 06. Overall it is a big downgrade, Connected Careers is NOT franchise mode, it is a more expansive My Player mode. No Fantasy Draft, can't edit players, can't put your own rosters in Connected Careers, poor and unrealistic physics engine (somethingThis Madden is the most disappointing in the series since the console switch that produced one of the worst video games of all time, Madden 06. Overall it is a big downgrade, Connected Careers is NOT franchise mode, it is a more expansive My Player mode. No Fantasy Draft, can't edit players, can't put your own rosters in Connected Careers, poor and unrealistic physics engine (something they advertise as better, but only makes bodies go flying in unrealistic ways), and overall just not a fun game...I couldn't even force myself to keep playing it. I have never been so disappointed with a game. I do like some of the features in Connected Careers like your Legacy ranking, but a few cool features doesn't help a terrible overall experience, gutting a mode that was key to Madden's previous success (Franchise Mode) was one of the worst decisions that EA Sports has ever done. The game is confusing and a failure to the NFL, they should take away EA's license after playing this game and allow competition so that EA has to stop messing up or they will go the route of NBA Live which has been beaten so badly that it is now being looked at as a download only game. Expand
  10. Oct 5, 2012
    0
    This game is horrible. The players fall down over each other like they are drunk. I have a really good record online but I can honestly say this game is complete trash. Do nor waste your money. Just for an example I played a guy the othr day and he recovered three onside kicks back to back. I still beat him but lets be honest I challenge anyone to find one game in NFL history that this hasThis game is horrible. The players fall down over each other like they are drunk. I have a really good record online but I can honestly say this game is complete trash. Do nor waste your money. Just for an example I played a guy the othr day and he recovered three onside kicks back to back. I still beat him but lets be honest I challenge anyone to find one game in NFL history that this has happened in, Anyways here is a link to more people that think this game sucks. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20120829110622AA3idnF Expand
  11. Sep 1, 2012
    0
    Everyone giving this game positive reviews are either A. Fanboys of Madden, or B. Paid by EA to make sure the word doesn't get out that the game SUCKS! The new physics engine is a joke! While the multi-tackling is cool, it's NOTHING new in older, better games! The things that made Madden still tolerable before, like Franchise mode and fantasy drafts have either been completely removed,Everyone giving this game positive reviews are either A. Fanboys of Madden, or B. Paid by EA to make sure the word doesn't get out that the game SUCKS! The new physics engine is a joke! While the multi-tackling is cool, it's NOTHING new in older, better games! The things that made Madden still tolerable before, like Franchise mode and fantasy drafts have either been completely removed, or replaced by inferior JUNK! Connected Careers IS NOT FRANCHISE! Don't listen to the morons who try to pass it off as such!

    You can't edit players in ANY kind of franchise mode. They have a scrub that didn't even make my team's final roster as the #2 WR over solid vets, and VERY good rookies!

    The animations look ridiculous. Players bend over backwards, players drop to the ground like they were just shot in the head when they run into their own teammates on the field, and shedding a block by the computer is next to impossible on default modes. EVERY DB in the game is the next Deion Sanders. In the 5 games I have played, I have targeted Calvin Johnson in single coverage, with steps on the DB, and out of the 4 times I've tried this ALL FOUR were picked by scrub DBs who, instead of catching up to Calvin like would be required in real life, were able to instead just LEAP higher than Calvin could possibly leap, and intercept a pass that SHOULD have went 5 yards over their heads! JUST RIDICULOUS!

    Can someone explain how running in the 2k series was FANTASTIC, yet the makers of Madden can't figure out how to make running more realistic?! I guess the ONLY moves a RB makes in real life are a jump left or jump right in real life?! There should be more realistic juking, running, etc. It's NOT SMOOTH, it's NOT REALISTIC, and it flat out SUCKS! I have had Madden every year, since they decided to buy exclusive rights and leave us no choices... And unfortunately they are happy to just re-use tons of old code for many things, and then implement WORSE, MORE BUGGY, JUNK, while taking out the features that made the game a usual "7" or so for rating.

    Bottom line = Play last year's Madden and manually upgrade your rosters or just pass altogether, THIS GAME IS JUNK!
    Expand
  12. Oct 27, 2012
    1
    This game is terrible and the game designers should be ashamed of themselves. The passing game is unrealistic and the just terrible. The running game was made way to easy. The simulation is utterly retarded and does not know clock management or how to call a timeout. I hate the connected careers and they should just get rid of the entire concept. They need to go back to the originalThis game is terrible and the game designers should be ashamed of themselves. The passing game is unrealistic and the just terrible. The running game was made way to easy. The simulation is utterly retarded and does not know clock management or how to call a timeout. I hate the connected careers and they should just get rid of the entire concept. They need to go back to the original franchise mode and original fantasy draft mode. Instead of completely changing the entire game and making it complete trash they should have fixed the problems from the previous game and made minor improvements. Expand
  13. Sep 4, 2012
    5
    I am a giant sucker. I'm a MARK. I should have known better then to jump back on the Madden bandwagon. I resisted Madden 11 and 12 because I felt like such a dope after I bought madden 10 new which was essentially madden 7 with a fresh coat of paint. So Madden 13 stinks and I wanted it to be awesome. I wanted to love this new franchise / connected career thing that hey have this year but II am a giant sucker. I'm a MARK. I should have known better then to jump back on the Madden bandwagon. I resisted Madden 11 and 12 because I felt like such a dope after I bought madden 10 new which was essentially madden 7 with a fresh coat of paint. So Madden 13 stinks and I wanted it to be awesome. I wanted to love this new franchise / connected career thing that hey have this year but I cant stand it. Its frustrating and feels lifeless. You feel disconnected because you cant really do anything in it except play your scheduled games. No NCAA draft, trades are imposable, you can pick up free agents too improve your team but most of the free agents are dogs so good luck with that. Forget about editing / creating players or a fantasy draft because it doesn't exist in this steaming mess. The news ticker twitter feeds dont help. The game looks as bad on the field as it does in the menus so at least its consistent I guess. Then you have the players who flop around like idiot vertigo inflicted rag dolls. The trading card deal is not enjoyable at all for me. Probably because I got lame cards with all back up players. I'm supposed to enjoy fielding a team full of back up players? I cant stand Phil Simms or Jim Nantz in real life but they are even more annoying in madden advertising lousy pizza delivery 3 times a game. I live in Brooklyn I'm not eating mother f***ing Domino's pizza we have real pizza here. Domino's pizza? get the f*** out..... Listen, do yourself a favor this year, skip Madden 13 and stop eating Domino's pizza. Seriously, they both suck and one of them will make you fat. Expand
  14. Aug 29, 2012
    7
    Another year has passed and another moderate Madden game was released to us. Changes that EA has advertised wasn't nearly enough to gain back the trust of all hardcore football fans. For starters the physics engine got a bit of a face lift and some new animations were thrown in too but encounters glitchy game play (example: body parts bend and twist in weird ways). The problem is that youAnother year has passed and another moderate Madden game was released to us. Changes that EA has advertised wasn't nearly enough to gain back the trust of all hardcore football fans. For starters the physics engine got a bit of a face lift and some new animations were thrown in too but encounters glitchy game play (example: body parts bend and twist in weird ways). The problem is that you can see that it's the early signs of a working in progress idea that might or might not succeed and we are the ginnie pigs, which doesn't sit well with me as it seems to me we continue to do this dance every few years with EA. Other new ideas are, new connect career which basically took out franchise mode and allows you to play offline or online as a player or coach. Personally I liked the old franchise mode but I've accepted this new idea and rolled with it. Graphics got tweaked again but no significant changes were added. The commentary once again got changed instead of evolved. It has two new voices (Nance & Sims, CBS crew) and has really not changed the way they say the same things generally and spout off wrong words at important times during game play. Presentation now looks like the CBS Sunday football presentation. Nothing special just more flash from EA instead of quality content of depth. There are some good things from all of this. The Career mode now have tweeter (fake of course) included, with tweets by football experts in your season. Oh and yes the rosters were updated.... Folks this game is an improvement from last years game but has a long way to go if it wants to be considered a quality football game that scores higher than 7. Expand
  15. Sep 4, 2012
    3
    Until EA gets some competition in the Football realm, we will continue to be lied to and let down. EA did essentially this with Madden 13: Take away all the features you love and change gameplay slightly better. That way in Madden 14, they can put these (or at least a few) features back in the game to claim that Madden 14 is a huge leap from Madden 13. I am very disappointed EA. I willUntil EA gets some competition in the Football realm, we will continue to be lied to and let down. EA did essentially this with Madden 13: Take away all the features you love and change gameplay slightly better. That way in Madden 14, they can put these (or at least a few) features back in the game to claim that Madden 14 is a huge leap from Madden 13. I am very disappointed EA. I will not buy another Madden game until there is a competitive market for you. 3/10 (down 2 points from Madden 12) Expand
  16. Sep 2, 2012
    0
    The game play is better but everything else is terrible. They turned everything into an online requirement for the game to be any good. The connected careers is bad with zero customization and you can't even trade players since most of the players you want to trade for are untouchable.
  17. Sep 8, 2012
    0
    It's the same thing as NFL 12. Except no Fantasy Draft. Do everyone a favor and get NFL 12 used for 20 bucks if you don't have it. It's the exact same thing anyway. The only good thing I could point out are the physics engine and the Graphics.
  18. Sep 5, 2012
    0
    I've tried, but I can't play this game. A punting glitch makes this game unplayable if you ever need to worry about field position. Punts only go for ten to fifteen yards, so it changes the whole way football can be played. That makes this game broken and therefore gets a big fat zero. I swore off Madden three years ago because of how boring this franchised has become and playingI've tried, but I can't play this game. A punting glitch makes this game unplayable if you ever need to worry about field position. Punts only go for ten to fifteen yards, so it changes the whole way football can be played. That makes this game broken and therefore gets a big fat zero. I swore off Madden three years ago because of how boring this franchised has become and playing football seasons became secondary to all their tedious mini-game additions. But, they promised me Barry Sanders, and since I haven't seen him since Madden 2000, I really wanted to see how he played and looked with the new upgraded graphics. After finding out how this mini-game works, it turns out that he isn't anything like the real Barry Sanders. Cornerbacks making one arm tackles on Barry Sanders? In the open field, no less! And this is continous throughout the game, so Barry Sanders isn't any different than any other running back leveled 90. The rest of the game? The Save System on this game forces you to manually save after each game and is unrealiable. Same overused lines in announcing, even with two different announcers, that becomes old after the first few games. Game recaps have come down to a half dozen weak twitters that say the same thing over and over and again, just with different names or teams. Tucking the ball in and taking off with your qb never works well even if you are Cam Newton. The new infinity engine does make tackling look cool and yet ridiculous at the same time. Bumping into your own lineman will cause you to get knocked down. Can't import your College player into a draft this year, and making a new character is now more limited. I have to have long sleeves for my QB even though I selected "no sleeves". Maybe that's a glitch, who knows. I did try the EA gameface editor, which is cool to see my face; however I can't get past those neon glowing eyes that I have. . Overall, EA still doesn't put the focus on the franchise season, and waste too much time on mini-games and online competition that we have here a game that doesn't give you the essense of football. The Madden Franchise is still the bottom of the pit experience for a full $60 but the lack of a punting game makes this game unplayable. Expand
  19. Aug 31, 2012
    1
    When it comes to sports titles you have amazing companies like Sony Santa Monica and 2K who go out of their way to make their games as deep and customizable as possible to make the game feel as authentic to the real thing as possible. EA on the other hand decided to ditch that model and abandon any and ALL forms of customization. You can no longer edit equipment or rosters in yourWhen it comes to sports titles you have amazing companies like Sony Santa Monica and 2K who go out of their way to make their games as deep and customizable as possible to make the game feel as authentic to the real thing as possible. EA on the other hand decided to ditch that model and abandon any and ALL forms of customization. You can no longer edit equipment or rosters in your franchise. Are you a person who enjoyed doing a multi-player franchise with your friends or a fantasy draft or controlling all 32 teams to make roster moves and depth charts 100% accurate to the real world? Well all of those options are COMPLETELY GONE! What you get in Madden 13 is a Connected Careers mode which lacks any kind of depth. This game is not made for real football fans or sim players. It is made for little kids who want an arcade game with no complications but they fail at even that pathetic goal as the menus in the game are horribly designed and take forever to navigate through to find what you are looking for. I have been a huge Madden fan my entire life, now I feel betrayed and ripped off. In the year EA gives us the best gameplay the Madden series has ever had they also remove all the features that make the game enjoyable. Buying Madden 13 is like buying a Ferri with the engine missing. It looks really pretty but it is completely useless. Expand
  20. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    In typical Madden fashion they took away features so they can add them back as innovations in the years to come. This time it was editing players and fantasy draft, which is pretty much a game breaker. Without fantasy draft, playing with friends becomes difficult as it is hard to find evenly matched teams in the same division without the benefit of being able to draft everyone yourself.In typical Madden fashion they took away features so they can add them back as innovations in the years to come. This time it was editing players and fantasy draft, which is pretty much a game breaker. Without fantasy draft, playing with friends becomes difficult as it is hard to find evenly matched teams in the same division without the benefit of being able to draft everyone yourself. Player editing although less important is still annoying, since people have come to expect the ability to be able to move a player from left to right defensive end or outside linebacker to lineman and vice versa. Of course, had Madden done any research whatsoever they would have known how important many users find this feature. Expand
  21. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Madden NFL 13 is easily the best Madden game on the current console generation and rivals Madden 05 as the best of all time. At the top of the list is the new Connected Career Mode which has raised the bar on how sports games have to approach a career more from here on out. Scheme specific players are a huge addition that provides a deep experience. The all new scouting system is anMadden NFL 13 is easily the best Madden game on the current console generation and rivals Madden 05 as the best of all time. At the top of the list is the new Connected Career Mode which has raised the bar on how sports games have to approach a career more from here on out. Scheme specific players are a huge addition that provides a deep experience. The all new scouting system is an awesome step up from previous years and also raises the bar in the sports genre. Infinity Engine adds a realistic element to each play by showing you something new each and every down.
    While the game is excellent it is missing a few elements from past versions that may weaken the experience for some (editing rosters, custom playbooks, coach mode). These items pale in comparison to what has been added in the opinion of most. Like I stated earlier this is the second greatest football game ever, if you are looking for a realistic experience then look no further. Great game that will be in my console until the release of Madden NFL 14. Great job!
    Expand
  22. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    This is probably the best Madden game ever on 7th gen. consoles. The new infinity engine is amazing, the graphics are improved, new, not so choppy, commentary from Jim Nantz and Phil Simms, and a CBS mixed with NFL Network game format. My only problems with the game are the lack of a fantasy draft in franchise mode, no create a team, and a confusing, but adaptable, menu. Overall, this gameThis is probably the best Madden game ever on 7th gen. consoles. The new infinity engine is amazing, the graphics are improved, new, not so choppy, commentary from Jim Nantz and Phil Simms, and a CBS mixed with NFL Network game format. My only problems with the game are the lack of a fantasy draft in franchise mode, no create a team, and a confusing, but adaptable, menu. Overall, this game is a good buy for any football fan. Expand
  23. dz9
    Aug 29, 2012
    6
    This years Madden comes with a lot of signs of game mechanic improvements that serve as double sided swords which must be improved in next year's installment or in patches and with a bare bones career system. Let's start with the gameplay. The new Infinity engine is an excellent addition that finally made it to madden. I try to be understanding with it, being its first showing, it doesThis years Madden comes with a lot of signs of game mechanic improvements that serve as double sided swords which must be improved in next year's installment or in patches and with a bare bones career system. Let's start with the gameplay. The new Infinity engine is an excellent addition that finally made it to madden. I try to be understanding with it, being its first showing, it does well.. but too often it results in ridiculous player collisions, and although it does work solid sometimes... The whole promise that it revolutionizes collisions and that you have to "fight for every yard" is a lie. Where a few interactions and the overall controlling feels fresh, the plays still run 95% the same as previous titles. Being generous to the new engine, the gameplay gets a 8.2/10. The presentation this year is where the game truly excels. I don't really ever care about graphics cause I don't believe them to be the key in a video game but Madden 13 truly does blow you away, the only downsides from the presentation is the overuse of the blur effect. 9.5/10 for the presentation. Career modes: The new "Connected Careers" is a nice thought and all but in the end feels half finished and bare boned. You can play as a player (Legend Mode) or coach (Franchise Mode). Legend mode carries the redundant upgrade system from NCAA 12-13 with only slight improvements. Practice mode still feels tacked on and not strategic despite the scenario system. It doesn't feel like your really prepping for your opponent but just playing a half thought mini game. Instead of upgrading the play style selection and making it more edgy or smart... EA has decided to give you the option to open the whole play book which again is only unrealistic, untrue to the game, and half finished. Franchise mode is everything you have came to love but integrates it into the perspective of a coach, a nice touch, and gives you more options to progress your players and is awesome to play online. However, connected careers overall feels disconnected with the rest of the game. To use one example.. you can't import your personalized rosters like created players into it. Careers gets a 3.7/10. Last effect: This game fails at substantiating itself in career modes unless you play online... the gameplay is overall so much better but the career modes are obviously built for online players that they forgot to make it fun for people playing offline. If you like offline modes, you will be extremely frustrated with Madden 13. Last Effect: 4/10... In the end: Madden 13 gets a 6.4/10. Expand
  24. Aug 29, 2012
    7
    Franchise Mode has NOT been removed. Please do not listen to everyone who obviously failed to properly look at the game before posting their review. Franchise Mode has been relocated under "Connected Careers" along with Superstar Mode, hence "Connected" careers. Create a coach to play Franchise Mode, or create a player to play Superstar Mode. EA has said many times that franchise is theirFranchise Mode has NOT been removed. Please do not listen to everyone who obviously failed to properly look at the game before posting their review. Franchise Mode has been relocated under "Connected Careers" along with Superstar Mode, hence "Connected" careers. Create a coach to play Franchise Mode, or create a player to play Superstar Mode. EA has said many times that franchise is their most popular mode; They would not, and did not, remove it. Expand
  25. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    Don't listen to the MORONS that are claiming there is no franchise mode. They are both illiterate (seeing as it's pointed out that franchise is now just a part of connected careers in numerous previews of the game and in many reviews) and haven't played the game yet, seeing as it would not be to hard to find the franchise mode if you've actually played the game.
  26. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    Overall, this is the best Madden on the current generation of consoles. The new physics engine, for the most part, is very well done. Occasionally, you see some wonky things after the play when players trip over someone (which is actually quite hilarious). Also, it takes a little getting used to the fact that running into your own blockers can trip you up -- If you're big on the runningOverall, this is the best Madden on the current generation of consoles. The new physics engine, for the most part, is very well done. Occasionally, you see some wonky things after the play when players trip over someone (which is actually quite hilarious). Also, it takes a little getting used to the fact that running into your own blockers can trip you up -- If you're big on the running game, it is something you'll have to adjust to. Sometimes it's a little frustrating, but overall I'll take the sense of weight and realism it conveys instead of being able to run into your blockers like you're on a treadmill.

    Playing online seems a bit laggy to me right now. I don't know if it's because the EA servers are getting slammed, if it's an inherent problem with the netcode, or if it's perhaps my own connection.

    The passing game is also really improved by the new pass trajectories and ball placement. I've seen a lot of people complaining about the number of interceptions. These complaints are legitimate, but in my experience thus far the vast majority of picks I've thrown were simply bad passes. If you throw into an out or crossing route with a defender close by, you're probably going to get picked off. I've played about ten games online, and I've seen one suspect INT (Ngata dropped into the secondary to cover an RB, then super-jumped to pick off a pass that I was trying to float over him). I've also seen some really cool things like having a lineman deflect a pass high up into the air, and defenders rushing to try to intercept, much like real-life. Having more control over ball placement and trajectory really makes me feel like I have superior control over the passing game, but bad passes have a good chance of getting picked off. I've also seen people complaining about the number of sacks, but I believe this, too, has as much to do with the user making a bad decision as it is the AI and pass protection. Throwing screens or checking down to your RB is much, much better this year -- I haven't had a single instance of trying to throw to the RB, only to see him run out of bounds for a loss trying to catch the ball.

    I haven't touched the connected careers mode, it just doesn't interest me. I spend all my time playing games online, either standard or Ultimate Team. MUT this year is a definitely different, with some good changes and some bad. I like that you seem to be guaranteed a legend if you purchase a legendary pack. It was unbelievably frustrating last year to spend like $7 on a pack, only to end up with nothing. I also really like that you can buy legendary packs with 35,000 coins (if this existed last year, it would have been epic, because I had millions of coins). As far as negatives, I don't like the new collections because the coin rewards are incredibly meager. Last year, you could put together collections and get 50,000 coins. This year, the rewards are like 200 coins for a lot of collections. Admittedly, I haven't looked through each and every collection to see what the rewards are, but it appears to me that EA thought it was too easy to make coins last year. Since you can buy legendary packs for coins now (and also so you have to spend more money), I believe a decision was made to drastically cut down the coin rewards for collections. You do get a good number of coins for winning a MUT game online, though -- I made about 2,000 last night from a victory. Which means it would take between 15-20 games to afford a legendary pack. I think, overall, that a trade of collection coin rewards for being able to buy legendary packs with coins isn't such a bad deal.

    Much has also been made of the new commentary and presentation. The new presentation elements are great, but commentary inevitably gets repetitive, so I don't know how much of a selling point that actually is.

    Overall, as I said before, I think this is the best Madden of the current generation.
    Expand
  27. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Madden NFL 13 is the best Madden hands down in years. The game play feels like they really did a complete overhaul of coding or what ever developers do to create these games. 9 out of 10 things that you love from Madden 12 are in Madden 13 just renamed ex: franchise mode is Connected Careers. At the very least all the changes we have wanted for years are finally here or the foundationMadden NFL 13 is the best Madden hands down in years. The game play feels like they really did a complete overhaul of coding or what ever developers do to create these games. 9 out of 10 things that you love from Madden 12 are in Madden 13 just renamed ex: franchise mode is Connected Careers. At the very least all the changes we have wanted for years are finally here or the foundation for them are here in 13 and I can only imagine how important Madden NFL 13 will be for future Madden releases. I gave it a 9 out of 10 because we need to leave that 1 point for improvement which every game needs even the best. Expand
  28. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    I consider myself a casual fan of the Madden series though I do get the game every year to play a few seasons with my beloved Titans. While I do see minor differences each year, this year has really struck me a big step forward for the series. I love the integration of Game Face and immediately utilized it to create myself to use as a high draft QB for the Titans in the new ConnectedI consider myself a casual fan of the Madden series though I do get the game every year to play a few seasons with my beloved Titans. While I do see minor differences each year, this year has really struck me a big step forward for the series. I love the integration of Game Face and immediately utilized it to create myself to use as a high draft QB for the Titans in the new Connected Careers Mode (which replaced the prior Franchise Mode). I also got an online Connected Career started with some friends and it's great fun for all of us to have HB's and measure our progress. I also love the Kinect integration on the 360 as it really immerses you in the game calling plays and making strategic adjustments at the line - and much simpler than button presses.
    But the biggest improvement of all is the new engine which makes every play for more interesting and unique than previous years that had canned animations. Yes, you will see some odd stuff here and there but for the most part it provides some very realistic and exciting scenarios.
    The graphics look great and the statistical overlays, game presentation, and commentary are all that you would expect from a game representing the NFL experience.
    Overall, this game is a keeper and I look forward to playing it out while following the NFL this year. Great job EA!!!
    Expand
  29. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    This has to be the best madden in a while. Granted I know some features are gone from the game but physics and connected career mode are good added features. Try the game for yourself don't go off of word of mouth!!!!!
  30. Sep 1, 2012
    0
    Probably the worst 60 bucks you'll spend this year. Enjoy fantasy draft? Too bad. Enjoy offline franchise mode with friends? Too bad. Enjoy customization? Too bad. They literally removed everything about this game that I enjoy and added in some **** leveling system that has absolutely nothing to do with football. Screw EA.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 70
    We can't wait to see what next year holds. [Dec 2012, p.97]
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Madden 13 marks a vast improvement over the past few Maddens. The first one in a while. [Dec 2012]
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    81
    A good pick-up for sports fans who like a side-order of tactics with their neck-snapping violence. [Dec 2012, p.90]