Medal of Honor: Airborne Xbox 360

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 77
  2. Negative: 17 out of 77
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshN
    Sep 19, 2009
    8
    Airborne is a very hard game in short. The difficulty is nothing like you will have experienced before. I started of on Normal and I enjoyed it, but found it frustrating when i died because the checkpoint system does you no favours at all. You can get all these marksman challenges but unfortunately you die and you lose all of them. It's a good game in short and it's very fun. Airborne is a very hard game in short. The difficulty is nothing like you will have experienced before. I started of on Normal and I enjoyed it, but found it frustrating when i died because the checkpoint system does you no favours at all. You can get all these marksman challenges but unfortunately you die and you lose all of them. It's a good game in short and it's very fun. It's not as good as Call of Duty or Brothers in Arms, but if you enjoy WW2 Shooters you will definitely enjoy this. Expand
  2. WasaFan
    Sep 1, 2007
    4
    What a disappointment! How many years did we wait for this? And how does it stack up against other WWII shooters put out multiple times in the same 'next-gen' period like COD? It's firmly at the bottom of the pile. This game brings absolutely nothing original with it... not the weapon upgrades, the sniper aiming, not the parachuting, and not the same old "take out X with a What a disappointment! How many years did we wait for this? And how does it stack up against other WWII shooters put out multiple times in the same 'next-gen' period like COD? It's firmly at the bottom of the pile. This game brings absolutely nothing original with it... not the weapon upgrades, the sniper aiming, not the parachuting, and not the same old "take out X with a demo charge." It's all been done before. And the game's claim to greatness, parachuting?.... paaleeeez. Its 10 seconds of 'steering' unarmed toward a magnet. Now, that's *FUN*. Boot up Battlefield 1942 and learn something. I wonder if anyone associated with Airborne has actually played it, because when I hear their managers in the videos talk about parachuting in MOH, it's as if nobody's done it before. Furthermore, while 'landing anywhere' may change the order of objectives, it doesn't change the game play at all, so who cares? The AI is the same old mediocre stuff no matter what. Oh, and where's my drivable Jeep, or drivable anything, EA? I guess that IS original for a 'next-gen' title, so you score a point there. Nice art and decent animation won't save this one. The game is a sad waste of a plastic and bandwidth. I won't even bother with a rental. Well done again, EA. Well done. Expand
  3. BryanA.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    If you gave this game a "10", you must have worked on it. It's really not good, very short and no where near as polished a game as Halo or Bioshock. Not even close. Hell, it's not even as good as the games before it, except for Rising Sun, haha.
  4. JB
    Sep 25, 2009
    2
    Not the worst game I've ever played, but very close to it. The graphics are terrible. The friendly AI is terrible. The enemy AI is ridiculously difficult even on "normal" mode. Airborne sports uninteresting objectives and repetitive action. The only innovative thing this game brings to the table is the increasing aiming sensitivity dependent of how much you want to turn. Talk about aNot the worst game I've ever played, but very close to it. The graphics are terrible. The friendly AI is terrible. The enemy AI is ridiculously difficult even on "normal" mode. Airborne sports uninteresting objectives and repetitive action. The only innovative thing this game brings to the table is the increasing aiming sensitivity dependent of how much you want to turn. Talk about a bad idea... sniping is near-impossible with such a stupid feature. Expand
  5. CoreyF
    Nov 15, 2008
    6
    This game's campaign isn't too bad after you get the hang of it, however some of the missions are repetitive and get tedious over time, the graphics were surprisingly better than I expected, of course, all of this is murdered by the atrocious multiplayer, with a 12 player limit, the maps seem way too big, they are also poorly designed, ass you can be spawn camped by snipers, This game's campaign isn't too bad after you get the hang of it, however some of the missions are repetitive and get tedious over time, the graphics were surprisingly better than I expected, of course, all of this is murdered by the atrocious multiplayer, with a 12 player limit, the maps seem way too big, they are also poorly designed, ass you can be spawn camped by snipers, over, and over, and over again. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2010
    2
    You want to play this game on Xbox360? Please use a keyboard and a mouse. If you use TV [640x480p] , you can't see enemies clearly. Ranked live game, you need wait for "Pooling GAMEEEEEEEEEE!!!", Unranked? You can't see enemies clearly too
  7. Nov 8, 2010
    5
    Three words: Way Too Short. I am glad I got is as a bargain offer for 5 bucks, to have had paid the full price for 6 measly levels would really have made me angry. The first three levels are fairly easy. Sometimes challenging but always manageable. At the end of level four things get notched up a bit. At least of you lost your sniper rifle, like me. The team AI was really no help and itThree words: Way Too Short. I am glad I got is as a bargain offer for 5 bucks, to have had paid the full price for 6 measly levels would really have made me angry. The first three levels are fairly easy. Sometimes challenging but always manageable. At the end of level four things get notched up a bit. At least of you lost your sniper rifle, like me. The team AI was really no help and it took me several dozen tries and some luck to finally clear the bridge with an M1. The BAR, a weapon I really liked in CoD, gives me the freaks, extended edition, in MoHA, sporting an unmatched inaccuracy for my understanding and leaving it pretty useless for situations like that.

    I really liked the graphics and the parachuting, though obviously I have no comparison to the BF-franchise that some other reviewers claim to be more enjoyable in that field.
    Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Brilliant war game. One of the best WW2 games out there - puts Call Of Duty to shame, but COD wins because of clever mass marketing. Some of the graphics are the best of their time, and the gameplay is really realistic and intense at times. Glad I tried this one.
  9. AaronB.
    Sep 22, 2007
    8
    1. Loved the cover system. COD4 needs it. I have the beta and I totally miss it when playing that. 2. Graphics were great. Some lovely effects- feels like gears of war when running, nice motion effects. Animations are great. No one dies the same way. Grenade effects were a bit weak but effective. 3. Story was fun. 4. Last 2 level's were hard. I love hard games. 5. Intense game with 1. Loved the cover system. COD4 needs it. I have the beta and I totally miss it when playing that. 2. Graphics were great. Some lovely effects- feels like gears of war when running, nice motion effects. Animations are great. No one dies the same way. Grenade effects were a bit weak but effective. 3. Story was fun. 4. Last 2 level's were hard. I love hard games. 5. Intense game with replay value. 6. Online is weak. The games are actually fun but its laggy, little glitchy, and not many people playing. Good overall, best MOH game since Frontline. Definately worth it if you like WW2 single player experiences. You get your money's worth. Some people have complained about the super nazi's. They fitted the game perfectly I thought. The german army was made up of old veterans from WW1, school boys in some instances, defeated nations from the baltic states with no will to fight, battle hardened veterens, and elite troopers. They were very hard men. The way the nazi's were graded at the beginning of each level was very effective I thought. Definately give it a go if you enjoyed COD2 or 3 on veteren setting. Expand
  10. AndrewH.
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    Good! Not great but good. Starting from anywhere is very cool and the graphics and gameplay are fun. Its a fun game overall.
  11. Orth
    Sep 6, 2007
    7
    A great game that unfortunately shows the promise of something much, much greater. you can easily see how it could have been pushed to the next level if only EA had spent more time polishing and fine-tuning the gameplay. while the game is more frustrating than fun due to unnaturally fast AI movement, actions, weapon accuracy and super-human hit points, it shines in the successful addition A great game that unfortunately shows the promise of something much, much greater. you can easily see how it could have been pushed to the next level if only EA had spent more time polishing and fine-tuning the gameplay. while the game is more frustrating than fun due to unnaturally fast AI movement, actions, weapon accuracy and super-human hit points, it shines in the successful addition of open-world gameplay and unique level design. at 1st you will be frustrated by the checkpoint system and having to do whole objective areas all over again, but when you understand the type of experience the moh team is trying to provide, it rings true and ultimately brings something wholly different and very uniqe to the genre. a defineite must-play for any moh fan and anyone looking for something different by a team who clearly tried to re-energize a franchise and innovate a genre. Expand
  12. FPSMaster
    Sep 7, 2007
    7
    Didn't like the demo at first but from sheer boredom kept replaying it and started to really like it so I got the game when it came out. I do like the parachuting feature, although it is a little overhyped for what it actually lets you do. The videos made it seem like it was a completely open experience because of this, but it's not. You can usually only land in a specific part Didn't like the demo at first but from sheer boredom kept replaying it and started to really like it so I got the game when it came out. I do like the parachuting feature, although it is a little overhyped for what it actually lets you do. The videos made it seem like it was a completely open experience because of this, but it's not. You can usually only land in a specific part of the map but there are many skill drops there along with rooftops and such. But you can't just land anywhere on most of the maps like you are led to believe because you drop too fast to get to further points on the map. It all depends on how high you are when you jump out of the plane really. Once you land, there are usually 3-5 different ways to go so this design makes it much more open although sometimes you have only one objective pop up at a time then the openess just isn't there. The checkpoint system is weird, causing you to have to redo entire missions all the way over even if you only have one objective left when you die. Other times it saves what objectives you've done but you still parachute in after dying giving you a chance to find more hidden skill drops while keeping what you've already done. You just have to wait and see which of these things will happen on which levels when you die because there's no rhyme or reason to it. The enemy A.I. is good, almost too good, making death for you a sure thing if you have one come up behind you and melee you 3 or 4 times in 3 seconds. They are also crack shots with any weapon at any distance and toss grenades around more than the A.I. in COD2 on Veteran. I believe the A.I. is this good because of how short the game is. Only 6 missions, but the weird checkpoint feature along with overly good A.I. and having to redo entire levels over and over makes it seem longer. The levels are pretty long though, so on harder difficulties it will take an hour or 2 to get through them. Nice graphics, a little better than COD3 because of the UE3 textures. Good sounds but the controls are kinda weird and aren't like any other games so it takes some getting used to. Try it if you like shooting games but only buy it if you are and FPS or WW2 nut because it is a really frustrating game. Expand
  13. StevenD.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Fun. Great graphics. I'm airborne myself, and that's as close as it gets to jumping as far as a video game can represent. Yeah, you can't drive your parachute anywhere on the map...but then that is the way it is in real life. I bought this game and HALO 3 atthe same time. Better graphics by far. I play this game far more often.
  14. JeffA.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most intense WWII action games I have ever played. Highly under-rated and a sleeper hit.
  15. FojakV.
    Sep 13, 2007
    8
    Good, but not great. A game for play menawhile Call of Duty 4 arrives, fun, good graphics, the idea to start in any point reduces a bit the linear game of this kind of games. Play it if you like WWar games.
  16. WS
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    The best WWII game ever. The graphics are simply amazing. The online multiplayer mode is a whole lot of fun!
  17. TeiscoD
    Jun 14, 2008
    8
    those who gave this game lower scores are COD snobs or didn't play it long enough. yea the controls take some gitting use to. the fact that you cant aim down sights while moving sucks. but the cover system is awesome. the button scheme kind of sucks too.but its nothing that you cant get use to. why games don't let you map your own schemes is a mystery. air dropping is alot of those who gave this game lower scores are COD snobs or didn't play it long enough. yea the controls take some gitting use to. the fact that you cant aim down sights while moving sucks. but the cover system is awesome. the button scheme kind of sucks too.but its nothing that you cant get use to. why games don't let you map your own schemes is a mystery. air dropping is alot of fun and you can drop about any where you want. no you don't have to play whole levels over if you die. but you do re-air drop again, like your another airborne . if you love ww2 games and are sick of playing COD this is a great used game for you. Expand
  18. AndrejT.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    Great game, loved the diversity of the german units. Much more freedom when you compare it with Call of Duty. Only Brothers in Arms comes this close represanting good gameplay in a WW2 setting!
  19. BlaineR.
    Oct 8, 2007
    0
    The game is tedious and slow.
  20. FelixJ.
    Sep 17, 2007
    3
    I wouldn't have played the game if it weren't for the upgradable weapons. The super-nazis really pissed me off too, they do not fit into the game.
  21. FS
    Feb 3, 2008
    5
    I only gave it a 5 because it's actually playable. When you have an achievement for "not dying" you know that the game is too hard... I play a game to have fun not to die 20 times before I finish a mission, not to mention the sloooow loading. Also, this game lags like crazy and compared to other 360 games, this definately does not have the best graphics. Also, this game is filled I only gave it a 5 because it's actually playable. When you have an achievement for "not dying" you know that the game is too hard... I play a game to have fun not to die 20 times before I finish a mission, not to mention the sloooow loading. Also, this game lags like crazy and compared to other 360 games, this definately does not have the best graphics. Also, this game is filled with glitches, friendly AI is stupid (runs in front of you as you throw a grenade or shooting, getting lost). Just because they shout out a couple of random phrases now then again (the same three phrases) does not make them advanced if they keep getting stuck shooting at a wall. And the jump anywhere and play any class is complete bs, there is a couple points of which you can actually jump on, anywhere else results in a gangbang by ten german soldiers. It's almost impossible to play as a sniper in this game, the enemy can hit you from any distance, the only real class you can actually play is assault... Melee is also crippled and the skill jump points are completely stupid, not only are they hard enough to get to in the first place, there is ALWAYS a german guard there and if you die you have to RESTART THE WHOLE THING. As if surviving a german soldier bashing your skull in as you try to pull out your weapon isn't hard enough already, the developers decided that it won't be saved until you complete an objective, which are almost impossible to complete sometimes because your teamates get lost and you need to FIND them. The enemy AI is NOT GOOD, just because they can kill you does not make them good, cs bots on the highest difficulty can get consecutive headshots, this game is no different, enemies can hit you from anywhere with any weapon. They jump all over the place due to poor animation, one moment they're in the open and the next second they reappear behind cover. Overall, this game sucks, stupid ai, poor level design, lag, glitches, glitches, glitches, insanely hard difficulty, and menu lag... yes even the menu lags. Expand
  22. FredRyan
    Aug 29, 2007
    4
    I just played the Medal of Honor: Airborne demo on xbox360. Here's the deal: Don't buy it! And don't buy the lies either. This is a VERY LINEAR first person shooter with decent graphics (thank you Epic for Unreal 3).
    The game design is the same old crap since Frontline (at least that game was good at the time). Granted, the concept of "land anywhere!" is a very attractive
    I just played the Medal of Honor: Airborne demo on xbox360. Here's the deal: Don't buy it! And don't buy the lies either. This is a VERY LINEAR first person shooter with decent graphics (thank you Epic for Unreal 3).
    The game design is the same old crap since Frontline (at least that game was good at the time). Granted, the concept of "land anywhere!" is a very attractive one and can go a long way. but Airborne just doesn't execute on it. You can't even shoot the damn nazis from the sky! At least, BATTLEFIELD had that mechanic years ago. First of all, you can only land on a tiny portion of what appears to be (from the sky) a large contryside landscape. In this portion, you can only land in two safe areas, the rest of it being near impossible to survive. So when you account for all the places where you can NOT land, this "Land anywhere!" mechanic is more like "land here and shut up!".
    Once you're on the ground though, any path that leads to the old "take down the AA Guns" objective is a very boring corridor like experience... I know you can also land on the rooftops (it's so authentic...) and sneak up on the enemy. By the way, if you can't steer your way down onto the rooftops, here's what you do when the level reloads: Nothing. Don't touch the controler until the game has you landing nice and safe on a central rooftop. Way to execute on the "land anywhere" gameplay!
    Anyway, the problem with the rooftop approach, is that as soon as you stick out your neck to look down the street, the enemies instantly notice you whether they have their back turned, or they're 200 hundred yards away from you busy shooting at other allies. So much for sneaking up on the enemy...
    Talking of which, both enemies and allies A.I. act like they know they have a lifespan of few seconds, they run around endlessly, stare at walls, pop into cover position in the middle of the street, don't notice you when they should, and engage into long, point blank in the middle of the street shoot outs with each others, without any bruises until one of them drops dead. So much for next-gen AI...
    It's too bad because this game has some redeeming features as well: The opening sequence in the plane is captivating and it makes me feel for these soldiers. The weapon animation has quite a kick to it (The sprint mechanic is a total rip-off of Gears of War). Allies animation is also very good with good heroic stances. (Too bad all of it is re-used on the enemies which makes them look identical). The Italian village environments are awesome (the lighting is a bit weird and flat at times). The allies landing in the midlle of an encounter is a nice touch (so much for the vanishing parachutes though).
    The bottom line is that I can't land anywhere like I was promised to, and that pisses me off. The weapon upgrade is a joke and it's NOT authentical (soldiers wouldn't get a pistol grip on their thompson for killing 10 germans or so, in a row).
    Now, none of this is would matter if this was just a pre-alpha demo, few month away from release. But Airborne will be out next week, which means that the game that I ve been waiting for 2 and half years is already done and any hope of polish is out of the window. It also means that this demo is probably the best level in the game. That's a bummer. I give it a 3/10 just because there's NOTHING in this game that hasn't been done before and it's a far cry from what it was suppose to be back when they first announced it. EA I know you can do better. So quit fooling around and get to work.
    Expand
  23. T.T.
    Jan 28, 2008
    1
    Who tuned this game? Why do the enemies have a gizzillion hit points? Look, I've finished Co4, Rainbow 6, Ghost Recon, Halo1-3....and I'm not that shappy at BF2142, so why the hell can't I get pass LEVEL 1 on Easy? Did someone think that by adding more hitpoints to the enemies they would actually extend gameplay? Did someone not understand that having a control scheme for a Who tuned this game? Why do the enemies have a gizzillion hit points? Look, I've finished Co4, Rainbow 6, Ghost Recon, Halo1-3....and I'm not that shappy at BF2142, so why the hell can't I get pass LEVEL 1 on Easy? Did someone think that by adding more hitpoints to the enemies they would actually extend gameplay? Did someone not understand that having a control scheme for a slower game would not work with a fast paced game? -Lets Rest the MOH, until a new team is born worthy of developing. Expand
  24. TomiA
    Jun 26, 2008
    7
    Good game, not great but good. I dunno why everybody is complainig about the difficulty, it's challenging at times but not impossible, it seems like people don't know how to use cover. It's short but it mainly fun all the way. I haven't played online that much, but what i have played i can tell that it's "okay".
  25. Mar 7, 2011
    7
    This may not be the best WWII game or the best Medal of Honor, but it's still a pretty good shooter, while the action doesn't get pumping until the last two missions, it's still pretty interesting, and does things that other shooters don't which make it truly unique, sadly multiplayer is only played by a few people which hurts it, if you like WWII shooters and want something different thanThis may not be the best WWII game or the best Medal of Honor, but it's still a pretty good shooter, while the action doesn't get pumping until the last two missions, it's still pretty interesting, and does things that other shooters don't which make it truly unique, sadly multiplayer is only played by a few people which hurts it, if you like WWII shooters and want something different than Call of Duty, or are just a fan of the series, you may want to check this out. Expand
  26. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    I wish they made more shooters this well. Great gun-play, cool maps, and great graphics. EA is stupid for canceling the sequel and opting to make a crappy modern day reboots (Medal of Honor and Medal of Honor: Warfighter i'm looking at you two.)
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    75
    It's single-player may be mediocre, but the online play will put a big exclamation point on the end of your summer. [Oct 2007, p.72]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    67
    Only tried-and-true multiplayer modes with smooth Net play save this from utter mediocrity. [Oct 2007, p.86]
  3. Games Master UK
    68
    An adequate FPS but there's not enough originality here for us to recommend it. [Oct 2007, p.68]