Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When a sinister conspiracy targets Commander Shepard, you and your team must uncover the truth, through battles and intrigue that range from the glamour of the Citadel's Wards to the top-secret Council Archives. Uncover the truth and fight alongside your squad - as well as the cast from the original Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, including Urdnot Wrex! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    95
    It gives ME vets everything they wanted in the game's ending, namely a return on beloved characters and some effect on what their choices thus far hath wrought.
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    91
    It's a real shame that Mass Effect's legacy feels doomed to be That Ending, when this DLC far more appropriately sums up why the series meant so much to so many. Citadel doesn't change the destination, but it does offer a fantastic second chance to celebrate the journey and remember why it was worth taking.
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    Seriously, the only way this could be any better were if it ended on a freeze-frame of Shepard punching the air, accompanied by Simple Minds’ ‘Don’t You Forget About Me’.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    88
    It isn't the most serious affair, but if shooting the breeze in the bowels of the Normandy provided you with some of your fondest Mass Effect moments, you'll absolutely love this one last chance to bond with your crew.
  5. 85
    It’s these sneaky moments of sweetness across Citadel’s five-hour journey that make it a pricey but wholly affecting excuse to linger just a little longer under Mass Effect’s spell.
  6. 80
    Citadel feels fresh compared to the tired 'haunted house' missions of recent DLC packs, and deserves to be filed alongside Kasumi's Stolen Memory and Lair of the Shadow Broker as one of the best expansions to the Mass Effect universe, as well as a fitting full stop for the trilogy.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    70
    Citadel caps off the Mass Effect trilogy with an outrageous storyline that plays exclusively to the series' diehard fandom.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 8 out of 53
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is, by far, the best DLC for ME3, and the second best of the franchise (first is shadow broker). This does so many things right. No spoilers, but the DLC can be conveniently divided into four distinct areas:

    1) There is a side story arc that will take ~2-5 hours to complete. The story is interesting (especially since it doesn't involve Reapers, Cerberus, or Collectors (I won't say more in order to avoid spoilers). This doesn't just feel like a filler story, but is rather thought out. Characters from previous games are brought back, and many background stories (such as the First Contact War) are given more context. 2) The second component of the DLC is similar to the Hearthfire expansion of Skyrim (although not as involved by any means). This allows Shepard to obtain and customize an apartment on the Citadel. Kind of a fun experience, and it allows for Admiral Anderson's background story to be more deeply investigated.
    3) The third component of the DLC revolves around the fact that it opens an entirely new district in the Citadel for exploration. There are many things to do, but the most notable are the Casino, Video Arcade, and Combat Simulator. The casino has a variety of games to play to gamble some of your in game credits. The video arcade has a handful of simple games to play. The combat simulator is one of the best additions in the DLC. It resembles the Pinnacle Station DLC in this regard from the first game, but is much more customizable it draws heavily from the multiplayer of the game. This mode allows you to play with squad members from ME1 and ME2 which is awesome.
    4) While not a separate component, this DLC lets you interact with characters from other games throughout fighting along side them and interacting with them. Characters such as Miranda, Jack, and Thane, will allow for additional romance options (if you romanced them in ME2). Final thoughts this DLC is amazing. The small story doesn't feel wasted. The extra district in the Citadel is fun to explore (especially the combat simulator). The apartment design is probably the least appealing part of this, and that is simply because it is so simplistic. The interactions with your crew- both past and current are very well done. Overall, the DLC is excellent. The writing is also very good and inserts a LOT of humor (which is a welcome relief to the sometimes tense mood of the game). I would highly recommend it and even though it is the most expensive DLC, it is by far worth the $15 asking price.
    Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This must have been made post MF3 ending because this is a gigantic step up, its what people truly loved about the series; it's characters. No reapers, no Cerberus, no foolish gun game play; just well written dialogue. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So Shepard crew are ordered to Citadel for shore leave. Once there you get an appartment (wont say from who). After which your thrust in to a plot in an attempt on Shepards life. Eventually the whole crew is involved. It turns out Shepard has an evil clone. So the story was pretty good. I found it in some ways reminisant of old Star Trek's good Kirk bad Kirk. The gun play was for the most part adiquite. The humor was so poking fun at everyone especially Shepard. It did not however detract from the story though. After all is said and done you can throw a party as well as mod your new house which you can revisit at any time. There are other things to do on this portion of Citadel. Casino, arcade, combat simulator and some mini missions. All of which I found to be a nice distraction of the glumness of the main story. No glitches or bugs that I saw on my playthrough. It also felt like a fond farewell episode of a well loved tv show. Very nice but kinda sad. I would very much recomend this. Its also reasonably priced for the size which is almost 4 gigs. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    As I have played all of the Mass Effect and loved them, I had high hopes for this, and I was not disappointed. I had a big grin on my face throughout this (apart from the beginning, where I was an adept and every enemy had shields, and I had no way of killing shields) The references are great, and this is well worth the price of admission. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    If you fell in love with these characters like I did, since way back in ME1... then you need to get this DLC. The combat is ok... but just ok. It's the story and getting one last chance to roll with Garrus, Wrex and the gang.

    Oh, and it's funny! Actual, real laughs and not just by videogame standards.
    Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    While I didn't hate the ending to Mass Effect 3 as much as everyone else I will say this is a more fitting conclusion to the trilogy (and best activated as far into the game as possible). It's also very meta-heavy and the humor completely off-sets the tone of Mass Effect 3's core story and will obviously not be to everyone's taste. Citadel's split into two parts: a main three-part mission (which can take 1-2 hours to complete) then an epilogue which can feature all the surviving Normandy crew from the first two Mass Effect games. Just spending time with these characters again made the $15 price worth it for me and the only down-side is I don't really want to go back to the game proper after completing Citadel. Collapse
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    this game is good but i don't get the point where to go the game give me too little information for me to continue playing and there should be more shooting Expand

See all 53 User Reviews