Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Madden NFL 25 unleashes the power, precision, and creativity of the NFL running-back. Whether you’re a slashing tailback, dual-threat QB, or ball-hawking safety, unleash thirty new moves and string together devastating combos with the all-new precision modifier in Madden NFL 25.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    91
    I will be the first to admit that Madden NFL 25 is not a perfect football game, but the overall package and satisfaction you will receive from game to game is so overwhelmingly genuine and good that you will be willing to overlook its faults and realize that this is just about as good as it gets for virtual football.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    89
    Madden NFL 25 still suffers from some presentation and technical setbacks; however, a polished physics engine, the owner mode for connected careers and the most responsive running controls in the history of the franchise make it the best iteration of the series so far.
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    A good new iteration for the storied franchise, with some improvements to make it more accessible to the genre's newcomers too.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    It's clear more time was spent fixing the things that needed fixing rather than building new additions on a shaky foundation. The physics, animations, and AI are among the best this series has seen since its inception. The level of customization and flexibility offered to players is another bright spot, with users able to freely share rosters, sliders, and playbooks with the community.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Madden NFL 25 tweaks the hell out of the franchise and brings a few new things to the table to make any football gaming fan happy.
  6. Sep 13, 2013
    79
    When it comes to content, this is a complete package. The collision physics are improved, the running game is enhanced. But overall there is little progress and an AI that seems more faulty than in the last years. Let’s hope that the focus was put on the versions for PS4 and Xbox One. Otherwise this could be a very short anniversary party.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    60
    It's a shame that EA Sports decided to make such a big deal out of the Madden anniversary this year. Putting that big "25" on the box cover ramps up expectations and may well make a standard baby-steps Madden sequel seem more disappointing.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 56
  2. Negative: 17 out of 56
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    is there a point to having user reviews when people that don't like the franchise can ruin it's score by giving it a 3 or a 5, anyway this is the best madden to date, they fine tuned the settings so i can actually have a competitive game on all madden difficulty, thanks cause i usually dominate on all madden difficulty. Expand
  2. QJB
    Aug 29, 2013
    9
    Madden 25 is one of the greatest installments of Madden out there. The Infinity engine has improved with the addition of Infinity Engine 2.0. Owner Mode and Ultimate Team will keep you busy for many hours especially if you are gaming with friends or people that you know. The gameplay is fun but can be frustrating at times as the game is not perfect. Zone coverage/player awareness are two of the biggest issues for me along with the running game/blocking being somewhat overpowered even though the precision modifier was a great idea. I wish they gave more of a variety of camera angles when you are playing in connected franchise player mode along with more depth such as combine, pro day, draft, drills etc.

    The Good -
    Depth in Game modes
    Fun Factor
    Great Presentation
    Exciting Highlight Plays

    The Bad -
    Zone Coverage
    Player Awareness
    Blocking/Running Overpowered

    I gave Madden 25 a 9/10 because it is one of the best Madden Football games that I have played. We are coming to the end of this generation of gaming and I feel as if they have done all that it possible with the Xbox 360 and the PS3. I am looking forward to next generation and the bar will have to be raised a lot higher especially on the next installment of Madden after this transition period. I would recommend this game to any football/madden fan for the overall fun factor and wow moments in the game along with Owner Mode and Ultimate Team.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    Madden NFL 25 plays a solid game of football. The biggest improvement on the field is the tuned Infinity Engine. The engine plagued Madden NFL 13 with awkward animations after almost every play. There are still some instances of the Infinity Engine acting up in the game. However, it is not nearly as noticeable this year and makes the game experience more authentic.

    The other big addition to gameplay was the introduction of the precision modifier. I am a fan of simulation football and authentic gameplay. For the most part, this feature goes away from things you will see on the football field on Sundays. The spin move and jump move makes the experience feel like an arcade game. Not very many NFL players can execute a perfect spin move or leap over a defender.

    Here is a quick list of the other negatives I came across while playing the game:

    1) Defenders can dive too far and trip up ball carriers. This often causes an unrealistic experience as fast quarterbacks like RGIII will be caught from behind by a leaping defensive lineman.

    2) There are instances where I feel like the user has no control. I have hit the catch/interception button on numerous occasions to see the player I was controlling not react.

    3) I didn't find Skills Trainer particularly helpful. Important note: I have been playing the Madden NFL series since I was in grade school so this mode was probably not targeted towards gamers like myself.

    Even with the negatives I mentioned above, Madden NFL 25 still plays a fun game of football. There are some issues that need to get fixed, but I will be playing this game until the next gen version releases in November.
    Collapse
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    This is the best year of madden thus far there seems to have been a lot of moves in the right direction creatively. The presentation is phenomenal from the new physics system to pre game theatricals. Gameplay has improved from past years but there is still issues with coverage in both zone and man defenses. Precision modifiers have been a nice addition and the run game is better than its ever been which is what I enjoy most about the game. Overall a very solid game and something that I look forward to playing as my NFL football experience. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    Im disappointed in 25 looks aweful, madden 12 plays and looks sharper crisper its defs a step back. Some of the player animations just look well not right Im wondering if they have just brushed over with the 360 and PS3 versions putting all their efforts into the new consoles Only time will tell that. But for now Madden 12 will be my choice...still Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    Honestly it is the worst madden in the past 10 years. The graphics are pretty awesome, and the fact that you can be the owner and upgrade everything in a franchise is sick but the gameplay is unbelievably bad. If I made a pro and con list the cons seriously would be 3 times longer. Simple kinks in the game could be fixed and it would be amazing. Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    This game has bad freezzing issues and I feel like I got ripped off. If it wasnt for the constant freezing I would love this game. They need to fix this asap and shouldnt be selling it if it freezes. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews