Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The longest running Major League Baseball franchise returns to the virtual diamond with MLB 2K12.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    85
    And that's precisely the group that 2K Sports is trying to target with MLB 2K12 – the hardcore baseball fans. With the slow tactical pitching game, the new fielding mechanics, and the complex base running – MLB 2K12 is definitely not for the casual gamer. And hardcore fans should really find something to like in MLB 2K12 because it is as accurate a hardball experience as can be found in gaming.
  2. 80
    The series' best effort yet. Though many little issues remain, its fundamentals are strong throughout, forming the foundation for a largely stellar baseball experience. [Apr 2012, p.84]
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    There really isn't much more to say about MLB 2K12. It is basically last year's version of the game albeit with a few minor improvements.
  4. Mar 15, 2012
    68
    Visual Concepts has fixed most of the problems that made last year's game such a horrendous experience, and appears to be in a good position for next season (if 2K signs another contract with Major League Baseball). The game is still rough around the edges and can be infuriating at times, but it is a passable baseball experience for 360 players that need their fix. PlayStation 3 owners should stick with The Show.
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    65
    PS3 owners should rightly gravitate toward the MLB: The Show franchise, while Xbox owners may as well sit out this year entirely.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    Despite its many issues, MLB 2K12 packs a significant punch when it comes to the nuts-and-bolts of big league baseball. We're excited about taking a couple of teams through the season. Unfortunately, it's just too ordinary-looking and choppy-playing to appeal to a wider audience. For all its good points, a game of this stature should be more polished at this stage of the franchise's existence.
  7. Mar 10, 2012
    55
    A good pitching mechanic can't mask the many faults of MLB 2K12.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This game isn't perfect by any stretch of the imagination. But it has made big strides in the right direction. I don't think it will ever be where nba2k is, but I think its because of the sport, not the game. People need to understand that baseball isn't a high action sport, and it isn't the developers fault that that is what they are given to work with. That being said, baseball is a statistical driven sport and this game goes a long way into intertwining statistical percentages with game play. The commentary is much better, the graphics and sound are vastly improved. My biggest gripe is the baserunning, which has always been my big gripe. The baserunners look like they are running in a Benny Hill skit, and basestealling is a tad unresponsive. Runners should not slow up and run with their bodies at a 90 degree angle to the ground. They remain low and run with their heads ahead of their feet, not straight up. All in all, this game was definitely a good start to rebuilding a franchise that I for one hope gets renewed for next season. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game. I have been playing this game all morning and afternoon and it is very addictive. IGN is way off in saying that this is just like last years version. Total improvement. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    It seems to be just a better version of last years game. I have played probably 10 games so far and nothing bad or glitches have happened. I think the graphics look fine on 1080p HD. Online play has had no lag in the games I have played. Im not sure what people expect,but I think its a good baseball game. I have enjoyed every game so far. Sure, it could always be better,but its playable and its the only way to play MLB on Xbox. I would give it an 8. Collapse
  4. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    MLB 2k12 is a best for last kind of game, with the subject of the series in danger, Take 2 Interactive does not disappoint (in most areas). As always, the game has the best pitching mechanic in baseball games, making the "fast meter" a thing of the past. The batting however, is a little off. Most of the time, it is easier to get a base by using your power swing, as a contact swing gently hits it to the 2nd Baseman. FIELDING SUCKS. There is no control over your players in time-sensitive situations. Usually you get control of your Outfielder, but once a ball is thrown and changes to someone else (In this example a catcher) the catcher, no matter how hard you push the Left stick up, he will stay at the plate and watch as the ball gently roll into his glove. (While the other team is now celebrating a two run lead). Now on to aesthetic things. The graphics are good for the series, but not what is expected of today's sports games. Soundtrack is not important to me, as I usually listen to my own playlist, but this year as I played my first franchise, the soundtrack was lacking to say the least. Only about 12 songs on the soundtrack and none of them were really that great, some might like the Skrillex song but it doesn't appeal to me in baseball game. Game modes are still smae for the most part. The perfect game challenge is back, and franchise is back as well. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    I am extremely disappointed with this game has not improved at all the graphics are still poor in detail, physics between players running the bases and hit the defense is lacking, the physics of the ball is terrible and unreal, the only thing I love the MLB Today and daylight to night and some stadiums faithfully recreated Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    5
    Its fair to say that I'm very disappointed yet again with this years MLB 2k. The menus are slicker and the soundtrack is more enjoyable then in last years game , I'll give it that. BUT..... The graphics on the field are absolutely horrible, this is giant step backwards visually. The uniforms look like they are made of molded foam, the uniform colors are off and realistic lighting effects are nonexistent. The ballparks are these lifeless cardboard backdrops for the frustratingly blotchy gameplay. Runners routinely stop at bases when they should be rounding them and then advance once the ball is in the infield only to be thrown out. The pitching and hitting haven't really changed much. Fortunately I bought the MLB NBA bundle so I don't feel like I totally wasted 60 bucks but it is disappointing not to have a decent baseball game on the 360. Expand
  7. May 2, 2012
    2
    If you have MLB 2k11, DO NOT BUY. Not worth 60 dollars. Same poor graphics, fine subpar gameplay. Buy if you only have an Xbox and are a die-hard baseball fan. Screw rosters, use 2k share to update rosters for free. If you have a Ps3, this is absolutely not worth your money. Buy the Show. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews