Mass Effect Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1670 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect is all about good story, great revelations, long worthwhile lenght gameplay, 25/30 hours... It posses a great artistic direction, awesome dialogues, great action! Some place are repetitive to visit like a paste and copy work, the graphics may have too much pop-in with weak anysotropic... But the rest makes this game of my favourite games of all time! Mass Effect is my favouriteMass Effect is all about good story, great revelations, long worthwhile lenght gameplay, 25/30 hours... It posses a great artistic direction, awesome dialogues, great action! Some place are repetitive to visit like a paste and copy work, the graphics may have too much pop-in with weak anysotropic... But the rest makes this game of my favourite games of all time! Mass Effect is my favourite game in this console generation... Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect is one of the greatest games Ive ever played. The story is wonderful, the game is a unique experience every time due to the ability to make your own decisions. No complaints in the combat department, and I have very few in the graphics department. My only real gripe is that I found the final boss battles pretty lame, but that turned out okay cause the ending was so great.Mass Effect is one of the greatest games Ive ever played. The story is wonderful, the game is a unique experience every time due to the ability to make your own decisions. No complaints in the combat department, and I have very few in the graphics department. My only real gripe is that I found the final boss battles pretty lame, but that turned out okay cause the ending was so great. High nine out of 10, Bioware **** rules. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect is an amazing game, albeit deeply flawed. The gameplay is mediocre at best and horribly boring at worst, especially those Mako sections. That being said, the reason the game is still incredible in spite of its problems is that it has a marvelous story with some incredible decision-making sequences along the way. It has moments that are guaranteed to send a chill down yourMass Effect is an amazing game, albeit deeply flawed. The gameplay is mediocre at best and horribly boring at worst, especially those Mako sections. That being said, the reason the game is still incredible in spite of its problems is that it has a marvelous story with some incredible decision-making sequences along the way. It has moments that are guaranteed to send a chill down your spine. On top of that, it introduces the player to some amazing characters that you will enjoy talking to more than 90% of the people you know in real life. It isn't a perfect game, but it does deliver a perfect experience. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This game can only be described in two words, purely amazing, I mean from all the information the designers of this game put into it to all the different planets you can discover, its just pure fun and really it signifies what Humanity is about, exploration and Curiosity. The only flaw is if you don't save periodically you can find yourself having to restart the whole mission, whichThis game can only be described in two words, purely amazing, I mean from all the information the designers of this game put into it to all the different planets you can discover, its just pure fun and really it signifies what Humanity is about, exploration and Curiosity. The only flaw is if you don't save periodically you can find yourself having to restart the whole mission, which believe me, is very frustrating, but other than that, its flawless Expand
  5. May 4, 2011
    7
    Great game, excellent cut scenes, good story, excellent graphics, recommended for any rpg fan. I am not an rpg fan but this was good enough to get the next one, looking forward to play ME2
  6. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite some superfluous RPG elements,this is one of the finest games made.With a brilliant story,characters and setting,become Commander Shepard(Male or Female) and explore the galaxy in the search for a way to stop the Reapers,sentient alien spacecraft who destroy all organic life in an endless cycle repeated every 50,000 years.Visit alien worlds,recruit bounty hunters,assassins,scientists and soldiers to uncover the secrets of the past and future.Get to know your ship and crew intimately,and fight the extinction! Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game that started the ''The next Star Wars franchise of this new generation'' clearly showed, why it would become the next most iconic sci-fi piece of work since over the last decades. Pointing out a few negatives, the Geth Hoppers were extremely silly and annoying at most times due to the fact you couldn't have a proper clear shot and that gets you into shouting ''Stand still, you stupid robot frog!''. Another negative I would point out is the annoying 'Ally' achievements that take a lot of time and additional money to spend to get them. Of course, the main reason why I would give this game a 10 is because of the weaponry and ammo varieties you got from it that made this game enjoyable, the complex and emotional story line certainly delivers appeal. The best part, emotionally, was the pressure you had on saving Wrex and then either having Kaidan or Ashley to die as heroes on Virmire. The planetary exploration especially was very, very intriguing, and super fun, which added to the mystery of every accessible planet each time you found an Anomaly on your radar with the Mako, loved the ''Bring Down The Sky'' DLC, especially the high-key, intense ambient soundtrack while outside the impending asteroid! Mass Effect's abstract animation and film grain added to the fun factor of this game! Mass Effect 1 is the progeny of a new revolutionary sci-fi era! Although a few extremely weird glitches popping up time by time, it wasn't enough to make me downgrade the score to 9, this and it's successor ME2 are a work of sci fi art! Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2011
    8
    An entertaining sci-fi adventure with a great story, interesting characters and a cool morality system. Bioware has crafted a beautiful and believable universe filled with history and conflict. Exploring worlds with the Mako is fun even if the vehicle's handling is poor. Combat is a little clunky and the slow loading of the graphics detract from the game.
  9. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Bioware have created a game set in a wonderful universe with exciting places to discover populated with unforgettable characters, with a very decent combat and leveling up systems and a fantastic storyline.
  10. Apr 26, 2011
    8
    Mass Effect is one of the best adventures i've had the pleasure of playing through in recent years. The story is set in a science-fiction environment which takes the best from all your favorite sci-fi and action film culture and melds it into an epic tale combining RPG with Third Person Shooter. Character development is excellent, as you add to your crew and build up relationships forMass Effect is one of the best adventures i've had the pleasure of playing through in recent years. The story is set in a science-fiction environment which takes the best from all your favorite sci-fi and action film culture and melds it into an epic tale combining RPG with Third Person Shooter. Character development is excellent, as you add to your crew and build up relationships for better or worse with your team mates. The player is eventually let loose to explore as much of the known galaxy as they desire which offers hours of exciting ventures, but for those who wish to stick to the main storyline it is one of the best crafted stories i have played through in a long time, with plenty of moments that make you shiver in excitement. The combat is pretty varied with a nice variety of classes and abilities for each you can use to slay enemies with. I would say the game is slightly tarnished by its clunky inventory system and occasional boring periods in the Mako tank (issues addressed in the sequel) but even today this game is still an essential play. Expand
  11. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Played and beaten Mass Effect 2 with a very excited mood, but when play again Mass Effect to get the original storyline and characters, it is still very impressive. Let´s forget the combat, which is a little awful, look at the storyline, an epic one, it will keep you hours just investigating and to understand more and more. Oh, one last thing: forget all of the assignments,Played and beaten Mass Effect 2 with a very excited mood, but when play again Mass Effect to get the original storyline and characters, it is still very impressive. Let´s forget the combat, which is a little awful, look at the storyline, an epic one, it will keep you hours just investigating and to understand more and more. Oh, one last thing: forget all of the assignments, they will bother you pretty much, and dilute you from enjoying the game. Expand
  12. May 6, 2011
    9
    Mass effect is a fantastic game which really stretches what the rpg gender of games can do. The fact that it is set in space really made it for me since i am a bit of a sci fi freak. The gamplay and storyline are exceptionally good as as are the graphics and music. Another plus point is the upgrade and levelling up system. The only slight concerns i had about the game was the comat systemMass effect is a fantastic game which really stretches what the rpg gender of games can do. The fact that it is set in space really made it for me since i am a bit of a sci fi freak. The gamplay and storyline are exceptionally good as as are the graphics and music. Another plus point is the upgrade and levelling up system. The only slight concerns i had about the game was the comat system could have been better. Also by the time you reach level 30 the levelling up becomes a bit pointless because all the important skills you need you already have. All in all a very good game and one i would highly recommend. Expand
  13. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG's of all time. Certainly of this gen. Almost everything in this game is outstanding. The only things that were annoying was the Mako and the inventory management which doesn't take much from the game at all I think. Outstanding game. One of the best.
  14. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely deserves all of the attention that it got and more, and easy 10/10. And yes, the game is that good. Mass Effect 1 is my 2nd favourite game, the first being the sequel !!
  15. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect is definitely one of the best game of all time. An impressive and original story , great graphics, and you get sucked into the universe of Mass Effect. For some reason, this feels like a realistic version of Star Wars with themes of xenophobia, space colonization, and freedom of thought. A lot of replay value is in this game , because you can make a new character for making badMass Effect is definitely one of the best game of all time. An impressive and original story , great graphics, and you get sucked into the universe of Mass Effect. For some reason, this feels like a realistic version of Star Wars with themes of xenophobia, space colonization, and freedom of thought. A lot of replay value is in this game , because you can make a new character for making bad choices or good choices. You can also import your existing Mass Effect character into Mass Effect 2. There are some issues like dumb squad A.I or enemy A.I , some framerate issues, and the Mako controls . The issues don't detract from the experience. I highly recommend this game. 10/10 Expand
  16. Jan 26, 2012
    7
    Killer gameplay, a unique and enjoyable visual style and a truly inspired story, with even side-quests having enough well written mini-stories to keep you blasting. Were it not for a horrible revelation ten minutes ago, this game would receive a 10, sadly, once you complete the main story (a long affair in itself), the game ends, and all of the side-quests that you said you'd do afterKiller gameplay, a unique and enjoyable visual style and a truly inspired story, with even side-quests having enough well written mini-stories to keep you blasting. Were it not for a horrible revelation ten minutes ago, this game would receive a 10, sadly, once you complete the main story (a long affair in itself), the game ends, and all of the side-quests that you said you'd do after you'd finished the story become impossible to complete because the only way to play again is by starting over again, which is something even the most dedicated fan would be hard-pressed to do. This is especially annoying because it's something that was entirely unnecessary, every other RPG allows you to keep playing once you've completed the main quest, why couldn't Mass Effect? I enjoyed this game and its main story much more than Oblivion (Elder Scrolls), but a flaw this huge is unacceptable Expand
  17. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    Mass Effect is an excellent RPG with amazing characters and story (although it is a bit cliche) but Mass Effect is also a shooter game. And the shooting part, as well as the combat part isn't that amazing. The biotic powers are awesome, but the combat just isn't doing good. Both the friendly and enemy A.I. isn't the most advanced, the enemy A.I. being slightly more advanced, making combatMass Effect is an excellent RPG with amazing characters and story (although it is a bit cliche) but Mass Effect is also a shooter game. And the shooting part, as well as the combat part isn't that amazing. The biotic powers are awesome, but the combat just isn't doing good. Both the friendly and enemy A.I. isn't the most advanced, the enemy A.I. being slightly more advanced, making combat either easy or frustrating. The side quests can and will end up being very boring, mostly because there's only three different dungeon layouts, and the stories are pretty much alike.While I read a lot about the textures being really slow, I haven't really seen much of that problem. Some slight texture problems, yes, but not something you'd notice. But all in all, it is an amazing game with some problems, but still worth playing because of the amazing story it has. Expand
  18. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Impresionante, uno de los mejores juegos que he tenido el placer de disfrutar. La historia es completamente de novela de ciencia ficción, Un RPG excepcional, acompañado por una buena ambientación. Gráficos a la altura de los tiempos, gran calidad, emoción, seducción, acción y una jugabilidad queImpresionante, uno de los mejores juegos que he tenido el placer de disfrutar. La historia es completamente de novela de ciencia ficción, Un RPG excepcional, acompañado por una buena ambientación. Gráficos a la altura de los tiempos, gran calidad, emoción, seducción, acción y una jugabilidad que al principio (hasta que terminas de entender como se usa tu personaje y como complementarlo con tus compañeros que tienes en el equipo) parece aburrida e incluso un poco difícil de entender, pero luego de pasar algunas misiones esto se convierte en un control sencillo e imprescindible para sobrevivir en cada fase.
    Totalmente recomendado para pasar unas cuantas semanas sumergido en una historia sumamente original.
    Recomiendo guardar las partidas en forma manual, ya que el autoguardado te puede dar sorpresas inesperadas, como morir al final de una fase y tener que empezarla casi desde el p¡rincipio !!!
    Conclusión: comprarlo sin dudar, ya que la segunda parte esta en el mercado hace tiempo y ya sale una tercera que promete dejarnos con la boca abierta.

    Un saludo

    Luchinelrey (Luchin Shepard para los amigos) XD
    Expand
  19. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    One of my favourite games ,a tear comes to my eye while describing it.I think this should sum it up!!The game play is awesome with some control issues but other than that and some audio this game is awesome.
  20. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Yes the mako missions were a pain and the autosave was crap, but i still cannot give this game anything but a 10 still. The gameplay, once i got it down, it was so gooooood. Not to mention this campaign is no question the best i have ever played. Amazing story.
  21. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect is great and definitely one of the greatest rpgs game of this generation. After a long time Bioware has finally made a series that can live up to the classic Stars Knights of the Old Republic series. Mass Effect has an amazing story, it is very well written, in depth and has excellent characters and settings. Its amazing Sci-Fi Universe is the quite possibly the best I haveMass Effect is great and definitely one of the greatest rpgs game of this generation. After a long time Bioware has finally made a series that can live up to the classic Stars Knights of the Old Republic series. Mass Effect has an amazing story, it is very well written, in depth and has excellent characters and settings. Its amazing Sci-Fi Universe is the quite possibly the best I have seen in any Sci-Fi game to date. Considering this game came out in 2007 the graphics look great, the environments look great if a bit repetitive at times, the characters models for both humans and aliens look excellent and the animations are still really good despite not being crisp there are a few frame rate issues but all in all the game still looks beautiful. The voice acting is also well done especially for the aliens it seems all the voice actors are into their characters, however the voice acting for some of the humans in the game can be a little cheesy and corny at times, but the voice acting is still excellent and better than most of the games out there. As far as the gameplay is concerned there are both pros and cons. First of all the good thing is that the game allows you to play in one of the six different classes given to you in the beginning of the game each classes have their own special abilities and skills that can be upgraded and also each class uses a different combination of weapons. When you play the game through once on one class than replay it with another class you will feel like you are playing a completely different game thats how deep and varied the game's classes and rpg elements are. The game also gives the player dialogue options which is the first of its kind seen in a game and a player can choose to respond in a way he wants to. The player can also decide to be a goody two shoe, a neutral guy or an evil guy in all these dialogue options. The player gets experience by even doing the smallest of things and once the player has enough points he can level up and spend skills points earned from the level up in the skills tree to improve his abilities and the abilities of the squad mates. Speaking of Squad mates here comes the Cons of the gameplay the Squad mates are just absolutely useless in combat they shoot at walls and boxes instead of shooting directly at the enemy, while you are allowed to tell them when to use their special abilities they don't use them on their own and there are also moments when the squad mates freeze forcing you restart from a previous save or wait for a cutscene to trigger. On top of all that your squad mates die very quickly and are not that competitive. The enemy A.I is good but not great most of them take cover in the wrong way allowing you to kill them easily and sometimes they decide to charge at you when they are taking heavy fire all these moments kind of make the combat annoying and painful at times. the game has alot of guns and mods but the gun do not have that much variety the only difference really is the amount of damage they do and the amount of shots they fire before overheating. The mods are good but they do not make your weapons that much better as you can only install one mod at a time and they still do not work that well against large enemies. The armor and armor mods in the game are good but once again lack variety. All the weapons, armor and mods go in your inventory and the game has a 150 item limit for your inventory once you break the limit the inventory shoves it in your face to convert s**t to omni gel every time you break the item limit all that was really annoying and painful. Than comes the Mako I know people have mixed feelings about it, I for one found it fun to us in combat early on than it got repetitive and the controls that are assigned to it are auite possibly the worst controls I have seen assigned to vehicle in a video game. The game also has hit detection issues sometimes when you shoot enemies in the head they don't get hurt at all sometimes when you shoot in thin air enemies die from head shot and sometimes the Mako's attacks don't hurt the enemies at all, the combat is not totally broken these problems do not happen all the time but they are there and kind of hurt the gameplay and make the combat more annoying than fun. The game's sidequests have a good background and give you choices but they can get repetitive and the infrastructure for the indoor areas of all the sidequests is almost the same and even the outdoor environments on most of planets look the same as well I understand the depth and the size of this game and the amount of effort it took to make it but this is kind of inexcusable or part of Bioware. In conclusion I would like to say that Mass Effect is great game and despite some flaws is one of the best rpgs of this generation and one of Bioware's greatest efforts if you love rpgs and are a fan of Bioware's games than you should definitely get this game you will have a blast. 9/10. Expand
  22. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    The worst points of this game are only some planets feel a little barren and the game begs for a melee button. This game is a excellent 3rd person shooter/ action rpg. It's dirt cheap to pick up now too.
  23. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made, it has a stunningly good original story line that doesn't disappoint. The amount of joy one experiences at the end of the journey is awesome and this is a must buy for everyone interested in a good role play shooter game and a good story. The game also has an amazing soundtrack that completes the story very well.
  24. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I am writing this well after the fact. This game would have gotten a 10 if not for two aspects of the game (both of which are corrected in the sequels. The storytelling/storyline that this game starts is one of the best in modern gaming. The story is so well done that it has you thinking about it long after you have finished playing (much like a good book or TV series). However, ifI am writing this well after the fact. This game would have gotten a 10 if not for two aspects of the game (both of which are corrected in the sequels. The storytelling/storyline that this game starts is one of the best in modern gaming. The story is so well done that it has you thinking about it long after you have finished playing (much like a good book or TV series). However, if you are expecting great graphics, you will be sadly wanting. The graphics are definitely stuck in 2006. The gameplay is awesome with the exception of two aspects: Driving the Mako is maddeningly frustrating and the massive inventory of gun and gun upgrades. The physics of the mako movement work very poorly on the 360---you can tell it was designed with the linear gameplay of a PC in mind. Their are simply too many gun models in the game, 2/3rds of which are so bad you will never equip them. By mid-game you end up using the game guns no matter how many of the other models you get. Its pointless. That being said, the game provided just enough side quests (even with the repetitive environments) to satisfy the happy level grinder in me. Overall I loved this game and couldn't stop playing it. Expand
  25. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    The Bioware team really know how to spin a tale, and this is what they do really well with Mass Effect. You are submerged into this amazing Sci-fi universe with all these different creatures and races, which are very detailed in the 'Codex' part of the menu. You play Commander Shepard, who's is and Human and who's background you can choose for yourself. There are also a variety of classesThe Bioware team really know how to spin a tale, and this is what they do really well with Mass Effect. You are submerged into this amazing Sci-fi universe with all these different creatures and races, which are very detailed in the 'Codex' part of the menu. You play Commander Shepard, who's is and Human and who's background you can choose for yourself. There are also a variety of classes to pick from The only thing which bugs me about Mass Effect is it's clunky controls which can take away the experience if you aren't really interested in story. But Mass Effect really attaches you to all the characters, sometimes you hate them and sometimes you love them! If you are really into RPG's this game is a must have! This is story telling at its best! Expand
  26. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    I couldn't help but jumping back in and playing through the first game again. While the game's mechanics are a little archaic, Mass Effect is filled with imagination, a stellar combat (minus the wonky cover system), fantastic and memorable characters all woven into an amazing story. I seriously can't put it down. Again. This series is the real deal, folks.
  27. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    This game was a total joy to play. The amount of detail that went into crafting the races and the cultures in this game were amazing. It was a ton of fun that I would recommend to anyone who is a fan of gaming in general. The only thing that could have made this game any better was the things that they implemented in the sequel which made game fantastic in its own right.
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A amazing game, although not a full RPG and doesn't have a massive map. (The biggest thing in this game is the citadel). It is still very fun game and Bioware have done a good job with this.
  29. May 19, 2012
    10
    Mass effect is the final piece of the puzzle that game are an art form the story is the best part I could not stop playing it was that good even if you don't like RPGs get it just for the story
  30. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Phrases like "genre defining" and "revolutionary" are thrown around far too cavalierly in gaming, but Mass Effect is one of the few that actually deserves these kudos. Set in an immersive sci-fi universe, Mass Effect combines solid gameplay mechanics with an outstanding story to create a game that is part RPG, part action, and all entertainment. Difficulty can be adjusted to either providePhrases like "genre defining" and "revolutionary" are thrown around far too cavalierly in gaming, but Mass Effect is one of the few that actually deserves these kudos. Set in an immersive sci-fi universe, Mass Effect combines solid gameplay mechanics with an outstanding story to create a game that is part RPG, part action, and all entertainment. Difficulty can be adjusted to either provide a strong combat challenge or provide more story-centric gameplay by easing combat. At its heart, this game is about putting you, the player, into an engrossing science fiction epic, easily on par with a grand space opera like Star Wars. User interface is excellent, particularly the dialog system. Players are not part of a static story that will play out the same every time; the choices made at every point in the game have dramatic effects on the world and plot. The release of the sequel means that the decisions made in this game not only affect this story, but the plot in installments to come. Players have the option to customize weapons and armor with in-game mods, which, combined with a variety of character classes, means that combat can be tailored to one's own style. There is, amid this glowing review, a few points where the game does have rough spots. After the initial mission, the game has a very slow start and requires some patience. Combat mechanics are not perfectly smooth, and there is no intuitive cover system. Finally, controls for the ground vehicle are inaccurate and awkward, which can be a source for some frustration. Even with these issues, however, Mass Effect still stands out as one of the best games ever produced. Now that Mass Effect is in the Platinum Hits collection and has a series of DLC packs that are truly entertaining, any true sci-fi fan with an Xbox should own a copy of this game. Expand
  31. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    Its a good game but the only bad things about it is the occassional bug and glitch, reptitive mission objectives, environments feature pretty much no variety, and a few of the characters arent that interesting. Besides that its good.
  32. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow, where to begin? This game is great, don't listen to the critics that gave this game a low score, they obviously don't have the brainpower to make galaxy saving decisions. Even though it is my least favorite Mass Effect game, its still a great game. The main antagonist(s) are very intimidating an the game really makes you hate them so that when you finally fight them, it feels all the more satisfying to finally take them down. The game really makes you feel for your squadmates and crew members, and if you let them die, you feel bad about it! Not many games can do that, Bioware does a great job with character development. Now the reason it got an 8, the glitches, good God they are everywhere, I would get stuck in almost every level of the game and I would have to turn off my console and restart from where I was last, it was a constant annoyance, the combat was fun and the graphics were average compared to the rest of the series. Very fun game, and a great kickstart to the Mass Effect series. Expand
  33. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Best final hour of any game I ever played. Well written and well made. One of my, if not my favorite game I ever played. A true pleasure to play. Bioware at it's best.
  34. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Relatively short, but fun RPG. I finished this, but I could not finish Mass effect 2.. I loved the shooting mechanics and the crosshair in this game as opposed to mass effect 2's crosshair.
  35. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    This is one of the most immersive games you will ever play. The way you are able to interact with other characters and customize the story and experience are delightful. The combat was a little flawed but this was fixed in the sequel. Great game.
  36. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    It is hard to put into words how good this game is. The total immersion i felt with it was immense. It pulled me into the world, made me feel what my character felt, the choices and twists and turns of the story are unlike any game out there and nothing has really got to me like this game did. Mass Effect is so well balanced, great story, alongside great gameplay and action. Cannot wait toIt is hard to put into words how good this game is. The total immersion i felt with it was immense. It pulled me into the world, made me feel what my character felt, the choices and twists and turns of the story are unlike any game out there and nothing has really got to me like this game did. Mass Effect is so well balanced, great story, alongside great gameplay and action. Cannot wait to get my hands on ME2 and the upcoming ME3. Expand
  37. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has such a good story, that it really is hard to even care about the small faults that some other users have complained about. Imagine an epic tale where you, the character is center to saving an entire galaxy from an almost invulnerable enemy. The interactions with characters is so good, that you'll form opinions about them and root for them, or despise them. Yes its true that there aren't good side quests in this game. I do not think the weapon inventory system is bad at all, I think its very simple and straightforward. The action is pretty good, though it does tend to be on the easy side. The mako is fun and only idiots are unable to use it. My real reason for not giving this a ten is because that the morality meter in comparison to other Bioware games is not fleshed out enough. You don't really ever be evil, you can either be a nice guy or a renegade, which is basically just no compassion. But really you never get the oppourtunity to take power or join Saren or do anything that would be described as evil. That is the one thing that brings this game down. And don't tell me about the whole choice about killing the Council, I don't see that as evil, as you are giving power to HUMANITY, not yourself. Expand
  38. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    I found the game overall enjoyable. It was slow, and absurdly hard at random sometimes but I found the free roaming aspect in a shooter based rpg to be extremely fun. The story is also well written, so if you like your movie games jump on this one. There is also TONS of entertaining lore and a quite convincing environment for the future. They even go so far as to explain the futuristic tech.
  39. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    First let me say I love the people who gave this game zero's or very low scores. I love how they **** about how long and boring the game is. They obviously did no homework or just didn't understand what the game was supposed to be. I'm writing I know years after its release but I feel the need deal with it. Mass effect is an epic game both in story and scope. I for one love then fact itFirst let me say I love the people who gave this game zero's or very low scores. I love how they **** about how long and boring the game is. They obviously did no homework or just didn't understand what the game was supposed to be. I'm writing I know years after its release but I feel the need deal with it. Mass effect is an epic game both in story and scope. I for one love then fact it had no multiplayer online play, that is an aspect of gaming that is focused sadly far to much now a days. I actually am a bit upset that mass effect 3 will require me to play the online play to get an easier true ending. I also loved the length and fact there was more then button bashing, mindless explosions and retard "go to check point B and kill this, then go to check point C and kill this" that crap gets old really fast and is pointless. If you wanted a FPS then go get MW3 or some other mindless shooting game and live on line shooting your friends in the head. The AI was horrible and some of the planet scenes being just vast wastelands is the reason I gave it a 9/10 and not a full 10. The charactors, story, dialogue and movie feel this game has is the reason I'm excited and love to play games in this generation and why I can't wait for the next gen consoles to come out. This game was a good buy 50 and is still a good buy at 20 which is the going rate for a used copy. Expand
  40. May 10, 2012
    8
    the original Mass Effect has a fantastic story and RPG elements and I think is the best in the series at giving a real sense of size to the galaxy with large open areas, large buildings and a lot of exploring. There are some game play issues: it definitely doesn't have the greatest combat and the mako is a little hard to control but personally though the controls don't come natural I hadthe original Mass Effect has a fantastic story and RPG elements and I think is the best in the series at giving a real sense of size to the galaxy with large open areas, large buildings and a lot of exploring. There are some game play issues: it definitely doesn't have the greatest combat and the mako is a little hard to control but personally though the controls don't come natural I had pretty much mastered them by the end. Love this game. Collapse
  41. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    BioWare's grand experiment pays off. Bringing in a brand new IP in the form of a grand, sweeping space opera narrative, Mass Effect excels at atmosphere and world building, with a great retro-future-electro soundtrack complimenting a clean art design that references the futuristic designs of the recent past. Introducing a fully-voiced protagonist, the customisable Commander Shepard, in anBioWare's grand experiment pays off. Bringing in a brand new IP in the form of a grand, sweeping space opera narrative, Mass Effect excels at atmosphere and world building, with a great retro-future-electro soundtrack complimenting a clean art design that references the futuristic designs of the recent past. Introducing a fully-voiced protagonist, the customisable Commander Shepard, in an interactive story that offers choice and consequence, with a cast of memorable aliens and exotic locations. The story is a top notch space chase after the rogue alien Saren, and his mysterious allies from beyond memory, in a style that is a bit like James Bond meets Captain Kirk. Overall the presentation is impressive. Weaker, however, is some of the actual game mechanics. Trying to move on from the somewhat tired formula of behind the scenes dice-rolls for combat, BioWare have put in a (not-quite) real time shooter mechanic, which while effective in gameplay terms, seems limited and unsophisticated in comparison with more dedicated shooter games. Also, the attempt to add vehicle exploration sections does not quite work, with an ungainly Mako APC roving about fairly bland barren moonscapes ending up at one of the same 3 repeated locations. However, the ambition should be applauded, and while Mass Effect does not quite nail it in terms of action gameplay, it more than makes up for it in terms of roleplaying narrative and style, and tantalisingly allows players to migrate their saves into its follow up games, something that has since proved to work rather well (in Mass Effect 2).It is quite a bold idea to produce a grand story arc over a trilogy of games and allowing players to fully customise that experience, and Mass Effect gets the endeavour off to a solid start. Expand
  42. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    An adult, interesting and very entertaining game. I like the customization and the freedom of taking your owndecisions. It is big and beautiful, with many imagination and good ideas. The best saga that has been created in the epoch of Xbox 360.
  43. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    The deepest, richest, most story-driven game I've ever experienced. The characters alone are so powerful they will have you on a journey you will never want to end. If you like the deep rich plot and character exploration of books, the action and suspense of movies and the freedom of Sci-Fi games, you need Mass Effect.
  44. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    was a great game, revolutionary, unique...

    shame that after they destroyed, Thx EA Games you are a big cancer...

    this franchise never had to have left the microsoft, sorry dudes, but is a sad reality.
  45. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I have played many games from now to when I was five years old sneaking on the Nintendo at three in the morning. There was a time I went through a stage of not really getting into stories from many games because many stories just seemed the same. The great thing about Mass Effect was it really grasped me, and I actually felt like I was in the story. It has a few minor things that keep itI have played many games from now to when I was five years old sneaking on the Nintendo at three in the morning. There was a time I went through a stage of not really getting into stories from many games because many stories just seemed the same. The great thing about Mass Effect was it really grasped me, and I actually felt like I was in the story. It has a few minor things that keep it from perfection, but I strongly advise this game if you want to be brought into the world of science fiction from a video game. 10 Expand
  46. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    It gives you a sense, that you're a part of big adventure. And it actually does you a part. Unforgettable experience. Maybe the last great story of our generation. Nothing compares.
  47. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    A amazing game. You can choose what kind of person you can be and many variety of weapons and armor. Also a very well done dialogue. Ultimately what ever you do will effect what will happen in the future. Only thing from this game getting a perfect score is the pointless side quest not ALL side quest are pointless but most are and all of them are pretty much the same.
  48. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect is the best sci-fi game in years. You play as Commander Shepard, an Alliance military commander assigned to the SSV Normandy. After a mission on Eden Prime goes wrong you are left with images of the galaxy's imminent destruction at the hands of a synthetic race known as the Reapers. With time running short you must gather a team, learn more about the Reapers and track downMass Effect is the best sci-fi game in years. You play as Commander Shepard, an Alliance military commander assigned to the SSV Normandy. After a mission on Eden Prime goes wrong you are left with images of the galaxy's imminent destruction at the hands of a synthetic race known as the Reapers. With time running short you must gather a team, learn more about the Reapers and track down every possible lead to stop the Reapers 50,000 year cycle and save the galaxy.
    Mass Effect combines third person shooting with RPG gameplay, causing fast intense shootouts and detailed skill trees, levelling and inventory systems to work cohesively and with ease. A must play for shooter and RPG fans.
    Expand
  49. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    An amazing narrative where your choices affect your journey. It's the best example of conversational and technical sci-fi. Bioware built a complex and malleable story focused on you avatar's interaction with interesting characters. The gameplay is also amazing, allowing for the pace of a shooter for the enjoyment of an RPG. There's little better than taking down one target through aAn amazing narrative where your choices affect your journey. It's the best example of conversational and technical sci-fi. Bioware built a complex and malleable story focused on you avatar's interaction with interesting characters. The gameplay is also amazing, allowing for the pace of a shooter for the enjoyment of an RPG. There's little better than taking down one target through a sniper's scope and then taking out his friend with a biotic blast. It's a rich and rewarding universe that encourages exploration and vast numbers of replays. Expand
  50. May 5, 2012
    9
    This game is RPG storytelling perfected. A wonderfully complex good/evil structure forcing the player to go deeper than simply do this and do that. Player customization is deep and rewarding and playing the gamethrough as different characters yields unique combat experiences. The pacing some will find slow, but in a game rich in story, a slower movement allows for more to be taken inThis game is RPG storytelling perfected. A wonderfully complex good/evil structure forcing the player to go deeper than simply do this and do that. Player customization is deep and rewarding and playing the gamethrough as different characters yields unique combat experiences. The pacing some will find slow, but in a game rich in story, a slower movement allows for more to be taken in and enjoyed. Great game start to finish. Expand
  51. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    This was a great game that really made you feel like you were in a 1980's sci-fi movie. I kind of felt like I was the captain of the Enterprise exploring the universe, but also like I was watching a movie, and playing a shooter RPG at the same time.

    People who didn't like the game seemed to be expecting shooter game mechanics like in Call of Duty. Everyone who enjoyed it understood it was
    This was a great game that really made you feel like you were in a 1980's sci-fi movie. I kind of felt like I was the captain of the Enterprise exploring the universe, but also like I was watching a movie, and playing a shooter RPG at the same time.

    People who didn't like the game seemed to be expecting shooter game mechanics like in Call of Duty. Everyone who enjoyed it understood it was an RPG with guns and special powers, and that you'll be weak until you level them up.
    Expand
  52. May 1, 2012
    10
    Just one of the best games which I was able to play in all my player's career. Scenario incredibly well tied up, charming characters, revolutionary gameplay so to speak, and really remarkable graphics for period ! Although the passages in Mako are one so much is little irritating on edges, we appreciate all the same the vast universe whom is Mass Effect. I advise it to every player. LifeJust one of the best games which I was able to play in all my player's career. Scenario incredibly well tied up, charming characters, revolutionary gameplay so to speak, and really remarkable graphics for period ! Although the passages in Mako are one so much is little irritating on edges, we appreciate all the same the vast universe whom is Mass Effect. I advise it to every player. Life expectancy of 30 hours for somebody who has never played it, 15-20h for the others. Expand
  53. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Im going to be honest...I played the second game first. However, I feel that while the combat in Mass effect is pretty awful at first, the story is great. Mass Effect is a fantastic game. The characters, however, are not quite as fleshed out as in the other games. However, they are still pretty entertaining. The game does have the occasional glitch but that doesnt stop it from being a good game.
  54. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    Space, the final frontier. A place often visited by video games but seldom depicted with such grace. Mass effect is a space orientated 3rd person shooter based in a galaxy similar to ours with varied alien races controlling it. You play the role of Commander (Insert Name) Shepard, a Spectre, and commander over the ship the Normandy. You follow the epic journey of Shepard and his team andSpace, the final frontier. A place often visited by video games but seldom depicted with such grace. Mass effect is a space orientated 3rd person shooter based in a galaxy similar to ours with varied alien races controlling it. You play the role of Commander (Insert Name) Shepard, a Spectre, and commander over the ship the Normandy. You follow the epic journey of Shepard and his team and attempt to slave the galaxy from those who threaten it. The game brings so many new ideas to the table. The one that really stuck for me was choices that ACTUALLY effect the storyline. Dynamic conversations allow you to take several routes of storyline leading to new places every playthrough. The game even features the talented Seth Green as a voice actor. The gameplay is smooth with varied enemies to fight with different attributes and characteristics which you must adapt to. The game has beautiful graphics and scenery for it's time and a wonderful soundtrack. If I was to complain about anything it would be two things ; the game takes some time to get into and the guns heat up rather than a bullet system. I know the second sounds silly but is more a pet hate of mine. Overall if you a fan of Bioware, rpgs, shooters and space, there's no reason not to like this game. Just remember "You can fight like a krogan, run like a leopard but you'll never be better than commander Shepard!" -Miracleofsound. Expand
  55. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    A very engrossing and entertaining rpg/action game. A great story backed by an extremely satisfying conclusion bring this game into one of my favorite Xbox 360 games.

    ***SOUP'S GAME OF THE YEAR 2007***
  56. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Although the worst game of the trilogy, Mass Effect still delivers. It doesn't have the depth of planet exploration like the others, but it is still an awesome game. Very addicting, after I played it I HAD to beat the whole trilogy.
  57. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This game has been so controversial that I even can't understand why. ME1 is the first of hopefully a trilogy not 20 random sequels or stuff like, ME1 had me like, playing for months, I couldn't stop playing, BIO'-WARE thank you so much. ME1 and ME3 are the only one's I played and ME1 is a lot better but I did not play ME2 so I can't just choose which is the best or the worst. This has toThis game has been so controversial that I even can't understand why. ME1 is the first of hopefully a trilogy not 20 random sequels or stuff like, ME1 had me like, playing for months, I couldn't stop playing, BIO'-WARE thank you so much. ME1 and ME3 are the only one's I played and ME1 is a lot better but I did not play ME2 so I can't just choose which is the best or the worst. This has to be like the best role-playing game ever made, nah don't talk about that stupid Dragon Age or WoW or Diablo, I've seen enough of that The game also has great emotional scenes, and great voice acting and great graphics, I think everything is amazing about ME1. 9/10 Expand
  58. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    Within the first 1 or 2 hours into the game, I already knew my purchase was worth it, the interactivity in the new story where I could pick my own outcomes was great, I had never felt such an experience, the graphics were great for it's time and I think it was definitely game of the year 2007. The one and only problem I had was the driving around on random planets with the Mako, it wasWithin the first 1 or 2 hours into the game, I already knew my purchase was worth it, the interactivity in the new story where I could pick my own outcomes was great, I had never felt such an experience, the graphics were great for it's time and I think it was definitely game of the year 2007. The one and only problem I had was the driving around on random planets with the Mako, it was required to get the 'Completionist' achievement, it did get a little annoying scaling all of those mountains. Expand
  59. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    As a world, as a story, this game executes flawlessly. This is the kind of game that will make you pull all nighters just to find out what will happen next. The combat mechanics aren't the greatest, but that is not the point of a bioware game. Bioware games used to be all about the engrossing character arcs, the progression from lowly peon to the greatest of all time. They were never theAs a world, as a story, this game executes flawlessly. This is the kind of game that will make you pull all nighters just to find out what will happen next. The combat mechanics aren't the greatest, but that is not the point of a bioware game. Bioware games used to be all about the engrossing character arcs, the progression from lowly peon to the greatest of all time. They were never the best at character animation or gameplay mechanics, but that was all superfluous because there was never a company that made you want to play the game quite like bioware has. This has all changed ever since they sold out their company to ea as is evidenced by the horrendous direction the series has gone in. They have sacrificed the thing that made them unique in order to become a more homogenized game developing machine. Game development used to be a passion for bioware, now it is simply about which corners to cut and which variable should be maximized to gain the biggest market share and blah blah blah, all at the expense of true vision and a passionate, quality product.

    This game and the first dragon age are the swan song of the bioware of old. This is a game everyone who loves consistent, chill-inducing dialogue and a breathtaking universe to explore should play. But for the love of god, stay away from the sequels, the stripped down cash grabs that they are. If you see one, burn it with fire.
    Expand
  60. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    I have never experienced more joy while playing a game than this. This could be one of my favorite games of all time. I was a little late to the party for this game, after hearing how great it was i decided to give it a shot and thank god I did! I love story based games, I love creating characters, making choices, and this game is perfect for that. I also really appreciate the option to beI have never experienced more joy while playing a game than this. This could be one of my favorite games of all time. I was a little late to the party for this game, after hearing how great it was i decided to give it a shot and thank god I did! I love story based games, I love creating characters, making choices, and this game is perfect for that. I also really appreciate the option to be a girl because most games do not have that. The romances are also really fun and the decision making feels real. When i was on a mission and had to choose which squad member died I sat in my spot for an hour thinking about it. The story telling is just nothing short of brilliant and I love this game. My only gripes are the fact that some of the mechanics need to be improved. But all in all this game is brilliant. Expand
  61. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    As a fan of Star Wars I played Kotor back in 2003 and it was an awesome unique Xbox experience. Not only was the game technically impressive but Bioware had left a mark in RPG's with great storytelling/interface. I never really liked Sci-fi apart from SW and I skipped Mass Effect back in 2007. Even now in Dec 2012 im surprissed to comment that the game looks amazing and Im digging it evenAs a fan of Star Wars I played Kotor back in 2003 and it was an awesome unique Xbox experience. Not only was the game technically impressive but Bioware had left a mark in RPG's with great storytelling/interface. I never really liked Sci-fi apart from SW and I skipped Mass Effect back in 2007. Even now in Dec 2012 im surprissed to comment that the game looks amazing and Im digging it even more than Kotor. It feels more original and less cumbersome in alot of aspects. Bioware has definitely crafted an interesting universe and Im looking forward to playing the sequels. Expand
  62. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I hate looking like one of those stupid fanboys that automatically scores a game a 10. I can assure you I am a fanboy well earned. I had an absolute blast with every single second of this game. I put it in, feeling very uncertain (at the time I didn't keep up with videogame news and had no idea what it was, just decided it looked cool). It quickly grabbed me and 5 years later I stillI hate looking like one of those stupid fanboys that automatically scores a game a 10. I can assure you I am a fanboy well earned. I had an absolute blast with every single second of this game. I put it in, feeling very uncertain (at the time I didn't keep up with videogame news and had no idea what it was, just decided it looked cool). It quickly grabbed me and 5 years later I still commend it as one of the greatest games I have ever played. Yes it does have some minor issue, the elevator rides were excuses for long loading screens and some texture popping issues, but nothing that makes this game any less than perfect. It is truly the pinnacle of perfection for story telling in gaming, or any for of entertainment for that matter. This is the incredibly rare perfect game, the perfect diamond, the unicorn....GET IT Expand
  63. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    Good story and interesting characters, detailed and believable universe, excellent visual design, the soundtrack is a luxury. In short, a deep RPG ommended.
  64. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Mass Effect started one of the best, if not the best sci-fi RPG trilogies of all time. Even today, it's story, characters, and massive universe to explore remain almost unparalleled. Although the gameplay is very clunky, it's still decent enough to be enjoyable to play.

    You will grow to love the characters Bioware has written, and possibly spend countless hours getting lost in the
    Mass Effect started one of the best, if not the best sci-fi RPG trilogies of all time. Even today, it's story, characters, and massive universe to explore remain almost unparalleled. Although the gameplay is very clunky, it's still decent enough to be enjoyable to play.

    You will grow to love the characters Bioware has written, and possibly spend countless hours getting lost in the Citadel or exploring Uncharted Worlds. Even the soundtrack is beautiful. Honestly, if you haven't picked Mass Effect yet... what are you waiting for?
    Expand
  65. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    This is a fun action centered RPG with an interesting story. It's exciting to see a new character in the video game universe. This is an RPG that fan's of shooters can easily sink their teeth into. As I said before the story is the heart and soul of this game. The only downsides are the frequent and often lengthy loading times. It is neat that you can land and roam around on most planetsThis is a fun action centered RPG with an interesting story. It's exciting to see a new character in the video game universe. This is an RPG that fan's of shooters can easily sink their teeth into. As I said before the story is the heart and soul of this game. The only downsides are the frequent and often lengthy loading times. It is neat that you can land and roam around on most planets but it is usually boring and repetative. If you are one of the few who haven't picked up this game I recommend it. The graphics might be a little dated at this point in the consoles lifespan but it is worth it for the story and the two sequels who build on this foundtation. Expand
  66. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Probably the best story of any game, any time period.
    I think it is even better than Star Wars V, there I said it!
    Bad maps in the citadel, takes a long time to explore a planet.
    Other than that, great game!
  67. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    I great game that I have played through three times, Mass Effect is a game centered around your decisions, which I cannot go into since it would lead to spoilers. Just know that it is a futuristic world, where you live among alien races each with their own goals. The Turians are badass, they have the best military and a seat on the council. The Quarians are the most mysterious, all youI great game that I have played through three times, Mass Effect is a game centered around your decisions, which I cannot go into since it would lead to spoilers. Just know that it is a futuristic world, where you live among alien races each with their own goals. The Turians are badass, they have the best military and a seat on the council. The Quarians are the most mysterious, all you really know at the start is that they created these robots called the Geth that want to kill you. The asari are the mono gendered leaders of the council who are the wisest species given the fact they live over a 1000 years unless they get shot in the face. The Salarians are the mad scientists who act like kids you picked on in middle school. Last but not least you have the Krogans who are warriors and love to fight and kill stuff, like the Geth. This is just an overview of the species, the story to mass effect is so crazy that it keeps you wanting to play so you can dive into the universe it portrays. I could tell u more, but what is the fun f that? Just know that its campaign is centered around a awesome futuristic universe, and not as detailed as an Elder Scrolls Game. Expand
  68. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    Absolutely fantastic story. Deep rich narrative with some excellent and well thought out characters. Mass Effect introduces us to a new universe that is large and diverse enough to compete with similar franchises like Star Wars or Star Trek. The game itself is also a joy to play: Diverse choices that really fell like they have an impact on the continuity, tons of weapon and armor typesAbsolutely fantastic story. Deep rich narrative with some excellent and well thought out characters. Mass Effect introduces us to a new universe that is large and diverse enough to compete with similar franchises like Star Wars or Star Trek. The game itself is also a joy to play: Diverse choices that really fell like they have an impact on the continuity, tons of weapon and armor types with even more chice when looking at the mods available to them. Now to the negative: Character models, particularly the humans, can be a little weak. Dungeons/Bases (the interior areas of enemy bases) are bland and far too similar. Planet exploration is fun, but using the Mako feels sluggish and tedious, especially on mountainous terrain. Overall: An absolutely fantastic game that is a masterpiece in story telling. Expand
  69. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Mass Effect is one of the first games that can change depending on your choices throughout the campaign. That in itself is already impressive, minus the scale and free roam of the galaxy you can explore. The story is gripping and it is easy to become emotionally connected with the characters. Possible customization choices with your character and your squad members is also surprisinglyMass Effect is one of the first games that can change depending on your choices throughout the campaign. That in itself is already impressive, minus the scale and free roam of the galaxy you can explore. The story is gripping and it is easy to become emotionally connected with the characters. Possible customization choices with your character and your squad members is also surprisingly diverse. Would you like to have an additional scope on your rifle with acid bullets attached with a booster that can greatly increase damage and armor protection? Well now its possible. Mass Effect is so very successful in many ways but it sadly falls short in other things. This game is one of the most unpolished games I have ever played. Frame rate is unbelievably low and the game will lag as soon as there are more than two or three enemies on the screen. Driving controls are bad, to be simply put. It is difficult to even drive around a corner at times. Auto save areas are extremely rare and if you die, you will often have to start back at the beginning of the mission. There are glitches galore in some areas and I find it hard to understand that Bioware did not notice any of these issues. Character expressions and facial features look awkward during conversations, to say the least. However, many of things probably couldn't have been helped seeing as how it was made during 2007. This game is changing the way we play video games and everyone needs to play the trilogy for a truly unique experience. Expand
  70. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    This game is fun to play and more then once. It gives you the options to create your own male or female characters with different profiles, appearance, and powers. You have a choice what order to do the main or side missions, and you can choose what kind of relationship to have with your crew and how to react to other characters in the game - You can be a jerk, nice guy, or somewhere inThis game is fun to play and more then once. It gives you the options to create your own male or female characters with different profiles, appearance, and powers. You have a choice what order to do the main or side missions, and you can choose what kind of relationship to have with your crew and how to react to other characters in the game - You can be a jerk, nice guy, or somewhere in between. You have different weapons, armor, and abilities as different characters. And you can choose who will join you on a mission. The graphic and sound effects are good. I turn off the music so I can't comment on it. The missions are interesting and can be challenging. However, the game does have some hangups (IMO): Upgrading your teams equipment is kind of cumbersome, all the planets seem to repeat their terrain, just in a different color and weather. The game locked up on me a few times, but I was able to recover from it because I had the Auto Save turned on. Driving the Mako land cruiser is a pain, especially when trying to take out the enemy and avoid getting hit by missiles so It take time to get used to. And finally the AI/Enemy reactions become predicable so they are easy to take out. This game was/is totally enjoyable to play and I'm looking forward to playing #2 and #3 in the series. Expand
  71. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. Space exploration gives the player a sense of wonder and excitement. The open universe created behind this game is beautiful and believable. The combat is all about strategy and using your skills to the fullest. The character customization, while not deep, is still enough to get you to want to play your character. The different stories for your teammates areAn absolute masterpiece. Space exploration gives the player a sense of wonder and excitement. The open universe created behind this game is beautiful and believable. The combat is all about strategy and using your skills to the fullest. The character customization, while not deep, is still enough to get you to want to play your character. The different stories for your teammates are interesting and allow you to connect with each one on a more personal level. The graphics are marvelous. Your choices actually have an effect on the story and gameplay (Duh! It's an RPG!). Ten out of ten for me. Expand
  72. May 19, 2013
    8
    Mass Effect is a RPG than i have never seen executed this good. It' story is satisfying as you play as Commander Shepard, and through that you can customize him as much as you like. As him, you choose decisions which each have an outcome of their own. Be aware that you will have to make tough choices that can affect you, your goal, and others in short term and also in long term. This isMass Effect is a RPG than i have never seen executed this good. It' story is satisfying as you play as Commander Shepard, and through that you can customize him as much as you like. As him, you choose decisions which each have an outcome of their own. Be aware that you will have to make tough choices that can affect you, your goal, and others in short term and also in long term. This is the first game in the Mass Effect Trilogy that starts it all, just as the others it has a deep and rich universe worth exploring. You will start to care about the characters you find out through your adventure and feel attached to them, emotionally. It' story is also well done, something unlike i have ever seen. It is mysterious, it will make you wonder as you are travelling the galaxy in search for answers and questions. Combat in this game is kind of the weak point of it. The cover system barley works, sometimes it may get you killed. Also graphically the game looks fine, though there are spots in it that look ugly, but nothing truly that ruin the experience for the player. If you don't care about graphics. There are also some technical difficulties in this game too, fps may drop down, and sometimes the game may freeze or crash on you. But that's rare to occur. Overall, the game delivers an amazing setting, awesome characters, and one of the best story's ever told in history. If your looking for a good story set in a Star Wars type setting, then this game is for you. Expand
  73. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    A great game with fantastic original lore and story. There are some weaknesses like driving the Mako and repeated side quest maps, but all in all the story keeps you interested. The inventory system is a tad clunky but it has the best RPG elements of the three Mass Effect games. It has has plenty of oh snap moments and though you can create a wishy washy character, the gameA great game with fantastic original lore and story. There are some weaknesses like driving the Mako and repeated side quest maps, but all in all the story keeps you interested. The inventory system is a tad clunky but it has the best RPG elements of the three Mass Effect games. It has has plenty of oh snap moments and though you can create a wishy washy character, the game offers some great moments if you stick to an all good or all renegade type character as options become available in the dialogue for staying consistent. The game play when engaging enemies is a bit underwhelming but I can't stress enough the world of mass effect and the graphics alone are reasons to play this game at what I imagine is probably now a reduced price. Expand
  74. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    This game is full of glitches, a terrible frame-rate, pop in issues and boring side missions. Then why does it get a 9? Because everything else in the game is amazing. The gameplay is tight, full of RPG elements that keep it continuously interesting. The characters are all great, and the sense of freedom is spot on. However, the best aspect of Mass Effect is its story. The story in theThis game is full of glitches, a terrible frame-rate, pop in issues and boring side missions. Then why does it get a 9? Because everything else in the game is amazing. The gameplay is tight, full of RPG elements that keep it continuously interesting. The characters are all great, and the sense of freedom is spot on. However, the best aspect of Mass Effect is its story. The story in the original Mass Effect is, in my humblest of opinions, the most complete and well worked of any in the series. By the end of the game, you'll feel satisfied with the game's conclusion, something that I didn't get from the other two Mass Effect games.

    Yes, the game has issues, a lot of them in fact. However, it is easy to overlook them when everything else is this good.
    Expand
  75. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    There are games so inspiring, so compelling that you will be dragged into their universe on a regular basis.
    Mass Effect is one of these games, which built happiness through great adventures and a significant emphasis on both choices and characters interactions. Even with a massive backlog of games to play, I always end up replaying the campaign through the 3 games.
    It can appeal to
    There are games so inspiring, so compelling that you will be dragged into their universe on a regular basis.
    Mass Effect is one of these games, which built happiness through great adventures and a significant emphasis on both choices and characters interactions. Even with a massive backlog of games to play, I always end up replaying the campaign through the 3 games.
    It can appeal to either RPG fans, Sci-fi people, shooters veterans, or to anyone who likes to be part of a compelling story.
    The DLC are good as well as they always add a bit of every experience to the mix.
    This game is so rich and colorful that you can be sure to find something that you will like in it.
    Expand
  76. May 7, 2013
    9
    Best SRPG game. The conversation wheels, the choices, the voice acting, Liara, the ending and satisfactory after completed the game. never a game gave me this blood-pumping feeling after the ending. i played the game 7 times, my record, never played a game again and again and every time can be so amazed by the game design and details.
  77. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Good
    Fantastic Voice-Acting and Story, Moral Choices Are Excellent, Some Of The Best Characters Ever, Wonderful Universe.
    Bad The Cover System Sucks, The Movement Is Sluggish, Every Weapon looks So Similar, The Gun crosshair is a pain in the a***/a**, Health System Is Terrible, Texture Pop-In is so bad and obvious, Save System is Annoying, Slow Pace in Gameplay Despite These Flaws This
    Good
    Fantastic Voice-Acting and Story, Moral Choices Are Excellent, Some Of The Best Characters Ever, Wonderful Universe.
    Bad
    The Cover System Sucks, The Movement Is Sluggish, Every Weapon looks So Similar, The Gun crosshair is a pain in the a***/a**, Health System Is Terrible, Texture Pop-In is so bad and obvious, Save System is Annoying, Slow Pace in Gameplay
    Despite These Flaws This Is Still one of the best RPGs Ever
    Expand
  78. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    This game is one of my favourite games of all-time, alongside both it's sequels. The thing that drew me in was the storyline which was very well thought-out and a lot of effort put into it unlike some other RPGs. The characters in this game are very detailed and like-able, each with their own interesting story. The voice-acting is amazing. There are negatives, such as the cluster ofThis game is one of my favourite games of all-time, alongside both it's sequels. The thing that drew me in was the storyline which was very well thought-out and a lot of effort put into it unlike some other RPGs. The characters in this game are very detailed and like-able, each with their own interesting story. The voice-acting is amazing. There are negatives, such as the cluster of items you get from loot as they all seem copy-and-paste of each other with different colours with regards to weapons, there is more variation amongst armors however. The squad-based combat does work well even if it can be clunky at times, on the higher difficulties the game is a true challenge. The graphics are amazing to look at. Planet exploration in the Mako can be frustrating yet rewarding at the same time, the unexplored planets that you can land on each feel individual with their own story to them. Multitude of side-quests in this game, each of them interesting with some slight exceptions with the collection missions. You will find yourself being connected to the characters the more the game you play. Each of the classes in the game play differently which provides decent re-playability, alongside the difference you can make in choices along the way. One damn satisfying ending and an overall exceptional experience; this is one stand-out game. Clustering of inventory, bland and boring weapons, the odd tiresome and boring collection side-quests, the occasionally non-responsive combat game-play, the long and dull elevator scenes and not quite enough customization options all bring my personal score down by one, but this is still an amazing game to me. Expand
  79. May 30, 2013
    7
    This is my favorite Mass Effect out of the series and I enjoy the emphasis on dialogue. Sure, the story may seem cliche, but all the characters are really well developed; you just have to invest time in them. The combat isn't the best I've seen and is generally annoying throughout a lot of the game, but once you get high level gear it becomes so much more fun. I'd definitely check it outThis is my favorite Mass Effect out of the series and I enjoy the emphasis on dialogue. Sure, the story may seem cliche, but all the characters are really well developed; you just have to invest time in them. The combat isn't the best I've seen and is generally annoying throughout a lot of the game, but once you get high level gear it becomes so much more fun. I'd definitely check it out as it's my favorite Bioware game on the Citadel. Expand
  80. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    This game is good but has multiple missteps that stop it from being even better so i'm going to tell you the goods and bads so you can make up your own minds
    pros
    -good character creator -great characters and story -real RPG choices (nowadays RPG means you can level up and gain perks and stuff) -cool branching dialogue options -an ability to import your saves into the sequels making
    This game is good but has multiple missteps that stop it from being even better so i'm going to tell you the goods and bads so you can make up your own minds
    pros
    -good character creator
    -great characters and story
    -real RPG choices (nowadays RPG means you can level up and gain perks and stuff)
    -cool branching dialogue options
    -an ability to import your saves into the sequels making the choices even more interesting and need to decide carefully
    -good voice acting
    -interesting in game universe with unique and creative aliens (instead of just having Martians)
    cons
    -combat is not very good (but after a while it becomes playable. not good, playable)
    -Saren feels more like a second in command then a main villain (luckily Sovereign is cool)
    -really bad texture loading
    -your powers take forever to recharge
    -frustratingly hard
    -powers are kind of useless in this game (play as a soldier on this game then be something else in the sequels)
    - no weapons but the assault rifle really feels useful in a fight
    -enemys shields save them tons of times but your shields get torn through in seconds
    Expand
  81. Nov 25, 2015
    10
    Mass Effect is one of the most thoughtful, mature, and enticing games I have ever been introduced too. One thing that always comes to mind is the meditative “Vigil” opening soundtrack that starts off as the iceburg for one of the most well crafted RPG's of all time. The game world pictured is a vision of humanity in the future, and this vision is a glorious one. A massive galaxy isMass Effect is one of the most thoughtful, mature, and enticing games I have ever been introduced too. One thing that always comes to mind is the meditative “Vigil” opening soundtrack that starts off as the iceburg for one of the most well crafted RPG's of all time. The game world pictured is a vision of humanity in the future, and this vision is a glorious one. A massive galaxy is unraveled to humanity, big and full of exciting and new things to discover. A variety of species exist intelligent enough and similar to us in a variety of ways. The “galactic society” is idyllic. No longer bound to Earth, the stars are limitless to our grasp, and our thirst for knowledge unquenchable. Tolerating alien species is a developing logic in many human minds yet relations are steady and working. Alien species look and sound similar to us, with a variety of interesting quirks that make them “alien” yet enticing, as their own respective cultures are learned about. Our technology is similar, yet noticeably upgraded, with star ships as common of a sight as a wooden boat. A 1970's tinge reverberates around a narrative design with the future in mind, with a synth effect one can describe as “alien” and “high tech”. The world is introduced to us via the in-game “Codex” and in a short amount of time we can perceive this all too idyllic virtual world clearly in our heads. Mass Effect is a game not to be taken lightly. This is a game Bioware designed from the ground up as a masterpiece fit enough to remain a “legend” of early 21st century video gaming. The artistic level of Mass Effect is astonishing. With every detail and object designed masterfully to guide the player from start to finish, being linear, yet free. The most perfect blend of free roam and an enticing linear story that offers many different interchanging paths and endings. Commander Shepard, protagonist, embodies everything humanity's future stands for. His path can be good, neutral, or evil, and that is all dependent on the player's choice. Major characters can die and will never be seen again. This is a sci-fi that is worth playing, being as enticing as an action movie, as breathtaking as a shooter, and as deep as a novel, this is game that deserves to be played by everyone, a fitting description of many Bioware games like itself. Expand
  82. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    This game is incredible. I had been looking for a great game to play after tiring of Fallout, Skyrim, Arkham City, etc... and finally decided to give this game a try. I'll admit, I almost never got into it. I didn't like the combat and gave up on it quickly. About four months later I decided to give it another shot. Again I was disappointed. However once I got used to the system andThis game is incredible. I had been looking for a great game to play after tiring of Fallout, Skyrim, Arkham City, etc... and finally decided to give this game a try. I'll admit, I almost never got into it. I didn't like the combat and gave up on it quickly. About four months later I decided to give it another shot. Again I was disappointed. However once I got used to the system and got a little further into the game, I realized that I loved it. The story is so deep, and the characters so engaging. I found myself wanting to make sure I always made the right decisions. There are really no "good" or "evil" decisions but rather one is slightly more right and the other slightly more wrong. The balance of good and evil is blended so smoothly in this game. I've logged over 18hrs so far and still have much to do and cannot wait to continue. I highly recommend this to any RPG fan. It's fantastic. Expand
  83. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    While at times there were eye popping issues with the combat system, Mass Effect brought us a Spaceborne Sci-Fi experience unchallenged in modern gaming.

    An absolute Gem with head crushing depth that takes you on an adventure that by Journeys end, makes you really feel like you saved the universe and made some interesting friends along the way. If you play this and don't enjoy it,
    While at times there were eye popping issues with the combat system, Mass Effect brought us a Spaceborne Sci-Fi experience unchallenged in modern gaming.

    An absolute Gem with head crushing depth that takes you on an adventure that by Journeys end, makes you really feel like you saved the universe and made some interesting friends along the way.

    If you play this and don't enjoy it, you're crazy.
    Expand
  84. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    When I first saw the box to this game I immediately thought it had the production quality equivalents of a B-Movie and ignored it. A couple of years later people were talking about the quality of this game then I found out it was made by the same team responsible for Knights of the Old Republic, then I found out it was part of a planned trilogy where the actions in one game could effectWhen I first saw the box to this game I immediately thought it had the production quality equivalents of a B-Movie and ignored it. A couple of years later people were talking about the quality of this game then I found out it was made by the same team responsible for Knights of the Old Republic, then I found out it was part of a planned trilogy where the actions in one game could effect the story of the entire trilogy. So I was excited to play this game and I wasn't disappointed. They take the basic combat concept of Gears of War, cover based shooting, and placed it in a huge sci-fi world full of great characters in a wonderful art style. The story and massiveness of this game gain it's score but it's also it's hugeness that make it miss out on a 10, there is too much scanning of planets, much time wasted in an already big game. The only other negative is the lack of choice in weaponry. Overall this game is great stand alone without the involvement of a trilogy, which I suppose was the success of Star Wars, and is a must own of the generation and can now be picked up for a very friendly price. Expand
  85. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    A hugely entertaining, if slightly inconsistent, adventure with an interesting story, fun gameplay and a unique dialogue/decision making system that seamlessly blends the two together.
  86. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    Not bad, but not the best I've seen or played either. The story is okay, with some good action here and there, and it has a stable plot. The game has some good features, such as armor and weapon customization to name one. But I found it lacking in some areas, too. All of the armor looks just about the same as the stock, just re-textured in some cases, and the texture load times on the 360Not bad, but not the best I've seen or played either. The story is okay, with some good action here and there, and it has a stable plot. The game has some good features, such as armor and weapon customization to name one. But I found it lacking in some areas, too. All of the armor looks just about the same as the stock, just re-textured in some cases, and the texture load times on the 360 during cutscenes makes everything look a little weird whenever you talk to someone or load a game. Overall, this is not a bad game, but it's not the perfect game, either. Expand
  87. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    At first I was wondering what to expect from the game and I was unsure to keep playing and I did it is amazing (note I have not beaten the game at the time of writing this) it plays like a sci-fi 3rd person shooter but it does it very well its cut sense are orgasmic and all the customization is mind blowing there is so much to see and do so much replay ability and all the class's play soAt first I was wondering what to expect from the game and I was unsure to keep playing and I did it is amazing (note I have not beaten the game at the time of writing this) it plays like a sci-fi 3rd person shooter but it does it very well its cut sense are orgasmic and all the customization is mind blowing there is so much to see and do so much replay ability and all the class's play so much different and the followers are very nice because you can somewhat change there play style and they have back story also they interact differently in other situations then other followers 10/10 review i got the game on a sale for 3.49 I think but I really think it is worth its price regularly I highly recommend this game to any one who loves sci-fi games and cinematic games pick it up now! Expand
  88. Jun 28, 2015
    9
    First time I heard of this game I was sceptical, didnt think they could actually make an FPS with RPG elements and make it work. A friend of mine told me to buy it, that it was my kind of game, I saw the reviews and some trailers but it didnt caught my attention. 2 years later at my local game store I saw it again, and decided to buy it, mostly because they were having a sale so I got itFirst time I heard of this game I was sceptical, didnt think they could actually make an FPS with RPG elements and make it work. A friend of mine told me to buy it, that it was my kind of game, I saw the reviews and some trailers but it didnt caught my attention. 2 years later at my local game store I saw it again, and decided to buy it, mostly because they were having a sale so I got it dirt cheap.
    got home and played it, and instantly got hooked up. My friend was right, it is my kind of game, i love creating your own custom character and this game even lets you pick your own backstory, great music, great dialogue, tons of side missions, exploring, and most importantly GREAT story and another great shocker for me, the decisions you make and I do mean YOU make, have consecuences in the sequels, how cool is that???? Just make yourself a favor, BUY THIS GAME.
    Expand
  89. Jan 26, 2015
    9
    A fantastic experience and its a great game overall, even though I'm not too fond of the mechanics, the story held it up very well and delivered a lot throughout the ip entire experience.
  90. May 22, 2015
    9
    The original Mass Effect was an ambitious game; it set out to be this massive space drama and a blend between a role playing and an action game. It certainly accomplished this with a customizable character, lots of different powers to use and upgrade, tons of weapon mods, ample side missions (you can beat the game in twelve hours or you can spend thirty-five), and story-altering decisionsThe original Mass Effect was an ambitious game; it set out to be this massive space drama and a blend between a role playing and an action game. It certainly accomplished this with a customizable character, lots of different powers to use and upgrade, tons of weapon mods, ample side missions (you can beat the game in twelve hours or you can spend thirty-five), and story-altering decisions (that carry on to the next two games). Basically, this rogue Spectre (a high-ranking official) named Saren is trying to take over the galaxy with an army of robots called Geth and it’s up to Commander Shepherd, you, to stop him. However, you learn that Saren isn’t the greatest threat to the galaxy. The combat is quite inventive, a blend between action and strategy, and the story and characters really shine through. Texture pop-ins and whatnot are rampant, combat can be a little unintuitive, and the Mako parts aren't perfect by any means but Mass Effect is a great start to a fantastic series (I'd say it's an 8.7 or 8.8). Expand
  91. Jul 3, 2015
    9
    A fun, excellent game that you can play over and over again with a different story every time. I very much recommend this for sci-fi fans and RPG fans. What mass effect does best is that it combines a captivating story with great action and combat and turns it into your hands to let you decide the way you want to play.
  92. Apr 20, 2016
    10
    This game is great, never have alien genitalia been so finely rendered and sensual. I'm sure the aliens that the government are hiding are playing this for their own arousal and enjoyment. I'm glad video games have come this far and I hope they'll go farther with the new consoles. More alien genitalia. Please. I'm very thirsty.
  93. May 10, 2012
    0
    the original Mass Effect has a fantastic story and RPG elements and I think is the best in the series at giving a real sense of size to the galaxy with large open areas, large buildings and a lot of exploring. There are some game play issues: it definitely doesn't have the greatest combat and the mako is a little hard to control but personally though the controls don't come natural I hadthe original Mass Effect has a fantastic story and RPG elements and I think is the best in the series at giving a real sense of size to the galaxy with large open areas, large buildings and a lot of exploring. There are some game play issues: it definitely doesn't have the greatest combat and the mako is a little hard to control but personally though the controls don't come natural I had pretty much mastered them by the end. Love this game. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    92
    Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. Hardcore Gamer
    80
    As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]