User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 81
  2. Negative: 21 out of 81

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If I had nothing else good to say about this DLC, the fact that it's free should earn this DLC a score somewhere in the green. But even more than that, the Extended Cut addresses major issues with the original ending. The whole question of what Joker was doing running away, better explanations of each choice, the option to fight, and better closure on the effects Shepherd had on the galaxy. As someone who was critical of the original ending, it's not exactly what I wanted, but it's an improvement and I appreciate the effort. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    say what you want... too little, too late, didn't add/change/explain X. but they did go back, flush it out. they did add another choice, and better explain your options. they did give depth and meaning to it all and finally give Shepard the send off he/she deserved. I would have gone with a different ending myself, but i didn't write the game. it was nothing i wanted and everything i needed, so I'm happy. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    I was kinda supprised when announcement came earlier this week for this. I played through whith my original choice and was happy to see a more in depth explaination of all the events leading to Shepards choice. All my questions have been answered and Shepard got the respect he deserved in the end and your actions throughout the game are properly portrayed. Thankyou Bioware for sticking to your guns and your word. 9 out of 10 for being free, in a reasonable amount and time and giving my Shepard a true ending. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    The Mass Effect 3: Extended Cut gave me all the answers and closure I was looking for. There was no "right" ending. They each had their ups and their downs, their moral grey areas, and people are arguing over which one they liked better. And that's fantastic. The fact that everyone can't really reach a clear consensus proves that Bioware really did an excellent job, and fixed up their stuff.
  5. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    I thank bioware for releasing the extended cut, they could have said no, instead they chose to listen to their fans and gave us this wonderful DLC which gives the closure the series needed, adding new scenes and dialogue, all shaped by the fans feedback, even adding a new secret ending, many fans will say it's not what they wanted, but if bioware did an ending to satisfy everyone we'd have 1000 different endings, the mass effect series is a great series, and now with this DLC it seals the amazing story of shepard, givin the series all the closure it needed. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Bioware always seemed to have their fingers on the pulse of the fans, they knew what made us tick, how to make us laugh, love and cry.. They knew how to make us fight for the lives of our loved ones, our squadmates, our friends, hell, everyone in the galaxy with a passion. The original ending was therefore a major shock, because it exhibited none of that wisdom. It was cold, confusing and almost entirely lacked the heart that the rest of the saga had. This Extended Cut has restored the balance, and restored my faith in Bioware. Bravo. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Exactly what I wanted from the DLC. Fills in many of the plot holes and makes sense of the endings. Adds a new ending where the cycle continues. The best thing is that is shows how the civilizations continue and rebuild depending on the final choice.
  8. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    IGNORE THE HATERS/FANBOYS - READ SOME PROFESSIONAL CRITIC REVIEWS. Anyway, Great DLC ! Explains the endings and makes much more sense. Great job of filling in the plot holes.
  9. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    This was a good thing to do - and it adds to the ending in a positive way. There is far more closure now, and a more hopeful outlook for the galaxy, as well as for Shep & Co. Bio did not have to do this - and nor did they have to release it for free. Does it render the endings perfect? No. But assuming the endings were the worst things ever in videogaming history (which they weren't imo but you'd be forgiven for thinking they were given many of the reviews of the game here on metacritic) the EC makes them much, much better. Assuming the endings were kind of average but nothing special, which was the case, the EC takes them to .. well, decidedly above average :p Hence, an 8. Collapse
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    The most important aspect of the Extended Cut DLC is that BioWare didn't have to make it, nor did they have to make it for free. They could have crossed their arms and refused to change anything, but they instead acknowledged some of their fans' complaints and ultimately made the ending better.