User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2863 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    A gem. The fantastic story progresses at a breakneck pace and is filled with excellent characters, exciting set-pieces and incredible and visceral combat. It's my personal favorite out of the trilogy, a remarkable achievement in science fiction storytelling and player driven world building.
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A bloody great game, on of the best. The only thing missing from ME2 was the planet exploring with the Mako like in ME1. This game is absolutely amazing. One of the best.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Any game that gets me to replay through the story 3+ times is worthy of a 10 in my book. There's really not anything bad I can say about the game, it's pretty much a masterpiece.
  4. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    My favourite game this gen. Bioware once again hit the nail with the story and characters. Gameplay is solid, voice acting is amazing, aside from sheppard but Im ok with it. Superb aaa++++
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Was an amazing experience, like living a movie..Getting to know the people i fight and command, winning their respect and mourning them when they died..I lost 2 people when i played it first and actually felt sad..I would have kept that game to be my base for ME3 if a console crash hadn't wiped my saves. Because your actions matter and you actually create relationships and can learn so much about this world..Cannot wait for ME3 i hope they can make it as great.. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    mass effect 2 is not only one of te best games bever made it is one of the best stories ever told. story amazing makes the wait for mass effect 3 worse.gameplay is perfect grapics may no look as good as other games but awesome. lasting apeal is a lot in this game you can replay the game multiple times and have totally differnt epierience. the sound of this game is beatiful the score is epic the voice acting is tv movie standards. fun factor youll have a blast. verdict this game is not 10/10 an unratable this game is too good too be rated. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 Paves the way for new RPG's. The idea that your choices from the previous game have an effect on both major and minor plots is really what all RPG's should be doing. The story is the number one thing that should come from an RPG, followed by characters, including your own, and skills. Mass effect 2 does all perfectly. The atmosphere has changed completely from ME 1, into a doomsday feel. The story is constantly adding more and more exciting features and plot twists that Bioware have already by renounced for. Each quest goes from large, tactical combat, to puzzles, to just straight up conversations that have tricky decisions to make. the setting is so easily done, in a genre with narrow-minded fools that will instantly reject a game if it is not set in a fantasy medieval setting it managed to win the majority of them over. Each character has their own personality, and Sheppardâ Expand
  8. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I loved it, maybe I am just a sucker for RPGs, but there has not been a single thing to complain about for me in either of the Mass Effects. Mass Effect one was a great base for the series and yea there were some issues with the menus and such, but it was the first game and those little issues hardly took away from it! Mass Effect 2 in turn did a phenomenal job in turn dumbing down the menus and specializing the game more, sure there were less options, but ME2 still had a great story, awesome characters, and the import function worked perfectly. You could change a couple decisions in ME1 and wind up with an entirely different experience in ME2! Now that is a dynamic story and that is how RPGs should be made, granted maybe bringing back some of the old RPG elements from ME1. Expand
  9. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This is the pinnacle of Action-RPG gaming. Simple enough to allow new players and not punish them, whilst giving hardcore fans and deep and meaningful experience. Including the gameplay and the enriching story. New players can just press the X button to skip conversations, automatically picking the neutral option, having less of an effect on the characters Paragon/Renegade points without them knowing or choosing. The gameplay and graphics are a dramatic improvement from the first game, as it runs on an updated Unreal engine. Overall a great gaming experience, for hardcore or casual players. Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Ok i am voicing my opinion for Mass Effect 2 because one its my favourite game of all-time and two its managed to keep me entertained since launch to this very day.

    The gameplay does have its weaknesses at time which granted the cover system does need improving slightly and so does the shooting galleries, which i know sound like negatives but it amazingly does not affect the overall
    experience.

    Because the story is what makes this game so special and in my mind an instant classic. I won't spoil anything but it manages to rekindle me being a kid too short to have my feet touch the floor when watching TV seeing the Star Wars series for the 1st time (4, 5 and 6 episode one came out when i could touch the floor) but instead i get to control the story and make it how I want

    For instance if I want a male character who saves everyone possible when he can you can do that. Or do I want to be a women who tries to get the job done no matter what, sure you can.

    The only thing I will say is that if you want to true experience of the series go on Mass Effect 1 1st then 2 then keep your files till Mass Effect 3. Trust me you will thank me later on that recommendation.
    Expand
  11. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This game is so good it made me play the first game again, and I had played ME to the point that I didnâ
  12. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    the only game i will ever give a 10 too on this generation literally the best combination of action, adventure and story. the characters are truly lovable and this is the perfect follow up in terms of story to mass effect 1. the game was more streamlined in terms of rpg elements but still required you to talk to your crew and be involved with upgrading your character and your ship. the voice acting throughout this game is perfect and every character has a unique and intriguing aspect. the locations that you visit throughout the game are all beautiful the universe that bioware has created is truly interesting and engaging. Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is much improved on the first game (for example, no more meiko and an improved combat system). The story is fantastic, supported by strong voice acting, and on the 4th play through I am still finding things I have missed. Brilliant game and thoroughly looking forward to the next one.
  14. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Of all the games I've played on the 360, this is arguably the best. Mass Effect 2 is more than a game, it's a work of art. The story continues Commander Shepard's quest to stop the Reapers as he/she now must save disappearing human colonies. The story feels dynamic and full of character development as you actually help your squaddies on quests that range from settling an old score to confronting a renegade family relative. The story and character interactions are also more dynamic as the characters use more body language and sound better more alive. The combat is better and the classes are more special. For example, engineers have the ability to spawn drones while sentinels can deploy extra shields. Combat is now improved as you must resort to different tactics like incinerating a charging Krogan or using pull to dislodge a sniper. This game actually lets you make real decisions that can impact the story and Shepard is further characterized by action-based interrupts rather than the bloated dialogue of the previous game. This is truly and amazing game for anyone with an Xbox 360. Expand
  15. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Gaming at its finest. The story is deep, engaging and well thought out, with some educated twists and turns that keep you hanging until the very end. Though the RPG system has been simplified, I still thought the game balanced its shooter and RPG elements well. The graphics were stunning, and along with the music created a rich atmosphere, with interesting and enigmatic characters to boot. A game you can tell was lovingly slaved over, right to the last detail. Top game. Expand
  16. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Really a great game. One of the best I've played on the 360. I was a huge fan of Bioware because of KOTOR, but have been disappointed in every offering since then until this one. KOTOR and Fallout 3 are still my favorite RPG's, but this one comes in close. The characters are great, and the story and combat are vastly improved over the first Mass Effect. It's a game that you can easily get lost in for a week or so. For about two weeks, I pretty much just got home from work, fired up the Xbox, and played it till it was waaay too late to be going to sleep. There was one big story point I didn't care for much, and I also felt a little betrayed because downloading a free extra character actually messed up my game bad(the character's name is Zaeed. It is intentional by the game-makers, just the way the story works, but I felt a little bit screwed over, and you may not want to bother downloading his content, or at least wait until late in the game and keep a save handy from before you bring him in.) But, all in all, there are so many more interesting characters this time around, and so many more memorable moments, that this game is a huge improvement, in my opinion, over the first Mass Effect. If you like Sci-fi and RPG's, I think you'll have a blast with this game, and at $20 now, it is a steal. Expand
  17. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    OK EVERYONE CALM DOWN! LET ME PUT THIS IN PERSPECTIVE FOR YOU ALL!
    This game isnt perfect; no 10. It also is SOO far from a 0 is insulting and proves how hard it is to please some trolls out there. Back in the 70s when Star Wars V came out, everyone hated it. Years later, its considered the best Star Wars movie. Lets wait to see how ME3 is and how they all come together to form a
    complete experience. Expand
  18. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Greatest game I've ever played. Wasn't sure whether I would enjoy the series or not but it's absolutely fantastic. Pre-ordered the collectors edition of ME3 and can't wait for it.
  19. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This may be the best game I've ever played. The voice acting, combat, world design, story, graphics, and characters are all excellent. The highlight of the game is being able to import your character from Mass Effect 1 and see how the decisions you made in the first game impacted the Mass Effect universe. It's honestly one of the most refined, immersive and personal games out there.
  20. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    I think, ME2 main game of 2010. Fantastic story, unique characters, beautiful graphics and high quality sound. More best, then first game. Definitely the best game of 2010 on the Xbox 360. 10 of 10.
  21. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    I normally don't like RPG games, but I love this one. It really stands out of the crowd. It has a great story line, and game-play. The weapon system is great, and it is a personal game, as in, you can really make it into your own by your decisions. This game is a must play by everyone, including those that normally do not like RPG games.
  22. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    10/10. My biggest problem with this game was the text size, I couldn't read it some times. Besides that this is an amazing game with a great story, great characters, intense action, and a good third person shooter with an RPG like story. A lot of people say that this game sucks because its not as RPG. Well this game was meant to be a hybrid between the two. You want a game where your bullets cause you to gain weight and you need to eat to live? Go play Fallout New Vegas, (which is a great game, not hating on it ) but for those of you who just want to engage in an epic sci fi adventure with characters who make you feel, well then pick up this game. Expand
  23. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played, not just for the gameplay, but mainly because of the story. The Mass Effect Series is what I see as the future of gaming, essentially a playable book. Bioware has made good writing the most important part of their games. It is chalked full of allusions and symbolism and it has a great linear story. In a book, you can only get so much. You get the story of the person and the development of characters. In a video game, you can get the entire universe and you can actually experience the path of the main character. No amount of imagery or metaphors will ever substitute for seeing it first hand as Mass Effect has shown us. I count it as the single most enjoyable game I have ever played. I have played it through 7 times now and will never get bored with it. Expand
  24. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. This is a near-flawless experience with fantastic game play, a rich and compelling story, an excellent voice cast, amazing graphics and a great soundtrack. This is definitely the 'Empire Strikes Back' of our time. The DLC is impressive and gives this game a lot of replay-ability. While the game could have used a few options in the menu, such as not showing helmets during conversations, I can see no reason to give this anything less then 10. Expand
  25. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Mass effect was hands down the best game with the best story i have ever played. From start to finish it was an amazingly gripping and incredibly impressive game. taking control of Commander Shepard you jump into Mass effect 2 with thousands of different outcomes, no two games are the same, you can either transfer your story from ME1 or just start here witch is what i did. Their was no point in the game where i was bored confused or disapointed in the gameplay. you get extremely attached to the characters and intensely involved in the story, and you there will not be one point where you are not enjoying yourself. you can do side missions for each character that will make them lo to you loyal to you. you can probe planets and mine the resources to make upgrades to your ship, and sometimes discover anomalys that you can launch a side mission into, you can shop on the numerous kiosks on all the planets,and not to mention the amazing story. I suggest you do everything possible and deffinatley play the game. You don't have to play the first game to play the second but i suggest that you play the second before the third. I give Mass effect 2 a full 10/10. Expand
  26. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    What can I say that hasn't been said. Solid mix of 3rd person shooter and RPG. Top of the notch dialogue and voice acting. Easier difficulties give you more action and Harder difficulties make use more RPG esque strategy elements. Well done Bioware. Well done
  27. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    An elegant, complex and exciting history. Beside being entertained, very interesting and being set in a fascinating world. ME2 is better than ME, and it is great to say.
  28. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Amazing game I loved the gamplay the characters the enemies the difficulty I just had a problem with how the weapon modes worked because I preferred the ammo types being found but that's not enough to lower my score
  29. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The 'Empire Strikes Back' of the Mass Effect series. I could write entire paragraphs about this game, but I will save you the time. If you haven't already bought and/or played this game, you are missing out on one of the greatest sci-fi sagas ever created.
  30. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Even the simplification of many elements from the previous game cannot beat the fact that we became witnesses of the most compelling and deep plots in the industry. The darker, extremely detailed and more violent world, highly individualistic characters, mature drama and nearly breathtaking action made it a unique game. It's almost a crime if you didn't play it (of course you did).
  31. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    A must buy game. This game hits everything right. Another fantastic dialogue and improved combat scenarios. You also get more squad mates and establish relationships with them. Graphics are fantastic and very well done storyline. Only minor flaws the prob mini game is really boring after 3 planets.
  32. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    After being attacked by a mysterious alien ship whilst searching for Geth, the Normandy is destroyed, crew dispanded and Shepard dead. One year later and an mysterious pro-human activist group named Cerberus have resurrected Shepard in the hope that he can save the galaxy once more. An alien race known as the Collectors are attacking human colonies and stealing the inhabitants away for twisted experiments. You will need an elite team of highly trained operatives, a loyal crew and a will to die for the good of humanity, they do not expect you to survive...prove them wrong.
    With highly refined shooting Mass Effect is back and better than ever, a 40+ hour story and a stellar cast of crew members makes this the best Mass Effect yet.
    Expand
  33. May 7, 2012
    10
    From start to finish it was an amazing experience for me. Never got bored of it at all. This game is in my top 5 list of game's of all time now. I'm just so amazed with it. Mass Effect 2 10/10 [A must buy]
  34. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best game in the trilogy, and probably one of the most entertaining games ever made. The player has the feeling that he's playing inside a movie and writing his own story. Pure awesomeness!
  35. May 10, 2012
    10
    An amazing game! Not as good as 3 but better then 1. The first game suffered from sub par shooting mechanics. The sequel fixes this and makes a game that competes with the best. Story is great, and acting amazing.
  36. May 21, 2012
    10
    ME2 is a brilliant game. The graphic, the atmosphere and the characters catch you deep in a story about all or nothing. Sometimes the storytelling is a bit slow, but this is just my opinion. I love this game and play it many times - One of the games I would tell 'Game of the Year'.
  37. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    This is literally my favorite game of all time. The gameplay, the story and the characters are all fantastic. The ending is epic and the brilliance of Bioware is displayed perfectly in this game.
  38. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, this is the best game ever made. I notice most people are complaining about the loading screens, I didn't really think that this was an important part of the game. Everything was so much more fluid than the first instalment, things just worked a bit better. I fell in love with the first game and the second game just renewed my love of the in depth characters.
  39. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    An improvement on the first installment, Mass Effect 2 leaves nothing to the imagination. It has the best ending I've ever played on a game. You will get very emotionally attached to this one.
  40. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Good points:
    . Characters
    . Dialogue and voice acting
    . Art design
    . Shooting mechanics
    . Level design

    Bad points:
    . Scanning planets

    Overall I think this Mass Effect 2 is one of the best, if not the best, game I have ever played.
  41. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    The perfect blend of action and RPG elements, Mass Effect 2 takes an already amazing prequel to new heights. With vivid and intriguing worlds, and a deep, immersive story to delve into where one could play and replay several times.
  42. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    I absolutely LOVED this game, the combat wasn't perfect, but in the mass effect series people don't tend to focus on the combat, I loved the story, I loved how I could control the outcomes of multiple scenarios, and it left me very very much looking forward to Mass Effect 3, knowing that my adventures could continue in what should have been an amazing end to the trilogy, I was very upset by how much of a let down it was. Expand
  43. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Every once in a while, there comes along a game (or movie or book) that just has to be seen by everyone capable of doing so. In 2007, Bioware hit that note with Mass Effect, and now, they've done it again. Mass Effect 2 is just outstanding, in every way that counts.
  44. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. The combat is pretty good at its core, with an awesome variety of classes and powers, and the general gameplay and controls are also pretty good. But the game's main selling point is the story, universe, characters and dialogue; the theme/lore/universe is very, very interesting, the story is very strong, the dialogue wheel and morality system is brilliant, the writing is to a very high quality, and the characters are very interesting. The game also has great replay value.

    The only place where I could fault it is the HUD/menus/interface, which are kind of annoying to look at/navigate through and difficult to read sometimes... definitely could use some improvement. But that is way too minor a matter to detract a point off.

    In short, enjoyable and original game with cool gameplay and an excellent story. Would definitely recommend.
    Expand
  45. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    My #1 game of all time. Beautiful graphics. Teriffic characters. Superb story. Smooth controls. God like music. Everything is great about this game! A must play for anybody.
  46. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Im going to keep it short. i've been playing games since the Commodore64 as a child, through the Amiga 500, nearly all the consoles, PC and current gen. Mass Effect 2 is in my top 5 all time games easily, its probably top 3 and a contender for my all time favourite. Its a fantastic and epic tale that weaves across the universe as imagined by the game series. It build upon the greatness of the first and expands on it with brilliant storytelling and atmosphere, its a feat few modern action/adventure games can achieve at this scale, its truly wonderful and a brilliant piece of science fiction overall. Its a game that will have you love and hate its characters for all the right reasons, they will live and die by your choices. there are few games where i have played through the story 3 or more times, i can count them on one hand, heck on 3 fingers. This is one of them, a truly epic and wonderful game. Expand
  47. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the best ever played. Fully immersive story mixed with heart-pounding combat and choices with large consequences. This is a polished beauty that really shows BioWare knows what they are doing. Keep it up.
  48. May 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's incredibly personal while still retaining a sense of epic sweeping scale. The combat and mission design are outstanding. The visuals, voice acting, soundtrack, and direction are miles ahead of the competition. Perhaps most impressively, Mass Effect 2 manages to fulfill its incredible ambition while only suffering from very few technical hiccups. Expand
  49. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    This game is an all around masterpiece if you enjoy an RPG Third Person Shooter hybrid drenched in story. Everything that weighed the original ME down has been lifted; the clunky inventory, the Mako, and the cover system have all been revamped or removed to improve the game play. The story is exciting and creating a rag tag team of suicidal survivalists is an absolute joy. Every character that joins you has an interesting story worth learning more about. And Shephard continues to be the character you want him to be. He can be societies savior or a brutal get it done at all costs war machine. A classic game. Expand
  50. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    To put it simply, this is one of the best games ever made. The memorable characters, great story, and interactivity of this game really made it memorable. The combat is much better than in the original game, that getting into fights was less of a chore and more fun. Every single mission felt like it had a purpose, and the lack of the cut and paste mission design was much appreciated. I did every character's loyalty mission so they wouldn't die because I was invested in the characters. This game also had some of the greatest DLC I have ever played. Lair of the Shadow Broker was incredible, and the other DLC was fun too. Overall this game is the complete package, and a good sequel always surpasses the original. Mass Effect 2 does just that. Expand
  51. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    The Mass Effect universe makes you look upon characters within the games with a whole other perspective. Each individual character has his/her/its tailored personality, and while the story of Mass Effect 2 is less compelling than the planet exploration elements of the first game, it outshines it gameplay-wise. Mass Effect 2 takes place in an established universe, so it won't have the same amount of detail to every encounter as in the first ME game. That does nothing to tamper with the game's overall quality, as new races, factions and lots of characters are introduced. There are a huge amount of variables being counted in through player choices throughout the game. This is my favorite RPG of all time, because my Mass Effect game is unlike yours or any others. Expand
  52. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    MY SECOND BEST RPG EVER
    Good
    Great Graphics, Good Story, Nice Cover Mechanic, No Texture-Pop-In,Great Varied Enviroments, Streamlined Menus, Great Facial Animation, Strong Emotional and Moral Choices, Tensions, Suicide Mission Ending, Great Characters,Great Music, Great Crosshair, Great Overall Combat Phenomenal Voice Acting and No Clunky Ineventory, Great Weapons and Intresting Research
    Feature.
    The Bad
    CERBEROUS NETWORK, Questionable Squad AI On some characters Strangely), No Inventory, Not a Lot of Weapons, Annoyning Scanning

    Get This Game Not on PS3 If you have a 360 or PC 360 Is The best.
    Expand
  53. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    This beautiful game, is a great example of a sequel that outmatches it's predecessor in every way. This is my favorite game of all time. As a wise man once said, "Trilogies are like sex. The first time your nervous and just getting used to but you still like it, the second time is the best because you have already done it once and you've gotten used to how good it is, and the third is the worst because it is like 4 o'clock in the morning, your breaths are starting to smell, your all sweaty, and it just isn't good. This is how I feel about the Mass Effect Trilogy." This man was a genius. With amazing, if clunky, combat, fantastic story, and great moral dilemmas, this game is the best RPG I have ever played. Expand
  54. May 5, 2013
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is perhaps the greatest game of this generation. It cements itself among the greats works of Uncharted 2, FAllout 3, GTA 4, and Bioshock 1 as a watershed moment in gaming for this gen. Everything about his game is perfection. There are no weakenesses. Yeah, sure maybe guns and armor don't have the customization and mods like they did in ME1 but the actual gunplay in this game is sick nasty. Playing as a vanguard in so fun, charge, shot gun, inferno ammo= heads exploding into red fiery awesomeness. The story is awesome and the characters and squad mates are the greatest and most deep characters in gaming history. Standouts include Moridin, Thane, Samara, Grunt, Miranda and many more. These characters are so supperbly written and voice acted its outstanding. And as for the final mission....... The most epic and greatest final misssion in the history of gaming. Nuff said.

    Mass Effect 2 is an amazing piece of work. A must. MUST. Own and play.
    Expand
  55. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    of all the games I have this one is my favorite. pros -improved combat -cool and interesting story and characters -improved graphics -choosing classes is harder as your powers are actually useful -loyalty missions give characters even more depth -I have a warning. don't rush through this game as your actions will affect the ending. cons -Mako removed -Mining isn't really a good replacement for Mako
    -that's it
    -really
    so go out and buy this game but be sure to play through the first game as well so you can import a character through the whole franchise. I love this game
    Expand
  56. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  57. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Simply sublime.

    Few games have the depth, character development, scope and writing to top this one.

    Combat at times can still lag behind other action games but at the right times during the play through it can become extremely engaging.

    I did every mission I could get my hands on and found most of the characters side quests to be the most engaging and interesting of them all.
  58. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best experiences in videogame history, or at least that i have experienced. This does combat, story, development of character story and rpg aspects better than most every game out there. the voice acting graphics is top notch. this is the complete package. What makes it better is that all your actions in the game before this and this one affect your personal story as a whole. Expand
  59. May 31, 2014
    10
    Mass Effect 2. A little while back, I reviewed Mass Effect 1. It was an amazing game despite having some flaws. Now I've totally played through the game's sequel, and the time has come to review it. So, did BioWare improve on the flaws of Mass Effect 1 and make this game better than its predecessor, or is this game the average rushed sucky sequel to an amazing game? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game has seen several improvements over its predecessor. The frame rate no longer dips, and there are fewer bugs and glitches. The Mako (the vehicle in Mass Effect 1 that you needed to roam around large scale planets that was very difficult to control) has been removed from the game entirely (Thank you!). The gameplay also feels a lot more like a third-person shooter now then it did in Mass Effect 1, which focused a bit more on the RPG elements than the shooter elements. This is a good change, because it makes the game that much more fun to play. Weapons now require ammo unfortunately, however, this is nothing to worry about, as there is plenty of ammo scattered around for you to pick up. This is just the combat aspect of the game however. This game also involves talking to people and aliens on planets all across the galaxy to advance through more missions in the game. This has also been improved greatly from Mass Effect 1. In Mass Effect 1, the only way to get the most enjoyment out of the game outside of the story is by completing seemingly pointless side missions. Now there is an even better version of these side missions. Your crew members will all have their own special missions for you to complete for them, that flesh out their characters more than the ones in Mass Effect 1. The other side missions are still there, but you'll find that the character missions will take up more of your time than these side missions. Of course, the RPG elements of this game still exist, but they have been streamlined to be less confusing than that of Mass Effect 1. Leveling up is now made simpler because there are less skills to choose from, which actually makes the game better than you might think. The gameplay of this game improves on Mass Effect 1's in virtually every possible way. As for the graphics, they also see quite a bit of improvement from the first game. The bland open planet environments that forced you to use the Mako to get around are now gone. They have been replaced by far more beautiful planets to explore. There is quite a variety of planets to explore in Mass Effect 2, and they are all as beautiful as a planet can get. The character models in this game are probably the best I've ever seen in a video game. It is one of the only Unreal Engine games I know that manages to use the engine to its full potential. Everything in this game is about as beautiful as a Science-Fiction game can get. Believe it or not, the story of this game has actually improved even more on the already spectacular story of Mass Effect 1! Mass Effect 2's story starts two years after the events of the first game. In that time, your character died in a battle that claimed your ship, but you are brought back to life by a corporation called Cerberus. You are recruited by a man who calls himself the Illusive Man, who tells you an alien race called the Collectors has been attacking human colonies. The rest of the story involves you trying to destroy the Collectors before they wipe out life in the galaxy. Once again, like in the first game, the decisions you make in this game's story will determine if your character will follow a good or evil path. The best part about this game's story however, is that you can import your character from Mass Effect 1, and several of the characters that you met in the first game will most likely reappear in the second (provided you did not kill them of course). Your character will look the same, and work the same as he did in Mass Effect 1. This improves on the story in pretty much every way. Overall, this is a game that improves on its predecessor in every possible way. It is a truly amazing game that absolutely must be played. The only real downside to this game is that if you haven't played the first game, you might be lost in this game's story, so it might be a good idea to play the original game before playing the sequel.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Story: 10/10
    Overall: 10/10
    Expand
  60. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    The first Mass Effect was brilliant, but this is a masterpiece. It takes everything from the first game, and improves upon it. The characters, the story, the graphics, the frame-rate, everything! This is arguably the best in the Mass Effect trilogy, but it's easily one of the greatest video games ever made. Word of advice though, I recommend you play through the first game, then import your save into ME2. It makes it that little bit better. Expand
  61. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing Mass Effect part 1 and only really seeing one disappointment, which was the way you have to level up your gun usage to even be decent in the game. I was looking forward to part 2. Everyone I had talked to about the series had told me they changed up enough on 2 to make the play more fun and they were right. Your decisions in part 1 effect you in part 2 more than you'd think, as well as needing the ship upgrades to have your full crew survive the game made for an interesting mechanic. Taking out the sniper and pistol skill tree where you no longer have to put points into it made the games more playable, as well as adding the cloaking for the sniper class. All in all the time put into this game was actually less for me than the first one because of the way you gather resources compared to the original. But once again bioware hit a homerun on the story, and with the game itself. as for dtuner's review, apparently he hasn't actually completed the game and achieved all the optional achievements and endings. Your choices change everything including if you actually live or die in the game. The vehicle controls in Mass Effect were horrible, hands down one of the worst control schemes of any game ever created, yet most made due. Expand
  62. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is what Star Wars games wish they could be. Too bad EA has their filthy paws strangling the life out of this series already (Mass Effect 3 controversy), ME2 is nearly perfect though. The game doesn't quite require you to have played ME1, as the writing fills you in sans confusion. Expand
  63. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    In my opinion, this is the BEST GAME EVER MADE. It is so perfect, I felt like I had complete control at the end(unlike in 3), I was a sucker for side quests and it actually paid off! I loved it so much, it felt like the perfect adventure, every part of it was an awesome twist or an action sequence. It was awesome.
  64. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is even better than the original. Just about every problem that people had with the first one has been fixed in this sequel. The combat is smoother and more fun, the dialogue has been made even better (yes, that's possible) and the side quests are no longer repetitive sequences of driving around an empty planet in your tank. The only thing that makes this game not deserve a 10 is some pacing issues early on in the game, but that's a minor complaint. Otherwise, Mass Effect 2 definitely deserves its 96 metascore. Expand
  65. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    What more can a humble Biotic such as I say about a game that so captures one's imagination and draws one in on such a deeply exciting way? There just isn't anything bad to say about this game! On principle, I don't give out 10's, just because someday a game will come along (hope, hope) that will so blow all other games away that I have to finally bestow that crown on its hallowed brow. Seriously, though, if you never play this game, you will be depriving yourself of one of the greatest joys ever in gaming. Take if from me: I'm 50 years old and have played more games than most of you ever will. Expand
  66. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    ME2 is one of the best game I ever played, maybe THE best. I didn't take my time and I have like 40 hours on just one game, so if I didn't skip the cinematics, it would be even more... And I didn't finish the game. I guess it could be around the 100 hours if you take your time. It's a complete game, with no bugs, a good history, a good ( Paragon ) and bad side ( Renegade ) and it affects the game, also the members that you can help so they are loyal or not. There is a lot of side-quests, a nice thing in these kinds of games. Also, there is a lot of classes, with different guns or powers. Another thing I liked is the armor personalization. There's a lot of people to talk to so you can learn more about the universe of Mass Effect, of Cerberus and others things. The action part is very good as well. You can have a lot of guns if you're a soldier, have almost the Force ( reference to Star Wars ) or have snipers and the invisibility power to surprise ennemies. I really liked this game, and I give it a nice 9. This game is awesome. I recommend this to everyone, hardcore gamers like casual gamers, fans of RPG or action. By the way, the RPG aspect is really ncie to. I don't like so much RPGs ( like Fallout 3 ) , just a little or when I have a RPG rus, but I like this RPG part a lot! Expand
  67. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    When you start a game at eight at night, and five minutes later its eight in the morning, you know you got your moneys worth. Mass Effect 2 far exceeded any expectations I had going in. At first I was a bit skeptical because I am not the biggest fan of shooter games, they arenâ
  68. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    Perfect ?... No, not really,no game deserve a 10 : for example, the level design is still very poor (1 corridor, 1 or 2 room, no really choices), and combat can be very boring after 10 hours of play...

    But damn... what a good game in every other domains !!!
  69. Sep 19, 2010
    9
    This a great game and much better than the first. The plot is amazing, which is to be expected from BioWare, but the gameplay is also really good. The only flaw is a few control issues. Sometimes trying to get into cover leads you to jump out of cover, and the lack of a lock on button is problematic, but these flaws are over shadowed by a generally good combat system.
  70. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Brilliant sequel to what was one of my favourite games. Was worried about the loss of RPG elements, but never missed them; and the increased production values, mechanics more then made up for the loss. The last mission has to be one of my most memorable gaming moments for a long time, can't wait for the sequal to finish off the trilogy.
  71. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    Mass Effect 2 takes place in an outstanding universe. Characters are well developed and their conflicts make you submerge in their history. The story is SUPERB (better than many movies), graphics are excellent, and gameplay is great (not entirely fluid). The only drawback is the slow paced resource mining. If loading times are a problem, just install BOTH discs on your hard drive. It will not eliminate the waiting, but it will sure reduce it. Also, with all the variety of the main character's classes, you'll be playing this game more than twice. This game totally stands up to Bioware's excellent reputation. Every XBOX gamer should have this game in their collection. Expand
  72. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    I really enjoyed this RPG game. I have replayed it a few times and took different "paths" by choosing different characters and options. The planet mining was kind of boring, but it wasn't too bad... LOL The story line was usually decent. The characters were OK, a few personality oddities kind of took away from the game, but it was still a great game to play. I think it is the best game I have played from E.A. I hope they keep this kind of work up. Expand
  73. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    Mass Effect 2 has better graphics, music, characters, story, and gameplay than it's predecessor, and it's predecessor was already a great game. Do not miss this experience.
  74. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    I have to say, that I was a little disappointed with this game, purely because of how often it was compared to the first of the series and how often it was supposed to be better. But, I mean... Mass Effect is my favorite game of all time. With Mass Effect 2 they looked at almost everything wrong with Mass Effect and fixed it. Game play is more polished and streamlined, no more pop in textures, layout is far prettier. So this is truly a fantastic game. But notice how I said "almost everything". The story itself can really get repetitive, you spend most of your time picking up crew members and dealing with each of there problems. That is literally 80% of the game. Now... plenty of their problems are fun to play, and almost always finding your crew members is fun. But, its repetitive, and sometimes they are really just boring and end up feeling more like a shooter. I had more fun with the first of the series, but this is a pretty great sequel. Expand
  75. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    Don't get me wrong this game is amazing in almost every way. It's just that it doesn't really feel like a RPG Sandbox game, because exploration is very limited. Maybe in ME3 they'll fix it.
  76. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    The first Mass Effect game was a truly spectacular game with an amazing world, lovable characters, and game changing mechanics like the spectacular conversation wheel, but suffered from frame-rate issues and glitches, and serious combat issues, and a pain in the butt inventory, and Bioware has improved those flaws but has also created some more, the combat system has been completely redone, the controls are as smooth as butter, aiming is better do to a better reticle, and the cover system finally works, also the frame-rate issues are also completely gone, and there are some very hard to notice glitches, but they don't detract from the experience, and the inventory has been completely removed for more helpful load out systems, and the story is awesome once again and really sets the pace for Mass Effect 3, and also along side the conversation wheel Bioware has included another game changer in the form of allowing you to import you character from the first Mass Effect, which means all your choices carry over, and there are tons of references to your previous adventure, and makes this a more personal experience do to dialog with characters, and they also added another cool feature where during sequences with the pull of a trigger you can instantly make a Paragon or Renegade choice, which make a sweet and touching moment, or a evil and hilarious moment, and the new loyalty missions make connecting with your teammates more enjoyable, and Bioware FINALLY!!!! included free-roam in one of there games which is something I was hoping they would start doing in there games since the first Mass Effect, but this game isn't without it's flaws, while most of the new characters are fantastic and live up to the expectations set by the first game, some feel incomplete and dull, like Miranda and Jacob for instance, Jacob seems to lack any emotion or personality outside of one line of dialog, and it feels like they just left out most of Miranda's character, she just seems incomplete, so the most enjoyable characters are the ones that return from the first game, and they took more of a story based approach which left out a lot of player choice, which means you never really get the feeling your making a huge impact on the world other than just saving it, I mean there are one or two moments where you have to make a big choice near the end of the game but then it just seems to late, but you still do have the choices during character interactions so it's not all bad I just expected more epic choices like those that made the first game so awesome and set it and Bioware apart from the pack, I just expected more from Bioware judging from there other titles, and you will run into some random load times while exploring, but the epic story, enjoyable characters, beautiful world, better combat, free roam, the ability to import characters from the first game, and just the signature Bioware charm, insures that this is an experience you'll never forget. Expand
  77. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    The game manages to improve the faults of its predecessor by adding game play mechanics and introducing the ability to import saved files form the first game. PROS: Firefights are vastly improved. Character and story progression is good. In game choices make an impact in story development. Different classes in game offer unique ways to play and manage to feel different. CONS: Minimal RPG aspects. Game feels more like a shooter than an RPG. Expand
  78. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Great game that does a lot to fix the troublesome interface issues of the original Mass Effect. Incredible writing, wonderful voice acting from Jennifer Hale. Some of the add-on missions are truly moving (while others are just terrible) while the main game is is outstanding. Weapon choices do feel a little pointless and planet mining, while soothing, can get pretty dull. Thank heavens they got rid of the elevator loading screens. Expand
  79. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review will be very difficult because I want to give this game a 10 out of 10 so badly! It is honestly one of, if not the best game I have ever bought. Initially I bought the original ME because I heard about the importing characters, and that concept was so cool that it just dragged me in. The concept itself was done almost flawlessly. I am now more connected to this character than any other because my decisions over games will shape the way the final battle is fought. The only issue is for newcomers for the 360, you are not given a choice, you have all of the renegade options chosen for you from the start so it is hard to jump into the second game as a paragon. As for gameplay, I didn't mind that they dumbed it down. The first one had more depth, but that depth caused it to become a cluttered mess. Now, what bioware excells at is story and the idea of a power trying to destroy the universe is not the most creative, but they add twists like what happens to the species before that make you sit back and say "Woah!" The other characters around you are done amazingly. Everything that makes them who they are is explained through dialog giving them depth aside from being "green assassin" or "blue biotic". Not only the new characters but the fact that some characters return makes you as much attached to them as some real life people. You become cautious at the idea that these people that have fought beside you for so long could die, and you become sensitive to their way of thinking so you do not upset them and so you can gain their loyalty. I have played no other game that I feel as strongly about, and I can only hope the 3rd is another improvment but let's me keep the all stars of my crew.

    Mining still sucks, so....
    Expand
  80. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Needs more RPG cowbell. You can't have too much RPG cowbell. Yeah it's pretty, but it's not really an RPG anymore, more like a Third Person Shooter Lite. Still, a good game, but I miss the RPG cowbell.
  81. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    I read other peoples reviews, some people are so in love with this game that they give it a 10, some people hate it with as much passion and give it a 0. its a good game but it doesnt deliver on that promise that its a RPG. Its a shooter with RPG elements and that are barely noticeable. thats the games biggest flaw and the reason why so many people hate dragon age 2 ( WORST ENDING EVER ). They have dumbed down the RPG aspects to appeal to the casual gamer but that doesn't make it a **** game. It comes close to being perfect but it isn't. Expand
  82. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    One if not the best game of the year for 2010 a great story even though you can see where it is going, great characters, combat is excellent, missions vary, the only downside to this game is mining for minerals can eat credits and your time
  83. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Having defeated the invading Reapers Commander Shepard learns that an even greater threat has emerged. In the far reaches of space something has started abducting entire human colonies and Shepard has little choice but to work with the questionable Cerberus organisation to stop the most terrifying threat mankind has ever faced.

    Despite its flaws the first Mass Effect took the action
    role player to a new level and this sequel improves upon it in nearly every way. In order to succeed the player must convince the best from around the galaxy to join their cause. The stories of these characters and your interactions with them are the driving force behind the majority of the game and this is all helped along by the improved conversation wheel that makes talking to your crew fluid and engaging.

    The third person combat is also largely improved and now plays very much like a simplified version of Gears of War, the art of using cover now vitally important. Of course the character traits, such as cloaking and levitation powers are still present. Those that played the original will also be pleased to know that the slow loading times and long elevator rides have been almost completely removed.

    The only criticism of this sequel would be the addition of resource gathering. This involves a dull planet scanning mini-game to collect minerals that can be used upgrade or build new armour and weapons and seems completely unnecessary. This is however a minor blip in a game that sets a new standard of what can be achieved in the role playing genre.
    Expand
  84. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Mass effect 2 is an outstanding game, the storyline is fantistic and characters interesting. Also it follows on well from the original mass effect game. If you like your sci fi with rpg and action elements in your games then this is an absolute must. In my view one of the best games to be released on the x box 360 console. Wasnt mad about the upgrade and levelling system, if this had have been better this game may have got that illusive 10 out of 10. All in all fantastic game and a must play for rpg fans. Brilliant. Expand
  85. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    This is definitely the best game in the Mass Effect series, and one of the best of the generation. The story is incredibly entertaining, and in my books ranks up there with the best sic-fi stories ever told. This includes the likes of Star Wars and Star Trek. Perhaps most important and significant is the excellent character development. Considering the fact that you have a large team, it is truly impressive that the player was able to feel for and understand each and every one of the team. There is a lot to do, with the side missions actually being incredibly well done. Some side missions, like the "mining" were very tedious and receptive. The devs understood this and tried to make it optional, but in truth it was necessary to get the best possible ending. This leads to the excellent way that choices are made. The ability to import decisions from the first Mass Effect into this was really cool. In addition, there were definitely some hard decisions to make (not many). However, you definitely felt that there were different approaches to each situation. The gameplay was fun, but not the best in the genre. I was never bored by it, but it was not something that will be remembered. The game, however, should be played, and is a blast to play. It keeps your interest the entire time, and is well worth playing. Expand
  86. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    The surprising event to occur at the start of ME2 got me very intrigued on my first play through and as the story unfolded I became hooked in anticipation. ME2 is not a good game because it improves on the short comings of Mass Effect 1, its good because it has an interesting story and setting that has depth and things are at stake to care about, well designed characters aesthetically and with personality, the decision making is not only ambitious but is pulled off very well, brilliantly and originally designed environments, creatures, costume and armour, and technically performs well with game play that feels satisfyingly good. The characters are good and memorable, I actually felt dread when some of them die, if you dont fall in love with Garrus, Tali, Legion, and Thane by the end of ME2 you have problems, I even grew attached to the space ship. I also want to make a big shout out to the legendary soundtrack, everyone must download the track Suicide Mission from Itunes now, its freaken awesome. The lack of depth in the RPG at first seems like a good thing as the shooting mechanics are good but after playing the game for over 60 hours it starts to show is thin side. I also dont think the decisions a player can make are executed perfectly, who in their right mine didnt save the alien counsel in ME1? Who didnt save Wrex? But overall ME2 is a remarkable achievement and a new benchmark for modern single player games! Expand
  87. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is almost in every way, better than the first. They got rid of all the annoying stuff and instead focused on what was good about Mass Effect. And the result was amazing. The team members are just as captivating as in the first and now you can even get their loyalty by helping them. The game also has more main missions than the first and the side quests are better, each with their own special layout, compared to the first, who only had three or four different "dungeon" layouts. They also got rid of the annoying inventory system and replaced with a simpler system, that may actually be a bit too simple for an RPG. And if I had to criticize something, it would be that they focused too much on the shooter part and too little on the RPG part. But the best part? You can continue with your character from the first game and watch the consequences of your actions, although not as much as I had hoped for. Expand
  88. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    The mechanics of the game changed slightly, as the way to acquire weapons and armor was much different than simply killing other things and scrounging through their belongings or corpses. Although this lessened the RPG aspect, i feel it did not hurt the game. Most negative reviews are because of this simple change, i recommend not listening to them or you may pass up a very good game. The fact you can import your character from the first game and effect Mass Effect 2 from past decisions is an amazing feature in itself. Action is slightly faster which makes for more intense action. Has great cut-scenes and memorable dialogue. The game is overall everything someone would expect it to be, except now it is a slightly lighter, but still great, RPG game. Do not be scared of the change as i was at first, embrace it and enjoy a great game as i eventually did. Expand
  89. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Currently my favorite game on any console. The story is awesome, the level of detail is flawless. The only reason I do not give this game a 10 is that they took so much out after the first game.
  90. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    I really wanted to give this game a perfect score but this game is not without its problems. First of all lets talk about the positives firstly this game offers you tons of choices throughout the game what your character looks like what you can say, which class you wanna play as and your choices and interactions with your squad will also have a long term effect in the final mission of the game. ME2 also really improves upon the combat from the first game as the combat is no longer hurt by by A.I, aiming and hit detection issues the combat seems much more cliche and well polished compared to the first I also like the weapon and armor upgrade system better than the first game. ME 1 had alot of useless weapons and armor in it where the only difference between them was how many shots they can do before overheating and the amount damage they inflict and absorb having that and the weapon and armor upgrades is basically the same thing. 1's ammo and armor upgrades were just not that useful as you could only install one at a time on a weapon or armor and it did not improve your weapon or armor one bit that being said I am still disappointed because of the lack of variety in armor customization they allow you do to in this game and the fact that you cannot customize the armor of your squad mates is also a let down. The inventory has been completely removed which to me is not that big of an issue because there are not that many weapons in this game and the first one had way to many and when you reached the inventory's 150 item limit in the first game the game shoved it your face to convert stuff to omni-gel by the end of ME 1 I had like 950 omni gel seriously that is beyond ridiculous so I am glad they got rid of that but they could have fixed the inventory system but this game doesn't have that much equipment so in my opinion it did not need it. Also characters in ME2 have a more detailed background and character development unlike ME 1. ME 2 also improves upon the graphics the first game there are far less framerate issues, the character models look more detailed and the animations look much better . And just like the first game ME2 has a stellar soundtrack and amazing and top notch voice acting. However as great of a game ME2 is it is not without its problems firstly they toned down the rpg elements from the first game and made the game more of a shooter than an rpg to appeal to more of the audience however toning down does not mean completely removing some negative reviewers here are simply overreacting they did remove some abilities completely but some of them were just removed from the skill tree and put on the research terminal so basically the things people are complaining about not being in the game are actually in the game just not in the skill tree but in the research terminal people should pay attention to things like that and even though they removed some rpg features completely some of them were just totally useless in ME1. The exp system has also been simplified you gain a level after completing a mission or two which one of my bigger issues with this game ME1's EXP system was much better where you get points for doing just about anything that was not perfect but still better than the EXP system in this game. ME 2 has a better A.I than ME 1 however the the partner A.I still has the tendency to get in your way while shooting and partners and enemies freezing at higher difficulties (Hardcore and Insanity) however in the case of enemies freezing at highher difficulties that is not a bad thing at all it allows you to get a few cheap shots at them. The game's story is still really good if you connect its events to ME1 and go into the background of your enemies and the squad members and the story is also presented as more darker and personal that being said comparing this to ME 1's story ME2's story pales in comparison however its story still serves its purpose and carry forwards the story to the third game. The loading times on the 360 can be a little annoying at times I prefer the elevator rides from Mass Effect over these long and boring loading screens And last problem I have with this game is the probing can get boring and tedious at times and can ruin the enjoyment people can get from this game but I still prefer this over the Mako and its abysmal controls and lack of physics in ME 1. However to enjoy this game 100% you must play ME1 first as even the smallest of choices of ME1 have an effect on the interactions and side quests you do in this game. ME2 is an amazing game which improves upon its prequel in alot of ways while becoming more casual friendly but still retaining most of its original fans if it wasn't for a few flaws in ME2 hurting its overall experience this game would have easily been a 10/10 perfect game. Lets hope Mass Effect 3 gets the honor. 9.5/10. Expand
  91. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Gameplay is maybe the worse aspect of Mass Effect 2, and sometimes it feels like a weird Gears of War, but this game goes deeper than most of games I've played. The RPG elements are simple and intelligent. Choices system is something different that you don't see in every game, but in Mass Effect 2 it is complex and amazing. Oh, the main missions last about 15 hours, but you won't want to do only them, because the secondary missions feel like primary ones, and how you get into them (by exploring planets in a weird eletronic galaxy map) is awesome. Mass Effect 2 is not perfect, but the way it is different from many games out there makes I recommend this to nearly everyone. Expand
  92. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    I loved Mass Effect 1, and I hoped Mass Effect 2 would bring the same amount of fun and even more. I was not disappointed. Mass Effect 1 did have more RPG features to it. However, with what Mass Effect 2 was lacking in the RPG department, made up for it by doing an extreme overhaul in every single aspect of the game. Graphics are phenomenal and the game runs very smoothly, not extremely chopper like ME1. Mass Effect 2's combat is improved as well. The only thing bad about both games is that I wish there was more dialogue with characters. I do however like the loyalty missions that ME2 put in - makes the characters more relatable - it makes you feel like you're helping an actual person and you become attached to these characters; something I thought wasn't going to happen due to me being disappointed that most of the ME1 crew wasn't going to be squad members. Overall, this game is better than ME1; a major improvement in the series and I hope they incorporate more RPG elements in Mass Effect 3. Expand
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game improved on the original in every possible, with the possible exception of a lack of equipment selection. The characters are all deeper and better written (except for the dlc guy), the story was solid. The game also had excellent graphics, and removed the clunky MAKO sections that I personally thought brought down the first game. The only other criticism is the mining system is tedious. I also liked what they did with the smoother shooter elements. Expand
  94. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    Way better than ME1 and kicks ME3 Single campaign ass... the way you interact with your teammates, the plot, everything. then ME3 comes along and **** up the trilogy (plot wise)
  95. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    A worthy sequel to Mass Effect, Mass Effect 2 follows on to the original with solid gameplay, solid plot, a significant number of improvements...and a few changes not for the best. Decisions made in the previous game do carry weight in ME2, although new players not importing a ME1 character can make these decisions during game startup, and so won't miss anything. The combat system has been completely revamped and provides better control and more tactical flexibility to players -- welcome additions. The storytelling is still top-notch, with numerous side quests and elements that truly flesh out the world while engaging the player at every turn. ME2 does not suffer from the early-game pacing problems that plagued its predecessor, so there aren't any slow places in the game. Dialogue and morality choices still are cornerstones of gameplay, meaning that those gamers after a more cinematic space opera can still get what they like...to a point. Unlike ME1, ME2 is definitely more combat oriented, sometimes at the expense of story. Where ME1 relied upon character interaction and story to drive the plot, ME2 turns more to combat. Given the progression of the plot, this is defensible, but the game's martial turn is a departure from the original. ME2 allows players to control their ship again, and mining is a component, but it has now become vital to player survivability. ME2 introduced an upgrade/research system that allows players to unlock upgrades to their equipment. To unlock these upgrades, research, fueled by one of four different elements, must be conducted. These elements must be found in small quantities in the playable world or mined via a tedious scan-and-probe system. With an update provided in late 2011, however, mining has been significantly sped up and made less tedious, largely eliminating this complaint. The only remaining gripe is that the real-world, utilitarian look of ME1 has been somewhat jettisoned in the service of sex appeal and eye candy; the practical combat uniforms of ME1 have, in places, given way to go-go boots and plunging necklines. Even so, the game's solid playability (and replayability), story engine, combat mechanics, and stunning visuals combine to create an excellent gaming experience. A menu of DLC packs have added excellent missions and cohorts to an already high-caliber game. Well worth the purchase. Expand
  96. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    A very entertaining game, I was very impressed with the effort put into it. The weapons are all equally desirable and I actually thought about each decision I made in campaign. The reason I didn't give this game a perfect score was because there were several instances where I felt lost and confused even with the map. There wwas also the occasional freeze or glitch. I really am happy with this game even though I got it for free from gamestop. a very good sequel; can wait for the next one! Expand
  97. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Greatly improved sequel and I like it a lot more then the previous game. The only bad thing about it is that its a lot shorter then the first game, Even with all the main and side missions combined. Besides that, Its amazing.
  98. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Better than the first but not as good as the third. I like how it makes full use of it's M rating, it's much darker in tone than the first. The opening scene is epic and sad at the same time. But from the first firefight, I noticed that the enemies are much stronger than you are, and its annoying how on the easiest difficulty, enemies can still kill you in a matter of seconds, a broblem I never had with the other 2 games, even the earliest enemies kill you easily. There are still alot of glitches, not as many as the first had, but still enough to be a big annoyance. The story is excellent, again. I really disliked the loyalty system though, if a squad member isn't loyal, they will die in the final mission, and you will one squad member's loyalty eventually and it's hard to get it back. Other than that, this one is much funner than its predeccesor but not as good as its sequal. Expand
  99. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    To sum up this game in one word I would have to say Amazing This game is a breath of fresh air after me having played so many crappy games lately I completed this game ages ago and only just recently played through all 3 of the mass effect games again but this is by far my favorite one The universe created by bio ware is so rich and so engaging I believe its on par with Star Wars and Star Trek and in my opinion I find it to be better then both of them The story has you reeled in from the start and I couldn't put this game down once I had started it The RPG elements in it are great and really allow for you to play how you want Be a good or bad guy if you want and the different classes with different powers like Adept and Soldier provide you with being able to play multiple times without ever having it be identical The graphics are also very nice and while aren't the best ever they are very good and do the game justice in that department It's also worth mentioning while the game doesn't have multiplayer the campaign I believe more then makes up for it The soundtrack is superb in this game and hearing every song where you do feels right while it not being as good as the mass effect 1 soundtrack that didn't stop me. The game play is also great in this and has been hugely upgraded from the first the AI is smart and uses cover without just rushing past your squad mates and going directly for you I really thing this game is in the top 5 Xbox 360 games ever. If you are a sci-fi fan this game and the series is a must have My only complaint about Mass Effect 2 isn't even on the game It's just that there is a ton of DLC that seems to cost alot if all bought together But hey that isn't much of a complaint compared to the amount of fun you will have playing this series. Expand
  100. May 10, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 2 has a good story, fun combat and I really enjoyed playing the game. I was sad to see a lack of any vehicle combat but it doesn't take too much away. The combat system is a definite improvement over the first game and the overall polish seemed a little better.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. 100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]