Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Mass Effect: Arrival, Commander Shepard is sent to the edge of the galaxy to rescue an undercover operative who may have evidence of an imminent Reaper invasion that has been looming since the very beginning of the series. Returning and playing a prominent role in Mass Effect: Arrival isIn Mass Effect: Arrival, Commander Shepard is sent to the edge of the galaxy to rescue an undercover operative who may have evidence of an imminent Reaper invasion that has been looming since the very beginning of the series. Returning and playing a prominent role in Mass Effect: Arrival is fan favorite Admiral Hackett, who is voiced by legendary science-fiction actor Lance Henriksen (Alien, Terminator). Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    85
    Don't get me wrong, Arrival sits comfortably between Overlord and Lair of the Shadow Broker in terms of quality and I still want to play Mass Effect 3 badly, but I don't want play it that much more badly after having played Arrival.
  2. Apr 4, 2011
    80
    Not as good as The Lair of the Shadow Broker, but it's a great offer for fans of the universe created by BioWare, setting interesting events that will be further inspected in Mass Effect 3.
  3. Apr 2, 2011
    75
    At 560 Microsoft Points, the add-on is a bit steep with its lack of content and for the casual player, but for the completionist who want to absorb the complete canon of the series and prepare for the next game, it's worth a stab.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    65
    Another DLC for Mass Effect 2 turned out to be quite mediocre. The story on its micro level doesn't bring about impressions similar to the basic game. Lack of emotional ties with the main female character and very few moral choices don't engage the player. However, this DLC is being saved from oblivion due to the macro level of presetned events and their connection to the main storyline. Reapers' involvement plays an important part.
  5. Mar 30, 2011
    60
    There are some choice moments across Arrival's duration, but it's just a shame that Mass Effect 2's final piece of DLC is undoubtedly its weakest.
  6. Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Mass Effect 2: Arrival is a disappointing conclusion to a beloved series' second chapter.
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    40
    For a piece of DLC that offers so little, $7.00 seems steep. Save some hard-earned money and watch the videos of it on YouTube instead… the most relevant bits can be seen in a minute or two, and those Microsoft points can instead be spent on something more substantial.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    I don't understand you guys. What were you expecting from a DLC? I didn't expect to fight reapers, that is CLEARLY reserved to Mass Effect 3I don't understand you guys. What were you expecting from a DLC? I didn't expect to fight reapers, that is CLEARLY reserved to Mass Effect 3 from Mass Effect 2's ending. Do you all honestly think Bioware would make a DLC have an epic reaper battle in a DLC only a fraction of Mass Effect 2 purchasers will get? PRIOR to the game that EVERYONE will buy, Mass Effect 3? I thought that for what it was this DLC was fine. We now know the reapers are actually within the galaxy, and war looms w/ the batarians.Those are pretty important. The ending got me more pumped for Mass Effect 3. I can't wait.â Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    The Arrival DLC is a must own for Mass Effect 2 fans who are going to buy the sequel, it sets the tone perfectly, not only that but it getsThe Arrival DLC is a must own for Mass Effect 2 fans who are going to buy the sequel, it sets the tone perfectly, not only that but it gets you totally pumped for Mass Effect 3, and everything that happens in this DLC will play a pretty large role in the next game, I don't want to spoil anything about the story but lets just say that you seriously need to get this, it's definitely worth the price of admission, and has is decent in length, you will also play this without the help of your followers which makes combat more intense, my only complaints are that, you don't get to make any choices as it's all basically predetermined what happens, and that you can't always control what Shepard says, when your watching Shepard having a conversation in where you don't get to control what he/she says (which happens a lot) it takes out a lot of the RPG feel to the game, but the fact that is so much fun and that it ties in so closely to Mass Effect 3 make this a must download, and makes the wait for Mass Effect 3 almost unbearable. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    The Arrival was a very good expansion. It really show us how close the reapers are from earth in it. I don't understand why this is gettingThe Arrival was a very good expansion. It really show us how close the reapers are from earth in it. I don't understand why this is getting bad ratings its far better than what people have been saying. Stop comparing this to Lair of the Shadow Broker Bio-ware did a good job with this considering they are busy with Mass Effect 3. My only complaint about this DLC was that it was short I beat it around an hour and a half. This was not as good as Overlord, or Lair of the Shadow Broker but its story really sets up Mass Effect 3 and for that it was pretty darn good. Expand
  4. May 25, 2011
    6
    While it still a good piece of DLC for ME2, the biggest problem with Arrival is that it is to short. If it was an hour or 2 longer I wouldWhile it still a good piece of DLC for ME2, the biggest problem with Arrival is that it is to short. If it was an hour or 2 longer I would give it a 7or 8. It is just to short. Collapse
  5. Apr 29, 2011
    4
    A very short chapter that really tells you nothing new, nothing that you didn't already know and expect in the upcoming ME 3 game. Sadly,A very short chapter that really tells you nothing new, nothing that you didn't already know and expect in the upcoming ME 3 game. Sadly, this feels more like a quick cash-in then a true attempt to add something new to bridge the gap between ME 2 and ME 3. Sadly, Bioware was riding high on its DLC, but to make this the last one, is truly a disappointing way to treat its fans! Passing this up will in no way truly impact you in the story telling. Only, and I mean Only pick this up, if you are a Die-Hard Must have it all, Mass Effect Fan, all others may pass it up! Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2011
    3
    Very disappointing. Save for the end that lead to ME3, the story is basic, lacking both in interest and choices. The action is basically a 2Very disappointing. Save for the end that lead to ME3, the story is basic, lacking both in interest and choices. The action is basically a 2 bases shoot-out with nothing new or original. Since you're by yourself, there are neither interactions nor dialogues with your crew. What should have been a great final for ME2 ends up being its worst DLC. Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    Short: Its the worst DLC ever...
    They didn't anything right, all is just so ridiculous I cant belive it. They even use human-models for
    Short: Its the worst DLC ever...
    They didn't anything right, all is just so ridiculous I cant belive it. They even use human-models for Batarian... Story is same ridiculous (for example: now a astroid can do what a supernova cant ?) ....
    Did noone cheked it before they released it ?

    So complete DLC is so bad, Bioware should recompense all who waste time on this ...

    Waste of money; Waste of time or Short: DONT BUY THIS ****
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews