Mass Effect 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3229 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrodieH.
    Jan 28, 2010
    7
    It's not a bad game, but in the first two hours of playing, there's 1:45 of cutscenes. Combat is pretty subpar. Only redeeming factors for this game would be the graphics and the story. Rent it.
  2. WarnieP
    Feb 11, 2010
    7
    Dave J is spot on with his comments. When I picked this title up, I expected a solid RPG with shooter elements. After all, this is Bioware, a company who built their gaming foundation on so-called western RPGs; this is the company that gave us Baldur's Gate, the original Mass Effect, Knights of the Old Republic and Dragon Age Origins. Sadly, Mass Effect 2 shares very little in common Dave J is spot on with his comments. When I picked this title up, I expected a solid RPG with shooter elements. After all, this is Bioware, a company who built their gaming foundation on so-called western RPGs; this is the company that gave us Baldur's Gate, the original Mass Effect, Knights of the Old Republic and Dragon Age Origins. Sadly, Mass Effect 2 shares very little in common with any of those titles and, at the end of the day, however, Mass Effect 2 is a glorified third person shooter with poor excuses for RPG elements. . The game itself is extremely linear with the game holding your hand to each and every mission. You'll "level up" just by following the linear path and by the time you get to the final mission you'll have, at least, 3 of 5 skills maxed out, with just as many skills maxed out for each of your crew. No thought required, no pros and cons of choosing your points. . The story elements are also linear and contrived and have little to no effect on the result of the game. There are some choices which do have an effect at the end, but they are very few. Paragon and Renegade have been stripped of all meaning as you could be a world class a-hole and your crew will still LOVE you. . I WANTED to play the original Mass Effect several times and I played it for a good two months after release. I played Mass Effect 2 twice, just to keep my two ME1 characters in step and haven't turned it back on one week after playing. I've seen everything there is to see, I have every weapon, every upgrade, both my Shepards are level 30 already and rolling in money and resources. There's no reason to go back and do anything in the game, especially since exploration, hacking/bypassing and loot have been completely gutted from the game and replaced with shells of their former selves. . I'm extremely disappointed in the path Bioware took. If I wanted to play a cover-based or squad command shooter, I'd pop in Rainbow Six or Gears of War. I can only hope ME3 takes the strengths of ME1 and the strengths of ME2 and fuses them together to make a much better concluding title. Expand
  3. JasonK
    Feb 19, 2010
    7
    Actually this game was kind of meh IMO. Yeah the combat is a huge improvement, (not half as good as most proper FPS though) and the cinematic conversations are still kind of cool, and yeah the graphics look slightly more sparkly than before (although they do seem to have a touch less style and feel more generic this time around). All in all, it
  4. RPG
    Feb 11, 2010
    7
    While a good game Mass Effect 2 is by no means a great game. The cinematic effects are very good and immersive but cannot hide the downside that many parts of the story are inconsistent or just incompetently designed. Faster in tempo than ME1, its predecessor, and somewhat more blend. Still a fun game.
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    7
    Biggest disappointment of 2010 for me... I enjoyed the original ME even though it could have been a lot better gameplay wise. The story really hooked me and I found the setting, soundtrack and artistic style familiar but very interesting in its own way. ME2 on the other hand I didn't like at all. It feels much more generic and less mature. All the feedback the fans gave on the BiowareBiggest disappointment of 2010 for me... I enjoyed the original ME even though it could have been a lot better gameplay wise. The story really hooked me and I found the setting, soundtrack and artistic style familiar but very interesting in its own way. ME2 on the other hand I didn't like at all. It feels much more generic and less mature. All the feedback the fans gave on the Bioware forums didn't seem to have made any impact on the games development. The only thing they did seem to acknowledge was the unimpressive combat and A.I from the first game. Everything else was either watered down or simply scrapped entirely. Most of the interesting aspects like the RPG elements and the planet exploration just got removed. These things could have been improved vastly over the original, but instead they took the easy option and replaced them with much more casualised ideas. I saw a lot of potential for this IP after playing the first game, now all that has gone to waste with ME2. ME3 is no longer of interest to me. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    The game has a very nice story, not as innovative as ME1, but still a good one. The visuals are better looking and they have made the game more action oriented. Better weapon, better controls, still not a decent 3rd-PS game, compared to GOW games for instance. I don't really enjoy the dialogues and multiple choices. There is a lot of time wasted in this game. Esp. when you are digging forThe game has a very nice story, not as innovative as ME1, but still a good one. The visuals are better looking and they have made the game more action oriented. Better weapon, better controls, still not a decent 3rd-PS game, compared to GOW games for instance. I don't really enjoy the dialogues and multiple choices. There is a lot of time wasted in this game. Esp. when you are digging for resources. Overall, I really enjoyed this game but that's just the story and visuals. Not the gameplay. I beat the game 3 times but I can't find any other reasons to play it again. That is only 30 hrs of gameplay. I don't think I will buy ME3. Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    This game game is great in many aspects (graphics,music score, voice acting, TPS gameplay, dialogs and story), however it has a very fake feeling of you having a choice, the game is trying to make you feel like you have a choice, but overall it still leads in the same direction, there are 3 major endings, which makes for a good replayability of the last mission just to see the differentThis game game is great in many aspects (graphics,music score, voice acting, TPS gameplay, dialogs and story), however it has a very fake feeling of you having a choice, the game is trying to make you feel like you have a choice, but overall it still leads in the same direction, there are 3 major endings, which makes for a good replayability of the last mission just to see the different endings, but that's all. There no sidequests that may interest you like in Bethesda's RPG's , and after you have completed the main story you dont have much to do with the game unless you are an achievement hunter, but still it's one hell of a ride for around 20-24 hours.Oh, and one more thing: it's not an RPG how every one claims it be. It's a TPS (Thirs Person Shooter) with RPG elements. Expand
  8. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    I dont wish for people to take my review seriously but this is what I have to say about it. I never finished Mass Effect 1 but I did finish this. It has a great story behind it and it is very fun to play. The controls are good and so are the graphics. But since I didnt play the first one I never really got onto the story like I should of. I hear Mass Effect is all about story and Im sureI dont wish for people to take my review seriously but this is what I have to say about it. I never finished Mass Effect 1 but I did finish this. It has a great story behind it and it is very fun to play. The controls are good and so are the graphics. But since I didnt play the first one I never really got onto the story like I should of. I hear Mass Effect is all about story and Im sure it is I just havent had the time to play the first one so this is my review. Great game I just didnt fully understand it.

    Pros:
    -Great Controls
    -Good Graphics
    -Strong Story

    Cons:
    -I didnt fully understand the story
    -Navigation is hard
    -Menus can be confusing
    Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Very well written and acted, but not quite the RPG I was expecting. I won't say "dumbed down" but the game has been very clearly streamlined. There's very little decision making, feels almost like a straightforward shooter with how few branches I can choose and to not have loot drop like a regular RPG made me sad.
  10. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a reasonably good game on its own, but serves as a pretty crappy sequel to it's predecessor, the sublime Mass Effect. The game does a lot of things really well, most notably the deep characterizations of all its cast. Where it falls short, however, is in the narrative. The game starts out with a jarring disconnection from ME1, Shepard's death and 2 year resuscitation period. The game then goes on to implausibly establish Cerberus, characterized as a small-time rogue alliance black ops group in Mass Effect, as some sort of covert super organization with financing and intelligence networks the Alliance can only dream of, and as Shepard's benefactor. You're then forced to work for them, ordered to carry out missions agains The Collectors, a threat we're told is related to the Reapers, though how Cerberus formed this suspicion is never made clear. You proceed to spend the entire game going around, hiring volunteers to your cause (who never need convincing), while waiting for Cerberus to tell you what the Collectors are up to and when to go after them again. The story as a whole is very flimsy, and throughout it feels like Shepard is just Cerberus' gofer, which starkly contrasts with ME1, where Shepard uncovers the plot through his own actions and interrogations. The Mass Effect series purports to be story-driven, so when the story isn't good, as is the case here, it's pretty distracting, no matter how good the rest of the game is. I can't talk about ME2 though without talking about how awesome all of the characterizations are. I loved some characters, hated others and came to love some that I initially hated. In every case, the characters are strong, have substance and depth, and are worth talking to. The value of ME2 can be found here, and it's a shame the rest of the game couldn't reach the same level of standard. Expand
  11. May 3, 2014
    7
    Mass Effect 2 isn't the Empires Strikes Back of the trilogy (That movie actually featured a story). What you have here is a sequel with a refined combat system and a plethora of strong characters (some of the best in Video-games). All depth in gameplay has been woefully simplified -- which is fine because the original was teetering on the line of action game and RPG -- but I find that itMass Effect 2 isn't the Empires Strikes Back of the trilogy (That movie actually featured a story). What you have here is a sequel with a refined combat system and a plethora of strong characters (some of the best in Video-games). All depth in gameplay has been woefully simplified -- which is fine because the original was teetering on the line of action game and RPG -- but I find that it hurts the game more than it helps it. Refining is one thing, but completely scrapping content hurts the overall product. Play it for characters and combat alone Expand
  12. Jul 3, 2015
    7
    PC keyboard setup is poorly designed, and the fact that you actually have to fly the ship to your destination, is both laughable and tragic, game's as good as the first one so far. But would be nice when porting a game to remember KISS keep it simple stupid when setting up the functions on a keyboard.
  13. FabioL
    Feb 1, 2010
    6
    It's kinda weird to see such high ratings to ME2. Not a bad game by a long shot, but it was SIGNIFICANTLY dumbed down in the sake of streamlining... The game is a thousand times more linear, the characters are much blander, the missions aren't quite exciting, and so on. As for the new mechanisms, the reloading isn't a great improvement over the overheating one in ME1. Now It's kinda weird to see such high ratings to ME2. Not a bad game by a long shot, but it was SIGNIFICANTLY dumbed down in the sake of streamlining... The game is a thousand times more linear, the characters are much blander, the missions aren't quite exciting, and so on. As for the new mechanisms, the reloading isn't a great improvement over the overheating one in ME1. Now you can't even TOUCH a weapon you're not proficient with. Inventory management, even if a pain, is way better than no inventory AT ALL. Weapon management is no longer relevant, as every member has the same upgraded version (some kind of Cerberus "standard issue" policy, perhaps?). Planet exploring, while buggy, was much more rewarding, interesting and "role-play-y" than the current boring and pointless "flash game" scanning. Bioware should try to reach some level of balance in their simplification attempts, or ME3 will probably be the D&D 4.5 ed, of videogames. Expand
  14. TylerH.
    Jan 27, 2010
    6
    Pretty good but can get boring alot throughout the process of playing, such as 45 min periods without even firing a shot.
  15. BenM.
    Jan 30, 2010
    6
    I felt Mass Effect 1 was a great mixture of RPG and action game. Sure it had issue that could be improved upon but it was a good mix Mass effect 2 starts off with a amazing opening cinematic, sets up players motivation and relationship to other characters, and does everything any AAA game should do. But then comes the problems: - The interface is blocky and the constant flood of pop-ups I felt Mass Effect 1 was a great mixture of RPG and action game. Sure it had issue that could be improved upon but it was a good mix Mass effect 2 starts off with a amazing opening cinematic, sets up players motivation and relationship to other characters, and does everything any AAA game should do. But then comes the problems: - The interface is blocky and the constant flood of pop-ups becomes annoying, Each popup fill about 15% of the screen. - The game doesn't pause if your 360 controller looses power. A break of Microsoft's quality rules. - NPC constantly mount scenery and on have a couple of times found myself pushed into blocked off areas that required a restart. - Most RPG elements have been cut down to appeal to a more casual and the FPS audience. - Exploration of world has been replaced with a rotating globe that moors even the most patient of players to death. - At the end of each level you are presented with a end of level summery. This thrown at you abruptly and completely breaks the flow of the game. They have tried so hard to make it a cinematic masterpiece but this one thing is the most out of feature in the game. - The level summery also provides completely useless information. Why do i need to have my experience abruptly stopped to be told about how much platinum i collected? I know this because i got a big sign in-game when i collected it and also its on my profile. - Level layout. Some of the levels feel far more linnier and made for the purpose of being a level. The environments feel like they don't have a real function apart from to challenge the player. For instance roes of walls across walkways. Don't get me wrong - the game has many fantastic moments and is a work of digital art. But it feels like it was made by share holders and not artists or designers. A must buy - but not a must enjoy. Expand
  16. ms
    Feb 25, 2010
    6
    Whoa. A lot of 10's here. A lot of 0's. I'm not in the love it or hate it camp. I appreciate what they tried to do. I enjoyed it more than the first one, but less than just about every other game I've played in the past year or so. It just feels outdated. The story is linear, the levels are boring, the combat--while much improved from the first--is a quite boring Whoa. A lot of 10's here. A lot of 0's. I'm not in the love it or hate it camp. I appreciate what they tried to do. I enjoyed it more than the first one, but less than just about every other game I've played in the past year or so. It just feels outdated. The story is linear, the levels are boring, the combat--while much improved from the first--is a quite boring compared to almost every other TPS or RPG out there. (You always know when a battle is about to break out, because suddenly the room is filled with perfectly shaped things to take cover behind.) The graphics and cinematics are nice but not groundbreaking. The only thing that distinguished Mass Effect was the branching dialogue trees and story consequences, but many games do that now, and most of them do it better. ME-2 is ambitious, but ends up just a slightly above average game. They need to take more combat tips from MW, RPG tips from FF and graphics tips from Uncharted. I doubt I'll play ME-3. Expand
  17. MartinC
    Feb 4, 2010
    6
    Well... wasn't this game a dissappointment? Others here (of those with the red ratings) have commented on the lack of RPG-elements and boring 3rd person shooter gameplay. I just have one more example of how uninspired the developers must've been: I recently played through the The Ur-Quan Masters. (a port of the classic Star Control 2). An important part of this game is traveling Well... wasn't this game a dissappointment? Others here (of those with the red ratings) have commented on the lack of RPG-elements and boring 3rd person shooter gameplay. I just have one more example of how uninspired the developers must've been: I recently played through the The Ur-Quan Masters. (a port of the classic Star Control 2). An important part of this game is traveling to star systems and collecting resources. "Ah" you say. "That sounds like ME2!". Well, up to a point it is similar. The solar system is laid out in exactly the same way. You see the star, the planets, and their orbits. You move your ships between them to scan them and pick up resources. The thing is, though, that scanning the planets takes a few seconds in SC2, Then you launch a lander and drive around the planet (in 2-D view) shooting nasty aliens, dodging earthquakes, lightning and fire while picking up the resources. This entire process takes about as long as it takes to "loot" a planet in ME2. In ME2 the same process consists of scanning the planet (by holding down the left mouse button while slowly moving your mouse around) and collecting it's resources by clicking the right mouse button... Really. This is something you have to do quite a bit of in the game, and they couldn't come up with a system that was at least half as entertaining as what Accolade managed almost 18 years ago? Mass Effect 2 is a shadow of what it could've been. Expand
  18. ChristopheM.
    Jan 31, 2010
    6
    Having played ME1 recently, I was very disappointed: I expected better and got less (very linear story, few and very linear missions, degraded interface,
  19. VictorR
    Feb 11, 2010
    6
    If Mass Effect 2 is an "RPG", then so is Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10. They both only have 4 or 5 skills you can work on, they both use purchasable gear which modify stats, and in both the gear has no appreciable change on the game as a whole. In fact, I'd go so far as to say Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 is more of an RPG than Mass Effect 2 simply because there's a much more robust loot If Mass Effect 2 is an "RPG", then so is Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10. They both only have 4 or 5 skills you can work on, they both use purchasable gear which modify stats, and in both the gear has no appreciable change on the game as a whole. In fact, I'd go so far as to say Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 is more of an RPG than Mass Effect 2 simply because there's a much more robust loot and skill system than Mass Effect 2's. The only "loot" in ME2 are Armor pieces that don't even matter. Expand
  20. LeonS
    Feb 20, 2010
    6
    ME2 suffer from the same problem from many sequels. The Devs trying to fix what isn't broken. While they have made some superficial improvements from the original game like better graphics and smoother combat., they removed many fun elements from the first game like exploration and many of the RPG aspects of the game. The story also isn't so good as the first one, the whole game ME2 suffer from the same problem from many sequels. The Devs trying to fix what isn't broken. While they have made some superficial improvements from the original game like better graphics and smoother combat., they removed many fun elements from the first game like exploration and many of the RPG aspects of the game. The story also isn't so good as the first one, the whole game is about collecting squadmates, like pokemon, the mainplot is about 4 missions long. The squadmates which were supose to be the focus of this game were very apathetic on the ship, never leaving their places and each one has only about 4 diferent dialogues. Besides, they have only 4 powers, and you can't change their armors. I hope Bioware reevaluate their priorities in ME3, and bring back all the positive qualities from the first game. Expand
  21. JaceN.
    Feb 11, 2010
    6
    An ineresting story...but thats about it! Fewer areas to explore, spasmic over excitable combat akin to "juggling ten plates on poles while fist-fighting a bear", excellent upgrade system from ME1 replaced with "you used some resources you found to make everyones stuff betterer...now go away", disc swapping thanks to outdated "Bink" video cutscenes chewing up easily 12Gigs of disc space, An ineresting story...but thats about it! Fewer areas to explore, spasmic over excitable combat akin to "juggling ten plates on poles while fist-fighting a bear", excellent upgrade system from ME1 replaced with "you used some resources you found to make everyones stuff betterer...now go away", disc swapping thanks to outdated "Bink" video cutscenes chewing up easily 12Gigs of disc space, voice actors phoning it in and almost no stuff to buy in shops. Keep up this trend and ME3 will be thinner than EA's 1991 space RPG "Starflight". Expand
  22. Jan 19, 2011
    6
    Limited range of movement and interaction on levels makes this very frustrating. I do like the dialogue options and gameplay is fun, other than what was previously mentioned. This leaves a lot to be desired and I think it is very overrated.
  23. Jun 8, 2011
    6
    Mass Effect 2 is good and all, the story is good, the characters are interesting, the fighting is okay, and blah de blah; but I never felt immersed in the Mass Effect world. As the RPG I assume it is, it didn't feel like an RPG. It felt like a shooter with dialogue tossed in every now and again. This is not what I usually expect from Bioware. When I think Bioware, I think huge worlds likeMass Effect 2 is good and all, the story is good, the characters are interesting, the fighting is okay, and blah de blah; but I never felt immersed in the Mass Effect world. As the RPG I assume it is, it didn't feel like an RPG. It felt like a shooter with dialogue tossed in every now and again. This is not what I usually expect from Bioware. When I think Bioware, I think huge worlds like Baldur's Gate 2 and a ton of character development and side missions like KOTOR. Neither of those were here in Mass Effect 2. Sure, there were "planets," but you only ever really saw maybe one or two districts of it, probably less. Even if there was a big environment, there wasn't much you could explore. As far as character development goes, it was okay. There was about one side mission for each character, some dialogue that told their past, and that's it. In KOTOR, you got a lot of character development: hours of dialogue, a couple of side missions leading up to one big side mission, the characters interacted and talked to each other, there was always something new to learn about each character. Though, I do think that Mass Effect 2 wasn't going so much for the "huge, awesome world, lots of composition, thinking man's game" sort of style like KOTOR. It was probably going more for a "third person shooter with a good story." Mass Effect 2 is like if Uncharted was an RPG, and in space, sort of...

    Anyway, if you've ever wanted to play the game, you probably already own it. If your still on the verge of getting it, it's cheap nowadays so go right ahead. When you're done with it, trade it in for something else, it's not really worth keeping unless you want to see every possible outcome of the game.
    Expand
  24. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    Under all the glitz and polish, bioware tried to sneak in the fact that they think gamers are stupid. Has no one else noticed that their writers ran out of good ideas ages ago? I can forgive small similarities with other sci fi series but most of the Mass Effect universe is recycled! Babylon 5 had most of these ideas 5-10 years ago. Its atrocious! The lack of depth or consequence is veryUnder all the glitz and polish, bioware tried to sneak in the fact that they think gamers are stupid. Has no one else noticed that their writers ran out of good ideas ages ago? I can forgive small similarities with other sci fi series but most of the Mass Effect universe is recycled! Babylon 5 had most of these ideas 5-10 years ago. Its atrocious! The lack of depth or consequence is very poor. The emphasis on third person shooting lacks imagination. A story that could be written by a 12year old, all this is unforgivable. Expand
  25. Jan 31, 2012
    6
    I think I am the only one that prefered mass effect 1 better. 8 hours in the game and I don't even want to continue anymore. They took away the inventory system and made it mainstream. I hate the new crosshair and ammo system, and i hate that the whole game is basically just finding new squad mates for one final mission. The new normandy looks nice, but I really don't like this game.
  26. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    I just had to dock this game an extra point for disappoint me from what I had expected from ME1. Bioware did improve on many aspects on ME1. They listened to criticism and took out the boring Mako missions... only to replace them with boring satellite shooting missions ( which were a bit more exciting ). The characters back stories were actually more in depth in ME2 and the combat was muchI just had to dock this game an extra point for disappoint me from what I had expected from ME1. Bioware did improve on many aspects on ME1. They listened to criticism and took out the boring Mako missions... only to replace them with boring satellite shooting missions ( which were a bit more exciting ). The characters back stories were actually more in depth in ME2 and the combat was much better. However, ME2 relied too much on combat. now I said Bioware improved on the TPS but it's still a pretty sucky TPS. ME@ got away from what made ME1 great, and that was story. The story was pretty much gather a group of people to do a mission. You don't go forward at all, except for the last mission. It seems as though you don't do anything in the game. The character back story is barely more in depth in ME2 and the only reason for that is because you spend the whole game trying to find your teammates, so its common sense to learn a lot about them. The story and information about the characters just seemed forced. It was a good game on its own but I had to dock it some points for not living up to the hype. Also the dialogue wheel is frustrating albeit funny when you chose something thinking is a joke or not as bad and you Shepard does something like curse off an old lady ( not gonna spoil anything) and you just sit there like wat......... Definitely a game worth buying a may have been a harsh review on my part. Expand
  27. Sep 9, 2013
    6
    How to ruin a cool space adventure series. A game for the masses, this is Gears of War in space. The first Mass Effect game was an epic and fun space adventure. It had a big open world to explore, a large number of side missions, and a highly detailed weapons and armor customization system. In addition the combat itself was highly tactical and strategic All of that is virtually gone withHow to ruin a cool space adventure series. A game for the masses, this is Gears of War in space. The first Mass Effect game was an epic and fun space adventure. It had a big open world to explore, a large number of side missions, and a highly detailed weapons and armor customization system. In addition the combat itself was highly tactical and strategic All of that is virtually gone with ME2. They replaced a fun and adventurous storyline with a boring and soapy 'Seven Samurai' themed one. They heavily reduced the open world environment, dramatically shortened the number of side missions available to you, and practically removed all the gear and weapons customization. The combat has become simplified into a duck-and-cover format where no tactics are required, you just point and shoot. As an offshoot of the Mass Effect series it would have been a good game, but as a direct sequel it is not. It has ruined the whole series for me. It completely severs the flow of the series' overarching storyline. However if you just want a pretty game filled to the brink with drama and where you get to shoot stuff and seduce NPCs I guess you'll really like it. Me, I'm left asking myself where all the fun, excitement and adventure went. I expected Star Trek but got Battlestar Galactica instead. It is science fiction turned boring. Expand
  28. Trey
    Jan 27, 2010
    5
    Good as a game, bad as a product. Includes a new consumer screw-over. "DLC" ships with it. Its not really extra content though, its part of the game they just chose to not put in (nothing new there). Its real purpose is to reduce used game sales and make more people buy it retail. Violation of our rights IMO.
  29. PeterR
    Feb 7, 2010
    5
    Mass Effect 2 is a great game, if you like to talk talk talk... and talk. Which just means selecting from a few predefined statements. I really felt lost sometimes and even worse... bored by the game. Sure: The universe created by Bioware and the graphics are quite nice and unique, but the gameplay can't back it up. The annoying planet-scans for resources and the mediocre combat made Mass Effect 2 is a great game, if you like to talk talk talk... and talk. Which just means selecting from a few predefined statements. I really felt lost sometimes and even worse... bored by the game. Sure: The universe created by Bioware and the graphics are quite nice and unique, but the gameplay can't back it up. The annoying planet-scans for resources and the mediocre combat made the game a hard pill to swallow. Expand
  30. BarryD
    Jan 26, 2010
    5
    I was expecting an RPG. Bioware has taken out almost all of the RPG elements and turned it into a TPS in space. Instead of improving upon the criticisms of the first game they have just outright removed those elements. The shooter aspect of the game is greatly improved from the first but has taken the front role in the game. In many ways I find this is a step backwards in the series with I was expecting an RPG. Bioware has taken out almost all of the RPG elements and turned it into a TPS in space. Instead of improving upon the criticisms of the first game they have just outright removed those elements. The shooter aspect of the game is greatly improved from the first but has taken the front role in the game. In many ways I find this is a step backwards in the series with most of your time spent accumulating alies. Closing note: This game has very little replay value. It is essentially the exact same game each play through. And considering you can beat it in under 20 hours I would suggest it as a rental. Also don't play this if you haven't played the first. Expand
  31. JoeConsumer
    Feb 10, 2010
    5
    What happened to the RPG? Bioware I'm a little more than disappointed in you. KOTOR was one of my favorite Xbox titles. Mass Effect 1 was one of my favorite Xbox 360 titles. What you've done IMO is stripped out the parts of ME1 that made it fun and individualized and turned it into a linear mundane TPS. This is not an RPG/TPS anymore. It's just an average TPS. It's not What happened to the RPG? Bioware I'm a little more than disappointed in you. KOTOR was one of my favorite Xbox titles. Mass Effect 1 was one of my favorite Xbox 360 titles. What you've done IMO is stripped out the parts of ME1 that made it fun and individualized and turned it into a linear mundane TPS. This is not an RPG/TPS anymore. It's just an average TPS. It's not a horrible game. It's just not what I had hoped for being a fan of bioware's previous achievements. I will say that it's long cut scenes without firing a shot, the lack of the RPG elements that made ME1 so enjoyable and the sometimes hinky cover system have turned this into a disappointing sequel. Expand
  32. PeterC
    Feb 11, 2010
    5
    It's one third action, one third dialogue/cutscenes and one third planet scanning. The action is a poor copy of Gears of War, the cutscenes are interminable, and the scanning is like a real life minimum wage job except that you're paying them to do it. The plot is good but if that's what you care about, go watch a movie instead. The gameplay is mediocre at best.
  33. SamiL
    Feb 10, 2010
    5
    ME1 was a great game and now this... everything that was great in the first one is destroyed(okay, maybe plot and story telling is still fine). No more fine tuning characters armour, guns etc. And mission handling... nonono! Game feels so much more arcade than before. Sad sad thing.
  34. MikeM
    Feb 13, 2010
    5
    The game play itself has 2 major problems: -The companions are constantly stupid; they either jump in front of your gun, or run back around the previous corner and don't fight, or stand there and blink while you fight. -The cover system's controls are moronic; the commands for taking cover, and for hurdling your cover and jumping into the crossfire are practically the same. The The game play itself has 2 major problems: -The companions are constantly stupid; they either jump in front of your gun, or run back around the previous corner and don't fight, or stand there and blink while you fight. -The cover system's controls are moronic; the commands for taking cover, and for hurdling your cover and jumping into the crossfire are practically the same. The game's details and production values are good, but this doesn't merit A reviews when the gameplay is C-. If you love ME1, this game is enjoyable enough. There is no way in hell it deserves its score. I've seen other player-reviewers giving this and other games a 0 because the critics and players give 10s to games that deserve a 7. I agree entirely. I'll add a few points: -Bioware's trend is to make well-polished garbage, and somehow get great reviews. -Game reviewing cannot be taken seriously. Either they're crooked or stupid or both. -Player-reviewers must be reviewing games the day they buy them, and biased toward approving of what they've spent their hard earned money on. When a play-through of a modern game is 40-80 hours, you cannot review it even 10 hours in. No one wants to read a movie review of the first 15 minutes. Expand
  35. ScottF
    Feb 19, 2010
    5
    I really don't see why so many people think this is the "game of the year." So many flaws with this game that are easily fixed if Bioware had just spent the time to fix them instead of releasing it ASAP. Glitchy graphics, dumb as hell A.I., sometimes the characters will yell something in battle and it will sound like they're saying it in slow-mo for no reason, i dunno if its I really don't see why so many people think this is the "game of the year." So many flaws with this game that are easily fixed if Bioware had just spent the time to fix them instead of releasing it ASAP. Glitchy graphics, dumb as hell A.I., sometimes the characters will yell something in battle and it will sound like they're saying it in slow-mo for no reason, i dunno if its just me but i think shepard is looking at the ground whenever he's running and sometimes not even looking forward, the character modeling of shepard and some of the other characters is terrible (move like robots, sound like robots), the loading screens are way to long even for a Bioware game... I could probably go on for a long time about all the small things that pissed me off about this game, but i won't. And those were just the SMALL things that should've been fixed at the last minute had they actually wanted to make a GOOD game and not just a sequel that they knew would sell cause it had the title Mass Effect on it. Seriously, this is not the Mass Effect I know and love. I am fine with getting rid of the tedious RPG aspects, but they tried to make it like a TPS. This would've been fine, but AI is terrible, especially on Insanity difficulty. Let me describe a situtation i had yesterday... We run into some Blue Sun's Mercs and my partners take cover (so far so good) but then, they decide "hey, i don't like being safe behind this box where the enemy can't shoot me so i'm gonna jump over it and get shot at and die in 2 seconds." seriously, the AI is that bad. either that will happen or they will stand up while behind cover in an attempt to shoot an enemy, but won't go back down when getting shot at, thus leading to instant death on Insanity difficulty. Once again, small gripes I guess, but this game got pecked to death by the small stuff which kept it from being even a DECENT game IMO. The reason i say that is the plot is what i was really dissapointed in. The game consists of one mission: Destroy the Collectors. And that's fine, but you would think there would be more to it then just that with a Bioware game. Nope. That's it. They somehow thought making the storyline consist of finding all ELEVEN allies so you can go on a "suicide" mission (which it is if playing on Insanity with the dumb AI) was a good idea. That's all there is to the story. Really. I wouldn't lie. The actual "story" you could finish in maybe 10 or so hours. All in all, i'm extremely dissapointed in both this game and in the gaming community for giving such a piece of blatant trash good review just cause it's a sequel to such a great game. Thanks Bioware, you have shaken my faith in video games. Expand
  36. Shad0wCK
    Feb 2, 2010
    5
    Being a massive Mass Effect 1 fan, I was hyped for number 2. Mass Effect 2 IS good and I enjoyed the storyline, however there were many flaws I just couldn't overlook, like the not-so-amazing cover system, linear gameplay and, most annoying of all, the suprisingly average visuals. Like I said, this game is still a good RPG and I would recommend it to any ME1 fan, but it just seemed Being a massive Mass Effect 1 fan, I was hyped for number 2. Mass Effect 2 IS good and I enjoyed the storyline, however there were many flaws I just couldn't overlook, like the not-so-amazing cover system, linear gameplay and, most annoying of all, the suprisingly average visuals. Like I said, this game is still a good RPG and I would recommend it to any ME1 fan, but it just seemed to overhype and under-deliver to me. I would advise renting it. Expand
  37. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    Wait i just found out that it has no online. That doesn't matter but it would be better if it had online. I like Mass effect and the way that it changes the ending is very good but i thought the game would change more than the ending.
  38. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    I can't understand all the praise this game recieved for it's so called "improvements" over the original. Bioware haven't tried to "improve" anything, though I'm not too sure how to improve a perfectly simple inventory in the first place. Oh..wait! That's right! By removing it altogether! So ya' can spend more time blastin' and less time trying to read those big words. Let's just cut theI can't understand all the praise this game recieved for it's so called "improvements" over the original. Bioware haven't tried to "improve" anything, though I'm not too sure how to improve a perfectly simple inventory in the first place. Oh..wait! That's right! By removing it altogether! So ya' can spend more time blastin' and less time trying to read those big words. Let's just cut the crap, apart from it's superficial impovements, this clearly is a step backwards in every way, at least for anybody with any brain cells anyway. Expand
  39. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    I've had very mixed feelings about this game, but ultimately I came to the conclusion that this game is disappointing in so many ways that I can't give it a high score. This game has a lot of positives but the negatives overshadow them unfortunately. The graphics for example: The art style is not bad, the game runs better than the first Mass Effect and the game can look really good atI've had very mixed feelings about this game, but ultimately I came to the conclusion that this game is disappointing in so many ways that I can't give it a high score. This game has a lot of positives but the negatives overshadow them unfortunately. The graphics for example: The art style is not bad, the game runs better than the first Mass Effect and the game can look really good at times. However, the inconsistency hurts the overall experience as the game can look pretty poor and have bad textures. The soundtrack has some good tracks, but overall I think it sounds too much like something you'd hear in a cheesy Hollywood movie. The gameplay, while the combat is better than the one in the original ME and is more epic in scope, is also lacking. The RPG elements in this game are poorly done and are almost non-existent. The game is also fairly linear most of the time and there is too much emphasis on the shooting, which makes it feel like a corridor shooter at times. The story is lackluster, the characters are really good IMO, I liked them a lot despite the fact that most of their loyalty missions were daddy issues. However, the main plot is bland, feels like filler and is almost non-existent. Mass Effect 2's plot can easily be summarized like this: Stop the collectors with a team of badasses. That's it, it doesn't go any deeper than that and that is truly a shame. To sum it up: It's not a bad game at all, I had my fun. But I can't say it's a good one either. It's mediocre and I'm not used to this kind of quality from Bioware. Hopefully Mass Effect 3 will be better. Expand
  40. May 14, 2011
    5
    This game was supremely disappointing, in so many ways. It threw away its RPG roots for a more consumer friendly 3rd person shooter feel. Smooth gameplay, but you can tell this game was made for money, and not made to contribute a real, lasting RPG element to the realm of classical RPG's. This game is basically twenty hours of shoot this, shoot that, with a very predictable storyline and aThis game was supremely disappointing, in so many ways. It threw away its RPG roots for a more consumer friendly 3rd person shooter feel. Smooth gameplay, but you can tell this game was made for money, and not made to contribute a real, lasting RPG element to the realm of classical RPG's. This game is basically twenty hours of shoot this, shoot that, with a very predictable storyline and a few useless side missions that contributed little to nothing to the story. I was a huge fan on the first ME. And Bioware disappointed me greatly in their effort to make more money. They were clearly not supporting the hardcore fans that bought and enjoyed ME 1. The gameplay came out smoother then the first, and the graphics were even better. That is why I am giving it a five. Otherwise it was a very lackluster game. On a side note, the music in this game was hardly noticeable, and was in no way as memorable as the first, or as creative as the first. Basically the only songs I enjoyed were the remakes of the songs in the original Expand
  41. Feb 1, 2012
    5
    The taint of EA is strong in this one. It's still mass effect, but dumbed down for the increasingly large casual fan-base. Removal of the tank and large scale planetary exploration has reduced this game to a dull grind. Reduced inventory, levelup, and exploration features in exchange for slightly more entertaining writing. If you want to continue the fun story grab it, otherwise theThe taint of EA is strong in this one. It's still mass effect, but dumbed down for the increasingly large casual fan-base. Removal of the tank and large scale planetary exploration has reduced this game to a dull grind. Reduced inventory, levelup, and exploration features in exchange for slightly more entertaining writing. If you want to continue the fun story grab it, otherwise the gameplay is nothing impressive here. Rather disappointing sequel. And seriously. It's the second game and we still have only seen male aliens. (Excluding the blue fetish women) Expand
  42. May 30, 2013
    5
    This was a very disappointing game and a step backwards from what made Mass Effect so good. To be fair, it once again had great character development and an intriguing story, but the gameplay was poor at best. It turns into a 3rd person shooter using the cover system more often. Baddies will take cover, fire a few potshots, rinse and repeat the entire game. It gets extremely predictableThis was a very disappointing game and a step backwards from what made Mass Effect so good. To be fair, it once again had great character development and an intriguing story, but the gameplay was poor at best. It turns into a 3rd person shooter using the cover system more often. Baddies will take cover, fire a few potshots, rinse and repeat the entire game. It gets extremely predictable and boring all too quickly. I can't recommend it. Expand
  43. Dec 5, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mass Effect 2 is a good game for what it is but a disappointment if you loved the first game. Here are my main gripes:

    The choices made in the first game have no real consequence because most of the established characters are too busy to save the universe. Instead we get a crew of comic book rejects designed to hook psychologically scarred children and pubescent boys into the franchise.

    Everything was simplified instead of expanded and improved. Yes, the first game had some issues but the concept was good.

    The story means absolutely nothing. In the end you fight a giant terminator after working for a chain smoking James Bond villain. You don't get to fight a real Reaper. You don't get anything more than the same old "organics can't comprehend our existence" stuff.
    Expand
  44. SebastianS
    Feb 4, 2010
    4
    It is one of them good games, but I think Fable is simply som much better! I went on Metacritic and rated Fable a 10, this doesn't deserve nearly as good. Finding the buttons on the controller is really hard, that's really a lot of ease in Fable. Especially in Fable 2. Mass Effect 2 i close, but not good.
  45. OG
    Apr 12, 2010
    4
    Loved the first game, don't know what happen in this one. Feels that they didn't feel good with the game the first time and threw everything away. Is a complete different setting, instead of the council now it has a corporate sponsor. Horrible plots with lots of holes. The last one was sci-fi, this is like gossip girl on space. Arrrgh! I can't believe I wasted 60 bucks in Loved the first game, don't know what happen in this one. Feels that they didn't feel good with the game the first time and threw everything away. Is a complete different setting, instead of the council now it has a corporate sponsor. Horrible plots with lots of holes. The last one was sci-fi, this is like gossip girl on space. Arrrgh! I can't believe I wasted 60 bucks in this. Not buying the next one for sure. And they can buy all the reviews they want. In the end, they know who are the real fans. Why buying an angry space shooter game if there is Gears, Half life, even Modern Warfare. What was this game offering that the others didn't? All that they threw it away. Expand
  46. WesG.
    Feb 15, 2010
    4
    I can not explain why but after only 5 hours of gameplay this game bored me so much. left to take the dust.graphically is ok but this game is nothing more than a usual tps with rpg style decision making.
  47. TStone
    Feb 8, 2010
    4
    I was really expecting to like it allot more but the game just seemed way to open , long and directionless for me. Also i thought the graphics would have been better. I guess they were counting more on the story.
  48. Apr 5, 2011
    4
    The disappointing follow up to a good (not great) game: Mass Effect. ME2 differs from the first ME in almost every regard. Gone are the opportunities to craft your own personalized weaponry (through mods). Gone is the focus on saving the galaxy from the "Reaper" threat. And gone is the weapon heatsink system and the Mako (granted, the mako sections had horrible level design, but it was funThe disappointing follow up to a good (not great) game: Mass Effect. ME2 differs from the first ME in almost every regard. Gone are the opportunities to craft your own personalized weaponry (through mods). Gone is the focus on saving the galaxy from the "Reaper" threat. And gone is the weapon heatsink system and the Mako (granted, the mako sections had horrible level design, but it was fun to drive). Instead, we are given a "recruitment" and monotony simulator, where we (the player) is tasked with recruiting a bunch of mercenaries, psychopaths, and forc- I mean, telepathy users. While the start of the game plays out nicely enough (balance of shooting, dialogue, and character development), it all ends up falling apart in the second Act. It is here that every single one of your squad members forgets that you are on a mission to stop the Collectors and starts whining to you to solve their "crippling" emotional and legal problems. Apparently, none of them want to utilize Kelly's counselling services (too cheery?). The game at this point shifts from "let's save the galaxy" to "Now counselling #267... #267?". Aside from the "Counselling Effect", game is further bogged down by the "scanning" minigame; necessary to obtain resources to upgrade the ship, and to do sidequests. Imagine having to do a 3 minute scan for every planet in a system... that's 10 minutes of nothing right there, per sector. Speaking of sidequests, they tend to have little to no impact on the main quest, or the game in general; they're just diversions with equipment upgrades thrown in to give you a reason to do them. DLC is poor as well (see: firewalker pack... that thing is supposed to replace the Mako?). There is an overabundance of dialogue in this game (an understatement), with many characters having long winded conversations with the NPC, which encourages dialogue skipping. Combat is similar to ME, but with a horribly inefficient "clip system", when compared to the heatsink systems in ME. This frustrates combat (especially against Collectors, who can become possessed and have their defenses regenerate instanteously). Tech powers and Biotics all share the same cooling system now, which is to say that if you use a power with a long cool down time, you will be crippled powerwise and techwise for that power's cooldown duration. Skill management has been severely reduced, from say 12 down to 5, leading to little customization of your character's skill set and a feeling a uniqueness. The A.I. is still pretty dumb; at times, they will use cover. But for the majority of your playthrough, they'll stand there and get shot repeatedly until they keel over and croak. Defenses are laughably weak in this game; in ME, you had the option of turning your suit of armor into a walking shield generator, ensuring you could soak up gunfire while poking out and taking potshots. In ME2, your defenses seem to be able to stand the collective force of four bullets before collapsing, and upgrades tend to do very little to increase their strength. The mechanics for how the end game plays out is ridiculous as well. Your squads ability to survive depends on the quality of your counselling services, upgrades to the ship, and upgrades found in boring side quests, and is not determine by skill, luck or chance. Instead, its determined by a series of conditions. Fail to meet just one of these conditions, and that teammate(s) chances of dying increase greatly, end of story . No epic gun battle, no consideration of the overall defense strength of your squad; just a behind the scenes checklist. Given the choice of the buffoons the Illusive Man wants me to recruit and run of the mill soldiers, i'd take the soldiers. At least they'd be focused on the mission, and wouldn't bug me about their "problems". Expand
  49. Mar 25, 2011
    4
    The first game is one of the best RPG's you will ever play, but the sequel is a massive step backwards with a lot of pointless changes for the worse.

    One pointless change is the firing of weapons. It's now a case of holding down shoot and spraying until you need to reload. Your weapon will never overheat and your accuracy never affected. They've listened to complains about the inventory
    The first game is one of the best RPG's you will ever play, but the sequel is a massive step backwards with a lot of pointless changes for the worse.

    One pointless change is the firing of weapons. It's now a case of holding down shoot and spraying until you need to reload. Your weapon will never overheat and your accuracy never affected.

    They've listened to complains about the inventory in ME1, but instead of fixing it, they've removed it entirely.

    They have turned Mass Effect into a mindless action shooter like Gears of War. Steer clear.
    Expand
  50. Oct 8, 2010
    4
    Too much EA, not enough Bioware. Disappointing, as Mass Effect 1, just needed a few tweaks to make it one of the best titles ever. It had the action/RPG balance. The story had an epic quality, the really distinctive soundtrack.. Dark is fine, in fact it can be great. But the writers of ME2 seem to think that adding edginess can compensate for weak storytelling.

    Granted, combat was a
    Too much EA, not enough Bioware. Disappointing, as Mass Effect 1, just needed a few tweaks to make it one of the best titles ever. It had the action/RPG balance. The story had an epic quality, the really distinctive soundtrack.. Dark is fine, in fact it can be great. But the writers of ME2 seem to think that adding edginess can compensate for weak storytelling.

    Granted, combat was a little clunky was in the first game, but the rest of the game was so tight that it didn't matter. An there were some great elements within that made it a unique experience (like overheating weapons, etc). Combat, in ME2, is certainly smoother. But the whole package comes across like a weak, more-of-the-same FPS underpinned by shallow RPG elements.

    I'm amazed this game's sky high reviews - obviously people love it. I haven't been this disappointed by a sequel since Prince of Persia 2.
    Expand
  51. Apr 14, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. RPG? --- I don't get it... I just don't. How could this game have received a 9.0 user score? It must be because the current generation of gamers is made-up of FPS f-boys who care more about ownz and lolz, than a deep RPG experience. Mass Effect 2 isn't an RPG.. it doesn't even have elements of an RPG. The only thing that had RPG elements in ME2 was the marketing letterhead. ME2 was a third person shooter in space. Period. None of your choices matter or make any difference to the story line, except who is or is not around after the credits roll. Big woop.

    Completely linear gameplay -- huge disapointment throughout the entire experience. Side-missions are nothing more than 10 minute long fire fights, without any purpose. No loot, no weapons or armor to find, no unique artifacts.... just more fps lolz and ownz.

    Mining -- makes me so sick I don't even want to write about it. Bioware took away immersive planet exploration in an awesome all terrain vehicle.... for a glorified game of darts. Congrats developers. You epic failed. All you had to do was add some more alien villages, or interesting ruins to explore. Instead, you Bioware typed select-all, Shift-delete. "We're golden yo!" I've met smarter rocks.

    PS - to the people who complained about ME1's planet exploring vehicle controls -- you're just too dumb. Sorry. The controls worked perfectly, and exploring the mountains of a distant world was great fun. Try learning how to control a vehicle other than a Halo Bullfrog buggy... or whatever it's called.

    Inventory - Shift-Delete.
    Armor, Weapons - Shift-Delete.
    ...a new bioware trend.

    Finally... the final Boss.... WTF kind of special education, highschool drop-out, pregnant at 16, eats paint chips, glue sniffing, embarrassment to humanity, brainchild decided that a giant skeletor in the middle of space was a "awesomz lolz yo, yo" final boss?

    Skeletor...really? In space??? How was this thing supposed to do anything, go anywhere, or simply be a threat to anyhing in the ME2 universe? Was he going to fling asteroids across known space?
    Oh, and the best part was that he was made from a mix of biological DNA.... so he was the giant mutated baby of Rosanne Bar and Shaq?? Bioware is so dumb.

    You get a 4 because the graphics were pretty. That's about it.
    Expand
  52. Feb 28, 2013
    4
    A disgrace to what could have been. I played through the first Mass Effect over two times, for about 80 hours. I couldn't wait to finally play Mass Effect 2 and see how the story would develop. What magnificent new encounters would await me. What did I get instead? Ambush after ambush like a cheap Gears of War clone. Largely stripped of the role playing elements that made ME1 such a greatA disgrace to what could have been. I played through the first Mass Effect over two times, for about 80 hours. I couldn't wait to finally play Mass Effect 2 and see how the story would develop. What magnificent new encounters would await me. What did I get instead? Ambush after ambush like a cheap Gears of War clone. Largely stripped of the role playing elements that made ME1 such a great game, ME2 feels like what a husk from ME1 must feel like a soulless shell of what used to be. Expand
  53. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    i don't like the game it just was boring and the game is so repetitive the game began to become a chore to play it is not worth buying maybe a rent...
  54. osh
    Sep 4, 2011
    4
    I am honestly baffled why review scores are so high for this game. I loved the first game, but the sequel just made me feel like I wasn't in control. I think I liked the first Mass Effect so much just because it had a really well-thought-out universe that allowed for some really exciting action, interesting characters, and a gripping story, all the while forcing me make tough decisions butI am honestly baffled why review scores are so high for this game. I loved the first game, but the sequel just made me feel like I wasn't in control. I think I liked the first Mass Effect so much just because it had a really well-thought-out universe that allowed for some really exciting action, interesting characters, and a gripping story, all the while forcing me make tough decisions but rewarding my wise choices. Mass Effect 2, by contrast, seems to sacrifice the integrity of the universe, characters, and story for more action, excitement, and drama; and though the decisions are still tough, the wise choices are apparently replaced by only irrational, dramatic dialogue options -- and that's not even mentioning the alienating game design changes, namely the introduction of reloading (for which there seems to be no other reason than to fit in with shooters, despite being needlessly annoying), the complete overhaul of the weapon system (which caters to newbies who play shooters and punishes those who played the first game), and the decided lack of standard-definition TV support (making most of the text unreadable to me, leaving me confused and even angry).

    I bought this game expecting a fulfilling sequel experience, but instead I got a game that betrayed my expectations, even to the point of insult. That said, the game has amazing visuals, and I imagine it would be enjoyable to those who played ME1, didn't care about playing a rational character, either don't remember the story in detail or don't care about ret-cons, and want a completely new combat system; or those who didn't play ME1, don't mind the nagging feeling that they're missing part of the story, and like action heroes and shooting things.
    Expand
  55. Mar 10, 2012
    4
    Having just played ME and then ME2 for the first time this past week while I've been sick, I fail to see how ME2 is so much better, other than perhaps combat at times, and for me even that is questionable since I've never been a fan of FTS, much less TPS. Having studied and seriously pursued writing in the past myself, I can instantly see that the storytelling if flawed, right from theHaving just played ME and then ME2 for the first time this past week while I've been sick, I fail to see how ME2 is so much better, other than perhaps combat at times, and for me even that is questionable since I've never been a fan of FTS, much less TPS. Having studied and seriously pursued writing in the past myself, I can instantly see that the storytelling if flawed, right from the start, the developers use a much maligned storytelling device "deus ex machina" to set up an excuse for making Shepard have to assemble a new crew and start over. Instead of having to actually plot in detail, just kill her off and make her disappear for a few years.

    They've thrown away important plot elements from the first story completely, or just plain ignored them except when it's convenient for them to do otherwise. The very start of the story is built upon a shaky foundation and it just unravels more as you play. The most unbelievable portion for me, is that Shepard, given who Cereberus is and what they've done in ME1, would ever agree to work with Cereberus. Not only that, but the fact that Shepard is a full fledged Specter and an Alliance commander is completely ignored. Shepard managed to do all the same stuff in ME1 that she does in ME2, WITHOUT Cereberus. They make it entirely clear in the first game that a Spectre's powers are far reaching and even the Council rarely reins a Spectre's powers in. But for some reason, in spite of this, Shepard is helpless and can't do ANYTHING without Cereberus's help. In fact, you never seriously are given the chance to refuse to work with them. You're boxed into the choice. So much for BioWare's allowing the player choice in their games.

    Oh, but they have an answer for that too, you've been dead for 2 years. Convenient again. Too convenient, and again falling back on that frowned upon "deus ex machina" mechanic, and not well done either at that. After that, every other bit of the storyline is flawed and unbelievable to me, and that one hole in the plot just adds up to more unbelievable holes further into the plot.

    I loved ME1, I loved the rpg elements especially, so one of my other complaints is that the Mass Effect series seems to be having an Identity Crisis. Yes, they are an rpg, no they aren't an rpg, no they're a tps with rpg elements. What the heck is that, rpg elements? Please, make up your mind, are you a tps or a rpg? Not only that, but there is absolutely NO WAY you are not going to alienate fans of the ME1 rpg hybrid when you decide to make ME2 be anything other than an rpg hybrid. Notice they don't even attempt to use that phrase anymore, now they use this vague "rpg elements" phrase. What the heck is that supposed to mean? Hybrid at least tells me it's a mix of the two, elements tells me nothing. The developers, after ME1 seem to have lost all focus, and threw out the baby with the bathwater a bit too much for my tastes. Perhaps they listened to too many complaints, all I know is from what I can see in the games, they failed to stay true to their original vision for the series, and the series has greatly suffered because of it.

    First it was an rpg hybrid, with the first emphasis on rpg, then it became a shooter with rpg elements, with the emphasis on shooter. If that doesn't tell you where they lost focus, nothing else will.
    Expand
  56. May 5, 2012
    4
    A disturbingly over simplified pander-to-the-masses over sexed waste of $60. How this gets called an RPG is a mystery to me. Eliminate the best parts of ME1, collecting weapons, armour, and support tech, extensive character modification, and having a large central point (the citadel) and what your left with is a single play-through bore with little to no reason to play twice. WhileA disturbingly over simplified pander-to-the-masses over sexed waste of $60. How this gets called an RPG is a mystery to me. Eliminate the best parts of ME1, collecting weapons, armour, and support tech, extensive character modification, and having a large central point (the citadel) and what your left with is a single play-through bore with little to no reason to play twice. While still better than alot of other games out there, this is in the realm of Dino-Crisis 2 or virtually every bond game since goldeneye when it comes to being a complete failure as a sequel. I may play the third, but only to see how things play out. Gameplay for this series has dropped to a one, the 4 is for having the ME storyline. Expand
  57. NateB
    Feb 1, 2010
    3
    Felt this game was a major disappointment and letdown. While the sound, atmosphere, and dialogue are high water marks, the combat is beyond clunky (especially after having played GoW 2 and Uncharted 2) and the RPG elements are severely reduced from BioWare's other installments. Unlike in prior games, it makes little difference what class you choose or what characters you choose to Felt this game was a major disappointment and letdown. While the sound, atmosphere, and dialogue are high water marks, the combat is beyond clunky (especially after having played GoW 2 and Uncharted 2) and the RPG elements are severely reduced from BioWare's other installments. Unlike in prior games, it makes little difference what class you choose or what characters you choose to bring along as almost all abilities are identical to one another. Furthermore, what kind of RPG doesn't even have maps for levels, loot drops from fallen enemies or stats for their weapons? Having greatly enjoyed KOTOR, Jade Empire and NWN I really wanted to like this game and tried for hours, but at the end of the day the lack of RPG features and horrible combat were faults too great to power through. Expand
  58. WillG
    Feb 21, 2010
    3
    Bioware are slipping down the slope, no thanks to EA I suspect. Absolutely HORRIFIED at what Bioware have done with Mass Effect. Fans of the first game stay away. They have taken what could have been THE best RPG world/game series and utterly stripped/dumbed it down to appeal to the masses. This is a 3rd person shooter that would appeal to 10 year olds. Its seems the acquisition of Bioware are slipping down the slope, no thanks to EA I suspect. Absolutely HORRIFIED at what Bioware have done with Mass Effect. Fans of the first game stay away. They have taken what could have been THE best RPG world/game series and utterly stripped/dumbed it down to appeal to the masses. This is a 3rd person shooter that would appeal to 10 year olds. Its seems the acquisition of Bioware by EA has taken all of the sophistication from the company. Really cannot express how disappointing Mass Effect 2 is. Has totally ruined what was my favourite game franchise/gaming world. Expand
  59. Jun 1, 2011
    3
    Mass effect 1 was a good game but this one is just terrible, streamlined and boring. Doesn't capture the feel of the first one at all. I don't see any improvements (and I don't care about voice acting and graphics.)
  60. RonW.
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    If I wanted a Gears of War, Choose Your Own Adventure book, I'd go to the library. I wouldn't preorder an action RPG. Everything they've done has completely ruined the whole reason I liked this series. Their waiting until release to make these details public just makes it all that much worse. This might as well have been produced by Activision and IW.
  61. JohnP.
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    I'm sorry but I found the game to be very boring, the story was mediocre at best and I didn't have a fun time playing through this game.
  62. Feb 13, 2012
    2
    Based on only playing (and loving) the first game, this one seemed like a slap in the face. The premise being, that if you love a game, then surely the sequel will be made with you in mind, right? Wrong. These days it's all about catering to the haters, and throwing yourself after the lowest common denominator in pursuit of wider marketshare. This is probably the most disappointed I'veBased on only playing (and loving) the first game, this one seemed like a slap in the face. The premise being, that if you love a game, then surely the sequel will be made with you in mind, right? Wrong. These days it's all about catering to the haters, and throwing yourself after the lowest common denominator in pursuit of wider marketshare. This is probably the most disappointed I've ever been with a game in my life, and from all indications I've seen ME3 is following down the same path. We'll see. Expand
  63. MierdadeJ.
    Jan 26, 2010
    1
    The first game was a complete scam by Bioware and also by analysts from around the world. From the second I was not expecting less and so it proved. Only for rent and yet the game is a waste of time and money.
  64. AnthonyM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    1
    I give a rating of 1 for the simple reason that ME2 will not load any ME1 characters. I completed the game four times (yes, COMPLETE) and looked forward to being able to load them. XBox 360. My ME1 was a "Platinum Hits" edition, which caused problems with the second DLC (the Station addon). Now I have no access to saved games. I give it a 1 ONLY due to the anticipation that it MAY BE a I give a rating of 1 for the simple reason that ME2 will not load any ME1 characters. I completed the game four times (yes, COMPLETE) and looked forward to being able to load them. XBox 360. My ME1 was a "Platinum Hits" edition, which caused problems with the second DLC (the Station addon). Now I have no access to saved games. I give it a 1 ONLY due to the anticipation that it MAY BE a fun game, if I ever get to play it. Starting with a brand new character defeats the anticipation and everything players like me looked forward to. Stayed on hold for 1 hour 47 minutes waiting for support, listening to a "the longest person on hold has been waiting for more than 20 minutes" being said every 2 minutes - finally gave up and hung up. EA support site has bizarre login problems (finally created a new account, which worked the second time). What the hell. BAD LAUNCH for those of us having this issue (and unfortunately for me, probably a minority). Expand
  65. BuddhaChu
    Jan 26, 2010
    1
    Did I buy a game or a movie. The visuals during the cutscenes are nice. but there's WAY too much dialog and whatnot going on. Less cutscenes, more shooting! Also you run slow as hell in this game like you're stuck in molasses. Not playing the first Mass Effect and the trailers never showed that you're in third person the whole game. I HATE THAT! I'm an FPS kinda guy Did I buy a game or a movie. The visuals during the cutscenes are nice. but there's WAY too much dialog and whatnot going on. Less cutscenes, more shooting! Also you run slow as hell in this game like you're stuck in molasses. Not playing the first Mass Effect and the trailers never showed that you're in third person the whole game. I HATE THAT! I'm an FPS kinda guy and hate the Gears of War fighting mechanic and third person view. This game was a waste of $50 and I wish I could get my money back. Expand
  66. Aug 21, 2011
    1
    Oh my God, what have you done Bioware? It took me a while to get used to ME 1 but at the end I was loving it. Now with ME 2 I cant even shoot and hit the target! The ammo is scarce, the characters are horrible, the missions are terrible, the story im not even following due to its heavy nonsense dialogue, the graphics are not that improved if not worse, the combat has taken a million stepsOh my God, what have you done Bioware? It took me a while to get used to ME 1 but at the end I was loving it. Now with ME 2 I cant even shoot and hit the target! The ammo is scarce, the characters are horrible, the missions are terrible, the story im not even following due to its heavy nonsense dialogue, the graphics are not that improved if not worse, the combat has taken a million steps back, the looting has been replaced by find a weapon each mission, the mining thing is shinny at the beginning but soon gets tiring... Where is WREX killing everything in sight, where is Ashley to whom i vowed at ME 1. Garrus makes me cry nowadays, he was RAD before. Saren was enormous as an enemy, now I dont even relate to my mission! Please BIOWARE, make Mass Effect 3 what it should be, or at least let me be able to shoot at 1 enemy without failing! Expand
  67. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    This game is everything Mass Effect wasn't. No exploration, now you slowly scan a planet and hope the game will allow you to land on the thing. Combat difficulty is no longer determined by player skill, but enemies who have infinite ammo, immunity to player attacks and can kill the player in 3 hits regardless of level. The storyline seems contrived; "Your going on a suicide mission".This game is everything Mass Effect wasn't. No exploration, now you slowly scan a planet and hope the game will allow you to land on the thing. Combat difficulty is no longer determined by player skill, but enemies who have infinite ammo, immunity to player attacks and can kill the player in 3 hits regardless of level. The storyline seems contrived; "Your going on a suicide mission". The whole game seems to be about collecting resources and trying to bed down one of your teammates. Virgins will get a kick out of that. FPS fans will enjoy the fact that there are little to no RPG elements that require them to use more than .006% of their brains to play this game. RPG fans will dislike this game's lackluster character development system. Me? I hate this game. Expand
  68. TonyA.
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    I cannot believe the over hype of a game that is COMPLETLEY UNPLAYABLE due too tiny text size. Bioware have said that it is meant for HD TVs, but it does not say that on the box, or in any " perfect score" review I have read. They have also broken the best parts from the original software to sell to you for extra money. Bioware and EA are guilty of disregard for gamers and pure greed in I cannot believe the over hype of a game that is COMPLETLEY UNPLAYABLE due too tiny text size. Bioware have said that it is meant for HD TVs, but it does not say that on the box, or in any " perfect score" review I have read. They have also broken the best parts from the original software to sell to you for extra money. Bioware and EA are guilty of disregard for gamers and pure greed in thier last two games, and I implore you not to buy this game as you will be very angry after 10 minutes. Expand
  69. GameInformer
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    We at Game Informer believe this game blows chunks. Good graphics but they still do not natch up to games like Uncharted 2 or KIllzone 2. The PC version definitely does, but in comparison, the Xbox 360 version is poor. Again, the story really is not that compelling and you will find yourself wondering what is going on if you were lucky enough not to play the first one. GI out.
  70. OneDimension
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    Utter drivel. All the RPG elements that made the first ME stand out from all other Shooters are gone. Its been dumb do..err I mean 'streamlined' to a point where it almost feels totally pointless choosing a class & lvling up. No weapon, armour skills, or class restrictions. You dont even get exp for killing enemies. Pathetic. You could literally just set levelling to auto and Utter drivel. All the RPG elements that made the first ME stand out from all other Shooters are gone. Its been dumb do..err I mean 'streamlined' to a point where it almost feels totally pointless choosing a class & lvling up. No weapon, armour skills, or class restrictions. You dont even get exp for killing enemies. Pathetic. You could literally just set levelling to auto and you wouldnt be missing out on anything. That none of this is being criticised is just beyond belief. I'm sorry but this IS garbage, anyone could of gone and made this. Looks like the once mighty Bioware has finally fallen from grace. Sad. Expand
  71. AliJ
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    Unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to the hype. The game design is average, the gameplay is average, the pressentation, is great, but I think we've seen it all before. Ultimately Mass Effect 2 is more cinematic, but it doesn't bring anything new to the table other than that it's a TPS with some worthless decision making.
  72. GaryM.
    Jan 28, 2010
    0
    Mass effect 1 was pretty much a fantastic game and the perfect balance of Rpg and Tps and a superb cast of characters with a great story. You'd expect further improvement on Mass effect 2 however that is simply not the case and instead the series has simply gone backwards by a landslide. The problem is that pretty much all the RPG elements that made the first game great have simply Mass effect 1 was pretty much a fantastic game and the perfect balance of Rpg and Tps and a superb cast of characters with a great story. You'd expect further improvement on Mass effect 2 however that is simply not the case and instead the series has simply gone backwards by a landslide. The problem is that pretty much all the RPG elements that made the first game great have simply gone thus making this game an all out third person shooter in an obvious attempt to gather the casual gamers attention. Secondly is the Story and Characters which in the first game was simply superb however in this game you simply don't care about the story or the characters and will find yourself trying to skip the long and drawn-out cinematics just to get on with the game. Lastly is the graphics in which yes they do look great however the improvment over the first game is minimal and in some way have actually gotten worse. Overall if your looking for a real blend of Rpg and Tps I reccomend you purchase Mass effect 1 as it is by far the superior game. Obviously with this game greed has gotten the better off Bioware which has lead to the once great series being butchured and stripped off all its best elements which results in a mediocre tps. Expand
  73. polysix
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    Ok it's not a ZERO, that is ridiculous. However, I for one am SICK of seeing every 'massive name game' getting 10/10 from the sheep players and the shilling reviewers. This has happened to almost all the big name games recently (ok.. for years) and I'll keep on giving zero to games that are getting 10s when they are worth '8' at best... on a good day, if you Ok it's not a ZERO, that is ridiculous. However, I for one am SICK of seeing every 'massive name game' getting 10/10 from the sheep players and the shilling reviewers. This has happened to almost all the big name games recently (ok.. for years) and I'll keep on giving zero to games that are getting 10s when they are worth '8' at best... on a good day, if you squint really hard. Now to the game. For all the hype and praise I was badly let down. I almost fell asleep during the first few hours play. The initial opening scene was nicely done, very good (if you want 'interactive movies' rather than games), it seemed to go downhill after that. When you compare this to the quality in for ex Uncharted 2, it shows so much lack of flair, lack of care, lack of finishing touches. The textures throughout the levels were bland, reminding me of 'poor man's FPS' from the past such as Chaser and all that crud from the early 2000s. Seriously the design is poor, lacking originality, lacking artistic direction and relying on the age old 'generic space theme'. Design was boxy, levels (so far) linear and poorly paced. It was like bioware tried to hybrid this game a bit too much and have ended up removing anything that was cool about it (the RPG depth) and making, frankly, a 2nd rate Third person shooter with clunky controls, poor interface and worst of all EXTREMELY BORING GAMEPLAY. If you play Gears of War or Uncharted 2... or even Resident Evil 4 on the GC.. THAT is how you do '3rd person' properly. This game and it's predecessor were obviously made by a team who don't truly understand how to make a tight addictive 'action' game, and instead rely on the so called 'depth' and vision of the story and concept. It doesn't wash with me. I honestly can't recall a time in recent years I've been this BORED while playing such a 'massive' game. I'm trading mine in asap while the price is still good (If I can) if not looks like I really should stop taking any review site seriously. Ask yourself, while playing this, are you genuinely feeling 'fun'? are you feeling that there is more to pull you through the game than some lame (though nicely scripted and pretty looking) cut scene? I certainly did not relish getting back to the so called 'action' (wooh more shooting with an underpowered and clunky set of weapons) I guess most of all I was astonished at the number of cliches this game spews over the player while being heralded as the second coming of gaming nirvana. I lost all connection with the game because of it's clinical delivery, it's 'by the numbers' action gameplay, and it's robotic characters. The female is annoying, often repeating her lines once too often during battle (it's 2010 people, I thought that kind of thing had been fixed in games these days?). Of course lots and lots of people are still going to buy this, just like the brainless sheep (even worse) who made Modern Warfare 2 the 'beacon' of a once proud industry. Nothing I say will damage Bioware's sales, or stop you from buying it if you are hyped up for it. For me however, it all felt like it was trying too hard to be 'something' it wasn't, with no clear, punchy definition of it's own. It's borrowed ideas and innovations from other games and mixed it up into something that lacks soul or reason to play (other than because the reviews said you should). Ahh just another game in a long line of stupidly overhyped AAA titles that are keeping the industry rich through collusion and payola with review sites. Next up? I guess we'll have Bioshock 2 being 'the greatest thing ever' according to the mags/sites... Just like they did with the first game (which was also overhyped and had terrible gameplay, as bad as I thought it's gameplay was it was actually ever so slightly more fun than ME2's gameplay so that's how bad ME2 is!). There are good 'hyped' games out there, Uncharted 2 is one of them, not perfect but it's solid, addictive and feels compelling. It's art direction and animation are worlds beyond the basic '1999 style' generic corridor shooter we see here. I know i'm picky, I can't help it... I can't help noticing things in ME2 like the lazy texturing (check out the ramps up to the outside buildings in the first levels, many have misaligned textures with no 'trimming' just stopping dead at the end of the mesh - even if it means the texture is cut in half)... that kind of thing was frowned upon way back in user created maps for games like unreal etc so why are pro devs getting away with this lazy 'mapping' and getting 10/10 for graphics/art? Ok a sum up of the bad points ( I won't list the good stuff as there's thousands of 10/10 reviews doing that if you care). .Linear to the point of boredom (Just 'working your way though cos you bought it not cos you are having a blast') .Generic level design .Bad texturing (sky/clouds even feature stretched and flat 'clouds' again say hello to 1999!) .Tiny/Bad UI - blocky and unintuitive .Abrupt level ending. No finesse, just 'map after map' with some cut scenes tacked on. Again check Uncharted2 for one example of how to do this right with 'flair' .Boring and unsympathetic characters. The complete opposite of the great work done in games like Half Life 2 (and again even U2). .Shine on everything, they like them shaders at bioware and they are using them on everything - some may think that makes for 'great graphics' but it doesn't. It looks stupid, it's still a boxy empty lifeless environment that is no pleasure to be in .Clinical to the point of feeling like numb .Ill defined gameplay - is it one thing or the other? neither, it's a mess in terms of gameplay. .Story? Hmm, probably it's strongest side but again it's nothing special, been done to death, they just changed the name of the 'baddies' ... yawn .Overhyped. When a game is overhyped such as this, it better be damned near perfect. Even with flaws it's ok but this is so lacklustre in so many areas it's a crime against videogaming to be calling this 'the best game of the year' so early. I for one hope we'll get more games on all formats this year that are at least 10x better than this. btw: IMO and YMMV. Thanks. Expand
  74. Al
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    Lack of depth, lack of personality, lack of really everthing that makes a core RPG. Mass Effects 2 is what I call a straight up 3rd person shooter. It was a epic fail for me.
  75. JessicaR.
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    Sadly the game is rather uninspired in design and the characters don't have the depth, personality, or intrigue, that Saren, Sovereign, and Wrex has in the first game. Besides the obvious high production values the game doesn't do anything new. It takes away exploration, makes you probe random planets, and gives you a story that is more predictable. What happened to the amazing Sadly the game is rather uninspired in design and the characters don't have the depth, personality, or intrigue, that Saren, Sovereign, and Wrex has in the first game. Besides the obvious high production values the game doesn't do anything new. It takes away exploration, makes you probe random planets, and gives you a story that is more predictable. What happened to the amazing story and characters from Mass Effect? I could even forget the most annoying voice actor ever, Shepard, but this game seems to be reeking it with the high scores because it's higher budgeted. The side quests are better, but the characters don't make you want to continue making choice, the choices have more depth actually. The gameplay is solid, but damn the Third Person Shooter genre has become a chore this gen. And the level design is average, along with the AI. Expand
  76. HaroldL
    Jan 28, 2010
    0
    The graphics are poor at best and the online is constantly laggy. Overall I was let down by the badly written story and generic characters. This game tries to copy Battleship Earth and does it badly.
  77. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    Turned an honest but flawed attempt at a RPG/shooter hybrid into nothing but a dumbed down shooter with RPG residue.

    Story sucks, characters are disconnected from anything but their own issues, and are expendable. The gameplay is repetative cover/shoot CONSTANTLY.

    A massive disappointment all around, taking a great first attempt and turning into mediocre mass appeal trash.
  78. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    Ever hear the expression, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"? Well, with Mass Effects 2, Bioware really fixed it. For starters, the main plot is nowhere near as well-written or cleverly developed across the gameplay experience as it was in ME1. The voice-acting is good, and the dialogue is good, but he main story arc is far too sparsely delivered, and the final boss fight is pure and utterEver hear the expression, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"? Well, with Mass Effects 2, Bioware really fixed it. For starters, the main plot is nowhere near as well-written or cleverly developed across the gameplay experience as it was in ME1. The voice-acting is good, and the dialogue is good, but he main story arc is far too sparsely delivered, and the final boss fight is pure and utter lameness. To add insult to injury, Bioware completely butchered the talent/power system, giving the tougher enemies special defenses that can only be taken down with a few key powers. This means that you are constantly using the same few powers over, and over, and OVER, and it is nothing like the wonderfully diverse and enjoyable talent/power system from ME1. This fact alone makes giving this game a good rating utterly impossible. In addition, Bioware decided to HEAVILY restrict the character customization options in ME2, for what reason I have no idea. They completely eliminated your ability to customize your teammates' armor/appearance, making it feel like they're barely your characters at all. They restrict the main character's armor choices to an insane degree, completely gutting ME1's L/M/H armor types and leaving the player with just a few bulky armors to choose from (and that's only if you buy all the DLC's), all of which look ridiculous. They oversimplified the skill/stat system to the point of stupidity, making leveling-up seem almost completely irrelevant. They removed entirely the ability to explore remote worlds with the vehicle, and instead replaced it with a horrendously boring mini-game with which to "mine" worlds for necessary resources. Lastly, because of all the restrictions Bioware decided to impose on the player in ME2, this game has ZERO replay value. Once you've done it, you never want to do it again. Basically, Mass Effect 2 is like Mass Effect 1, only with a LOT less stuff. Being a die-hard Bioware fan, this game was one of my biggest video game disappointments of all-time. Expand
  79. Mar 7, 2011
    0
    You can stick a "W" in front of it but that doesn't make it an RPG. Mass Effect 2 is basically a glorified shooter that rips off elements from Japanese Visual Novels and Dating Sims, which these developers then mock. Mass Effect 2 also consists of some of the worst voice acting in any game ever and his really hard to take seriously due to bad voice actor choices. If this was a JRPGYou can stick a "W" in front of it but that doesn't make it an RPG. Mass Effect 2 is basically a glorified shooter that rips off elements from Japanese Visual Novels and Dating Sims, which these developers then mock. Mass Effect 2 also consists of some of the worst voice acting in any game ever and his really hard to take seriously due to bad voice actor choices. If this was a JRPG reviewers would be up in arms that, for example, when you leave your ship on a mission you can only take a few people with you, or point out how the plot basically just combines several different sci fi movie plots and is one big cliche. Apparently since it's a western game it's beyond these criticisms. This game is nothing special. Expand
  80. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Guess you finally got that big Ad deal with EA Metacritic? That's why you removed 90% of the nagative reviews even though they didn't violate any rule? No but seriously, f you and f your sh*tty site. Pirate the game and see for yourself if it's any good before you buy it. Don't listen to payed reviewers and the 1% of the people who played it that actually liked it and therefore was givenGuess you finally got that big Ad deal with EA Metacritic? That's why you removed 90% of the nagative reviews even though they didn't violate any rule? No but seriously, f you and f your sh*tty site. Pirate the game and see for yourself if it's any good before you buy it. Don't listen to payed reviewers and the 1% of the people who played it that actually liked it and therefore was given permission to voice their opinion here.

    There is only about 5minutes before this message is deleted by the EA death squads. But I hope I can save a few souls.
    Expand
  81. Apr 25, 2011
    0
    Loved the first game, don't know what happen in this one. Feels that they didn't feel good with the game the first time and threw everything away. Is a complete different setting, instead of the council now it has a corporate sponsor. Horrible plots with lots of holes. The last one was sci-fi, this is like gossip girl on space. Arrrgh! I can't believe I wasted 60 bucks in this. Not buyingLoved the first game, don't know what happen in this one. Feels that they didn't feel good with the game the first time and threw everything away. Is a complete different setting, instead of the council now it has a corporate sponsor. Horrible plots with lots of holes. The last one was sci-fi, this is like gossip girl on space. Arrrgh! I can't believe I wasted 60 bucks in this. Not buying the next one for sure. And they can buy all the reviews they want. In the end, they know who are the real fans. Why buying an angry space shooter game if there is Gears, Half life, even Modern Warfare. What was this game offering that the others didn't? All that they threw it away. Expand
  82. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    Not *really* a zero game, but the 9.0 is WAY off... I would give it a 7 legitimately. overall, the fact that I beat ME1 some 6 times, spending anywhere from a week to over a month on each playthrough, to beating ME2 in a single weekend, having done *EVERYTHING* to be done in the game, and never looking back spoke volumes to me. It really ruined the entire series in my eyes. And i cannotNot *really* a zero game, but the 9.0 is WAY off... I would give it a 7 legitimately. overall, the fact that I beat ME1 some 6 times, spending anywhere from a week to over a month on each playthrough, to beating ME2 in a single weekend, having done *EVERYTHING* to be done in the game, and never looking back spoke volumes to me. It really ruined the entire series in my eyes. And i cannot begin to comprehend how it got such a high user score here, thus I'm submitting a zero to counter it. I was a huge fan of ME1, but ME2 was all graphics and no game. 1. they ruined the controls, taking it from a tactical action rpg to just an action game. 2. They added shared timers on the characters abilities, seriously hindering how the game is played. 3. Got rid of all RPG elements, giving you only linear upgrades to single choice weapons and armor. 4. They made the dialogs horrid, compared to ME1 - choices went from captian awesome --> **** in ME1 to cry baby --> immature jackass in ME2. 5. The levels were completely linear, with zero feeling of "exploration" captured in ME1, plus the levels were way too small, taking mere minutes to clear each level. and i could go on about the problems but i think you get the point. Expand
  83. Aug 28, 2014
    0
    This generation of little brats has brought to you a ruined master piece of what ME1 was. They only know shooting, mindless simplified on rails game play, skip to the next fast travel location and the use of less brains, this is what they want in gaming and it is exactly what they got, you know why? Because money talks, and as long as these people keep forking their money up you will onlyThis generation of little brats has brought to you a ruined master piece of what ME1 was. They only know shooting, mindless simplified on rails game play, skip to the next fast travel location and the use of less brains, this is what they want in gaming and it is exactly what they got, you know why? Because money talks, and as long as these people keep forking their money up you will only get more dumb down simplified dribble like this game. It's not about the developer, it's society that demands this crap, until you fix this consumerism Americanised shallow way of life, you'll get games and anything related to entertainment like this. Simple, watered down, leave nothing to the imagination, hold your hand in the direction you're forced to go. Nothing you do in this game matters, there is a total disconnect, i had no feelings towards any of the characters because of the poor shallow written dialogs.

    I did all character side quests, and stopped playing a few missions before the end because i had enough of how bad the story was and didn't want to waste my time / didn't even care about how this game ends. I rather never find out to be honest.
    Expand
  84. Jan 17, 2015
    0
    Awful; nothing like Mass Effect 1. This is where Bioware killed the Mass effect franchise. Awful upgrading, awful weapons, awful writing, awful story, ok characters, no exploration, awful game.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    95
    Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. games(TM)
    100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    100
    Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]