Mafia II Xbox 360

Mafia II Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 417 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a deep mobster-driven narrative packed with both behind-the-wheel and on-foot action, Mafia 2 is the sequel fans have been clamoring for. Like the original Mafia title, Mafia 2 immerses players in the mob underworld of a fictitious late 1940's-early 1950's scenario. Players easilyFeaturing a deep mobster-driven narrative packed with both behind-the-wheel and on-foot action, Mafia 2 is the sequel fans have been clamoring for. Like the original Mafia title, Mafia 2 immerses players in the mob underworld of a fictitious late 1940's-early 1950's scenario. Players easily become engaged in the game's cinematic Hollywood movie experience with strong, believable characters in a living, breathing city. [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 79
  2. Negative: 5 out of 79
  1. This might not be the best game of the year, but it is certainly the best and most immersive interactive cinematic experience this reviewer has had in 25 years of gaming.
  2. Mafia II is a great game, crafted with incredible care by its developers. If you're looking for a game with a strong story and a great shooter component, don't think twice about buying it. Just don't expect a myriad of side missions typical of other free roaming activities: this is a very story-driven and linear experience.
  3. Due to some weaknesses in terms of story (extremely disappointing ending) and gameplay (savepoints), Mafia II turned out to be a good game, but not the masterpiece we've hoped for. Most of these problems can be quite easily forgiven though, thanks to its overwhelming atmosphere and charm.
  4. 80
    A deeply flawed game, where the story is the highlight - and far more engaging than most. I certainly enjoyed my 11-12 hours with Mafia II, and those looking for an authentic-feeling mob tale should definitely check it out. This one is more than the sum of its parts.
  5. It falls a bit short in terms of features and replay when compared to other similar-style games, but it makes up for some of that with atmosphere and story.
  6. It's never nice being mean about a game with as much ambition as this, but if we're talking sheer value for money then halfway through the 14 hours it takes to complete Maria II you'll have experienced one really good shooting mission and absolutely no decent car chases, of which there are only a couple in the entire game. [Sept 2010, p.81]
  7. Unfortunately, aging gameplay mechanics and weak plot turns make the game's magic peel away faster than a bank-job getaway car.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 128
  2. Negative: 12 out of 128
  1. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    This is why I don't get most of the reviewers out there. Mafia 2 is an absolute blast to play IF you enjoy an amazing story with greatThis is why I don't get most of the reviewers out there. Mafia 2 is an absolute blast to play IF you enjoy an amazing story with great characters. The gameplay works very well in every aspect of this game. The driving was the part I enjoyed the most. Different cars have different feels and the town is gorgeous. It took me around 14 hours to complete the game. Sure, I took my time, but it was worth it. I cannot wait for Mafia III. Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    what a beautiful period piece, everything looks and feels so right in this game. the only thing that bothered me was how sad the ending madewhat a beautiful period piece, everything looks and feels so right in this game. the only thing that bothered me was how sad the ending made me, almost broke my controller XD Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Just finished playing Mafia 2 for the first time and i am truely immersed into it, i am a big fan of gangster movies (casino, goodfellas, theJust finished playing Mafia 2 for the first time and i am truely immersed into it, i am a big fan of gangster movies (casino, goodfellas, the sopranos etc) and after playing the original mafia i was hoping Mafias sequel would justify the franchise. Mafia 2 is a more story line based game it draws the gamer in and gets you eagerly awaiting the next cutscene the voice acting is Supoib! and it really gets you immersed into the story. The first few missions are set in a winter wonderland and visually its beautiful, also i liked the fact that your cars handling is greatly affected by the icy roads you gotta take care driving round empire city or you may catch attention of the fuzz! i also noticed how the pedestrians adjusted there clothes depending on the weather its little details like this that you have to appreciate they all create a truly immersive setting for the story to unfold, so far i am oving the game and i cant wait till i get myself higher up the crime ladder an start whacking some spaghetti eating fools!! Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2010
    8
    Storyline

    Great storyline, maybe even better than MAFIA. Once the game is over you will find yourself thinking about it, how well explained
    Storyline

    Great storyline, maybe even better than MAFIA. Once the game is over you will find yourself thinking about it, how well explained it was, and what an amazing ride you had.

    Graphics
    Pretty awesome graphics dispite the fact that consoles (PS3 and specially XBOX 360) are breaking the advancement that actual PC graphic cards can achieve. For PC users is also a shame that ATI users don't get PhysX effects. All in all, the graphics look terrific and the game plays softly with everything at maximum detail. I think it is better optimized than GTA IV but GTA IV also have a powerful game engine that lets you see distance much farther. You can also fly around the city in GTA IV. In Mafia 2 you can only drive motor vehicles.

    Gameplay

    A.I is not bad but not extraordinary. I wonder how an XBOX 360 can be able to aim correctly playing this game. Playing with mouse and keyboard is pretty easy to end the game in easy level due to the fact that you are more precise.
    The most bothering thing is when police is behind you. Depending of the car you are driving is pretty difficult to avoid police arrestment. Also driving from point A to B so many times can result in a very frustrating experience that also gets enhanced due to the lame, buggy and tedious checkpoint system. If a situation like this happens (having to repeat 20 minutes or more of a played experience) I recommend quiting the game and start again a few hours later.
    Also the fighting system is enhanced. If you enjoyed boxing with people in MAFIA 1, you won't get dissapointed.

    Sound

    The voice acting is brilliant although in some moments police voices are louder than the dialog that is taken place at the moment. Would be much better to include 7.1 audio support or EAX effects. The game has a very "console" feeling in this aspect.

    Presentation

    Having played MAFIA 1 I feel that MAFIA 2 had redeemed itself to console standars. That beautiful animated game menu of MAFIA 1 has been ripped of by a dull almost static game menu presentation. Music Outstanding music selection that fits perfectly with the gameplay at that particular mood of the character. Thanks to the music hits of 40's and 50's you will get the feeling that you are right there, living that period of time. The original soundtrack of MAFIA 1 deserved an OSCAR in my humble opinion. This time original main theme track is also magnificent but not achieve the perfection of the first MAFIA.

    Animation

    Facial animation is much better than MAFIA 1 which at that period of time was the best facial animation I ever experienced playing a PC game. This time characters achieve even more realism due to the eye animation. The animation of the eyes is simply amazing and is what makes that characters so believable. Amazing work in that aspect. But main character (Vito) animation while walking, crouching, running could have been done much better. In that aspect I think that animation of GTA IV character is much better foremost while running.

    Conclusion

    All in all this game is a must play game although I don't consider it a must have inmediately due to the fact of lack of multiplayer, the PC version has been ripped to adapt console standards (remember that you can load game from wherever you wanted in the past, well now that was ripped apart, you have to deal with a frustrating checkpoint loading consolized system, even if you spent thousands of dollars on a PC).
    Also I think it is a shame that no crossfire or sli support is contemplated here either, nor even a multi cpu support... in this aspect PC potential is wasted so bad...what a shame ! But this is old news lately, PC games advancement is being braked by consoles. This is my biggest criticism of the game.
    The positive aspects : the story, it's fun to play, you get hooked by it until you end it, and the music are sufficient valors to give a notable high note to MAFIA 2.
    Expand
  5. May 13, 2015
    8
    +Great story!
    +Good sandbox map
    -not the best graphical wise with screen blurring Looking forward to a sequel if there ever will be
    +Great story!
    +Good sandbox map

    -not the best graphical wise with screen blurring

    Looking forward to a sequel if there ever will be one!

    8/10 Recommend it
    Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2010
    7
    Mafia 2 is a great, but imperfect game. On the plus side, this game has an amazing story of friendship and crime. On the negative side, theMafia 2 is a great, but imperfect game. On the plus side, this game has an amazing story of friendship and crime. On the negative side, the game is full of bugs and the gameplay is pretty generic, but not bad. There are points in this game that are frustrating as hell but that is because of the broken checkpoint system that will make you loose 20 minutes of game time because you get killed by the imperfect cover system.

    The games characters are pretty much ripped off of the film "Goodfellas" which is not a bad thing at all. Your character Vito is Ray Liotta, Joey is Joe Pesci, and Henry gets killed by a pack of angry asians.

    In the end it comes to the fact that the game is good, really good at points. But that doesnt make up for the lackluster cover system, myraid of glitches and generic gameplay. All in all, give this game a rent because without the amazing story, this game would suck.
    Expand
  7. May 29, 2015
    0
    First of all the amount of traffic is way over-done. I wish game creators would stop trying so hard to push realism because this game is aFirst of all the amount of traffic is way over-done. I wish game creators would stop trying so hard to push realism because this game is a good example of what happens when game creators try to hard with realism. How am I suppose to keep my car on the road let alone stop my car at a red light when Its constantly snowing or raining. Another thing that made me sick with this game is the fact that I can even sneeze without the cops turning around and wanting to chase me down for it. Really guys! The game started out ok, but started loosing interest real fast. Problem is even when a game is **** if I start it I almost always have to finish it, But this one I Can't. So the only plus I can give to this game is the fact it has lifted my curse of having to finish games even if they are crap. To finish up my review I will say to the game creators there is a huge difference between fun and frustration. It's a game, it's a game, It's a freaking game. Knock off the horse **** realism and get back to pure fun gaming Expand

See all 128 User Reviews