User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    4
    just an all around fail effort once again by 2k. they need to just drop the baseball franchise because it can not compete with the show. i guess if your a baseball fan and you have an xbox 360 u should buy it, but if u have a ps3 its a no brainer, BUY THE SHOW
  2. MFZ
    Mar 8, 2012
    4
    After 3 years of one team developing this game, it seems like the game suffers due to a lack of effort by the development team. Very little, if anything at all, about the uniforms is accurate to their real life counterparts. Colors are very off - check out the horrible attempt at Yankee blue - and the lettering on the jerseys is lame. Overall, the graphics are not something most peopleAfter 3 years of one team developing this game, it seems like the game suffers due to a lack of effort by the development team. Very little, if anything at all, about the uniforms is accurate to their real life counterparts. Colors are very off - check out the horrible attempt at Yankee blue - and the lettering on the jerseys is lame. Overall, the graphics are not something most people would consider up to par for the last stages of the PS3 and 360. It doesn't seem like there is any actual physics when the ball is in play. The ball bounces 2 or 3 times, then continues to slide across the grass or dirt like a hockey puck on ice. Overall, the game is supposed to be an accurate representation of Major League Baseball and for the most part, that is very untrue. Expand
  3. May 17, 2012
    7
    This is a good game with a ton of flaws. I love Baseball and only have a 360 so I have no choice since it's the only one we have. The graphics could be better and there are a number of glitches but I do really like the gameplay and the stadiums are nice looking.
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    I am extremely disappointed with this game has not improved at all the graphics are still poor in detail, physics between players running the bases and hit the defense is lacking, the physics of the ball is terrible and unreal, the only thing I love the MLB Today and daylight to night and some stadiums faithfully recreated
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    It seems to be just a better version of last years game. I have played probably 10 games so far and nothing bad or glitches have happened. I think the graphics look fine on 1080p HD. Online play has had no lag in the games I have played. Im not sure what people expect,but I think its a good baseball game. I have enjoyed every game so far. Sure, it could always be better,but its playableIt seems to be just a better version of last years game. I have played probably 10 games so far and nothing bad or glitches have happened. I think the graphics look fine on 1080p HD. Online play has had no lag in the games I have played. Im not sure what people expect,but I think its a good baseball game. I have enjoyed every game so far. Sure, it could always be better,but its playable and its the only way to play MLB on Xbox. I would give it an 8. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This game isn't perfect by any stretch of the imagination. But it has made big strides in the right direction. I don't think it will ever be where nba2k is, but I think its because of the sport, not the game. People need to understand that baseball isn't a high action sport, and it isn't the developers fault that that is what they are given to work with. That being said, baseball is aThis game isn't perfect by any stretch of the imagination. But it has made big strides in the right direction. I don't think it will ever be where nba2k is, but I think its because of the sport, not the game. People need to understand that baseball isn't a high action sport, and it isn't the developers fault that that is what they are given to work with. That being said, baseball is a statistical driven sport and this game goes a long way into intertwining statistical percentages with game play. The commentary is much better, the graphics and sound are vastly improved. My biggest gripe is the baserunning, which has always been my big gripe. The baserunners look like they are running in a Benny Hill skit, and basestealling is a tad unresponsive. Runners should not slow up and run with their bodies at a 90 degree angle to the ground. They remain low and run with their heads ahead of their feet, not straight up. All in all, this game was definitely a good start to rebuilding a franchise that I for one hope gets renewed for next season. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game. I have been playing this game all morning and afternoon and it is very addictive. IGN is way off in saying that this is just like last years version. Total improvement.
  8. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    MLB 2k12 is a best for last kind of game, with the subject of the series in danger, Take 2 Interactive does not disappoint (in most areas). As always, the game has the best pitching mechanic in baseball games, making the "fast meter" a thing of the past. The batting however, is a little off. Most of the time, it is easier to get a base by using your power swing, as a contact swing gentlyMLB 2k12 is a best for last kind of game, with the subject of the series in danger, Take 2 Interactive does not disappoint (in most areas). As always, the game has the best pitching mechanic in baseball games, making the "fast meter" a thing of the past. The batting however, is a little off. Most of the time, it is easier to get a base by using your power swing, as a contact swing gently hits it to the 2nd Baseman. FIELDING SUCKS. There is no control over your players in time-sensitive situations. Usually you get control of your Outfielder, but once a ball is thrown and changes to someone else (In this example a catcher) the catcher, no matter how hard you push the Left stick up, he will stay at the plate and watch as the ball gently roll into his glove. (While the other team is now celebrating a two run lead). Now on to aesthetic things. The graphics are good for the series, but not what is expected of today's sports games. Soundtrack is not important to me, as I usually listen to my own playlist, but this year as I played my first franchise, the soundtrack was lacking to say the least. Only about 12 songs on the soundtrack and none of them were really that great, some might like the Skrillex song but it doesn't appeal to me in baseball game. Game modes are still smae for the most part. The perfect game challenge is back, and franchise is back as well. Expand
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    Sure I wish this entry was better then last years like everyone else. However if you want the new players and stats it's the only way to go for the 360. Everyone whines how it's lacking next to The Show. However if you don't own a PS3 but have a 360 and want to play realistic baseball on your HDTV you don't really have a choice. As for the create a player mode not being very good. I couldSure I wish this entry was better then last years like everyone else. However if you want the new players and stats it's the only way to go for the 360. Everyone whines how it's lacking next to The Show. However if you don't own a PS3 but have a 360 and want to play realistic baseball on your HDTV you don't really have a choice. As for the create a player mode not being very good. I could care less. I play to control Verlander, Fielder and Cabbera as I follow my Tigers all season, I don't play to try and live out some RPG fantasy. Expand
  10. Apr 8, 2012
    5
    Its fair to say that I'm very disappointed yet again with this years MLB 2k. The menus are slicker and the soundtrack is more enjoyable then in last years game , I'll give it that. BUT..... The graphics on the field are absolutely horrible, this is giant step backwards visually. The uniforms look like they are made of molded foam, the uniform colors are off and realistic lighting effectsIts fair to say that I'm very disappointed yet again with this years MLB 2k. The menus are slicker and the soundtrack is more enjoyable then in last years game , I'll give it that. BUT..... The graphics on the field are absolutely horrible, this is giant step backwards visually. The uniforms look like they are made of molded foam, the uniform colors are off and realistic lighting effects are nonexistent. The ballparks are these lifeless cardboard backdrops for the frustratingly blotchy gameplay. Runners routinely stop at bases when they should be rounding them and then advance once the ball is in the infield only to be thrown out. The pitching and hitting haven't really changed much. Fortunately I bought the MLB NBA bundle so I don't feel like I totally wasted 60 bucks but it is disappointing not to have a decent baseball game on the 360. Expand
  11. May 2, 2012
    2
    If you have MLB 2k11, DO NOT BUY. Not worth 60 dollars. Same poor graphics, fine subpar gameplay. Buy if you only have an Xbox and are a die-hard baseball fan. Screw rosters, use 2k share to update rosters for free. If you have a Ps3, this is absolutely not worth your money. Buy the Show.
  12. Apr 25, 2012
    0
    Game breaking glitches and few minor improvements from previous games make this yet another flop from 2K. If they would spend half as much time fixing their game as they do counting their quarterly profits, this franchise might be able to compete with The Show.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    58
    MLB 2K12 has made some strong strides to improve the overall product. Pitching, as one would expect with the Million Dollar Challenge, is the strongest aspect of this game, and it can be fun if a player enjoys just doing that. The hitting system has taken great strides, but a lackluster My Player mode and many little glitches and graphical blunders take away from an overall product. Improvement still needs to be there in order to get to the big leagues of gaming.
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    65
    PS3 owners should rightly gravitate toward the MLB: The Show franchise, while Xbox owners may as well sit out this year entirely.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    68
    This game's better than last year's, but it's not necessarily worth going out and getting if you have the last couple outings.