Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    71
    It doesn't quite reach Ico's levels of quality, but it emulates the formula well enough. This is one friend request you should give careful consideration to.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 24, 2011
    70
    Fabulous trip to fight against the darkness is quite a success. Simple combat system and easy puzzles are challenging for younger players only. [Issue#200]
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is a sweet and charming action-adventure, partially ruined by a shallow level and combat design.
  4. 70
    Good action-adventure games for the HD consoles don't grow on trees. Majin will certainly fill a genre gap.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom thrives on the power of clever puzzles and the enjoyable simplicity of combat. Awkward moments of backtracking and horrible voice-acting are nearly forgotten in the ensuing moments of pride and the excitement of uncovering hidden items.
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom tells a sad but clich├ęd tale with an endearing giant and his friend at the helm of it.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Much more than a poor man's Ico, the low tech presentation hides a consistently charming and well constructed puzzle adventure.
  8. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Simplistic combat and tedious backtracking don't fully diminish the pleasures of this attractive and festive fable.
  9. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Game Republic's effort lacks polish and elegance, but, thanks to charm and the in-built strength of its setup, it is an experience worth partnering with.
  10. Dec 17, 2010
    70
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is not going to replace your action adventure staples like "Zelda" franchise, but its has its own charm that is unique to this property, making it an excellent alternative to the more known action adventure styled games.
  11. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    Still, Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom has enough uniqueness in its execution that it's not forgettable. At a good 10 to 15 hours, there's plenty of gameplay for the budget price that the game is offered at ($39.99). It's definitely better for younger gamers, but still a solid choice for anyone looking for a good adventure.
  12. 70
    While Majin gets a recommendation, it's a cautious one - you have to have the stomach for Cartoon Network voices, a preference for puzzles and exploration over combat, and the patience to double back on yourself. If you've got all that, then Majin will give you an extremely fair slice of entertainment.
  13. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    For everyone who ever thought that commanding a beast can only be great, this game demonstrates otherwise. It has good points but they are few and far between.
  14. Jan 3, 2011
    65
    Some flaws in its gameplay conception make the game frustrating sometimes, and although it offers about fiften hours in its main adventure and some secrets to discover, it doesn't add up much more extras to foster replayability.
  15. Feb 8, 2011
    60
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom offers up a solid 15 hours of play, with potentially several more hours if you're one for exploration. While the game's combat and A.I. controlled Majin feature-set is the more unique aspect of the game, it's the exploration and puzzle solving that takes precedence, and if you prefer combat over puzzles/exploration then Majin may certainly wear thin sooner than anticipated.
  16. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom could have been a great game. Its touching characters and well crafted gameplay make it a good game, blessed with a distinct personality. That's always something, but the concept lacks any sort of innovation. Even though you've most probably already played something very similar, you'll probably cruise through the 15-or-so hours of the game with ease, to discover the end of this friendship story.
  17. Dec 16, 2010
    58
    I admire the developer's attempt to present a story and puzzles where partnership and collusion are the principle themes and while I was playing it I genuinely enjoyed working through each area and finding the collectible items. By the end, I found that I was more than ready to wrap it up and put its boring combat, snoozer story, and shaky production quality to rest for good.
  18. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 24, 2010
    50
    A bland adventure game in which a nameless hero asks a dumb ancient creature to do his bidding. [Issue#66, p.88]
  19. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    The overall gameplay is on track, at least with a forsaken kingdom filled with a balanced mix of puzzling, platforming, sneaking, and fighting. But stretching the aesthetic elements, the toddler-hand-holding relationship that will grow between you and the Majin, or those damn talking animals will wear extremely thin.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    The epitome of excellence - Majin and the forsaken kingdom is possibly one of the most inspired and most original creations this generationThe epitome of excellence - Majin and the forsaken kingdom is possibly one of the most inspired and most original creations this generation it seamlessly blends single player adventure with AI assisted co-op and although upon first looks this game might seem childish you shouldn Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    Game for everybody , you'll enjoy in adventures, puzzles , exploring new ruins, fighting. This epic story is every thing what you need from aGame for everybody , you'll enjoy in adventures, puzzles , exploring new ruins, fighting. This epic story is every thing what you need from a game, You'll fall in love with your characters - majin and tepeu . Go a head with this game, My score 8.7 is because of graphics and sound what I don't care in this game, I feel like a kid again Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Maiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow the games just amazes me. The worldMaiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow the games just amazes me. The world detail is so vividly imaginative and descriptive it often reminds me of my first time entering into the Shivering Ilse's back on The Elder Scrolls. Noting the reference, don't be mistaken that this game plays or actually looks anything like Oblivion since it doesn't. Moreover it's not suppose to. Game Republic has crafted a gem of its own that will be often compared with games like Ico and perhaps even Zelda, but the story bond between gamer and characters has truly been mastered in the senses that if one of the characters died (as in story line) then you would shed a tear or two (something movies can hardly ever achieve). Lastly following my last sentence I want to note that is not a spoiler of any kind, for all you or I know they could die Majin and the main character, or they could live and save the Kingdom from ultimate darkness. Hence, I will not go into plot details or anything of the sorts since the games itself is to be best played going in blind and discovering the world and it's mysteries for yourself. Please buy this game whenever you get the opportunity since this has been Game Republic's finest game and its company truly needs the funds after the utter fail of Folklore on the PS3. (fail as in sales) Full Review »