Max Payne 3 Xbox 360

Max Payne 3 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 869 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The tragedies that took Max Payne's loved ones years ago are wounds that won't heal. No longer a police, nearly washed up and addicted to pain killers, Max takes a job in São Paulo, Brazil, protecting the family of wealthy real estate mogul Rodrigo Branco to finally escape his troubled past.The tragedies that took Max Payne's loved ones years ago are wounds that won't heal. No longer a police, nearly washed up and addicted to pain killers, Max takes a job in São Paulo, Brazil, protecting the family of wealthy real estate mogul Rodrigo Branco to finally escape his troubled past. But as events spin out of his control, Max finds himself alone on the streets of an unfamiliar city, desperately searching for the truth and fighting for a way out. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 80
  2. Negative: 1 out of 80
  1. May 14, 2012
    100
    It maintains the mechanics that made the prior games great while modernizing them to excellent effect. Between the arcade mode and multiplayer, there's enough substantive content to keep you hooked for some time.
  2. May 14, 2012
    95
    Max Payne 3 gives exactly what it promises: An awesome, cinematic and greatly-paced experience. A new standard for third-person shooters in this gen. Just amazing.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    After almost ten years waiting, Max Payne 3 is still a linear and repetitive experience. But... is this really a problem when the game is so incredibly majestic?
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 8, 2012
    90
    A compelling, down and dirty bullet basket populated by real characters and visceral gunplay. [July 2012, p.55]
  5. May 14, 2012
    88
    The Arcade mode and multiplayer alone add enough to the single-player campaign to keep you coming back for more, but for me the selling point of the game came in its presentation.
  6. May 24, 2012
    80
    That's all Max Payne 3 is – a beautiful, playable action movie.
  7. May 28, 2012
    40
    The shootporn is satisfying enough, if you're into that sort of thing. I know I am. Which is why I have so little patience for how often the awful story and grim prattle get in the way.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 244
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Max Payne 3 is all of that and much more.It is a game more focused on story as all the previous max Payne's have been and packs satisfyingMax Payne 3 is all of that and much more.It is a game more focused on story as all the previous max Payne's have been and packs satisfying gunplay to boot.It may not be THE BEST third person shooter out there but Max Payne 3's gameplay and story lives up to expectations with multiplayer being a riot. The game is great fun and the multiplayer is very unique to any other third person shooters. Expand
  2. May 22, 2012
    10
    Sure Max got a new look, he´s older now but not rusty enough to stop shooting bad guys with style, again. The only bad point forSure Max got a new look, he´s older now but not rusty enough to stop shooting bad guys with style, again. The only bad point for me is that using cover is much better than jumping around and use bullet time, this and the long cut scenes are a big difference to the first 2 games, that only had comic-strips between the chapters. The story and the characters are very cool, the graphics could be better but I love them because they´re really beautiful and when you play Max Payne 3 you feel like your in an John Woo-movie. The game-play is fast-paced and the controls feel very smooth. The sound is just perfect and the voice acting is great too. When I bought the game I did´nt thought about it`s multiplayer-part at all, but after 2 playthroughs I tried it out and now I´m addicted to it`s great multiplayer-mode. You can unlock and then buy lots of weapons and you can then unlock mods for them. In addition there are so called "bursts" (for example bullet time) and equipment-slots, helmets and body-armors. You can also play with to one handed weapons, for example an Mac 10 in your left and an desert eagle in your right, just imagine that. haha... Max Payne 3 is just fantastic and surely a must-have! Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    well,the main thing a person looks in any product is that it should be a fun experience worth playing. Max Payne 3 is all of that and muchwell,the main thing a person looks in any product is that it should be a fun experience worth playing. Max Payne 3 is all of that and much more.It is a game more focused on story as all the previous max Payne's have been and packs satisfying gunplay to boot.It may not be THE BEST third person shooter out there but max payne 3's gameplay and story lives up to expectations with multiplayer being a riot. So if you want to play something fun with a serious storyline as well as gr8 multiplayer,max payne 3 is the game to get. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    A really good game. The gameplay is top notch, the story is good and the multiplayer is in my opinion just beautiful. I bought the rockstarA really good game. The gameplay is top notch, the story is good and the multiplayer is in my opinion just beautiful. I bought the rockstar pass for the multiplayer and I don't regret it at all. Graphix are great and well detailed. One of the best shooters I've ever played. If you haven't played it yet, the go get it now. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    Entertaining story about a great, non-gregarious, **** brooding, pill-popping, functioning alcoholic, quasi-man's man dude killing peopleEntertaining story about a great, non-gregarious, **** brooding, pill-popping, functioning alcoholic, quasi-man's man dude killing people (morally). You don't have to spend hours learning how the play, you can just step right into the action and enjoy the thrill. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Max Payne 3 is actually a good game. Gameplay is fantastic, unique and addictive. The story can make you see the pain of Max, for sure, but IMax Payne 3 is actually a good game. Gameplay is fantastic, unique and addictive. The story can make you see the pain of Max, for sure, but I didn't like it a lot, cause it's a simple story, that you will forget in about two days. I played the game too long and beat it three times (10 hours playthrough). Now, I'm going for hardcore mode, because gameplay is beautiful. Actually the gameplay saves this game and make it worth-buying, but story is frustrating for me, because it presents the legendary Max being a boozing bodyguard and involved in things, that don't concern a legend like him. After all, if you're a fan and liked the past two games, get thin one, cause you owe it to yourself. Otherwise, play the past two games and see after that if you want this one. Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    Maxe Payne 3 killed every good aspect that it's predecessors had.

    The story is an absolute disgrace, it's as if you're playing a 3rd person
    Maxe Payne 3 killed every good aspect that it's predecessors had.

    The story is an absolute disgrace, it's as if you're playing a 3rd person shooter that's based on a very bad Chuck Norris B-movie.

    What's left of the character Max Payne is an alcoholic mess who just can't shut up for less then 5 minutes.
    The ongoing self pityness of Max Payne made me sick and irritated.

    The amount of cut-scenes is absolutely frustrating, there's not even 3 minutes of gameplay without a cut-scene.

    The graphics are a huge disappointment and the fact that it's running at 30fps makes it even more regrettable.
    The controls are stiff and the bullet time makes no sense anymore.

    Don't buy this game it's a waste of money, time and a good mood.
    Expand

See all 244 User Reviews