Metro 2033 Xbox 360

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2010
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 83
  2. Negative: 2 out of 83
Buy On
  1. If you are looking for a game with a great story, Metro 2033 delivers. On the other hand, if you are hoping for a great experience from top to bottom, then it fails to deliver on all of its potential.
  2. Both the stealth and shooting elements of this game are largely broken, leaving only the story elements and features I mentioned above to hold it all together. Perplexed, I’ll have to say that if I’m only left with the excellent story and ambiance, I think I’ll just buy the book instead.
  3. If you're a first-person shooter fanatic that's not into micromanagement and just wants to kill things, this is definitely not your game. However, if you're looking for something in the genre that digs a little deeper, this one demands exploration.
  4. Metro 2033 is a title that fans of the genre should definitely give a try. It does have some issues but I enjoyed my experience overall.
  5. Metro 2033 has a lot going for it. The game may not tread any new ground in its narrative, but there are a lot of interesting concepts to play around with. Unfortunately, the mechanics behind those concepts often lead to more frustration than they do elation. A strong story and world will only go so far.
  6. In spite of the variable AI quality and weapons feeling weak, this is a good first person shooter. The atmosphere is great and the game delivers an evocative and varied experience.
  7. Despite many glaring flaws, this title provides a sense of impending doom that is thoroughly engrossing from start to finish.
  8. It’s certainly an impressive debut title and one of the best games to come out of the Eastern Bloc, but its basic mechanics could have done with some extra polish.
  9. Frustrating, taxing – Metro 2033 is also a curiously compelling refuge from the mundane.
  10. Metro 2033 may not be the most innovative survival shooter to ever have graced the genre, but that doesn’t mean it should be dismissed in the blink of an eye. The game serves up an unforgiving world with gameplay that at times matches it perfectly.
  11. Metro 2033 looks like a missed chance: it had all the premises to be a great game, but several flaws heavily undermine it, making it a sometimes frustrating experience.
  12. games(TM)
    70
    A hugely impressive game overall. [Issue#95, p.108]
  13. X-ONE Magazine UK
    70
    In terms of gameplay, this is verging on the depressingly average. [Issue#58, p.88]
  14. 70
    The custom built 4A-engine does a terrific job of bringing this desolate and sad world to life, and the developers made an admirable attempt to build the gameplay around the narrative. But Metro 2033's strength lies in the ideas which underpin its action -- without them, it's just another gritty first-person shooter with some interesting tweaks built in -- and it's unfortunate that the rich source material didn't mesh with the actual gameplay to form a cohesive whole.
  15. Despite many rough edges and a fumbled narrative few shooters feel as tense and unpredictable as this.
  16. When Metro's credits rolled, and as I looked across a vast landscape to see the results of my actions, I couldn't help but feel a tinge of disappointment, partly because it was over, but mainly because there is such obvious room for improvement. Metro 2033 comes recommended, but falls a little short of claiming a place among the genre's elite.
  17. In the final analysis, the cons outweigh the pros. For every moment there is a successful piece of atmosphere development, a nice touch to make you feel involved, there are three things which don’t sit right.
  18. 69
    The game's atmosphere and unique design choices will make it a worthwhile experience for some, but Metro 2033 suffers from a number of issues (poor implementation of stealth, recurring glitches, etc.)
  19. If Metro 2033's post-apocalyptic world intrigues you, then just read the book while taking breaks from some other shooter that's actually fun to play
  20. Metro 2033 is a smart and gritty game that relies more on its atmosphere and story than it does its gameplay.
  21. Of course, all of these problems are present in other games where I have not minded them so much, but Metro 2033 is such a short, focused experience that the cumulative impact of its flaws is significant.
  22. Metro 2033 is best for experienced gamers already familiar with the trappings of the modern shooter who are OK with playing a roughly made game that still manages to deliver a unique experience.
  23. Edge Magazine
    60
    Metro is at its best deep underground, away from the demands of a modern action game and engrossed in the cultures that cling to its tunnels, the atmosphere boosted by subtitled Russian and the writing and voice-acting creating fascinating windows into a struggling world. [May 2010, p.99]
  24. 58
    Metro 2033's A.I. is terribly stupid and there's not enough variety in the weapons; yet despite all that it's still a compelling game to play.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 351 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 64
  2. Negative: 7 out of 64
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    I was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of theI was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of the mindless action we see in the Call of Duty series. There are some but very few parts that are annoying, but they aren't very big things. Numerous times I forgot to take off my gas mask because the breathing audio is barely audible. I'm not sure why they put the air powered weapons in the game since finding them is next to impossible except for the rare one or two times. The scoped weapons scopes don't work very well in darker environments even with night vision goggles on. I like the stealth elements of the game as well. It's not like other games with stealth in them where you only have to keep track of a few things. You have to keep track of the light exposure, how much noise your making, and how far you are from others that you might wanna kill. While this may sound unnecessarily complicated, it's actually all very simple.

    I did find it annoying that there's no obvious way to get the "good" ending of the game. I actually had to find a guide only to find that you would have to pretty much talk to everybody and interact with pretty much everything to get to it. I'm also disappointed that they didn't use the "good" ending for the sequel but instead went with the "bad/normal" ending. But then again it's understandable since, the book, Metro 2034 doesn't have much fighting in it like Metro 2033 has.

    The guns are also extremely fun to use. I was really surprised that using the AK-47, or the Kalash as the in game residence call it, didn't feel like just firing yet another AK-47. Using the silenced weapons to get rid of enemies quietly and destroying lights are also fun to do.

    Overall, the game is extremely good. It may not be for the one who is looking for nothing but action but it's still good. I recommend setting your own challenges in the game since it makes it even more fun. For example, playing the entire game using only pistols or rifles.
    Full Review »
  2. APearson
    Mar 24, 2010
    9
    This game is tough to recommend. I enjoyed the heck out of it, but it isn't for everyone. Pros: Graphics are amazing. Atmosphere is This game is tough to recommend. I enjoyed the heck out of it, but it isn't for everyone. Pros: Graphics are amazing. Atmosphere is immersive, and the story and the game itself is compelling. The world is gritty, the metro stations are incredibly detailed, and you feel like you are a part of the game world. Sometimes, even dying is fun. When I got killed by a spiked, swinging log that I caused by hitting a tripwire, I couldn't help but smile. Plenty more traps where that came from. Cons: The shooting is a bit off. The human enemies are a bit too hard to kill, and sometimes when they recoil from getting shot they get invulnerable until they get out of a particular animation. I had no problem with hit boxes. Headshots are headshots. Animation of the characters is lackluster. Facial expressions are worse. So there you go! That's Metro 2033 in a nutshell. You'll either love it or hate it, but at least give it a try! 9/10 Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    OVERALL: Easily one of the most underrated game of its time. This game delivers on some very key components that you would look for in a FPS.OVERALL: Easily one of the most underrated game of its time. This game delivers on some very key components that you would look for in a FPS.


    PROS: As said earlier, the big things you are looking for in a game, Metro 2033 succeeds in. The storyline is great, containing two possible endings that both are exciting and leave you suspicious until the end. "Ranger" difficulty can make it a very challenging game making every bullet important, killing every enemy an accomplishment, and making every "Cartridge" spent carefully. The gameplay is very intuitive and offers a wide range of styles of playing. The graphics are amazing, from the people in each station, the post-apocalyptic Moscow, and every monster you encounter in the frozen wasteland.


    CONS: There are two big problems that this game has. First, Metro 2033 is very bug-filled, making some points in the game impossible to proceed which makes the game very frustrating at some points. It can also get confusing and sometimes too difficult, for some players, as this is a very hardcore game. Another problem is the stealth system. Stealth is an option in this game but is very difficult to control and master. This is partly due to bugs, how a guy will automatically know where you are at when you silent killed another guy in the dark. The cons are an issue but doesn't stop it from being a great game or should it stop you from buying it.


    GRAPHICS: 9 out of 10 Very nice, makes you feel like you are surviver living in the Moscow Metro
    STORYLINE: 8 out of 10 A bit confusing at first, gets better as it goes along.
    GAMEPLAY: 8 out of 10 Tons of new features and styles makes it unique, some bugs to work out.
    LASTING APPEAL: 6 out of 10 No multiplayer or anything, but "Ranger Mode" will keep plenty of people busy for a while.
    OVERALL: 8 out of 10


    THE CONCLUSION: For a new game developer (4A Games) and a new franchise, there is always going to be some kinks to work out. But this is definitely something great they created and I cannot wait for the refined Metro: Last Light.
    Full Review »