User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 10 out of 26
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Joba
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    where am I?I really cant believe these completly wrong reviewers.They now have a patch for the game but come on.Your all just 2K haters with your ooow ea and sony people.This baseball game is really awsome and I have 2k7 and I was playing now and --no,no,no.MLB 2K9 is the best baseball game made to this date 1-16-10.If you want to know a 2nd place its not the show,its world series where am I?I really cant believe these completly wrong reviewers.They now have a patch for the game but come on.Your all just 2K haters with your ooow ea and sony people.This baseball game is really awsome and I have 2k7 and I was playing now and --no,no,no.MLB 2K9 is the best baseball game made to this date 1-16-10.If you want to know a 2nd place its not the show,its world series baseball 2k3.I'm right and there are thousands that agree with me and thousands that are so upset cause they love there "the show"or"mvp baseball 2004,2005.Well like I said 2k in right on the money with there baseball and basketball games they just need to change a few things with there hockey title then 2K will have this locked up.They made an awsome tennis game "Top Spin 3"I commend you 2K for great work and for your baseball title I give it a 9.6 Collapse
  2. HLarson
    Dec 17, 2009
    1
    The only reason I gave it a 1 is because for the 5min of game time that it isn't buggy it is a mediocre game. The bugs however make this game utterly unplayable. Go watch some of the youtube videos out there, they are sickening. Those bugs and glitches aren't rare or isolated either. Pop flys right to your player will land on his head or foot. You will not be able to play one The only reason I gave it a 1 is because for the 5min of game time that it isn't buggy it is a mediocre game. The bugs however make this game utterly unplayable. Go watch some of the youtube videos out there, they are sickening. Those bugs and glitches aren't rare or isolated either. Pop flys right to your player will land on his head or foot. You will not be able to play one game without giving up a triple or double because of the poor physics. On top of the bugs is the fact that players like Nick Punto can hit a 450ft homerun. The steriod era is over, make a baseball game not a home run derby game. They must have made this game in a month... embarrassing for everyone involved. Worst sports game I have ever played hands down. Expand
  3. BrianL
    Jul 12, 2009
    4
    Good lord have they learned nothing?? This game had the potential to be decent, but the ridiculous amount of minor issues make it unplayable. I was playing through franchise mode with myself the new star shortstop of the redsox, and was really looking forward to the game. As it turned out, at least 5 times a game, there is some sort of glitch that makes me want to throw my controller at Good lord have they learned nothing?? This game had the potential to be decent, but the ridiculous amount of minor issues make it unplayable. I was playing through franchise mode with myself the new star shortstop of the redsox, and was really looking forward to the game. As it turned out, at least 5 times a game, there is some sort of glitch that makes me want to throw my controller at the screen. Either a fly ball will bounce off my star outfielder's head without him even trying to catch it, or I'll be chasing down a grounder and the runner will stop, etc etc. Usually those stupid glitches will cost me a hard fought game. The new menu system is terrible, its hard to get a simple stat like pitch count, can't change face or stance of create a player, the list goes on and one. After playing MLB09: the show for PS3, this game is crap. Too bad sony makes that one because I'd much rather play that on my xbox Expand
  4. DavidT
    Jun 17, 2009
    3
    I bought this game without checking the Metracritic reviews first. BIG MISTAKE! The game contains several bugs, including players not catching easy fly balls, excessive home runs, and players running through each other when you run the bases. This game was huge disappointment. Next time I will read reviews before buying a game for 60 bucks!
  5. LyndonV
    May 9, 2009
    0
    This is one of the worst baseball games ive ever played, some aspects are realistic yes, but what counts, is not. The fact that I can throw the ball away, and then it skips to the next batter while the ball is rolling around, or the fact if i just skip right to when i wanna bat, and not wait for the pitcher to get all ready, all the sudden my runner on base, is no longer at the lead i had This is one of the worst baseball games ive ever played, some aspects are realistic yes, but what counts, is not. The fact that I can throw the ball away, and then it skips to the next batter while the ball is rolling around, or the fact if i just skip right to when i wanna bat, and not wait for the pitcher to get all ready, all the sudden my runner on base, is no longer at the lead i had him at. There are many other glitches in the games, as well as how the game is mapped out for player performance. I am a diehard baseball fan, and its sickening this is the best xbox has to offer for a baseball game, someone please help!! Make something good!!! Expand
  6. BuckmanB
    Mar 27, 2009
    5
    Graphics are mediocore, which is surprising for a 2K game. There also lots of gliches. These are the 3 most common: 1. Sometimes on a ground ball, the short stop will throw to first base and for some reason the 1st baseman lifts his foot off the bag before he catches the ball, allowing the runner to be safe at 1st. This happens at least once a game. 2. On a flyball, the outfielder Graphics are mediocore, which is surprising for a 2K game. There also lots of gliches. These are the 3 most common: 1. Sometimes on a ground ball, the short stop will throw to first base and for some reason the 1st baseman lifts his foot off the bag before he catches the ball, allowing the runner to be safe at 1st. This happens at least once a game. 2. On a flyball, the outfielder sometimes stands directly underneath the ball and looks like he is about to catch it when he watches it fall and hit the ground right next time him. Happens usually 1-2 times a game. 3. Pitchers get hurt pitching... I'm not sure how this happens but it happens every 6 or 7 games. Also if you dive for a ball, the outfielder usually gets injured 25% of the time. Even though these gliches happen often, it is still a fun game to play and if all you have a 360, this is the only baseball game out there so I would say it is worth getting. Expand
  7. YermakirumY.
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Very good game.
  8. WarrinP
    Mar 23, 2009
    3
    I am very disappointed in this title. If you are looking for baseball simulation with realistic game play, you will be disappointed. The hitting is clumsy, I've hit 25 HRs in 3 games and I've have a pick off rate of almost 100%. In all fairness, I haven't played online yet, but I don't see how it can swing my opinion too much. Get it because it is the only baseball I am very disappointed in this title. If you are looking for baseball simulation with realistic game play, you will be disappointed. The hitting is clumsy, I've hit 25 HRs in 3 games and I've have a pick off rate of almost 100%. In all fairness, I haven't played online yet, but I don't see how it can swing my opinion too much. Get it because it is the only baseball game for xbox360, but it is not a good one. Expand
  9. AndyN
    Mar 9, 2009
    9
    Although this offering from 2k Sports took a bit to get use to, I managed to get a hang of it after a couple of games. I'm not sure as to why this game is getting such a bad wrap. Predetermined dislike perhaps. As of my writing this the game already has a patch applied that was not present for previous reviewers. I'm also reviewing this as a baseball fan that just wants to enjoy Although this offering from 2k Sports took a bit to get use to, I managed to get a hang of it after a couple of games. I'm not sure as to why this game is getting such a bad wrap. Predetermined dislike perhaps. As of my writing this the game already has a patch applied that was not present for previous reviewers. I'm also reviewing this as a baseball fan that just wants to enjoy a game and doesn't care about the little details. I don't get into the trading and all that, I'm just playing a season as my favorite team. My experience has been a little bit of a mixed bag, but enjoyable. Once you get the hang of pitching some real battles can be had. Batting is also well done once you learn to aim and control your contact points. Sliders are also important, as I customized mine right away. My first season game, not my first game as I played some quick games to set up my season sliders, was a very good one. I played as the Red Sox versus the Jays. The Jays took a 1 to 0 lead in the first and it was a battle from there on out. I finally got the bases loaded in the 6th scoring 2 runs by the end of the inning. Final score 2 to 1 in my favor. In the end and after many more games I can say that the assessment of this game by other reviewers just seems wrong. Once the game is set up the way it should be ("sliders"), and any real baseball game fan knows this, it plays very well in the end. Expand
  10. JimA
    Mar 6, 2009
    8
    MLB 2K9 could be a great game if not for a few flaws - but they can be addressed. The good
  11. JR
    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    This game is a step back on many levels. 1) I feel the baserunning, pitching and fielding controls from last years game were far more intuitive. Is there any way they could be added back as an additional option via a patch? 2) Pickoffs are ridiculously easy. I picked off 5 guys in one game last night. 4 of them from second base. It just seems that the tag animation is way too fast. 3) This game is a step back on many levels. 1) I feel the baserunning, pitching and fielding controls from last years game were far more intuitive. Is there any way they could be added back as an additional option via a patch? 2) Pickoffs are ridiculously easy. I picked off 5 guys in one game last night. 4 of them from second base. It just seems that the tag animation is way too fast. 3) Collision detection is non-existent 4) Outfielders are extremely sluggish when trying to come in on balls. And the exaggerated slow down when you get close to a fly ball seem unnecessary. Just let me control him 100%. If I over-run a ball, that's my fault. 5) AI batters seem to hit every single pitch that is in the strike zone. (Pro difficulty) 6) The Menu system is horrible. Completely counter-intuitive Expand
  12. MattU
    Mar 3, 2009
    2
    Create a player sucks. You can't change batting stances so alot of the players stances look stupid and generic. The controls are ridiculous and stupid. 2K8 was great now they release this junk. I always loved what 2k did with baseball, until now. Its pathetic, I'm real upset by this release.
  13. PatrickKy
    Mar 3, 2009
    7
    No excuses. 2K does need to get with the program. Glitches and bugs are unacceptable...and the features pale in comparison to MLB: The Show. That being said...I can't give this game below a 7 out of 10 because, at its core,this is a solid baseball game. Pitching and hitting are very satisfying, and fielding and base running are much improved.Hopefully, 2K will build off of the solid No excuses. 2K does need to get with the program. Glitches and bugs are unacceptable...and the features pale in comparison to MLB: The Show. That being said...I can't give this game below a 7 out of 10 because, at its core,this is a solid baseball game. Pitching and hitting are very satisfying, and fielding and base running are much improved.Hopefully, 2K will build off of the solid fundamentals they've laid in this game and FINALLY put out an all around solid product. Expand
  14. CeeJay
    Mar 3, 2009
    0
    Fielding, Pitching, and baserunning work ok...Hitting however is still abysmal. This game still uses a overly simplified hitting system that randomly decides if your swing generates a fly ball or a ground ball. Its a simple timing system (the same used in the original nintendo "baseball" game)-just inexcusable.
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. I was hoping that 2K would build on last year’s foundation. Instead, the foundation has been altered to be more appealing to the masses. That’s difficult logic to argue with, but 2K’s approach is way off the mark.
  2. 68
    MLB 2K9 is an enjoyable game for a casual fan, but those who are really dedicated to baseball are certain to find the bad AI annoying.
  3. Want a better baseball video game experience? Unfortunately it’s on the PS3 with MLB The Show. Xbox 360 gamers are stuck with this rough-hewn and frustrating game that could have otherwise been a gem. Instead, that no-hitter in the bottom of the ninth got broken up by a grand slam.