Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    The perfect game for every MJ lover and one of the best Kinect games around: a must buy if you're willing to put some work in learning all Michael Jackson's signature moves.
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    82
    Overall, this isn't the quintessential Kinect game, but really, the only reason is because it's strictly a Michael Jackson game, and MJ isn't for everyone. That being said, this is what a Kinect game should be.
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    With its focus on fun over competition-like accuracy, this is the first dancing game to grab and hold my attention beyond just a couple of songs. Plus, the soundtrack is just plain hard to top.
  4. May 11, 2011
    80
    Great effects, highly enjoyable gameplay, smooth graphics and a soundtrack to die for will all win you over and immerse you into the world of the King of Pop, as you take the stage and make it your own, feeling every bit as special and exciting as the very man who laid the foundation for you.
  5. Apr 22, 2011
    80
    It's easy to compare it to the less-tech-risky Wii version or the incredible Dance Central and say that it didn't pass the test. Still, it may not be the most perfected dance title for Kinect, but it remains a title worth checking out especially for those die-hard Jackson fans.
  6. Apr 13, 2011
    78
    As a fan of Michael Jackson, I can say The Experience on Kinect is fun despite its shortcomings. Working through each track and learning the routines is a refreshing reminder of his greatness as a performer. I may never dance like MJ, but after my time with The Experience, I am much closer to perfecting the moonwalk.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    70
    Fans will still find the game fun, because the dances are going to either impress with their novelty or their nostalgia factor, and because the Kinect gets this game a lot closer to what it should've been all along.
  8. Apr 28, 2011
    70
    Overall, Michael Jackson: The Experience pays a wonderful tribute to the King of Pop himself and contains nearly every Billboard Chart single Michael Jackson has touched over his career that spans several decades. This being said, Michael Jackson: The Experience for the Kinect is far from a rich or deep experience.
  9. Apr 25, 2011
    70
    Once again it comes down to this: superb pop songs and amazing choreography, wrapped up in a package which could be more polished and comprehensive but which does the job. Good times.
  10. 70
    So this isn't Dance Central and it certainly isn't Lips, but if you're firing it up for a party, Michael Jackson: The Experience is definitely enough to keep a gang of, preferably drunk, mates entertained - even if it is absolutely propped up by the undeniably stellar music and iconic dance routines.
  11. Apr 26, 2011
    69
    It practically loses in every point to Dance Central: The scoring system, the movement recognition, long term motivation and songs. Diehard fans, however, won't want to miss this one.
  12. Oct 20, 2011
    68
    This game isn't a Thriller. It's actually much closer to Bad. The motion controls aren't as Smooth as Criminal and the low difficulty level makes me stop before I get enough. The way this game makes me feel is somewhat mixed, because The Experience is occasionally fun replacement for aerobic. If a game made from the King of Pop generates to an muscle exercise, does it do justice for the memory of a legend? [May 2011]
  13. Apr 29, 2011
    68
    Seems really limited all around. Along with the lack of online functionality, the game is also missing the ability to download more songs for the library. It also doesn't really add much in the way of incentives.
  14. Jun 27, 2011
    65
    Like its Wii counterpart, the game is adequate but not outstanding.
  15. 65
    A decent enough start for Ubisoft if they're looking to crack the dance-minded Kinect owners market, but unlike on the Wii, the Xbox 360 already has a trend setting rival to their musical offerings and they're going to have to do a hell of a lot better to one-up the brilliance of music maestros Harmonix. You could say, Michael Jackson: The Experience is to Dance Central what Bubbles was to Michael Jackson. Ironic, right?
  16. Apr 26, 2011
    64
    This game can be a lot of fun, and even more so at a party with MJ fans. Teams can battle it out to see who can do the best job of dancing like the King of Pop, while others can enjoy the show. With its long list of hits, the game can provide hours of entertainment. It's called 'Michael Jackson – The Experience,' because that was it is.
  17. A hard one to mark if you're a Jackson fan. [July 2011, p.96]
  18. Apr 28, 2011
    60
    The Wii version of Michael Jackson: the Experience is much better than the Xbox 360 one. The lag of the Kinect, the presence of the player's avatar on the screen and the poor implementation of the karaoke feature are enough to transform a great experience in something less entertaining.
  19. 60
    Multiplayer lets you and up to three friends either break into teams of two for score battles or play cooperatively, sharing dancing and singing duties on songs. Even with four of you, though, you'll still miss the one presence that's in short supply: Michael Jackson.
  20. Apr 14, 2011
    60
    An improvement over the Wii version, but this still seems like the bare minimum that could be done with a Michael Jackson music game.
  21. Apr 14, 2011
    60
    Fans will love the inclusion of the king of pop's biggest hits and dance routines, but the barebones package and input lag stop Michael Jackson: The Experience from being a thriller.
  22. Apr 13, 2011
    60
    Despite many flaws, it's hard to resist the magic of the King of Pop.
  23. Apr 12, 2011
    60
    On Kinect, Michael Jackson : The Experience enjoys a wealth of new features that make it even more fun and pleasant for the fans. This time, you appear directly on the stage, right besides the other dancers. You can dance, sing, enjoy better quality visuals, some additional tracks... too bad that the voice recognition is so lenient in the karaoke stages, but even more disappointing is the fact you can't play with friends like on the Wii version! If you're a King of Pop fan, don't hesitate too much, though : the track list is still brilliant, and the fun remains.
  24. Apr 23, 2011
    57
    This homage to the king of pop has achieved modest results, with a good list of songs, but poor implementation of controls, although the ability to sing and dance is cool and Michael Jackson fans will love it.
  25. May 8, 2011
    55
    Given the music quality and selection, it's a shame that Michael Jackson: The Experience is a little too demanding for the audience that it's aimed at.
  26. Apr 27, 2011
    55
    We don't take offence to the content, but rather the execution - it's poorly designed, and feels hopelessly filmsy. If you're looking for a game to take out at parties then this may well do the trick - otherwise, steer clear.
  27. Jun 8, 2011
    51
    There are 30 songs available in the game yet less than half are really suited for dancing or at least the intense dancing that DDR and Dance Central has made us come to expect. The sound quality is awesome, but sadly, all the best dance songs are also the hardest and most difficult to play, let alone master.
  28. May 20, 2011
    50
    A far from fitting tribute to one of the most talented entertainers ever to walk the earth, or indeed the moon. But you won't get these awesome tunes anywhere else. [Issue#72, p.87]
  29. Apr 21, 2011
    40
    Poorly designed cue cards, nebulous vocal feedback, and bad multiplayer options are critical issues here.
  30. Apr 21, 2011
    40
    A terrible failure that doesn't do the music legend any justice whatsoever.
  31. Apr 20, 2011
    30
    As well as being unresponsive and technically broken, it's simply not as much fun as its non-HD sibling.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    7
    It will be difficult not to compare this to Dance Central as the latter has set the standard for dancing games on Kinect, but having said that, if you liked Dance Central, this is the closest to it that you will get. So until Dance Central 2 comes along or something better, I'd advise you to go for Michael Jackson: The Experience.
    Cons:
    1 - Navigation can be clunky by times. I don't understand why developers make the fonts so small when they should know by now we use our hands to navigate through the menus.
    2 - The initial feel to the game can be...well, overwhelming. Basic moves seem a bit difficult and complex from the get go.
    3 - Singing is not as shaped as made out to be. Yes, you can throw your vocals in there, but it seems to mess it up more than enhance the game.
    Pros
    1 - You get to be MJ. Dance and discover how his moves were choreographed. My wife and I tried a few and was rather surprised by the complexity, yet ease with the execution.
    2 - If you can't 'beat it' the first time, the set up allows you to practice again and again.
    3 - Visual and audio are excellent. That's what one would want.
    Gameplay:
    Songs are broken down into dance steps, not unlike that of Dance Dentral. Difficulty varies and you start off with low settings. Learn the moves, and then get graded on them.
    You can choose songs differing from just dancing, or just singing (like The Earth Song) or a combination of both.
    Multiplayer - only online - allows you to get down with friends. The ultimate future of these dancing games will be when we can fit at least 2 people comfortably in front of the Kinect and have them show off together ~ something that seems to be still problematic for game developers of Kinect at this moment.

    I've read some reviews saying this is a great game for a party starter, but I won't totally agree with that. You need to know a little how this game works and have mastered a few moves before I'd throw it on for the party.
    Also, choose songs with a slower beat, like Billie Jean, before you jump into Smooth Criminal (my biggest mistake) as it will give you a better feel and you will adapt more naturally.

    If you want a dance game and you haven't bought Dance Central yet, then go buy that first. If you have that already and need something else to tie you over for the time, then Michael Jackson: The Experience is it. If you own a Wii, a PS3 and an Xbox and can't decide which one to go for, trust me on this: Kinect will give you the closest to satisfaction needed for this purchase.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    8
    There's only one question you need to ask yourself before considering this as a purchase: Do you like his music? If the answer is yes, what is available in this dance title will be more than enough to satisfy your moonwalking dreams. However, If you aren't a huge Jacko fan, there's little in this package to dissuade you from picking up the older, but more polished Dance Central. Full Review »
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    7
    If you are a huge fan of Michael Jackson like I am then you will love this game. This game is fun to play with friends. I find that I have competitions with friends instead of playing party mode. I find that when playing with alot of people at once it gets very crowded and sloppy. Sometimes you will do a move right but the game will not recognize that you have done it right. All in all this is a fun game to play. It is even better if you have a passion for Michael's music! Full Review »