Max Payne 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 870 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2012
    7
    With gripping action, top-notch animations, and a brand new setting, Rockstar delivers a re-envisioned Max Payne. The graphics do not set any industry standards, but they hold up quite well - although the combat animations are quite groundbreaking. Unfortunately I happened to encounter some glitches where the textures failed to load, and the sound disappeared, though compared to earlierWith gripping action, top-notch animations, and a brand new setting, Rockstar delivers a re-envisioned Max Payne. The graphics do not set any industry standards, but they hold up quite well - although the combat animations are quite groundbreaking. Unfortunately I happened to encounter some glitches where the textures failed to load, and the sound disappeared, though compared to earlier Rockstar titles it wasn't that bad. It could also get frustrating at times with scarce checkpoints far in-between and having the weapon reset after cutscenes - this could be related to the transitions from cutscenes to gameplay though. The developers try to make combat easier when the player is struggling by handing out painkillers and ammo after a certain amount of deaths, though if you happen to enter a cutscene without it, you might find yourself purposely attempting suicide only to take advantage of this - which is not very intuitive. The last stand element where you are given the option of using a painkiller if killing the enemy who shot you is quite handy, but if there's an obstacle in your way or you're out of ammo, it becomes quite tedious as it only leaves you having to watch your inevitable death in slow-motion. The clues and things you find along the way don't really add much to the story, but can be quite enjoyable and a nice touch for players who like to explore. Rockstar is definitely one of the few developers who could take on a plot like Max Payne with such amibitiousness. And although it's not very realistic, they are able to involve you in the story with great use of narration and action-driven editing, as you enter on a mind bending journey likely to stick with you after it ends. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Solid. If you like good graphics and blur effects plus the classical storytelling from Max Payne, you are in. Bullet Time is a nice extra, once you feel comfortable with the sometimes clunky controls. I enjoyed the replay by constantly using the Bullet Time which makes the whole game a kind of LSD trip.
  3. May 26, 2012
    7
    For all the excitement and delays around the next Max Payne, it wasn't worth it 100%. This game reminds me of a little like Uncharted 3 with its area to area combat sequences. First off let me start with the negative. Slow motion gun fight has its moments but lacks memorable takes like the original. The easter eggs in this game doesn't appeal to me. I really don't care finding golden gunsFor all the excitement and delays around the next Max Payne, it wasn't worth it 100%. This game reminds me of a little like Uncharted 3 with its area to area combat sequences. First off let me start with the negative. Slow motion gun fight has its moments but lacks memorable takes like the original. The easter eggs in this game doesn't appeal to me. I really don't care finding golden guns while my head is being shot at. I don't think it belongs in this genre of game. And like Uncharted the cover system is suspect. More ammo would have made this game more fun to play with less stress and a better thought out story. Seems to me Mr Payne is running low on confidence in the world and that's hard to play. Anyways it ain't all bad. Being Max again takes me back. Bad A.. and ready to fire on sight. With nothing to loose Max again gets himself into trouble. Controls are simple to use and of course slow mo gun fights are still a cool concept especially the new slow mo finishers. As mentioned earlier there is easter eggs for you to find if you like that sort of thing. Seems a bit hard for me at times even on easy difficulty setting. There are multiple difficulties to choose from to test your patients. And dual held weapons are always cool to use. To keep it short, most people love this run and duck sort of game which draws good reviews. On the other hand I speak for the minority and say that it's not all that it wraps up to be. If you have a PC right now, why not try Diablo 3 first if you have only money for one game at the moment. Expand
  4. May 29, 2012
    7
    An interesting approach on the whole. A step forward in many regards--all the post-effects on the gameplay, the immersive storytelling and all the back-loading keep the player involved in the story with no load times--but a very linear experience that doesn't allow the player much leeway in the traditional "game" sense. It's fully designed to be an interactive story--one that's alreadyAn interesting approach on the whole. A step forward in many regards--all the post-effects on the gameplay, the immersive storytelling and all the back-loading keep the player involved in the story with no load times--but a very linear experience that doesn't allow the player much leeway in the traditional "game" sense. It's fully designed to be an interactive story--one that's already told and already decided, but you get to interact with the "cool" parts. Interesting stuff. Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    The game was dark and gritty like a constant gnashing of teeth, which you'll inevitably be doing, having to replay certain parts. The mechanics certainly aren't as fine tuned as you would expect from a triple A title, but they don't completely turn you off either. I enjoyed the tone and narrative that kept you engrossed in the story and overall experience. Max Payne 3 is definitely worth aThe game was dark and gritty like a constant gnashing of teeth, which you'll inevitably be doing, having to replay certain parts. The mechanics certainly aren't as fine tuned as you would expect from a triple A title, but they don't completely turn you off either. I enjoyed the tone and narrative that kept you engrossed in the story and overall experience. Max Payne 3 is definitely worth a rental, I'm not however convinced this is worth a purchase. Expand
  6. May 17, 2012
    7
    First, let's address the obvious. Remedy did not develop this game. It definitely doesn't look much like the Max Payne we all know and love from the past. This doesn't necessarily make it bad, but it is different. You pretty much can get the idea if you're going to like the new look from all the media floating around. I personally prefer the grittier looks of the past games, but thisFirst, let's address the obvious. Remedy did not develop this game. It definitely doesn't look much like the Max Payne we all know and love from the past. This doesn't necessarily make it bad, but it is different. You pretty much can get the idea if you're going to like the new look from all the media floating around. I personally prefer the grittier looks of the past games, but this is merely a matter of opinion. That being said, let's get down to the real business. Perhaps I am spoiled by the fluidity of most modern console games, but I found that Max Payne 3 seems to have a huge problem with framerate. For a game that relies so heavily on pinpoint precision when not using the godlike auto-aiming abilities, it can be hard when you're running approx 15fps or less. The tiny dot reticle can easily be lost in all the flying debris and the occasional Rockstar wonkiness of close-quarters encounters hinders the fun as well. When not experiencing aiming issues when trying to do it without assist, there are several times that while using autoaim, I found that I didn't even need to use the sticks. Just press the left trigger to acquire target, right trigger to fire. Repeat. So long as you are pointed in the cardinal direction of an enemy, you'll land a hit. That's a little too forgiving. All that aside, the sound and voice acting is top-notch, and the environments are very immersive. Unfortunately the pushy urgency of the game forces you into the next setpiece, rarely affording you the opportunity to explore the finer details that an artist toiled over. The cover system usually works well, only a couple places does it fail (doorways seem to be hit and miss). The character animations are fantastic and I think sit securely at the top of the heap. Kudos to the mo-cap actors and the artists. The bullet-time effects occasionally take you back to the good-ol' days of Max Payne and the Matrix, but it mostly comes off as a little tired. I only used it when it forced me to, or in a last ditch situation. Overall I think despite it's beauty, story and sound, I'm really not having that good of time playing it. Dare I say it is like Kane & Lynch, except the previous ran at 60fps on console. Maybe another month in the optimization oven would have vastly improved the game, but with the ability to update and patch games these days, perhaps R* will be able to address these issues. My recommendation would be "don't pay full price". I'd pay $40 for it without regrets, but I can't say I'm pleased have paid full-price. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    I have seen some funny reviews on here, totally irrelevant to the game. Rockstar going down hill ? Saint's Row being better then GTA ? Ugh, who are these people ?

    Good game, Greatly developed story (note not great story), fun and action-packed. It's worth definitely it's current score around a 7.5. Entertaining and worth being played, I can understand a mixed review but a negative one ?
    I have seen some funny reviews on here, totally irrelevant to the game. Rockstar going down hill ? Saint's Row being better then GTA ? Ugh, who are these people ?

    Good game, Greatly developed story (note not great story), fun and action-packed. It's worth definitely it's current score around a 7.5. Entertaining and worth being played, I can understand a mixed review but a negative one ? Great graphics, good story, a game that makes sense with huge budget made by renown game makers, how can that be a negative ? I agree with a post I read about Max being just a bit to whiny and that his character could have evolved but I guess the person developing him when straight from the movie instead of the games, I personally thought the time frame for slow motion was too long in the first two games.
    Expand
  8. May 31, 2012
    7
    Even though the anticipation for this game will never live up to the actual product, I enjoyed playing Max Payne 3. What I did not enjoy was the length of the checkpoints. Talk about a game of headaches. If anything it is my own fault because I played on Free Aim, which makes things a lot more difficult, but if you want the achievements/trophies, you better turn it on Free Aim. MultiplayerEven though the anticipation for this game will never live up to the actual product, I enjoyed playing Max Payne 3. What I did not enjoy was the length of the checkpoints. Talk about a game of headaches. If anything it is my own fault because I played on Free Aim, which makes things a lot more difficult, but if you want the achievements/trophies, you better turn it on Free Aim. Multiplayer was chaotic, not as cinematic and glorious as advertised. A fun game, worth playing, great dialogue and action which is expected from Max, but wish the game had more of a RDR multiplayer. Listen to the full audio review on the podcast; http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  9. May 20, 2012
    7
    Max Payne is a title most have not heard in conversation for a long time. Max Payne 2 was released in 2003 and a sequel has been long sought after ever since.

    Max Payne 3 is the first in the franchise to not include the original developer Remedy Entertainment and instead, is fully developed in-house at Rockstar Games. Usually this type of shift is an unfortunate end for most series but
    Max Payne is a title most have not heard in conversation for a long time. Max Payne 2 was released in 2003 and a sequel has been long sought after ever since.

    Max Payne 3 is the first in the franchise to not include the original developer Remedy Entertainment and instead, is fully developed in-house at Rockstar Games. Usually this type of shift is an unfortunate end for most series but Rockstar has a long history of making solid titles.

    Max Payne 3 takes place eight years after the second game and trades the dreary New York City locations for the upbeat tempo of Sao Paulo, Brazil. No longer an NYPD detective, Max is hired by Rodrigo Branco, a wealthy man with a lot of enemies. Read: a lot, it getâ
    Expand
  10. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    Underwhelming. Great score, voice acting, nice graphics and fantastic animations but on the other hand... annoying ai, bad level design, mediocre multiplayer, unremarkable story and gameplay sometimes becomes just frustrating and not very fun.
  11. Feb 17, 2013
    7
    It had been quite a while since I had played a shooter, so I thought I would pick one up. I decided to go for Max Payne 3 as I had been a fan of the first two games and it was currently on special offer. I was not sure what to expect from this installation, but I was glad to see that it largely lived up to it's predecessors. Just like in the first two games, Max is a fun character to playIt had been quite a while since I had played a shooter, so I thought I would pick one up. I decided to go for Max Payne 3 as I had been a fan of the first two games and it was currently on special offer. I was not sure what to expect from this installation, but I was glad to see that it largely lived up to it's predecessors. Just like in the first two games, Max is a fun character to play as cynical, jaded and with awful luck (and now with a serious drink/pills problem). Many bemoaned to move away from the film noir, graphic novel aspect of the first two, but it felt right to leave that behind in my opinion, as the game's setting would not suit that feel. For those who like their games at the cutting age technology-wise, maybe this is not for you the graphics are average and there are some technical issues at times. For the rest of us who are simply looking for a fun way so spend a few hours, you could do a lot worse than picking up Max Payne 3 and blowing away a few thousand terrorists, crooked cops and drug dealers. Expand
  12. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    This is a very competent third person shooter with good slow motion and bullet time effects but the occasionally the story detracts from game play as cut-scenes can be to long and cannot be skipped.
  13. Aug 19, 2012
    7
    Rockstar did a great job with the franchise, everything works perfect and the game is fun to play. It is not, however, a good MAX PAYNE, and because of that I couldn't love it as much as I wanted to.
  14. Nov 1, 2012
    7
    In terms of general production values the game is great - visuals and gameplay are both tight and the dialogue works quite well too. The main problem with the game (to me) is that the main character is someone who doesn't care about life and whose job it is to protect people so obnoxious that I don't care if they die, making the first hours a bit tedious. But lacking initiative to keepIn terms of general production values the game is great - visuals and gameplay are both tight and the dialogue works quite well too. The main problem with the game (to me) is that the main character is someone who doesn't care about life and whose job it is to protect people so obnoxious that I don't care if they die, making the first hours a bit tedious. But lacking initiative to keep playing based on story, it's still a tight action game for anyone who likes cover shooters and bullet time. Expand
  15. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    So Max is back to deal out more death and violence while pumping painkillers and booze. But is it any good? Well, yes! As a matter of fact it's rather excellent and a very satisfying 3rd person shooter, which does justice to the Max Payne franchise. But that being said, I did have a few problems with it. First of all there's the constantly shaking camera and the lens flare, which sometimesSo Max is back to deal out more death and violence while pumping painkillers and booze. But is it any good? Well, yes! As a matter of fact it's rather excellent and a very satisfying 3rd person shooter, which does justice to the Max Payne franchise. But that being said, I did have a few problems with it. First of all there's the constantly shaking camera and the lens flare, which sometimes made me feel like Michael Bay and J. J. Abrams had decided to make a game together. Sorry, but I'm not a fan. When used to this extent it looses it's dramatic effect and feels more like a 4-year old jumping up and down flailing his arms while screaming, "Look at me, look at me, look at me, look at me!" It got so bad I actually had to stop playing at times, fearing a seizure.
    The second thing is the huge amount of cut scenes. Though they are very well made and does a good job of telling the story, they simply interrupt the action way too often. Just as a good firefight is going on and I was all psyched up BANG! another 3-5 minutes cut scene ripped me out of the game. It got to a stage where I literally shouted, "NO!" when it happened because it became detrimental to the gaming experience.
    But all said and done, Max Payne 3 is an excellent 3rd person shooter which is definitely worth a look, but be prepared for some really annoying interruptions.
    Expand
  16. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    A decent game, action-wise, however, I never cared for any of the plot lines of any of the Max Payne games and this game is no exception. But I didn't play this for the story line, rather for the action, which is good but is extremely repetitive. By the end of the game, I couldn't wait for it to be over. Multiplayer was mediocre but not bad. A solid buy at it's current price point ofA decent game, action-wise, however, I never cared for any of the plot lines of any of the Max Payne games and this game is no exception. But I didn't play this for the story line, rather for the action, which is good but is extremely repetitive. By the end of the game, I couldn't wait for it to be over. Multiplayer was mediocre but not bad. A solid buy at it's current price point of under $20 but I feel bad for people who bought this new for $60. Expand
  17. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    I was very angry about this game it was so impressive and fun,but there was a bad bug that made me start the storyline all over again all dang over again... and after that happened i'm like screw this.It was a very good game besides that bug.
  18. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Max Payne 3 is actually a good game. Gameplay is fantastic, unique and addictive. The story can make you see the pain of Max, for sure, but I didn't like it a lot, cause it's a simple story, that you will forget in about two days. I played the game too long and beat it three times (10 hours playthrough). Now, I'm going for hardcore mode, because gameplay is beautiful. Actually the gameplayMax Payne 3 is actually a good game. Gameplay is fantastic, unique and addictive. The story can make you see the pain of Max, for sure, but I didn't like it a lot, cause it's a simple story, that you will forget in about two days. I played the game too long and beat it three times (10 hours playthrough). Now, I'm going for hardcore mode, because gameplay is beautiful. Actually the gameplay saves this game and make it worth-buying, but story is frustrating for me, because it presents the legendary Max being a boozing bodyguard and involved in things, that don't concern a legend like him. After all, if you're a fan and liked the past two games, get thin one, cause you owe it to yourself. Otherwise, play the past two games and see after that if you want this one. Expand
  19. Aug 17, 2014
    7
    You'er Max Payne, an ex-cop hired to be bodyguard to a rich family in Brazil. It's supposed to be a vacation for you, but it turns out to be everything but. Shoot your way through carnage and mayhem, trying to solve a puzzle you never suspected. Kill hundreds of bad guys in slow motion, and with an assortment of weapons.

    Lots of fun, however, can be frustrating at times. Sometimes the
    You'er Max Payne, an ex-cop hired to be bodyguard to a rich family in Brazil. It's supposed to be a vacation for you, but it turns out to be everything but. Shoot your way through carnage and mayhem, trying to solve a puzzle you never suspected. Kill hundreds of bad guys in slow motion, and with an assortment of weapons.

    Lots of fun, however, can be frustrating at times. Sometimes the game gets repetitive, and then there are flaws in the combat system, and other errors that stop you from having a good, gun blasting time. All in all though still a good game. At least worth a rent. The story is very well done.

    You get two discs of Max Payne 3.
    Expand
  20. May 21, 2012
    6
    I loved the old max payne games, however this one was a disappointment. Though there is nothing technically wrong with it. It felt repetitive, and I felt like I had to force myself to finish it. The story is good, however the shooting/action is just the same bullet dodge/slow time, hide in cover, pop out rinse repeat. The online was also a distraction, at first it was a lot of fun, butI loved the old max payne games, however this one was a disappointment. Though there is nothing technically wrong with it. It felt repetitive, and I felt like I had to force myself to finish it. The story is good, however the shooting/action is just the same bullet dodge/slow time, hide in cover, pop out rinse repeat. The online was also a distraction, at first it was a lot of fun, but after a few hours it begins to feel stale as well. A fun little distraction for a few days, but ultimately lacks the depth needed to be a mainstay. However I didn't know why I was expecting anything different, Rockstar stayed true to the original games, and the gaming landscape has changed since then. A good story can't carry mediocre gameplay, and online is just a tacked on side note. Disappointment. Expand
  21. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    Whilst playing Max Payne 3 my opinion on the game changed almost minute to minute. One second I would find myself enjoying the action packed, if rather one note, gameplay the next I would be closing to turning off the game through pure frustration.

    Anyone that has played any of the previous titles in the series won’t really find any gameplay surprises here and the bullet-time mechanic,
    Whilst playing Max Payne 3 my opinion on the game changed almost minute to minute. One second I would find myself enjoying the action packed, if rather one note, gameplay the next I would be closing to turning off the game through pure frustration.

    Anyone that has played any of the previous titles in the series won’t really find any gameplay surprises here and the bullet-time mechanic, while no longer as original as it was when the first game was released over a decade ago, can certainly still be great fun when you are able to get things right. The gunplay is also pretty solid but questionable design choices often make it seem as though the game is going out of its way to prevent the player enjoying themselves. Every so often the player will be handed back control following a cut scene to find themselves under heavy fire, if you don’t get your bearings quick enough you’re dead. A number of other sections will also see you killed pretty quickly if you go in all guns blazing leading to a frustrating amount of trial and error. On these occasions the game can become a generic, and rather average, cover based shooter forcing the player to pick of enemies one at a time. Try to imagine a slightly inferior imitation of Modern Warfare 2’s campaign (including the favela) and you’re not far off. Vest wearing bad guys that seem to be able to take three or four bullets to the chest and yet still continue to fire back at you only add further to the frustration. Having to repeat a section because you are killed by an enemy you assumed was already dead is not fun. Another of the games problems is that the gameplay doesn’t evolve at all from start to finish. I wasn’t expecting the freedom of an open world game but some choice in how to tackle certain missions would have been nice. Why could the bullet time mechanic not be used to help keep the player unnoticed by enemies for example?

    In terms of its characters and storyline this third outing is certainly aiming for a more serious tone. To be perfectly honest however this is another aspect of the game that doesn’t really work. Many of the cut-scenes are longer than necessary and simply end up intruding on the gameplay. Listening to Mr Payne spout increasing forced ‘film noir’ type metaphors is almost laughable on occasions and by the end of the game I wasn’t really paying much attention to what was going on.

    Thanks to some fantastically cinematic set pieces there is plenty of enjoyment to be had here but if this series is to attract me back for any sequels the developers need to get back to the drawing board and offer a bit more variety next time around.
    Expand
  22. May 19, 2012
    6
    So often regarded as the gold standard of games developers, RockStar seems to be on a bit of a dip in recent years.
    GTA and Red Dead were stunning games, then along came L.A. Bore. It was terrible, but I forgave them and looked forward to Max Payne 3.
    But I'm disappointed again. Just like L.A. Noire, it's a demonstration of style over substance. It looks and sounds great, but it's so
    So often regarded as the gold standard of games developers, RockStar seems to be on a bit of a dip in recent years.
    GTA and Red Dead were stunning games, then along came L.A. Bore. It was terrible, but I forgave them and looked forward to Max Payne 3.
    But I'm disappointed again. Just like L.A. Noire, it's a demonstration of style over substance. It looks and sounds great, but it's so linear it might as well be an on-rails shooter. Those are the moments that you actually get to PLAY the game, cos the majority of your time will be spent watching cut scenes. There were parts during these interludes where I was thinking: Hey! I could be in control of that bit!
    The controls are clunky. When you are in control, it doesn't quite feel like you are. It's somewhat disengaged.
    This is my opinion after reaching the end of "Chapter 4", so I suppose there is time for redemption.
    Quickly played team death match...uninspiring run and gun festival of repetition.

    Please RockStar, lift your game for GTA5. I need that to be great.
    Expand
  23. Xon
    Jul 10, 2012
    6
    MULTIPLAYER MAX PAYNE IN THE ASS

    The single player rocks. Perhaps it is because I live in Brazil that i can tell you visually and story-wise the game hits the nail on the head like I have never seen before in a game. I give the single player campaign 9/10. The single player is short but impressive so I bought the season pass. Man, do I rue the day i did that. First of all it is super
    MULTIPLAYER MAX PAYNE IN THE ASS

    The single player rocks. Perhaps it is because I live in Brazil that i can tell you visually and story-wise the game hits the nail on the head like I have never seen before in a game. I give the single player campaign 9/10.

    The single player is short but impressive so I bought the season pass. Man, do I rue the day i did that. First of all it is super difficult for me to get into a game. I can play any game online, Diablo 3, Syndicate, BF3...you name it. With MP3 I spend half the time trying to connect but failing due to "connection errors" and "failed synchronization". Also, I only started to enjoy the game after reaching level 10. Started. I haven't yet had a fun game.

    At this moment I am still unable to enjoy the multiplayer. I have written R* about my connection issues who have not responded.

    I am a hard working father with precious, little free-time. When I sit down with an hour to indulge I definitely do not choose MP3 multiplayer since it will be only frustrating.

    What a shame.
    Expand
  24. May 22, 2012
    6
    I think this game is highly overrated by professionals. By the score of >9 one would think this is an instant classice but it isnt't, it;s average and gets boring in the end. I am fond of Rockstar games I liked Red Dead Redemption a lot and also LA Noire, but this game has little development during the 14 chapters. Gameplay in chapters 1 and 14 dont differ. Story is really interesting andI think this game is highly overrated by professionals. By the score of >9 one would think this is an instant classice but it isnt't, it;s average and gets boring in the end. I am fond of Rockstar games I liked Red Dead Redemption a lot and also LA Noire, but this game has little development during the 14 chapters. Gameplay in chapters 1 and 14 dont differ. Story is really interesting and the first chapters are great to play but then it gets bored and some items which are nice in the first chapter gets really irritating. Like there is the overacted stupid boring voice of Max. Its just over the top American. One liners heard to often in games in the 80's and 90's. Then there are those words coming on the screen. They add nothing. First it looks cool but after 2 chapters they get boring and they add nothing to the story or experience. This game screams it wants to be cool and many people will fall for it, I also did the first chapters, but it fails deeply. Voice-acting is just really bad. Many reviewers are just blind by the trademark Rockstar I think. It must be the explanation for the high ratings. Its just 13 in a dozen game. Expand
  25. May 15, 2012
    6
    The game story is impressive the graphics beautiful and brings the expected level in 2012.
    I think the gameplay and controlls are very hard even on easy with free aim combo. (if you use hard lock the game become meaningless) Variety levels are fun although linear like a corridor with minimum freedom. The game atmosphere good but not like maxpayne 1 & 2.
    Authentic characters in very long
    The game story is impressive the graphics beautiful and brings the expected level in 2012.
    I think the gameplay and controlls are very hard even on easy with free aim combo. (if you use hard lock the game become meaningless) Variety levels are fun although linear like a corridor with minimum freedom. The game atmosphere good but not like maxpayne 1 & 2.
    Authentic characters in very long and boring cutscenes......
    Expand
  26. May 16, 2012
    6
    Well, I am coming from the standpoint of loving the last two Max Payne games. I had high expectations for this one. Max Payne has style, sure, and it has decent graphics. It even has fantastic voice acting and amazing sound design. However, the most important part is what failed for me. The gun play is..I'll say it....atrocious. Its not sensitive enough at the start, and by the timeWell, I am coming from the standpoint of loving the last two Max Payne games. I had high expectations for this one. Max Payne has style, sure, and it has decent graphics. It even has fantastic voice acting and amazing sound design. However, the most important part is what failed for me. The gun play is..I'll say it....atrocious. Its not sensitive enough at the start, and by the time you've got the cursor going, it's swinging wildly in over aim. It's not lack of skill either, I have no problem with Halo or COD, or any other FPS for that matter. The reticle is TINY for the pistols, which are your go to weapon, similar to how the reticle was in RDR. And I hated it then. It's too small and its only on the screen when you are aiming, so in a pinch, it's easy to lose it in background art. The gunplay just isn't satisfying, it's either the wildly difficult free aim, or the haxorz auto aim, which takes all the fun out of it. I remember MP2 being way more fun and way more dynamic than this game. Anyway, that's my two cents. IMO, it's a rental at most. Expand
  27. May 21, 2012
    6
    I wanted to give this game a higher score. The story is good. The voice acting is exceptional. The sound design is excellent. Honestly, it's all pretty darn good except for one thing: The actual GAMEPLAY. More specifically, the shooting mechanics. Rockstar knows how to make an open-world game like no other developer, but the linearity of MP3 puts an emphasis on the gunplay which isI wanted to give this game a higher score. The story is good. The voice acting is exceptional. The sound design is excellent. Honestly, it's all pretty darn good except for one thing: The actual GAMEPLAY. More specifically, the shooting mechanics. Rockstar knows how to make an open-world game like no other developer, but the linearity of MP3 puts an emphasis on the gunplay which is the one thing Rockstar doesn't do exceptionally well. Don't get me wrong, I love linear games as well as open-world games, but my linear shooters need great shooting mechanics and this game just deliver in that department : / Expand
  28. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to like this game, honest. I am a big fan of rockstar and their games (with my favorites being Red Dead Redemption and Grand Theft Auto 4), but this one just didn't cut it for me. On one hand, you have great visuals, with nearly all of your surroundings reacting to the many firefights you have throughout the game; Max has some of the most inventive skills I have everI really wanted to like this game, honest. I am a big fan of rockstar and their games (with my favorites being Red Dead Redemption and Grand Theft Auto 4), but this one just didn't cut it for me. On one hand, you have great visuals, with nearly all of your surroundings reacting to the many firefights you have throughout the game; Max has some of the most inventive skills I have ever seen in a third person shooter, and I would often dive into bullet-time just because I could. On the flip side, however, the controls can be quite a pain to deal with, as my character would often get caught on walls while performing bullet-time. I would get snagged behind cover, struggling to get my character out of the way of oncoming bullets or grenades. The story was fantastic, but how far can good story and great visuals carry a game with bad controls? Expand
  29. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    While the game does have some good points to it, it gets beyond repetitive at times. Sometimes poor controls get in the way of the otherwise decent cover based shooting, but it is definitely nothing special. However as with most Rockstar games there are some moments that make the ride worth it
  30. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    Disappointing effort for Rockstar; by fair their weakest game of the current generation. It's incredibly short, even by modern standards (about 10 hours for a playthrough), linear to the point of being completely scripted at times, and the gameplay is extremely shallow. If it weren't for the story and great presentation this game would be a complete dud. My only hope is that they carryDisappointing effort for Rockstar; by fair their weakest game of the current generation. It's incredibly short, even by modern standards (about 10 hours for a playthrough), linear to the point of being completely scripted at times, and the gameplay is extremely shallow. If it weren't for the story and great presentation this game would be a complete dud. My only hope is that they carry over some of the gunplay/cover mechanics to GTA V. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 80
  2. Negative: 1 out of 80
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 8, 2012
    90
    A compelling, down and dirty bullet basket populated by real characters and visceral gunplay. [July 2012, p.55]
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    90
    The presentation is top-notch, the game feels like you want it to never end while you're playing it, and the multiplayer gives it longevity that will stick around for a good while.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 20, 2012
    87
    Max Payne 3 is a great action-movie experience with life-like characters that Rockstar is famous for. It does fall a bit flat on the actual action part, however. The controls on consoles are confusing and hard to get used to. Still very much worth a play-thru. It's also one of the best looking console games in the current generation. [June 2012]